R h W v 5
MINING TOWNS AND CULTURAL GEMS An exciting journey along the Silver Road
Barrier-free as of publication – detailed information at: www.sachsen-barrierefrei.de
Publishing information Publisher: Tourismusverband Erzgebirge e. V.
Matuschek p. 29 top; Eisenbahnmuseum Schwarzenberg
Adam Ries Straße 16, 09456 Annaberg-Buchholz
(Schwarzenberg Railway Museum) p. 29 bottom; LGS GmbH
Tel. + 49 (0) 37 33 188 00 88, Fax + 49 (0) 37 33 188 00 20
i.L. p. 30; Stadtverwaltung Oelsnitz p. 31 top, Bergbaumuseum
Oelsnitz (Oelsnitz Mining Museum) p. 31 centre, Kristin Jahn p. 31 bottom; Doreen Staib p. 32, Stadtverwaltung Scheiben-
Editorial deadline: November 2017
berg p. 33, Cornelia Martin p. 64; Stadtverwaltung Zwönitz
Legal notice: The Tourismusverband Erzgebirge e. V./publisher
waltung Oberwiesenthal p. 37 and 67; Touristinfo (Tourist Info)
makes no guarantee in respect of the accuracy and completeness
Ehrenfriedersdorf p. 40, 41 and 70; Dirk Rückschloß/BUR Wer-
of the content provided. Please direct any specific enquiries to-
beagentur p. 42, 43 and 51; AEROBILD 2000-04509 Löbnitz
wards the organisations and addresses listed. The Tourismusver-
p. 44, 360Grad Team p. 44, 45 top and 72., Stadtverwaltung
band Erzgebirge e. V. is pleased to provide general information.
Marienberg p. 45 centre; Augustusburg p. 46; Weissflog p. 47;
p. 34; TVE/Bernd März p. 35; Dieter Knoblauch p. 36; Stadtver-
Dittrich Marz p. 48, Stadtverwaltung Museum Kalkwerk LengeCover picture: Large traditional miners’ parade to celebrate the
feld (Lengefeld City Government and Limeworks Museum)
annual mining festival in “Silver Town” Freiberg
p. 74; Stadt Oederan/Sandra Wermes p. 49, Klein Erzgebirge
(photo: university town Freiberg/Marcel Schlenkrich)
(Erzgebirge in Miniature) p. 73; Stadtverwaltung Brand-Erbis-
Back cover picture: Golden Portal at Cathedral of St. Mary
dorf p. 50 and p. 78; Fotoatelier (Photo Studio) Hermann
in Freiberg (photo: TVE/Frank Graetz)
Schmidt Olbernhau, owner. Kristian Hahn p. 51 and p. 75; Gemeindeverwaltung (Municipal Government of) Seiffen p. 52;
Tourismusverband Erzgebirge e. V.
Photo credits: Rene Gaens p. 11 bottom; Uwe Meinhold p. 12;
Silberstadt® Freiberg ©Albrecht Holländer Artworks p. 53;
Wolfgang Thieme p. 18 bottom; Bernd März p. 2, 10/11, 19;
Andreas Krone p. 76; Egbert Kamprath p. 56, Jens Kugler p. 57
Adam Ries Straße 16
TMGS/Achim Meurer p. 9, p. 13 bottom; Frank Graetz p. 9 bot-
centre. Museum Altenberg (Altenberg Museum) p. 57 top,
tom; WFE GmbH/Marko Borrmann p. 4 left, p. 5 right, p. 6 top
p. 82, Schloss Lauenstein (Lauenstein Castle) p. 57 bottom; Jan
left, p. 7 top and centre; BUR Werbeagentur GmbH/Dirk Rück-
Rieger, Ralf Menzel, Rene Jungnickel, Malte Burkhardt Wolf-
Tel. + 49 (0) 37 33 188 00 88
schloß p. 3, 8, 18 bottom; Jens Kugler p. 4 & 5 top, p. 6, 7 bot-
gang Thieme p. 54, 55; Stadtverwaltung Dippoldiswalde p. 58;
Fax + 49 (0) 37 33 188 00 20
tom, p. 10 bottom; Olaf Martin p. 13; TVE p. 12 bottom; Jan
Rene Gaens p. 59; Bergbaumuseum Oelsnitz/Erzgebirge (Oels-
Rieger p. 14; Die sehenswerten Drei p. 15; Foto Weigel p. 16;
nitz/Erzgebirge Mining Museum) p. 62 top, Gregor Lorenz,
Stadtverwaltung (City Government) Glashütte p. 18 top; Mar-
Zschorlau p. 62 bottom; Stadt Grünhain-Beierfeld p. 63; Stadt-
cel Drechsler p. 18 top; Wolfgang Schmidt p. 19 bottom; Tour-
verwaltung Geyer, Lohse p. 68; Jens Dageförde p. 69; Volks-
ist Service Center Eibenstock p. 22; Stadtverwaltung Jo-
bank p. 72; Museum Kalkwerk Lengefeld (Lengefeld Lime-
hanngeorgenstadt, Wolfgang Koß p. 23 and Frank Teller p. 69;
works Museum) p. 74; Sylvio Dittrich p. 77; Aurora Erbstollen
Stadtverwaltung Schneeberg p. 24, 25, 63; Gästeinformation
p. 79; Jähnig GmbH/Robert Michael, p. 81; Norbert Kaiser p. 82
(Tourist Information) Bad Schlema p. 26; Stadt (City of) Aue
Design: Sandstein Kommunikation GmbH,
p. 27; BUR Werbeagentur GmbH p. 28, p. 29 centre, Felix
Lauta horse gin
WE OWE IT ALL TO MINING Since discovering more than 850 years ago that the earth beneath their feet was rich in natural resources, the people of the Erzgebirge have seen the construction of countless tunnels and shafts, hammer mills and smelting works. The silver rush that followed – known in the local language as the Berggeschrey, or mining fever – led to the gradual emergence of a modern industrial region, whose call was answered by thousands of people. Mining dominated the region for a very long time. It gave rise to the famous Christmas traditions of the Erzgebirge, as well as the typical crafts, customs and practices that live on to this day. Today, fascinating witnesses to the various mining periods can be found mainly along the SILVER ROAD in Saxony and Bohemia. Close to 30 visitors’ mines and around 20 miners’ parades every year convey a vivid impression of the life of mining folk. Historical mining towns with their splendid hall churches and numerous mining monuments invite you to embark on a remarkable tour of discovery. Today, the Erzgebirge, with the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge, is seeking recognition as a UNESCO World Heritage site. www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
HISTORY Berggeschrey and a wealth of discoveries In 1168, rich seams of silver ore were discovered close to what is now the city of Freiberg. Naturally the news spread like wildfire and prompted the first Berggeschrey. Craftsmen, merchants and of course miners followed the alluring call to what was then a very sparsely populated region. They founded the first settlements along the trade routes to Bohemia. The discovery of further rich ore deposits in the 15th century triggered the second Berggeschrey â€“ a real boom â€“ in Schneeberg, Annaberg and JĂĄchymov (St. Joachimsthal). After a huge wave of new settlers, the Erzgebirge evolved into one of the most densely populated low mountain ranges in Europe. New, systematically planned mining towns were built, such as the Renaissance town of Marienberg and the towns of Oberwiesenthal and Gottesgab. In the 16th century, the region proceeded to become the centre of mining in Central Europe, with modern technology finding its way into the tunnels and galleries. Water-raising and water-transport technology powered water-driven machines, which in turn replaced some of the manual work. In order to supply the vast amounts of water required for such a process, extensive man-made ditch systems were installed with artificial ponds and leats. After the decline of mining, locals turned to other professions such as wood craft, bobbin lace-making and passement manufacturing. Indeed, the wooden toys and Christmas items typical of the Erzgebirge such as pyramids, incense-burning figurines and nutcrackers are still recognisable images around the world. Today, however, the Erzgebirge region is also celebrated as a modern, innovative business location with a diverse mix of industries, embodying ingenuity and growth. Numerous inventions can be traced back to bright minds from the region. The Erzgebirge people are welcoming hosts, known for their warmth, sincerity and openness to the world. Famous across the globe as the land of Christmas, holidays outside of the winter season are now also gaining increasing popularity. The Annaberg mining altarpiece depicts the mining landscape and life of the Erzgebirge 500 years ago
THE MINING CULTURAL LANDSCAPE ERZGEBIRGE/KRUŠNOHOŘÍ IS ON ITS WAY TO BECOMING A UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE!
Mining at close quarters at the Altenberg Mining Museum
800 years of mining – two countries – one heritage 800 years of mining in the Erzgebirge have forged an industrial and cultural landscape that is rich in tradition and variety, with a wealth of beautifully preserved historical monuments and facilities related to mining history. Unique mountain landscapes shaped by the practice of mining stretch along the German-Czech border, broken only by romantic river valleys dotted with picturesque villages. Numerous historical mining towns and settlements were founded on both the Saxon and Bohemian sides of the Erzgebirge. Over the course of several centuries, innumerable mining-related customs and traditions came into being. Today, these are purposefully kept alive and passed down through the generations. The mining industry had a pronounced influence on the lifestyle of the Erzgebirge people, giving rise to a uniquely “Erzgebirgish” attitude towards life. The mining artefacts and objects from the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge – boasting such extraordinary universal value for humanity’s heritage – should undoubtedly be safeguarded for posterity.
MINING CULTURAL LANDSCAPE ERZGEBIRGE/KRUŠNOHOŘÍ
View of the historical old town of Annaberg
Since the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří was accepted onto Germany’s tentative list for possible World Heritage sites in 1998, the region has been persistent in its quest to achieve recognition as a UNESCO World Heritage site. The World Heritage title is a tremendous opportunity for the Erzgebirge to preserve its unique mining patrimony as an “outstanding heritage of humanity” whilst simultaneously presenting itself to the world as a living cultural landscape. With the UNESCO World Heritage application for the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří signed jointly by the Free State of Saxony and the Czech Republic in December 2017, the Erzgebirge is making its second attempt at acceptance onto the World Heritage list. In total, 17 component parts in Saxony and five in the Czech Republic have been nominated, representing a complete cross-section of the region’s mining heritage – representative of many other mining monuments. The selection is supplemented by 18 so-called “associated objects”, thus ensuring that the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge/ Krušnohoří is promoted comprehensively to tourists. A decision on whether or not it will be listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site is expected in summer 2019. www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
The Thelersberg Adit in Brand-Erbisdorf
JOURNEY TOWARDS UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE STATUS
The many faces of the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge Erzgebirge mining has shaped the region in every possible respect â€“ its influence can be felt widely in landscape, architecture, art and culture, not to mention business, politics and society. There are seven characteristic facets of the mining region, just waiting to be discovered and experienced first-hand in the Erzgebirge Ore Mountains Experience. Above and below-ground mining monuments A variety of mining installations remain preserved in the Erzgebirge. Historical monuments can be visited both above ground and below. Man-made ditch at the RWA water management system in Freiberg
Mining landscapes with flora and fauna The mining industry has given the landscape of the Erzgebirge its own very particular character. Sinkholes and heaps as well as man-made ponds and ditches are threaded throughout the landscape like pearls on a string.
www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de Underground German-Czech boundary line at the Zinnwald Visitorsâ€™ Mine
MINING CULTURAL LANDSCAPE ERZGEBIRGE/KRUŠNOHOŘÍ
Post-mining industries and mining-related industries When the widely fluctuating earnings of mining plunged the Erzgebirge people into times of crisis, their manual skill and ingenuity gave them new trades to follow. Dozens of new mining-related trades and industries emerged in the region, including woodwork and metalworking. Mining towns, settlements and monuments Freiberg became the first large mining town in the Erzgebirge. The ensuing centuries saw the formation of a landscape of mining settlements and towns unlike any other in the world. By the 17th century, over 50 mining towns had been established. The Lengefeld Limeworks
Art, music and literature Mining and metallurgy have also had an impact on the artistic, musical and literary output of the Erzgebirge people. For centuries, the mining industry was adopted as a key motif in art. The spectrum ranged from painting to music and literature. Folk art, customs and crafts As early as the 16th century, miners were carving out an additional income for themselves mainly through wood craft, textile production and tin casting. A great number of mining traditions such as the mining parades and the Mettenschicht (celebrating the final shift before Christmas) still live on today. Education, science and regional politics Few other mining regions in the world have made such a significant contribution to the development of mining and geo-sciences as the Erzgebirge. Mining acted as the driving force for economic growth in the region.
The Siebenschlehen Stamp Mill in Schneeberg
It is a magnet for visitors wanting to experience the Erzgebirge attitude towards life, with its extraordinary attractions both above and below ground. Visiting the innumerable underground visitors’ mines is particularly worthwhile. They tell the stories of the natural treasures to which the Erzgebirge owes its wealth, name and economic importance. More information on the UNESCO World Heritage application: www.montanregion-erzgebirge.de www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
The Oelsnitz / Erzgebirge Mining Museum
MINING TOWNS AND CHURCHES
FASCINATING MINING TOWNS & MAGNIFICENT CHURCHES With the discovery of silver, wealth also gradually came to the Erzgebirge, and more and more people flocked to the region. New mining towns were founded with special rights and tax benefits in order to encourage rapid development and to provide the new citizens, miners and administration buildings with accommodations close to the deposits. The imposing, often richly furbished hall churches and the newly founded mining towns bear witness to this prosperity – and to the gratitude of the local rulers and miners. Notable monuments include St. Anne’s Church (1499-1525) in Annaberg-Buchholz, the Cathedral of St. Mary in the historical heart of Freiberg’s old town and St. Wolfgang’s Church (1516-1540) in Schneeberg, commonly known as the
www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de Aerial image of the mining town of Wolkenstein
MINING TOWNS AND CHURCHES
Magnificent interior of the late Gothic St. Anne’s hall church in Annaberg-Buchholz
Bergmannsdom (Miners’ Cathedral). It is Saxony’s largest hall church from the late Gothic period. Inside, visitors can marvel at an exquisite altar by Lucas Cranach the Elder. The town layout of Marienberg reveals a touch of Italian Renaissance thinking. With a regular layout, a central, square marketplace and a right-angled street system, it bears all the hallmarks of an “ideal town”. Not far from the marketplace is the late Gothic Church of St. Mary, an architectural accomplishment that goes back to the heyday of silver mining. The Miners’ Church of St. Mary stands on Annaberg marketplace; its construction was commissioned by the local miners’ union and miners from the Annaberg ore field, specifically as a place for miners to pray. The building costs were covered largely by the miners’ weekly contributions to the union. Inside the church is the highly treasured miners’ nativity crib. The historical town centre and grand buildings continue to draw visitors even today.
The Golden Portal at the Cathedral of St. Mary in Freiberg
Traditional miners’ parade
Hammer and pick In the Erzgebirge, visitors will encounter the typical hammer-and-pick mining symbol at practically every turn. It is still found wherever there is a strong connection to mining. Virtually no other region in Germany has such close and enduring ties to mining.
Hammer and pick symbol
Glück Auf This is the traditional miners’ greeting from over 500 years ago. It conveys the hope of the miners to open up new lodes, and also expresses their desire to see each other return safely from the mine after a shift. Today, “Glück Auf!” is still a common greeting in daily life in many places throughout the Erzgebirge. Mining technology Miners refer to their tools and equipment as their toolkit (Gezähe). For many centuries, the hammer and pick formed the main components of this kit. Materials were hauled and transported mainly by means of mining cars, or trams.
Experiencing mining both above and below ground More than 20 visitors’ mines, over 250 km of mining trails, and innumerable tunnels, sinkholes, man-made ditches (to supply water to the mines), supply shafts and lines of heaps give this cultural landscape its distinctive appearance. Nowhere else in Germany today offers such an abundance of mining equipment and mining-related art works as the Erzgebirge. Hiking meets handicraft
Miners’ parades Originally, miners’ processions and parades served to honour the territorial lord and his retinue on special occasions or visits from distinguished guests. Today, they are the highlight of the Erzgebirge Christmas markets and the quarter-year celebrations dating from the old mining calendar. Saxon miners’ guilds and mining bands march through the festively illuminated towns in historical costume. The Mettenschicht This refers to the miners’ last shift before Christmas. For miners, it was a chance to offer prayers and devotions whilst also enjoying a social gathering. Today, visitors can join in the experience at the visitors’ mines. www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
Liquation Works in Olbernhau
Miners and angels The Light Miner and the Light Angel are among the best-known symbolic figures at Christmas time. For the miner, labouring arduously underground in his dangerous search for ore, light has always been much more than simple illumination. Indeed, the warm glow of light soon came to symbolise life itself. It is therefore no surprise to find figures of angels and miners – some simple, some richly painted; some large, some small – casting their soft, festive gleam in rooms across the Erzgebirge to brighten up the long, cold winter days at the end of each year. Light Angel and Miner
Festivals The Annaberger Kät folk festival in Annaberg-Buchholz is the oldest and biggest festival in the Erzgebirge. It has been celebrated since 1520 and always takes place two weeks after Whitsun. Every year on 22 July, the Bergstreittag (Miners’ Dispute Day) in Schneeberg commemorates one of the first ever wage strikes. The highlight is the big miners’ parade, which is followed by the miners’ church service at St. Wolfgang’s Church. Freiberg celebrates its mining festival every year on the last weekend in June. Participants experience living tradition, unique culture and happy people in an enchanting setting. www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
The basalt columns on Scheibenberg give the appearance of giant, silent organ pipes
Did you know... ... the Freiberg University of Mining and Technology is the oldest mining university in the world, proudly looking back on 250 years of history. ... the world’s largest Schwibbögen (arched candle holders) can be admired in Gelenau and Johanngeorgenstadt. ... the miner doesn’t “go” or “walk” underground; he “rides”, even if he’s climbing down a ladder. ... respiratory diseases can be effectively treated in the healing galleries of the Ehrenfriedersdorf tin mine. With a temperature of 7°C and a relative humidity of 100%, the air contains virtually no dust or allergens. ... the Saigerhütte Grünthal (Grünthal Liquation Works) in Olbernhau is the only monument for non-ferrous metallurgy in Europe. Originally constructed to melt silver out of black copper, the plant soon became the centre for copper processing. One particular product was Grünthal roofing copper, which can still be found in various places across Europe.
The largest Christmas pyramid is located in Johanngeorgenstadt
Featuring 3,500 minerals, precious gems and meteorites, terra mineralia is a permanent exhibition by the Freiberg University of Mining and Technology, and one of the most superb mineral displays in the world. Visitors can experience the treasures of the earth in a phenomenal presentation. A modern exhibition concept and the historical ambience of Schloss Freudenstein (Freudenstein Castle) showcase these minerals in an entirely new light. Terra mineralia is not the only mineralogical highlight that Freiberg has to offer: the geological collection of the Freiberg University of Mining and Technology displays rare and beautiful minerals, unparalleled in shape and variety, gathered together and presented in a worldfamous collection that is by no means only of interest to the experts.
terra mineralia, permanent exhibition at the Freiberg University of Mining and Technology, Africa room
The family-friendly Scharfenstein Castle – with fairy tale days, ghost walks, treasure hunts...
The presentation at the interactive museum Manufaktur der Träume (Factory of Dreams) in the heart of Annaberg’s old town really does live up to its name. Its impressive range of Erzgebirge figurines – ranging from angels and miners to nutcrackers, composition figures and wonderful toys – will entice you into a realm of make-believe. With over 1,000 artefacts from a span of four centuries, the Factory of Dreams houses one of the largest private collections worldwide. Such a major loan comes courtesy of the German-Swiss collector and heiress to the Wella company, Erika Pohl-Ströher. Masterful wood art from all over the world can be viewed at the DaetzCentrum (Daetz Centre) in Lichtenstein. The exhibited works of art portray myths, fairy tales and legends, and demonstrate a wide range of different cultural perspectives on everyday life.
Classicism, ancient music, the experimental and the traditional – there is no end of options for culture vultures to feast on in the Erzgebirge Ore Mountains Experience. Classical theatres in Freiberg (with the oldest city theatre in the world) and Annaberg-Buchholz more than meet audience expectations when it comes to opera, cabaret and plays. In the middle of the Erzgebirge, the outdoor theatre at Greifenstein boasts a picturesque natural rock stage that forms an incomparable backdrop for the Greifenstein Festival, hosted by the Eduard-von-Winterstein Theatre every summer. Theatre-lovers of all ages will be kept busy throughout the summer season with a number of premieres and classic theatre performances. PERLA CASTRUM – A Castle Full of History in Schwarzenberg
The artmontan Culture Days promise extraordinary events in unusual venues. Whether filled with the strains of Dixieland or Viennese melodies, underground spaces and industrial manufacturing sites become remarkable concert halls – every event in itself offers rare and spectacular highlights.
artmontan – cultural delight in extraordinary www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de locations – Pöhla tin mine
The rich culture and traditions of the Erzgebirge meet world-famous performers and young artists – that’s the basic concept behind two festivals that have taken turns in bringing fresh momentum to this musical landscape since 2010. The SILBERMANN DAYS (which hosts an international organ competition) and the ERZGEBIRGE MUSIC FESTIVAL offer music fans from near and far extraordinary musical experiences. The Erzgebirge Music Festival forms a bridge between the rich musical tradition of the Erzgebirge and Saxony and the fascinating interpretations of internationally renowned artists. The artistic director of the festival, Hans-Christoph Rademann, himself embodies the charming dynamic between regional roots and artistic achievements of international standing.
German Watch Museum, Glashütte
Instruments that are a true gift from the past: the renowned Silbermann organs of the Erzgebirge. Their builder is world-famous, their silvery sound unsurpassed. 300 years ago, Gottfried Silbermann created a unique organ landscape in the region around the mining city of Freiberg. To this day, music lovers and organ enthusiasts from all over the world find themselves powerless to resist its spell. The large organ in Freiberg Cathedral is considered Silbermann’s signature work, and is also the best preserved. Majestic castles and palaces such as Schlettau, Wolkenstein, Scharfenstein, Zschopau, Augustusburg and Lichtenwalde lie tucked away in the legendary Zschopau Valley or rise commandingly on the cliffs. The Müglitz Valley is home to the Renaissance Schloss Lauenstein (Lauenstein Castle) as well as Schloss Weesenstein (Weesenstein Castle), whose history can be traced back to the Middle Ages. Landmarks in Schwarzenberg include the local castle and St. George’s Church. Numerous exhibitions allow visitors to dive into local history and learn about the unique character of the region. Visible for miles around, the Jagd- und Lustschloss Augustusburg (Augustusburg hunting lodge and summer residence) sits perched on a hill above the town that bears its name. Originally built by August the Strong, the Elector of Saxony, as a residence for his hunting trips, it also had the effect of underscoring his leading position in Central Germany. Today, it is one of the most beautiful Renaissance castles in Central Europe and houses several museums. On a tour of the castle, visitors can marvel at the altarpiece painted by Lucas Cranach the Younger, which depicts the Elector’s family. www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
Silbermann organ at Freiberg Cathedral
CULINARY DELIGHTS & LOCAL CUISINE
CULINARY DELIGHTS & LOCAL CUISINE
Raacher Maad â€“ an Erzgebirge potato dish
The traditional cuisine of the Erzgebirge is simple, hearty and down-toearth. The regionâ€™s fields, barns and vast forests supply the ingredients. Potatoes are a staple of the hearty meals. Potato dumplings with mushroom ragout are as much a part of local cookery as potato patties (known to locals as Raacher Maad), potato cakes and potato fritters. The many garden and wild herbs that flourish on lush mountain meadows, grow inconspicuously by the roadsides or spring up in carefully maintained gardens have a special part to play. Prized for hundreds of years by the people of the Erzgebirge as an affordable yet indispensable component of regional cuisine, an aromatic array of herbs imbues each lovingly prepared regional speciality with its distinct flavour. Every year in the early summer, many establishment owners in the region invite visitors to experience herb season in the Erzgebirge! In addition to edible herbal creations, guests can enjoy special offers centring on the plant world.
Autumn sees the arrival of harvest time and is also when hunting season begins! Every year, local menus in October are packed with specialities from forest and field! Chefs conjure up a variety of dishes using regional produce, reinterpreting old recipes with modern cooking trends and never failing to serve something delicious during the autumn season. The Neunerlei Christmas meal Many dishes are rooted in the traditions of the industrious mining community and their hardships. The Erzgebirge Christmas meal known as Neunerlei, for example, serves up nine dishes at a single festive meal, with each dish having its own symbolic meaning. For example, roast goose with dumplings stands for prosperity, while lentils stand for blessings and small change. An additional place setting is laid at the table for an unknown guest who might just stop by.
CULINARY DELIGHTS & LOCAL CUISINE
Trying the winning soup at the soup fair in Neudorf
Erzgebirge Christmas stollen Raisins, almonds, butter, candied lemon peel… Despite having the same ingredients, no two butter stollen taste alike. It’s the little baking secrets passed down from great-grandma that provide the unique flavour. The quality stamp “Erzgebirgischer Weihnachtsstollen” certifies traditional production in the Erzgebirge, baked with the patience of a saint. At the stollen bakery
Beer-brewing tradition Brewing enjoys a long tradition in the Erzgebirge. Mining is certainly thirsty work, and the serving of beer soon became a profitable business. As far back as 1266, Heinrich the Illustrious granted Freiberg the sole right to supply Saxon mining areas with beer! Following tradition, today you can savour popular Erzgebirge beer in a host of restaurants in the region.
GLÃœCK AUF! EXPLORE OUR MINING TOWNS www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
MINING TOWNS EIBENSTOCK
The oldest traces of mining in the Erzgebirge Back in the mists of 1378, records tell us that a climber from Eibenstock (“stigero di ybenstock”) was granted a farm and an ore placer (a seam for extracting tin). Mining soon took off, and in 1546 the Elector of Saxony raised Eibenstock to the status of a free mining town. The oldest traces of mining in the Erzgebirge ever discovered have been found here: the southern face of the Auersberg bears evidence of tin extraction going back as far as the Bronze Age approximately 3,000 years ago. The large forest area encircling Eibenstock boasts numerous well-preserved historical traces of mining, which can be explored on educational trails in a way that feels truly authentic. This is also where the well-known miners’ greeting “Glück auf!” made its first appearance in the written record (1575: Fundgrube uffn Glueckauf (uffn Glueckauf Mine)) and was even used in a miners’ sermon in 1615.
TOP TIP A SPECIAL TOWN The wealthiest mine owner of the 17th century, Veit Hans Schnorr from Schneeberg, founded a church for his workers in the remote town of Carlsfeld “for their spiritual and emotional well-being”. The Trinitatis Church was built in the baroque style between 1684 and 1688 and is the oldest round church in Saxony. It also served as a small architectural model for later churches, including the Frauenkirche in Dresden.
TOURIST SERVICE CENTRE EIBENSTOCK Dr. Leidholdt-Str. 2, 08309 Eibenstock Tel. + 49 (0) 377 52 22 44, firstname.lastname@example.org www.eibenstock.de
MINING TOWNS JOHANNGEORGENSTADT
Schwibbogen Town In 1654, the Elector of Saxony, Johann Georg I, allowed religious refugees from the mining town of Platten to found a new town bearing his name on the Fastenberg. This makes Johanngeorgenstadt the youngest mining town in the Erzgebirge. Set at 700 to 1,000 m above sea level, it is the second-highest town in Saxony and well worth a visit at any time of year. Before 1530, tin and iron mining dominated the surrounding area. For around 150 years, mining formed the economic backbone of the town. Uranium mining after the Second World War had a major impact on the town’s history, changing the face of the historical old town forever. Johanngeorgenstadt is well worth a visit, not only for its fascinating mining traditions. The town has been well-known as a health retreat and winter sports venue since around 1900.
TOP TIP SPECIAL FEATURES • Glöckl exhibition mine • Pferdegöpel (horse gin) mining technology monument • Mining discovery trail (5.2 km long) • Neo-Gothic parish church (consecrated 1872, Urban-Kreutzbach organ, 2,700 pipes, 4 bells, stained-glass windows) • Largest free-standing Schwibbogen in the world (15 m tall) • 26 m high pyramid with 20 wooden figures depicting the town’s history.
STADTVERWALTUNG (CITY GOVERNMENT) JOHANNGEORGENSTADT Tourist Information Eibenstocker Straße 67, 08349 Johanngeorgenstadt Tel. + 49 (0) 37 73 88 82 22, Fax + 49 (0) 37 73 88 82 80 email@example.com www.johanngeorgenstadt.de
MINING TOWNS SCHNEEBERG
A town of many high points Schneeberg is the first mining town on the Silver Road, starting out from Zwickau. It was founded in 1471. Spectacular silver spoils led to the development of the settlement, and it wasn’t long before Schneeberg was granted town rights in 1481. Mining was practised continuously until the 20th century, ending with uranium mining. The town centre is characterised by its enchanting 18th century baroque houses. Situated on the market square, the Rathaus (town hall) is adorned with a coat of arms featuring two miners, and, since 2006, an engaging set of porcelain chimes. The splendid baroque house once belonging to Schneeberg lace merchant Johann Friedrich Bortenreuther is home to the Museum für bergmännische Volkskunst (Miners’ Folk Art Museum). St. Wolfgang’s Miners’ Cathedral draws all eyes, even from afar. The climb up the 72 m high church tower is fittingly rewarded with a stunning panoramic view of the historical
mining landscape in Neustädtel and the health resort town of Bad Schlema.
TOP TIP PAUSE AND GIVE EAR The Veit Hans Schnorr von Carolsfeld glockenspiel, made from Meissen porcelain, chimes three times a day from the tower of the town hall. Its melodies are based on mining songs, chorales, Erzgebirge songs and folk tunes from the course of the year. Take a seat on one of the benches in the tranquil market square to pause and reflect as you listen.
TOURIST INFORMATION SCHNEEBERG MINING TOWN Markt 1, 08289 Schneeberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 203 14, Fax + 49 (0) 37 72 22 33 47 firstname.lastname@example.org www.schneeberg.de
MINING TOWNS SCHNEEBERG
MINERS’ FOLK ART MUSEUM The impressive exhibition showcases miners’ folk art from the western Erzgebirge – notable exhibits include the lace and bobbin lace displays, mechanical depictions of mining, mountain scenes and pyramids. Children can set off in search of the mountain spirit and unearth the mysterious secrets of the miner.
Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 224 46 www.museum-schneeberg.de
Opening times Tue – Sun 10am – 5pm
ST. WOLFGANG’S CHURCH Don’t miss the twelve-part winged altar by Lucas Cranach the Elder. Plus, concerts in the summer season are a memorable experience – the large Jehmlich organ and the new belfry in the church tower are particularly awe-inspiring.
Pfarramt St. Wolfgang (St. Wolfgang’s Parish Office) Kirchgasse 7 Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 391 20
Opening times Mon – Fri 10am – 12pm, 2 – 4 (5)pm Sat 10am – 12pm, 1 – 4 (5)pm Sun 2 – 4 (5)pm
KULTURZENTRUM GOLDNE SONNE (GOLDNE SONNE CULTURAL CENTRE) Fürstenplatz 5, 08289 Schneeberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 37 09 11, www.goldne-sonne.de Cultural Stage – Restaurant – Lacemaking Centre – Library – Bowling Alley – Clubhouse
BESUCHERBERGWERK FUNDGRUBE WEISSER HIRSCH (WEISSER HIRSCH VISITORS’ MINE)
NEUSTÄDTLER HOBBYBERGWERK (NEUSTÄDTEL HOBBY MINE) – HANS-JÜRGEN BRECHEIS Karlsbader Straße 126, 08289 Schneeberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 211 99, www.hobbybergwerk.de Visits to the private museum are by arrangement only.
SILBERSCHMELZHÜTTE ST. GEORGEN (ST. GEORGE SMELTING WORKS)
Kobaltstraße 42, 08289 Schneeberg, Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 290, www.bergbauverein-weisser-hirsch.de
Forststraße 40, 08289 Schneeberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 32 97 78, www.silber-schmelzhuette.de
Entrance and guided tours on request
Thought to be the only silver smelting works still in existence in Europe from the time of Georgius Agricola.
MINING TOWNS BAD SCHLEMA
Schlema’s waters work wonders Since October 2004, Bad Schlema has been classed as a therapeutic radon spa. Radon is thought to be a natural remedy that stimulates the body’s own powers of healing. These properties have been exploited by Bad Schlema for almost 100 years. Baths in radon-containing waters are used mainly to treat musculo-skeletal conditions, osteoarthritis, rheumatic complaints and metabolic disorders. You can try radon as a healing remedy during an outpatient spa treatment or health holiday. Whether on holiday, on a spa break or seeking health treatments, Bad Schlema has something to suit everyone. Immerse yourself in peace and relaxation at the “ACTINON” health spa. Enjoy a visit to the indoor and outdoor areas, making the most of therapeutic radon pools and salt pools at temperatures of up to 36°C. Active recreation awaits you on the well-developed fitness training walks and hiking trails.
TOP TIP THE INTERESTING AND THE REMARKABLE Experience culture with all your senses, be inspired or get active. You are warmly invited to lectures, guided tours, exhibitions and much more. We particularly recommend a trip to the unique Markus-Semmler-Stolln (Markus Semmler Adit) Shaft 15 II b visitors’ mine at a depth of 50 m, a stroll through the Museum Uranbergbau (Museum of Uranium Mining) or a visit to the historical Backhaus (Bakery).
GÄSTEINFORMATION (TOURIST INFORMATION) BAD SCHLEMA Richard-Friedrich-Straße 18, 08301 Bad Schlema Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 38 04 50, Fax + 49 (0) 37 72 38 04 53 www.kurort-schlema.de
MINING TOWNS AUE
The large district town of Aue Aue emerged in 1173 when a monastery was founded there. At some point after 1470, miners began prospecting for silver and iron ore in the surrounding area. Lead and copper were added to the mix at the start of the 16th century. In 1661, Aue’s very own tin rush began and the town became a mining town. The former Huthaus (administration and assembly building) today houses the Auer Stadtmuseum (Aue Town Museum). Behind the museum, a mining discovery trail leads past the Vestenburger Stolln (Vestenburg Adit) up to the old Weiße Erdenzeche St. Andreas (St. Andrew Kaolin Mine). In 1698, miners struck “white earth” (kaolin), later found to be an unbeatable material for the manufacture of Meissen porcelain. Today, the old administration and assembly building – now a guest house – is listed as a protected building and stands as an evocative reminder of what was once the most famous kaolin mine in Europe.
TOP TIP RECOMMENDED ATTRACTIONS • Mining discovery trail on Heidelsberg • Kaolin Mine (administration and assembly building) • Bridges from various periods (1st pre-stressed concrete bridge in Europe) • Monastery church of the former 13th century monastery cell • St. Nicolai’s Church, neo-Gothic • Friedenskirche, one of the largest art nouveau style churches in Saxony • Forge manor house
STADTINFORMATION (TOWN INFORMATION) AUE Goethestraße 5, 08280 Aue Tel. + 49 (0) 37 71 28 11 25, Fax+ 49 (0) 37 71 28 12 34 www.aue.de, www.facebook.com/StadtAue
MINING TOWNS SCHWARZENBERG
The pearl of the Erzgebirge Together with St. George’s Church, Schloss Schwarzenberg (Schwarzenberg Castle) is a striking and widely visible landmark, befitting its role in the settlement of the region and development of the town at the start of the 13th century. Once the seat of the territorial and manorial mining administration, today it houses one of the most beautiful museums in the region and the cultural centre of the Erzgebirge district. The oldest ironworks in the Erzgebirge, the Eisenhütte Erlahammer (Erlahammer Ironworks), was also located in the administrative area of the town. Consequently, a manor house was built on Rothenberg a mere stone’s throw from what was once the most important iron ore mine in Saxony. It is currently undergoing comprehensive restoration as part of the project “Iron, Tin and Handicrafts in Schwarzenberg and Abertamy – Testaments to the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří” with financial
support provided by the partnership scheme between the Free State of Saxony and the Czech Republic 2014–2020.
GUIDED TOURS OF THE TOWN AND MUSEUMS IN SCHWARZENBERG Delve into the exciting history of the mining town of Schwarzenberg on an eventful themed townand-museum tour. Take a historical journey back to the beginnings of mining in the region. The regular public tour timetables may prove useful: • All year round Saturdays, 10.30am, • From April to October Mondays, 3.45pm
SCHWARZENBERG INFORMATION Oberes Tor 5, 08340 Schwarzenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 74 225 40, Fax + 49 (0) 37 74 202 58 email@example.com www.schwarzenberg.de
MINING TOWNS SCHWARZENBERG
PERLA CASTRUM – A CASTLE FULL OF HISTORY From watchtower to hunting lodge, from seat of territorial and manorial mining administration to prison – over 800 years of history have already been written at Schwarzenberg Castle. Be amazed by the thrilling history of the castle, the town, the region and of course mining, and admire unique Erzgebirge handicraft at PERLA CASTRUM – A Castle Full of History, an exhibition that is perfect for the whole family. Schwarzenberg Information Oberes Tor 5 08340 Schwarzenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 74 225 40
Fax + 49 (0) 37 74 202 58 touristinformation@ schwarzenberg.de www.schwarzenberg.de
BESUCHERBERGWERK ZINNKAMMERN PÖHLA E. V. (PÖHLA VISITORS’ TIN MINE ASSOCIATION) Experience mining history in vivid detail, travel 3,000 m into the bowels of the earth on the mine railway, let the world of the miners fire your imagination, and listen to concerts in the utterly unique ambience of the largest tin mine in Europe. Glück Auf! Luchsbachtal 19 08340 Schwarzenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 74 810 78 Fax + 49 (0) 37 74 810 79 firstname.lastname@example.org www.zinnkammern.de
Guided tours daily 10am and 2pm
EISENBAHNMUSEUM SCHWARZENBERG (SCHWARZENBERG RAILWAY MUSEUM) Don’t miss the truly remarkable standard gauge vehicle exhibition that awaits you at the Schwarzenberg Railway Museum. From the “Trabant on the Tracks” to the steam engine, there’s something to please every railway enthusiast at this engine shed. A host of special excursions and events throughout the year attract visitors to the rails and to the carefully maintained museum grounds. Schneeberger Straße 60 08340 Schwarzenberg Tel./Fax + 49 (0) 37 74 76 07 60
MINING TOWNS OELSNITZ/ERZGEB.
Adventure and wellness tours in the blooming landscapes of Oelsnitz, in the Erzgebirge If you’re looking for a place in eastern Germany where the land is coming into full bloom in more than just a figurative sense, then you’ve come to the right place in Oelsnitz. After the decline of coal mining 50 years ago, Oelsnitz succeeded in developing new and forward-looking infrastructures whilst also preserving its ancient traditions. With the Museum des sächsischen Steinkohlenabbaus (Museum of Saxon Coal Mining), the former horticultural show site, the Deutschlandschachthalde spa area and a wide range of entertainment, sport and wellness attractions, the town of Oelsnitz has some wonderful options for your free time. Those looking to strike out on their own are spoilt for choice with the Oelsnitz/Erzgebirge Discovery Tour (7 km), the Oelsnitz/Erzgebirge Mining Tour (12 km), the Coal Trail (17 km) and various geocaching offers. Comprehensive in-
formation panels dotted around the town and the Oelsnitz Experience Pack provide the necessary on-the-spot assistance. We are also happy to accompany you in person. The Bergbau- und Gästeführer (Mining and Tour Guides) working group offers guided tours and tailor-made activities, for example the Salt Works Tour. More active visitors can look forward to Nordic Walking, skating and fitness training with our qualified trainers. Or simply take a few hours off for rest and relaxation: Salt remedies, Kneipp facilities, walking barefoot… It all does wonders for body and soul.
STADTVERWALTUNG OELSNITZ/ERZGEB. Rathausplatz 1, 09376 Oelsnitz/Erzgeb. Tel. + 49 (0) 372 98 38 11, email@example.com www.oelsnitz-erzgeb.de
MINING TOWNS OELSNITZ/ERZGEB.
STADTHALLE (TOWN HALL) Experience culture! A key cultural starting point in Oelsnitz is the town hall, which is steeped in history. It is a popular venue for concerts, balls, theatre evenings, sporting events, trade fairs, exhibitions and galas. The Facebook page for the town hall, Stadthalle Oelsnitz/Erzgeb., provides updated information on all the latest events. Stadthalle Oelsnitz/Erzgeb. Rathausplatz 3 09376 Oelsnitz/Erzgeb. Tel. + 49 (0) 372 98 170 70 firstname.lastname@example.org www.stadthalle-oelsnitz.de
Opening times: Tuesdays 9am – 12pm, 1 – 4pm Thursdays 9am – 12pm, 1 – 6pm
BERGBAUMUSEUM OELSNITZ (OELSNITZ MINING MUSEUM) Mining comes to life! Exploring the history of mining is a riveting adventure for young and old alike at the Oelsnitz Mining Museum! Until 1971, the “black gold” (coal) of the Erzgebirge was mined here. The museum offers an extraordinary look at the Lugau-Oelsnitz coal field. Bergbaumuseum Oelsnitz/Erzgeb. Pflockenstraße 09376 Oelsnitz/Erzgeb. Tel. + 49 (0) 372 98 939 40 email@example.com www.bergbaumuseum-oelsnitz.de
Opening times: Tue – Sun 10am – 5pm (last entry 4pm) Closed on Mondays (except on national public holidays)
GLÜCKAUF VIEWING TOWER Stunning view of the region! Standing 26 m tall, the viewing tower is situated on the Deutschlandschachthalde shaft heap. The somewhat strenuous climb is all but forgotten once you glimpse the sweeping views of the Erzgebirge and the Leipzig lowlands. Our tour guides offer regular hikes to this and many other excursion destinations in our town. Contact: Gästeführer der Knappschaft des Lugau-Oelsnitzer Steinkohlenreviers e. V. (Tour Guides of the Lugau-Oelsnitz Coal Field Miners’ Union)
Tel. + 49 (0) 1522 755 82 28 Tower opening times: Freely accessible in good weather on clear days.
MINING TOWNS SCHEIBENBERG
Mining town of Scheibenberg The town was founded in 1522 and had town rights bestowed upon it in 1530; it acquired its own local mining authority a few years later. The annalist and priest Christian Lehmann (1611– 1688) lived here. He led the town through the troubles of the Thirty Years War. Silver mining, which promised so much at first, experienced a great and early decline in 1543. In 1566 the pits had to be entirely abandoned. The town’s landmark is the 807 m Scheibenberg mountain, with its recently erected 28 m viewing tower. The 40 m basalt columns, known as the organ pipes, are a geological natural landmark and a particularly attractive site for tourists. Mining tradition is preserved by members of the Bergknapp- und Brüderschaft Oberscheibe/Scheibenberg e. V. (Oberscheibe/ Scheibenberg Miners’ Guild and Fraternal Organisation).
TOP TIP ATTRACTIONS • Viewing tower on Scheibenberg • Erzgebirgische Aussichtsbahn (Erzgebirge Sight-Seeing Train) • Heimatmuseum Scheibenberg (Scheibenberg Museum of Local History) • Hiking and cycling in and around Scheibenberg
STADTINFORMATION SCHEIBENBERG Rudolf-Breitscheid-Str. 35, 09481 Scheibenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 373 49 663 10, Fax + 49 (0) 373 49 663 21 www.scheibenberg.de
MINING TOWNS SCHEIBENBERG
BÜRGER- UND BERGGASTHAUS SCHEIBENBERG A very warm welcome to the Bürger- und Berggasthaus, a typical rural guest house situated on Scheibenberg mountain (807 m), one of 77 nationally recognised geotopes.
Ulrich Meyer Auf dem Berg 1 09481 Scheibenberg
Tel. + 49 (0) 373 49 133 44 Fax + 49 (0) 373 49 133 45 firstname.lastname@example.org
SÄCHSISCHER HOF Enjoy a very special ambience at our establishment. 23 stylishly furnished rooms and a suite await your visit. Our restaurant, Salute, boasts a cosy fireplace, while at the rustic Sudhaus we indulge you with fresh Mediterranean cuisine and selected wines. We look forward to your visit! Sächsischer Hof Dirk Neukirchner & Janett Pflug Markt 6 09481 Scheibenberg
Tel. + 49 (0) 373 49 134 80 Fax + 49 (0) 373 49 134 81 50 email@example.com
ERLEBEN SIE DAS BRAUEN DES ERZGEBIRGSBIERES HAUTNAH Von Montag bis Freitag können Sie die modernste Technik und den Brauprozess aus nächster Nähe kennenlernen. Genießen Sie dabei frisches Erzgebirgsbier und besuchen Sie unseren Shop. Brauereibesichtigungen sind im Voraus buchbar unter Telefon: +49 (0)37349 8249 oder per E-Mail firstname.lastname@example.org
HAUPTSTRASSE 28 09481 SCHEIBENBERG WWW.BRAUEREIFIEDLER.DE
MINING TOWNS ZWÖNITZ
Mining town of Zwönitz Zwönitz was never in the running among wealthy mining towns in the upper Erzgebirge area, as its ore deposits were too small. Despite that, the first documented mention of the town, as a “Bergstädtlein” (small mining town), appears in 1460 in connection with a decree for a tax on alcoholic drinks. From 1603, Zwönitz earned the title of “freyes Bergstädtlein” (free mining town). To this day, the Hilfe Gottes Stolln (Hilfe Gottes Adit) continues to supply its precious liquid and is one of the oldest water supply systems still in operation throughout the Erzgebirge. A number of information boards along the local history trail running around Zwönitz provide valuable insights into its mining history. To preserve mining custom, the Bergmännische Traditionsverein Zwönitz (Zwönitz Mining Tradition Association) was founded in 1995. The association is based in the smartly furnished Huthaus (administration and assembly building) at the Pauckner-Stolln
(Pauckner Adit). The spirited mining parade on the first weekend of Advent and the traditional Mettenschicht are highly recommended activities to experience.
DISUSED MINES OF ZWÖNITZ Join us on the trail of Zwönitz’s abandoned mining sites. Striking out across approximately 12 km, we hike past the sights of Zwönitz, taking in the wonderful views of unspoiled nature as we go. On the way, it’s well worth stopping at the snug and friendly workshop of Frank Salzer. Sitting between the old portable mining displays, Frank loves regaling visitors with stories of days long gone by. Later, at the administration and assembly building, we will enjoy a hearty miners’ beer as we are initiated into the secrets of mining. STADTINFORMATION ZWÖNITZ Markt 3a, 08297 Zwönitz; Tel. + 49 (0) 377 54 350 www.zwoenitz.de
MINING TOWNS SCHLETTAU
An experience in itself The first documented mention of Schlettau can be traced back to 1351, although Schlettau had already been granted town rights circa 1280. Only a few kilometres away from the Bohemian border, it was an important milestone on the old Salt Road in the Middle Ages. The first mention of mining in Schlettau occurs in around 1504, when silver and tin ore were mined in a large number of pits. The best-known of these is the Fundgrube Grüner Zweig (Grüner Zweig Mine) together with the Gnade Gottes Stolln (Gnade Gottes Adit). The Bergknappschaft Schlettau e. V. (Schlettau Mining Union) was reestablished in 1999 in order to keep mining tradition alive. The old castle, originally erected as a simple fort in the 12th century, has become a popular museum attraction thanks to its eventful history and magnificent parkland. St. Ulrich’s Church was built at the end of the 15th century.
TOP TIP SPECIAL FEATURES • Schloss Schlettau (Schlettau Castle) with passementerie demonstration workshop, herb liqueur demonstration workshop, centre for wood and game history, exhibition on Erzgebirge landscape art, knights’ hall, wine cellar, history room, furniture room • Castle park with its over-700-year-old linden tree • Woodcarving house • St. Ulrich’s Church • Farmer-burgher houses in the old town • Railway station – trips on the Erzgebirge Sight-Seeing Train
TOURIST-INFORMATION SCHLOSS SCHLETTAU (SCHLETTAU CASTLE TOURIST INFORMATION) Schlossplatz 8, 09487 Schlettau Tel. + 49 (0) 37 33 660 19, Fax + 49 (0) 37 33 60 80 37 email@example.com www.schloss-schlettau.de
MINING TOWNS ANNABERG-BUCHHOLZ
Mining variety for all ages Today’s town of Annaberg-Buchholz, famous for mining and the mathematician Adam Ries, was founded in 1496 at the foot of Pöhlberg mountain after rich deposits of silver were found there. St. Anne’s – a late Gothic hall church – is a beloved emblem of the town and visible for miles around. Various museums are pleased to show visitors the many different faces of the town; for example the Erzgebirgsmuseum (Erzgebirge Museum) with its Silberbergwerk Im Gößner (Im Gößner Silver Mine) provides fascinating insights and experiences both above and below ground. Visit the Adam-Ries-Haus (Adam Ries House) to learn more about the famous mathematician, or explore the Factory of Dreams, where the world of Erzgebirge folk art is brought to life for young and old alike. To see a historical hammer mill in action, simply go to Germany’s oldest forge museum, the Frohnauer Hammer. Deep below street level, the town can be ex-
plored in four impressive mines. Woodcarving, bobbin lace-making and modern art by Carlfriedrich Claus are also characteristic elements of the town. A very warm welcome and “Glück Auf!”
As Saxony’s premier technical monument, the Frohnauer Hammer is one of the must-see sights in the Erzgebirge. Visitors can experience old technology first-hand at the historical hammer mill. In addition, the traditional arts of woodcarving and bobbin lace-making are demonstrated, and you can even peer over the shoulder of a lace-maker as she works. www.annaberg-buchholz.de/hammer TOURIST INFORMATION Buchholzer Straße 2, 09456 Annaberg-Buchholz Tel. + 49 (0) 37 33 194 33, Fax + 49 (0) 37 33 506 97 55 firstname.lastname@example.org www.annaberg-buchholz.de
MINING TOWNS SPA TOWN OF OBERWIESENTHAL
SPA TOWN OF OBERWIESENTHAL
Always worth a trip! Our idyllic mining town nestled at the foot of Fichtelberg mountain offers a variety of leisure options throughout the year. Experience the charming natural scenery surrounding the highest town in Germany and make the most of the many sporting activities on offer, such as skiing, hiking and cycling, for a varied and action-packed recreational holiday. However, it’s not just sporty people who will enjoy this area to the full. There is always the chance to go for a relaxing dip in the pool or bask in the sauna, to be topped off later with a soothing and restorative spa treatment. Wood art is strongly rooted in the Erzgebirge and is one of the oldest handicrafts in the region. Visit our on-site art parlour and watch the nimble fingers of Oberwiesenthal’s artists at work. So please do come and see us; you can’t help but be captivated by the spa town of Oberwiesenthal.
TOP TIP INFO AND ACTIVITIES • The Wiesenthaler K3 Museum offers plenty of useful information about winter sports and the history of our town. • A trip up Fichtelberg on Germany’s oldest cable car is always worthwhile, giving you a spectacular view over the Erzgebirge. • Experience pure action on a monster roller tour or fly down the summer toboggan run.
WIESENTHALER K3 Gästeinformation, Museum und Bibliothek (Tourist Information, Museum and Library) Karlsbader Straße 3, 09484 Kurort Oberwiesenthal Tel. + 49 (0) 373 48 15 50-50, email@example.com www.oberwiesenthal.de
MINING TOWNS JÁCHYMOV (ST. JOACHIMSTHAL)
JÁCHYMOV (ST. JOACHIMSTHAL)
The gateway to the Erzgebirge Jáchymov, a beautiful spa resort at the foot of Klinovec (Keilberg) mountain, is the gateway to the western part of the Erzgebirge. The town enjoys a rich history, which began in 1516 thanks to the presence of silver. In 1519, the silver coins known as “Thaler” were already being minted in Jáchymov. These became very widespread, so much so that they ultimately became the precursor to the American word “dollar”. The town owes its many interesting buildings to this fortuitous accident of history. Numerous important figures also played key roles in the town. Georgius Agricola, considered the father of mineralogy, lived here in the 16th century. In more recent times, the town gained notoriety for Marie Curie-Sklodowska’s discovery and manufacture of the elements polonium and radium, derived from local uraninite. It also earned a reputation for its healing treatments using radon waters, which led to the establish-
ment of the first radon spa in the world. Chronic musculo-skeletal conditions are the main target of treatment here. The beautiful surroundings, home to Klinovec, the highest mountain in the Erzgebirge, offer visitors a multitude of pastimes at any time of year. Recreational sports enthusiasts as well as experienced tourers will be delighted by the well-prepared pathways and touring trails – and families with children will have no less fun.
MINING TOWNS JÁCHYMOV (ST. JOACHIMSTHAL)
Interesting educational trails lead through the captivating natural environs of Jáchymov. There are well-marked trails for day trips into the surrounding area. Stroll through the nearby woods or take a ride up Klinovec on the chair lift. The lift runs all year round, except in November. Nordic walking schools can also be found here. For cyclists, there are various routes, including some for cross-country cyclists. Our Aquazentrum (Aqua Centre) – complete with its many attractions – is open throughout the year. Come winter, its time to try the variety of ski runs and cross-country trails available in a wealth of resorts dotted around the highest mountain in the Erzgebirge’: Klinovec.
INFOZENTRUM (INFO CENTRE) Turistické informační centrum Jáchymov (Jáchymov Tourist Information Centre) náměstí Republiky 1, 326 51 Jáchymov Tel./Fax + 42 (0) 353 811 379, firstname.lastname@example.org www.mestojachymov.cz
MINING TOWNS EHRENFRIEDERSDORF
“Glück Auf!” in the mining and rock-climbing town of Ehrenfriedersdorf In the mid 15th century, the extraction and smelting of tin ore turned Ehrenfriedersdorf into one of the most important mining towns in the Saxon Erzgebirge, second only to Freiberg. A visible sign of the wealth generated in that period is the sixwinged altar by H. W. (1507) in the Church of St. Nicholas. The Besucherbergwerk Zinngrube Ehrenfriedersdorf (Ehrenfriedersdorf Visitors’ Tin Mine) and the Mineralogische Museum (Mineralogical Museum) give a lively retelling of mining history. Very close to the Greifensteine rock tower is the Greifenbachstauweiher (Greifenbach Reservoir) (23 ha), today a bathing paradise complete with a campsite. The Greifenbach Reservoir and the nearby pipe trench (approx. 5 km) owe their existence to the huge demand for water from the pits, stamp mills and smelting works located around Ehrenfriedersdorf. The imposing rocky backdrop of the Greifensteine
is transformed into the Naturtheater Greifensteine (Greifensteine Outdoor Theatre) during the summer months. EHRENFRIEDERSDORF VISITORS’ TIN MINE
An electrifying underground adventure awaits! The intact cable car system will transport you 100 m into the depths. Equipped in miner style, you will learn about ore mining both past and present, and find out about the arduous working conditions of the miners. A range of mining tools are demonstrated in action. www.zinngrube.de STADTVERWALTUNG EHRENFRIEDERSDORF Markt 1, 09427 Ehrenfriedersdorf Tel. + 49 (0) 373 41 45-0, Fax + 49 (0) 373 41 45 80 www.stadt-ehrenfriedersdorf.de TOURIST INFORMATION EHRENFRIEDERSDORF Max-Wenzel-Straße 1, 09427 Ehrenfriedersdorf Tel. and Fax + 49 (0) 373 41 30 60 www.silberland-greifensteine.de
MINING TOWNS EHRENFRIEDERSDORF
CHURCH OF ST. NICHOLAS
TONIS HAUS DER STEINE (TONI’S HOUSE OF STONES)
Obere Kirchstraße 10, 09427 Ehrenfriedersdorf Tel. + 49 (0) 373 41 22 77, www.niklaskirche.de
Thumer Straße 71, 09468 Geyer Tel. + 49 (0) 373 46 14 49, www.tonis-haus-der-steine.de
Opening times Mon, Tue, Wed 9am – 12pm and 2 – 4.30pm, Wed, Fri 9am – 12pm
April – Oct daily 10am – 5pm (except Fridays), Saxony’s summer holidays as well as Fri, Nov – March Sat, Sun, public holidays 10am – 5pm
GREIFENSTEINE OUTDOOR THEATRE
PF 10, 09424 Ehrenfriedersdorf, Tel. + 49 (0) 373 46 14 54 www.campingpark-greifensteine.de
Buchholzer Straße 67, 09456 Annaberg-Buchholz Tel.+ 49 (0) 37 33 140 71 31, www.winterstein-theater.de
Opening times Swimming season May – September
Performance season June – August
MINING TOWNS GEYER
The mining and sinkhole town of Geyer Geyer lies in a sheltered spot amidst dark, dense coniferous forest. It was once a famous mining town, highly regarded for its rich deposits of tin and silver. Miners set up a new dwelling for themselves around Geyersberg mountain in the early 14th century. In 1704 and 1803, the mighty mine workings in Geyersberg collapsed. A huge, craggy crater was all that remained – the sinkhole – now emblematic of the town of Geyer. Head out on a guided tour of the crater’s interior to learn interesting facts about the abandoned mine. There are also numerous adits and openings scattered around the town, witnesses to the golden age of mining. Gain an insight into alternative aspects of Geyer’s history at the Turmmuseum (Tower Museum), located inside a 14th century fortified watch tower standing 42 m high. It houses the Heimatsmuseum (Museum of Local History), which is among the largest and most beautiful tower museums of its kind in Germany.
TOP TIP GREIFENSTEINE RECREATIONAL AREA Geyer is situated in the pre-eminent recreational area of the upper Erzgebirge – the Greifensteine. Every summer, performances take place here at the Outdoor Theatre. The Greifenbach Reservoir, created by one of the oldest dams in the Erzgebirge, is surrounded by forest on every side. It’s a haven for families, with a camp site, stations for boat and e-bike hire, a sandy beach and many other attractions.
STADT GEYER (CITY OF GEYER), TOURIST INFORMATION Altmarkt 1, 09468 Geyer Tel. + 49 (0) 373 46 105-21/-22 www.stadt-geyer.de
MINING TOWNS WOLKENSTEIN
WOLKENSTEIN AND THE SPA TOWN OF WARMBAD
Mining history from top to bottom The little town of Wolkenstein sits picturesquely on a steep outcrop of gneiss rock. Initially a castle settlement of waggoners and craftsmen, these were soon followed by farmers and miners who began populating the immediate vicinity. Even though facilities such as silver smelting works and mints no longer exist, there are still numerous traces of former mining activity to discover in the charming, rich landscape, such as impressive examples of adit walling. “Wolkenstein’s Schlossberg mountain contains a large amount of amethyst stone”, declare the old chronicles. In fact, the thermal spring region of the Erzgebirge forms the heart of Saxon amethyst deposits. The Land der Amethyste (Land of Amethysts) exhibit at Schloss Wolkenstein (Wolkenstein Castle) features magnificent specimens of this variety of quartz, which were found in a number of different Erzgebirge sites.
SILBER-THERME WARMBAD (WARMBAD SILVER THERMAL SPRING)
It was doubtless miners who discovered another, no less valuable, treasure in the Middle Ages whilst searching for silver ore: unusually warm spring water, whose restorative effects were soon recognised and put to good use. The Warmbad Silver Thermal Spring is today synonymous with healthy enjoyment in a modern spa complex of thermal baths, saunas and wellness treatments. MUSEUM & GÄSTEBÜRO SCHLOSS WOLKENSTEIN (MUSEUM AND GUEST OFFICE OF WOLKENSTEIN CASTLE) Schlossplatz 1, 09429 Wolkenstein Tel. + 49 (0) 373 69 871-23, Fax + 49 (0) 373 69 871-24 www.stadt-wolkenstein.de KUR- UND GESUNDHEITSZENTRUM (SPA AND HEALTH CENTRE ) WARMBAD WOLKENSTEIN An der Silber-Therme 1, 09429 Wolkenstein/OT Warmbad Tel. + 49 (0) 373 69 151-15, Fax + 49 (0) 373 69 151-17 www.warmbad.de
MINING TOWNS MARIENBERG
Arriving in the Erzgebirge The traditional miners’ greeting “Glück Auf!”, still used to welcome visitors, gives us an idea as to Marienberg’s origins. Rich seams of silver discovered in the area gave Duke Heinrich the Pious ample cause to found a town in 1521; even today, the power and weight of mining can be felt at every turn. However, it wasn’t only the glint of silver that had such a lasting impact on the town, but also Renaissance ideas from Italy. Still preserved to this day, possibly the earliest “ideal town” of this time north of the Alps demonstrates fascinating regularity and scope. The diverse low mountain landscapes surrounding Marienberg – comprising a total of 12 districts – makes it an inviting place to visit and discover at any time of year. Well-marked hiking trails, and a vast network of cross-country trails in winter, lead up to the heights of the Erzgebirge ridge, offering magnificent panoramic views.
TOP TIP SPECIAL FEATURES • Central location in the Erzgebirge – ideal base for exploring • St. Mary’s Church – the newest late Gothic hall church in Saxony • AQUA MARIEN – biggest water park in Saxony • Schwarzwassertal conservation area and Grüner Graben (Green Ditch) technical monument between Pobershau and Kühnhaide • Basalt fan on Hirtstein mountain in Satzung (national geotope)
TOURIST INFORMATION MARIENBERG Markt 1 (right inside the town hall), 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 60 22 70, email@example.com www.marienberg.de
MINING TOWNS MARIENBERG
MUSEUM SÄCHSISCH-BÖHMISCHES ERZGEBIRGE (MUSEUM OF THE SAXON-BOHEMIAN ERZGEBIRGE) IN THE MINING STORE HOUSE The distinctive mining store house on the edge of the town centre is one of the few authentic objects of mining origin still in existence and is therefore an important historical testament to the mining town. Visitors can embark on a cross-border journey through the cultural history of the Erzgebirge. Am Kaiserteich 3 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 66 81 29 0 Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 66 81 29 22 firstname.lastname@example.org www.marienberg.de
Opening times: Tue – Sun, public holidays 10am – 4pm as well as by arrangement
BESUCHERBERGWERK PFERDEGÖPEL AUF DEM RUDOLPHSCHACHT (HORSE GIN AT THE RUDOLPH PIT VISITORS’ MINE) A piece of mining history comes to life with the horse gin, carefully reconstructed according to the original. Highlights of a visit to this historical hoisting system include a live demonstration with horses and the chance to enter the visitors’ mine itself. OT Lauta (Lauta District) Lautaer Hauptstr. 12 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 60 89 68 Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 66 03 72 email@example.com www.marienberg.de
Opening times: Tue – Sun, public holidays 10.30am – 4.30pm as well as by arrangement; Guided tours Tue – Fri 1pm, 2.30pm; Sat, Sun, public holidays 11am, 1pm, 2.30pm; demonstrations with horses Sat, Sun, public holidays 1pm, 2.30pm
AUSSTELLUNGSZENTRUM BÖTTCHERFABRIK (BÖTTCHERFABRIK EXHIBITION CENTRE) OT Pobershau (Pobershau District), RS-Dorfstr. 112, 09496 Marienberg
SERPENTINSTEINMUSEUM ZÖBLITZ (ZÖBLITZ SERPENTINE MUSEUM) OT Zöblitz (Zöblitz District), Bahnhofstr. 1, 09496 Marienberg
Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 66 01 62, Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 66 19 98
Tel. + 49 (0) 373 63 77 04, Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 185 47
Opening times: Fri – Sun, public holidays 1 – 5pm
Opening times: Tue – Thur 11am – 3.30pm, Fri 10am – 12.30pm,
as well as by arrangement
Sat, Sun 1 – 4pm as well as by arrangement
GALERIE DIE HÜTTE (DIE HÜTTE GALLERY) IN POBERSHAU
SCHAUBERGWERK MOLCHNER STOLLN (MOLCHNER ADIT EXHIBITION MINE)
OT Pobershau, RS-Rathausstraße 10, 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 625 27, Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 66 19 98, firstname.lastname@example.org, www.marienberg.de
OT Pobershau, AS-Dorfstraße 67, 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 625 22, Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 66 02 35 email@example.com, www.molchner-stolln.de
Opening times: Tue – Sun, public holidays 1 – 5pm as well as by arrangement
Opening times: Tue – Sun, public holidays 10am – 4pm, guided tours outside opening hours by prior arrangement
MINING TOWNS AUGUSTUSBURG
Welcome outside Where Saxon princes went hunting. Where historical town meets rustling forest and lush meadow. Where Augustusburg rose from the earth. Peace and relaxation are in plentiful supply at the foot of the famous hunting lodge, the crown of the Erzgebirge. Whether on an e-bike tour or hiking the boundless network of trails, riding the historical cable railway, or exploring the town on a tour by foot or by segway – history, nature and peace are found in every corner. Recreational fun also comes courtesy of the summer toboggan run, mini golf, adventure playgrounds, and, in winter, skiing and tobogganing. Get a taste of art and culture at the tower gallery, castle theatre and art school. Smart restaurants and traditional cafés invite visitors to linger and relax. A wide range of accommodation will make sure that you start each day well-rested. Welcome to our town. Welcome outside.
TOP TIP THE AUGUSTUSBURG TOURIST INFORMATION OFFICE CAN BE FOUND IN THE STADTHAUS (TOWN HALL) IN THE HEART OF THE HISTORICAL OLD TOWN It provides all the relevant information for your stay in Augustusburg. You can also book your personalised holiday package here, regardless of whether you’re looking for a short break, a family vacation or a biking holiday. So there’s only one thing you need to do: get here and relax.
STADT AUGUSTUSBURG Tourist Information, Schloßstraße 1, 09573 Augustusburg Tel. + 49 (0) 372 91 39 550, firstname.lastname@example.org www.augustusburg.de
MINING TOWNS AUGUSTUSBURG
SCHLOSS AUGUSTUSBURG (AUGUSTUSBURG CASTLE)
Biker Castle – Renaissance meets bikes One of Europe’s most significant motorbike exhibitions, a collection of princely carriages and one of the most valuable Cranach paintings in all of Saxony make Augustusburg Castle an incredibly popular destination in the Erzgebirge. Thanks to its sheer grandeur and host of treasures, it is considered one of the most beautiful Renaissance castles in Central Europe – built over 400 years ago by Augustus, Elector of Saxony, at 500 metres above the Zschopau Valley. The Renaissance altarpiece seen in the castle church is by Lucas Cranach the Younger, and dates back to between 1568 and 1571. Augustusburg Castle is home to 175 historical motorbikes ranging from brands such as DKW, Auto Union and MZ – one of the most comprehensive and significant collections of two-wheelers in Europe. Considering this and the regular meetings for classic cars and bikers held in January, August and October, it is no wonder this castle has earned the nickname Biker Castle.
At the Kutschenmuseum (Stage Coach Museum), grand carriages, coaches and caleches document the history of royal travel. The carriages from the former royal stables at Dresden are particularly remarkable. The 16th century murals in the Venus room are unique in the German-speaking world and make a striking impression.
AUGUSTUSBURG CASTLE 09573 Augustusburg Tel. + 49 (0) 372 91 38 00, Fax + 49 (0) 372 91 380 24 email@example.com www.die-sehenswerten-drei.de Opening times: daily April – October 9.30am – 6pm November – March 10am – 5pm (24 Dec closed; 31 Dec until 2pm; 1 Jan from 11am)
MINING TOWNS POCKAU-LENGEFELD
Pure nature and rural idyll Surrounded by Erzgebirge forest, delightful meadows and three dams, there are possibilities for an active holiday in Pockau-Lengefeld at any season: guided hikes, Nordic walking, cycling tours, winter sports, climbing halls, outdoor pool. Mining history comes to life at the Museum Kalkwerk Lengefeld (Lengefeld Limeworks Museum). Situated directly on the SILVER ROAD of Saxony and Bohemia, three pyramid-shaped lime kilns visible from afar beckon visitors on a journey back into longdistant times, when people began mining raw limestone in Lengefeld. The limeworks is one of the most significant technical monuments for the old cement industry in Europe. The Lengefelder Adventsmarkt (Lengefeld Christmas Market) offers a miners’ church service and a festive mining parade that contribute to the unique atmosphere of the Erzgebirge at Christmastime.
TOP TIP LENGEFELD LIMEWORKS MUSEUM AND TECHNICAL MONUMENT The Lengefeld Limeworks provides a thought-provoking insight into the technology of limestone mining, the extraction, breaking, burning, grinding and slaking of chalk, as well as the early life of the lime workers. In June and July, the floor of the sinkhole transforms into sea of flowers when thousands of wild orchids unfurl their splendour.
LENGEFELD LIMEWORKS MUSEUM Kalkwerk 4 a, 09514 Pockau-Lengefeld Tel./Fax + 49 (0) 373 67 22 74, firstname.lastname@example.org www.kalkwerk-lengefeld.de
MINING TOWNS OEDERAN
The perfect preparation for a holiday in the Erzgebirge Experience the entire Erzgebirge region in just one day? It can be done at the oldest and largest miniature park in Germany, the Klein-Erzgebirge (Erzgebirge in Miniature) in Oederan. With over 200 magical wooden models, the Erzgebirge region and beyond springs into vivid life. The special exhibition Bergbau (Mining) is a rather exceptional treasure, where you can marvel at 13, mostly original, technical monuments and sites related to the mining industry, which had a decisive influence in turning the Erzgebirge into such a unique cultural landscape. At the WEBEREI | Museum Oederan (Oederan WEAVING MILL Museum), original looms breathe life into the story of textiles and technology. Visitors are welcome to try their hand at weaving, whether that be a woven bag or a scarf.
TOP TIP OEDERAN COMBI-TICKET Make the most of the Oederan combi-ticket and pay a free visit to the Weaving Mill after exploring the Erzgebirge in Miniature. A sojourn in this idyllic small town between Freiberg and Chemnitz offers far more than a trip through time into the traditional history of the Erzgebirge. Follow the footprints in the town centre to embark on an adventure-filled tour of discovery for the whole family!
STADTINFORMATION OEDERAN Markt 6, 09569 Oederan Tel. + 49 (0) 372 92 27 12 8, email@example.com www.oederan.de
MINING TOWNS BRAND-ERBISDORF
Copious witnesses to 700 years of silver mining The mining town of Brand-Erbisdorf lies just a few kilometres south of Freiberg on the Silver Road. The town has two nuclei: Erbisdorf, first mentioned in written records in 1209, and the mining settlement of Brand, which became a parish in 1515 and a town in 1834. Silver mining dominated the local economy until the end of the 19th century. Rich deposits enabled 1,500 tonnes of silver to be mined, a quarter of the amount produced across Saxony. The town and its surroundings are characterised by heaps and Huthäuser (administration and assembly buildings), mining pools and openings – witnesses to 700 years of silver mining. These and more emblems of mining are dotted along a 23 km mining discovery trail threading around Brand-Erbisdorf, including the Bartholomäusschacht visitors’ mine complex and the Museum Huthaus Einigkeit (Huthaus Einigkeit Museum).
TOP TIP HUTHAUS EINIGKEIT MUSEUM The museum is located in the former administration and assembly building of the Einigkeit mine. The exhibition offers a uniquely diverse and vivid depiction of the journey of silver ore from its formation to mining and smelting, and explains the social and cultural situation of miners by means of some evocative exhibits.
HUTHAUS EINIGKEIT MUSEUM Jahnstraße 14, 09618 Brand-Erbisdorf Tel. + 49 (0) 373 22 506 99, Fax + 49 (0) 373 22 323 41 firstname.lastname@example.org www.brand-erbisdorf.de
MINING TOWNS OLBERNHAU
The Kupferhammer (Copper Hammer) of the Liquation Works Olbernhau has been shaped by centuries of mining. 1537 saw the construction of the Liquation Works and the Copper Hammer. Today, the entire premises – with over 20 preserved buildings – is a one-of-a-kind testament to non-ferrous metallurgy worldwide and an important component of the Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge. The Copper Hammer is impressively large and fully functional, just as it was almost 500 years ago. Czar Peter I was reportedly very taken by it on his visit to what was then the Elector’s Liquation Works. The Lange Hütte (Long Works) open-air museum, the permanent historical exhibition, the Hütteschule (Works School) and the Hütteladen (Works Shop) are a wonderful way to spend a few hours immersed in bygone days. The Stockhausen Play Centre, the power plant with steam engine and handicraft workshops complete the range of activities on offer.
In addition to the Liquation Works, the Museum Olbernhau (Olbernhau Museum), located on the market square in the former manor estate, is also a visitor magnet. Visitors will be fascinated by the exhibits on natural history, industrial history, technology and toys as well as the highlight: 12 mechanical mountain scenes. The cultural life of the town is quite varied – meeting places, theatre, library, indoor and outdoor pool, bowling, mini golf, visitors’ mine and shopping district in the town centre make sure things never get repetitive.
TOURIST INFORMATION OLBERNHAU Grünthaler Straße 5, 09526 Olbernhau Tel. + 49 (0) 373 60 68 98 66, Fax + 49 (0) 373 60 68 98 65 email@example.com www.olbernhau.de
MINING TOWNS SEIFFEN
SEIFFEN TOY VILLAGE
The finest turning art Seiffen’s roots lie in mining, first appearing in written records as “cynsifen” in 1324. In the second half of the 18th century, Seiffen began to move towards woodwork. Soon, woodturned products had eclipsed the old industries. One of the workshops built for woodworking was the PREISSLER water-powered lathe, built between 1758 and 1760. Today, it is the only historical system to be so immaculately preserved. For over 100 years, the art of the Reifendrehen wood-turning technique has belonged to this water-powered lathe. Seiffen wood art encompasses a variety of mining themes. In the 20th century, Seiffen’s miners’ church was also a popular motif. The octagonal building features a tent roof and was erected between 1776 and 1779; this style was inspired by the concept of central-plan building. To this day, it is famous around the world in the form of a wooden miniature.
TOP TIP HISTORICAL DREHWERK (TURNING WORKS) OF 1760 Listed as a protected building in 1951, the Seiffener Reifendrehwerk (Seiffen Reifendrehen Turning Works) formed the base for the Erzgebirgische Freilichtmuseum Seiffen (Erzgebirge Open Air Museum in Seiffen), which joined it in 1973. To date, 13 building complexes have been transferred to the area around the Turning Works. Daily demonstrations of the Reifendrehen wood-turning technique are given by trained masters of the art.
TOURIST INFORMATION Hauptstraße 73, 09548 Kurort Seiffen Tel. + 49 (0) 373 62 84 38 firstname.lastname@example.org www.seiffen.de
MINING TOWNS FREIBERG
SILBERSTADT® (SILVER TOWN) FREIBERG
Living mining tradition and cultural treasures Still used as a greeting by the citizens of Freiberg, we bid you “Glück Auf” in a town where miners dug for silver and ore for over 800 years. These fruitful silver deposits gave rise to SilverTown Freiberg, one of the most beautiful towns in Saxony. Follow the trail of Freiberg silver through the late medieval old town and discover the precious gems of mining tradition at the Stadtund Bergbaumuseum (Municipal and Mining Museum). Experience the adventure of mining first-hand on a trip into the Reiche Zeche silver mine or watch the traditional mining parade at the Mining Festival in June or at the Erzgebirge Christmas Market. The heavenly sounds of the world-famous Silbermann organ enchant listeners at concerts and on guided tours in the Cathedral of St. Mary, whilst the most exquisite minerals from all corners of the globe can be admired in the modern terra mineralia exhibition (Freudenstein Castle).
TOP TIP INSIDER TIPS • Freiberg Beer Tour (discovery tour through 800 years of Freiberg brewing history) • New discovery tour: The Sound of Silver and the Berggeschrey – accompanied by the housekeeper of world-famous organ-maker Gottfried Silbermann • Head off on a solo city tour with an audio guide • Sample the Freiberger Eierschecke (layer cake) • Climb the Petriturm (St. Peter’s Tower)
TOURIST INFORMATION FREIBERG Schloßplatz 6, 09599 Freiberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 27 36-64/-61 email@example.com www.freiberg-service.de
MINING TOWNS FREIBERG
MUNICIPAL AND MINING MUSEUM Unearth treasures – experience history Discover the precious gems of mining tradition: rare masterpieces of mining art, impressive altars and sculptures from the late Gothic period, a historic organ, paintings by Lucas Cranach the Younger, the oldest Schwibbogen in the world, unique goldsmithery and the oldest mining carving in Saxony. Am Dom 1 09599 Freiberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 20 25-0 www.museum-freiberg.de
Opening times Tue – Sun 10am – 5pm (entry until 4.30pm)
CATHEDRAL OF ST. MARY Silvery organ sound and cultural gems Golden Portal, Tulip Pulpit, Triumphal Cross Group and the tombs of the House of Wettin make the late Gothic hall church a cultural monument of European standing. Listen to the Silbermann organ at Thursday evening concerts (May to October). Cathedral tour Untermarkt 1, 09599 Freiberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 225 98 firstname.lastname@example.org www.freiberger-dom.de
Opening times May – Oct 10am – 5pm* Tour daily 2pm, Sun 11.30am Nov – Apr 11am – 4pm* Tour Wed 2pm, Sun 11.30am *Sun from 11.30am
Silberstadt im Silberrausch
Die Silberstadt Freiberg erinnert im kommenden Jahr mit vielfältigen Veranstaltungen an den ersten Silberfund 1168 und die urkundliche Erwähnung des Ortsnamens Freiberg 1218. Sie erwartet ein besonderes Jahr! Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!
MINING TOWNS FREIBERG
TERRA MINERALIA Travel to the most beautiful minerals in the world Featuring 3,500 minerals, precious gemstones and meteorites, terra mineralia, a permanent exhibition by the Freiberg University of Mining and Technology, is one of the largest and most stunning mineral exhibitions in the world. Freudenstein Castle Schloßplatz 4, 09599 Freiberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 39 46-54 / Fax -71 email@example.com www.terra-mineralia.de
Opening times Mon – Fri 10am – 5pm Sat – Sun 10am – 6pm as well as public holidays
GERMAN MINERALOGICAL COLLECTION Gems at the refurbished KRÜGERHAUS Treasures from German sites are waiting to be discovered: curls of silver from Freiberg, precious gems, breathtakingly beautiful agate stones, a gallery of crystal specimens and much more. KRÜGERHAUS Schloßplatz 3, 09599 Freiberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 39 46 54 Fax + 49 (0) 37 31 39 46 71 firstname.lastname@example.org www.terra-mineralia.de
passendes Bild fehlt
Opening times Mon – Fri 10am – 4pm Sat – Sun 10am – 6pm as well as public holidays
SILBERBERGWERK FREIBERG (FREIBERG SILVER MINE) 800 years of tradition, 1,000 lodes and active mining Descend 150 m into the Reiche Zeche mine, travelling like a miner in the pit cage, and take a guided tour lasting one to five hours to explore one of the most significant silver mines in Saxony (age 6 and up). Fuchsmühlenweg 9 09599 Freiberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 39 45 71 Fax + 49 (0) 37 31 39 45 72 email@example.com silberbergwerk-freiberg.de
Guided tours without prior arrangement. Wed – Fri 10.30am pit tour, 12.30pm educational trail Sat 11am adventure tour, 12.30pm educational trail, 1pm pit tour Wed – Sun by prior arrangement
MINING TOWNS ALTENBERG
Holiday region of Altenberg in the Erzgebirge “Glück auf” and a very warm welcome to the holiday region of Altenberg. Altenberg, the “Stadt uff’n alten Berg” (town on the old mountain), was once defined by tin ore mining. Over recent years, it has become a well-known spa town and sports destination and is today popular among those seeking relaxation, activity and culture. The old mining area of Altenberg-Zinnwald is well worth a look. Historical mining sites, wellmaintained monuments and the Altenberger Pinge (Altenberg Sinkhole), an important geotope in Germany, illustrate the variety and development of mining in the Altenberg region. Schloss Lauenstein (Lauenstein Castle), enthroned high above the Müglitz Valley, is also a clear signpost of regional history. The Osterzgebirgsmuseum (Eastern Erzgebirge Museum) is located within the castle walls and leaves no stone unturned in its quest to teach visitors about
the varied art, culture and lifestyle of the Eastern Erzgebirge.
The sinkhole is an unmissable sight, pushed up against the administrative area of the town. Our walk leads to the edge of this huge crater, which is one of the most striking mining monuments in the region. May – October every Wednesday 1.30pm Meeting point: Tourist Information Office Altenberg Duration: approx. 2 hours, ending at the Museum of Mining TOURIST-INFO-BÜRO (TOURIST INFORMATION OFFICE) Am Bahnhof 1, 01773 Altenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 350 56 239 93, Fax+ 49 (0) 350 56 239 94 www.altenberg.de firstname.lastname@example.org
MINING TOWNS ALTENBERG
BERGBAUMUSEUM ALTENBERG (ALTENBERG MINING MUSEUM) With its 200 m long exhibition tunnel and historical tin panning, the Mining Museum offers fascinating insights into over 550 years of Altenberg tin mining and ore processing. Mühlenstraße 2 01773 Altenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 350 56 317 03 Fax + 49 (0) 350 56 325 42 www.bergbaumuseumaltenberg.de
Opening times Daily (except Friday): 10am – 4pm No age limit for visitors
BESUCHERBERGWERK ZINNWALD (ZINNWALD VISITORS’ MINE) The vast network of mine chambers and tunnels guarantees a thrilling experience underground. A 90-minute tour gives visitors a taste of just how laborious and dangerous the work of the Zinnwald miners could be. Goetheweg 8 01773 Altenberg OT Zinnwald-Georgenfeld Tel. + 49 (0) 350 56 313 44 Fax + 49 (0) 350 56 232 78 www.besucherbergwerkzinnwald.de
Opening times Wed – Sat 10am – 3pm Closed Sun, Mon + Tue Minimum age for visitors: 6 years
LAUENSTEIN CASTLE The first documented mention of the castle occurs in 1241. Even today, the ruins of the old fort bear witness to medieval architecture. Particularly impressive are the heraldic hall and bird hall, the music room, the reconstructed park and the castle gardens. 01778 Altenberg ST Lauenstein (Lauenstein District) Tel. + 49 (0) 350 54 254 02 Fax + 49 (0) 350 54 254 55 www.schloss-lauenstein.de
Opening times Tue – Sun, public holidays 10am – 4.30pm Last entry: 4pm Closed Mondays
MINING TOWNS DIPPOLDISWALDE
Experience days The big district town of Dippoldiswalde with its historical centre lies at the foot of the eastern Erzgebirge between Dresden and Altenberg. Bordered by the Dippoldiswalder Heide (Dippoldiswalde Heath) conservation area and the Stauanlage Talsperre Malter (Malter Dam), the town is a popular destination and hiking spot for visitors of all ages at any time of year. Take a special town tour to discover the old town, the sights, the churches or indeed the surrounding area. Uncover mining history at the Lohgerber-, Stadt- und Kreismuseum (Tanning, Municipal and District Museum) and enjoy some railway nostalgia on a trip on the longest-serving narrow-gauge steam railway, winding through the wild and romantic Rabenauer Grund valley. Swimming enthusiasts can get their fill of fun at the three lidos of Paulsdorf, Seifersdorf and Malter, as well as the adventure pool.
TOP TIP AUTHENTIC UNDERGROUND MINING LANDSCAPE In 2008, an authentic mining landscape was discovered underground in Dippoldiswalde, with technical wooden installations, tools and other materials from around the year AD 1185. The Landesamt für Archäologie Sachsen (Archaeological Heritage Office in Saxony) has been researching the medieval mine up to 28m underground since 2012.
TANNING, MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT MUSEUM Freiberger Straße 18, 01744 Dippoldiswalde Tel./Fax + 49 (0) 35 04 61 24 18 email@example.com www.lohgerber-museum.de
MINING TOWNS GLASHÜTTE
… time lives on here! Glashütte has been an important hub for timepiece production for more than 170 years. After the silver deposits dried up in the Erzgebirge, Saxon master watchmaker Ferdinand Adolph Lange brought this precision craft to the town. In 1845, he set up his own watch production company. Soon, a number of other well-known watchmakers followed him to Glashütte and the town quickly became a byword for fine German watchmaking. Today, Glashütte stands for precision and for its numerous quality watchmakers. The high-calibre products made there have brought the town national renown and acclaim far beyond its borders. A climb up to the heights outside the town is rewarded by a marvellous view of the mountains and forests of the eastern Erzgebirge.
TOP TIP DEUTSCHES UHRENMUSEUM (GERMAN WATCH MUSEUM) GLASHÜTTE The history and fascination of mechanical timekeeping can be experienced at the German Watch Museum in Glashütte. Under the motto “Faszination Zeit – Zeit erleben” (The Fascination of Time – Bringing Time to Life), the Museum showcases over 450 unique exhibits, bringing them to life with a multimedia approach that makes regular use of special exhibitions. www.uhrenmuseum-glashuette.com
TOURISMUSBÜRO GLASHÜTTE (GLASHÜTTE TOURIST OFFICE) im Arthur-Fiebig-Haus, Schulstraße 4 a, 01768 Glashütte Tel. + 49 (0) 350 53 32 98 29, Fax + 49 (0) 350 53 32 14 73 www.glashuette-sachs.de
SILVER ROAD IN SAXONY AND BOHEMIA
THE SILVER ROAD IN SAXONY A4 AND BOHEMIA Flughafen Halle-Leipzig
Dresden 21 13 Oederan
Weißeritz Valley Railway
A 17 Dippoldiswalde
Ehren5 friedersThalheim dorf WolkenA 72 Zwönitz 6 10 stein 14 7 12 Geyer Marienberg Schlema Schneeberg 1 Scheiben- 11 AnnabergAue Buchholz 2 3 berg 8 EAB
Altenberg 18 Seiffen 17 Olbern- Deutschhau neudorf 15 16
Preßnitz Valley Railway
Spa Town of 9 Oberwiesenthal
With a hearty “Glück Auf!”, the old miners’ greeting, we bid you a warm welcome and invite you on an interesting journey of discovery. Follow us into the beautiful Erzgebirge, where custom and mining culture are alive and well on both sides of the border. You can visit over 30 visitors’ mines, hammer mills and smelting works. Vibrant custom and prospering handicraft are also in evidence at mining parades or in wood art workshops. Over about 275 kilometres, between Zwickau and Dresden, and across the border with the Czech
Republic, the old trade route impressively connects the region’s cultural treasures. The witnesses to various mining periods are strung together like pearls. Magnificent hall churches and historical mining towns look forward to welcoming you. So follow the silver ribbon on a voyage of discovery to the treasures of the Erzgebirge Ore Mountains Experience.
SILVER ROAD IN SAXONY AND BOHEMIA
1 SIEBENSCHLEHEN STAMP MILL TECHNICAL MUSEUM
12 WOLKENSTEIN CASTLE MUSEUM & TOURIST OFFICE Schloßplatz 1, 09429 Wolkenstein Tel. + 49 (0) 373 69 871 23, Fax + 49 (0) 373 69 871 24 www.stadt-wolkenstein.de, firstname.lastname@example.org
Lindenauer Straße 22, 08289 Schneeberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 72 226 36, Fax + 49 (0) 37 72 372 92 00 www.schneeberg.de, email@example.com
2 PERLA CASTRUM – A CASTLE FULL OF HISTORY Obere Schloßstraße 36, 08340 Schwarzenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 74 233 89, Fax + 49 (0) 37 74 76 27 41 www.perlacastrum.de, firstname.lastname@example.org
13 MINIATURE PARK – ERZGEBIRGE IN MINIATURE OEDERAN Ehrenzug, 09569 Oederan Tel. + 49 (0) 372 92 599-0, Fax + 49 (0) 372 92 599-17 www.klein-erzgebirge.de, email@example.com
3 PÖHLA VISITORS’ TIN MINE Luchsbachtal 19, 08340 Schwarzenberg, OT Pöhla Tel. + 49 (0) 37 74 810 78, Fax + 49 (0) 37 74 810 79 www.zinnkammern.de, firstname.lastname@example.org
14 MINING TOWN OF MARIENBERG
4 OELSNITZ/ERZGEBIRGE MINING MUSEUM
Pflockenstraße 28, 09376 Oelsnitz/Erzgeb. Tel. + 49 (0) 372 98 939 40, www.bergbaumuseum-oelsnitz.de
5 WILLE GOTTES MINE Berghausweg 5, 09380 Thalheim (not a postal address!) Tel. + 49 (0) 37 21 262 26, www.thalheim-erzgeb.de
6 PAPIERMÜHLE (PAPER MILL) TECHNICAL MUSEUM Construction works from 2018 Possibly limited opening times, please see website Köhlerberg 1, 08297 Zwönitz Tel. + 49 (0) 377 54 26 90, www.zwoenitz.de
Tourist Information, Markt 1, 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 60 22 70, Fax + 49 (0) 37 35 60 22 71 www.marienberg.de, email@example.com
15 OLBERNHAU MUSEUM Markt 7, 09526 Olbernhau Tel. + 49 (0) 373 60 721 80, www.olbernhau.de
16 COPPER HAMMER LIQUATION WORKS MUSEUM IN OLBERNHAU
In der Hütte 10, 09526 Olbernhau Tel. + 49 (0) 373 60 733 67, www.olbernhau.de
17 ABENTEUER BERGWERK BERNSTEINZIMMER (BERNSTEINZIMMER ADVENTURE MINE)
Deutschkatharinenberg 14, 09548 Deutschneudorf Tel. + 49 (0) 373 68 129 42, Fax + 49 (0) 373 68 129 34 www.fortuna-bernstein.de, firstname.lastname@example.org
7 SINKHOLE MINING MONUMENT AND NATURAL MONUMENT Bingeweg 21, 09468 Geyer Tel. for tourist info + 49 (0) 373 46 105-21/-22, www.stadt-geyer.de
8 STADTINFORMATION SCHEIBENBERG Rudolf-Breitscheid-Str. 35, 09481 Scheibenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 373 49 663-10, Fax -21, www.scheibenberg.de
9 WIESENTHALER K3 Museum, Gästeinformation und Bibliothek (Museum, Tourist Information and Library), Karlsbader Straße 3, 09484 Kurort Oberwiesenthal, Tel. + 49 (0) 373 48 15 50-50 email@example.com, www.oberwiesenthal.de
10 SÄCHSISCHES INDUSTRIEMUSEUM (SAXON MUSEUM OF INDUSTRY) Besucherbergwerk Ehrenfriedersdorf (Ehrenfriedersdorf Visitors’ Mine), Am Sauberg 1, 09427 Ehrenfriedersdorf, Tel. + 49 (0) 373 41 25 57, www.zinngrube.de
11 BESUCHERBERGWERK MARKUS-RÖHLINGSCHACHT (MARKUS RÖHLING SHAFT VISITORS’ MINE) OT Frohnau, Sehmatalstraße 15, 09456 Annaberg-Buchholz Tel. + 49 (0) 37 33 529 79, Fax + 49 (0) 37 33 54 26 31 www.roehling-stolln.de, firstname.lastname@example.org
18 ERZGEB. SPIELZEUGMUSEUM SEIFFEN (ERZGEBIRGE SEIFFEN TOY MUSEUM) Hauptstraße 73, 09548 Kurort Seiffen Tel. + 49 (0) 373 62 170 19 www.spielzeugmuseum-seiffen.de
19 GERMAN MINERALOGICAL COLLECTION KRÜGERHAUS Schloßplatz 3, 09599 Freiberg, Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 39 46 54, www.terra-mineralia.de, email@example.com
20 TERRA MINERALIA Schloßplatz 4, 09599 Freiberg, Tel. + 49 (0) 37 31 39 46 54, www.terra-mineralia.de, firstname.lastname@example.org
21 AURORA ERBSTOLLN (AURORA MAIN ADIT) AT THARANDT FOREST IN WILD WEISSERITZ VALLEY NEAR DORFHAIN Tel. + 49 (0) 351 650 27 00 www.auroraerbstolln.de
DISCOVERY TOURS OELSNITZ/ERZGEBIRGE
DISCOVERY TOURS BY THE OELSNITZ/ERZGEBIRGE MINING MUSEUM Searching for clues in the Oelsnitz ore field Embark on a quest unlike any other, and explore the Lugau-Oelsnitz ore fields on four diverse and surprising geocaching tours: “Das versunkene Land” (The Sunken Land), “Iber Stocks un Steeh, stellt dor Ziesch ä Beeh” (literally: Over Stick and Stone, the Goat Will Trip), “Ziegenparcours” (Goat Trail) and “Mit Karli auf Schleichwegen” (Secret Paths with Karli). These exciting miningthemed treasure hunts start at the Oelsnitz Mining Museum. From there, the challenge leads to waypoints located close to the museum, which bear witness to the former coal mining in the region. Work out GPS coordinates for the route by solving riddles and tricky number games, and follow them to discover each individual station. Sharp-eyed treasure hunters will encounter interesting, fun, unique, unexpected and also thought-provoking elements on their way. If you get the right combination, you will find the hidden treasure, or cache, in an unusual spot. Simply install the relevant app on your smartphone to get started on your chosen geocaching tour. You can also hire special GPS devices from the museum desk for a small fee. The museum also provides the instructions for these four unique tours. As an alternative, you can also book a tour accompanied by museum staff. Tip: Tours are offered in combination with a visit to the exhibition mine or to the Zwergenschacht children’s mine. Walking/hiking tour Duration: approx. 1.5 to 3 hours Length: between approx. 2 and 4 km Target groups: families, young adults and geocaching fans Info: Oelsnitz/Erzgebirge Mining Museum Pflockenstraße 28 09376 Oelsnitz/Erzgebirge Tel. + 49 (0) 372 98 939 40 www.bergbaumuseum-oelsnitz.de
DISCOVERY TOURS GRÜNHAIN-BEIERFELD
A JOURNEY OF DISCOVERY IN WASCHLEITHE Waschleithe is a small community that makes up part of the town of Grünhain-Beierfeld. It was here, long ago, that Saxon history was written – with the notorious Prinzenraub (abduction of princes Ernst and Albrecht). Today, you can have a great time at the historical sites and enjoy a spot of famous Erzgebirge hospitality at the Köhlerhütte hotel and restaurant. How about a delicious Schieböcker (cheese-based dish), a true Erzgebirge speciality? Well-refreshed, we set off in pursuit of mining history and explore the oldest visitors’ mine in Saxony. After a short walk we will reach a fascinating underground realm of glittering stones, imposing marble halls and emerald lakes. With a bit of luck, you might even bump into the mountain spirit, who resides deep inside the mine. But there’s more. Above ground, a visit to the Bergmännische Erlebniswelt (Miners’ Adventure Park) is an absolute must. Forge, stamp mill and ore-washing bring mining to life! The Heimatecke model landscape invites you on a journey of discovery of quite another kind. In the carefully crafted miniature exhibition, you can get to know the Erzgebirge in just one day. Those who fancy exploring the animal kingdom can do so at the Natur- und Wildpark (Nature and Wildlife Park). Red deer, otter, reindeer and other friends are happy to see visitors at any time of year.
Heimatecke Model Landscape
Nature and Wildlife Park Waschleithe
Tip: To celebrate the Fürstenberger Hüttentag (Fürstenberg Works Day), which takes place once a month at the Herkules-Frisch-Glück exhibition mine, guests can dig for their own minerals and mint their very own Fürstenberger with a bit of muscle power.
Eiscafé (Ice Cream Shop) Winterstein
v h 5
Demonstration workshop Egermann
Tals traß e
Discovery tour Duration: approx. 3 to 4 hours Length: approx. 3 km Target groups: families with children Informationszentrum Info: König-Albert-Turm (King Albert Tower Information Centre) Alte Bernsbacher Straße 1 08344 Grünhain-Beierfeld Tel. + 49 (0) 37 74 64 07 44 www.spiegelwald.de
Herkules-Frisch-Glück exhibition mine Obelisk Prinzenraub nberg ürste Am F Köhlerhütte
DISCOVERY TOURS JOHANNGEORGENSTADT
AROUND JOHANNGEORGENSTADT Mining discovery trail: Auf Bergmanns Spuren (Following in the miner’s footsteps)
rs ige Ste
ser rzwas Schwa
R h Horse gin
Hiking tour Duration: approx. 1.5 h (not guided) Length: approx. 6 km Target groups: families with children (over 5 years) Info: Stadtverwaltung Johanngeorgenstadt Tourist Information Eibenstocker Straße 67 08349 Johanngeorgenstadt Tel. + 49 (0) 37 73 88 82 22 Fax + 49 (0) 37 73 88 82 80 email@example.com www.johanngeorgenstadt.de
Johanngeorgenstadt, the youngest mining town in the Erzgebirge, features many monuments to the Berggeschrey of the past. Along the mining discovery trail, you can still see tunnel openings, the remains of a stamp mill and old mining heaps. The two most notable sights on the trail are the Frisch Glück exhibition mine, popularly known as Glöckl, and the Pferdegöpel (horse gin), a reconstruction of a mechanical system for shaft hoisting. At Glöckl, the chance to step into the shoes of a real miner is a particularly special experience for kids. After all, mining is one of the last great adventures. With luck, you might even happen upon the mountain spirit that lives here. At the horse gin, there are various Schwibbogen, some adorned with historical motifs. The town is nicknamed Schwibbogen Town for good reason: the Schwibbogen, or traditional arched candle holder, originated here in 1740. Just a couple of steps further on, at Platz des Bergmanns (Miner’s Square), you will be met with unparalleled attractions – the highest pyramid in the Erzgebirge and the biggest free-standing Schwibbogen in the world. To fortify yourself for all this culture, start your hike with a quick stop for coffee and cake at the cosy Café Mertsching in the former Wittigstal manor house. Bring your day to a close at the Am Pferdegöpel guest house with some delicious regional cuisine and a hearty swig of Göpelgeist; children get home-made cakes.
h Glöckl exhibition mine 221
DISCOVERY TOURS SCHNEEBERG
THE SCHNEEBERG-NEUSTÄDTLER MINING DISCOVERY TRAIL From Siebenschlehen Stamp Mill to Filzteich mountain lake The circular route starts at the Siebenschlehen Stamp Mill Technical Museum in Schneeberg-Neustädtel, no. 22 Lindenauer Straße. You can start your walk with a visit to the stamp mill itself. A guided tour will include a demonstration of the original stamp mill system using the power of water. Visitors are also given an informative insight into key historical pits in the ore field. A large relief of the mining landscape gives you a good idea of the trail. The trail itself is equipped with a number of information panels and it is possible to walk individual sections. Flyers about the discovery trail are available at the stamp mill or at the tourist information centre. The second station of the discovery trail, the Fundgrube (FG) Gesellschaft (Mining Society), has a miniature exhibition featuring the most important buildings in the mining landscape. It is also well worth making a quick detour to the mining heap plateaus: the ideal spot to have a rest and enjoy the outstanding panoramic views. We recommend going at least as far as Filzteich lake. Created between 1483 and 1485, Filzteich served as a mining reservoir. Today, the mountain lake is a popular lido. The main artificial ditch starts at the dam. The idyllic discovery trail continues on to Wolfgangmaßen Mine. From there, the route turns back to Hohes Gebirge and then it’s downhill almost all the way back to the start. Alternatively, you may still have time for a detour to the Weißer Hirsch Mine. Tip: The Mining Cultural Landscape Adventure Days, Schneeberg’s Miners’ Dispute Day and the Open Monument Day take place at the Wolfgangmaßen mine, including a demonstration of historical crafts and hands-on activities such as historical forge, ropemaking, pipe boring and more.
Siebenschlehen Stamp Mill Schlema Technical Museum
h Weißer Hirsch Mine
Fil zb 169
Hiking tour Duration: approx. 2 – 3 hours Length: approx. 8 km Target groups: families, walks with friends Info: Touristinformation Schneeberg oder Siebenschlehener Pochwerk (Schneeberg Tourist Information or Siebenschlehen Stamp Mill), Markt 1, 08289 Schneeberg www.schneeberg.de
DISCOVERY TOURS SCHEIBENBERG
UNTERER BERGRUNDGANG (LOWER MOUNTAIN TRAIL) CIRCULAR HIKING TRAIL ON SCHEIBENBERG We start our hike at the trail car park (Loipenparkplatz). Passing along the weir, we walk approx. 500 m past the little old water house to the Scheibenberger Heide (Scheibenberg Heath) view point. After about 150 m, we reach the Am Brunnen rest spot , where a mountain hut provides an opportunity to take a break. From here, there is a possible detour to the mountain plateau with viewing tower and mountain inn (Stülpnersteig (Stülpner Ascent)). We continue our walk on the Lower Mountain Trail until we reach the rest spot at the Ottomar-Zahm-Steig (Ottomar Zahm Ascent). Then it’s on to the natural monument An der Kanzel. We then take the Basaltpfad (Basalt Path) educational trail, which leads back onto the Lower Mountain Trail shortly before reaching the summer camp. Following the circular trail, we head past the Orgelpfeifen (Organ Pipes) basalt columns and ski jump facilities onto the mountain road, where we return to the car park after about 400 m. Hiking tour Duration: 2 hours Length: 3.6 km Difficulty: easy Info: Stadtinformation Scheibenberg Rudolf-Breitscheid-Str. 35 09481 Scheibenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 373 49 663 10 Fax + 49 (0) 373 49 663 21 www.scheibenberg.de
h h h v
Mountain inn, viewing tower
h Scheibenberg Heath
W Am Brunnen rest spot
DISCOVERY TOURS OBERWIESENTHAL
TATJANA HÜFNER TOUR This contemplative tour is named after the German luger and Olympic winner, the first woman to win five overall world cups in a row. The fitness training route leads you through the small allotment gardens straight into the Zechengrund conservation area. Unlike many other hiking destinations, this one lies somewhat away from all the hurly-burly. Charmingly framed between Fichtelberg mountain on the German side and Klínovec (Keilberg) mountain on the Czech side, Zechengrund enjoys an idyllic location in a v-shaped valley. Hike past decommissioned mining facilities along the cheerfully babbling Pöhlbach brook, which springs from the upper part of Zechengrund. Walkers will learn plenty of interesting facts from a variety of information panels explaining the geology and mining history as well as the flora and fauna of the Fichtelberg region. Benches, a mountain inn and several water access points offer inviting spots to linger as you walk along roughly seven kilometres of trail. This is a place where you can embrace true jewels of nature and scenery. The tour takes over two hours and is also suitable for beginners. You can discover rare plants and animals as well as the merry carnival fountain and much more, before you reach the Alte Poststraße. Then it’s a leisurely stroll back to the valley station of the cable railway. The best season for this idyllic hike is from early May to late October. Hiking tour Duration: 2.5 hours Length: 6.7 km Level of difficulty: easy Best season: early May to late October Info: Wiesenthaler K3 Karlsbader Straße 3 09484 Kurort Oberwiesenthal Tel. + 49 (0) 373 48 15 50-50 www.oberwiesenthal.de
Cable railway valley station
h Klínovec (Keilberg)
DISCOVERY TOURS GEYER
TOWER EXPLORERS ON SILBERBERG MOUNTAIN Little watchman Albin invites families to embark on a special tour of discovery in the seven-storey Turmmuseum (Tower Museum). There’s a rumour that the tower was built of quark, eggs and ox blood. Once upon a time, the watchman would keep guard day and night, and Albin, the little watchman, was only allowed to leave the tower when school started. For the young explorers of today, Albin has devised some tricky questions. As a reward for the right answer, he will give you a Watchman’s Pass and a small souvenir. You can also strike the bells and admire a constrictor. Then, we walk to Greifenbach Valley (red/white signposting). The route snakes along the Silver Road mining discovery trail. The old mining area is distinctive for its heaps, sinkholes and accessible mine openings. Equipped with sturdy footwear, we take a look inside the mines (torch useful here). Then it’s time for a well-earned break at the Greifensteinstolln snack point. Down in the mine, we can play at train driver and picture the ore being transported out of the mountain. Our hike takes us on past a man-made ditch up to the Greifenbach Reservoir. There we take a pedal boat out onto the water and venture in for a refreshing dip when the temperature allows. To round off our entertaining adventure tour, we will dig for stones or grind a mineral. Tower Museum Opening times: Tue – Fri 10am – 3pm, Sat 10am – 4pm Toni’s House of Stones Summer opening times (April to October): daily 10am – 5pm (except Fridays) Winter opening times (November to March): Sat, Sun & public holidays 10am – 5pm In Saxon holidays: daily 10am – 5pm Greifensteinstolln snack point Closed on Mondays Discovery tour Duration: day tour Length: approx. 4 km, 7 km as circular tour Target groups: families with primary school-age children Parking: free on the Altmarkt (opposite the tourist information centre)
Toni’s House of Stones Destination
v Greifenbach reservoir
Gr e if
DISCOVERY TOURS DREBACH
BETWEEN DREBACH AND SCHARFENSTEIN A sojourn in the romantic Zschopau Valley The forest village of Drebach nestles snugly in a secondary valley of the Zschopau, enveloped by verdant and partially wooded hills. Every year in this community of some 2,400 people, a sea of lilac blossoms heralds the arrival of spring – seven hectares of crocuses in all their glory. The signposted route is highly recommended when visiting. Another real jewel here is the Zeiss Planetarium, which was equipped with state-of-the-art Zeiss projection technology in 2014. For 30 years, it has offered guests the chance to travel through space and see the astronauts at their daily work. We recommend popping into the Erbgericht restaurant before an event; they certainly know how to spoil their guests with hearty fare. Tip: Treasure hunters are warmly welcome. You can also explore the Planetenwanderweg (Planet Hiking Trail) through geocaching, where there’s a surprise waiting for you at the end.
David Rebentrost Monument Drebach
Crocus hiking tour Duration: 2 hours Length: 5.5 km Target groups: nature-lovers Info: Gemeindeverwaltung (Municipal Government of) Drebach August-Bebel-Straße 25 b, 09430 Drebach Tel. + 49 (0) 3725 707 40, Fax + 49 (0) 3725 70 74 -33 www.gemeinde-drebach.de
e aß ensteiner Str Wolk
For the perfect finishing touch to the day, why not take a short trip through a wooded valley to Scharfenstein. This magnificent castle towers high up on a mountain, while the town, which can also be reached by train, sits at its feet around the castle hill. Erected in around AD 1250, visitors are awarded an insight into 18th century life on a tour with the poacher Karl Stülpner; from the cellar rooms all the way up to the roof. Afterwards, the castle tavern is a great way to bring your day to a leisurely close. The 600 m long circular castle trail offers romantic views as well as information boards about Stülpner, local themes and botanical trivia.
DISCOVERY TOURS EHRENFRIEDERSDORF
MINING TRAILS THROUGH GREIFENSTEIN FOREST
r Tr ail
Greifensteine Outdoor Theatre
h ing B-w
h h Goldener Adler Adit
e einstraß Al t e Greifenst Aw
Hiking tour Duration: approx. 1.5 hours Length: circular hiking trail 6.5 km Target groups: families with children Information: Mr Rolf Drechsel Im Tempel 1, 09430 Drebach Tel. + 49 (0) 373 41 70 84 Stadtverwaltung Ehrenfriedersdorf Markt 1, 09427 Ehrenfriedersdorf Tel. + 49 (0) 373 41 45-0 www.stadt-ehrenfriedersdorf.de
5 R Start/Destination
We start at the Greifensteine tourist information centre. Passing the Berghotel, we turn left and descend towards Greifenbach Valley to reach a former drainage adit, the Goldener Adler-Stolln (Goldener Adler Adit). The pipe trench begins very close by. Until the mine closed in 1990, water from the trench was used for tin processing. It is the oldest man-made ditch still in operation in Germany (length 4.9 km). We continue our hike, walking below the pipe trench to reach the Garisch-Stolln (Garisch Adit). The similarly-named Garisch-Gegentrum-Stolln (Garisch-Gegentrum Adit) lies opposite on the Geyer side. Passing the artificial waterfall (the waste water from the Greifensteinstolln (Greifenstein Adit)), it’s downhill along the tin placer heaps to the Schanzen-Baude snack stop in Greifenbach Valley. Walking downhill from there, we come across the concrete plinths of the former Grei fenbach Valley bridge (once the largest narrow-gauge railway in Germany). Not far away is the Reicher-SilberTrost-Stolln (Reicher-Silber-Trost Adit). On Christmas 1769, six miners met their deaths here as the result of a fire-setting method for extracting ore. A commemorative Mettenschicht sermon takes place every Christmas on Sauberg mountain in Ehrenfriedersdorf. We follow the signposts for the Grüner Strich (Green Stripe) hiking trail and continue uphill to the pipe trench and the Greifenstein Adit (with snack point). Then we head down the valley, moving above the pipe trench, where we can observe the Leier Stolln (Leier Adit), with the remains of its stamp mill and engine house walls. Still following the pipe trench, we turn right uphill and head back towards our starting point.
Garsich Adit and SchanzenGarischbaude Gegentrum Adit
DISCOVERY TOURS WOLKENSTEIN
ON THE ROAD IN CRAGGY LANDSCAPE A hotel inside a train? It’s true: there really is such a thing at the foot of the little town of Wolkenstein. But first things first: very early on, about 150 years ago, steam locomotives would puff their way into the Zschopau Valley. After bridging valleys and making truly groundbreaking cuttings into the Erzgebirge gorge, people and goods began to be transported between Chemnitz and Annaberg. Refurbishment meant the introduction of modern railcars, and goods service was now very rare. The disused tracks in Wolkenstein – now no longer needed for loading and unloading – became home to dining cars between the train station and the valley road. After that, it wasn’t long before someone came up with the idea of adding a few disused sleeper compartments to them. This turned out to be a wonderful meeting of railway past and present. This unique attraction is encircled by a romantic craggy landscape, carved out by the river Zschopau and its tributaries over millions of years. For active relaxation, there are numerous hiking routes, which reveal the occasional site bearing witness to Wolkenstein mining history. Hikers often have the railway line in view, particularly on the Alpinen Wandersteig Wolkenstein (Wolkenstein Alpine Hiking Trail), which is signposted as a circular trail. In the area aptly described as “Wolkenstein Switzerland”, the Brückenklippe lookout ridge is a popular photo spot for railway fans. Tip: It is well worth taking a ride on the Zschopautalbahn (Zschopau Valley Railway) to discover further interesting spots along the route. Hiking tour Duration: approx. 4 hours Length: approx. 10 km Signposting: yellow dot Target groups: sure-footed hikers Info: Museum & Gästebüro (Tourist Office) Schloss Wolkenstein (Wolkenstein Castle) Schlossplatz 1 09429 Wolkenstein Tel. + 49 (0) 373 69 871 23 www.stadt-wolkenstein.de
Zsc hop a
DISCOVERY TOURS MARIENBERG
DISCOVERY TOUR IN THE MINING TOWN OF MARIENBERG Mining and Renaissance in the heart of the Erzgebirge The perfectly regular layout of Marienberg is considered a classic example of Renaissance town planning north of the Alps. A walking tour of the town crosses the large, square marketplace (featuring a monument to the town founder), passes the Rathaus (town hall), famed for having one of the most significant Renaissance portals in Saxony, takes in numerous town houses as well as the Zschopau Tor (Zschopau Gate) – last of five original town gates – and finally includes the Lindenhäuschen (Linden House) as a witness to simple mining culture and the wonderfully restored St. Mary’s Church, Saxony’s most recent late Gothic hall church. The museums and visitors’ mines offer a colourful illustration of Marienberg mining at its peak, as does the Pferdegöpel auf dem Rudolphschacht (Horse Gin at the Rudolph Pit) in Lauta, which, as an open gin, is one of a kind in the Erzgebirge. The district of Lauta is easy to reach by car from the town centre. More vestiges of mining are to be discovered on a short hike along the Marienberg mining discovery trail, which leads from the town centre to the horse gin in Lauta!
La ut en ba ch
Tip: Bring your day to a relaxing end at the swimming and sauna facilities at the AQUA MARIEN water park.
Aqua Marien water park
ch sba Moo
tt hle enb Sc a
Duration: day tour Target groups: best-agers with an interest in active culture Info: Tourist Information Marienberg Markt 1 (right inside the town hall) 09496 Marienberg Tel. + 49 (0) 37 35 60 22 70 firstname.lastname@example.org www.marienberg.de
DISCOVERY TOURS OEDERAN
OEDERAN – DISCOVER THE TOWN OF THE KLEIN ERZGEBIRGE (ERZGEBIRGE IN MINIATURE) IN ONE DAY At the foot of the Erzgebirge between Chemnitz and Freiberg lies the small town of Oederan. It is known for having the oldest miniature park in the world, but there is plenty more to discover. The historical old town is a wonderful place for a stroll. A large adventure pool and adventure playground in the town centre provides excitement for kids and kids-at-heart. Spending a bit more time in this area is highly recommended, as there are many unforgettable experiences awaiting you in and around Oederan. From the neighbouring town of Gahlenz, with its romantic village museum and the famous Gahlenz Giants, up to the Hetzdorf viaduct, there is a whole host of attractions to explore. Join us on a tour of the Erzgebirge in Miniature in the old town, which is particularly suitable for families: Start your discovery tour by visiting the Erzgebirge in Miniature miniature park and enjoying a spot of lunch at the Haus am Klein Erzgebirge. Then you can take a leisurely stroll from the Erzgebirge in Miniature to the old town via the Wasserwelten (Magical Water Worlds), a series of entertaining water-based attractions. Culture and architecture are closely intertwined at the parish church. Don’t miss a visit to the church for its superb Silbermann organ. We highly recommend a visit to the Oederan WEAVING MILL Museum (free admission with your Erzgebirge in Miniature ticket), where you can learn about the various weaving techniques and even have a go yourself! Pencil in some time for shopping in the historical centre, and don’t forget the fun and games to be had at the Familien- und Erlebniswelt (Family Adventure Park) in the old town. To finish off an eventful day, why not sample some tasty home-made ice cream and cakes at the Eiscafe Börner, crafted by their nationally award-winning confectioner.
Erzgebirge in Miniature
h Parish church
Erzgebirge in Miniature day tour – old town Duration: approx. 5 hours Length: 1 km Target groups: families with children Info: Stadtinformation Oederan Markt 6, 09569 Oederan Tel. + 49 (0) 372 92 271 28 email@example.com
DISCOVERY TOURS POCKAU-LENGEFELD
ON THE TRAIL OF LIMESTONE MINING
Hiking tour Duration: approx. 4 hours Length: approx. 12 km Target groups: those interested in mining and nature, also possible as a cycling tour Info: Museum Kalkwerk Lengefeld (Lengefeld Limeworks Museum) Kalkwerk 4 a 09514 Pockau-Lengefeld Telephone/Fax: + 49 (0) 373 67 22 74 firstname.lastname@example.org www.kalkwerk-lengefeld.de
Neunzehnhain I Dam
Hammer Mill Roßbach
h Lauten bac h
Limestone has been mined in Lengefeld since the 16th century, prompting the formation of limestone sinkholes as well as the development of transport shaft systems and a variety of limestone kilns. The imposing kiln at the Museum Kalkwerk (Limeworks Museum) bears witness to this long tradition. The tour starts with a visit to the museum, followed by a walk through some wonderful forest scenery along Fünferweg road to the Hotel Waldesruh. From here the tour continues through the meadows lining the banks of the Roßbach, where the remains of old kilns are interspersed with wild-growing orchids in the summer. The next stop is the Talsperre Neunzehnhain I (Neunzehnhain I Dam), which was built between 1905 and 1908 and today supplies Chemnitz with its drinking water. Hiking around the dam, past the Hammermühle (Hammer Mill) and along the Neuer Hammerweg (New Hammer Trail) through the picturesque Bornwald forest, tour participants can admire an old, tower-shaped limestone kiln from the 19th century and the so-called Weiße Ofen (White Oven). This is an old quarry where limestone has been mined sporadically since the 16th century; the last mining took place here between 1953 and 1961. The Weiße Ofenweg (White Oven Trail) then intersects with state road 226, which must be crossed in order to get onto the Lehrlingsflügelweg (Lehrlingsflügel Trail), past the mine ventilation shaft located very close to the Limeworks Museum, back to where the tour began.
White Oven former limestone mine
Neunzehnhain II Dam
DISCOVERY TOURS OLBERNHAU
SAIGERHÜTTE OLBERNHAU (OLBERNHAU LIQUATION WORKS) Where the Russian czar rode the hammer
Rothenthale r Straße
Bowling alley Long Works former smelting works Permanent exhibition Liquation Works Museum
g un sch
Mill shop Mill school
Liquation Works – recreation in a historical environment Duration: up to one day Target groups: families Info: Tourist Information Olbernhau Grünthaler Straße 5 09526 Olbernhau Tel. + 49 (0) 373 60 68 98 66 www.olbernhau.de
The Olbernhau Liquation Works presents a unique witness to non-ferrous metallurgy worldwide. The mill where copper and silver were once separated is today preserved as a large open-air museum. A tour of the site introduces you to over 20 preserved buildings. Peter the Great visited this fully functional, 6 hundredweight copper hammer – and legend has it he was so impressed, he hopped on for a ride. You can marvel at this hammer mill in operation every hour. On request and by prior arrangement, visitors can ’forge their own luck’ or enjoy the play “Der Hüttenmatz” (The Mill Boy) – fun for both children and adults. The Stockhausen children’s play facility is also located on the Liquation Works site. There’s all sorts of fun and games to be had inside and out. Young visitors can let off some steam whatever the weather – even the adults will be tempted. Refreshment points keep you topped up with energy. A hearty lunch of typically Erzgebirge dishes at the Hüttenschänke restaurant, a delicious cake at the Café Hüttenmühle or an evening of sport at the bowling alley – the Liquation Works offers plenty of options. If you’ve got enough time to spare, why not pay a visit to the smaller workshops where you can peer over the shoulders of the craftsmen as they work on wood, glass, wax and clay – or perhaps take a look at the central exhibition, the power plant, the mill school, the workers’ residence and the mill shop.
DISCOVERY TOURS SEIFFEN
HISTORISCHER BERGBAUSTEIG (HISTORICAL MINING ASCENT) Explore mining history on foot Centuries of mining activity have left their mark on the Seiffen townscape even today, and live on in the minds of its people. So it was that in the 1980s, the local mining research group established an educational trail called the Historical Mining Ascent. It begins at the entrance to the Geyerin sinkhole above the church, and leads through what was once the centre of mining. Thanks to EU subsidies, the route is being given an overhaul and extended to a total of 11.5 km, with completion expected in spring 2018. The trail, which will subsequently loop around the Spielzeugdorf (Toy Village), will be fully signposted in German, Czech and English. A map of the full tour, which is easy to split into individual stages, can be found on a flyer and at the entrance to the Geyerin sinkhole as well as on the internet. Please visit our tourist information centre for additional information about this rewarding tourist attraction (photo: Segen-Gottes Main Adit). Historical Mining Ascent – Short tour (centre), see map Duration: approx. 2 hours Length: approx. 1.5 km Seiffen Hauptstra
Long tour (around Seiffen) Duration: approx. 4.5 – 5 hours Length: approx. 10 km
An der Bi
m rg Be ns an
er orf ud
Target groups: those with an interest in mining, families, school groups, groups Info: Tourist Information Hauptstraße 73, 09548 Kurort Seiffen Tel. + 49 (0) 373 62 84 38 Fax + 49 (0) 373 62 767 15 email@example.com www.seiffen.de
aß Str e
DISCOVERY TOURS ALTZELLA
COWL AND CHISEL – THE GATEWAY TO THE ERZGEBIRGE
e rg be
h h gasse
h Bober Adit, quarries
Disused mine A4
Hiking tour Altzella – Nossen – Siebenlehn Duration: approx. 3 hours (without museum visit) Length: approx. 13 km Target groups: culture holidaymakers, explorers and researchers, families, cyclists and hikers Info museums: Staatliche Schlösser, Burgen und Gärten Sachsen gGmbH (State Palaces, Castles and Gardens of Saxony) Klosterpark Altzella (Altzella Abbey Park) Zellaer Straße 10, 01683 Nossen www.kloster-altzella.de Mining discovery trail info: Bergbaufreunde »Grube Vereinigt Feld« Nossen e. V. Eichholzgasse 62 01683 Nossen www.nossen-bergbau.de
Anyone keen to learn more about the early days of mining in the Erzgebirge mustn’t pass up the chance to visit Kloster Altzella (Altzella Abbey). The former Cistercian monastery is today both a monument and a museum and is famous for its unique, romantic monastery park, laid here in the 19th century. In 1162, Margrave Otto the Rich founded his own monastery, which still houses the mausoleum of his family, the Wettins. With the monks came the first settlers, who pressed on towards Freiberg and hit upon seams of silver. The monastery saw less of this wealth – it was forced to relinquish land around Freiberg and was left only with the mining village of Gersdorf. Cyclists will enjoy the idyllic location of the Muldetalradweg (Mulde Valley Cycling Trail), which connects the Altzella Abbey with other cultural sites on the river Mulde. Three kilometres away, overlooking the Mulde, Schloss Nossen (Nossen Castle) finds favour with visitors not only for its splendid Renaissance architecture but also because of the permanent exhibition on the Schönberg family, whose history is closely connected to mining in Freiberg. Freiberg’s northern ore field starts opposite the castle, and proves an attractive draw thanks to its mining discovery trail and reconstructed mine. This is the work of the Bergbaufreunde Grube Vereinigt Feld Nossen e. V. (Association of Friends of Mining for the Nossen Vereinigt Feld Mine), who have also made the technical monument accessible through tours. At the Tiefer Börnichen Stolln (Tiefer Börnichen Adit) near Siebenlehn, you can also experience an operational above-ground mine dating back to 1850.
Circular route Ronnov Mine and Fröhlicher Sonnenblick Mine
h Wolf Adit
DISCOVERY TOURS BRAND-ERBISDORF
EMBARK ON AN ADVENTURE AROUND BRAND-ERBISDORF Jump straight into this discovery tour of the Brand-Erbisdorf mining region at the Huthaus Einigkeit Museum, led by a certified guide for the Erzgebirge. From here, you will follow the mining discovery trail to the Himmelsfürst Fundgrube (Himmelsfürst Mine), which was once the richest silver mine in Saxony. Conceded in 1596, the mine enjoyed a period of excellent productivity starting in 1747 with the advent of high-grade ore. It yielded over 650 tonnes of silver: as much as the Schneeberg and Annaberg ore fields put together! After visiting the centre of the Himmelsfürst Mine, with all its mining monuments, you can move on to a heap to scavenge for minerals. With a bit of luck, everyone will uncover glittering ore and crystals. After that, its on to the Bergbauschauanlage Bartholomäusschacht (Bartholomäus Shaft Exhibition Mining Facility).’ From the 18th century, the shaft belonged to the Thelersberg Adit: at over 50 km long, the most important adit for the ore field. You have the option to visit and operate the hand reeling machine, reconstructed in 1995 and designed in 1783 by an engineer named Mende with fly wheel and brakes. In the shaft, you can climb down to a depth of 25 metres using ladders. Then it’s on to the Zugspitze restaurant, on the site of the former Alte Mordgrube Mine, which is linked to a terrible, legendary event. After visiting the above-ground elements of the Alte Mordgrube Mine complex – from the administration and assembly building (1820), prayer house and store house (1853), to the mine forge (1856), water hoisting house and Röschen light hole (1820), through to the Alte Mordgrube pithead building, Mendenrösche trench opening, railway embankment (1829) and washing facility with a piece of the reconstructed iron rail – its time for some refreshment at Zugspitze in the old engine house of the Mendenschacht (Menden Shaft).’ Discovery tour Mordgrube – Himmelsfürst – Museum Duration: 4 to 5 hours Length: 8 km Target groups: families with children as well as all those interested in mining Info: Museum Huthaus Einigkeit (Huthaus Einigkeit Museum) Jahnstraße 14, 09618 Brand-Erbisdorf, Tel. + 49 (0) 373 22 506 99 Fax + 49 (0) 373 22 323 41 firstname.lastname@example.org www.brand-erbisdorf.de
BrandErbisdorf Huthaus Einigkeit Museum
Bartholomäus Shaft Exhibition Mining Facility
DISCOVERY TOURS KLINGENBERG
ON A VOYAGE OF DISCOVERY: EDLE KRONE TO KLINGENBERG AND BACK Our hike starts in Edle Krone, an old, smaller mining town. From here, it’s on to the wild and romantic valley of the Wilde Weißeritz, past the Dorfhain water plant, with the chance to visit the water park in Dorfhain. Following the mining discovery trail, you will still find traces of mining activity dating from the 12th to the 19th century. A number of information boards provide details about mills, tunnels and geological features up to the visitors’ mine, where you can delve into the life and work of the miners below ground. The route then continues to the Klingenberger Talsperre (Klingenberg Dam) by way of the game enclosure. It celebrated its 100-year anniversary in 2014. Crossing the Streichholz bridge, we carry on along the old Materialweg (material supply route) to the Hotel Zur Neuklingenberger Höhe and then on to the Klingenberg railway station. Heading out of town towards Grillenburg, the route veers into Tharandt Forest and on to Seerenteich lake, previously used as a reservoir for timber rafting. Continue along the Seerenbach for about 4 km until you arrive back in Edle Krone.
Edle Krone ch nba
Dorfhain Visitors’ mine
de tz Weißeri
Discovery Tour Edle Krone – Klingenberg – Edle Krone Duration: 4.5 hours Length: 20 km, only short climbs on the way Target groups: families, hikers, people interested in mining Info: Besucherbergwerk Aurora Erbstolln (Aurora Main Adit Visitors’ Mine) Tel. + 49 (0) 351 650 27 00 www.auroraerbstolln.de Opening times: April to end of October every year 10am – 2.30pm Special tours by arrangement Tel. + 49 (0) 351 650 27 00
v Hotel Zur Neuklingenberger Höhe
DISCOVERY TOURS DEUTSCHNEUDORF
ON A TOUR OF DISCOVERY WITH THE MOUNTAIN DWARF!
Fun and nature adventure trail “Two Countries – One Region”
Experience Erzgebirge nature, culture and history with all your senses – in play and in sport. It’s all there in the Erzgebirge – “Two Countries, One Region”! Fun for the whole family! Our cross-border adventure trail starts in the centre of the Bergbauliches Erlebnisdorf Deutschneudorf (Deutschneudorf Mining Adventure Village) and ends in the small Czech mountain village of Lesná. There’s so much to discover as you pass a total of 22 stations, over 30 information panels and more than 20 games and knowledge points. Our mascot, a small mountain dwarf who knows the area like the back of his hand, will point the way to the individual stations. Along the way, you can hear nature at various sound stations, feel it on the barefoot trail, and see it using the telescope or the insect hotel. There are many interesting things to learn about the use of water and wood here, the history of the forest or the vanished villages of our region. Our mountain dwarf knows an awful lot about the mysterious realm of mining. Dropping in at the visitors’ mine is well worth it at this point to burrow into the world beneath our feet. After a small snack at the administration and assembly building, don’t miss a visit to the mineral cutting section to admire the treasures from the depths of the mine. After an eventful day, you can enjoy an authentic Erzgebirge-Bohemian meal at your destination.
Hora Svaté Kateřiny
Tip: The alternative to the long route is a small circular hike of approx. 6 km (stations 1 to 12). At Station 2, the Museum von Deutschneudorf (Deutschneudorf Museum) invites you to pay a visit. Here you can observe, among other things, a carefully furnished Erzgebirge parlour and a historical classroom from bygone days. Hiking tour Duration: approx. 3 to 6 hours Length: Hiking and cycling trail approx. 12 km Target groups: families with children Info: Tourist-Infopunkt Am Huthaus (Am Huthaus Tourist Info Centre) Deutschkatharinenberg 14 09548 Deutschneudorf Tel. + 49 (0) 373 68 129 42 email@example.com
Deutschneudorf Mining Adventure Village
Start (Destination) Nová Ves v Horách
Lesenská Pláň Horský hotel Lesná
DISCOVERY TOURS THARANDT FOREST
GEOLOGISCHES FREILICHTMUSEUM IM GEOPARK THARANDTER WALD (GEOLOGICAL OPEN-AIR MUSEUM AT THE THARANDT FOREST GEOPARK) Take a walk through Saxon geology At the Geopark, we set off on a geological journey through time. Come along to experience Tharandt Forest in a new light and be swept away into a “stone age” world. On our way from Mohorn-Grund over Landberg mountain to the spa town of Hartha and back over the Wiesenweg (Meadow Path) and through Wüstarabien (Desert Arabia), it becomes abundantly clear just how many fascinating things there are to see and discover in such a small area. We set off on the geological trail of mighty volcanic eruptions, old craters and vents, as well as relics of huge floods and historical mining. The subject of health also gets a look. Do something a little different by taking a Kneipp hydrotherapy treatment or following the barefoot trail. Even the smallest things are in demand. At the forest playground, the forest magically and mysteriously transforms into a fairy tale world. Those who know a bit about religious pilgrimages will be interested to see that we follow a section of Saxony’s Way of St. James, where pilgrims as far back as the 12th century sought inner peace in union with the rest of creation. On Landberg, there is an opportunity to stop at the idyllically situated guest house Zum Landberg where guests can refuel with a hearty Saxon meal or game dish. Those who prefer things a little more rustic can stop at the snack point in Spechtshausen on the edge of the forest, or relax in the forest pool in Mohorn-Grund. Extra tip: KNOX incense cone factory.
Hiking tour Duration: 6 hours Length: 14 km Target groups: families, science lovers and health-conscious visitors Info: guided hike possible on request Contact: Geopark, Tel. + 49 (0) 350 55 69 68-20 Tour guide Rolf Mögel, Tel. + 49 (0) 33 52 03 25 30
KNOX incense cone factory
k Kirschberg Trie b
Ö Forest Æ 7 k ‘Æ 7 playground
DISCOVERY TOURS ALTENBERG
ON THE TRAIL OF HISTORICAL MINING Altenberg, the “Stadt uffn alten Berg” (town on the old mountain) owes its origins to mining; even today, the vestiges of over 500 years of mining history are unmissable. The trail takes us past the sinkhole, the boundary stone and the powder storehouse and on to the Altenberg Mining Museum. The museum offers interesting insights into the centuries-old handicraft of the Altenberg miners. Past the Arno-Lippmann-Schacht (Arno-Lippmann Shaft) and the Aschergraben (Ascher Ditch), which features a monument to Goethe, we reach the Vereinigt Zwitterfeld zu Zinnwald Visitors’ Mine. There is a vast network of tunnels and an underground lake to explore here. Returning to the light of day, it’s on past the SchwarzwasserAbraumhalten (Schwarzwasser Mine Dump) towards Altenberg. To finish the hike, there is a unique view of the Altenberg Sinkhole, a striking mining monument in the region. If you enjoyed the Zinnwald Visitors’ Mine, you are warmly invited to join a Christmas Mettenschicht. Every Saturday before the 1st Sunday of Advent, the old mining custom is brought back to life. Decorated with fir sprigs and numerous candles, the chamber simply exudes atmosphere. Christmastime in the mining town of Altenberg means seasonal music, mining tales and a rustic Bergschmaus (hearty miners’ spread). Tip: We recommend a visit to the Altenberger Kräuterlikörfabrik (Altenberg Herb Liqueur Factory). Here you can sample and purchase Altenberg’s own Heimaterde (Home Soil) herb liqueur. A small detour takes you to the Alte Bobbahn (Old Bobsled Track) at the edge of the Ascher Ditch. Hiking tour Duration: 3.5 to 4 hours Length: approx. 10 km Target groups: families with children, hiking groups Info: Tourist-Info-Büro (Tourist Info Office) Am Bahnhof 1 01773 Altenberg Tel. + 49 (0) 350 56 239 93 Fax + 49 (0) 350 56 239 94 www.altenberg.de
Start/ Destination Galgenteich
5 Museum Geising
Historical bobsled track
Scharspitze (808 m) 170
5 5 ZinnwaldGeorgenfeld
DISCOVERY TOURS JÁCHYMOV
EDUCATIONAL TRAIL AROUND JÁCHYMOV The Radonlehrpfad (Radon Educational Trail) If you’d like to learn more about the gas radon, this educational trail is for you. About 3 km long, it starts at the museum and ends behind the Akademik Běhounek spa hotel. Hiking amidst tranquil nature, you will have wonderful views of the Erzgebirge slopes. Length:
approx. 3 km
The Hölle von Jáchymov (Hell of Jáchymov) Educational Trail This trail is roughly 8.5 km long and starts at St. Joachim’s Church. It has 12 stations and is marked yellow. The route runs through the famous mining ore field as well as through towns where communist labour camps were situated in the 1950s. It also crosses the beautiful landscape of the Erzgebirge. The trail is suitable for hiking in summer or autumn. In winter, it is very difficult to access. Length: approx. 8.5 km Marking: yellow
Bergbaulandschaft Erzgebirge (Erzgebirge Mining Landscape) Educational Trail There are 19 information panels on this stretch. Hike through a typical Erzgebirge landscape, marked by deep valleys, steep slopes and dense forests in the eastern part of the Jáchymov ore field. The educational trail is about 10.5 km long. Some sections can also be accessed by bike. Length:
approx. 10.5 km
Info: Turistické informační centrum Jáchymov Náměstí Republiky 1 326 51 Jáchymov Tel./Fax + 42 (0) 353 811 379 firstname.lastname@example.org www.mestojachymov.cz
MINING ADVENTURE DAYS The Mining Cultural Landscape Erzgebirge/Krušnohorˇí is on its way to UNESCO World Heritage status!
Those exploring the Erzgebirge will encounter mining customs at every turn. Nowhere else in Germany are there so many mining-related artefacts, fascinating mining towns, splendid churches, adits and tunnels or works of art as in the Erzgebirge. Together they make up an 800-year-old cultural landscape that is unique in Europe, and this is why the region is seeking recognition as a UNESCO World Heritage site. Every year, the first weekend in June is reserved for the Bergbau Erlebnistage Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří (Erzgebirge/ Krušnohoří Mining Adventure Days), where hikes throughout the mining landscape, tours above and below ground and events in mining towns invite you to discover the Ore Mountains Experience. www.erzgebirge-tourismus.de
Contents 2 4 8 10 14 18 20 60 62
History Our journey towards UNESCO World Heritage status Fascinating mining towns & magnificent churches Interesting facts Cultural gems Culinary delights & local cuisine Mining towns The Silver Road in Saxony and Bohemia Discovery tours
A distinctive attitude towards life becomes a World Heritage. 800 years of mining have forged a unique relationship between man and nature. The result: a cultural landscape of universal value that deserves to be protected and further developed as a UNESCO World Heritage site.