Page 19

GRADUATES Tennessee State University LOMBARD: Sharnise Hunt, bachelor’s in criminal justice

McKendree University ELMHURST: Joseph Santiago, bachelor’s in management

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee LOMBARD: Melanie Plant, bachelor’s in education

University of Kansas ELMHURST: Mary La Shure, bachelor’s in respiratory care

Culver-Stockton College ELMHURST: Daniel Boyke, bachelor’s in sport management

Huntington University VILLA PARK: Jillian Heidelmeier, bachelor’s in psychology

Butler University ELMHURST: Jessica Onstwedder, degree in accounting Rachel Polkow, degree in early childhood and middle child Kerry Poreda, degree in psychology Luke Wilkening, degree in digital media production LOMBARD: Kathleen Shannon, degree in professional pharmacy VILLA PARK: Alyson Fosnot, degree in Arts Administration

Laura Vanderveld, bachelor of music WOOD DALE: Katie Vanderveld, bachelor of arts

University of Notre Dame ELMHURST: Michelle Kennedy, bachelor’s in political science with minor in Spanish, magna cum laude


Creighton University ELMHURST: Austin Abelarde, doctor of pharmacy

Monmouth College ADDISON: Steven Seers, degree in business administration LOMBARD: Brittney Frazier, degree in sociology and anthropology with a concentration in human services Whitney Wehrle, degrees in sociology and anthropology and French, magna cum laude VILLA PARK: Jennifer Priske, degree in sociology and anthropology

Hope College ELMHURST: Jordan Brasko, bachelor of arts LOMBARD: Julianna Faber, bachelor of arts VILLA PARK: Edward Gnadt, bachelor of arts

ELMHURST: Katherine Pollastrini LOMBARD: Brittney Frazier, Jonathan Steben and Whitney Wehrle

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, spring semester LOMBARD: Nicole Fairbairn

Illinois Wesleyan University, spring semester

University of Dayton, spring semester

ADDISON: Tom Sobyra BENSENVILLE: Taylor Reaber ELMHURST: Alex Brinkmeier, Kimberly Cheffer, Michael DeBernardis, Mike Hennel, Connor Hughes, Colleen Luckey, Tim McDunn, Niall Mulcahy, Joe Musso, Anne Marie Pasternock and Maggie Patchett LOMBARD: Becki Blumer, Jenni Chlebek, Nicole Chlebek, Sarah Kania, Megan Nelson, David Podrazik and Jessi Weimer VILLA PARK: Mariah Williamson WOOD DALE: Sam Rubright and Melissa Tau

LOMBARD: Michael Dexl

University of Evansville, spring semester ELMHURST: Abigail Elf

SCHOLARSHIPS • Spirito! Singers awarded senior scholarships to ensemble members. Brianna Murray and Gretchen Hedrick, both of Elmhurst, received the Dolores Stedman Shaheen Scholarship for Choral Excellence and are

dividing the $2,000 equally. Colleen Maloney of Elmhurst received the Spirito! Commitment to Service Scholarship, valued at $2,000. • The Madison Elementary School PTA awarded a $750 scholarship to Aaron Carlson of Lombard for excellence in academics, community involvement and leadership skills. • The District 88 Board of Education named Addison Trail senior Viviana Hernandez and Willowbrook senior Shravak Shah as the recipients of the David Koch Scholarship for 2013, valued at $1,500. • The District 88 Board of Education awarded the Robert Lopatka Art Scholarship to Jonathan Garcia, Cheyenne Lam and Stephanie Jimenez from Addison Trail and Dayton Loveday, Kallie Jurgerson and Emily Lexow from Willowbrook.


Ripon College, spring semester




Traditional gutters clog with leaves and debris, damaging your roof, foundation, fascia and landscaping.

Cleaning out gutters is dangerous — falls are the number one cause of accidental death and injury around the household.

LeafGuard will never clog, or we will clean them out for you for free, forever — guaranteed.

ELMHURST: Kari Brown

St. Norbert College, spring semester ELMHURST: Patrick Burke and Catherine Guido

University of Vermont VILLA PARK: Richard Duffey, bachelor’s in environmental sciences

Monmouth College, spring semester

Hendrix College, spring semester LOMBARD: Melissa Joens


Tennessee State University, spring semester

Re c e iv


eaF re e G U T T ER

S I S by



LOMBARD: Sharnise Hunt

Marquette University, spring semester BENSENVILLE: McKenzie Kern and David Savoia ELMHURST: Ashley Cheffer, Grace Dyra, Charles Giger, Stephanie Japczyk, Thomas Madden, Judith Morris, Eric Norquist, Joseph Packhem, William Sheehan, Kayla Spencer and Ruby Thompson LOMBARD: Justin Alexander, Elise Jaros, Paul Kaefer, Joseph Lemens, Allison Szudrowicz and Ryan Vogt VILLA PARK: Katera Berent and Chloe Stady WOOD DALE: Christopher Bango and Komal Maan


708-406-6951 $250 $500 $750 OFF



On any 100 ft. or more On any 200 ft. or more On any 300 ft. or more of gutter installed of gutter installed of gutter installed With coupon. Not valid with any other offer, or previous job. Present coupon at time of estimate. Exp. 6/30/13

With coupon. Not valid with With coupon. Not valid with any other offer, or previous any other offer, or previous job. Present coupon timevalid onjob. Present *With approved credit.atNot prior sales coupon at time estimate. Exp. 6/30/13 of estimate. orofwith other offers. Certain restrictions apply. Exp. 6/30/13

NED • Friday, May 31, 2013 • • Press Publications | Northeast DuPage

• Savannah College of Art and Design interior design student Amanda Bullen of Elmhurst won first place in the “SCAD Spirit” category at the annual Sand Arts Festival. • Montini Catholic High School seniors Mark Gorogianis, Charles Long, Margaret O’Brien and Theresa Versaci, all of Lombard, received St. John Baptist DeLaSalle medals for exemplifying Lasallian values and ideals during their high school careers. • Nazareth Academy student Lindsay Zasadzinski of Elmhurst qualified to represent the state at National History Day with her exhibit, titled “William Wrigley, Jr: Pioneer of Consumer Advertising!” • Ananya Kharat and Shiven Vadalkar, both of Elmhurst, and Jonnie Moxthe and Olaf Reduta, both of Wood Dale, have graduated from Child’s Voice, a nonprofit organization that provides listening and spoken language education to children with hearing loss. They will attend their neighborhood schools in the fall. • Glenbard East High School student Dana Schiewe achieved a perfect 36 on the ACT exam. • St. Pius X Parish School eighth grader Conor Williams received the Jacklyn Naughton Award for Excellence in Originality and Innovation of Scientific Design at the Illinois Junior Academy of Science’s State Exposition. He also won a gold award for his project, titled “Wind Turbines and Aerodynamic Efficiency.” • Brian Zable of Elmhurst was awarded the Outstanding Major in Computer Science Award during Honors Day at North Central College. • Addison Trail High School named its Students of Second Semester: Cheyenne Lam (art), Carrie Castellano (business), Tania Gonzalez (family and consumer science), Ashten Reich (industry and technology), Gabriela Serna (English), Irma Gonzalez (ESL), Uljana Sejko (math), Thomas Graf (music), Bethany Foster (physical education), Brian Olszewski (reading), Austin Szczodrowski (science), Monica Carrillo (social studies), Anthony Corona (special education) and Lisa Merida (world languages). • Addison Trail High School sophomore Kimberly Zaragoza took third place in the DuPage Invitational Sculpture and 3-D Art Show. • Lewis University Flight Team member George Chiampas of Addison placed 83rd in the Computer Accuracy event at the National Intercollegiate Flying Association Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference.