Page 1


communicating the science of colour in a changing world

Dyeing workshop (photo: A Crowther)


02 Chief Executive’s review 04 Looking Ahead: 2011 and beyond 06 Partner organisations 08 President’s review 10 Membership 12 International overview 14 Technical 16 Award recipients and medal nominees 18 Colour Experience 20 Publications 22 SDC Enterprises 24 Charitable activities 26 Events and competitions 28 Governance 29 Who’s who? 30 Trustees’ annual report 31 Summarised Consolidated Statement of Financial Activities 32 Summarised Consolidated Balance Sheet Annual Review 2010

01


By Susie Hargreaves

I am really delighted to share with you our review of 2010. We continued to implement our three year development plan to modernise the Society in order to make it a truly global resource. Our focus was on our role as an Education Charity to ensure that we deliver the maximum possible benefit for our beneficiaries which we were established to serve. This did not mean that we lost sight of the needs of our members. We have continued to update our systems and develop our benefits in order to provide a more tightly focused value for money service. One of our main priorities was to improve communications with our members and this has included regular newsletters and updates. We also developed and refocused The Colourist magazine.

restructuring which means we now have a enhanced team of technical experts and a dedicated communications team. As well as driving forward the changes, we have also delivered the Society’s activities in 2010 within budget. Our business plan was predicated on using a portion of our reserves on a declining basis over three years to enable us to modernise and streamline our activities. On top of our own financial achievement of bringing 2010 in within budget, I would like to thank the team at SDC Enterprises for what has been an extraordinary end of year result which means we have an overall surplus for the second year in a row. At the Society, we have been working to diversify our activities and income sources going forward into the future, but we still rely on Enterprises for the majority of our charitable funds, so commend the team there for their hard work and commitment.

The communications team spent much of 2010 implementing the new Content Management System which will be the backbone of our administrative systems in the future. This will run all our membership, events and communications. The main feature of this is a new website and the development of social networking, all of which will be launched in early 2011. To deliver the ‘new look’ SDC, we have also completed a programme of staff

Another challenge in 2010 has been to continue to grow our role internationally whilst maintaining our core membership and activities within the UK. This has been an area where I have been on a steep learning curve and after a tricky few months we have reached consensus about how we move forward in the UK. I would like to thank all the UK members who participated in this process and kept us focused on

02

www.sdc.org.uk

Society of Dyers and Colourists


1

2

the task in hand. I can assure all our UK members that the UK regions remain at the heart of our future strategy. Internationally, SDC India has developed a three year plan (2011-2014) which aims to build the Indian operation’s infrastructure, membership, activities and create a financially sustainable business. Plans are also underway for a three year plan for SDC in China and we continue to work closely with our colleagues in Hong Kong, Pakistan and Bangladesh to raise our profile through increased activities. 2010 also saw the first stage of an SDC programme in Thailand, which we will be developing in 2011.

3

4

to thank you all for your patience, support and courage for coming on the journey with us. More than ever, I believe that the SDC is a hugely important organisation with a major contribution to make as the world’s leading education charity in coloration. Susie Hargreaves

5

2010 was not an easy year. We moved ahead at what seemed, at times, a furious pace, barely catching our breath. The staff team, Trustees, members, and all our partners shared the belief that we needed to change and had limited time to do this. At the same time we have had to acknowledge that major change sometimes hurts – having to let go of some of the older traditions and the many years of hard work in a particular area in order to welcome in new ways of working and a more diverse constituency, can sometimes seem brutal. However, to quote H G Wells, “adapt or perish, now as ever, is Nature's inexorable imperative”. Finally, I would like 1, 3, 5 Susie Hargreaves at Textiles-UK (photo: A Crowther) 2 SDC India conference 4 Sarah-Jane King, John Morris and Susie Hargreaves, Day of Celebration (photo: D Smith)

Annual Review 2010

03


Our plans for 2011 include activities and developments in a number of areas, aiming to disseminate knowledge, deliver value for money and raise the profile of the Society.

• Colour Experience - we will work on the Marks in Time project in conjunction with Leeds University and the M&S archive

British Science Festival – this comes to Bradford in September 2011 and we will have a major involvement through the Colour Experience.

Training – we will continue to develop our courses by introducing more relevant topics. Our reputation is growing in this field and we will maintain this.

• Qualifications – we will support UK companies by

being part of the development of the apprenticeship programmes for textiles ensuring dyeing and finishing are adequately covered. This helps to develop the range of programmes SDC offers at a vocational level.

Technology transfer – building on the success of 2010 we will raise the profile of this area and build the team of experts we have available to deliver these projects. 04

Society of Dyers and Colourists

• Colour Index – we will ensure the continued

relevance of the Colour Index. We will maintain the standard of ‘Part 1: pigments and solvent dyes’ and build on the initial development of ‘Part 2: dyes’ in 2010 encouraging more companies to register their products and therefore increasing the relevance to subscribers.

• Best Practice Guides – we will develop a range of best practice guides offering practical advice in a wide variety of subjects related to colour.

• Manchester University – we will undertake a pilot project with Manchester University focused on strengthening the relationship and delivering tangible benefits.

• 3rd International Conference on Textiles and Clothing: 28 – 29 March, Lahore, Pakistan. SDC Pakistan in collaboration with the Textile Institute (Lahore section) and University of Management and Technology (Lahore).

• 4th International Textile Conference on New

Technology of Dyeing and Finishing: 28 – 29 March, Suzhou, China. A high-end, new-tech conference co-organised by SDC, Adsale Publishing Ltd and China Textile Engineering Society (CTES). www.sdc.org.uk


1

2

• The Dhaka Water Catastrophe 2020 – What can we do about it? 5 April, Dhaka, Bangladesh. A major one day conference organised by SDC and aimed at professionals from across the textile supply chain.

SDC Day of Celebration: 13 May, Bradford, UK. Our AGM, awards ceremony and UK final of the SDC International Design Competition.

New Frontiers in Coloration: Ushering Growth, 3 – 4 June, Mumbai, India. SDC India’s annual conference.

• ITMA – we will be part of the Research and Education Pavilion at ITMA in Barcelona in September.

3

4

• The CSI Colour Award – sponsored by Color Solutions International. Following a pilot year in 2010, we are reviewing and developing this student competition.

• Books – following the signing of an agreement with Wiley a number of books are under development. The first of these will be published in 2012.

• Communicating with members – in 2011 our new IT system will go live. This will include the launch of a new website, giving access to easier navigation and search facilities. We will also launch SDC on a number of social networking platforms as part of a new online engagement strategy.

• The Chemistry of Textiles, 17 November, London,

• Training development – we will launch an extensive

• SDC Hong Kong: 2 December, Hong Kong.

• Continuing professional development – we will

UK. A joint event with SCI to celebrate the International Year of Chemistry.

AGM, conference and grand final of the SDC International Design Competition.

international training programme and continue to develop our portfolio of courses.

introduce a formal CPD scheme requiring all Chartered Colourists to undertake 30 hours of CPD activities each year, to maintain their CCol designation.

• SDC International Design Competition – sponsored by Clariant. Our flagship annual competition goes from strength to strength and in 2011 we will welcome entries from Thailand for the first time. 1 SDC India conference 2 Textiles-UK (photo: A Crowther) 3 CSI Colour Award winner Amy Long with John Easton (photo: A Crowther) 4 SDC International Design Competition students (photo: A Crowther)

Annual Review 2010

05


We have continued to develop our strategic partnerships, helping us to add value by enabling us to share resources, knowledge, information and best practice. Our partnerships include:

• Adsale Publishing Ltd • American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC)

• Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) • Oil and Colour Chemists’ Association (OCCA) • The Worshipful Company of Dyers • The Worshipful Company of Clothworkers • The Colour Group of Great Britain • National Resources Defense Council (NRDC) • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)

• The Wool Project • Dyestuff Manufacturers Association of India (DMAI) • China Dyestuff Industry Association (CDIA) • Textile Institute • Ukfta • Chinese Textile Information Centre (CTIC) • Skillset 06

Society of Dyers and Colourists

www.sdc.org.uk


Eric Musgrave, Peter Ackroyd and Malcolm Campbell at Textiles-UK (photo: A Crowther)

Annual Review 2010

07


By John Morris

As I sit writing this, looking out at the colour of an early spring garden, my mind scans back over a year of contrasts and progress for the Society of Dyers and Colourists. Since its inception in the late 19th century the Society has evolved into an internationally respected organisation. This transition has accelerated over the last two to three years and at the close of my year the roles of President, Board and Executive have changed from when I was first asked in 2007 to consider the role of President. The New Board under the chairmanship of Adrian Abel and head office under CEO Susie Hargreaves have worked long and hard to streamline the Society’s internal organisational procedures. The rebranding has received complimentary comments and the new integrated IT system will be fully on stream in 2011 enabling the Society to deliver stronger, more relevant services to members and in pursuit of our charitable status expand a knowledge base to educators and the wider public.

maintaining the recently established design related connections. There is recognition that the model of the Society cannot be one-size-fits-all and that different regions will require different structures. It would be wrong to pretend that the progress has been smooth, some traditional members have felt isolated by the changes and I do understand why. In order to resolve the issue the Board have approved the recommendations made by a working group of UK members and my thanks go to the entire group but especially Peter Diggle who chaired the sometimes tempestuous meetings. Although the SDC is a charity with clearly defined goals its strength and knowledge lays with its members and the ability for the Society to bestow Chartered Colourist status. Its own qualifications and awards should not be underestimated. The SDC International Design Competition is truly international with the last two winners from South Africa.

The international regions are growing in membership, confidence and in the delivery of services, training, events and local benefits to members. New ways are being investigated to rekindle and strengthen our technical links with universities in addition to

The Society’s Colour Experience courses for schools are growing in popularity and reach. Technical training in the UK and internationally is growing in demand and the consultancy services are beginning to show promise. International conferences are well attended and are succeeding in raising the profile of the Society. I have had the honour to see first hand the excellent progress being made in our

08

www.sdc.org.uk

Society of Dyers and Colourists


1

2

3

international regions, and with SADFA and AATCC. During the past year the Society has participated in joint projects with The Worshipful Company of Dyers and The Clothworkers’ Company. The international sale of test materials and the work of SDC Enterprises is crucial to the operation of the Society. Without the support of SDCE the work of the Society would be severely limited, therefore I take this opportunity to thank Enterprises for their contribution to the success of the Society.

4

I believe the work of the last two to three years by staff, Board and members has prepared the Society for a solid, progressive future. All that remains for me after my year in office is to wish the Society of Dyers and Colourists and our proposed new President M L Cheung all the best for a colourful future. John Morris

1, 3 John Morris at Textiles-UK (photo: A Crowther) 2 SDC India’s conference 4 Day of Celebration (photo: D Smith)

Annual Review 2010

09


Membership continues to be at the heart of SDC, and we launched a new membership structure in January 2010. We continued to focus on developing membership benefits to suit local needs. This is an ongoing process and with the launch of our new website in early 2011, we aim to provide additional online benefit for all our members including those with no access to a local region.

India SDC EC continues to provide an excellent progamme of events for members, which gives additional membership benefit locally. Membership numbers remain fairly constant and there is good potential for growth. We were delighted to welcome four new corporate members: India Dyeing Mills, Grasim Industries Limited, Clariant and Exim Knits Pvt Ltd.

China We welcomed two new corporate members in 2010 Jiangsu Textile Products based in Nanjing which is involved with textile, apparel product quality inspection and Zhejiang Jihua Group - one of the Chinese top 500 private enterprises and a global dyestuff manufacturing base.

Pakistan There was an increase in membership in 2010, particularly amongst students. There is huge potential for membership growth which we hope to develop in March 2011 at the 3rd International Conference on Textiles and Clothing.

Hong Kong With many of our members now commuting into mainland China for their work, it is increasingly difficult for the region to organise events. However, a highlight is the AGM and annual dinner attended by the SDC President and Chief Executive. Presentations to members who have been awarded medals or Chartered Colourist status are made to those unable to attend the Day of Celebration in the UK.

United Kingdom All five regions have been involved in a review of the regional structure with the aim of developing the role of the UK regions for the future. UK regions continue to be at the heart of delivering our membership strategy in the future. We have looked at the different ways in which people learn and communicate today, the pressure on employees and their changing role within the workplace and how to make SDC more relevant to the UK textile industry; retailers and fashion/design students.

10

www.sdc.org.uk

Society of Dyers and Colourists


College and corporate membership We have 23 college members. Their membership entitles them to free online access to membership benefits for lecturers and an unlimited number of students within the department. In January 2010 ColourClick members were invited to upgrade to individual membership of the Society. As many ColourClick members were students, they now have access to membership benefits via their college membership. Our 39 corporate members from all over the world have free online access for up to 20 employees at one site in addition to the core membership benefits.

Membership Elected to date

Of whom Membership Of whom students at 31 Dec CCol

United Kingdom

41

6

580

311

SDC HK Ltd

8

0

154

105

SDC Pakistan

26

21

49

6

SDC EC India

83

34

183

28

China

1

0

30

11

Other

36

0

219

80

Overseas

154

55

635

230

TOTAL

195

61

1215

541

Members remembered The Society remembers the following who have died: Fred Richard Alsberg, Thomas Chadwick, Kenneth Dickinson, John Trevor Dowson, Michael Ellis, Ray Knapton, Brajendra K Kumar, Isidore Levy, John Rankin, Brian Rodney Smith, Peter Jackson Smith, Alfred Kenneth Taylor

Annual Review 2010

11


Bangladesh 2010 was a year of consolidating our position in Bangladesh. We ran a seminar in the Spring and this was followed up with visits by Arthur Welham as Trustee responsible for global development. Our plans to re-launch membership were temporarily thwarted as the national conference we had organised in November entitled ‘The Dhaka Water Catastrophe 2020 – What can we do about it?’ had to be postponed due to a national strike. This has now been rescheduled for Spring 2011. China We worked closely with our members in China to undertake a review of activities to date. SDC China has built strong links with universities and as such occupies a unique position within the SDC family with the potential to lead on research. We are working with the active members to develop a three year plan. We also signed a three year agreement with Adsale in China to co-host an annual international dyeing and finishing conference. Hong Kong Hong Kong SDC ran a number of events and was particularly successful at encouraging candidates to take SDC qualifications with a record number of applicants for ASDC in 2010. Hong Kong continues to 12

Society of Dyers and Colourists

be a major priority for the SDC as one of our oldest regions outside the UK and the base for many important brands and textile organisations. In 2011 our first ever non UK based President ML Cheung hails from Hong Kong. India In 2010, the Trustees of India submitted a detailed three year business plan which will see some major changes including the formation of one India Region, developing the office and staffing infrastructure and an expanding programme of membership development and SDC activities in India. The Board was chaired by Dr Sanjiv Kamat ably supported by his trustees of respected textile professionals from across India. A new General Manager, Abhijit Naikdesai was appointed to run the India office and work closely with Parvez Kotadia, India Country Manager, who reports directly to the UK. SDC India continued to build membership and deliver an excellent international conference as well as a busy programme of regional events. However, the biggest achievement over the year was to continue to build the profile of the SDC which is now viewed as a crucial element of the textile sector in India.

www.sdc.org.uk


1

2

3

Pakistan The Pakistan region benefits from a board of highly committed, energetic trustees, who continue to promote the SDC and run a series of successful conferences and events. Their main focus for 2010 has been to develop close links with universities and to involve students in their activities. In 2011 they hope to expand on this with the planned 3rd International Conference on Textile and Clothing in Lahore. 4

Thailand In 2010 we made tentative moves into Thailand, working closely with ATDP (Association of Thai Textile, Bleaching, Dyeing, Printing and Finishing Industries), the Thai Textile Institute and DyStar Thailand to run a one day seminar. The event was sold out and we are now in discussion about future events and joint activities in Bangkok in 2011. In other countries we continued to research and develop new markets for our services and membership.

1, 4 Dyeing workshop (photo: A Crowther) 2 SDC event in Thailand 3 SDC India event (photo: A Naikdesai)

Annual Review 2010

13


Responsible for providing technical colour knowledge and encouraging best practice throughout the global coloration industry, the technical team manage the education, training and qualifications work of the Society, in addition to the Colour Index and Colour Experience. Highlights for 2010 include: Technical team – Karen Skorski and Alex Foster joined the technical team. Both have many years experience working in the textile coloration industry and provide a valuable source of knowledge. This strengthening of the team shows the commitment we are taking to develop all aspects of training, education and knowledge transfer.

Technology transfer – SDC’s Adastra technology transfer programme continued to grow with the first projects being completed in 2010. Training – in 2010 we trained 288 people worldwide in colour fastness, colour management and the basics of textile coloration. 76 of these were UK-based from retailers, suppliers and dyers showing a growing need for the Society’s courses in these areas. Qualifications – in response to feedback a decision was taken to develop two new modules for the ASDC examinations. These modules will cover dyeing and finishing of natural and synthetic fibres. It will be possible to take the modules as an alternative to the current dissertation.

Colour Index – this is the internationally recognised online reference for all dyes and pigments. Manufacturers register their products through a robust system which ensures that unique structures obtain a unique Colour Index number which then feeds into a searchable database for subscribers. In 2010 15 unique structures were accepted into the Colour Index of which 14 were new unique dye structures. The use of the Colour Index has also grown with 43 new subscribers during 2010.

Apprenticeships – following discussion with a group of UK dyers about training for young people in the industry we have started a discussion with Skillset about providing the technical content for a level three apprenticeship on dyeing due to be launched in 2011.

14

www.sdc.org.uk

Society of Dyers and Colourists

Secretariats for International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) and British Standards Institute (BSI) – SDC supports the EN ISO 105 series of


standards for colour fastness testing of textiles by holding the secretariats on behalf of ISO and BSI. This key role ensures there is a standardised route available for assessing colour fastness. We have been involved in the ISO meeting in Paris. In 2010 the secretariat of ISO TC 38 SCI returned to the SDC and in the future will be working closely with CIS (Chinese International Standards) on this as we have a shared secretariat. Environment/best practice – placing the environment first through the use of best practice has always been at the heart of the Society. We continue to do this through training, education and publications but also through working with other organisations. In 2010 we worked closely with Defra on the sustainable clothing roadmap. As part of this in February 2010, with Colour Connections we ran a series of seminars in India on best practice in the coloration industry. In collaboration with machine and dye manufacturers the seminars were attended by 340 people in three different regions.

Annual Review 2010

15


1

Fellows Chandrasekharapuram Narayanaswamy Sivaramakrishnan BSc (Tech) CCol FSDC Ramesh Vasudeo Deshpande BSc (Tech) PGDM CCol FSDC Kan Chi-wai MSc PhD CCol FSDC Pankaj Rugnath Panchmatia BS MBA CText FTI CCol FSDC John Joseph Richards CCol FSDC Asim Kumar Roy Choudhury MTech PhD FIE (India) Vijay Yeshwant Sane BSc (Hons) BSc (Tech) MRSC CCol FSDC Renzo Shamey PhD CCol FSDC Kedong Zhang CCol FSDC Xinghua Zhang CCol FSDC Associates Nabeel Amin PhD CCol ASDC Chiu Man Sze BSc (Hons) CCol ASDC Yassir Saeed Dar MSc CText ATI CCol ASDC Jane Jiang PhD CCol ASDC Subhash M Naik MSc CCol ASDC Roshan Paul PhD (Tech) DMM CCol ASDC Song Hehua MSc CCol ASDC Sun Sok Sheung Susanne MBA CCol ASDC Tong Sui Lai MSc CCol ASDC Wang Jianming PhD CCol ASDC Yue King Tao Albert MSc CCol ASDC Cuizhu Zhang MSc CCol ASDC 16

Society of Dyers and Colourists

Licentiates Graham Bankes Collier CText ATI LSDC Leung Chi-wai Tony BSc (Hons) LSDC Rachel Claire McMillan LSDC Ghulam Mustafa MSc LSDC Arumugam Thangamuthu BSc LSDC Muhammad Zubair MEng LSDC Medal nominees for 2010 Gold Medal: Sean Cady, Sanjiv Y Kamat, Daniel Tsun, Bart van Kuijk Silver Medal: Vien Cheung, Martin Ferus-Comelo, Carol Graham, Subramaniam Persiasamy Bronze Medal: Nabeel Amin, Ela Dedhia, Sai Ganesh, Fawad Noori, John Lam, Jan Shenton Centenary Medal: Todor Deligeorgiev, Aleksey Vasilev, Stefka Kaloyanova, Juan J Vaquero

www.sdc.org.uk


2

3

1,2, 3,4 Award recipients at SDC’s Day of Celebration 2010 (photo: D Smith)

4

Annual Review 2010

17


1

Central to our status as an educational charity is the Colour Experience. We work with groups of all ages and abilities, with a particular emphasis on children and young people, giving workshops and presentations.

Teacher Training We delivered a successful training day to over 40 science teachers, technology teachers and technicians from a cluster of local secondary schools. The feedback was fantastic and we have built a new partnership with Guiseley School as a result.

Highlights for 2010: Educational visits to Perkin House Following our reopening in 2009 we have gone from strength to strength welcoming over 1,100 learners to the Colour Experience at Perkin House during 2010. Our furthest travelled visitors came from Zaragoza in northern Spain when we hosted a dyeing workshop for a group of secondary age students who were staying locally for a week to improve their English skills. The activities were well received and the final words from their tutor were “see you next year”. Science Fairs and Festivals Following our attendance at the British Science Festival in 2009 we were invited to present again as part of the Young People’s Programme. We had a busy four days in Birmingham delivering our ‘Get up and Glow’ presentation to well over 500 students from nearby secondary schools. We were also invited to participate in the Croydon Science fair where we worked with 175 students. 18

Society of Dyers and Colourists

Outreach We had a rewarding visit to Hull where we worked with a group of pupils with special needs. They thoroughly enjoyed the session looking at natural dyes and tried their hand at tie-dyeing. This year also saw the first delivery of presentations to schools outside the UK with Parvez Kotadia working with over 700 students in Jodhpur, New Delhi and Coimbatore in India. The presentations were modified for the international audience and were very well received. Colour Experience Events We provided 13 events for member colleges reaching over 750 students across the UK. Partnerships We continued to build our partnerships with a range of organisations including:

• Bradford Education - we held a training day for newly qualified GCSE textile teachers. www.sdc.org.uk


2

3

4

• Bradford Industrial Museum - we delivered a number of workshops as part of their contribution to the 2012 cultural Olympiad.

• Stroudwater Textile Trust - one of our Company

Members. We delivered a talk on Kalamkari at the Museum in the Park in Stroud following a presentation for the Trust’s annual event in 2009.

In summary, in 2010 we provided over 100 Colour Experiences reaching over 3,300 people. This is an increase of 120% compared to 2009. The feedback we received was consistently excellent:

5

quality of the workshop was outstanding… answered all the questions the learners asked in a very clear way… kept all the learners thoroughly engaged throughout the whole session.

Primary teacher describing our Light and Colour workshop.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Colour Experience workshops

Annual Review 2010

19


The dissemination of knowledge and information relating to colour is at the heart of SDC’s publications activities. This information is wide-ranging from communicating colour in a way that is comprehensible to a non-technical audience through to specialist colour resources. On offer are print, electronic and web-based products. Books We have a catalogue of over 25 text books. Following the signing of an agreement with Wiley, a number of new editions are being progressed, the first of which should be published in 2012. Coloration Technology The world’s leading peer-reviewed journal dealing with the application of colour and the only journal that covers all aspects of coloration technology. The first ever special issue of the journal (Quality of Light Sources) will be published in early 2011. The impact factor – a key performance indicator – has increased every year since 2006. In 2010 186 submissions were received by authors based in 33 countries. Recognition was given to authors with an ‘award-winning’ article covering ‘Styryl dyes – synthesis and applications during the last 15 years’.

20

Society of Dyers and Colourists

Coloration Technology subscription analysis:

• 8% China • 9% India • 12% Japan • 15% USA/Canada • 19% Rest of World • 38% Europe (including UK)

Colour: Design and Creativity This online journal remained free to all users in 2010. Two issues were published, with one being a ‘bumper’ edition in collaboration with the AIC (International Colour Association). The numbers of submissions continued to rise and were more than double those in the previous year. Visitor numbers were also 23% higher than in 2009, with 1,200 people signed up to receive e-alerts. We will be undertaking a review of the journal in 2011. The Colourist We produced four issues of our members’ magazine, each one focusing on a specific theme: wool dyeing, social responsibility, textile machinery and standards. In addition we sent members three special Textile Dyer supplements. An editorial plan is in place for 2011 and we will continue to develop the magazine based on feedback from members.

www.sdc.org.uk


Coloration Technology impact factor chart

1.2

1

0.8

0.6

0.4

• •

0.2 0 2005

• 2005 • 2006 • 2007 • 2008 • 2009

– – – – –

2006

2007

2008

2009

0.519 0.444 0.65 0.843 1.13

Annual Review 2010

21


The upturn in trade experienced in the latter half of 2009 continued throughout the start of 2010, uncertainty about the global recession being removed and key markets for SDCE products returning to their export-orientated growth. Excellent work by distribution partners also introduced the products to new markets and production sectors focused on their own country’s domestic market. The unexpectedly high levels of growth experienced made the financing and managing of stock a critical issue in the early part of the year. Refinancing of the company in the third quarter, along with a return to pre-recession staffing levels, successfully resolved this issue. The refinancing took the form of the Society providing additional share capital to secure the short and medium-term financial stability of the company.

Further investments in the in-house manufacturing capacity were made in 2010, these form part of an ongoing plan to maintain the dominant market position, for quality and market share, that SDC products command. Further capital investment is planned for 2011, alongside greater ‘investment’ in R&D. The Society have approved, in a budget for 2011 and in principle for up to five years, ongoing expenditure on R&D aimed at producing additional income streams for the long-term, and reducing exposure to the risks of product obsolescence. Mark Yare

The growth in turnover was entirely due to increases in the volume of products sold, as average sales prices per unit fell during the period. Despite significant inflationary pressures, and price increases due to restrictions in the supply of cotton, gross margins were improved. The combination of these factors enabled Enterprises to greatly exceed its budget for funds transferred to the Society.

22

Society of Dyers and Colourists

www.sdc.org.uk


Annual Review 2010

23


As a registered educational charity, our charitable ‘Objects’ guide our purpose: ‘to promote by any or all means the advancement of the science of colour’ We meet our obligations in a number of different ways including:

by providing subsidised education, qualifications and training

Key achievements in 2010 included:

• Over 1,100 learners took part in activities at the Colour Experience at Perkin House in Bradford

• ‘Get up and Glow’ delivered to over 500 students at the British Science Festival in Birmingham, UK

• Training delivered to over 40 science teachers, technology teachers and technicians from Yorkshire-based secondary schools

• by providing subsidised resources, developed by

• 13 Colour Experience events delivered to member

• by giving access to relevant, up to date news from

• Delivery of a Colour Experience workshop to children

• through the dissemination of knowledge, information

• Colour Experience presentations delivered to over

industry experts

the coloration industry

and expertise, via events, publications, websites and so on

through advocacy for the industry and for the role of science in schools

• by generating income from a variety of sources which is then directed to our charitable activities

24

Society of Dyers and Colourists

colleges, reaching over 750 students

with special needs

700 students in India

• In total over 100 Colour Experiences delivered,

reaching over 3,300 people – an increase of 120% compared to 2009

• 288 people trained worldwide, 76 of whom were from UK-based organisations

www.sdc.org.uk


1

2

• Development started on an apprenticeship for young people in the UK entering the dyeing industry

• Over 135,000 website visitors •

186 submissions from 33 different countries to Coloration Technology

• Coloration Technology ranked within the top three textiles journals in the Thomson Reuters Journals Citation Report

3

4

• A new competition launched for students – the CSI Colour Award - attracting entries from India, Pakistan, Singapore and the UK

• Hundreds of delegates attended our national and

international programme of conferences and events

• Over 1,200 members in almost 50 countries

worldwide supported with news, knowledge and information, including 541 Chartered Colourists.

• 56,477 full text downloads for Coloration Technology, an increase of 26% on 2009

• Colleges from nine countries entered students in the SDC International Design Competition

• A record number of entries from over 300 students representing 43 colleges in China for the SDC International Design Competition

• Students from Singapore entitled to enter the SDC

International Design Competition for the first time

• Sponsorship of a T-shirt competition at Graduate

Fashion Week, with a Colour Experience workshop part of the prize 1, 3 Colour Experience workshops 2 Mumena Ferdousi, winner of the T-shirt competition 4 Dyeing workshop (photo: A Crowther)

Annual Review 2010

25


1

In 2010 we delivered an impressive programme of regional, national and international events. Our events aim to inspire, stimulate and help members keep up to date with best practice. They are great for networking and an excellent way of the Society raising its profile internationally.

Textiles-UK: Wool - the cloth of kings, UK – cohosted by the Dyers’ Company and Clothworkers’ Company we ran this one day conference followed by a black-tie dinner at the magnificent Clothworkers’ Hall in London. The evening included the grand final of the SDC International Design Competition.

Our 2010 programme included:

The Future of Textiles in our Thirsty World, Thailand – our first event in Bangkok, organised jointly by SDC and ATDP (Association of Thai Textile, Bleaching, Dyeing, Printing and Finishing Industries). We closed bookings several weeks in advance of this capacity event.

Planet Textiles, Hong Kong – a partnership event with EcoTextile News and Messe Frankfurt focusing on sustainability in the global textile supply chain. Day of Celebration, UK – taking place in Nottingham for the first time, this event incorporated our AGM, awards ceremony and half day conference. 3rd International Textile Conference on New Technology of Dyeing and Finishing, China – SDC co-organised this conference with Adsale Publishing and China Textile Engineering Society. Evolving Maze in Coloration, India – SDC India’s annual conference which took place in Mumbai and Coimbatore. The history, present and future role of textiles in Bradford, UK – we hosted a half day event focusing on regeneration and the role of textiles in Bradford. 26

Society of Dyers and Colourists

We continued to develop our competitions – an excellent way of engaging with students, young people, universities and colleges and introducing them to the science of colour. SDC International Design Competition Open to undergraduate fashion and textile design students, this competition encourages the creative and original use of colour in either fashion or textiles. The 2010 competition included students from Singapore for the first time. We welcomed a record number of entries from many countries including China, where over 300 students from 43 colleges entered. The theme for the 2010 competition was www.sdc.org.uk


3

social responsibility. The country finalists travelled to London, UK to take part in the grand final. Laduma Ngxokolo, a 24 year old student from Nelson Mandela University in South Africa was announced the overall winner – the second consecutive year the winner has come from South Africa. Laduma received the Veronica Bell trophy, a cheque for £1,000 and the SDC Colour Design Award 2010. The competition is sponsored by Clariant.

We would like to thank SDC for providing the students with this wonderful opportunity, it really gives them a chance to pit their skills internationally and apart from the exposure, they learn so much at the same time.

Gina Esterhuizen, Principal Lecturer, Department of Applied Design (Fashion Design), Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

1,3 SDC International Design Competition students (photos: A Crowther/D Smith) 2 SDC India conference 4 Day of Celebration 2010 (photo: D Smith) 5 Textiles-UK (photo: A Crowther)

4

5

I feel incredibly honoured to have won this international competition… I want to use the prize money to set up as an entrepreneur and take my knitwear around the world.

2

Laduma Ngxokolo, Winner of the SDC International Design Competition 2010 CSI Colour Award Sponsored by Color Solutions International, we launched this new award for fashion and textile design students. The competition invited students to design a trend card using CSI Color Search software and attracted entries from students in India, Pakistan, Singapore and the UK. The overall winner was Amy Long from Loughborough University in the UK. Amy was invited to Textiles-UK in London in October to receive her award. In addition we sponsored a T-shirt competition for schools, won by Mumena Ferdousi from St Pauls Way Trust School in London and SDC India ran a Young Talent competition.

Annual Review 2010

27


2010 saw the first full year of the new Board of Trustees. Our By-laws state that the Trustee Board shall comprise of:

• Nine voting members, including the Chair, elected from voting members of the Society

• Up to two co-optees • Honorary Treasurer, Honorary Secretary and CEO Two Trustees were appointed to represent the Society on the Board of SDC Enterprises, our wholly owned trading subsidiary. In 2010 these were Arthur Welham and Duncan Phillips. As this is a new Board, a third of the first nine elected Trustees will retire each year in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Any members elected from 2011 will stand for the full three year term.

28

Society of Dyers and Colourists

L to R: Chris Sargeant, John Easton, Arthur Welham, John Bone, Adrian Abel, Duncan Phillips, Sue Bolton, Roger Wardman, Peter Diggle

Board of Trustees: Adrian Abel (Chair) Sue Bolton John Bone Peter Diggle John Easton Duncan Phillips Rakesh Sachdev Chris Sargeant Roger Wardman Arthur Welham (Vice chair) Malcolm Brown Peter Flesher

www.sdc.org.uk

Governance, Legal and Charity Technical Marketing Membership Publications Industry and Business Co-optee Fashion and Design Education Global Development Honorary Secretary Honorary Treasurer


Carol Amys Richard Ashworth Ian Berry Barbara Carney Tracy Cochrane Andrew Filarowski Alex Foster Ashley Hammond Susie Hargreaves Veronica Hill Amanda Hinchliff Clare Moore Katie Roberts Karen Skorski Melanie Tasker

Telephone: Email: Web:

Finance Officer Colour Experience Manager Finance Consultant Personal Assistant/ General Secretary Marketing and Communications Director Technical Director Technical Manager Online Communications Officer Chief Executive Finance Manager Membership and Marketing Officer Membership Manager Receptionist/ Building Assistant Colour Index and Training Officer Membership and Marketing Officer +44 (0) 1274 725138 info@sdc.org.uk www.sdc.org.uk

Top row L to R: Barbara Carney, Andrew Filarowski, Alex Foster, Karen Skorski, Richard Ashworth Bottom row L to R: Susie Hargreaves, Amanda Hinchliff, Melanie Tasker, Katie Roberts, Carol Amys, Veronica Hill, Clare Moore, Ashley Hammond, Tracy Cochrane

SDC Enterprises: Telephone: Email: Web:

+44 (0)1274 750160 info@sdcenterprises.co.uk www.sdcenterprises.co.uk

International Contacts: Bangladesh Hitendra Barmma Email:

SDC Bangladesh Chairman Brinntex@yahoo.com

China Dr Kuanjun Fang Email:

SDC China Chairman fangkuanjun@vip.sina.com

India Abhijit Naikdesai Telephone: Email:

General Manager +91 97694 92244 admin@sdc.org.in

Hong Kong Keith Parton Email:

Hong Kong SDC Ltd Chairman Keith1.parton@clariant.com

Pakistan Saifudin Moazam Email:

SDC Pakistan Chairman commercial@sandalds.com

Annual Review 2010

29


The trustees of the Society are of the view that the funds and assets have been prudently managed and effectively applied during the year, solely in furtherance of the agreed objectives with financial performance continually under review against agreed objectives. Trustees are satisfied that the financial policies and plans presently being applied are relevant, appropriate and adequate to support and sustain the charitable activities of the Society and the objectives for the year 2010 have been substantially achieved. Charitable objective The Society was established in 1884 to advance the science of colour. The Society achieves this aim by global dissemination of colour knowledge to members, industry and the public, via publications of scientific papers, lectures, and e-media. Constitution The Society is a charitable corporation, incorporated by Royal Charter with the governing documents being the Royal Charter (1963) with Amendments, Trust Deeds and By-Laws (2009). Charity Registration Charity Commission Reference 212331 Organisation The Trustee Board is the governing body of the charity with nine trustees elected from among the Voting Members of the charity by the Voting Members. The Chief Executive Officer, the Honorary Treasurer and the Honorary Secretary are also members of the Trustee Board which may also co-opt a maximum of two members. Only elected members shall take part in any vote of the Trustee Board. Related Parties The Society works globally in partnership with kindred bodies, educational establishments, industry and affiliated societies in joint technical and educational activities providing public benefit. The Society has no associated financial liabilities relevant to related party transactions.

Independent Auditors' statement to the Trustees of the Society of Dyers and Colourists We have examined the summarised financial statements of The Society of Dyers and Colourists as detailed on pages 31-32 This statement is made solely to the trustees as a body in accordance with the terms of our engagement. Our work has been undertaken so that we might state to the trustees those matters we have agreed to state to them in this statement and for no other purpose. To the fullest extent permitted by law, we do not accept or assume responsibility to anyone other than the charity's trustees as a body, for our work, for this statement or for the opinions we have formed. Respective responsibilities of trustees and auditors The trustees are responsible for preparing the summarised financial statements in accordance with the recommendations of the Charities SORP. Our responsibility is to report to you our opinion on the consistency of the summarised financial statements with the full financial statements and the trustees' report. We also read the other information contained in the summarised annual report and consider the implications for our report if we become aware or any apparent misstatements or material inconsistencies with the summarised financial statements. Basis of opinion We conducted our work in accordance with bulletin 2008/3 "The auditors' statement on the summary financial statement" issued by the Auditing Practices Board for use in the United Kingdom. Our report on the full annual financial statements describes the basis of our opinion on those financial statements. Opinion In our opinion the summarised financial statements are consistent with the full financial statements and the trustees' report of The Society of Dyers and Colourists for the year ended 31 December 2010. PKF (UK) LLP, Leeds, UK Registered auditors 16 March 2011

30

Society of Dyers and Colourists

www.sdc.org.uk


for the year ended 31 December 2010 Including Income & Expenditure Account Incoming resources Incoming resources from generated funds: Activities for generating funds: Turnover of trading subsidiary Investment income - interest & dividends Investment income - leased building Room hire & annual dinner Incoming resources from charitable activities: Communications Technical Total incoming resources Resources expended Costs of generating funds: Trading costs of subsidiary Costs of managing investments Leased building Room hire & annual dinner Charitable activities: Communications Technical International activities Governance costs Management & administration Total resources expended Net incoming resources before transfers Transfers Gross transfer between funds Net incoming (outgoing) resources before other recognised losses Other recognised gains/(losses) Gains on investment assets Net movement in funds Reconciliation of Funds Total funds brought forward Total funds carried forward All amounts relate to continuing operations

Unrestricted Restricted Permanent 2010 Total 2009 Total Funds £ Funds £ Endowment Funds £ Funds £ Funds £

2,035,081 35,524 106,072 32,087 2,208,764

0 0 0 0 0

0 0 0 0 0

2,035,081 35,524 106,072 32,087 2,208,764

1,578,014 32,636 107,127 47,808 1,765,585

138,727 155,617 294,344

8,720 10,000 18,720

0 0 0

147,447 165,617 313,064

136,848 139,499 276,347

2,503,108

18,720

0

2,521,828

2,041,932

1,271,557 3,702 41,268 41,866 1,358,393

0 0 0 0 0

0 0 0 0 0

1,271,557 3,702 41,268 41,866 1,358,393

1,006,368 3,270 40,241 48,557 1,098,436

342,655 362,171 84,654 789,480 53,913 276,432 330,345

16,720 10,000 0 26,720 0 0 0

0 0 0 0 0 0 0

359,375 372,171 84,654 816,200 53,913 276,432 330,345

311,025 339,976 42,183 693,184 42,708 239,332 282,040

2,478,218

26,720

0

2,504,938

2,073,660

24,890

(8,000)

0

16,890

(31,728)

26,059 50,949

(26,059) (34,059)

0 0

0 16,890

0 (31,728)

49,845 100,794

0 (34,059)

0 0

49,845 66,735

73,404 41,676

2,685,286 2,786,080

191,233 157,174

18,779 18,779

2,895,298 2,962,033

2,853,622 2,895,298

Annual Review 2010

31


as at 31 December 2010

2010 £

Fixed Assets Tangible General Investments Current Assets Stock Debtors Cash at bank and in hand Creditors: Amount falling due within one year

£

2009 £

£

1,211,741 1,035,719 2,247,460

1,178,243 921,169 2,099,412 348,438 275,892 527,513 1,151,843

320,391 330,724 265,781 916,896

285,922

264,108

Net Current Assets Total Assets less current liabilities

865,921 2,965,333

652,788 2,900,248

Creditors: Amounts falling due after more than one year Net Assets

3,300 2,962,033

4,950 2,895,298

2,087,411 698,669 2,786,080 157,174 18,779 175,953 2,962,033

2,004,761 680,525 2,685,286 191,233 18,779 210,012 2,895,298

Funds Unrestricted Funds Accumulated Fund Designated Funds Restricted Funds Permanent Endowment Funds Total Funds at 31 December 2010 Statement by Trustees

The attached summarised financial statements do not comprise the statutory accounts or the complete trustees' report of the Society but are a summary of information relating to the Consolidated Statement of Financial Activities and the Consolidated Balance Sheet. The summarised financial statements do not contain sufficient information to allow a full understanding of the results and state of affairs of the group as would be provided by the full financial statements. The full statutory financial statements of the Society were approved and signed by the trustees on 16 March 2011 and will be submitted to the Charity Commission in due course. The full statutory financial statements of the Society were audited by the Society's auditors PKF (UK) LLP who issued an unqualified report on 16 March 2011. Copies of the full statutory financial statements can be obtained on application to the Society. Approved by the Trustees on 16 March 2011 and signed by: A G Abel (Chair of Trustee Board), P Flesher (Honorary Treasurer), R M Brown (Honorary Secretary), S Hargreaves (Chief Executive Officer) 32

Society of Dyers and Colourists

www.sdc.org.uk


Laduma Ngxokola, SDC International Design Competition winner 2010 (photo: A Crowther)


Front cover credits: 1 Colour Experience 2 Dyeing workshop (photo: A Crowther) 3 SDC India event (photo: A Naikdesai) Back cover credits: 1 SDC International Design Competition students (photo: A Crowther) 2 Laduma Ngxokola, SDC International Design Competition winner 2010 (photo: A Crowther) 3 John Morris (photo: A Crowther)

Society of Dyers and Colourists PO Box 244, Perkin House, 82 Grattan Road Bradford, West Yorkshire BD1 2JB, England T: +44 (0)1274 725138 F: +44 (0)1274 392888 E: info@sdc.org.uk W: www.sdc.org.uk Charity Registration No. 212331

Annual Review 2010  

SDC 2010 Annual Review

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you