Page 44

Scott McLaughlin is rewriting the Australian Touring Car Championship/ Supercars record books with his dominant run in 2019. This is how his season is shaping up against the best-ever winning runs.


unaway leaders Scott McLaughlin and DJR Team Penske are setting a new benchmark in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship. With the drivers’ and teams’ championships seemingly in the bag, attention is turning to whether the team can end a 25-year drought in the Bathurst 1000 and how high McLaughlin will set the record for wins and pole positions in a season. At the halfway mark of 2019, with 16 of the 32 races completed following the BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown, McLaughlin had won 12 races. That’s a winning

Scott McLaughlin is on course for a recordbreaking season.


percentage of 75 per cent, which exceeds the current highest percentage winning seasons of Allan Moffat and Dick Johnson in 1977 and 1981 respectively at 72.73 per cent (see table). And considering McLaughlin failed to start Race 5 at the Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 due to a tangle with Cameron Waters on the out-lap, the percentage of wins per race starts is actually 80 per cent. The record for most race wins in a season was set by Craig Lowndes, who won 16 races for the Holden Racing Team in 1996. With 30 races in 1996 and a similar amount in the modern Supercars era, McLaughlin’s feat is comparable to the dominant

MOST RACES WIN IN A SEASON PRE-2019 Wins 16 15 15 15 14 14

Driver Craig Lowndes Jamie Whincup Mark Skaife Garth Tander Craig Lowndes Jamie Whincup

Team Holden Racing Team Triple Eight Race Engineering Holden Racing Team HSV Dealer Team Holden Racing Team Triple Eight Race Engineering

Year Races % 1996 30 53.33 2008 34 44.12 2002 29 51.72 2007 37 40.54 1998 29 48.27 2014 38 36.84

BIGGEST WINNING PERCENTAGE IN A SEASON PRE-2019 % 72.73 72.73 71.43 70 66.6

Driver Allan Moffat Dick Johnson Peter Brock Jim Richards Dick Johnson

Team Allan Moffat Racing Dick Johnson Racing Holden Dealer Team JPS Team BMW Dick Johnson Racing

seasons of Lowndes, Jamie Whincup, Mark Skaife, etc. McLaughlin already holds

Year 1977 1981 1974 1985 1988

the record for most pole positions in a season with 16 in 2017 and moved into second place in the all-time pole position list behind Whincup. Despite being only 26 years of age, McLaughlin is also moving up in the top 10 of all-time wins and podium finishes. He is also in the record books as the youngest winner of a race (19 years, 10 months and three days at Pukekohe Park Raceway in 2013) and the youngest polesitter (20 years, nine months and 27 days at Winton Motor Raceway in 2014). Keep up to date with McLaughlin’s record-breaking progress at SupercarXtra.


SX112 p08 Analysis Records.indd 8

12/7/19 3:22 pm

Profile for Supercar Xtra Magazine

Century Batteries Ipswich Supersprint 2019 Program  

Century Batteries Ipswich Supersprint 2019 Program

Century Batteries Ipswich Supersprint 2019 Program  

Century Batteries Ipswich Supersprint 2019 Program