Issuu on Google+

WEEKLY CHRONICLE VOLUME 4:10 19th November 2009 www.seschool.ae seschool@emirates.net.ae seschool@eim.ae

Principal’s Message – Mr. David Throp

Newsletter

You may already have read or heard on the news that the Ministry of Islamic Affairs, Awqaf, have confirmed that the Eid break will start on Thursday 26th November.

All schools have to close from Thursday 26th November through

to Saturday 5th December inclusive. Please adjust your diary. This week the school has been a hive of activity with rehearsals for the Christmas Concerts and the Nativity Play and carol singing all in full flow. We have also had the Emirates Airlines Rugby Sevens Passing Challenge. There has been a Geography trip and the annual GCSE Presentation Evening too. Dr Thomas Hochstettler, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at AUS was the guest of honour and speaker at the Presentation Evening. He talked about time-travel and the rapid changes facing young people today. I think we are all still smiling about his description of the time traveler in the film he described. We are very grateful for his attendance and the words of advice he gave to our students. Thanks also to all those who attended and to Gary Hartridge, Paul Egan and Laurence Powell for their organisation and playing and to the Head Girl, Michaela, for her vote of thanks. Special thanks to Emily, Mintaka and Yiota, backed by Stephen and Chan, for the rendition of Norwegian Wood. It was a wonderful evening. The school was also able to say a special thank you to John Farrer, the Chairman of the Board. John’s family relocated to the UK in the summer and John will follow them at the end of the year. John has been a member of the board for 11 years and Chairman since 2006. His commitment, hard work and dedication have been second to none. We wish him well in the UK. Christmas Fayre is this Friday. We hope you and your friends and everyone you know will turn out for this occasion and make it as successful as in previous years. The PSG have worked tremendously hard, as usual, to make this event happen once more. Please help them where you are able to. Our major sponsors for the Fayrare Qatar Airways and Gulftainer Co. Ltd.

Other sponsors are listed on the programme and we are grateful for their support.


We now have 1000 cups of water donated by OASIS and I am sure we will all be grateful for at least one of them during the day. Thank you OASIS.

Mr Wilson no longer teaches at the school. His teaching has been taken over by the other science teachers and me. We are still seeking an IT administrator to join us part time. Please find attached an updated list of staff contact emails. Thank you for your support. I look forward to seeing you all at the Christmas Fayre. David Throp, Principal


Notices

Christmas Cards The school has completed its Christmas Cards with original art work from the winners of the Christmas card competition. They are in packs of 15 and will cost Dhs 50 per pack. They will be on sale at the Christmas Fayre and will also be available for order. . Christmas Performances We have just received the exciting news that we are to perform at the famous Atlantis Hotel on the Palm Juneirah! This event will take place on the penultimate night of term, Weds 16th December, and will involve the Year 5, 6 and Secondary choirs. We are hoping to provide return buses to the Atlantis for both students and parents. Your child will shortly be bringing home a letter about this event. The amended evening performance dates for the final week of term are as follows: Monday 14th December: Christmas Carol Concert at SES Wednesday 16th December: Christmas Carol Singing at the Atlantis Hotel, Palm Jumeirah Unfortunately we will not be able to sing this year at the Kempinski Hotel and hope to return there next year. Swim Team Well done to the SES Swim Team who competed in the th Super Sports Gala on the 13 November. The team competed extremely well and won 8 medals. Congratulations to them all.

Year 3 Assembly – Thursday 12th November Well done to Year 3 for putting on a fantastic class assembly on 'Colour throughout History'. It shows how cross curricular our education is when we can combine History, Geography, Art, Music, P.E. and Drama together so easily. Gingerbread Houses/Men For those who have ordered Gingerbread Houses and/or Men, please note that they can be picked up at the Christmas Fayre. Invoices

Good luck to the students and staff who are taking part in the Mina Mile swim on Friday.

Invoices for the Spring Term are sent out today. Please check your child’s bag. Please be aware that payment is due on the first day of term.

Mouj – Visit from Sharjah Commerce & Tourism Development Authority

Student Environmental Group Calendar

Last Wednesday children from Foundation to Year 4 were treated to a visit from Mouj. The cartoon character spreads knowledge, information and environmental awareness about water and its uses. Mouj was very impressed by the level of knowledge our students possessed and about their concern for the environment. On Sunday he will be returning to visit the Year 5 and 6 classes for more in-depth Science related activities.

The Year 11 Environmental Group has produced a 2010 calendar using the photographs from the winners of the photographic competition. They will be on sale at the Christmas Fayre and also at the secondary reception. They will cost Dhs 40 and the proceeds will help to make SES greener.


DATES FOR YOUR DIARY Fri 20th Nov. Christmas Fayre th

Wed 25 Nov. Last day of clubs th

th

Thursday 26 Nov – Saturday 5 Dec Inclusive School closed th

Sun 6 Dec. Parent/Teacher meeting Year 9 th

Tues 8 Dec. Primary Christmas Performance (daytime) th

Wed 9 Dec. Primary Christmas Performance (evening) th

Mon 14 Dec. Carol Concert (Secondary & Yrs 5/6) Foundation Festive Concert End of term monitoring reports issued (Secondary) th

Tues 15 Dec. Foundation Festive Concert th

Wed 16 Dec. Carol Singing at the Atlantis Hotel th

Thurs 17 Dec. Last Day of term 12:00 finish rd

Sun 3 Jan 2010 School re-opens


SES SPORTS & ACTIVITIES BULLETIN Welcome to our very own SES Sports & Activities page. Every week the PE Department will keep you posted on the latest Primary and Secondary sports events, fixtures and activities. We will also give you regular updates on the progress of the Senior Sports Leaders and Primary Play Ground Leaders as their experiences and responsibilities progress throughout the year.

NETBALL SEASON 2009-2010 The Netball season is finally upon us and already most of the squad has been in action over the past two weeks. The first league matches of the season took place last Tuesday 10th November, when the Y8 and Y10 teams played host to DBS in their respective Division One matches. Both matches were exciting to watch and very competitive. All teams involved showed a high level of determination, skill, fair play and team spirit. At the end of it all the final scores were:

Year 8 SES 19 DBS 9 Year 10 SES 13 DBS 9 Congratulations to both SES teams who will receive full points for each match.

Senior Girls Netball Tournament @ SES Sunday 15th November Yet again we are host to another netball fixture, this time a mini tournament involving the Y8 and Y9 squad. Visiting teams came from Sheffield, VES and AIS. It was a busy tournament with lots of matches for all to play. We even had an All Stars team made up of SES and VES players to ensure as many girls as possible got to play. The tournament was well supported by parents, staff and fellow SES students. A special thank you goes to the Y10 and Y11 Sports Leaders: Caitlin, Rae, Meyassar, Anna, Angharad and Yiota who helped with refereeing, recording and organizing the certificates. The final results were: Year 8 1st Place = SES 2nd Place = VES 3rd Place = All Stars 4th Place = AIS

Year 9 1st Place = VES 2nd Place = SES 3rd Place = Sheffield & AIS

Congratulations to all the girls who participated and well done to Y8 for winning their Tournament and Y9 for coming 2nd


U12 Netball Tournament @SES Sunday 22nd November It really is full steam ahead with netball before we break up for the Christmas holidays. This coming Sunday we are hosting the U12 netball tournament for our Y5/6/7 teams. This will be their first competitive games of the season so please feel free to come along and give the girls your support. Tournament starts at 2.30pm and finished approx 4.30pm, on the outdoor courts. Our Y11 Sports leaders will be running the event.


RUGBY SEASON 2009-2010 The Dubai rugby league for schools is fast approaching for the U14s team. The first game is on 7th January 2010 at the BSAK, Abu Dhabi. This promises to be a very difficult season with a high standard of rugby currently being played amongst schools.

Emirates Airlines Rugby Sevens Passing Challenge Wednesday 18th November saw the third year of the Emirates Airline Rugby Sevens Passing Challenge. This year saw some excellent passing skills with the majority of students scoring highly in their three attempts. The overall winner was Rhys Thomas (7SO) who scored maximum points and will now go into a draw to try and win a pair of season tickets for the Dubai Sevens Tournament on the 3-5 December.

FITNESS SUITE We would like to take this opportunity to thank all those parents who kindly donated their ‘un-used’ fitness equipment over the past year or so to the PE Dept. As you can see, the Fitness Suite looks fantastic and has now become an integral part of our GCSE PE fitness program, core PE lessons, FitClub and Y12/13 Recreation time.

STUFF THAT IS HAPPENING SOON….. NOVEMBER Sunday 22 Nov – U12 Netball Tournament hosted by SES from 2.30- 4.30pm (Y11 Sports leaders will be running the event) Also: Y7/8 Girls football Match away at Wesgreen International School 3.00-4.30pm

DECEMBER Tuesday 8 Dec - KS3 & KS4 Swimming Gala (Time to be announced) Sunday 13 Dec – Y10 Netball League Match at home to EC


GENTLE REMINDERS PE Kit – Please make every effort to ensure that you pack all of your PE kit, including white socks for every lesson. Bring a small towel, water bottle and roll-on deodorant. No spray cans please. We do have a small selection of ‘unattractive and totally un-cool’ spare kit that we will issue to anyone who forgets to bring kit. You have been warned! Injury and/or sickness – We encourage all students to be involved in every PE lesson, therefore if for whatever reason your son/daughter is unable to participate in PE we would expect a note of explanation to be handed to the teacher before the start of the lesson. Any student unable to participate in the practical aspect of the lesson should still bring PE kit as they will be expected to take on a less physically demanding role such as referee or coach. Lost Property – If you leave something in the PE Dept then there is a good chance it will end up in the lost property basket. This is emptied at the beginning of every week and taken to the nurses’ room in the Primary school. Please do not bring anything of value into school.

If you need to contact the PE Dept staff for any reason here’s how: Miss Welsh (HOD/Senior Girls PE) Mrs Garrett (Primary PE Co-ordinator) Mrs Southworth (Primary PE/Dance) Mr Garrett (Senior Boys PE/GCSE PE) Mr Rees (Senior PE)

jwelsh@seschool.ae Lgarrett@seschool.ae kswouthworth@seschool.ae lgarrett@seschool.ae erees@seschool.ae

OR Leave a message at reception and we will call you back when we have a minute. SES Tel:06 5589304


SHARJAH ENGLISH SCHOOL

EXTERNALEMAILID LIST NAME

EMAIL ID

David Throp David Barnes Jenefer Race Lynn Nuttall Daniela Walker Zina Adib Marlene Matinong Mary Smith Mohamad Tahsim Keith Smithard Christine Seaborne Jennifer Smith Rebecca Baggaley Alison Stedman Paul Shinn Donna Perrin Donna Passey Eileen Hutchison Leanne Yaskiw Jonathan Gill Sarah McNabb Jennifer Hornibrook Anabel Mc Bain Joan Breen Daniele Choura Lisa Garret Fatima El Turk Susan Hill Julie Oakley

Principal@seschool.ae Bursar@seschool.ae Primaryhead@seschool.ae Lnuttal@seschool.ae Dwalker@seschool.ae Zadib@seschool.ae Mmatinong@seschool.ae Nurse@seschool.ae Sec-it@seschool.ae Ksmithard@ses.ae Cseaborne@ses.ae Jsmith@seschool.ae Rbaggaley@ses.ae Astedman@ses.ae Pshinn@ses.ae Dperrin@ses.ae Dpassey@ses.ae Ehutchison@seschool.ae Lyaskiw@ses.ae Jgill@ses.ae Smcnabb@seschool.ae Jhornibrook@ses.ae Asemken@ses.ae Jbreen@ses.ae Dchoura@ses.ae Lgarrett@ses.ae Felturk@seschool.ae Librarian@seschool.ae Joakeley@seschool.ae

Anna Egan Paul Egan John Nolan Roger Doyle JB Savage Marie Byrne Anne Galbraith Gary Hartridge Edward Rees Laurence Powell Natalie Crowston Jackie Welsh Amanda Ohara David Wood Maha Farag Stephen Halligan Rob Hitchings Lee Garrett

Aegan@seschool.ae Pegan@seschool.ae jnolan@seschool.ae Rdoyle@seschool.ae Jsavage@seschool.ae Mbyrne@ses.ae Agalbraith@seschool.ae Ghartridge@seschool.ae Erees@seschool.ae Lpowell@seschool.ae Ncrowston@seschool.ae Jwelsh@seschool.ae Ahara@ses.ae Dwood@ses.ae Mfarag@ses.ae Shalligan@ses.ae Rhitchings@ses.ae Leegarrett@ses.ae


Siobhan O Mahony Heather De Souza Michelle McNulty Catherine Sinclair Saif DawoodBhai Peter Wilson Yusuf Albasri Perisa Rashad

Smahony@ses.ae Hdesouza@ses.ae Mmcnulty@seschool.ae Csinclair@ses.ae Sdawoodbhai@ses.ae Pwilson@seschool.ae Yalbasri@seschool.ae Prashad@seschool.ae


Newsletter 10