Issuu on Google+

Kent County Council Highways and Transportation Annual Performance Review 2012/2013


2


Contents Overview

4

Directors Statement

5

Contract Highlights

6

Highway Operations

8

Winter Service

10

Drainage Maintenance and Repairs

12

Street Lighting Maintenance

14

Members Highway Fund and Schemes

16

Structures Maintenance

18

Asset Maintenance

20

Contract Performance SPM Objectives

22

Contract Performance OPM Objectives

24

Financial Highlights

26

Environment

28

Social Responsibility

29

Our People

30

3


Overview Enterprise will have been delivering the Kent County Council (KCC) Highways Term Maintenance Contract for 18 successful months in April 2013. Enterprise was awarded the 5 year contract with Kent County Council to deliver Highways Maintenance Services with the potential to extend for a further 5 years. The contract commenced operations on the 1st September 2011 and has an annual value of over £45m. The services that Enterprise delivers as part of this contract include:

• Highway Operations - Routine Maintenance • Highway Operations - Programmed Works • Winter Service • Drainage Maintenance and Repairs • Street Lighting Maintenance • Members Highway Fund and Schemes • Structures Maintenance • Roadmarkings and Signs • Safety Fencing • Verge Maintenance 4

This report sets out to demonstrate that this contract, with its new approach has been a great success, and that the decision to change the delivery mechanism was justified and appropriate. It also outlines these successes and the goals and targets we have set ourselves, i n conjunction with Highways & Transportation (H&T), for the achievement of continuous improvement in 2013/14 and beyond.


Directors Statement I am delighted to report that Enterprise has delivered a very successful first 18 months on the Kent Highways Maintenance contract. We are now well positioned to deliver growth and continuous improvement in future years as the initiatives we have put in place begin to show benefits throughout 2013 and into 2014. It is essential to note that the success has been the result of a significant joint effort. We acknowledge that in 2011/12, Highways & Transportation went through significant internal change and reorganisation and less than a year later a new term maintenance contract was commenced. It is clear that one of great successes of the contract has been the desire of the teams to align and integrate efficiently. The team ethos was fundamental in our bid submission and with H&T fully embracing this ethic from the outset the contract has been proven to be effective. The partnership and integration ethos established in the contract has been recognised nationally by our recent nomination for the Chartered Institution for Highways and Transportation (CIHT) – Effective Partnerships Award. We have also received a wide range of compliments, from senior council officials, elected members and, most importantly, the public. We recognise that maintaining this level of performance as an integrated team is essential to the contracts continuous improvement. We also acknowledge that there are always areas for improvement and as a result we will continue to introduce new initiatives with H&T to improve the way we deliver the works. Key initiatives include:

are focussing on quality of design, procurement and delivery, health and safety, interfacing with the public and increased joint working. I am confident, by continuing to work closely with Highways & Transportation and our supply chain, that jointly we will succeed in working together to deliver an excellent highways service. We will enhance our role as stewards of the road network and take active responsibility for the wellbeing of the carriageway asset on the public’s behalf, assisting the council in delivering their vision of:

“ Growth without Gridlock”

This contract is a huge opportunity to build something long-lasting for the future of Kent communities, and we will work with H&T to develop our Highways Service and make what is already good the very best.

DEAN BENSON SERVICE DIRECTOR

• Drainage and street lighting: where we are introducing technology to improve the capture of data for over half a million assets.

• Structures and safety critical schemes: we are working together to develop 3 year plans which give H&T the flexibility to increase or reduce the level of investment as government funding dictates – we will be ready for both eventualities.

• Health and safety: we are working hard to improve our signing and guarding of works, quality control auditing and specification of work. In April, we embarked on a road show to share a range of improvement initiatives. The workshops

5


Contract Highlights

6


Percentage of street lights on throughout the year

Number of gullies cleansed

196,611 Orders completed

135,000 99 Metres of safety fencing repaired

Road signs installed

Kilometres of carriageway gritted

16,000 5,687 Tonnes of gully waste recycled

315,000 Percentage of defects fixed right first time

3,000 99.8 Tonnes of aggregate recycled

Members Highway Fund schemes delivered

32,000 417

7


Highway Operations The highway operations service delivery includes all of operations required to ensure the carriageways are maintained to ensure the safe passage of the travelling public in Kent. These operations include:

• Repairing potholes • Carriageway patching • Carriageway resurfacing • Surface dressing During, 2013, the Enterprise highway operations team has delivered an extensive and varied scope of work including:

• Over 50,000 orders completed • 32,000 potholes repaired • Average 28 day pothole completion at 96% • Over 45,000 carriageway patch repairs • Negligible number of outstanding defects (<0.5%) • 500,000m2 of Micro Surfacing laid at 162 sites • 1,100,000m2 of surface dressing installed on 181 roads

• 7,666 traffic management setups 8

We have been particularly pleased with the way the relationships have developed between Judith Bilboe (Enterprise Highway Operations Manager), Steve Clark (Enterprise Structural Maintenance Manager) and H&T’s lead managers, Toby Howe and Carol Valentine. The success of the recent winter emergency is testament to this. In addition, the local relationships between H&T district teams and our own agents and supervisors have been effective and solution based. The new contract has required an increased client preparation which has proved a challenge, and as such both parties have adapted a ‘no order-no work’ approach, to ensure clarity. This approach has been successful with a reduction in the net cost of operational works to Kent County Council. The result of these new processes has been high fluctuations in work load as we all become used to the procedure of scoping and ordering work, but through teamwork the orders are improving in both consistency and accuracy day-by-day.


The ‘Highways Hub’ at Aylesford and the integration of Kent and Enterprise staff is proving to be vital in the co-ordination of works across the county, managing the correct resource has been achieved through accurate scheduling and programming teamed with the dedication of the depot managers allocating work on a daily basis. The use of improved IT is playing its part in this success and we are continuing to invest in technology to improve processes and procedures and remove administration. The full use of handhelds in highway operations is to be rolled out in the next few weeks now that H&T and Enterprise have agreed to integrate ordering and delivery for key types of work. A proactive approach has been taken to ensure that works orders are ‘right first time’. We have delivered a number of information sessions and workshops to assist H&T in the preparation of job orders and we will continue these joint training sessions throughout the next financial year to ensure continuous improvement is maintained. The traffic management team has continued to provide an excellent service across the county, installing over 7,500 installations across the county to enable works to be undertaken safely and effectively. We are continuing to group works together wherever we install lane closures to ensure we make the most of these conditions, for example we will group, verge maintenance,

carriageway cleansing, litter collection, street lighting maintenance and gully cleansing under a single closure to increase efficiency.

INNOVATIONS We understand the importance of bringing innovative ideas to Kent to ensure continuous improvement and also the most effective methods of operation are utilised on the contract, examples include:

• Surface treatments – successful use of a range of innovative treatments across the county with agreement to repeat the process in 2013/14

• The introduction of trials for other new surfacing products with improved recycling content

• Pre-patching – extensive programme of preparatory patching developed and integrated to optimise performance and ensure resurfacing and surface treatment programme is delivered successfully, identifying further opportunities for recycling

• Joint efficiency initiatives – for example out of hours working including road closures and the use of community gangs to improve community engagement

Just to say a big thank you to your Highways Team in Bramley Avenue. My recent enquiry was very politely handled and the road repairs team have arrived on the day scheduled to carry out the works. Your help is much appreciated. Geoffrey Wicks | Bramley Avenue, Canterbury

9


Winter Service Severe weather is one of the biggest risks to the efficient day-to-day running of both the UK and Kent economies. It is currently estimated that £1 billion is lost annually to the UK economy through severe winter weather. It is therefore essential to the county that we maintain the network in a safe accessible state at all times and ensuring that its condition is effectively communicated to the people of Kent consistently. In delivering the winter service between October and April, Enterprise provide the following activities:

• Maintain the 60 winter service vehicles • Manage the county road salt stock (23,000 tonnes) • Monitor the weather forecasts • Apply road salt to 60 primary and 56 secondary routes across the county

TONNES OF SALT SPREAD

• Provide a Winter Service Plan

40,000

2012/13 30,000

2011/12

20,000

10,000

• Keep pedestrian routes to essential services safe

Salt spread annual totals

• Keep the carriageway clear of snow In delivering this year’s winter service Enterprise delivered an increased service as the winter weather and low temperatures were experienced over a longer period. This produced statistics which included:

• 33,291 tonnes of road salt applied to the network • 315,000km of carriageway gritted • 22,500 man hours spent delivering the winter service

• Over £8m invested in delivering the service 10

40

NO. OF PRIMARY SALT ROUTES

• Supply and fill the county grit bins

2012/13

30

2011/12 20

10

OCT

NOV

DEC

JAN

FEB

MONTH Primary route salt runs

MAR

APR


The provision of this year’s winter service has been extensive with the prolonged periods of cold weather. Judith Bilboe and Carol Valentine worked in partnership to ensure the service was delivered effectively and efficiently. The team has worked tirelessly to deliver the service and keep the network running effectively through even the most severe weather and received some excellent feedback for their efforts, such as the comment from Richard King the KCC Chairman:

ent I think @GrittingK llo ve us have done a mar g for job today preparin tomorrow

On Friday 18th January, the county experienced widespread snow throughout the weekend and further snow and ice throughout the week that followed.

The Highways and Transportation winter service staff performed superbly to minimise disruption and truly ‘kept Kent moving’ throughout.

So many staff gave up their weekends at short notice (mostly voluntarily), demonstrating commendable commitment to the County Council and the people of Kent.

Quite simply, without them it would not have been possible to keep main routes and pedestrian areas clear and safe; people would not have been able to get to work; shops would not have been able to open; deliveries would not have been made and the sick and vulnerable would not have been able to access the care they depend on.

did an awesome

You t work! b last night. Grea jo“ lping he r fo Thank you all fe sa us to keep ”

On behalf of Cabinet, I wanted to thank you for your hard work and dedication through the recent period of snow fall. I was enormously pleased with how well the organisation responded to the situation and I know that your preparations and planning for the event of adverse weather conditions played a key role in this.

This comment formed part of the commendation from the Chairman in bestowing the team with the Kent Chairman’s Commendation Award for their extended efforts in delivering the service this year. We also received excellent feedback from the leader of the council Paul Carter and the local media such as the Folkestone Herald and Dover Express.

INNOVATIONS We understand the importance of bringing innovative ideas to Kent to ensure continuous improvement and also the most effective methods of operation are utilised on the contract. Communication and the chance to feedback on the Winter Service we are providing is a key element of this service and we are keen to introduce any system that aids this feedback. The use of social media including Twitter and Facebook has improved our connection with the local community and enabled instant communication with the public. The @GrittingKent Twitter site has proved very effective and we received many commendations as well as making the public aware of the actions we were taking to keep the network safe.

Paul Carter | Leader of Kent County Council

...after the response by KCC over the past few difficult days of bad weather – a so-called “snow event” – the council certainly deserves a pat on the back.

Kent’s 60-strong fleet of gritters were on patrols around the clock and also went on to treat town centre paths, shopping routes, access to doctors’ surgeries and hospitals. The authority also helped to keep salt bins topped up.

It appears that the key has been in the planning. Credit where credit is due, the county council played a blinder. Simon Finlay | Editor Folkestone Herald & Dover Express

11


Drainage Maintenance and Repairs The delivery of an effective drainage maintenance service is a key element for the safety of the travelling public and the continuing structural integrity of the counties highway asset. Our approach to this service has been proactive to ensure that flooding of the highway network does not become a safety hazard to the travelling public of Kent. In providing the service this year we have:

• Cleansed 196,611 gullies • Dealt with 2,663 flooding emergencies • Provided 2,442 drainage repairs/improvements • Undertaken 1,891 CCTV surveys • Cleansed 4,230 miles of carriageway The drainage service is very high profile with the public as it is so visible when it goes wrong. In light of this the two senior managers from H&T (Katie Lewis) and Enterprise (Toni Roberts) have worked tirelessly to ensure a first class service for the county. We currently employ 14 cleansing vehicles and 11 support gangs to meet the demands of the service. The service has been innovative from the very start with improved processes being introduced within the first few months. We introduced an innovation to the gully cleansing units by installing cyclical cutting jets which increased productivity from 42 to 112 gullies cleansed per day, ensuring the service was effective. It was clear from very early in the contract that the number of assets across the network was largely unknown or unrecorded. We therefore revised the whole gully cleansing regime and completed a first complete pass 5 months ahead of schedule to ensure that asset data collection was collected and accurate as soon as possible. This revised strategy will ensure we have a clear understanding of the quantity and condition of all drainage gullies by the end of April 2013.

12

The data collected has ultimately resulted in an improved picture of the asset base and enabled the team to develop a revised strategy for the 2013/14 service delivery. This early identification of the challenge is a great credit to the integrated team and one which has allowed us to optimise solutions including an innovative software system and improved route management. The team is also working on a new communications plan to provide further web based data for the public to ensure the planned cleansing programme is clear and well publicised. We have focused on completing the first cycle of cleansing to gain a clearer picture of the volume of gullies on the network. To achieve this, initially up to March 2013, performance is being measured on road length assessed/cleansed per month to ensure we capture gully volumes and then from April 2013 move to a defined number of gullies cleansed per month to ensure we remain on programme. A key risk to the programme is the recurring unseasonal weather. With excessive rain and periods of snow and ice we cannot cleanse gullies. To mitigate this, the team closely monitored the weather and introduced additional resource when the weather improved. We consider the joint approach to revising the cleansing strategy to be a great success – the team must be congratulated for its vision and adaptation. In addition we have been pleased with the functionality of our 360o route optimisation software; which has afforded improved productivity.


INNOVATIONS We continue to explore ways of improvements in the way we work. Currently we are looking at ‘Smart Sponge Technology’. Smart Sponges have a unique molecular structure that absorbs many times its own weight in oil and turns the contamination into a manageable solid. It is proposed that initially we use them depot interceptors, weighing them every 6 months and if less than 4.2kg, reinsert and continue to use. If proven successful, the need for cleaning by third parties will not be necessary ensuring a cost saving of over £3,000 per annum. We are also looking to introduce new IT systems to allow us to better track and record the location of assets. We envisage the team being able to better record data with greater automation and accuracy.

Many thanks for the work you have carried out along Marden Road, Staplehurst. Could we also express our thanks and admiration to your road crew, led by foreman Karl King?

We were under no illusions that the works would create some disruption to our lives, but this was eased considerably by the good humour and assistance they provided during the works. They were polite and tolerant of our constant requests for updates on what was happening, and assisted our manoeuvring in and out of our driveways during the daytime.

Although they were busy, they never baulked at taking time to liaise with us. They are a credit to KCC Highways.

Alan Golding | Marden Road, Staplehurst commenting on the road flooding

13


Street Lighting Maintenance Well designed and maintained street lighting can change our communities, making the night time environment a safer place to be and encouraging regeneration and investment. Our approach in the delivery of this service is to develop systems and processes which reduce cost, increase the asset management approach, incorporate innovation and technology improvements and provide a fully sustainable process for the delivery of street lighting. The scope of the Kent street lighting team is to maintain the county’s 147,000 items of ‘illuminated street furniture’ to ensure Kent’s highways are safe for both road users and pedestrians. The street lighting service this year has:

• Undertaken 32,500 electrical and structural tests • Repaired 41,000 maintenance faults • Maintained an average of 99% of the street lights lit across Kent

• Replaced over 3,000 light units • Inspected over 23,000 lighting assets 14

It is important to note the excellent relationship that has been developed between the two discipline managers and their teams. Sue Kinsella (H&T Street Lighting Manager) and Mark Taylor (Enterprise Street Lighting Manager) have worked tirelessly to meet all of the challenges and objectives presented throughout this year. The team has worked hard to raise efficiency in the service through a complete service delivery redesign.


Previously, inspectors travelled across the county on pre-programmed routes to identify defects. Maintenance teams worked reactively, following the inspector’s routes, which utilised resources travelling from their base depot, back and forth across a wide area repairing defects as they are notified by inspectors.

INNOVATIONS

Further inefficiencies arose from long commutes to and from work, and the need to traverse the county to replenish stocks of components.

We are currently working jointly to the development of longer life LED lighting units and structural assets which will afford KCC great cost savings through lower maintenance costs and reduced electricity costs. The installed LED lanterns have the potential to save 50% on energy use and the new coastal specification columns will increase the life of the column from 20 to 50 years

Our new solution began by equipping gangs with GPS tracking software and by analysing the ‘route trails’ of inspectors and gangs we could identify inefficiencies. The second stage of our re-design was to divide the county into twelve zones. In doing this we could re-route inspections to make them regional, not linear. Re-allocating gangs to zones closest to their homes and allowing them to park vehicles at home over night minimised commuting times. Trips to the central depot were also eliminated by providing a replenishing van delivering components to each zone. This new zonal approach minimises travel and allows operatives to build local knowledge, contributing toward a stewardship ethos, where each individual engages with the objectives of the contract and takes ownership of service delivery quality. This redesign has produced the following savings:

• Reduction of over 55,000 miles travelled per year • Savings of over 7,000 litres of fuel per year • We have also agreed a new rate to repair minor electrical defects at time of electrical test, instead of H&T raising orders for a maintenance fault, saving £235,000 last year Through a planned programme of inspections we have reviewed and assessed the condition and maintenance requirements for 23,407 lighting assets in 2013. In addition we have undertaken a programme of structural assessments and replacements for light columns found or suspected of failing to meet integrity standards. This has become a priority programme as it became clear from the inspections that the number of columns requiring intervention was over 3,000. The programme for replacement was developed and implemented quickly fully utilising our ‘hand held’ units to mitigate any potential delay with clear focus on public safety to address this potential risk.

The team has worked hard to be the first county in the UK to introduce Independent Connection Providers (ICP), to transfer live supplies more competitively and efficiently. This will allow columns to be replaced quicker and with less disruption.

HEALTH AND SAFETY In response to recent health and safety advice we have developed a revised approach for the use of mobile access platforms – the result is we have introduced safety patrollers with the added role of carrying out site surveys and audits. We have also undertaken a review of working practices and the introduction of a robust monitoring system has allowed for the deployment of lone workers on selected street lighting maintenance work. This system will be further enhanced with the introduction of a GPS/mobile phone monitoring system that is currently being procured.

PERFORMANCE MEASUREMENT We have used the performance monitoring system to track regional performance and address any potential shortcomings. This district by district data is reviewed jointly on a weekly basis to target areas for improvement – the team consistently exceeds its OPM target. Another key success has been the introduction of ‘1st time fix’, leading to all faults being completed within 28 days, OPM target was below 70% at start of 2012 but is now up to 98%.

I would like to thank you for the very quick response to my e-mail on the evening of Tuesday 26th of February regarding the light in my road not working. I received a phone call from your dept. this morning and by 1 o’clock this afternoon the guys were here to fix them. Well done. Diane George | North Fleet, Gravesend

15


Members Highway Fund and Schemes These service elements deliver real asset improvements and engagement with the communities of Kent. The Members Highway Fund provides local county councillors the opportunity to resolve local transport problems, or implement highway improvements that have local support and reflect local circumstances. We engage with the members as closely as possible to ensure that the allocated funds provide maximum benefit for the community. We advise on construction technique, methodology and scheme programmes to ensure the budget allocation provides value for money and an improved environment for Kent. The works schemes are those elements of works which are at the forefront of delivering real improvement to the Kent highway asset. We provide a service which ensures innovative design and construction to ensure value for money for Kent for the significant investment that is entrusted to us. This year the scope for member highway funded works and schemes have comprised an interesting array of projects. Central to this has been:

• Countywide footway reconditioning programme • Crash remedial measures • Integrated transport works • Full range of local schemes and improvements The county footway reconditioning budget delivered £1.5m of improvements over 60 sites in just 8 months, which is testament to the teams integrated working ethos. We also received 417 Members Highway Fund schemes in December and January which have been delivered by Dan Cumberland and his team before the end of March 2013. This year’s scheme programme has been badly affected by the poor weather conditions and scheme order development issues. The team is very keen to improve on this year’s programme and has already started work, with H&T, on a three year schemes programme. We have also agreed a revised footway delivery process, to ensure an earlier programme of works is developed. In this way we can incorporate an

16

improved recycled element into the materials we use and identify alternative methods of construction providing improved efficiency and productivity across the programme. Enterprise has developed the ‘Walk, Talk and Build’ approach for small works not requiring detailed drawings or specifications. These are marked up on site at a joint site visit, risk assessed and schedules of rates produced; this has greatly improved the efficiency of works order fulfilment improving customer satisfaction. We are now also offering a design and build service for the smaller schemes where we produce drawings and scope the works from start to finish from a brief supplied by the client. This has again improved turnaround times and reduced queries as those that design the work also construct it. We are currently working with the H&T team responsible for Section 106 Developer funded works to assist in making sure H&T obligations are met. We are working to develop an integrated delivery programme for 2013 to 2015.

INNOVATIONS Enterprise has introduced a design and build service for all small schemes for the Members Highway Fund, to maximise the use of the members allocated budget. We are now engaging with H&T to provide early contractor involvement, where the design brief is handed directly to us and we measure the site, produce an estimate, programme the scheme and subsequently construct all of the scheme elements. In the last 12 months we have completed 95 separate orders with a combined value of £150,000, achieving significant savings in both time and cost for Kent.


TYPICAL SCHEMES We have undertaken a range of schemes since the contract began completing

• 417 Member Highway Fund schemes with a value of £1.92m

• 296 schemes with a value of £1.67m • 58 Footway reconditioning schemes with a value of £1.72m Schemes have included improved safety measures, carriageway and footway surfacing and realignments, kerbing and landscaping projects.

Westgate Towers resurfacing works

The photographs shown are typical schemes that we have recently completed, one of these is the Westgate Towers works in Canterbury which included works to remove an experimental bus lane, resurface the carriageway, and install road markings, high friction surfacing, kerbing, and signage. The other two photographs are Member Highway Fund schemes of which one was to reduce the width of a junction and install a timber planter in Westerham and the other was to remove a blacktop footway and replace with block paving in Wrotham. The excellent works delivered by the team has produced praise from the H&T staff, members and the public alike.

This is just a quick note to let you know how pleased my Member Highway Fund Team are with the work that has been undertaken by the caretaker gang that you have employed to carry out general maintenance work in the Canterbury and Shepway Districts.

Westerham timber planter installation

Although the scope of the works are only small, the direct contact initiated by the gang with our Members, Parish Councils and members of the public has been an extremely positive step and in allowing them to direct some of the work carried out on the ground, has helped them to feel far more connected with us as the Highway Authority and the public money spent in their area. Feedback has extremely positive.

The gang have demonstrated an enthusiastic and flexible approach to all the work issued to them and have been so effective that our Cabinet Member Bryan Sweetland has recently included a note about Caretaker Gangs as a reminder to Members of something useful they can allocate funds to.

Please could you pass on my thanks to the team for a job well done.

Wrotham footway improvement

Andy Corcoran | Traffic Schemes & Members Highway Fund Manager

17


Structures Maintenance It is widely recognised that a well managed transport infrastructure is vital to the economic stability, growth and social wellbeing of a county. All highway authorities have a statutory obligation to maintain their highway structures asset which is fundamental to the transport infrastructure. Enterprise’s approach is to move away from traditional type solutions, where more innovative and effective solutions are available. We deliver a more simplified joined up methodology, maximising the value of the current highway structures asset and simplifying the overall process. In delivering the structures maintenance service this year the team have delivered

• 51 structures maintenance schemes • 500 structures maintenance works orders completed The 2012/13 scope of work for structures has included capital and revenue schemes, routine maintenance, tunnel monitoring and asset upgrades. We have also completed a comprehensive upgrade of the monitoring equipment used in the Ramsgate and Chestfield tunnels. The year has seen a range of challenges both in the management of the budget and the design interfaces with KCC and Jacobs. The teams worked well together to provide a revised and improved approach to co-ordination and planning to deliver the service throughout the year. We are now liaising directly with the new design team from Amey to develop a design approach and integrated programme to continue the improvement of the delivery of projects with reduced procurement costs and economies of scale. The team is currently developing an integrated three year programme in order to offer KCC the opportunity to group and deliver projects more effectively, enabling the team to better plan funding and prioritise the early interface with utility providers and other third parties.

18

Together with our extensive local supply chain we have been able to offer multiple professional services including structural and highway design, ecology, archaeology, arboriculture and CDM co-ordination.

NEWBLES BRIDGE STRENGTHENING WORKS, DYMCHURCH - VALUE £65,000 This scheme delivered essential maintenance of the Newbles Bridge, in Dymchurch. The edge beam had reached the end of its serviceable life and was failing to properly support the parapet and retain the edge of the structure. The works undertaken included the part demolition of one end of the existing brick arch structure and install a new edge beam. In spite of the snow and cold weather and the implications that they have on constructing masonry and working with concrete, the scheme met the budget and beat the programme.

COMMON ROAD ALUMINIUM PARAPET REPLACEMENT WORKS, BLUEBELL HILL - VALUE £60,000 The scheme was part of a rolling programme to upgrade sub-standard bridge parapets throughout the county. The new parapets consisted of modern surface mounted aluminium posts and rails with mesh infill panels. On all four corners of the structure, the existing road restraint system was removed and upgraded at the same time to conform to current standards. The key challenge faced was working over the A229 Bluebell Hill with live traffic flowing. Utilising a proprietary temporary barrier system the existing parapet was removed and the new system installed. All work was completed maintaining traffic flow on the busy ‘A’ road below and was completed on time and on budget.


Newbles Bridge parapet strengthening

INNOVATIONS We are actively promoting â&#x20AC;&#x2DC;thinking out of the boxâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; to challenge the conventional methods of construction used in structures maintenance. Working with the customer on design and build projects to ensure that the design is both buildable and conforming to the customerâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s needs; extending the responsibility to deliver value for money. Extensive pre-planning of the works to ensure that the duration on site is kept to a minimum, the effect of works on the highway network is therefore reduced.

Common Road upgraded road restraint system

We are also working closely with H&T to improve the understanding of structures maintenance throughout the design, planning and construction process. Throughout the year we have been preparing scheme delivery programmes for individual structures based projects. The aim is to provide the client with a programme that picks up from the end of the design process, and goes through the procurement process, and ties into the construction programme. These programmes incorporate all of the many consents and approvals that have to be obtained such as the Environment Agency and English Heritage and are also elements such as temporary works design and approval, and procurement of specialist activities and materials. The programmes have been well received and really help H&T to manage the whole project from end-to end.

Common Road surface mounted posts and rails with mesh infill panels

19


Asset Maintenance The maintenance of the council’s highway asset is vital to the local economy and the continued success of business and tourism in the county. The carriageway and footway pavements form the major part of this asset, however without the roadmarkings which demarcate it, the signs which convey travel information, the safety fencing which ensure the safety of vehicles and pedestrians and the landscaping which provides a pleasant highway environment this asset would be very ineffective. • 16km of Safety Fencing Repairs. • 5,687 road signs replaced or installed • 622 miles of roadmarkings installed • 1,100 tee stumps removed • 549,348m2 of verge maintenance • 10,018m2 of hedge maintenance ROADMARKINGS The maintenance of the counties carriageways has resulted in a large number of works orders for roadmarking installation, which if dealt with reactively can be very inefficient. However, Steve Clark has worked closely with H&T to develop an integrated programme to

20

provide an optimised service delivery, aiding the reduction of the miles travelled and hence reducing the carbon footprint of the service. The work of the inspectors and stewards has identified that there are a large number of carriageways where the lines have not been refreshed for many years. This data and the results of inspections has led to the agreement to develop a planned programme of lining refreshment for 2013 to 2015 to improve the road markings throughout the county. A cyclical programme has been introduced with a focus on high risk routes, which is related to the lighting efficiency programme. This will ensure that those routes where street lights have been removed or periodically switched off will be the


first to have lines refreshed. We also propose to introduce a new method of installing catâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s eyes, which when linked to the road marking programme, will improve the safety benefits.

SIGNS Sign installations have progressed very well with a long term arrangement agreed with Royal British Legion Industries (RBLI) to provide both standard and some specialist signs. RBLI have invested in a new laser cutter to prepare the signs which is much quicker and reduces waste. This is great example of local customer/supplier integration and one we plan to extend, and RBLI are now a preferred supplier to the whole of Enterprise.

SAFETY FENCING Working closely with the H&T schemes team we have developed a full assessment of the critical safety fencing in the county. We have 280,000 miles of safety fence throughout the county and these have been categorised in accordance with national industry standards. Works have included over 3,000m repaired or replaced at road traffic accident sites, over 30 terminal repairs and over 7000m of sites replaced due to corrosion. We also re-tensioned over 17.5km of Tensioned Corrugated Barrier system (TCB) on the A249 to maintain its integrity. In addition we have jointly carried out VRS Barrier Awareness Training to ensure we all fully understand the requirements and objectives of this type of assessment. This will ensure the most suitable

solution is adopted to improve functionality. In our commitment to the environment we are recycling sections of steel safety fence which still has a useful life to be used in alternative locations to reduce the reliance on new material.

HIGHWAY LANDSCAPE MAINTENANCE In November 2012 we were asked implement a programme of tree stump removals to reduce the risk to the public from trips and falls. A successful assessment o f 1,400 sites was conducted and the programme commenced in early December with the work completed some 5 weeks ahead of schedule and without any service strikes. We are also continuing to ensure Kentâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s pleasant highway environment by maintaining the highway verge. We delivered over 500,000m2 of grass cutting and over 10,000m2 of hedge maintenance over the last 12 months alone.

INNOVATIONS Our roadmarking team are introducing the Millie Candela Test (luminescence test) on carriageways to determine whether the lines which are still visible are providing the recommended level of reflection and provide better indications of their residual life. We are also expanding our continued engagement with RBLI by investigating the option of using their staff to erect some of the signs as well as manufacture them. This will involve the employment of ex-serviceman and women all based in the local area.

21


Contract Performance SPM Objectives The Strategic Performance Measures (SPM) are measures designed to show that our contribution to Highways & Transportation priorities are being met, where we influence the outcome. The SPM measures report the outcomes of the highway service and are not wholly dependent on Enterprise but recognise the role and contribution that we make.

SPM1

The information provided sets out the 7 Strategic Performance Measures (SPM) agreed at the outset of the contract. Periodically through the year these are reviewed in conjunction with the corresponding Operational Performance Measures (OPM).

APPLYING THE PERMIT SCHEME

The tables include a short summary of actions and initiatives that we have developed with H&T to measure our contribution to the SPM targets.

22

Congestion â&#x20AC;&#x201C; journey time reliability

Enterprise deliver works under 80,000 permits annually. We work closely with the H&T Road Works Team to ensure the Permit scheme is applied and complied with at all times to ensure we minimise congestion on the network. We are audited regularly and these audits indicate that Enterprise are the best work promoter currently operating on the network.


SPM2

SPM5

Road casualties

Reduction in CO2

MEETING THE CUSTOMER STANDARD ON REACTIVE WORKS

RIGHT GANG, RIGHT PLANT AND EQUIPMENT, FIRST TIME

Enterprise continue to maintain the network in a safe condition ensuring the safe passage for all of the travelling public in Kent.

Working with H&T to continuously improve work order details to increase right first time working.

EYES AND EARS INITIATIVE

WORKFORCE OPTIMISATION

Enterprise workforce continue to identify any safety defects on the network whilst performing other duties, This assists H&T in continuing to provide a safe highway network. We have also assisted with first aid support to the public following incidents.

We have actively sought to optimise our operations through works planning, scheduling and batching, zonal working and home working from home to reduce fuel consumption. Our county wide recycling approach is reducing transport movements and virgin aggregate use in the county.

SPM3

SPM6

Customers satisfaction with the Kent network

Innovation, efficiency improvements and cost savings

CUSTOMER FEEDBACK

EFFICIENCY IMPROVEMENT

Enterprise actively seeks feedback from Kent customers via an anonymous feedback form that is posted to customers following works completion and from customer surveys that are undertaken by call centre operators. We respond to all feedback promptly to ensure communication is effective and fed into the improvement of the service.

We have been proactive in the delivery of tangible innovation and efficiency. For example the street lighting service is now zonal saving 55,000 travelled miles and the gully cleansing service now cleanses 250% more gullies per day with the introduction of new cyclical cutting jets.

SPM4

SPM7

Member and parish satisfaction

Asset condition improvement

MEMBER FEEDBACK

CONDITION IMPROVEMENT

Enterprise actively seeks and addresses all feedback from Kent County Council Members and Parish Councillors by requesting feedback following works completion via feedback forms. All feedback is accepted and considered within all future works and any critical issues are dealt with expediently.

Enterprise are working constantly to improve the asset condition of the Kent Network. Highlights this year have included, the replacement of over 3,000 Street lighting units, 16km of Safety Fencing Repairs, 51 structures schemes completed, 296 asset improvement schemes 5,687 road signs replaced or installed and 622 miles of road markings installed.

23


Contract Performance OPM Objectives Operational Performance Measures (OPM’s) are measures around Enterprise’s operational contractual obligations, where we have sole or contributory control with Highways & Transportation. The OPM system has proved to be an excellent management tool providing the joint teams with excellent data to allow regular reviews of risks and opportunities. The OPM’s are reported day to day, week by week and month by month, so the direction of travel can be seen and management action agreed and taken where necessary. Enterprise must meet the agreed performance standards each month or a percentage of profit is deducted from our monthly payment. A monthly review of the OPM’s and the development of new joint measures is generating the correct intensity of debate and desire to improve. The type and accuracy of data has enabled the joint team to implement improvements and innovative solutions including operational process improvements and joint training initiatives quickly and effectively.

24

We have also introduced a KPM (Kent Performance Measure) where Enterprise measures H&T on the information provided in order to improve its quality. General improvement is being seen across the operational performance of the contract and where the odd OPM is not reached in a month it goes to show that the OPM criteria are suitably challenging and making the teams strive for improvement. Those targets which we are consistently not being attained have improvement programmes set against them to ensure we reach our goals and those in which we are consistently reaching will be considered for stretch targets or review for substitution by a more appropriate measure. The OPM’s clearly support and underpin positive management actions.

Key:

Met or exceeded target

Standard not met - financial penalty applied

Year on year improvement

Standard not met due to data integrity issues - no financial penalty applied

OPM

Description

Target

OPM1

Satisfaction with completed schemes

Year on year improvement

OPM2

Percentage of customers happy with the service from an enquiry

75%

OPM3

Complaints for highways received by H&T as a percentage of overall

Year on year improvement

OPM4

Percentage of complaints responded to in 20 working days

90%

OPM5

Percentage of Public and Member contacts achieved in set reply times

90%

OPM6

Percentage of enquiries resolved at Highways Management Centre

Year on year improvement

OPM7

Number of schemes started to programme

90%

OPM8

Number of schemes completed to programme

90%

OPM9

Percentage of streetlights working

98%

Performance by month July 2012 February 2013

Non-reportable OPM removed


OPM

Description

Target

OPM10

Percentage of streetlight faults repaired in 28 calendar days (H&T control)

90%

OPM11

Percentage of streetlight faults repaired in 28 calendar days (DNO input)

75%

OPM12

Percentage of pot holes completed in 28 days

90%

OPM13

7 calendar day work orders completed on time

90%

OPM14

Percentage of all routine faults reported by the public complete in 28 days

90%

OPM15

Delivery to agreed programme of routine maintenance

90%

OPM16

Insurance claims responded to in 21 days

90%

OPM17

Percentage of salting routes completed on time

90%

OPM18

Adherence to quality standards on signage, guarding and notice boards

99%

OPM19

Adherence to Kent Permit Scheme for notice periods

98%

OPM20

2 hour emergency attended on time

98%

OPM21

24 hour urgent work completed on time

95%

OPM22

Monthly number and value of third party claims paid out

Year on year improvement

OPM23

Percentage of workforce on the Contract engaged as an apprenticeship

3%

OPM24

Percentage of total workforce employed from a Kent postcode

90%

OPM25

Percentage of suppliers paid within 30 days

95%

OPM26

Monthly accident statistics

Year on year improvement

OPM27

Percentage of schemes where original price versus final price is less than 10%

90%

OPM28

Percentage of schemes assessed as fault free at completion

95%

OPM29

Progress for recording and updating the asset inventory

95%

OPM30

Percentage of material diverted from landfill

90%

OPM31

Percentage of recycled material used in the services

90%

Performance by month July 2012 February 2013

*

Project ongoing

*Significant improvements have been made in terms of achieving this measure and increased site supervision has been introduced

25


Financial Highlights Kent County Council invests significantly in their largest asset which is the highway network. This strategic investment is spent across the county and as the maintenance contractor for the network Enterprise has a duty of care to ensure that this budget is spent to provide the council with real value for money. We work closely with the officers of Highways & Transportation to ensure that their budget is spent to maintain and improve the road network and at the time of writing the highways operation budget (excluding emergency winter orders) is on target to meet the plan for 2012/13.

We also have a duty of care to invest in the local economy and we are continuing to support the local supply chain throughout Kent. We understand the difficulty that long payment terms can cause the supply chain and so we fully support Kent’s stipulation that all supply chain partners are paid within 30 days, and to date of the almost 30,000 invoices raised over 98% were paid within 30 days.

We understand the budget restraints in local authority spending currently and ensure that our models of delivery are efficient and effective to reflect this. In this way, we provide a service that is not only prudent but continues to improve the counties highways asset.

External Revenue to Core Contract

£1,224,871

In providing the service this year we have received and processed 135,000 orders from H&T and processed over 14,000 purchase ledger invoices.

Schemes

£2,471,565 Maintenance

£1,324,532 Tunnels

Structures

£4,743,914

£947,816 Fuel

£2,332,417 Signs, Lines and Barriers

Tipping

£3,040,963

£686,722 Barriers

Timber / Fencing

£217,082

£229,588

Recycling

Large Scale Surfacing

£42,445

Gang Safety Equipment

£140,443

£1,595,574

Specialist

£6,716,688

Specialist Traffic Management

£1,284,350

Stone / Bricks / Paving

£435,693 Asphalt

M

£4,075,570 Kerbs

£494,196

£

Material Expenditure

£16,785,758

Tools / Equipment

£506,414

West

Street Lighting

£2,886,494

£2,970,064

£4,240, Aggregate

£627,382

Winter Salt

£2,465,316 Drainage

£631,811

26

Signs

£930,616


Footway Repairs

£3,786,854

Potholes

Patching and Surfacing

£2,697,934

£12,010,433

Street Furniture and Community Works

£2,036,687

Highway Operations

£22,231,272

Emergency Call Outs

£1,699,363

Micro Asphalt

£4,167,976

Surface Dressing

£3,661,663

Carriageway Treatments

Contract to date

£8,202,869

Specialist Treatments

£73,457,278

£373,259

Reactive

£3,342,860

Winter Service

£8,060,560

Maintenance Schemes

Fixed Costs

£3,264,958 Snow Emergency

£1,452,741

£7,126,964 Street Lighting

Maintenance

£7,625,737

Drainage

£7,524,398

£3,040,963 Connections

East

£2,436,881

,470

Civils, Lanterns and Schemes

Reactive Repairs

£800,790

Gully Cleansing Planned Repairs

£2,147,891

£4,557,529

£2,166,078

27


Environment Enterprise is committed to managing the Kent network sustainably. Working collaboratively with Highways & Transportation we ensure that valuable resources are used in the most sustainable way possible minimising waste and reducing our carbon footprint. The two main concentrations of energy consumption in the service delivery are in vehicle fuel and embedded carbon in materials. VEHICLE FUEL

RECYCLING MATERIALS

Our activities within the county generate CO2 emissions and undoubtedly the largest producer of these carbon emissions is our use of fuel in both vehicles and generators.

The recycling of materials is central to our corporate responsibility as a contractor and a business. Sustainable resource use and waste management are key elements of our recycling strategy and as Kent has little or no indigenous hard stone it makes good business sense as the cost of aggregates in the county is substantially higher than in other areas of the UK. We have introduced a county wide recycling and waste strategy for Kent to minimise transport movements and maximise secondary aggregate use through a mixed economy of self delivery and local supplier to drive commercial efficiency. This strategy has incorporated the following deliverables:

New Euro 5 gritting fleet

We are innovating across the contract to ensure we minimise the fuel we use and therefore reduce our carbon footprint on the contract through: diesel specification

• Reduced transport movements by 50% to recycle by using multiple supply chain sites, reducing carbon emissions by over 19 tonnes

• Reduced return trips to the depot by allocating staff work zones closer to home, enabling operations to work home to site and restocking materials on site

• Reducing tip mileage in Gully Cleansing by introducing dewatering facilities at Aylesford and Ashford depots

28

RE CY

aggregate, an average of 92% of the waste material generated

92%

• Introduced improved segregation in depots improving recycling performance by waste stream

8% D

N

activities reducing travel by over 55,000 miles which equates to over 7,000 litres of fuel per year and a carbon reduction of 18.55 tonnes of CO2

• Recycled 20,891 tonnes of

LA

• Introducing zonal working in Street Lighting

software which records statistics for recycling percentages, costs, waste transfer, transport and carbon savings

D LE C

• All new fleet purchased to Euro 5

• Implementation of waste accountant

FI

LL

• Introduced depot gully waste dewatering and recycling reducing tip costs and improving productivity

• Enterprise provided the South East 7 recycling initiative with the most accurate data of all SE7 members and now seen as the leading authority to the initiative


Social Responsibility We recognise that our day to day activities impact the communities in which we operate. HEALTH AND SAFETY

SUPPORTING THE SUPPLY CHAIN

We actively encourage a safety culture to empower everyone to take responsibility for their safety and for the safety of those around them. We maintain and exceed industry best practice for the safe delivery of the works on site.

The Kent supply chain has proved to be flexible, supportive and professional when called upon and this was particularly evident during the recent extended winter period. Local businesses and contractors have provided us with specialist products, extra skilled labour and equipment in order that supports our core team in keeping the transport network running.

Health and safety performance across the Kent contract is above the national average for this type of works. We are working hard to ensure staff safety, delivering regular briefings, tool box talks and alerts, and monthly health and safety forums for H&T, our staff and senior managers. With over 110 gangs operating the challenge of the signing, guarding and notice board NRSWA requirements of the permits remains a challenge. We have jointly developed a revised and increased safety audit approach working closely with David Latham’s team and our performance is seeing significant improvement.

We have developed strong commercial and cultural links with the Royal British Legion Industries (RBLI), who are our supply chain partner for the provision of all highway signs on the Kent contract. Mike Penning, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport visited RBLI in November 2011. During this visit, he commented:

An excellent example of how a social enterprise can meet its own objectives and at the same time add value.

INCIDENTS TO MAN HOURS

0.004%

0.003%

2011/12 2012/13

0.002%

0.001%

Incidents to man hours worked

It is important to us that our work has a positive impact upon local communities and as RBLI manufactures the signs with redeployed disabled and former service personnel this was a great opportunity for us to contribute. This aligns to the Enterprise ethos of the use of social enterprises, and in this spirit we have now engaged RBLI as Enterprise’s preferred supplier for signs across the whole of our business and we are discussing engaging RBLI staff (former service personnel) to provide sign installation services.

SUPPORTING THE LOCAL COMMUNITY

Supporting the Kent County Show

We have supported the local communities of Kent through our encouragement of staff involvement in various activities, assisting community groups, awarding staff for excellent performance and engaging and supporting our local supply chain This year we have been very pleased to support events and activities for the local Scouts, sponsoring a local netball team with new kit, supporting H&T at the Kent County Show and H&T’s programme to provide free checks of child car seats to the public. Sign manufacture at RBLI

29


Enterprise apprentices meeting Bryan Sweetland in September 2012

Our People Our employees reach out daily to our stakeholders across the UK and how they feel about the company is reflected in those interactions. It must therefore be our aim to build an environment where our employees are valued and developed and where safety and wellbeing are integrated. We need to ensure that new recruits - as well as those who have been with us for many years - are continually updating their skills and knowledge. We understand the importance of developing all our employees both academically and through career development and so this year we have

• Appointed 8 new apprentices • Supported 1 joint graduate training scheme • Provide almost 400 training days / courses • Installed a ‘Gang of the Month’ reward scheme Further to the successful recruitment of our apprentices we have agreed in principle a joint programme to recruit a minimum of 5 more apprentices. H&T also plans to recruit apprentices and we have established an agreement to develop a co-ordinated programme, which will see these recruits spend time with both organisations as part of the training programme. We have been very pleased to support the training of Tim Middleton; one of Highways & Transportation’s most recent graduate recruits. Tim has worked closely with H&T and Enterprise

30

to develop an emergency response initiative, which in the event of a major power outage, flood or other disruption, would allow the contract and the service to the public to continue to function. Our training department have been busy ensuring that our staff have quality, accredited training to ensure we have a skilled, qualified and motivated workforce. We have developed personal training plans that include technical, health and safety and vocational training to ensure they are skilled and safe in going about their daily tasks. Enterprise offers an extensive range of constantly updated general and bespoke courses across the business. Our range of courses is complemented by flexible training schedules, designed to allow employees to train for qualifications and develop new skills alongside both personal and work commitments. We believe in rewarding exceptional performance. In the summer we introduced our ‘Gang of the Month’ scheme. It rewards those delivery teams who have gone the extra mile – in particular those who have received compliments from the public and H&T. To date we have presented awards to 20 gangs.


31


Enterprise â&#x20AC;&#x201C; Highways St Michaels Close, Aylesford, Kent ME20 7BU Printed by Royal British Legion Industries utilising FSC grade materials


Kent H&T