{' '} {' '}
Limited time offer
SAVE % on your upgrade.

Page 1

Events | Benevolence | Industry News Q4 2019

A$70 billion in new investments revolutionises Melbourne's transport infrastructure

Lighthouse Club International Australia | Cambodia | China | Hong Kong | Macau | Malaysia | Myanmar | Philippines | Singapore | Thailand | UK / Ireland | Vietnam

Aliis Cum Humanitate


4

The Lighthouse

Chairman’s Message This time of year, we normally ref lect upon the achievements of the branches, their continuous efforts to raise funds, the support they provide to individuals and/or groups and the various events being held around the globe. We are happy to report that assistance is being provided on a dayto-day basis to families in Hong Kong, tertiary students in Cambodia, Manila and Yangon, primary and secondary students in Bangkok and to apprentices in Australia. The Kuala Lumpur branch have had a major change to their Constitution, allowing them to provide assistance to those affected by diversity in our industry, in addition to providing scholarships to students. Step by step, we are achieving more and more, thanks to the generosity of members, donors, fundraisers and volunteers everywhere. At the time of writing, the LapDog Challenge in Hong Kong was run/walked/crawled last Saturday, the Eddie Ward Annual Dinner is upon us tomorrow night and the Manila Golf Day and Annual Party take place this coming weekend. The Lighthouse Club International ("LHCI"') Committee will meet on Saturday afternoon, 9 November 2019, in Manila and let their hair down (at least those who still have some!) in the evening. The above events will be featured in Q1.

The LHCI Committee members are looking forward to their first meeting in Melbourne in March 2020. Before then, there is still much to do to further develop our plans for the expansion of the Administration team that is needed to make LHCI operate as we wish and need it to operate, so as to nurture and encourage the continued growth of branches around the world. Co-operation among branches is an essential part of Club culture and it is hugely encouraging to note that this is the first year where companies, other than those in Hong Kong, have placed advertisements in the magazine. There is much to be done; I trust I can count on your support. All that remains is for me now is to wish all of you and your love ones a very safe and peaceful end to the year and a happy and prosperous start to 2020. Glenn Haley, Chairman Lighthouse Club International

About The Lighthouse Club T

he Lighthouse is the magazine of Lighthouse Club International, originally established in 1998 as Lighthouse Club Asia Pacific Region and superseded in November 2017 by Lighthouse Club International. With its roots in England in 1956, the Hong Kong Branch was formed in 1986. The aims of the Lighthouse Club are to promote good fellowship amongst its members who work in or are associated with the construction industry and to provide charitable assistance to those in need within the construction industry and to their dependents in qualifying cases. In addition to the charitable works of the individual branches of the Lighthouse Club, Lighthouse Club International has two related Hong Kong based charities which provide charitable assistance worldwide: The James Battersby Lighthouse Club Educational Trust which provides assistance for education and training to qualifying young persons; The Lighthouse Club Asia Pacific Region Benevolent Trust which provides assistance to relieving poverty and financial need to persons currently or previously employed in the building and civil engineering industries and allied trades.

Official website : www.lighthouseclubintl.com The Lighthouse is online at www.issuu.com/rofmedia

Honorary President Nicolas Borit

Honorary Life Chairman John Battersby

Honorary Life Members Barry Adcock – Hong Kong Willie Kay – Singapore Les Leslie – Hong Kong & UK Nick Longley – Hong Kong & Australia Steve Tennant – Hong Kong Phil Thoburn - Manila

The Lighthouse Club International


Contents

5

In This Issue Benevolence

Awards

8. Six beneficiaries of Manila Branch scholarships talk about life after graduation

31. The 25th annual Contractors Dinner and Safety Awards held in Hong Kong

10. Nigel Pearson completes 3,800km outback race in support of cancer research

Branch Reports

16

40. Philippines

Cover feature

42. Australia

Features

46. Macau

14. Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah, Qatar inaugurated for the 2022 FIFA World Cup

48. Myanmar

16. Accura Consulting’s collaborative partnerships delivering exceptional outcomes 19. A$70 billion in new investments set to revolutionise Melbourne’s transport infrastructure 26. “25 Years of Construction Development in Malaysia – Then, Now… What is Next?”

19

51. Hong Kong 56. Vietnam 60. Malaysia 64. Singapore

Members 66. Lighthouse Club International Corporate Members

31

Events 68. Calendar of forthcoming member’s events January to March

THE LIGHTHOUSE Q4 2019

Executive Committee:

Lighthouse Club International

Chairman

Suite 1901-2, Hopewell Centre 183 Queen’s Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong info@lighthouseclubintl.com

Glenn Haley Glenn.haley@bclplaw.com

Immediate Past Chairman

Rod Noble Roderick.noble@39essex.com

Administrator : Elaine Man info@lighthouseclubhk.com Tel : +852 2736 9885 Fax : +852 2687 2252

Chairman Elect Robert Gordon Robert.gordon@burohappold.com

Hong Kong

John Battersby johnbattersby@bkasiapacific.com Steve Tennant stevetennanthongkong@gmail.com Robert Gordon robert.gordon@burohapold.com

Macau

Keith Buckley kbuckley0911@gmail.com Phil Clarke phil.clarke@bcamacau.com

Deputy Chairman

Keith Buckley Kbuckley0911@gmail.com

Editorial Committee:

Secretary

Steve Tennant stevetennanthongkong@gmail.com

Malaysia

Elaine Man / Janey Rogers / John Battersby / Michael Hoare (Consulting Editor) /Mike Staley / Steve Tennant / Alfred Ng (Liaison)

Ronan Collins Ronan_hongkong@me.com

Treasurer

Phil Clarke phil.clarke@bcamacau.com

Myanmar

John Anderson johna@meinhardt.net

Publisher: Mike Staley

Membership Secretary

Jim Chessell jchessell@bkasiapacific.com

Philippines

Sam Powell samuel.powell@hmrphils.com

Singapore

Jim Chessell jchessell@bkasiapacific.com.

Thailand

Gareth Hughes Gareth.hughes@rsmthailand.com

Vietnam

Colin Johnston cjohnston@bkasiapacific.com

E : publisher@rofmedia.com T : +852 3150 8988

Advertising: Bryan Chan

Elected Branch Representative: Australia

E: bryan@rofmedia.com T: +852 3150 8912 Layouts: Michelle Morkel

Designed & Published by ROF Media

Cambodia

Lee Armstrong Lee.armstrong@ankura.com Paul Roberts proberts@secretariat-intl.com Nick Longley Nick.longley@hfw.com Kerr Thomson kerr.thomson@covathinking.com


LEADING MANPOWER SUPPLIER IN HONG KONG

COMMITTED TO SAFETY AND CLIENT SATISFACTION Labour Supply If you are in need of qualified, competent and reliable workers for your construction project, BM is at your service.

Contract Work Cladding Scaffolding Concreting Carpentry Work Waterproofing E&M works

Site Management Time Keeping Monthly Safety Tool Box Talk BM Supervisors on site to take care of all your site needs.

BM HUMAN RESOURCES & CONSTRUCTIONS LTD Founded by experienced professionals, BM Human Resources & Constructions Ltd, based in Hong Kong is a labour supply and construction company specializing in construction industry. We believe in long term relationship and pride in delivering outstanding services.

Unit 811, 8/F Grand City Plaza 1-17 Sai Lau Kok Road , Tsuen Wan, NT, H.K. Tel : 3709 6952 , 6685 9134 E-mail : info@bmconstructions.net Web : www.bmconstructions.net


8

Benevolence

Lighthouse Club Manila met with six of our recent graduates to record their sharing of the positive impacts that scholarship support from Lighthouse Club has had on their and their family’s lives.

Marlon Magpantay, Civil Engineering, Quezon Shown here from top left are Luke Scanlan (LHCM Trustee), Marlon Magpantay (Civil Engineering, I originally wanted to study education 2019), Romil Lagrimas (Civil Engineering, 2018), Ronel Toling (Civil Engineering, 2019), Phil Thoburn because I didn’t like maths. However, my (LHCM Trustee), Marineth Casquejo (B.S. Education, 2018) Ann Margarette Arquiz (B.S. Education, 2019), Beverly Samson (Electrical Engineering, 2016) . family encouraged me and I decided to face my challenges to study and become Marineth Casquejo, B.S. Education, Laguna a civil engineer. My family was facing a financial crisis which I have always dreamed of becoming a teacher and I have achieved meant it took me five and a half years to finish college. Luckily, the this thanks to the Lighthouse Club. My mother was a housewife Lighthouse Club gave me the opportunity and helped to change and my father was an ice-cream vendor. I have two brothers, but who I am today. I am currently studying for my board exam and I am the first person in my family who has had the opportunity then I will apply to work in my province in construction. My to go to college. Lighthouse Club aided me financially with a recommendation to others would be to work hard and full scholarship grant. They gave me everything I needed for my even if you are facing a financial crisis search for help and find schooling. Professionally, I want my students to achieve their goals. a way to finish your studies. I want to set an example to other Lighthouse scholars that no matter how challenging the coursework may become they Romil Lagrimas, Electrical Engineering, Bulican will still be able to succeed. I am now a registered electrical engineer. I love electrical engineering because I am fascinated by materials and electricity. Ann Margarette Arquiz, B.S. Education, Laguna I struggled and had hardships to complete my studies because of My first choice for studying was law, but my brother and sister family issues. Through the Lighthouse Club’s advice and support took up education so I decided to study education as well. I was I didn’t give up and pursued my goals. I am now working with an diagnosed with kidney failure in 2017 and the Lighthouse Club international company as a junior designer. Professionally, I want supported my medical expenses. I am now preparing for my to expand my knowledge regarding construction and gain more licensure exams which I will sit next March. experience and then share that experience to help others. I would advise others in my situation to think positively through hardships, Beverly Samson, Electrical Engineering, Mindanao be optimistic, and even when you are down, focus on your goals. I am the eldest of my family. My original dream was to become an accountant or a teacher but when I enrolled I found myself enrolling Ronel Toling, Civil Engineering, Quezon I studied Civil Engineering in Cabuyao, Laguna. I decided to study in engineering. My biggest obstacles were when my father, who was the only breadwinner in the family, became ill I wanted to stop civil engineering because my father worked in carpentry, aside studying so I could find a job and help them, but I was introduced from being a fisherman, which inspired me to study in to the Lighthouse Club and the door of opportunity opened in construction. My family could not send me to high school, my life. They provided me with everything I needed to pursue my however I was able to get a scholarship for school. Afterwards, the dreams and finish my studies. They gave me hope and strength Lighthouse Club sent me to college and supported my education; to pursue my dreams and not to give up. I am currently working they encouraged me and provided advice. I am currently revising as senior quantity surveyor / electrical engineer. I want to thank for my licensing exam. In the future, I want to be a land surveyor focusing on the design of buildings and I want to become a Master Lighthouse Club. I hope that they can continue to help people like me, and to produce successful students. I will do what I can Structural Designer. In the future, I want to share my knowledge to give back when I can. with other students and the industry.

Lighthouse Club Manila

Testimonials from these inspiring young professionals will be shared at www.lighthouseclubph.org.


Aberdeen Beijing. Belfast Birmingham. Doha . Dubai Dublin. Düsseldorf. Edinburgh Falkland Islands . Frankfurt .Glasgow SEASON’S GREETINGS Hong Kong.Johannesburg. Leeds London. Madrid. Manchester Melbourne. Munich. Paris Perth. Shanghai Singapore Sydney

Season's Greetings and best wishes for the New Year from all the partners and staff at Pinsent Masons For more information on Pinsent Masons visit: WWW.PINSENTMASONS.COM


10

Benevolence

Distance no object for Nigel Nigel Pearson set out to make a lot of money for cancer research, and got there in the end – in a quarter-centuryold van with nearly half a million klicks on the clock

Lighthouse Club celebrity Nigel Pearson and his son Stephen, both engineers in the construction sector, trundled into Townsville, in the far north of Australia, in late October with a grand feeling of achievement. They had just driven a multi-coloured van 3,800 km from Melbourne, in the far south of Australia, covering 2,200 km of that distance on dirt roads. And they had done it in just seven days. And they had done it in a 24-year-old Toyota Tarago named Spoof, which had 400,000 km on the clock before they even started. And by doing it, they had raised a fabulous amount of money to pay for research into a cure for cancer – a fitting memorial for seven friends of the Pearsons that had died of cancer in the preceding year, and a fitting celebration of the survival of cancer patients among their relatives. Nigel and Stephen were worthy finishers of the Shitbox Rally. Twice a year, duos like the Pearsons buy clapped-out vehicles, known as shitboxes in Australian slang, find sponsors to pay them to drive them across parts of the country where no sane

driver would go, and then roar off in a cloud of dust to raise money for the Cancer Council of Australia. The Saturday before, Spoof was among 250 shitboxes that had set off from Melbourne. Said Nigel: “We finally rolled into Townsville on the Friday afternoon, exhausted, but having had the experience of a lifetime, and feeling that we had given the seven friends lost in the past year a fitting tribute.”


Benevolence

11

Nigel is famous for captaining Hong Kong at rugby and for being a stalwart of the Lighthouse Club Hong Kong while employed by Franki Contractors Ltd., before going on to establish the Lighthouse Club Bangkok and then the Kuala Lumpur chapter of the club. He now lives in Australia. Nigel and Stephen spent nine months preparing for their experience of a lifetime. Much of the preparation took the form of raising funds to hit their target of A$12,000, so contributing to the collective effort to hit the Shitbox Rally target of A$2 million. The Spoof crew’s fundraising effort included a golf tournament in Sydney and a spoof tournament (if you wish to know the rules of this drinking game, ask any beer-swilling rugby player). The spoof tournament raised A$1,900. When the time came, row upon row of whackylooking vehicles were lined up at the Mannheim Auctions ground in Melbourne for the start of the rally. Each had a crew of two, and 17 support teams were there to help them. The entrants were divided into buddy groups of seven crews each. Generally speaking, each buddy group had somebody with some medical knowledge, somebody with mechanical knowledge and somebody with experience of a previous Shitbox Rally. “Our buddy group was about as diverse as it could be: a podiatrist, a military man, an IT man, a farmer, a mix of ages and, of course, both Stephen and myself and mechanical and civil engineers, Text: Nigel Pearson

Edited: Michael Hoare


12

Benevolence

respectively,” Nigel said. The rally got off to a relatively smooth start. Spoof and its peers took off along sealed roads, covering 584 km to Wentworth on the border between Victoria and New South Wales. “The campsite there was a taste of things to come: minimal facilities, hard dusty ground – but plenty to drink, and very well looked after by the locals,” Nigel said. The second day was rougher, taking the vehicles along 530 km of dirt roads. “We had been briefed beforehand that such roads were best tackled by finding a sweet spot between 80 kph and 90 kph,” Nigel said. “This proved to be true, as we swept along, trying to keep well behind the huge cloud of dust generated by each car. There were some pretty major bumps and dips, but somehow our buddy group came through it all OK, with minimal stoppages.” Day three was when the going got really tough. “In the hot afternoon, the dirt road turned into more of a rocky dirt road, and suddenly the cars took a major bashing, and it was not long before there were burst tyres, broken exhausts and car debris all over the place,” Nigel said. “We had already formed a great bond with our buddy group, but it was during these more difficult periods that this tremendous camaraderie really came to the fore.” Day four was another day of breakdowns and punctures. “Some of the repairs were unbelievable: from gravity fuel-feeds from a jerry can to strapping a Toyota radiator to the front of a Merc and connecting it up with hosepipe,” said Nigel. But the scenery made

overcoming the difficulties worthwhile. “Much of the countryside was spectacular,” said Nigel. “Just the sheer size and emptiness of the Outback in Australia is amazing.” The last few days were stern tests of the mettle of the crews. “The driving was harsh, with numerous punctures and breakdowns, but each buddy group pulled together tremendously to get through,” Nigel said. “The camps were normally very basic, and in many instances there were no showers, but we were always looked after really well, and had a great time with games, competitions and general bonhomie every night.”


Benevolence

13

On the sixth day, the Spoof crew did a rain dance just before they left bone-dry Jundah, in Queensland. Much later, Nigel saw a news headline saying, “Drought-stricken property owners overjoyed by rain in Central West Queensland,” and exclaimed: "Maybe it actually worked!” The morning day after Spoof and the other vehicles rumbled into Townsville, they were all auctioned to raise yet more money for charity. An extra thrill for Nigel and Stephen was that their fund-raising was actually double their target, at A$24,897, being the fifth-highest. “In the afternoon, a massive farewell and awards party was held at Townsville Surf Club,” Nigel said. “The whole day was, of course, crowned by England beating the All Blacks in the evening.”

S EASON’S G R E E T I N G S

TO ALL OUR PARTNERS IN CONSTRUCTION

ADR Partnership Limited 1711 Citicorp Centre 18 Whitfield Road North Point, Hong Kong t: (852) 2234 5228 f: (852) 2234 6228 e: info@adrpartnership.com

Partners in Alternative Dispute Resolution

www.adrpartnership.com


14

Feature

AL Janoub Stadium & Precinct Al Wakrah, Qatar

Inaugurated on 16 May 2019 by hosting the Amir Cup Final of the Qatar Stars national football league, Al Janoub Stadium was the first new stadium commissioned for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar. Zaha Hadid Architects (ZHA) together with Aecom began designing the stadium along with its new precinct for the city in March 2013.

As one of the venues for the Qatar World Cup, the stadium will host the group and quarter-final matches of the tournament. It is located in the city of Al Wakrah, 20km south of Doha and connected to the capital via the Red Line of the new Doha Metro system.

designed to be demountable and transportable to a developing country in need of sporting infrastructure for post-tournament usage. Further temporary accommodation such as concessions are required for the additional capacity of FIFA World Cup tournament mode. This has been built as a temporary overlay outside the permanent footprint and enclosure of the stadium in its legacy mode. The stadium has an operable roof designed by Schlaich Bergermann Partner and a seating bowl cooling system that ensures the stadium is can be used during Qatar’s summer months. The operable roof has been designed in sympathy with the cladding using pleated PTFE fabric and cables. When its deployed, the roof operates like a sail to cover the oculus above the field of play and create a sheltered environment for football during the summer. Passive design principles along with computer modelling and wind tunnel tests were used to maximise the effectiveness of the physical enclosure to ensure player and spectator comfort.

The client’s brief was for a 40,000-seat football stadium for the 2022 World Cup which could be reduced to a 20,000-seat capacity in its legacy mode following the tournament. 20,000 seats is the optimum capacity for legacy use as the home ground to Al Wakrah Sport Club professional football team of the Qatar Stars national league. These temporary seats have been

Given the stadium’s context within the coastal city of Al Wakrah, the client asked that its design reflect the maritime traditions and history of the location, in particular, the traditional boat of the region, the dhow. ZHA responded with a design that incorporates these cultural references in an abstracted manner and combines them with practical responses to the climate, context and the functional requirements


Feature

of a football stadium. The abstraction transforms the literal into something new and appropriate for a football stadium; allowing multiple interpretations of these cultural references both in terms of how they are applied and how they are read. The stadium’s roof design is an abstraction of the hulls of dhows turned upside-down and huddled together to provide shade and shelter. This is expressed in the stadium’s envelope geometry, details and selected materiality, including the roof ’s beam structure that echoes the interior structure of a d’how’s hull. The facades of the stadium are slanted outwards, tapered in elevation and reminiscent of the pleating of a dhow’s sails. The image of the dhow is further emphasized through the large overhang of the stadium’s eaves that incorporates strips of metal cladding reminiscent of the timber structures used in a dhow. The stadium’s opaque roof and wall areas are expressed as pleated cross sections. This feature, which has its origins in Arabic motifs and calligraphy, adds texture to the outer shell and also emphasizes the stadium’s unique geometry. The external cladding materials are deliberately selected from a limited palette of materials and choice of colours; namely white for the roof and wall cladding, and darker colours for the areas below the eaves, including the lower level curtain walling with its ornamental lattice screen print that provide shading. The colour scheme for the external building envelope dovetails with its geometric forms and reinforces the articulation of the outer skin.

The roof cladding and opaque surface areas above the eaves are white or off- white in colour with a gloss surface finish that is reminiscent of sea shells and emphasizes the pleats which add texture to the building envelope. The embossed eaves and the lattice screen print of the glazed lower- level facades are metallic bronze in colour, adding a sense of richness and depth to the design. The choice of a bronze metallic finish of these worked surfaces pays homage to the traditions and artistry of Islamic craftsmanship. The stadium sits on a large landscaped podium that takes visitors from grade to the entry level main entry concourse located at the middle of the seating bowl’s tiers. This podium connects the stadium into the adjacent landscape and reduces its scale. Large parabolic voids within the podium signify different activity zones. On the eastern side, voids allow for the majority of spectators to arrive and depart from the stadium. The north eastern void will include a community market whilst the south eastern void hosts an activity park. To the west, the parabolic void within the podium allows for vehicle access and drop off at grade for the players, officials and dignitaries. The stadium was designed in conjunction with a new precinct so that its sits at the heart of an urban extension of the city, creating community based activities in and around the stadium on non-event days. Al Janoub stadium will be a memorable venue and destination during the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup and afterwards, at the centre of its Al Wakrah community. For details of the 2022 FIFA World Cup QatarTM please visit: www.sc.qa

15


16

Feature

Specialists, not generalists, global experts with local knowledge and a lifetime of experience.

Upon Establishment, Accura Consulting’s Directors undoubtedly recognised the need to establish a culture that was dedicated to both improving the standard of service available in the market, as well as educating and cultivating change within the industry. This culture drives their consultants to challenge the industry norms to provide an exceptional service that is easy to understand, partners with clients and achieves extraordinary outcomes. Specialising in commercial claims, delay analysis and quantity surveying, Accura’s trusted consultants are embedded into the client’s team to support projects from start to finish. Drawing from their unparalleled experience in construction claims and dispute management, Accura can also undertake expert witness in quantum and time disciplines. “We are more than your typical consultants. We deliver conclusive results rather than a selection of possibilities. We do this by leaving no stone unturned, challenging our team and going beyond the finish line.” Accura partners with international law firms to provide specialist quantum and time advice. They act as expert witnesses in all major jurisdictions on projects ranging from oil and gas, transport infrastructure, green energy, process plants and building. Their experts support lawyers in devising strategies and managing claims to complement the advice lawyers deliver to their clients. They advise the world’s leading Owners and Principals in preparing detailed, logical and concise claim rebuttals to avoid disputes and promote early settlement. They also work with insurance firms, loss adjusters and insurance lawyers by providing independent expert reports, without prejudice reviews of replacement costs and technical advice concerning insurance claims. As experts in quantum and delay, Accura also work in other industries such as marine shipping and aviation by providing independent cost and time reports.


Feature

The practice believes in thoroughly researched, detailed and structured claims that are simple to follow, promoting early settlement over costly litigation.

Unrivalled Experience Their carefully selected consultants have handled everything from bids to the delivery on some of the world’s largest construction and engineering projects. From preparation to defence and settlement of disputes, Accura’s expertise is unrivalled. When engaged to support commercial and planning teams, their consultant’s extensive “hands-on” experience working for major EPC contractors truly shines. Accura’s main offerings to EPC contractors are drafting claims in both time and quantum, independent reviews and the rebuttal of subcontractor claims. “We proudly and humbly maintain longstanding relationships with the world’s most influential owners and contractors. The strength of these relationships rests on the trust and respect we’ve earned from our clients and opposing parties alike.”

independent experts is that it allows disputes to be potentially resolved without the need for formal ADR procedures and in a timely and cost-effective manner. “It’s our mission to keep our clients out of formal dispute proceedingsherever possible. Where proceedings are unavoidable, we stand firm with our clients to achieve viable settlement as quickly and inexpensively as possible.”

Professional Affiliations Accura’s commitment to supporting industry bodies instils a culture within the organisation to ensure and promote ethical practice at all times. They are proud to be regulated the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors and affiliated with several of the world’s leading organisations and institutions such as the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors and The Resolution Institute. These affiliations demonstrate their exceptionally high standards and reputation in the industry as trusted advisers.

Focused Approach - quality over volume! The practice is driven by results rather than revenue. That means Accura is highly selective when it comes to both their staff and clients. They focus on keeping things simple, their strategies and solutions focus on achieving a successful result in the timeliest and cost-effective manner. Always in pursuit of new and dynamic solutions ensures their approach to problem-solving remains fresh and innovative. The benefit of engaging Accura early in the claims process as

We have grown organically in recent years whilst maintaining a personalised and quality service to all of our clients. Our people are the most important factor in our business. This is why we attract and maintain the industry’s most highly experienced people.

For more information please visit

17

accuraconsulting.com

Our Office Locations Australia

Asia

Middle East

Melbourne Sydney Brisbane Perth

Singapore Kuala Lumpur

Dubai Riyadh

Europe

North America

London

Toronto


Unlocking Insights from Geo-data for a safe and liveable world Fugro proudly supports The Lighthouse Club and wishes all of its members and beneficiaries a Happy Christmas and a peaceful and safe 2020.

To find out more visit Front L to R – Tricia Sheu, Pui Mun Teoh, Cindy Wong Back L to R - Ronan Collins, Albert de Munck, Daniel Alcon fugro.com


Feature

19

The Big Build Melbourne looks deeper than surface level for ways to keep up with growth in demand for transport

There’s a growling, grumbling noise in the fastest growing of Australia’s capital cities. The noise you’ll hear across Melbourne is the low rumble of construction underway to revolutionise the transport infrastructure in the city of about 4 million people.

The Big Build is what the government in the southern state of Victoria calls its programme of construction projects envisaged to keep up with growth in demand for transport to, from and around Melbourne. The Big Build programme contains 119 road and railway projects, together worth A$70 billion (about HK$368.6 billion). The most significant works will see extensive tunnelling and rail infrastructure built in the 10-year period from 2015 and 2025.

Across the 2,500 km2 of built-up urban area that the core of this typically spread out Australian city – Melbourne is more densely populated than most North American cities but is far more spread out than any European city – the total journeys undertaken daily is expected to double by 2050.

It’s an important time for the construction industry in Australia. With economic activity on the wane, the jobs and money from this scale of project will be welcome. But it’s also important to note that while many of these projects are underway, some will likely never make it off the drawing board.


20

Feature

West Gate Tunnel The biggest tunnel-boring machines in the southern hemisphere have begun digging the West Gate Tunnel. The tunnel will add four lanes to the main east-west freeway in Melbourne, serving the city’s port and its industrial western suburbs. The tunnel will be the alternative to the West Gate Bridge, redirecting up to 9,000 trucks away from residential streets. CPBJH JV, a joint venture by CPB Contractors (the Australasian construction arm of the CIMIC Group Ltd, formerly Leighton Holdings) and John Holland, has the job of digging it. Boring the West Gate Tunnel entails removing 1.5 million cubic metres of rock and earth from under Melbourne by 2022. To do the job, Tunnel Boring Machine Bella has a four-storey-high cutter head weighing 450t. Positioning the cutter head required the use of a 500t gantry crane, which first lifted it from the horizontal to the vertical and then manoeuvred it over the launch site before lowering it into place. TBM Bella will take 18 months to dig the longer, outbound tunnel. It rotates almost twice a minute during normal tunnelling work and up to 3.5 times a minute when cutting through dense rock. TBM Bella was first to get to work, and has since been joined by TBM Vidam.

Metro Tunnel Also busy below the surface of Melbourne is a consortium of construction company Lendlease, John Holland and Bouygues Construction . The consortium is being paid A$11 billion to dig the Metro Tunnel and to do it by 2025.The Metro Tunnel will consist of twin 9-km tunnels connecting South Kensington station and South Yarra, and the railway they will carry will serve five new underground stations in between.

Two TBMs are working on the project which will install 56,000 concrete segments into rings that will line the tunnels. Each TBM is 7.28m in diameter, 120m long and weighs more than 1,100 tonnes. The project’s first TBM Joan, named after Victoria’s first female Premier Joan Kirner, has already travelled more than 250m and installed more than 140 rings to line the new tunnel.TBM Meg, named after Australian cricket captain Meg Lanning, was launched recently and has progressed about 50m towards the tunnel entrance in Kensington, installing more than 20 rings that form the walls of the tunnel. Three road headers have already met up 30m underground in the first big breakthrough of the project. The machines, each 15m long and weighing 118t, have connected the caverns that will become State Library Station. The road headers have been working around the clock for eight months now. They have excavated over one-fifth of the station and are due to finish the job in 2020. Seven road headers will be used in the central business district of Melbourne, four for State Library Station and three for Town Hall Station.


Feature

21

Victorian Tunnelling Centre All this digging under the surface makes the advent of the Victorian Tunnelling Centre (VTC) timely. The $16-million centre will train each year around 3,500 local workers to operate TBMs and do other construction tasks underground. The VTC will be in Melbourne and admit its first trainees next year. The centre will have mined and TBM replica tunnels. The TBM replica tunnel will have exactly the same diameter as the Metro Tunnel tunnels, while the mined replica tunnel will be as wide as a three-lane freeway. The training includes virtual reality tunnelling, mined and bored tunnel inductions and self-rescue techniques. The VTC is modelled in part on the Tunnel Training Academy in Kuala Lumpur.

Text: Michael Hoare Images courtesy Rail Projects Victoria, Major Transport Infrastraucutre Authority, Victoria's Big Build, Victoria State Government


22

Feature

joint venture as technical adviser and KPMG as commercial adviser. Geotechnical surveys have already begun. Construction is due to begin in 2022, starting with the stretch from Cheltenham to Box Hill. The construction work is expected to create 20,000 jobs. The loop will subsequently open in stages. The three main interchanges, which will allow passengers using regional rail services to change onto suburban loop trains, will be at Clayton, Broadmeadows and Sunshine.

Suburban Rail Loop

Melbourne Airport Rail Link

Above ground, the Victorian state government has decided where the main interchanges will be on the Melbourne Suburban Rail Loop. The A$50-billion railway is intended to connect the suburbs of the city, running for 90km in an arc across the north of the city, serving 18 stations including of the main interchanges. It will give access to all the principal suburban railways apart from the Alamein line, and form part of the rail link to Melbourne Airport (about which, more later).

Melbourne Airport is an outlier – it is not served only by road transport – yet the Melbourne-to-Sydney air route is often called the busiest in the world, and the annual number of passengers Melbourne Airport handles is expected roughly to double to more than 67 million by 2038. In comparison, Hong Kong International Airport handled 74.7 million passengers last year.

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews announced in March the signing of an agreement Rail Projects Victoria (RPV) is leading the design development, to spend A$10 billion on bringing the idea of a railway connecting station location assessment and operational requirements work. the airport to the rest of the city closer to reality, in the form of the RPV has engaged the Aurecon Jacobs Mott MacDonald (AJM) Melbourne Airport Rail Link (MARL).


When you need legal advice on your construction projects, we’re there. Norton Rose Fulbright is a proud sponsor of the Lighthouse Club Asia Pacific Alfred Wu Partner +852 3405 2528 alfred.wu@nortonrosefulbright.com

In a market where reputation matters, ours has grown. We now stand tall in the Acritas Sharplegal Global Elite Brand Index. And everything that has driven our rise in reputation – deep industry knowledge, an impressive global footprint, a commitment to exploring new markets and our understanding of the risks and complexities involved – will help you reach higher too.

Law around the world nortonrosefulbright.com

Financial institutions | Energy | Infrastructure, mining and commodities Transport | Technology and innovation | Life sciences and healthcare

A project team will be formed to come up with a full business case for the MARL by 2020. The route has yet to be decided, but it is envisaged that the rail link will give access to the Metro Tunnel and the Suburban Rail Loop. RPV has engaged technical and commercial advisers, and ecological, traffic and geotechnical investigations have begun. The cost of the MARL is estimated to be in the range of A$8 billion to A$13 billion. Construction would begin in 2022 and take up to nine years.

Work for the willing Perhaps the most intriguing of Mr Andrew’s planning priorities is a proposal for high-speed rail to connect Melbourne and Geelong, a city of 250,000 people lying an hour by car to the south of Melbourne. A$150 million will be spent on weighing up the proposal. High-speed rail – and tunnelling – is right in the wheelhouse of Chinese companies. Premier Andrews says he wants Chinese companies involved in Victoria’s massive “big build”. And that may open a pathway to Chinese companies in communications and control systems.


There’s no substitute for expertise We are a group of internationally recognised construction industry professionals, engaged for our delivery of service excellence. We offer a broad range of contract advisory services to assist owners, contractors and construction law firms in the prevention, mitigation or resolution of construction disputes. The APAC Construction Solutions practice within FTI Consulting includes quantity surveyors, engineers, planning professionals, project managers and claims delay specialists, many with dual qualifications in law and arbitration. With backgrounds in both commercial contracting and professional practice, our consultants are experienced in technical, commercial and legal matters, enabling them to identify key issues quickly and to find the optimum solutions for our clients.

Meet Our Experts

Graham McNeill Hong Kong

John Wilby Hong Kong

Clive Holloway Hong Kong

Alex Ho Hong Kong

Shiaoling Chow Hong Kong

Garry Crossley Singapore

James Taylor Singapore

Leslie Harland Singapore

Andrew Oddie Singapore

Lee Baker Singapore

Adrian Kong Singapore

Moon Kua Singapore

Stephen Rae Australia

Stuart Harold Australia

Jon Dyson Australia

Stuart Downes Australia

Tom O'Brien Korea

Y J Pyeon Korea

For more information about our Construction Solutions practice or other FTI Consulting advisory services, please contact: Graham McNeill Head of Asia Pacific, Construction Solutions +852 3768 4674 graham.mcneill@fticonsulting.com www.fticonsulting.com

Š2019 FTI Consulting, Inc. All rights reserved.


Bringing Structures to Life

The next generation debris screen protection system

• • • • • • • •

High levels of debris containment in compliance with international construction standards Choice of five different cladding options Double height cantilever for simultaneous work on two wet decks Loading platform (steel mesh) and access platforms for easy access on slab level Telescopic arms and single depth profile reduce transportation costs Hydraulic lifting of up to two screens simultaneously reduces cranage Retrievable accessories and less components lower costs Modular system and up to +/- 10 degree tilt to accommodate various building shapes

Ascent 200

CONTACT US TO KNOW MORE Hong Kong P: +852 2415 4882 E: rmd.hongkong@rmdkwikform.com

New Zealand P: +64 9 259 0353 E: nz.enquiries@rmdkwikform.com

Australia P: +61 (08) 8179 8200 E: rmd.australia@rmdformwork.com

www.rmdkwikform.com

Philippines P: +632 8 696 7635 E: rmd.manila@rmdkwikform.com


26

Feature

Lighthouse Club Kuala Lumpur 25th Anniversary Conference In conjunction with the Lighthouse Club of Kuala Lumpur’s (LHCKL) 25th Anniversary celebrations, on 11th October 2019, the LHCKL organized a conference entitled “25 Years of Construction Development in Malaysia – Then, Now… What is Next?” at the Asian International Arbitration Centre. The Conference was supported by the Chartered Association of Building Engineers, the Asian International Arbitration Centre, the Institution of Civil Engineers and the Master Builders Association of Malaysia (MBAM).


Feature

The topics featured in this Conference included current and future developments of large urban projects, property development, airports, rail, dispute resolution, health and safety and sustainability. Ronan Collins, the current President of LHCKL, delivered a welcome note to the distinguished guests and welcomed the participants. The opening speeches were delivered by Tatiana Polevshchikova of AIAC and John Battersby, Honorary Life Chairman of Lighthouse Club International. The keynote address was delivered by Datuk Matthew Tee Kai Woon, the immediate Past-President of MBAM, addressing the current issues and challenges in the Malaysian Construction Industry and the Road Forward. There were three sessions in this Conference, the first being moderated by Michael McIver of Plus Three Consultants. Tan Swee Im, International Arbitrator Member of 39 Essex Chambers, kickstarted the first session by walking the participants through 25 years in Malaysia with numerous photographs showing Kuala Lumpur city as never seen before to many present. It showed the massive development Kuala Lumpur and Malaysia have witnessed since the LHCKL was founded. Thereafter, Stuart Mendel, the Managing Director and Head of Country of Lendlease Malaysia focused on the Tun Razak Exchange Project – the first international financial district in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. The first session ended with the last speaker, Mr. Christopher Fenton, General Manager Health and Safety of MMC Gamuda, on achieving higher standards in health and safety. After the lunch break, the second session of the Conference commenced. Teoh Pui Mun, of Speedbrick Solutions, moderated this session. The first speaker of the second session was Lilian Tay, PAM President 2019 – 2020, as well as Director of Veritas Architects. She highlighted the importance of how to design and integrate the public realm in conjunction with high-rise developments in Kuala Lumpur. Rohan Cavaliero of 99 East Estates thereafter presented the opportunities and challenges in using blockchain technology in property developments. The second session concluded with

27


28

Feature

the presentation by Ms. Karen Gough of 39 Essex Chambers reflecting the current situation of Alternative Dispute Resolution in Malaysia with other countries in the world. Cindy Wong Xien Yee moderated the third and final session. This session commenced with Stephen Eldridge, who specialises in aviation IT and provided the participants a landscape on the aviation industry baseline as it was 25 years ago and as it is in 2019 and where the industry is heading. Following this presentation, Matthias Gelber, also known as the “Green Man�, shared his perceptions and experiences of construction in Malaysia from a sustainability perspective. The last speaker of the day was Natasha Zulkifli, the founder of Women in Rail Malaysia, who is also a Director of YTL Construction in Malaysia. She shared her experience in running a project team in the electrified double track rail link in Johor.

The Conference ended with a closing address by Ronan Collins and was followed by a networking session. LHCKL would like to take this opportunity to thank all the sponsors, distinguished guest speakers and moderators, as well as all the participants and members of LHCKL for making this event a great success.


Awards

Lighthouse Club Hong Kong Branch

Contractors Dinner and Safety Awards

2019

The Hong Kong Branch held its 25th Contractors Dinner and Safety Awards at City Hall on Friday 20 September 2019. The Contractors Dinner is the largest event in the Hong Kong Branch’s calendar, and this year was a sell out with a record attendance of 537 guests.

The event provides a great opportunity for friends in the contracting industry to get together, renew friendships and share experiences. But it also aims to recognise, commend and celebrate those in the construction industry who have made outstanding efforts to protect the industry’s workforce and promote safe working practices. A record number of entries were received for all categories demonstrating the importance of the awardees to the industry. There were 213 entries for the safe foreman award, 35 for the safety

practitioner, 23 for the construction manager and 39 safe subcontractor and 56 safe project teams. As always, the nominations were of a high standard and we are very grateful for the assistance provided by the panels of judges. This year’s judges included Members of the Lighthouse Club Hong Kong Branch’s Safety Sub-committee and representatives from the Society of Registered Safety Officers (SROS), the Hong Kong Occupational Safety and Health Association (HKOSHA) and the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH).

31


32

Awards

The winners of the safety awards presented at the Contractors Dinner were as follows and we have included comments from some of the worthy participants:

Champ

ion

Safe Subcontractor Award The Champion ¬¬ Chun Yip Electrical Engineering (HK) Ltd - leadership and drive from the CEO Mr Po and SPM Mr Vasum So, they demonstrated practical and effective innovations such as circular monitoring, robust inspection of all work equipment. Every detail on safe delivery had been considered.

Highly Commended Award ¬¬ Entasis Ltd - human factors study on installing curtain wall which has now led to a specialised course with the CIC. Double lifting sling and purpose designed bag should a glass panel shatter. ¬¬ Access Services (HK) Ltd - using the highest standard for metal scaffolding and upskilling their riggers with their own trade test over and above the industry requirements. Advanced handrail for the next lift.

Commended Award ¬¬ LT Sambo Co. Ltd - Alternative design requiring less formwork and falsework. Short timescale and the willingness to cooperate & positive safety culture.

The Lighthouse Club-Hilti Safe Project Team Award The Champion 3801 APM and BHS Tunnel on Existing Airport Island - the team from China State Engineering won the award for the Augmented Collaborative Safety Culture system they have implemented which engages and empowers the frontline workforce and team to collaborate through care and respect and create trust.

Highly Commended Award ¬¬ SCL 1123 Exhibition Station & Western Approach Tunnel ¬¬ HKIA Three Runway System Contract no. 3205 - Deep Cement Mixing (Low Headroom) ¬¬ Innocell for HK Science Park

Commended Award ¬¬ Black Point Power Station Combined Cycle Gas Turbine Project ¬¬ Design and Construction of Inland Revenue Tower at Kai Tak ¬¬ HY/2014/07 Central Kowloon Route - Kai Tak West


Awards

Champ

ion

33


34

Awards

n's Chairma Award

Construction Manager Safety Award Chairman's Award ¬¬ Victor Wu, China State Construction Engineering (HK) Ltd - Victor was given the Chairman’s award to recognise his exceptional contribution to the industry and his personal safety journey from 2015 with worker collaboration and engagement.

The Champion ¬¬ Wong Chung Kwong - Gammon - Michael impressed the judges with his visible leadership and was able to share his own journey and how he has improved his leadership and created peer pressure in his team. The adoption of technology and, in particular, use of hybrid reality and how this reduced risks to survey teams helped plan the work safely. The use of a team safety climate survey also helped Michael’s team provide tangible actions for improvement that were monitored and checked by him. hen asked what was the most memorable aspect of this project, Michael said, W “To complete all culvert diversion works in one dry season instead of two which most of my team members believe was an impossible task. They now believe things CAN happen!” He went on to say that his team were proud of what have achieved with their full-hearted commitment and teamwork spirit.

Highly Commended Award ¬¬ Lui Wing Chi, Hip Hing Engineering Co Ltd. Michelle as a young leader demonstrated a passion for modern construction methods with MIC and innovation and can link this clearly to reducing risk. This includes mock ups and use of BIM to provided visualization. ¬¬ Alan Yan Wai Ming - Gammon Construction Ltd – Alan inspired the judges with his personal safety leadership including planning for safe delivery. The use of BIM and modular systems and most of all the work he has done on UXB and influencing Highways Dept to adopt the standards on adjacent projects. ¬¬ Wong Wai Yu - Paul Y Management Ltd - WY leads by example with his own personal safety message about near-misses and delays to the project he experiences on site.


Market Review - Kuala Lumpur Awards

Champ

ion

Champ

ion

Safety Practitioners Award The Champions This year the quality of all the finalists was very high and the judging panel decided to appoint two Champions: ¬¬ Wong King Ho, MTR - King demonstrated how he is influencing property development agreements with safety by design right through to safe considerations for security guards who patrol the residential towers.

Winning this award means a lot to CL: “It is a most valuable award for me which recognises my achievements in safety management. By participating in this award, it provided a unique platform for me to review my accomplishments of the past years and to motivate me to do even better for future in the industry. This award provides a great way to encourage a positive environment, and helps to increase construction professionals’ retention and engagement. It sets a positive attitude for the industry culture, encouraging construction professionals of what their goals are, and what they are working toward.”

King said, “ ‘No Safest. Only Safer’ is the motto of the MTR Property Division which also reflects my core value. Winning this award recognises and honours the achievement of both MTR and myself who keep striving to provide a zero harm environment to all Highly Commended Award stakeholders. I was most happy to be assigned as a member of the pre- ¬¬ Lai Kwong Yiu, China State Construction Engineering operation safety assessment team. It’s a common trait to find workers (HK) Ltd – this is Eric’s second award having received the needing to walk over pipes in very narrow, confined buildings so Commended award in 2018. Eric demonstrated practical and my team and I were able to request the Developer to provide a visible leadership with his red and green tag and temporary demountable walkway platform so that safe access was available to plant permits. the workers so they avoided tripping over pipes.” ¬¬ Ho Siu Kei Kenny, Gammon Construction Ltd - Kenny has been involved with design for safety and demonstrated how ¬¬ Chan Cheuk Lung, Vibro (HK) Ltd - CL impressed the judges he helped contribute to modular struts to actively engaging with his passion for safety and how he is challenging theoretical new comers and sub-contractors to his site. safety and too many rules with practical approaches where he ¬¬ Ip Yiu Man Humphrey, Build King- SKEC Joint Venture consults the actual workers to help develop SSOW. Humphrey is well known within industry and the judges were impressed with his proactive safety KPIs.

35


36

Awards


Awards

37

The Committee of the Lighthouse Club Hong Kong Branch would like to thank the following people and organisations for their support and ensuring that the Contractors Dinner and Safety Awards retains its position as the largest event in the Club’s calendar:

Gold Sponsors

Event Sponsors Silver Sponsor

* Airport Authority Hong Kong * BM Human Resources & Construction Ltd * China Sate Construction Engineering (HK) Ltd. * Dragages-Bouygues Joint Venture * Gammon Construction Ltd. * Hip Hing Construction Co., Ltd. * Leighton Contractors (Asia) Ltd.

* Vibro (Hong Kong) Ltd.

Bronze Sponsor * Tina Global

Safety Partner * Hilti (Hong Kong) Ltd.

Supporting Organizations * Society of Registered Safety Officers * Hong Kong Occupation Safety and Health Association * Institution of Occupational Safety and Health

Finally, a big thank you to all the guests who generously donated HK$30,000.00 at the dinner, with all of the money going to The Lighthouse Club Hong Kong Benevolent Fund, to deliver financial support to current or former construction workers and their families who are experiencing hardship caused by sickness/ill health, accidents or disability.


38

Awards

Champ

ion

Safe Foreman Award The Champion ¬¬ Cheng Cho Wai, Build King-SCT Joint Venture The Champion Mr Cheng received a Gold Coin.

Runners-Up ¬¬ Lee Hon Wing Hancock, Yee Fai Construction ¬¬ Lui Sik Hei, Zhen Hua Engineering ¬¬ Chan Wing Tai Kairi, Hip Hing Construction Ltd ¬¬ Ma Hing Yi, Hip Hing Construction Ltd The runners up received HK$5,000

Certificate of Appreciation ¬¬ Lau Chi Hung, Build King-Kum Shing Joint Venture , So Wing Yin, Gammon Construction Ltd , Law Ah Yau, Gammon Construction Ltd, Lam King Tin, Richwell Engineering Ltd, Mok Kam Ho, China States Overseas Engineering Ltd, All the foremen received a certificate of appreciation and HK$500


40

Branch report – Philippines

Making construction safer in busy Macau

The Philippines' most valuable resource: The Filipinos - The future is bright Established in 1997, Lighthouse Club Manila (LHC) is dedicated to supporting local and international companies within the Philippine construction industry. LHC’s staunch construction advocacy, along with its varied networking opportunities, provides a strong focal point for businesses and professionals to share industry insights and gain market knowledge. Central to its mandate is LHC’s empowerment of next generations construction professionals through its scholarships. In addition, the LHC supports families within the construction industry who are prevented from fulfilling educational needs by poverty or work place accidents. The Philippines has enjoyed a meteoric rise in the world of architecture, engineering and construction, primarily due to the export of its talent around the globe, as well as the influx of new talent into the local scene. In an industry beset by a boom and bust cycle, it is a constant challenge to maintain growth and profitability expectations due to a lack of cost-effective and available labour. In countries such as Australia, this dilemma is even more apparent with construction and mining being its largest industry group, playing a crucial role in the country’s current and future wealth. With an aging workforce and 75% of jobs in the fastest growing industries requiring


Branch report – Philippines

41

workers with STEM skills (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Maths), employee salaries and labour shortages will continue to rise. With over 80,000 engineers and architects graduating every year, the Philippines has long been exporting professional talent to fill demand in the global market. Now, thousands of overseas foreign workers (OFWs) are returning home at record rates, bringing with them an increased global approach to the workplace. This international mindset has dramatically improved the viability of companies in setting up operations locally. Technological innovations such as BIM, laser scanning, and team collaboration platforms have also contributed to eliminating barriers in offshoring and outsourcing. Due to this exponential increase in numbers and knowledge, global companies now have access to new pools of labour that offer significant cost savings compared to similarly qualified professionals in their home nations. Far from limiting opportunities at home, international companies can refocus their local resources back to high-value, advanced tasks. This reallocation of responsibility allows for the creation of sustainable, competitive, technologically advanced, and profitable businesses in their countries of origin.

Increased global awareness, exposure to cutting-edge technology and international practices are proving not only beneficial to the needs of the international construction community, but that of the Philippines as well. These changes are taking place alongside the government’s economic initiatives, such as ‘Build, Build, Build’ which is instigating the construction of new railways, roads, bridges, airports, and economic zones. The Philippines is about to enter what is sure to be a golden age for construction and infrastructure, built using Filipino talent. “Para sa bayan, para sa ekonomiya!” By connecting businesses around the world, educating the next generation, and presenting the Philippines as a valuable global player in the construction and outsourcing industry, Lighthouse Club Manila is helping build a strong, sustainable future for the Philippines and for its partners. For membership, event and scholarship enquiries: lighthouseclubmanila@gmail.com https://www.lighthouseclubph.org/ https://www.linkedin.com/in/lighthouse-club-manilabranch-inc-05357a35/


42

Branch report - Australia Feature

Brisbane Ball The Annual Ball of the Lighthouse Club Australia Brisbane Chapter took place on the evening of 14 September 2019 at the Pullman Hotel. This year we partnered with the Society of Construction Law Australia (SOCLA) to make it the biggest and best Ball yet. Sean Brady, Chair of the Events Subcommittee for SOCLA was the MC for the evening and he didn’t disappoint. Sean encouraged everyone to dig deep and support the wonderful causes chosen by the Brisbane Ball subcommittee and set the tone for an evening of fun. The committee were proud to donate $5,000 to the three worthy recipients, representatives of whom were each present to receive their prize: • • •

TRACTION – which helps young people by providing a welcoming and safe learning environment as well as opportunities for personal development; Mates in Construction – an organisation established to reduce the high level of suicide among Australian construction workers; and TAFE – which will use the money to provide two students suffering from financial hardship with bursaries to support them through their study.

Brisbane was lucky enough to hear from Gerard Saunders who gave a touching speech about his experiences and passion for the worthy causes supported on the night, and Matthew Muir, Deputy of the Head of Projects for our gold sponsor, Corrs Chambers Westgarth. Other sponsors of the night were CDI Lawyers and Subsea Pty Ltd (Silver), DTS Builders, Halliant and HKA (Bronze) and WT Partnership (Photography). As always, the casino tables were embraced by all and the opportunity to win some great raffle prizes was provided by our generous donors, including Only Coffee, TradeMutt, Comuna Cantina, The Cheese Pleaser, Vintage Cellars Australia, Blue Room Cinebar, Noosa Chocolate Factory, Corbett & Claude, Riverlife Brisbane, Cork & Chroma, 1889 Enoteca, Five Star Cinemas, Isles Lane and Flight Centre Business Travel- Australia - all while raising money for a good cause. The band, Birdman Randy and the Ivory Street Preachers got everyone moving with a lively performance, even managing to get some dancing up on stage.


Branch report - Australia Feature

A big thank you to the committee who put their time into organising the event and a special thanks to everyone who attended on the night, we hope you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves.

43


44

Branch report - Australia

Melbourne Melbourne Spring Drinks Melbourne hosted its Spring drinks at Little Billy in Melbourne with many members and friends in attendance – it was great to see many new faces. DGA Group kindly sponsored the event. Social Change through the Construction Industry The chapter hosted the “Social Change through the Construction Industry” event which was supported by HFW, FTI Consulting, Infrastructure Advisory Group, Systech International, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and Accura Consulting. Social procurement is increasingly important across all Government projects, and has been part of Victoria’s major transport projects for several years now. Victoria is the first State government to develop a Social Enterprise Strategy, to set mandatory social procurement targets for major infrastructure projects, and to adopt a wholeof-Government approach as outlined in the Victorian Social Procurement Framework. It was great to have a full house to hear from this impressive panel of people, passionate about achieving social change through Victoria's construction industry. The panel comprised: • •

• •

Facilitator – Jess Howard, Executive Director at Infrastructure Advisory Group, former Chief of Staff to Victorian Minister for Transport Infrastructure Government insights – Wade Noonan, former Victorian Minister for Industry, Employment and Resources responsible for developing the Victorian Social Enterprise Strategy Client perspective – Bradley Giddins, Director Industry Capability & Inclusion, Level Crossing Removal Project Contractor perspective – Greg Rafferty, Social Procurement & Inclusion Manager (John Holland Group) on the Rail Infrastructure Alliance, which is delivering the Metro Tunnel Project for Rail Projects Victoria Social enterprise perspective – Scott Buckland, General Manager at Knoxbrooke, which includes Yarra View Nursery

The chapter is looking forward to hosting its final event of the year, the annual Christmas Drinks on 21 November 2019, kindly sponsored by long-time supporters Accura.

Perth The Lighthouse Club Perth branch has partnered with Corrs Chambers Westgarth and the Asian Australian Lawyers Association Inc. to hold the ‘Maximise the impact of your professional network’ event on 21 November 2019. Phebe Cho, Managing Director of the Tardis Group, will impart some tips of the trade on how to build and maintain an impactful professional network. Phebe is an executive recruiter, strengths-based career coach, story teller and global speaker focused on changing how the world works and helping others to do the same. A passionate advocate for diversity with a focus on opening up diverse pools of talent, Phebe’s experience helps individuals and businesses unlock potential, inspire change and activate momentum. Regular catch ups After recovering from the very successful Perth Winter Ball, Perth held its monthly catch up at Lalla Rookh on 3 October, sponsored by Ankura.


Australia’s leading independent law firm Corrs provides exceptional legal services across the full spectrum of matters, including major transactions, projects and significant disputes, offering strategic advice on our clients’ most challenging issues. With more than 175 years of history and a talented and diverse team of over 1000 people, we pride ourselves on our client-focused approach and commitment to excellence. Our fundamental ambition is the success of our clients, and this is reflected in everything we do. Our Projects and Construction Team has a deep understanding of the risks faced by both the public and private sector in large construction and infrastructure projects, including bridging the divide between private sector sponsors and foreign sources of capital, or between government and business. As Australia’s leading construction team, we offer a whole-of-project service, from procurement and contract preparation through to project delivery and resolution of disputes. Our lawyers are highly experienced in identifying pressure points throughout the project lifecycle and mitigating risks. We work collaboratively with your teams to develop solutions to ensure the success of your project.

CORRS.COM.AU


46

Branch report – Macau

Macau 2019 Golf Day A Smashing Success! Lighthouse Club – Macau held its 5th Annual Golf Day on 27 September 2019 at Macau Golf and Country Club. The Texas Scramble tournament was attended by 64 players from 16 companies who enjoyed a gloriously sunny day and produced some truly incredible scores. The Best Gross score of 15 under par was achieved by Circle Engineering Company Limited with the Best Net score under the Preoria handicap system going to BCA (Macau) Limited. Once again, Lighthouse Club – Macau owes thanks to its generous sponsors and to HMS Golf Society and Macau Golf for their invaluable support in arranging the tournament. Specific thanks also go out to Min Da Construction & Engineering Co., Ltd for providing golf balls, trophies and prizes and to Top Builder Group Limited for sponsoring the prize dinner which was held on the Jaya Pool Deck at Sheraton Macau.


Branch report – Macau

47

This year a massive HK$200,000 was raised for the Lighthouse Club – Macau Benevolent Fund making it the most successful charity golf event to date. Photos and a video of the event can be found on the Lighthouse Club – Macau website: https://lighthouseclubmacau.com


48

Branch report – Myanmar

ober net working As usual our August, September & Oct rainy season events were well attended despite the streets and rain to weather. Everyone braved the flooded n talk. With the wet catch up on all the latest constructio look forward to season now behind us, contractors can ance construction. several months of dry weather to adv in their 4 year Our scholarship students continue to do well ents studying to be program of chosen studies. There are 3 stud ry. We will be electricians and 1 studying carpentr y & joine more students to the 4 ng addi expanding the program next year by begin in February 2020. program. Selection of next year’s intake will doldrums. Elections The economy of Myanmar still remains in the be a case of wait and will take place next year and until then it may ahead with see. It would be nice to see the government push s, rail, ports and infrastructure projects such as upgrades to road Ever yone is ed. need ly electrical power. These projects are sore 0. look ing forward to a stronger economy in 202 Thanks to our sponsors over the last quarter Thyssenkrup and Kol Tn.

being Mastech,

ws – Our first quarter schedule for 2020 is as follo Wednesday 29 Januar y – Shangri-La Wednesday 26 February – venue TBA Wednesday 25 March – venue TBA


Branch report – Myanmar

Yangon Lighthouse Club News

49


Branch report – Hong Kong

51

Update on Women In Construction Institution of Civil Engineering Forums In the Autumn 2018 issue of “The Lighthouse”, we featured an article about the Hong Kong Branch Women in Construction (WIC) and Institution of Civil Engineering (ICE) two forums (July and August 2018) which were held to explore the various issues affecting women working in the construction industry. A survey was carried out during the forums, the results of which may be viewed by searching for The Women in Construction Report at www.ice.org.uk. These results, which have become recommendations, have been presented to a government committee and are summarised below:

Overtime too many employees work overtime without compensation, either additional pay or time off in lieu. It was recommended that compensation for overtime would give employees more quality time with families.

Of particular interest in the report are the survey results in Appendix 2 and the percentage figures for 3 of the survey questions. We’ve published them here for information:

Childcare centres it was recommended that more subsidized pre-school childcare centres be opened.

After-school activities it was recommended that more after-school activities be organised in line with parents’ working hours. Maternity, parental and other leave it was recommended to bring current maternity leave legislation in line to match international standards; additionally, shared parental leave was recommended to encourage equal family duty and short term leave to care for a sick child or elderly relative.

Subsidies for elders it was recommended that the government introduce a system to allow older people to live independently and reduce the time demands on immediate family carers, who are mostly women. Day centres and healthcare professional visits were recommended.

The WIC will continue to update members on these issues.


© Tadano Demag GmbH 2019. Demag is a trademark of Tadano Demag GmbH.

The AC 300-6

Above and beyond. Take your business to the next level with the Demag AC 300-6. It delivers class-leading reach combined with strength, including the ability to lift 15 t on a fully telescoped 80 m boom. To allow for high versatility, the AC 300-6 can be adapted to the needs of a variety of jobs and is the smallest crane in the Demag AC range with a luffing jib. The HAV and many components are shared with Demag 5-axle cranes — increasing your return on investment and reducing the amount of spare parts you need to have on hand. Alatas Hong Kong Ltd 2203 Winning Centre, 29 Tai Tau St. San Po Kong, Kowloon Hong Kong Phone +852 2153 2153 hongkong@alatas.com.hk www.alatas.com

Authorised Distributor

COMMERCIAL MANAGEMENT | CLAIMS & DISPUTES | PLANNING & SCHEDULING | RISK MANAGEMENT | ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES | TRAINING | EXPERT SERVICES

Anel Idriz, DGA Hong Kong T: +(852) 3127 5580 anel.idriz@dga-group.com Joseph Tong, DGA Singapore T: +65 629 16208 joseph.tong@dga-group.com John Donnelly, DGA Australia T: +61 (0)403 183 090 john.donnelly@dga-group.com

www.dga-group.com


Branch report – Hong Kong

53

Women In Construction Wine Tasting

Lighthouse Club Women in Construction was happy to host a wine tasting event at James Suckling Wine in Central, Hong Kong on 19 July 2019, founded by globally renowned wine critics under the same name. LHC was delighted to gather like-minded professionals and had an excellent turnout with over 20 wine lovers who enjoyed an exclusive selection of wine, accompanied by charcuterie, premium cheeses and some other light refreshments. Under an air of relaxation, we were able to enjoy the wine tasting experience while learning more about the history of the wines from various countries like Italy, Australia - and its wine yard at Barossa Valley -, France - and its Burgundy wine yard at Simonnet-Febvre. As the night continued, so did the networking and everyone was sufficiently imbibed to talk about the common interests of wine as well as work.

With an impressive selection of wine, the top 3 from the array offered were: 1. Sparkling wine - Follador Prosesso di Valdobbiandene Superiore Cuvée Torri di Credazzo Millesmiato Extra Dry 2017- JS92. (What better way to kick off the event with a glass of bubbles!)   2. Red Wine - Torbreck Barossa Valley Woodcutter's Shiraz 2017- JS9   3. White Wine – Simonnet-Febvre Chablis 2017- JS90 The bottle of the night and the highlight of the evening was the monstrously large 3 litre bottle of Rose - Flor de Muga Rioja Rosado 2017 Jeroboam - JS94 . Once the bottle was open it had to be finished (!) and it helped with increasing conversation and sustained the relaxing atmosphere.   We are grateful to the organizing committee and our members of the LHC Women in Construction for an enjoyable networking event that brought together peers and friends with a common interest outside of work in a casual environment. By Maise Pun


Best wishes for the festive season from the construction team at King & Wood Mallesons

YOUR DREAM LINE-UP! Congratulations to Paul Starr as Asialaw’s Hong Kong Disputes Star of the Year Tier 1 Construction Law Firm Chambers Asia Pacific, Asia Pacific Legal 500 2019

Paul Starr

T +852 3443 1118 paul.starr@hk.kwm.com

Edmund Wan

T +852 3443 1119 edmund.wan@hk.kwm.com

Donovan Ferguson

T +852 3443 1057 donovan.ferguson@hk.kwm.com

Sam Farrands

T +852 3443 8315 sam.farrands@hk.kwm.com

www.kwm.com Asia Pacific | Europe | North America | Middle East


We’re here to help when things don’t go as planned. Contract Dispute Consultants has built an impressive track record in resolving complex construction disputes. Call us on 852 2470 6033 to see how we can help you.

BIM is the DNA of future construction ®

Unit 1701, 69 Jervois Street Sheung Wan, Hong Kong ver2.pdf 05/11/2019 10:02 thalf-page-lighthouse-1912 (852) 2470 6033 f (852) 24701 6133 e info@contractdispute.com.hk

www.contractdispute.com.hk


56

Branch report – Vietnam

Ho Chi Minh City Branch, Construction Golf Day Friday the 13th – an ominous date for an auspicious event. The first LHC construction golf day in Ho Chi Minh City for 4 years. In the end we had 71 golfers sign up for the event held at Song Be Golf Resort and everyone got themselves out to the course in the morning for registration and a few practice beers. At registration each golfer was given a goodie cooler bag with balls, cap, sleeves, towel and some refreshments. After a quick briefing on the rules from the organisers, a group photo was requested before the pairings headed out to their assigned hole for a 12.15pm shotgun start. In true tradition the cat herding was an epic failure as each group decided they wanted separate photos! Buggies were loaded with beer, water and a couple of caddies and it was off to the starting holes. Rain had threatened all day and we had a healthy downpour not long after we teed off although it quickly blew through and left us with a cooling drizzle for most of the afternoon.

The event followed a Texas Scramble format which allowed for everyone of all levels to have a bit of fun. Some of the handicaps raised an eyebrow or two but, as most of the prizes were kept for the lucky draw, they were left as claimed. Sponsorship was very generous for the event. We had 4 key sponsors; Hoa Binh Construction, Ricons Construction, Shire Oaks International and Tuan Le Construction. Caps were provided for all golfers by Decocrete, and there were a number of sponsored giveaways provided to each golfer at check-in. Each of the holes also had a sponsor, and there were a number of Nearest the Pin, Longest Drive and Most Accurate Drive prizes on offer. We also had 2 hole-in-one prizes, but noone took those home, sadly.


Branch report – Vietnam

An excellent buffet dinner was arranged at the course where the skills prizes and over 40 lucky draw prizes were handed out. Thanks go to the management of Song Be Golf Resort for their assistance and giving us a nicely prepared course to abuse, as well as to the volunteers who helped out on the day. The event would not have been possible, however, without the huge contribution from Janette Kelly who devoted a lot of her time chasing payment from sponsors and golfers and ensuring the day went as smoothly as it did! All-in-all, a huge success and the event raised around US$ 4,000 for the LHC. The organisers initially said ‘never again’ but, after some fantastic feedback from the players, it seems we need to make it an annual event!

57


Wishing you a Happy Holiday and a joyful New Year Best wishes from the partners and staff of Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner

Glenn Haley

Geoffrey Shaw

Partner glenn.haley@bclplaw.com T: +852 3143 8450

Partner geoffrey.shaw@bclplaw.com T: +852 3143 8457

Ilan Freiman

James Clarke

Partner ilan.freiman@bclplaw.com T: +852 3143 8456

Partner james.clarke@bclplaw.com T: +65 6571 6624


THE SOCIETY OF CONSTRUCTION LAW wishes you a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous and Happy 2020!

The Society of Construction Law Hong Kong (SCLHK) works to promote education, study and research in the field of construction law and related subjects. Regular seminars and gatherings are organised for the benefit of its members. To join or find out more about the Society, please go to www.scl.hk, call +852 2525 2381 or email admin@scl.hk


60

Branch report – Malaysia

Lighthouse Club Kuala Lumpur 25th Anniversary Party


Branch report – Malaysia

61

Twenty five years on from the first gathering of Lighthouse Club supporters in Kuala Lumpur, we celebrated their vision and commitment over the intervening years in style. Hosted by the Bankers Club in the city centre, the venue proved to be an ideal location to mingle over drinks, enjoy some excellent Malaysian food and dance until late to the tunes of our live band. With over 150 attendees, this was one of the largest Lighthouse Club events in recent years. We were honoured to have guests visiting from Singapore, Australia, Hong Kong and further afield. Our guests included Mr. John Battersby, Honorary Life Chairman, Lighthouse Club International and nearly all of the founding members of our local branch. The evening commenced with a cocktail reception where everyone had a chance to catch up, discuss the presentations from the conference and to reminisce on club events from years gone by. Once everyone was suitably limbered up, President Ronan Collins officially welcomed our VIPs, guests and members and invited them to the dining room. Over dinner, the gathered revellers were entertained with stories from the “good old days” by Tan Swee Im, John Arkinstall, Stephen Heath and Nigel Pearson. Thankfully, there was no repeat of the

famed 1999 Fifth Anniversary comic performance which led to some embarrassing moments. Everyone was on their best behaviour. One of the highlights of the evening was an announcement by Bert de Munck that we have received some very positive news that recent changes to our constitution have received no objections from the local society registrar which will enable us to provide even more assistance to the needy in our industry. To raise funds for our charitable causes, we held a raffle and an auction, for a collection of wine and spirits. With over RM11,000 collected, the guests couldn’t wait for Pui Mun to pull their number from the ice bucket. The large number of bottles were quickly distributed and consumed by the winners, adding another edge to the celebrations. With our live band, Purple Haze, playing a never-ending set of classic hits, a well-oiled contingent of guests stayed late into the night to celebrate this special milestone. Our editor has chosen not to include the details of the final hours’ activities. As carriages were ordered on Grab, myths and legends were created and will live on as another chapter in the folklore of the club.

We would like to acknowledge and offer huge thanks to our many sponsors who helped make the event a resounding success. Our new committee has set a new bar for Lighthouse Club parties in Malaysia and we look forward to many more successful, enjoyable and scandalous events in the coming years.


62

Branch report – Malaysia

Lighthouse Club Kuala Lumpur News Our last three social events were held in Jarrod and Rawlins (October), Havana (September) and El Sid’s (August). The LHC KL will continue to have its Get Togethers at different venues. All flyers will also be posted onto our Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/LighthouseClubKL At our December 2018 Get Together we held an EGM with the specific objective to propose a number of changes in our constitution. This has been followed up by a resolution and subsequently the amendments have been proposed to the Registrar of Societies. The Registrar of Societies has confirmed that our amendments are accepted, thus the LHC KL now has a new constitution. The most important changes are:

Besides our current charitable objective to help young Malaysians enter and progress the Construction Industry, we are able to provide charitable assistance to persons within the Construction Industry who suffer hardship and distress. We have also established a membership for young members under the age of 35 years old. The acknowledgement by the ROS to accept our amended constitution came at the same time LHC KL was celebrating its 25th Anniversary and was a well-timed gift. The upcoming Get Togethers until the end of 2019 are as follows: • 7 November 2019 at El Sids • 5 December 2019 at Havana, Changkat Bukit Bintang We wish all members everywhere a very peaceful Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year!


A leading Projects and Construction practice in mature and emerging markets as well as the Greater Bay Area across all infrastructure classes For more information contact us:

They have partners with excellent industry knowledge and have a depth of resources that enables them to provide good quality and responsive services.

Gilbert Kwok Partner, Hong Kong & Beijing T:+852 2287 2804 E: gilbert.kwok@clydeco.com Ranked as a Leading Individual for Construction by Chambers & Partners

Chambers & Partners Asia Pacific, 2019

Christopher Short

Tier 1: Hong Kong Construction

Counsel, Hong Kong T:+852 2287 2838 E: christopher.short@clydeco.com

Legal 500 Asia Pacific, 2019

www.clydeco.com Š Clyde & Co 2019 J470780 - October 2019


64

Branch report – Singapore

Site visit of latest Net-Zero Building of the National University of Singapore This week a small delegation from LHC was invited by the faculty of the Department of Building and School of Design & Environment of NUS to visit SED4, their latest building which was developed partly inhouse to be energy neutral (Net Zero), producing as much energy as it consumes. A presentation was made by Daniel Wong Hwee Boon, Deputy Head of NUS and by Bertrand Lasternas, Associate Director of NUS followed by a visit of the premises. The SED4 building was designed to produce as much energy as it consumes, powered only by photo-voltaic (PV) panels placed on the roof. Several strategies had to be developed to reach this goal as in a traditional building the surface of PV panels required to supply all the energy needs is around four times the surface of the roof. Firstly, on the architecture of the building itself. A large overhanging roof was placed above the building to avoid direct sunlight and to reduce thermal mass effects; this alone allowed to reduce the energy needed to cool the building by 15%. All classrooms, laboratories and amphitheatres were designed with glass walls to provide natural light everywhere. Large staircases were placed strategically, and elevators were “hidden” to reduce the usage of elevators to the minimum. The façade was designed with perforated panels allowing light to pass but not direct solar radiations.

with a rainwater harvesting system that supplies 80% of the water needs, with a healthy restaurant (salad bar) and with common spaces representing 25% of the overall surface (compared with 7% traditional) to increase communication and the sense of community.

In conclusion, SED4 building of NUS is an experimental building that must become the norm rapSecondly, on a technical point of view. To reduce the need for cooling idly. In a world where CO2 emissions have energy, the team decided to not have false ceilings to be cut by 50% in the next 10 years to avoid that trap warm air and to have no traditional floor finishes (carpet, tiles) that also act as heat absorbers. catastrophic and irreversible effects on the Earth climate, and where new infrastructure The air-cooling system was selected to be energy and buildings have to be built to accomefficient, coupled with ceiling-mounted smart modate the 1 to 3 billion new people that fans (WIFI controlled) that move the air slowly in should live on this planet, designing housing, the rooms, making them comfortable at a higher temperature. This follows the principles that thermal working and shopping environments using comfort is a combination of temperature, humidity, the codes of the 20th century is not only unsustainable but also unacceptable. For these air flow, thermal radiation from walls and floors, clothing. All controlled electronically with sensors design changes to happen rapidly we must change our mindsets and accept that such that monitor the air parameters including the buildings, with higher ambient temperature indoor air quality. and bare finishes are perfectly liveable. And this change of mindset should start with us, The result of this design is a building where students can study comfortably at a temperature of 27 the construction industry people. This is our duty. degrees with natural light, therefore reducing the Text: Pascal Martin-Daguet energy needs by 75%. The building is also equipped


DĂŶƵĨĂĐƚƵƌŝŶŐ Žƌ &ĂďƌŝĐĂƚŝŶŐ ŝŶ ŚŝŶĂ͕ dŚĂŝůĂŶĚ Žƌ sŝĞƚŶĂŵ͍ WD/ /ŶƚĞƌŶĂƚŝŽŶĂů >ƚĚ ŝƐ ĂŶ ƐŝĂŶ ďĂƐĞĚ ŵƵůƚŝŶĂƚŝŽŶĂů ŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚŝŽŶ DĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ ĐŽŵƉĂŶLJ͕ ƐƉĞĐŝĂůŝnjŝŶŐ ŝŶ ƉƌŽǀŝĚŝŶŐ ϯƌĚ ƉĂƌƚLJ ŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚŝŽŶ DĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ ƐŽůƵƚŝŽŶƐ ďLJ ĂƉƉŽŝŶƚŝŶŐ ŚŝŐŚůLJ ƋƵĂůŝĨŝĞĚ džƉĂƚƌŝĂƚĞ ĂŶĚ ůŽĐĂů WƌŽũĞĐƚ DĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ ƚĞĂŵƐ ƚŽ ŽǀĞƌƐĞĞ LJŽƵƌ ĐŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚŝŽŶ͕ ĨĂďƌŝĐĂƚŝŽŶ ĂŶĚ ŵĂŶƵĨĂĐƚƵƌŝŶŐ ŶĞĞĚƐ͘ WƌŽũĞĐƚDĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ͗

ƌĞĂƐŽĨdžƉĞƌƚŝƐĞ͗

• • • • • • • • •

• • • •

ŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚŝŽŶDĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ YƵĂůŝƚLJƐƐƵƌĂŶĐĞDĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚΘƵĚŝƚŝŶŐ YƵĂůŝƚLJŽŶƚƌŽů/ŶƐƉĞĐƚŝŽŶĂŶĚ^ƵƉĞƌǀŝƐŝŽŶ ŽĐƵŵĞŶƚŽŶƚƌŽů &ĂĐƚŽƌLJYƵĂůŝƚLJĂŶĚWƌŽŐƌĞƐƐƵĚŝƚŝŶŐ ^ƵƉƉůLJ ŚĂŝŶDĂŶĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ ĞƐŝŐŶZĞǀŝĞǁΘ^ŚŽƉƌĂǁŝŶŐƐ ^ŽƵƌĐŝŶŐŽĨŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚŝŽŶDĂƚĞƌŝĂůƐĂŶĚWƌŽĚƵĐƚƐ dŚŝƌĚWĂƌƚLJtŝƚŶĞƐƐŝŶŐĂŶĚsĞƌŝĨŝĐĂƚŝŽŶ

^ƚƌƵĐƚƵƌĂů ^ƚĞĞů &ĂďƌŝĐĂƚŝŽŶ Θ ƌĞĐƚŝŽŶ &ĂĕĂĚĞ Θ ƵƌƚĂŝŶǁĂůů ^LJƐƚĞŵƐ WƌĞĐĂƐƚ ĂŶĚ WƌĞƐƚƌĞƐƐĞĚ ŽŶĐƌĞƚĞ ƌĐŚŝƚĞĐƚƵƌĂů &ŝŶŝƐŚĞƐ ;ƐƚŽŶĞ͕ ŵŝůůǁŽƌŬ͕ 'Z͕ &ZW͕ 'Z'͕ ĐůĂĚĚŝŶŐ͕ ŐůĂnjŝŶŐ͕ ĞƚĐ͘Ϳ • DŽĚƵůĂƌŝnjĂƚŝŽŶ͕ ,ĞĂǀLJ >ŝĨƚŝŶŐ ĂŶĚ ^WDd dƌĂŶƐƉŽƌƚ • ƌĞĂŬͲƵůŬ ^ŚŝƉƉŝŶŐ Θ >ŽŐŝƐƚŝĐƐ

WD/ /ŶƚĞƌŶĂƚŝŽŶĂů ǁŝůů ĞŶƐƵƌĞ LJŽƵƌ ŽĨĨͲƐŝƚĞ ƉƌŽĚƵĐĞĚ ĐŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚŝŽŶ ŐŽŽĚƐ ĂƌĞ ĐŽŶƐƚƌƵĐƚĞĚ ŝŶ ĂĐĐŽƌĚĂŶĐĞ ǁŝƚŚ LJŽƵƌ ƌĞƋƵŝƌĞĚ ŝŶƚĞƌŶĂƚŝŽŶĂů ƐƉĞĐŝĨŝĐĂƚŝŽŶƐ͕ ĚĞůŝǀĞƌĞĚ ƚŽ LJŽƵ ŽŶͲƚŝŵĞ͕ ƚŽ ĚĞƐŝŐŶ ĂŶĚ ŝŶͲĨƵůů͘

^ŝŶĐĞϭϵϵϮ Project Management, Factory Inspection & Auditing, Supply Chain Management

Email: info@pmiint.com Web: www.pmiint.com

Tel : +852 6910 9220 +86 13702333364


66

Corporate Members

Lighthouse Club International Corporate Members Silver Membership:

Bronze Membership:


67

Membership

Membership of Lighthouse Club International is available by contacting the Membership Secretary at info@lighthouseclubintl.com. Corporate memberships are available at the following levels:

Platinum

Diamond

Gold

Silver

Bronze

Benefits include: • Corporate logo feature in “The Lighthouse” quarterly magazine • Logo displayed at all events organized by Lighthouse Club International and local branch events where nominees are based • Advertising discounts Individual membership is also available.


68

Calendar of events

Forthcoming Events MARCH 2020

05

Hong Kong monthly get together, venue TBC

11

JANUARY 2020

FEBRUARY 2020

08

06

Hong Kong monthly get together, venue TBC

– Ho Chi Minh networking, venue TBC – Singapore monthly get together, venue TBC

12

13

Macau monthly social, venue TBC

09

– Hong Kong monthly get together, Wan Chai – Singapore monthly get together, venue TBC

16

Ho Chi Minh networking, venue TBC

29

Macau monthly social, venue TBC

13

Singapore monthly get together, venue TBC

26

Yangon networking, venue TBC

Yangon networking, Shangri La Hotel

Follow our Facebook for event updates and photo sharing

Macau monthly social, venue TBC

12

Hong Kong Safety Leadership & Golden Helmet Awards

19-21

Melbourne networking & LHCI Committee Meeting, venue TBC, Melbourne

25

Yangon networking, venue TBC


FULL SPECTRUM SERVICES. NOW IN AUSTRALIA. GROWING AROUND THE WORLD. Our ongoing objective is to be your go-to experts for the most complex construction disputes— wherever and whenever. We are pleased to welcome Paul Roberts as Managing Director in Brisbane, joining our expanding global team and establishing operations in Australia. With Paul’s addition and our quickly growing capabilities across all of Asia, we are well positioned to address the full breadth of your Quantum and Delay challenges.

What do peers have to say about Paul? Paul is “very experienced and knows the arbitration procedure very well.” He is praised for his “great skill as a quantum expert” and “deep knowledge of the Hong Kong construction industry.” *Who’s Who Legal 2019

CONTACT INFORMATION Brisbane

+61 7 3112 2606

Hong Kong +852 3719 8177 Singapore

+65 6225 9600

info@secretariat-intl.com

secretariat-intl.com


COMMERCIAL, CONTRACTUAL & MANAGEMENT CONSULTANTS TO THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY


SEASON’S GREETINGS Best Wishes for 2020 from our Asia Pacific Team of Construction Claims Specialists and Expert Witnesses

OUR SERVICES INCLUDE: Cost/Quantum

Lost Productivity Evaluation

Delay/Planning

Schedule/Program

EOT and Prolongation Claims

Expert Testimony

OUR ASIA PACIFIC OFFICES: Singapore

Hong Kong

460 Alexandra Road #22-05 PSA Building Singapore 119963 +65 6276 9050

Suite 2206 22 Floor Central Plaza, 18 Harbour Road Hong Kong +852 2233 2500 nd

Perth

Sydney

Level 28 AMP Tower 140 St Georges Terrace Perth WA 6000, Australia +61 8 9278 2626

Level 36 Gateway Tower 1 Macquarie Place Sydney NSW 2000, Australia +61 2 8051 3000


YOUR TRUSTED PROCUREMENT PARTNER Precise Procurement Services Hong Kong (PPS HK) specialises in connecting clients located in high-cost countries with high quality products manufactured at low costs. PPS HK has extensive experience in sourcing and supplying products that meet the highest possible international standards, including British, European, American, Australian, and New Zealand Standards. For the past 7 years PPS HK has been serving the Alexander Pacific Group and other leading International Contractors with quality procurement for an array of projects, both large and small.

Proudly a division of the

Providing membrane fabric structures and specialised architectural services around the world. Fabritecture | Allsite Structure Rentals | Glarfab | Global Fabric Structures.

Contact us at info@ppshongkong.com or visit our website www.preciseprocurementservices.com

Profile for ROF Media

The Lighthouse - Q4 2019  

The Lighthouse - Q4 2019  

Profile for rofmedia