Page 4

Geospatial Intelligence Forum Volume 11, Issue 3 • April 2013

The Magazine of the National Intelligence Community Editorial

Managing Editor Harrison Donnelly harrisond@kmimediagroup.com Online Editorial Manager Laura Davis laurad@kmimediagroup.com Copy Editors Sean Carmichael seanc@kmimediagroup.com Laural Hobbes lauralh@kmimediagroup.com Correspondents Peter A. Buxbaum • Cheryl Gerber William Murray • Karen E. Thuermer

Art & Design

Art Director Jennifer Owers jennifero@kmimediagroup.com Senior Graphic Designer Jittima Saiwongnuan jittimas@kmimediagroup.com Graphic Designers Scott Morris scottm@kmimediagroup.com Eden Papineau edenp@kmimediagroup.com Amanda Paquette amandak@kmimediagroup.com Kailey Waring kaileyw@kmimediagroup.com

Advertising

Associate Publisher Scott Parker scottp@kmimediagroup.com

KMI Media Group Publisher Kirk Brown kirkb@kmimediagroup.com Chief Executive Officer Jack Kerrigan jack@kmimediagroup.com Chief Financial Officer Constance Kerrigan connik@kmimediagroup.com Executive Vice President David Leaf davidl@kmimediagroup.com Editor-In-Chief Jeff McKaughan jeffm@kmimediagroup.com Controller Gigi Castro gcastro@kmimediagroup.com Marketing & Communications Manager Holly Winzler hollyw@kmimediagroup.com Operations Assistant Casandra Jones casandraj@kmimediagroup.com Trade Show Coordinator Holly Foster hollyf@kmimediagroup.com Operations, Circulation & Production

Operations Administrator Bob Lesser bobl@kmimediagroup.com Circulation & Marketing Administrator Duane Ebanks duanee@kmimediagroup.com Circulation Barbara Gill barbg@kmimediagroup.com Data Specialists Raymer Villanueva raymerv@kmimediagroup.com Summer Walker summerw@kmimediagroup.com

EDITOR’S PERSPECTIVE Although the passage of a continuing resolution appears to have temporarily stabilized the federal budget picture, it is clear that the funding cuts required under sequestration will have a major impact on intelligence programs as well as some of the more prominent big-ticket defense items. In recent testimony before the Senate Intelligence Committee, Director of National Intelligence James Clapper outlined a series of effects on human intelligence, analysis and acquisitions. Clapper explained that the National Intelligence Program (NIP), which he manages, is spread across six cabinet departments and two independent Harrison Donnelly agencies. Much of it is included in the Department of Defense budget, he Editor said, and Congress ordered an even more onerous set of rules to carry out cuts imposed on DoD. “This restrictive program, project and activity, or PPA structure as it’s known, compounds the damage because it restricts our ability to manage where to take reductions in a balanced and rational way. Accordingly, the sheer size of the budget cut, well over $4 billion or about 7 percent of the NIP, will directly compel us to do less with less,” Clapper warned. Impacts will include reductions in human, technical and counterintelligence operations, resulting in fewer collection opportunities while increasing a risk of strategic surprise. This includes, for example, possibly furloughing thousands of FBI employees funded in the national intelligence program. Cyber efforts will be impacted, Clapper continued, and critical analysis and tools will be cut back. “Our response to customers will suffer as well. We’ll let go over 5,000 contractors, and that number may grow, who are an integral part of the intelligence community. And this is on top of the thousands of contractors we’ve let go in previous years.” Virtually all of the 39 major systems acquisition across the intelligence community will be wounded, he said, adding that renegotiated contracts and delayed schedules to the right will cost the nation more in the long run.

KMI MedIa Group LeadershIp MaGazInes and WebsItes Border & CBRNE Defense

Geospatial Intelligence Forum

ISSN 2150-9468 is published eight times a year by KMI Media Group. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction without permission is strictly forbidden. © Copyright 2013. Geospatial Intelligence Forum is free to qualified members of the U.S. military, employees of the U.S. government and non-U.S. foreign service based in the U.S. All others: $65 per year. Foreign: $149 per year.

Geospatial Intelligence Forum

Military Advanced Education

Military Information Technology

www.GCT-kmi.com

www.GIF-kmi.com

www.MAE-kmi.com

www.MIT-kmi.com

Border Threat Prevention and CBRNE Response

SPECIAL SECTION:

Integrated Fixed Towers

Border Protector

Subscription Information

Ground Combat Technology

www.BCD-kmi.com

June 2012 Volume 1, Issue 1

Michael J. Fisher Chief U.S. Border Patrol U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Leadership Insight: Robert S. Bray Assistant Administrator for Law Enforcement Director of the Federal Air Marshal Service Transportation Security Administration

Wide Area Aerial Surveillance O Hazmat Disaster Response Tactical Communications O P-3 Program

www.BCD-kmi.com

Medical Military Training Military Logistics Military & Veterans Forum Technology Affairs Forum

Special Operations Technology

Tactical ISR Technology

U.S. Coast Guard Forum

www.SOTECH-kmi.com

www.TISR-kmi.com

www.CGF-kmi.com

Corporate Offices

KMI Media Group 15800 Crabbs Branch Way, Suite 300 Rockville, MD 20855-2604 USA Telephone: (301) 670-5700 Fax: (301) 670-5701 Web: www.GIF-kmi.com

www.MLF-kmi.com

www.M2VA-kmi.com

www.MT2-kmi.com

GIF_11-3_FINAL  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you