Page 1

PROGRAM VOLUME 47

|

ISSUE 3

|

THE OFFICIAL MAGAZINE OF THE SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA

CHAMPIONSHIP EDITION

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA

Championship Preview Edition

1

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - SUMMER ISSUE


SCPGA SUPER SENIOR SECTION CHAMPIONSHIP

SOWINSKI AIMING FOR AN UNPRECEDENTED FOUR-PEAT D E F E N D I N G C H A M P I O N : G A RY SOW I N S K I - H O D G E S L E A R N I N G C E N T E R

Gary Sowinski, PGA, has left his mark on the Super Senior Championship. His three consecutive win reign is on the line as the 2020 Championship heads to Victoria Club in RIverside, California. The 2019 Championship was played at South Hills Country Club, a William Bell designed golf course with small undulating greens and narrow landing areas. Sowinski started his second round onestroke behind the day-one leader Paul Wise but he stayed persistent. Regarding his mindset heading into the final round, Sowinski said, “I knew number one, starting out the day I had to catch Paul [Wise]”.

2019 South Hills Country Club 70-69 (139)

Sowinski used birdies on holes #4, #6, #14, and #18 and a lone bogey on #17 to fire a round two score of 69, and a tournament total of 139 to win the Championship by four strokes. Sowinski will have his work cut out for him if he intends to extend his unprecedented streak.

PARTNERS

2

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW


FACTS & FIGURES SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA SUPER SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP

COURSE PREVIEW

WHEN:

Aug 18 – Aug 19, 2020 WHERE:

Riverside, California FIELD:

16 PGA Professionals F O R M AT :

36-hole stroke play Championship

VICTORIA CLUB

HOST PGA PROFESSIONAL: JEFF CROSS

72

par

128

70.5

slope

rating

* F I N A L YA R D A G E S D E T E R M I N E D 48 HOURS PRIOR TO EVENT

SCPGA.COM

3


SCPGA SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP

CAN HART DEAL THE WIN AT SOBOBA? J E F F H A RT - L I F E M E M B E R AC T I V E

Adding to his already impressive 2019 campaign, Jeff Hart claimed the Southern California PGA Senior Professional Championship in record setting fashion. Champion Jeff Hart, PGA was consistent over the two day and matched his round one score of 64 in the final round to finish at 16-under par, 128, a two-day total best for the Senior Section Championship. Hart’s record setting play put him six shots clear of the field. This Championship was first contested in 1960 and the two-day scoring record was previously held by four-time Champion Chris Starkjohann who finished with a 131 in 2010.“ With Hart’s accuracy off the tee and pinpoint iron play, he swiftly claimed the tournament scoring record and hoisted The Joe Robinson – Roy P. Denney Perpetual Trophy. Even more impressive was his ability to avoid mistakes, with no bogeys throughout his two rounds.

2019 Oak Valley Golf Club 64-64 (128)

PAST SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA SENIOR CHAMPIONS

4

MIKE FERGIN 2018

ALAN SORENSEN 2017

GARY SOWINSKI 2016

Oak Valley Golf Club

Oak Valley Golf Club

69-66 (135)

65-71 (136)

Rustic Canyon Golf Course 69-70 (139)

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW


COURSE PREVIEW

FACTS & FIGURES SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP WHEN:

Aug 24 – Aug 25, 2020 WHERE:

San Jacinto, California FIELD:

SOBOBA SPRINGS GOLF CLUB HOST PGA PROFESSIONAL: FRANK LUCHOWSKI

72

par

73.8

rating

135

slope

* F I N A L YA R D A G E S D E T E R M I N E D 48 HOURS PRIOR TO EVENT

80 PGA Professionals F O R M AT :

36-hole stroke play Championship PURSE:

$15,000 (Based on a full field) EXEMPTIONS:

Top ten finishers and five alternates will advance to the 32nd Senior PGA Professional Championship. This includes the Senior Section Champion.

PARTNERS

SCPGA.COM

5


SCPGA ASSISTANT CHAMPIONSHIP

GUNNING FOR BACK-TO-BACK D E F E N D I N G C H A M P I O N : G U N N A R W I E B E - B E L-A I R C O U N T R Y C LU B

Defending champion Gunner Wiebe of Bel-Air Country Club has his sights set on a repeat at the National Car Rental Southern California Assistant PGA Professional Championship. Wiebe won the 2019 Championship after posting an opening round score of one-under par 71. Hosted at Glendora C.C.defined by narrow fairways protected with bold tree lines created some shot shaping upon which Wiebe thrived, battling through the afternoon heat to post two-under par in his second round with five birdies on the card to claim the title. “The course played really tough in the afternoon when the wind got up… I kind of had to reset a little, and then just grinded all day,” said Gunner after his 2019 victory.

2019 Glendora Country Club 71-70 (141)

PAST SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA ASSISTANT PGA CHAMPIONS

6

KENNY PIGMAN 2018

KENNY PIGMAN 2017

JERRY CROWELL 2016

Red Hill Country Club

South Hills Country Club

El Niguel Country Club

73-64 (137)

68-67 (135)

72-67 (139)

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW


FACTS & FIGURES

COURSE PREVIEW

A S S I S TA N T C H A M P I O N S H I P WHEN:

August 31, 2020 WHERE:

Beaumont, California FIELD:

95 Players F O R M AT :

36-hole stroke play format. The top 4 finishers in the Section PGA Assistant Championship will advance to the PGA Assistant National Championship. This includes the Champion. There will be 4 alternates.

O A K VA L L E Y G O L F C L U B

72

rating

140

PURSE:

$6,000 (Based on a full field)

NEW FOR 2020

73.7

par

slope

* F I N A L YA R D A G E S D E T E R M I N E D 48 HOURS PRIOR TO EVENT

PARTNERS

The 2020 SCPGA Assistant Championship, and the A.P.A. Championship, will now be combined into one event. Prize money will be distributed based on finish within the entire field (both A-8’s and Associates), but A.P.A. points will be determined based on finish against associates only. 7

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - SUMMER ISSUE SCPGA.COM

7


# S O C A LC H A M P

TURN UP THE HEAT ALL SYSTEMS GO FOR THE SECTION CHAMPIONSHIP IN THE DESERT

Defending SCPGA Section, and Senior Section Champion Jeff Hart, PGA, will have a lot of strong competition to face off against this year in the desert. Although the registration deadline doesn’t close until August 26th, the Covid-19 related cancelation of Section events early in the 2020 season has driven the participation numbers up for this year’s championship. With a purse north of $90,000, this Section Championship will surly be one for the ages, the only question is whose name will be etched into history? PA R T N E R S :

8

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW


“First and foremost, we want to ensure that we are running a responsible championship this year in regards to COVID-19 protocols, but also we want the event to have the feel of a Major Championship for the Section,� SCPGA Director of Competitions, Max DeSpain

SCPGA.COM

9


SCPGA SECTION CHAMPIONSHIP

THE HART OF A CHAMPION D E F E N D I N G C H A M P I O N : J E F F H A RT - L I F E M E M E B R AC T I V E

Fresh off playing in his first PGA Championship at Harding Park in August, the defending Senior and Section Champion, Jeff Hart, PGA, is ready to defend his titles. During the 2019 Section Championship, Hart and Smock were deadlocked after 54-holes at 18-under par, 196, requiring a sudden-death playoff for Hart to claim the Championship title. “After winning the Southern California Senior PGA Professional Championship, to double up here is just phenomenal,” commented Jeff Hart after hoisting the trophy in 2019.

2019 Alisal Ranch & Resort 65-66-65 (196)

Hart is the first Champion to win both the Southern California Senior PGA Professional Championship and Southern California PGA Professional Championship in the same year since Chris Starkjohann accomplished the feat in 2010.

PAST SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA SECTION CHAMPIONS MICHAEL BLOCK 2018

MICHAEL BLOCK 2017

KENNY PIGMAN 2016

CHAD SORENSEN 2015

La Quinta & Rancho La Quinta Country Club 68-67-71 (206)

Bermuda Dunes Country Club

TPC Valencia Golf Club 70-66-70 (206)

Rancho Santa Fe Golf Club

10

71-71-67 (209)

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW

73-68 (141)


FACTS & FIGURES

COURSE PREVIEW

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA PROFESSIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP WHEN:

Sep 14 – Sep 16, 2020 WHERE:

Palm Desert, California FIELD:

156 PGA Professionals F O R M AT :

54-hole stroke play Championship; Cut to the low 60 and ties after 36 holes.

I R O N WO O D CO U N T RY C LU B SOUTH COURSE HOST PGA PROFESSIONAL:

MICHAEL OBERLANDER

72 133 par

slope

75.1

rating

* F I N A L YA R D A G E S D E T E R M I N E D 48 HOURS PRIOR TO EVENT

PURSE:

$90,000 (Based on a full field) EXEMPTIONS:

The overall champion will earn a berth into the PGA TOUR’s American Express, to be played January 20-24, 2021 at PGA WEST in La Quinta. Top 11 finishers will qualify for the 2021 PGA Professional Championship to be hosted next Spring at the PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida, There will be 5 alternates.

INDIAN WELLS GOLF RESORT P L AY E R C O U R S E HOST PGA PROFESSIONAL:

JOSEPH WILLIAMS

72 140 par

slope

75.4

rating

* F I N A L YA R D A G E S D E T E R M I N E D 4 8 HOURS PRIOR TO EVENT

2021 PGA CHAMPIONSHIP Top 20 finishers from the 2021 PGA Professional Championship will earn a berth into the PGA Championship on the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, May 17-21, 2021.

11

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - SUMMER ISSUE


SCPGA WOMEN’S SECTION CHAMPIONSHIP

WISE ON THE PRIZE D E F E N D I N G C H A M P I O N : L E H U A W I S E - T H E H I D E AW AY G O L F C L U B

Coming into the final round threeshots off the lead, Wise turned on the afterburners during the 2019 Women’s Section Championship, making the turn with back-to-back birdies on #12 and #13. Wise wasn’t alone down the stretch, with a pack of players making the push for the title. A three-way tie for second place saw Jacqueline Riegle of Monarch Beach Golf Links, Erika Ilagan of SeaCliff CC, and Dr. Alison Curdt of Wood Ranch Golf Club all finishing a single stroke off the lead at seven-over par, 147. This title marks Wise’s third Women’s Section Championship victory in the events’ 13 year history, having won in 2011 and 2016. “I’m very happy, excited and surprised. I just tried to stay in the present today and hit good shots. My goal is always to finish on top and at the same time I was just trying to have fun. It shows that if you focus on yourself and let loose it helps out a little.”

2019 Monarch Beach Golf Links 73-73 (146)

PAST SCPGA WOMEN’S SECTION CHAMPIONS ERIKA ILAGAN 2018

12

DR. ALISON CURDT 2017

LEHUA WISE 2016

SeaCliff Country Club

Avondale Golf Club

Wood Ranch Golf Club

76-72 (148)

69-68 (138)

68-74 (142)

PROGRAM MAGAZINE - CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW


COURSE PREVIEW

FACTS & FIGURES

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA PGA WOMEN’S SECTION CHAMPIONSHIP WHEN:

Sept 23 – 24, 2020 WHERE:

La Quinta, California T H E H I D E AWAY G O L F C L U B P E T E DY E C O U R S E HOST PGA PROFESSIONAL:

S H A N E P O N C H OT

72.9

72

par

rating

133

slope

* F I N A L YA R D A G E S D E T E R M I N E D 4 8 HOURS PRIOR TO EVENT

DEFENDING SENIOR DIVISION

MARDELL WILKINS 2019

FIELD:

40 PGA Professionals F O R M AT :

36-hole stroke play Championship The Women’s Section Championship will offer two flights: Championship and Senior (50+). Players MUST identify which flight they would like to compete in at registration. To be crowned overall Champion, the player must participate in the Championship Flight. Purse will be weighted on number of contestants in each flight.

PARTNERS

Monarch Beach Golf Links 90-77 (167) SCPGA.COM

13

Profile for Southern California PGA

2020 SCPGA PROgram Magazine - Championship Preview  

The Official Publication of the Southern California PGA. #WeAreSoCalPGA

2020 SCPGA PROgram Magazine - Championship Preview  

The Official Publication of the Southern California PGA. #WeAreSoCalPGA

Profile for scpga

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded