Page 1


2014 04 22 Bill and Richard 2004 Dolly Wilde


2013 Gatsby Party


2012 Thanksgiving


2012 08 01

2012 Mt. Elbert


CRS REUNION Friday, March 30, 2007

From: Thomas Stone [mailto:tstone@transmaxgroup.com] Sent: Friday, March 9, 2007 10:54 PM To: 'Bill Byrne'; 'Bill Ettenger'; 'Bill Wilde'; 'Bob Kochevar'; 'Bob McFarland'; 'Bob Reish'; 'Dave Dyer'; 'Dean Bradley'; 'Debre Perkins-Smith'; 'Diana Bell'; Yates, Diane G.; 'Ed Schumm'; 'Fred McCoy'; McAfee, Gina L.; 'Gloria Ming-Smith'; 'Jackie Noblitt'; Moore, Jared W.; Lostracco, Jeanette A.; Heisler, Jennifer; 'Joe Hart'; 'Joe Racosky'; 'John Shonsey'; 'Larry Gibson'; 'Lee Cryer'; 'Marvinetta Hartwig'; Speck, Mary V.; 'Matt Salich'; McCoy, Misty S.; 'Phil Hoffman'; 'Ron Thorstad'; 'Scott Richman'; 'Steve Long'; 'Tom Stone'; 'Tracy Lyman' Subject: CRS Group Denver Reunion Hello! A few weeks ago, it was suggested that an informal reunion of former CRS Denver employees should happen – and lo and behold, it is happening at lunch on Friday, March 30th! So a small, disorganized group (McAfee, Thorstad, McCoy, Speck, Stone, Wilde, McFarland, etc.) started putting together a list of people who should be contacted and the list we came up with is attached. Since you’re getting this e-mail, we obviously were able to find your e-mail address, but as you can see, there are several folks on the list for whom we do not have an address yet. If you happen to know the e-mail address for any such person on the list, by all means forward this message to them. The original idea was to just limit it to the people who were with the CRS Engineers division, but as you can see, we also have listed several who worked for CRSS Constructors, Architects, and Interiors. The get-together is going to be at the Buckhorn Exchange at 10 th and Osage starting at 11:30 am on the 30th, upstairs in their sun room. They have agreed to set it up as a buffet for us so we’ll have the maximum opportunity to chat with one another. We don’t know the price yet but it likely will be in the range of $15-20 per person including food, gratuities, coffee, tea, and soft drinks. They can handle up to 65 people in that space, so the 1st 65 people who RSVP will be the lucky ones. SO. please RSVP back to us (please cc Misty McCoy, Mary Speck and Tom Stone with your RSVP) asap so we can get an accurate head count and so you will be assured of getting in. We will have to pre-pay so please don’t stand us up! There are rumors that there will be the First and Only CRS Denver Trivia Quiz with a nice prize going to the winner – so start thinking about all the little known and heretofore forgotten things about CRS/CRSS that happened over the years. There is even a rumor that there will be a “show and tell” where people bring in otherwise worthless CRS/CRSS memorabilia. Looking forward to seeing you there!


CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) Name Nat Adam Nancy Bauer Karen Bauman/Ortiz Diana Bell Steve Blue Dean Bradley Gary Brierley David Brown Valerie Butts Bill Byrne Jerry Cowan Scott Cram Dan Cronin Lee Cryer Warren Dean Chuck DesMoineaux Dave Dyer Bill Ettenger Cynthia Flaspohler Larry Gibson Dick Gillet Mike Grant Ed Granzow Bob Harr Kathy Harris Joe Hart Kelly Hedrick Jennifer Heisler Phil Hoffman Alan Howard Angie Joyce Bob Kochevar Kathleen Krager Marvinetta Lang/Hartwig Steve Hultgren Jim Kramer Terri King Larry Larson Sharon Lavoie Brad Leonard Steve Long Jeanette Lostracco Tracy Lyman Steve Markovetz

E-mail/telephone

RSVP Coming? yes/no

dianabell63@comcast.net Sblue46@qwest.net Dean.Bradley@fhueng.com gbrierley@BrierleyAssociates.com Stryker Brown (Aspen)

N Y

wdby@deainc.com Jerry.Cowan@jacobs.com Scott.Cram@jacobs.com

Y N N

Lee.cryer@rtd-fastracks.com Warren.Dean@jacobs.com Chuck.Desmoineaux@jacobs.com ddyer@hartwigeng.com Bill_Ettenger@urscorp.com

Y N ? ? ?

Larry.Gibson@dmjmharris.com Dick.Gillet@ci.denver.co.us

Y Y Y

Kharris_stelling@msn.com jaha@deainc.com

N Y N Y Y ? ? Y ? Y Y Y Y Y Y

Jennifer.heisler@rtd-fastracks.com Phil.Hoffmann@parsons.com ahoward@BrierleyAssociates.com amj6603@aol.com robert.kochevar@rtd-fastracks.com 303-446-2626 mhartwig@hartwigeng.com Steve.Hultgren@jacobs.com James.Kramer@parsons.com terribking@msn.com slavoie@ozarch.com snl@deainc.com jeanette.lostracco@c-b.com tlyman@lymanhenn.com

Y

Y Y N Y


CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) Name Jeff Mayer Gina McAfee Misty McCoy Fred McCoy Bob McFarland Jim McGibney Carol Meyers Gloria Ming/Smith Jared Moore Nanette Neelan Cindy Newman Jackie Noblitt Jim Nolan Susan Padilla Debra Perkins-Smith Max Piaseck Kim Prentice Joe Racosky Bob Reish Scott Richman Mary Rogers Mary Salsich Kevin Salisch Ed Schumm Carol Self Gregg Sherry John Shonsey Mary Speck Darren Sporing Tom Stone Beth Strickland Pat Tarnow Ron Thorstad Michelle Trujillo George Tsiouvaras Mike Turner Leslie Walker Dave Weaver Bill Wilde Diane Yates Cathy Young Gabe Zamudio

E-mail/telephone jmayer@ktgy.com Gina.McAfee@c-b.com Misty.McCoy@c-b.com fred@netstructures.biz Robert.McFarland@vta.org firstcentruydev@qwest.net

RSVP Coming? yes/no N Y Y N Y ?

gloria.huegel@jeppesen.com Jared.moore@c-b.com nneelan@jeffco.us

Y N Y

NoblittJackie@stanleygroup.com

N

Susan.Padilla@jacobs.com dps@deainc.com

? N

Kim.prentice@nexcoregroup.com Joe_racosky@urscorp.com Bob_reish@urscorp.com csr@deainc.com Mary.Rogers@jacobs.com mbsalsich@yahoo.com ksalsich@yahoo.com ejsc@deainc.com 303-322-8317 (h) gsherry@BrierleyAssociates.com John.shonsey@rtd-fastracks.com mary.speck@c-b.com

Y ? Y ? N Y Y N

thomasjstone@earthlink.net 303-571-4137 (Semple Brown Design) ptarnow@boscoconstructors.com ron.thorstad@earthtech.com Michelle.trujillo@ci.denver.co.us George.Tsiouvaras@tshengineering.com Mike.Turner@rtd-fastracks.com 719-539-1031 David.Weaver@ci.denver.co.us wildebill@juno.com diane.yates@c-b.com

Y

? Y N

GZamudio@MindsEyeTechnology.com

?

Y Y Y

? Y Y Y ?


CRS Engineers Denver Trivia Quiz CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) ________________________________ Your name

Question

Value

Your Answer

1. When did the CRS Engineers Denver office first open for business?

1 for year only 5 for year and month

1981 June,1981

2. Where was it first located?

1 for general area 5 for the street

Aurora South Parker Road

3. With which firm was that office co-located (hint: they continued to be co-located with us)?

5 for firm’s name at that time

CM Inc.

4. Name as many employees of that firm as you can.

2 for each

Warren Dean Scott Cram Romey Ross Steve Hultgren Jerry Cowan

5. Name the engineering firms that CRS Group had purchased to form CRS Engineers prior to opening the Denver office.

2 points each

Clark Dietz Stevens Thompson Runyan AA Mathews (STRAAM)

6. Who was the well-known architect who was the “C” in CRS, who wrote weekly “TIBs” (This I Believe) that were sent out to all the employees?

5

Bill Caudill

7. Who was CRS Engineers’ 1st employee?

1 for each

Tom Stone

8. 2nd employee?

Gina McAfee

9. 3rd employee?

Bill Wilde

10. What was the new office’s first paying contract?

1 for client 5 for the name of the project

Exxon Parachute Area Transportation Study

11. Where did we hold our big “coming out party” where dozens of important people came and saw who we were and what we were trying to accomplish?

5

Grant Humphries Mansion

12. Which prominent elected official came to that event and made a nice welcoming speech?

5

Mayor Federico Pena

13. What was that elected official’s “connection” to CRS?

5

His uncle was one of the founding partners

14. Name that person within CRS who was that “connection”.

5

Willie Pena

Score

5 Page - 1 -


CRS Engineers Denver Trivia Quiz CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) ________________________________ Your name

Question

Value

15. What was he famous for within the architectural world?

Your Answer

Score

Wrote “Problem Seeking,” the “father” of Architectural Programming

16. Where were the corporate headquarters for CRS located?

1 for the city 5 for the address

Houston 1177 West Loop South

17. Who was the Chairman of CRS Group at that time?

5

Chuck Thompson

18. Who came into Denver to recruit our first office manager to join CRS Engineers and set up the initial office (hint: he raised his head much later as a client of the CRS Engineers Phoenix office)

5

Jim Matteson from Portland office Later became chief engineer for the City of Phoenix

19. Which project did we “ride” into Phoenix and use as the basis for opening our Phoenix office?

5

I-17 Outer Loop Interchange

20. Which highly respected former CDOT engineer helped from the Glenwood Canyon/I-70 project us win that project?

5

Dick Prosence

21. Who went down there to be the first manager of that project?

5

Bob McFarland

22. Who also went down there to lead the office and the business development effort thereafter?

5

Ron Thorstad

23. Which two civil engineers joined the Denver office as sort of a “package deal”, being brothers-in law?

5 (must name both)

Brad Leonard Nat Adam

24. What three companies formed the Engineering E-470 Partnership Joint Venture?

2 points each

CRS Engineers PBQD DeLeuw, Cather

25. Which firm was the lead of the joint venture and who was its Project Manager?

2 points for firm 2 for the person

DeLeuw Eric Beal

26. Who was the Executive Director of the E-470 Authority at that time?

5 points

John Arnold

27. How much money did the Joint Venture commit to spend on the project before the Authority had to start paying?

5 points

$1 million

28. Which project led to Tom Stone, Phil Hoffman, Jennifer Heisler, etc. having to face down an angry crowd of about 2000 people at the LBJ Auditorium?

5

Austin Transportation Plan

Page - 2 -


CRS Engineers Denver Trivia Quiz CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) ________________________________ Your name

Question

Value

Your Answer

29. Which WBE company did we bring into the office as a sub-lessor and frequent teaming partner on planning projects?

2

Heisler - Granzow

30. Which major client brought us to a new office location in Denver, co-located in a small building right behind their offices in the Golden or was it Silver Triangle?

3

Public Service Co. of Colorado

31. Which senior design architect from CRS’ Architects offices led the design effort for that big urban mixed use project?

3

Norm Hoover

32. Was any building that was designed by CRS to be part of that project ever built?

2

Yes – 999 Bannock

33. What was that project called?

5

Bannock Center

34. Which was our first really large and significant highway and bridge design contract for CDOT Dist. 6?

5

Colfax/!-25/Auraria Parkway Interchange

35. Who headed District 6 at that time?

5

Dick Brasher

36. Who was our project manager?

5

????

37. For which major planning, transportation, and urban design project did we bring in ZGF Architects from Portland as our sub, much to the chagrin of CRS Architects?

5

Central Platte Valley Infrastructure Project

5

City and County of Denver

39. Who was the lead architect/urban designer for ZGF on that project?

5

Greg Baldwin

40. Which Interior Design Firm did CRS purchase and then set up an office for within our new Denver office at 216 16th Street? (hint: their HQ was in San Francisco)

5

EPR

41. Name as many senior staff from the CRS Denver Interior’s Group as you can

2 for each

Jeff Mayer Beth Strickland

42. One of those Interiors folks was married to a prominent Denver lawyer who went on to run for the US Senate (twice). Name her and name him.

2 for each

Beth Strickland Tom Strickland

43. Name all of the CRS alumni who have worked as RTD employees

2 for each, 10 point bonus for all

John Shonsey Bill Ettenger Ron Thorstad Bill Byrne

38. Who was the client?

Score

Page - 3 -


CRS Engineers Denver Trivia Quiz CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) ________________________________ Your name

Question

Value

Your Answer

Score

Bill Wilde Tom Stone Jennifer Heisler Jared Moore Lee Cryer Mike Turner 44. Name as many of the different people as you can that Tom Stone officially reported to on the CRS organization chart over the 7 years he was with the firm.

5 for each

Leonard Leal Jon VandenBosch Paul ____ Jay Bauer Gordon Clayton

45. Which engineer did we hire after he/she came into the office completely unannounced and said he/she wouldn’t leave the reception area until Tom Stone interviewed him/her for a position – when we had no positions open?

5

Kathy Harris

46. What was the full name of the company that CRS acquired before they became the second “S” in the CRS name?

2

J.E. Sirrine Co.

47. What was their primary area of business?

3

Pulp and paper

48. Where was their corporate headquarters (you must be able to pronounce the name of that city just as they did to get credit here)?

4

Grnvul, South Carolina

49. Name the jerk from that company that we ended up having to report to

5

Gordon Clayton

50. Why did CRSS close its doors?

5

To cash out

51. Which company purchased the Construction Management portions of CRSS?

5

Jacobs Engineering/ Sverdrup

52. Which company purchased the Denver office of CRSS Engineers? (anyone who misses this shouldn’t be here)

1

Carter & Burgess

53. Which Denver office employee from that new owning company first called Tom Stone in Canada to see if he would be interested in coming back to Denver to work with a number of employees who wanted to buy the office back from that company (he may not recall this)?

5

Bob Reish

54. Which other offices of CRSS Engineers did that same company subsequently purchase?

2 each

Phoenix Irvine

2

Irvine Page - 4 -


CRS Engineers Denver Trivia Quiz CRS DENVER REUNION (Friday, March 30, 2007) ________________________________ Your name

Question 55. Which of those offices led the charge to win the big Caltrans San Mateo/Hayward Bridge Seismic Retrofit Project – and won it over all the big name firms?

Value

Your Answer

5

Jiri Vitek

57. When did the change in ownership to that company take place?

1 for the year 5 for the month and year

?? ??

58. Final bonus question: would you ever join another company located in Denver but headquartered in Texas (yes or no – there is only one correct answer)?

10

NO!!!!

Score

56. Who was the Project Manager for that project?

TOTAL SCORE

Page - 5 -


CRS REUNION Friday, March 30, 2007


CRS REUNION Friday, March 30, 2007


CRS REUNION Friday, March 30, 2007


CRS REUNION Friday, March 30, 2007


CRS REUNION Friday, March 30, 2007


CRSS Participants in a Junior Achievement Bowling Event


Halloween Party 1987


1987 Phoenix

1983 07 04


c. 1981


c. 1981


c. 1979 Colorado Hike (Bill, Matt McDole, and Matt’s sister Margaret)


1979 07 1979 09 Fourteener


1978 07 Fourteener 1978 1 978 0 077 F Fourteener ourteener


1978 10 Cumbres & Toltec


1978 Grand Canyon


1977

1978 Grand Canyon


1978 RMNP Hike


1978 RMNP Hike

Bill Wilde's Memory Book  

A collection of messages, stories, and photos contributed by Bill's work-friends through the years.