Issuu on Google+

YEAR IN REVIEW 2012-2013

College of Health Professions


MESSAGE FROM THE DEAN Dear Colleagues, Welcome to the inaugural edition of the College of Health Professions (CHP) Year in Review. At this important crossroads for the American health care system, there has never been a better time to be in health care. As the Affordable Care Act opens the door for millions to access high quality, cost effective health care, Pace’s CHP is effectively poised to help meet this demand. CHP was established in 2010 to showcase health professions programs at Pace University. Our vision is innovative leadership in education, practice, and scholarship for the health professions, and our mission is to educate and challenge students for the health professions to be innovators and leaders who will positively impact global health care. According to the Department of Labor, the health care and social assistance industry is projected to create about 28% of all new jobs (about 5.7 million) by 2020. Employment growth will be driven by an aging population and longer life expectancies, as well as new treatments and technologies. Our graduates will meet these challenges. Our new state-of-the-art Clinical Education Labs provide opportunities for students to engage in complex patient care scenarios using high tech simulation. Using a sophisticated video capture system, students watch themselves care for patients and engage in self-reflection about their practice. This is a critical component to becoming a safe, effective, and reflective practitioner who will provide the highest quality health care. Growth and the addition of new programs support the Institute of Medicine’s recommendations to change the workforce mix

to 80% of nurses with a BSN and to double the number of nurses with doctorates by the year 2020. About a year ago, we re-started the RN to BS completion program, taught as a mix of online and on-campus meetings, tripling enrollment in this program within the year. The largest ever Accelerated BSN class entered this January. In fall 2014 we resume our MS in Nursing Education, which has been revised to reflect new accreditation standards, and we add an Acute Care Adult Nurse Practitioner track. We have started our journey toward developing a PhD in Nursing to complement our distinguished Doctor of Nursing Practice program. Stay tuned as we continue to lead and innovate in nursing education! Our Physician Assistant Studies program received a 7-year ARC-PA accreditation and grew our entering class from 56 to 85, and our online MS completion track grew from fewer than 20 to more than 40 students. Plus, our proposal to expand to the Westchester Campus is in progress. We are on the move! Looking ahead, there is a wealth of opportunities to grow and expand our college to meet the health care needs of our nation's and of our world's citizens, including programs in a variety of health related professions. During this extraordinary time of change, I hope you will share in my excitement about the opportunities that lie ahead! Sincerely,

Harriet R. Feldman, PhD, RN, FAAN Dean and Professor College of Health Professions Pace University


TABLE OF CONTENTS P1

MESSAGE FROM THE DEAN

P4

ABOUT THE COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

P6

ACCOMPLISHMENTS

P10

FACULTY AND STUDENT AWARDS

P12

DEGREE PROGRAMS


ABOUT THE COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS The College of Health Professions was established in 2010 in an effort to showcase health professions majors at Pace University. The College is made up of the Lienhard School of Nursing and the Pace University-Lenox Hill Hospital Physician Assistant Studies Program. The College’s vision is innovative leadership in education, practice, and scholarship for the health professions, and its mission is to educate and challenge students for the health professions to be innovators and leaders who will positively impact global health care.

THE CORE VALUES OF THE COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS ARE: • COLLABORATION • INTEGRITY • INNOVATION • CULTURAL COMPETENCE • SCHOLARSHIP

ENROLLMENT Total students: 1,071 468 undergraduates 603 graduate students 88% female 12% male 51% white 17% black 13% Asian 8% Hispanic 12% other

4  •  College of Health Professions

POINTS OF DISTINCTION

•E  ach year, CHP places more than 500 undergraduate and graduate nursing students and 80 graduate physician assistant students in clinical placements in health care settings throughout the United States and internationally. • Th  e Physician Assistant Studies program is one of the most competitive programs at Pace, with more than 1,500 applicants for 80 spaces every year. For 2012, the pass rate for first-time takers of the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) was 96%, higher than the national average of 92%.

UNIQUE PARTNERSHIPS

•P  ace’s Physician Assistant program works in partnership with Lenox Hill Hospital, an acute care teaching hospital with a full range of health care services for the New York City community. • Th  e Lienhard School of Nursing is working in conjunction with the Seidenberg School of Computer Science and Information Systems at Pace University as part of new research in gerontechnology, partnering Pace students with senior citizens to explore computing together.

•F  or 2012, the NCLEX-RN pass rate was 95%, exceeding the NYS pass rate of 82.7% and the national pass rate of 84.4%. In the first quarter of 2013, the NCLEX-RN pass rate was 100%.

•O  ur DNP students work closely with clinical partners on evidence-based clinical practice improvement projects. These projects will ultimately improve health care quality and outcomes for all.

•E  ach year, nursing students have the opportunity to STUDY ABROAD, and a number of Physician Assistant students do INTERNATIONAL CLERKSHIPS in countries such as India and South Africa. CHP also hosts visiting scholars and students from all over the world.

• Th  e Lienhard School of Nursing partners with the Joanna Briggs Institute, a growing, dynamic international collaboration involving nursing, medical, and allied health researchers, clinicians, academics, and quality managers across 40 countries on every continent.

CHP CENTERS

•A  dvancing Leadership, Partnerships, and Scholarship (ALPS), the CHP’s Center of Excellence, is dedicated to supporting the academic mission of the College through external funding, facilitation of faculty scholarship, student opportunities, partnerships, and leadership development. • Th  e Clinical Education Labs (CEL) offer state-of-the-art resources on both Westchester and NYC campuses, including a variety of clinical-focused learning opportunities ranging from fundamental skills to high fidelity simulation. •U  niversity Health Care (UHC) has been providing low-cost, high-quality health care since the 1970s. Services are available for students, faculty, staff, alumni, and their families. UHC at Pace was the first nurse-managed care center on a college campus.

• A leader in the field—Pace’s FNP was one of the FIRST PROGRAMS OF ITS KIND to focus on family primary health care and prepare graduates for the FNP role in primary care practice. • 1 00% of Nursing Education graduates were employed within six months of graduation. •O  ur DNP graduates are sought by top area facilities as they assume leadership roles in primary health care delivery, with the necessary expertise to manage the complexity of new models of care.

5  •  Year in Review 2012–2013


ACCOMPLISHMENTS “Students are on their own. Without the interference of faculty members, the situation becomes more real,” says Clinical Instructor Elizabeth Berro, RN. She notes that faculty members are still able to cue students with phone calls, patient behaviors (controlled through computerized mannequins), and standardized patients to meet the overall objectives of the scenario.

OUR CHANGING CQI INITIATIVE

As part of our ongoing commitment to assessment, in April 2012 a Quality Improvement (QI) team comprising faculty and staff took on the challenge to develop a groundbreaking plan that would ensure constant quality improvement of the Lienhard School of Nursing in the College of Health Professions (including, but not limited to, meeting the accreditation standards). One year later, all evaluation surveys of courses, faculty, overall student satisfaction, faculty satisfaction, and staff satisfaction had been entirely redesigned in an Appreciative Inquiry framework, streamlined to a handful of essential questions, and were no longer anonymous. The QI team developed a video tutorial on the new evaluation model that was shared with students, faculty, and staff, with special emphasis on how to provide feedback in an Appreciative Inquiry framework, the rationale behind the lack of anonymity, as a show of accountability and how feedback would be used. The new quality improvement plan is effectively changing the culture of the school. The new model fosters professional behaviors, provides students with a skill set needed to provide constructive feedback, and promotes accountability. The quality improvement process has been reframed so that changes occur immediately (if feasible) but within 12 months; the School is committed to using feedback with the goal of continuously improving. It also clearly identified who is responsible for what. All stakeholders expressed a commitment to this innovative approach to evaluation, with the ultimate goal of using data on program effectiveness to foster ongoing program improvement.

GROWTH IN CURRENT AND NEW PROGRAMS

Our current programs continued to grow during the year, including the new RN/BS completion program through the University's iPace degree completion program, and the expansion of the Physician Assistant program to 84 students in July 2013. Our first 15 iPace students will graduate at Commencement in May 2014. We are adding two new graduate nursing programs/tracks in fall 2014— Nursing Education and Acute Care/Adult Nurse Practitioner. We are also working toward adding a BS in Health Science with minors in Global Health, Health Advocacy, and possibly Telehealth in fall 2104 or spring 2015. In addition, we are exploring programs in nutrition and athletic training.

6  •  College of Health Professions

SIMULATION LABS: CUTTING-EDGE SPACE, CUTTING-EDGE EDUCATION

New Clinical Education Labs (CEL) on both the New York City and Westchester campuses expose students to a range of scenarios. The labs enable students to practice skills, familiarize themselves with electronic medical records, and prepare medications using computerized systems to reduce the chance of error. The labs are equipped with the latest generation of human patient simulators (HPS), along with a video capture and playback system that includes camera feeds from all the simulation rooms. Videos are stored and viewed on computers, allowing faculty members to evaluate and debrief students on performance. Students may also review their own performance in scenarios, as self-reflection is a vital component to learning in the simulation environment. The labs include a “control room” so students can be immersed in simulations without faculty members having to be in the same room. Students suspend their disbelief and become fully present in the simulation experience. In addition, the College has hired “standardized patients” for both locations. These are trained actors who act out a variety of scripted clinical scenarios, such as a person suffering PTSD or an adolescent seeking birth control, and so on. We also have an area designated for standardized patients to get ready for their scenarios. Keeping them separated from students increases the authenticity of the scenario, aiding in the learning experience. The actors can watch scenarios unfold on monitors so they know when to join the scene.

Health care organizations seek out students with simulation on their resumes, and according to Associate Dean Gerrie Colombraro, PhD, RN, “Our students have a competitive advantage when they graduate because they’ve done simulation. It shows potential employers that they’ve worked in teams to solve problems and that they’ve been exposed to complicated or high risk scenarios.” The labs were heavily used in fall 2013; in fact, according to Clinical Education Labs Manager Marybeth Carpiniello, RN, there were more than 500 “events” in the lab in the fall from simulations to skills learning, to tutoring. Feedback from students has been extremely positive so far. “They look forward to practicing in the labs; they are so excited, and they benefit from the safe environment we create. A mistake made and learned in the lab today under the watchful guidance of a faculty member could help save a life tomorrow in a real clinical setting,” says Clinical Instructor Joanne Knoesel, RN. According to nursing student Mary-Kate McShea ’14, “The simulations have really helped me foster important nursing skills. What makes simulation different from our clinical in a hospital is that we assume complete responsibility during our simulation. This helps teach me how to work under pressure with few resources. I have to rely on my knowledge, use my critical thinking skills, and work under a time constraint. These skills will help me transition into my nursing role once I graduate. Overall, the simulation labs have been vital to my learning experience here at Pace.” According to Dean and Professor Harriet R. Feldman, PhD, RN, FAAN, “Our students get evidence-based learning experiences that are deeply meaningful while at the same time realistic and safe. They develop confidence in their skill set before moving on to the clinical setting.”

A PROGRAM RE-IMAGINED: CDP IS NOW ABSN

Since 1984, Pace has offered a bachelor’s and master’s combined degree program (CDP) for college graduates who are not nurses to study and earn a first professional nursing degree. Based on feedback from current students and alumni, the faculty in CHP have made several modifications to the program: In the last year, the program has been renamed the Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) program and offers a slightly altered curriculum. There will be an additional undergraduate-level course in the program and there is an option to choose one graduate-level course as an elective. Previously, the BSN program included two graduate-level courses. Upon successful completion of the BSN, students have the option to apply for entry into one of our master’s degree programs in nursing. Students are able to graduate from the ABSN in as few as 12 months and are eligible to take the RN licensure exam, which they consistently pass. Lienhard offered one of the first programs of this kind (a second career BSN) in the country.

CHANGES TO OUR GRADUATE NURSING CURRICULA

We truly embrace our vision as innovators and we are modifying our curricula to meet the ever-changing needs of the health care field. CHP prides itself on being forward-thinking—anticipating the needs of the health professions and working to ensure our students will meet those needs. We’ve gained approval to begin an Acute Care Adult Nurse Practitioner (ACANP) program which will offer the 42-credit Master of Science degree, and the 78-credit advanced standing ACANP-DNP. Our Nursing Education program, once an MA degree, now confers a Master of Science degree, and offers a unique blend of online and on-campus classes, and individually precepted clinical practicum hours in diverse health care settings. Pace's MS in Nursing Education allows students to expand their careers while preparing for a future shaping the next generation—and practice— of nursing. Additionally, our nationally-ranked Family Nurse Practitioner program now offers a 42-credit Master of Science degree, and a 78-credit advanced standing FNP-DNP which allows our students to begin practice as an FNP, or if they are already a master’s prepared FNP, it allows them to complete additional courses for an FNP-DNP. We also offer a certificate of advanced graduate study for master’s prepared nurses who wish to pursue family nurse

7  •  Year in Review 2012–2013


ACCOMPLISHMENTS (Cont'd) practitioner studies as well as nurse practitioners who wish to expand their practice through family nurse practitioner education and certification.

INTERPROFESSIONAL EDUCATION IN NYC AND PLEASANTVILLE

At the College of Health Professions, an important part of our work is bringing faculty and students from the nursing and PA disciplines together to learn about each other’s professions, similarities, and the value each brings to patient safety, quality, and outcomes. Interprofessional collaboration is expected in the health care workplace, so starting it in the classroom is crucial. The overall objective of practicing effectively and efficiently to benefit the patient is front and center. We were very proud to hold our first formal interprofessional learning opportunity for faculty and students. The classroom provides a safe environment for students to experience scenarios that they might encounter in the future. Students are able to critique their own performance, and during a debriefing session, they talk about how they interacted with each other. Over a two-week period with four sessions, more than 160 CHP students and 10 faculty facilitators participated in the first learning opportunity. Students were prepared before the simulations with readings and virtual discussions. Our first simulation focused on a patient with heart failure and our second simulation focused on a patient with a terminal condition. Her end-of-life, palliative care needs would be best met through the efforts of an interprofessional team. For this scenario, each student was assigned to play the role of a different member of the interprofessional team. The students found the experience very powerful. Student feedback has been very positive. One Family Nurse Practitioner student, Emily Burman, RN, observed, “The more people who collaborate, the better it is for the patient.” Aaron Weber, PA-S, a PA student, said that the simulation “helps to break down walls,” and that “each person brings their special skills to the table; we can come together as a team and practice effectively.”

8  •  College of Health Professions

PA GAINING JOURNAL CREDITS The Physician Studies Assistant Department is prolific, with professors publishing articles with students regularly. Recent examples include: •A  ssistant Clinical Professor Denise Rizzolo, PhD, PA-C, and Anita Hariprashad, RPA-C, a recent PA graduate, published their article “Acute respiratory distress syndrome: An overview for physician assistants” in the September 2013 Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. Anita Hariprashad graduated with her BS in PA Studies from Pace in 2011 and earned her MS in PA Studies in the Completion Program with Pace in 2012. • Jean Covino, DHSc, PA-C, and her students Benjamin Bradley, PA-S, Anne Chamani, PA-S, and Daniel Hack, PA-S, recently published an article on compartment syndrome in Clinician Reviews. • Stephanie Apanah, a 2011 graduate from our bachelor’s program and a 2012 graduate from our master’s completion program and Denise Rizzolo, PhD, PA-C, published an article on taking a multidisciplinary approach to sickle cell disease in the August issue of Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. • J ean Covino, DHSc, PA-C, and Kayla Zappolo, Danielle DeFeo, and David Dang, PA students from the class of 2013, published an article in Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants on recognizing and treating childhood leukemia. •H  ima Vadakel, RPA-C, and Denise Rizzolo, PhD, PA-C, published an article entitled “Shock: Early recognition and resuscitation are key” in the June 2013 Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. •C  linical-year students Claudia Ashforth and Kristine Daugherty, along with Ellen Mandel, PhD, published an article on pediatric GERD in Clinical Reviews.

PA STUDIES STUDENTS CONNECT TO THE COMMUNITY

Physician Assistant Studies students are strongly connected to the community, not just through health care practice, but also through community service. Pace PA students recently volunteered with the Tzu Chi Manhattan Service Center to feed the elderly and hungry. The Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation (meaning “compassion and relief ”) is a global, nonprofit organization focusing on four major missions: charity, medicine, education, and humanistic culture. Guided by these principles, Tzu Chi members are spread across 70 countries working tirelessly as community leaders, bone marrow donation advocates, environmental protectors, and disaster relief volunteers. Students from Pace University-Lenox Hill Hospital’s PA Program have long been welcomed with open arms by the Tzu Chi Manhattan Service Center. Recently, a group of first-year PA students decided to carry on the tradition. Amy Rosentel ’15, Veronica Maddocks ’15, Natalie Savona ’15, and Matt Lazar ’15 volunteered at this Chinatown location, where members gather each Saturday and Sunday to feed the elderly CHP students at the and hungry. The students spent their Tzu Chi soup kitchen time cutting vegetables and learning the art of making a traditional Chinese vegetarian meal, all while making new friends. Before the meal was served, the students joined volunteers and community members alike in a Buddhist prayer of thanks. Given this soup kitchen’s popularity, people traveled from all five boroughs, and that afternoon, Pace’s students were fortunate enough to serve over 100 people in need.

PA STUDIES GOES FOR THE GOLD

PA students recently volunteered at the annual New Alternatives for Children (NAC) Olympics, which helps NAC’s special needs children (many of whom are living in poverty) overcome physical and mental obstacles, meet new challenges, show team spirit, and have a memorable day. PA students got the chance to pair up with a child and their family and help the kids to participate in a variety of fun activities like basketball, gymnastics, and even rock climbing! After getting to know the families and interacting throughout the day, the PA students lined up with other volunteers and formed

the high-five line for children collecting their Olympic medals for attending the event. NAC is an organization established with a belief that every child deserves a safe, nurturing home and a bright future. Their mission is to provide support and advocacy to help children with chronic medical conditions and developmental disabilities along with their families to flourish and have the opportunity to explore their potential.

ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL BLOOD DRIVE

The blood drive and bone marrow registry event has become an annual PA Studies program tradition and this was the fourth consecutive successful blood drive. In 2013, they got a great turnout, despite an unexpected snowstorm. Only one percent of New Yorkers give blood every year; the need for blood vastly exceeds the donations. In addition, bone marrow donors are needed to help those with leukemia, multiple myeloma, and other disorders that affect the bone’s cellular production. The PA class of 2014 worked diligently to promote the event within and around Pace University, ensuring a great turnout. Faculty, students, alumni, and a few walk-ins from the community came out in support of the event and the life-saving effort it represents. Results were inspiring with a total of 105 blood donations and 36 bone marrow registrants. Pace PA students take great pride in their program and the profession at large, regularly participating in community-based efforts to improve access to health care and provide patient comfort, from drives such as this one to participation in cancer walks, to cooking meals for the homeless. Events like this one provide assistance to those in need and also help educate the public on the vital role the PA profession has to an ever-increasing number of patients. Integration of community involvement with the PA profession enhances the opportunity to provide the best quality health care possible.

For more information about these and other programs offered by the College of Health Professions, visit www.pace.edu/CHP.


FACULTY AND STUDENT AWARDS Andréa Sonenberg, PhD, WHNP, CNM-BC, was one of just eight nursing faculty members nationwide selected to attend the American Association of Colleges of Nursing Faculty Policy Intensive in Washington, D.C. CHP faculty and staff members Robin Lynch, MSN, RN; Mary Beth Carpiniello, MPA, RN; Joanne Knoesel, RN; Liz Berro, RN; and Rebecca Sciame, MST; won the Pace Presidential STAR Award. Through extraordinary service, creativity, and hard work, they ensured alternative clinical experiences for undergraduate nursing students during the clinical agency closures and mass transit upheaval caused by Hurricane Sandy. They are true STARs for Pace University. Lienhard School of Nursing and College of Health Professions Dean Harriet R. Feldman, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been appointed to the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) Substantive Change Advisory Group (SCAG). Dean Feldman’s appointment to the group is effective as of January 1, 2013, and ends December 31, 2015. Recent Jewish Foundation for Education of Women ( JFEW)* scholarship awardees at Pace are Debra Egloff and Laurie Bell. Debra Egloff is a 1-year Accelerated BSN student on the Westchester Campus. In the past, Egloff served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Army after completing her bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering. Her husband is still on active duty. In her scholarship application, she wrote: “the funds provided by the JFEW will enable me to fulfill my goal of becoming a nurse and to finally make the kind of positive impact that I have always been seeking.” *CHP was awarded a $60,000 grant from JFEW in 2012 to provide financial support to female veterans or female dependents of veterans. The scholarships of up to $10,000 per year are available from 2012-2014 to qualifying students in the following programs: the Accelerated Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing, the traditional four year program-the RN-4, the Family Nurse Practitioner program (FNP), and the Physician Assistant (PA) Studies program.

10  •  College of Health Professions

NURSING FACULTY PUBLISHES BOOKS:

R.F. Levin and H.R. Feldman published Teaching Evidence Based Practice in Nursing: a Guide for Academic and Clinical Settings (Springer). M. Truglio-Londrigan and S.B. Lewenson published Public Health Nursing: Practicing Population Based Care ( Jones and Bartlett Publishers).

ARTICLES:

A. Keeling and S.B. Lewenson published “A Nursing Historical Perspective on the ‘Medical Home’: Impact on Health Policy” in Nursing Outlook. S.B. Lewenson and M. Truglio-Londrigan published “Learning the Faculty Role: Using the Evolving Case Story of Professor Able in an Online Master’s of Nursing Education Program” in the Journal of Nursing Education.

SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS:

T.A. Martin, R. Moran-Kelly, C.M. Concert, L.M. Roberts, J.G. Powe, S.N. Farrell, and J. Singleton published the “Effectiveness of individualized survivorship care plans on quality of life of adult female breast cancer survivors” in the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports. J. Slyer and L. Ferrara published the “Effectiveness of group visits for patients with heart failure on knowledge, quality of life, selfcare, and readmission” in the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports. M. Truglio-Londrigan, J. Slyer, J. Singleton, and P. Worral published “A qualitative systematic review of internal and external influences on shared decision-making in all health care settings” in the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports. E. Dumbrowski, A. Fitzpatrick, J. Hall-Alston, C. Barnes, and J. Singleton published the “Effect of nutrition and exercise in addition to hypoglycemic medications on HbA1C in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus” in the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports.

Laurie Bell is a 2-year Accelerated BSN student on the Westchester Campus. Bell’s husband served in Iraq and they have three small children. In her scholarship application, she wrote: “I currently do not even have the funds to buy textbooks, medical equipment, or uniforms. I would be honored to be the recipient of this scholarship, as the wife of a veteran, assisting me through my studies would be a wonderful way of acknowledging all of the dedication and hard work that we Army wives provide to our husbands and the military as well.” RN-4 students Paola Zavala and Michelle Magaletti received scholarships from the Visiting Nurse Service (VNS) of Westchester and were honored at the annual Women’s Hall of Fame and Scholarship Awards luncheon, sponsored by the Women’s Research and Education Fund. Lucille Ferrara EdD, FNP, RN, was inducted as a fellow of the National Academies of Practice, the only interdisciplinary group of health care practitioners dedicated to addressing the problems of health care. Professor Ferrara joins her colleagues Joanne Singleton, PhD, RN; Professor Lillie Shortridge-Baggett, EdD, RN, FAAN; and Lienhard Adjunct Professor Eileen O’Grady, PhD, RN, NP as NAP fellows. PA Studies student Chihiro Shinohara ’14 is a Nippon Life-JMSA ( Japanese Medical Society of America) scholarship recipient. Shinohara is one of the first Japanese PAs in the United States. There are no PAs in Japan, so Shinohara will create informational materials in Japanese promoting and explaining who and what PAs are. Shinohara will give lectures to Japanese high school/college students who are interested in the medical field.

PA Studies alumna Keiley Indivero ’13 was presented with the opportunity to go to Haiti with her Family Care PA preceptor Nicole Pitzer, PA-C under the umbrella of a nonprofit organization called Stone by Stone. Lienhard School of Nursing has been selected for the third time as a grant recipient of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) New Careers in Nursing Scholarship Program (NCIN). During the 2013-2014 academic year, Lienhard School of Nursing received $50,000 to support students in the Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing program who are underrepresented in the field of nursing and are pursuing second careers. With the five additional students in 2013–2014, Pace will have received a total of a quarter of a million dollars through the NCIN program. As part of the Professional Development Program at Overlook Medical Center in Summit, NJ, RN-4 student Deidre Emerich received a $10,000 scholarship along with an employment commitment (for one year and nine months) to work as an RN after obtaining her nursing degree and license. She was chosen out of 10 interviewees for one of three scholarships. Jane Dolan, RN, MSN, Lienhard School of Nursing's graduate clinical placement and recruitment coordinator was awarded the Outstanding Contribution Award at the Graduate Nursing Admissions Professionals (GNAP) Annual Conference. CHP’s Lin Drury, PhD, RN, and Sharon Wexler, PhD, RN, BC, have partnered with eCaring, a tech company that provides home health care management and monitoring for seniors and people with chronic conditions. They have been selected as winners of PILOT Health Tech NY, a new program designed to increase innovation and collaboration within NYC’s health tech sector.

PA Studies student Michelle Melchiorre ’14 was elected as the Northeast Regional Director for the Student Academy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants for the upcoming year.

11  •  Year in Review 2012–2013


DEGREE PROGRAMS • Acute Care Adult Nurse Practitioner, DNP, Advanced

Standing (Fall 2014) • Acute Care Adult Nurse Practitioner, Certificate of

Advanced Graduate Study (Fall 2014)

•N  ursing Education, Certificate of Advanced Graduate Study •N  ursing, Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) • Nursing, BS

•B  ridge Program to Advanced Degree

•R  N/BS Completion Program (iPace)

•D  octor of Nursing Practice

• Physician Assistant Studies, MS

• F amily Nurse Practitioner, MS

•P  hysician Assistant Studies Completion Program, MS

• F amily Nurse Practitioner (FNP)—Doctor of Nursing

Practice (DNP) • F amily Nurse Practitioner Certificate of Advanced

Graduate Study •N  ursing Education, MS (Fall 2014)


Physician Assistant Program 163 William Street, 5th floor New York, NY 10038 paprogram_admissions@pace.edu (212) 618-6052

/PacePAProgram

Lienhard School of Nursing 861 Bedford Road Lienhard Hall, Room 28 Pleasantville, NY 10570 nursing@pace.edu (914) 773-3552

/LienhardNursing

NONPROFIT ORG. U. S. P O S T A G E

PAID

PAC E U N I V E R S I T Y


CHP Year In Review 2012-2013