Issuu on Google+

Volume 18 Edition 2 November 2013

SISD earns place on College Board AP District Honor Roll

Fernando Ramirez, Board President; Cynthia Wilson, SHS Principal and Dr. Virginia N. Richter, SISD Superintendent

Commissioner of Education Michael Williams noted that 14 Texas school districts are among 477 in the U.S. and Canada being honored by the College Board with placement on its 4th Annual AP District Honor Roll. Sharyland ISD earned this national distinction. The Honor Roll recognizes districts for increasing access to AP course work while simultaneously maintaining or increasing the percentage of students earning scores of 3 or higher on AP Exams. “Students in school districts across Texas are tackling rigorous Advanced Placement courses and succeeding,” said Commissioner Williams. “This opportunity to prepare for postsecondary success in high school pays great dividends in our education system today and for our state’s economic future.” “We applaud the extraordinary efforts of the devoted teachers and administrators in these districts who are offering more students the opportunity to engage in rigorous college-level course work,” said Packer. “These outcomes are a powerful testament to educators’ belief that a more diverse population of students is ready for the sort of rigor that will prepare them for success in college.

SHARYLAND ISD RECEIVES TOP FINANCIAL RATING The Sharyland Independent School District has announced that the Texas Education Agency has rated the district’s financial management as “Superior Achievement” for the ninth consecutive year. “Superior Achievement” is the highest rating a school district can receive for financial management and reporting. This is the ninth year of Schools FIRST – “Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas”, developed in response to Senate Bill 875 of the 76th Texas Legislature in 1999. The financial health of every school district in Texas is evaluated as part of this test system. The primary goal of Schools FIRST is to achieve quality performance in the management of school districts’ financial resources. This is a significant goal due to the complexity of the Texas school finance system. The Schools FIRST accountability rating system assigns one of four financial ratings to Texas school districts based on twenty indicators. The possible ratings are “Superior Achievement, “Above-Standard Achievement”, “Standard Achievement”, and “Substandard Achievement.” A public meeting to discuss the 2011-2012 state financial rating was held in conjunction with the regular board meeting on October 22nd, 2013 at 5:45 pm in the Board Room at the Sharyland ISD Administration Building which is located at 1106 North Shary Road, Mission, Texas.

SISD Teacher Receives Award! 2013 Gulf Coast Area Teacher of the Gifted John H. Shary Elementary Fifth grade teacher, Mrs. Iris Espinoza, has been recognized by the Texas Association of Gifted and Talented as the 2013 Gulf Coast Area Teacher of the Gifted. The TAGT Gulf Coast consists of ESC Regions 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5; this makes the recognition a truly significant accomplishment. An Area Teacher of the Gifted Award is presented to an individual from each of the Give TAGT Geographic Areas who exhibits a strong commitment to the gifted community, recognizing efforts to: • demonstrate an ongoing commitment to professional growth; • develop personal education philosophy that matches the characteristics of gifted students; • impact gifted education at local, regional, and state level; • develop and implement differentiated curriculum for gifted students; • and serve the needs of gifted students in both the cognitive and affective domains. Mrs. Espinoza will be recognized during the 2013 Annual Conference, December 4-6 in Houston. Follow us on the web by visiting twitter.com/SISDnews Get updates via SMS (texts) by texting follow SISDnews to 40404 in the United States

Sharyland ISD Offers Free Summer Breakfast and Lunch to the Community


Table of Contents

Superintendent’s Message

Page 2 Superintendent’s Message

Page 3 Sharyland News

Page 4 Lloyd and Dolly Bentsen Elem.

Page 5 Olivero Garza, Sr. Elem.

Page 6 Ruben Hinojosa Elem.

Page 7 Jessie L. Jensen Elem.

Page 8-9 B.L. Gray Junior High School

Page 10-13 Sharyland High School

Page 14-15 Sharyland North Junior High School

Page 16 Romulo D. Martinez Elem.

Page 17 John H. Shary Elem.

Page 18 Harry Shimotsu Elem.

Page 19 Donna Wernecke Elem.

Page 20

Dr. Virginia N. Richter, Superintendent

We have had a tremendous start to the 2013-14 school year! Sharyland High School and District have been named by the College Board to the AP’s Honor Roll. There were only 14 school districts in Texas that earned this award!! The Honor Roll recognizes districts for increasing access to AP course work while simultaneously maintaining or increasing the percentage of students earning scores of 3 or higher on AP Exams. Please thank our High School Staff the next time you see them! As well, we received final ratings from TEA and I’m honored to report that ALL of our campuses “Met Standard.” As for news about Pioneer High School... We will have a website for this school in the very near future with details. As for now, you can go to the main webpage and see

updates on the construction. It is coming along very nicely and on schedule to be opened for the fall of 2014. The principal will be recommended at the regular school board meeting in December. He or she will then begin the process of hiring the immediately needed personnel to begin the process of opening the school. In the area of Athletics, so far this year we have won the following titles: District 30-5A Football Champions Bi-District Champions; District 30-5A Volleyball Champions - Bi-District Finalist; District 30-5A Team Tennis Champions - The Area Tournament Team Tennis Champions - Regional Tournament SemiFinalist; District 30-5A Girls Cross-Country Champion - Region IV Cross-Country Meet 5th Place Team; and District 30-5A Boys Cross-Country Runner-Ups -Region IV Cross-Country Meet 8th Place Team. We are off to a fantastic start and look forward to many more honors! And, our Extra-Curricular activities are in full swing. Our Chess teams and UIL academic teams are attending meets regularly and our students are doing very well! If your child is not involved in an extra-curricular activity, then ask his/her teacher about how to get involved! The mandatory drug testing policy will begin in December. If your child is in 7th – 12th grades, then you should have attended a mandatory meeting to sign a consent form. If you have not, someone

will be in contact with you very soon. Our Sharyland Education Foundation is offering something new this year for its fundraiser. They are having a concert featuring Casey Donahew on Wednesday, November 27th at the Las Palmas Racetrack. The monies raised by the Foundation go directly back to your children in the form of Teacher Grants. We would love to have you come out and support this very worthwhile cause. Check our website for more details! We may have an exciting opportunity for our students who would like to graduate from High School with an Associate’s Degree. We have applied for an Early College High School in Sharyland. There will be a maximum of 125 students per year targeting first generation college students. We should hear by the end of January if we have been approved. Please keep your fingers crossed! As we move forward into another nine weeks, I will continue to be visible on the campuses and out in the public. I am truly enjoying being in the classrooms and seeing all the great things going on in the classrooms! Parents, if I have not had the pleasure of meeting you, I encourage you to stop by Central Office and come meet me. I definitely practice an open door policy and would love to meet you and hear from you! The stronger partnership we build with you, the better education your child will enjoy!

SISD News

Sharyland Independent School District 1106 N. Shary Road Mission, TX 78572-4652 956-580-5200 www.sharylandisd.org School Board Superintendent - Dr. Virginia N. Richter Board President - Fernando Ramirez Vice-President -Dr. Noel O. Garza Secretary - Ricky Longoria Assistant Secretary - Rolando Peña Member - Eddie Montalvo Member - Dr. Noe Oliveira Member - Juan F. Zuniga Published by SISD’s Public Information Office. If you have comments or suggestions, please call Rocio Landin at 956-580-5200 ext. 1018.

Rattler Review Designed by Rocio Landin Public Information Specialist

Page 2

Sharyland I.S.D. Education Foundation Grant Awards- Round 20

The Education Foundation awarded 39 grants out of 110 submitted applications. These teachers did an outstanding job writing these applications and will be providing creative and innovative opportunities for our students in the classroom. The Foundation awarded $38,000 to assist with funding these grants.


Page 3


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT LLOYD AND DOLLY BENTSEN ELEMENTARY Mrs. Gonzalez

Grants

Principal Margarita Gonzalez

Our first grade teachers, Mrs. Horton, Mrs. Zavala-Rodriguez, Mrs. Trevino, Mrs. Weigand as well as our Librarian, Mr. Guerrero, were awarded a grant for “Classroom Library.”

Ms. Luna, 5th grade teacher and Mrs. Salinas, 2nd grade teacher received a grant titled “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs!”

Grandparents’ Day

Congrats to Melissa Garza and Diana Cantu on being awarded a grant titled “The Mr. Arechiga, 5th grade CBB Club” from the Sharyland teacher and Mrs. Salinas, 2nd grade teacher were Education Foundation. awarded a grant titled “You Can Dig It.” Way to go!

Meet the Teacher Night

Welcome Mrs. Maggie Gonzalez, to Bentsen Elementary! Mrs. Gonzalez has over 25 years of educational experience. We are excited to have her join the Bentsen family!

Perfect Attendance Perks at Bentsen Bentsen welcomed and honored the foundation of our families…Our grandparents!

Celebration

Pictured are Diana Rojas, Leticia Rios, Dr. Nereida Cantu, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum/ Instruction; Maggie Gonzalez and Melissa Garza welcoming parents and students during Meet the Teacher Night.

Mrs. Longoria, 6th grade teacher, pictured with the Hernandez family, warmly welcomed students and parents back on Meet the Teacher Night.

Anti-Bullying Rally

August milestone Giggles the Clown.

celebrations

with

Parenting Partners Class Mrs. Rojas and student council officers talk to students during the AntiBullying Rally. Left to right are: Mrs. Rojas, co-sponsor; Mauricio Salinas, Valeria Guajardo, Lois Baldado, Francesca Turgeon and Ariana Rojas. Bentsen cheerleaders shout out against bullying!

Field Trip

1st Grade Performance SPTSO Meeting

3rd grade students and teachers enjoyed the day at Quinta Mazatlan. Page 4

4th grade students had a “Boo-tiful” night “ Spooktacular” singers in 1st grade wowed their parents. of singing during our SPTSO meeting.


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT OLIVERO GARZA, SR. ELEMENTARY

Patriot Day

Super Star Parade

Patriot Day is an annual observance on September 11 to remember those who were injured or died during the terrorist attacks in the United States on September 11, 2001. Many Americans refer to Patriot Day as 9/11 or September 11. On September 11th , 5th grade honored the victims with a remembrance presentation to our O. Garza families.

Olivero Garza Elementary held its 1st Annual Super Star Student Parade for the first grading period on Monday, September 30th. Each classroom teacher chose a super star student. Students were celebrated as they walked down the parade of super stars.

Principal Janie M. Gomez

“Walk the Talk” Against Bullying

Education Go Get It Week

O. Garza held their first annual 1 mile walk/run against bullying on Saturday, October 12th. The faculty, students and families came out to our O. Garza track and showed their support by wearing orange. Every other Wednesday, our students wear their Stop Bullying t-shirts and continue to learn ways on how to stop a bully.

16 de Septiembre

The purpose of Education Go Get It Week is to provide both information and encouragement to all students in regards to continuing their education. The time to instill the belief that ALL students can be college material is in elementary school. Olivero Garza Elementary had themed dress up days, a door contest and lessons on pursuing a post-secondary education on September 23rd-27th.

Olivero Garza 3rd grade students had a fantastic dieciséis de septiembre performance for our school community. The students sang songs, read poems, and shared the history on why we recognize this special holiday. We thank the Centeno family who performed Mariachi music for everyone.

100% Attendance

“Walk the Talk” Against Bullying Grandparents are treasure chests filled with values, stories and histories of our families and our communities. That is why on Friday, September 6th, Olivero Garza honored their grandparents with a day filled with joy, love and fun activities in each classroom.

How about them Dallas Cowboys? Mrs. Gomez and Olivero Garza Elementary are HUGE fans! September 2nd was wear your Dallas Cowboy attire as we celebrated our 100% attendance rate. Page 5


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT RUBEN HINOJOSA ELEMENTARY Constitution Day

KILLER BEES

Principal Dr. Debra Arce

On Constitution day, Hinojosa Elementary observed the members of the Student Council being sworn into office by attorney Omar Maldonado. These students will be the eyes, ears and voice of the students for the 2013-2014 school year.

Fire Prevention Presentation The Mission Fire Department visited Ruben Hinojosa Elementary to talk to the students about fire safety. They talked to them about how to be safe around the kitchen area and always make sure there is an adult present if they happen to be close to a barbeque pit. They also talked about that calls to 911 should only be made when there is a real emergency.

Hockey players from the Killer Bees team were here to read Is your Mama a Llama? to our kinder students. They talked to them about being professional hockey players and signed autographs.

Rodeo Dental

Here at Hinojosa Elementary, we want our students to have that great smile and confidence as it will have a positive effect on their overall school performance. So let’s give a big YEE-HAW to Rodeo Dental & Orthodontics team for being here with their Oral Education Outreach program to educate our students on oral hygiene and preventative care.

AR Camp Read-A-Lot Students who met their AR goals enjoyed “smores” and glow sticks while they camped out in the library. KEEP CALM AND KEEP READING.

Bus Safety

Grandparents’ Day

Our SISD Transportation Department visited Hinojosa Elementary to talk to the students about bus safety rules and what to do in case of an emergency.

A big THANK YOU to our SPTSO for helping us celebrate our grandparents. They enjoyed donuts, coffee and juice while playing BINGO with their grandkids.

Groovy Bash

Hinojosa students with perfect attendance were celebrated for their efforts to be here every day and on time. Way to go students! Page 6


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT JESSIE JENSEN ELEMENTARY

Go Get it Week!

Principal Cuahutemoc Paz

Walk for Diabetes The Jensen Family wore blue and participated in a “Walk to Cure Diabetes” October 10th to help diabetes research and to sponsor our very own Emma Rodriguez in her efforts to participate in the “Field of Dreams” walk at Sea World. Also recognized during the walk were Cesar Coronado from Jensen and Jacob Morales from Garza Elementary.

Grant Winners

Fire Prevention Week

Teachers wore their caps and gowns to school as role models to share their school experiences and to promote higher education.

Grandparents’ Day

The Alton Fire Department came to visit Pk-3rd on Friday October 11. Students participated in a Congratulations to all the Jensen Teachers that received an presentation and were able to tour Education Foundation Grant! Our students will be enriched with the fire truck. many different fun learning activities.

16 de septiembre

HEB Buddy and Nutrition Lessons

Jensen students ate lunch with their grandparents on Friday, September 6th to celebrate Grandparents’ Day. Thanks to all the grandparents that support our students!

Reading Family Night

Second graders from Jessie L. Jensen listened to HEB Buddy who gave a To celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month, Mrs. Trevino’s pre-kinder lesson about nutrition and making classes and all of the first grade classes dressed in traditional festive good eating choices. attire and presented a performance for the Jensen students, staff and community.

AR Recognition Awards

UNITY Day

The class with the highest AR accuracy rate for the first six-weeks was treated to playing games on Moon Jumps and Coldstone ice-cream On October 9, Jensen students and staff came together to show during their lunch time. They chose their support against bullying by wearing orange. We stand UNITED from numerous flavors and delicious toppings. against Bullying!

The library doors were opened to families and students for a fun night of reading! Parents were made aware of the library and the importance of reading was reinforced.

Rodeo Dental and Orthodontics Presentation

All grade levels attended an oral hygiene presentation during PE time. They learned how to brush and floss correctly. Better eating habits were emphasized as a way to good health. Page 7


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT B.L. GRAY JR. HIGH SCHOOL GRANTS! GRANTS! GRANTS!

Principal

James D. Heath

Fall Into Reading Night What a great night for reading! Sally Hartman, B.L. Gray Librarian, and the ELA department held their first reading night on October 17, 2013 from 4:30-7:00. Families, students, and feeder school students were invited to an evening of reading, AR testing, food and prizes. Over 400 students and 100 parents participated in this great event. Reading is always fun at B.L. Gray! “Reading and Writing in Math” is a grant awarded to various teachers, who came together to gather materials to help our B.L. Gray students write across the curriculum, by the Sharyland ISD Education Foundation. Congratulations goes out to the following teachers: Nancy Basaldua, April Torres, Kerri De La Fuente, Romeo Cerda, Magda Flores, Andres Benitez, Mark Bewely, Michelle Hinsley, Michael Horn, MaryAnn Jones, Bertha Miller, Laura Salas, Deanna Saenz.

Piano Fun

PSAT Here We Come! In preparation for student college success, B.L. Gray offered the PSAT where over 100 students took this assessment. This will give students an idea of where they stand and where they want to be as college bound students. Great things happening at B.L.Gray!

Working Together to Succeed! On September 27, 2013, our B.L. Gray staff gathered together to decipher data regarding our student success and areas in need and to collaborate a PBMAS Plan of Action (Performance Based Monitoring Analysis System) during Staff Development day. Together we came up with solutions to assist each other’s core subjects to make our students more successful. Way to go B.L. Gray!

“Flippin’ Classrooms, Batman!”

Mr. Ramon Banda has introduced piano to B.L. Gray. This year Mr. Banda teaches two piano classes. What a great way to enjoy the art of piano!

BYOD Time! With Sharyland ISD latest edge, all of our Rattlers are using their smart devices as instructional tools. Looking up various forms of definitions, researching authors and their works, locating historical sights, or looking up the Pythagorean theorem, “Bring Your Own Device” is rocking the classrooms at B.L. Gray!

“Drop Everything And Read”

B.L. Gray teachers are using the “Flip Classroom” to teach students. Teachers can reinforce a newly introduced lesson by reiterating the material covered, give extra notes for students to use to complete an assignment, or watch a media clip and write the theme as it connects to the next literature selection. Students are going home and watching slide shows, media clips, or videos on the latest lessons in class. This prepares them for when they return to class the next day. Page 8

With a new reading initiative, B.L. Gray has begun a new “Drop Everything And Read” program on Friday mornings. Principals, teachers, custodians, office staff, everyone drops everything to read a favorite book, magazine, newspaper, or electronic book. Students are shown the value and importance of reading. Let’s keep reading.


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT B.L. GRAY JR. HIGH SCHOOL

B.L. Gray Cheerleading Tradition

Champions…enough said!

For the fourth year in a row our B.L. Gray 8th grade RED football team has earned the coveted title of District Champions. Our boys took on Shary North o beating them 33-27. Our 7th grade Red and White teams are Co-District Champions! GO BIG RED! Audrey Arizola (capt.), Jewel Ybarra (capt.), Britney Gaona (capt.), Clarissa Balandrano, Lizbeth Jimenez, Sasha Garcia, Samantha Trevino, Leslie Resendes, Gabriela Garcia, Alicia Castillo, Victoria Bazan, Jasmine Rodriguez, Ana Diaz.

Our B.L. Gray Cheerleaders have continued to keep their winning tradition alive. This summer they attended the UCA Cheer camp at UTPA, where they received various awards including one All American, Jewel Ybarra, and 1st place in Home Pom routine.

Volleyball at B.L. Gray is where it begins Sharyland has long been known for its successful volleyball team. This would not be possible without the little Lady Rattlers starting at the beginning. This year our B.L. Gray Jr. High volleyball teams have shown great strength, talent, and ability in preparation for moving on to the high school. Here’s to a great season Lady Rattlers!

…And the Tradition Lives On Mr. John Neeley and Kerri De La Fuente are on the road to another successful year. Our B.L. Gray Tennis Team holds 74 consecutive District Titles, in hopes of making this year another winning year!

“Cheer For a Cure”

Our B.L. Gray cheerleaders held a cheer clinic on October 12. Participants ranged from ages 4 to 11. They learned cheers, chants and a dance that they performed at the last football game of the season. Some proceeds from their fundraiser will go to the Susan G. Koman Cancer Foundation. Page 9


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT SHARYLAND HIGH SCHOOL Diamond Teacher of the Year Last July, Adalpe was honored with the Diamond Teacher of the Year State Award for the second time. The award was presented to her because her Pharmacy and IV Technician programs had a 100% passing rate. The Kaduceus Pharmacy Technician Program, instructed by Adalpe, is a 180 hour course that provides students with skills and habits that will guide them closer to their future job. “I hope that my passion and love for health will inspire my students,” Adalpe said.

FCCLA Provides A World of Opportunities at Fall Leadership Workshop

Sharyland High School hosted the Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Fall Leadership Workshop on Saturday, October 20th, 2013. The All-Valley Leadership Workshop was organized and conducted by FCCLA State officer, Alexis Montemayor from Sharyland. In addition, officersDamian Lee, Oscar Gonzalez, Camila Da’Conceicao, Monica Sarmiento, and Adolfo Lopez provided peer to peer mentoring on FCCLA topics. Members, Julia Lucas and Moises Cisneros in addition dedicated their time. All members and officers assisting were under the direction of Advisors; Mrs. Mary Jo Brisnahan, Ms. Norma Meza, Ms. Hilda Rodriguez and Mrs. Mary Jane Laing. Cynthia Moreno, CTE Curriculum Specialist from Stephen F. Austin State University attended and devoted her time to inform FCCLA Officer Members about leadership. Fifteen different high schools, Santos Acosta placed attended with 288 FCCLA Members. Schools attending 6th at Nationals in were Edinburg High School, San Diego High School HOSA competing in and Jr. High, Sharyland High School, Valley View High Pharmacology. School, Sotomayor High School, Edinburg Career Center, Edinburg North, San Benito, NiKKI Rowe, Progreso High School, J. Economedes High School, Weslaco High School Chapter 1, Weslaco East High School Chapters 1 and 2, and Rio Hondo High School. The Fall Leadership Workshop was held to inform Valley members about FCCLA, and provide multiple opportunities for recognition. The first general session was held in the SHS auditorium. Mrs. Cynthia

HOSA

Pardon Me,

Principal Cynthia Wilson

Wilson, SHS Principal, gave greetings to the numerous students. Students attended multiple presentations and took the Family Consumer Science Assessment (FCSA) Proficiency Exams. FCCLA Members were given the opportunity to communicate with students from other schools and express their lifetime goals and share their leadership skills. There were nine different sessions presented and students picked three out of the nine offered. Students were provided with an opportunity to select three of: Leadership, Families First, Financial Fitness, Competitive Events, Students Taking On Prevention (STOP the Violence), Student body, Power of One, Families Acting on Community Traffic Safety (FACTS), and Officer Candidate Productions. Each session had a World of Opportunities theme and many activities pertaining to the session. During the Second and Final Session schools competed in an FCCLA Quiz Bowl by answering FCCLA fact questions. Winning first, second, and third place in the Quiz Bowl was Valley View High School. Students were also recognized for their outstanding leadership skills. All schools participated in the Banner Contest and a winning school was selected. The Workshop was success, FCCLA Members will utilize knowledge gained through leadership experiences to develop a solid foundation for their soon to arrive future!

Sharyland Rattlers give out a ROAR

Sharyland High School’s creative writing class has published two issues of an online magazine featuring their work. Students fulfilled the roles of editor, art designer, and proofreader to compile submissions and layout the magazine through Jilster, a free online resource for magazine publication. The first issue, centered around the questions “Who am I?” and “Why does that matter?”, includes over 40 pages of memoir, poetry, children’s stories, literary review and more. The second issue, centered around the statement “Humor can change things”, includes over 45 pages of comics, short stories, parody, satire, and irony. Check out the magazine online by visiting the teacher website of Pattie Parker (High School) and clicking on the Creative Writing tab. The third and final issue is still in development stages but will be published in early December. Images of magazine attached. Issue 1: Yours Truly, Issue 2: No, Never Mind Page 10

Sharyland High School decided to take the challenge in creating a video for the Katy Perry Roar Video Contest. “What we were really trying to make the video come across is facing your negative self. The whole video was supposed to represent kids in High School coming in, not knowing who they were, and not knowing what organizations or clubs they were going to get into because of their fears,” said senior Jacob Ramon. In this video the students are overcoming the negative side of themselves by metaphorically roaring to make all their fears disappear. “Everybody collaborated so well together, we had people that came up with the choreography, people that were helping come up with concepts, and that’s why everything came together so well,” said Jacob. The five finalists were picked in October 7th through 11th, and unfortunately Sharyland High School wasn’t chosen as one of them. Even though we weren’t picked, we still tried our best and gave it our all for this video. Students metaphorically roared their fears away, and left a mark on our school.

Teen Read Week More than 300 students visit the library each morning. Students come to read, study, and use the computers.


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT SHARYLAND HIGH SCHOOL

Sharyland ISD Thank a Hero Campaign

This year Sharyland ISD’s motto is Simply the Best. One of the main ideas that Superintendent Dr. Virginia Richter shared with all stakeholders at the Welcome Back Rally on Monday, August 19th was “Every piece of the puzzle is important. Without team effort from all departments our puzzle is not complete.”The SISD Thank a Hero Campaign idea started from positive Facebook posts that staff made in regards to all the preparations done over the summer. Staff noted maintenance crew working on repainting the parking lots, grounds crew tending the campus landscape, custodians waxing floors and moving furniture, and cafeteria workers serving summer meals. The support staff works hard to prepare faculty handbooks, process registration, and ready other materials necessary such as textbooks, parking permits, and staff and student ID’s. Librarian Nicole Cruz and Student Council Sponsor Ana Garza met over the summer to plan a way that students could show appreciation for the staff behind the scenes. They decided to have students and staff sign appreciation banners for the custodians, cafeteria workers, grounds crew, secretaries, and paraprofessionals. The banners were be displayed in buildings across the campus to remind students and staff that everyone’s role is important. In addition book club and student council members filled goodie bags with treats that will be delivered to the unsung heroes the first week of school. “Many people appreciate and thank teachers, counselors, and administrators throughout the year, but forget to focus on the support staff. They play a large role of running the school day to day. We wanted to thank the Unsung Heroes; this is one way we can do that.” stated Sharyland Student Body President Alexi Cortez.

Annual Halloween Safety Fair

HOSA attended the Annual Halloween Safety fair at Mission Regional Hospital. The students participated in a variety of ways to include handling out information as part of community awareness on safety, distributing water and candy as well as in the creating different forms of entertainment for the community (princess booth, zombies booth, musical chairs, eye ball toss, etc.,) the students informed the community about safety and health risks associated with Halloween.

Red Ribbon Rally SADD/RADD members present their pledge banner at the Red Ribbon Rally.

Nature Club

After visiting colleges is California, senior Dominic Chau had the idea to start a club to enhance the beauty and diversity of campus and the community. The club member will be working on small projects and in the process learn about composting, planting, watering, native landscaping. “We have many willing and able kids and I hope they will dig up a chunk of grass and grow native plants in each of their backyards to improve the habitat for butterflies and birds,” said Randy Johnson, Nature Club Sponsor. Mr. Randy Johnson and Nature Club members begin one of their projects, digging on the side of the Gym Annex to get the soil ready for planting.

Blood Drive

Health Science Department and Health Occupations students of America (HOSA) hosted a Blood Drive on Sept. 2o. They collect 117 units meaning Sharyland High School students and staff helped save 350 lives.

Sharyland FFA Excels at RGV District Plant Identification & Land Career Development Events Thirty-three Sharyland FFA members recently competed in the Rio Grande Valley FFA District Land CDE and Range Plant Identification CDE held in Mercedes, Texas on September 24, 2013. Members of the land evaluation teams judge sites based on characteristics of the soil and observations of landscape conditions, then recommend land treatments considering factors such as soil characteristics, vegetative conditions and planned use for the site. Range Plant ID contestants identify samples of grasses, forbs, and woody plants and for each determine classifications and the economic values of the species on wildlife and grazing. The RGV District consists of 26 FFA Chapters from Hidalgo and Starr Counties. Sharyland FFA fielded teams in both the Greenhand and Senior divisions of both events. Both Land Judging teams placed 1st in the district. Jacob Madrigal was the overall high point individual in the Greenhand division and Renee Boyle was the overall high point individual in the Senior division. The teams consisted of: Jorge Guerra, Samantha Gonzales, Kayla Marek, Kimberly Chaves, Allison Campos, Renee Boyle, Janneth Sanchez, Hannah Johnson, Jacob Madrigal, Melanie San Roman, Angelica Leal, Kristina Esqueda, Amber Hollingshead, Teah Barrientes, Marcos Arias, Sierra Long, & Robert Welch. In the Range Plant Identification Contest, the Greenhand team placed 1st in the district and Lauren Esqueda was the overall high point individual in the contest. The Senior team placed 2nd and David Trevino was the overall high point individual in the contest. The teams consisted of: Alejandra Esquivel, David Villarreal, Johnathan Gaytan, Lauren Esqueda, Aaron T. Montagne, Marco Rivera, John Ryan Rodriguez, Richard Longoria, David Trevino, Shane Carter, Joaquin Garcia, Emily Keller, Joseph Willams, Omar Carrasco, Seth Carter, & Justin Bryan. Page 11


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT SHARYLAND HIGH SCHOOL Tons of Love

District Treble Choir

Skills USA District Treble Choir auditions were held on Saturday, October 19 at McAllen Memorial HS. The girls from Sharyland did very well in this contest. 7 girls placed in the treble choir and will perform in the district choirs concert in November. The girls who successfully placed in the district treble choir are: Ashley Cedillo (soprano 1), Paola Muñoz (soprano 1), Mariana Paz (soprano 2), Paola Rivas (soprano 2), Marshawnna Snyman (soprano 2), Daisy Arzamendi (alto) and Clarissa Cantu (alto).

SAT Vocabulary Terms

As a method of learning SAT Vocabulary terms, students in Irma Malek’s English IV Dual Enrollment class created vocabulary shirts. In this project students wrote a term on their shirt each week and had to use the term in different activities.

Where there’s a will, there’s a way! These amazing students, Katia Trevino, Ana Gonzalez and Maria Salinas, organized a food, clothes and home-goods donation event with the assistance of students, Jose Palacio and Aaron Cavazos, and SHS staff faculty, Rocio Cavazos, Roel Cavazos, Janie Flores and Nicole Cruz with the gracious approval of school’s principal, Mrs. Wilson. Twenty-five “Tons of Love” were delivered to Ciudad Guerrero in effort to assist with Sharyland High Schools’ FCCLA Organization hosted their Acapulco’s hurricane devastation. first meeting on September 12, 2013. FCCLA gathered in the Old Library with an abundant amount of students enthusiastic to serve as leaders within their community. Dr. David Bowles is a published poet and Each individual became familiar with the current FCCLA author. His series Creature Feature is theme: “A World of Opportunities.” Each student received published weekly in The Monitor. Many of a passport book keeping track of every event they would our high school teachers receive free copies participate in. President, Myriam Garza put together the of The Monitor through Newspapers In book. When the school year finishes each student with Education sponsorship. He presented to a certain amount of participation will be eligible to win a Spanish classes during 5th block on Thursday prize. FCCLA strives to become Sharylands’ most active and during Teen Read Week. productive organization every year. In order to obtain this Emma Gonzalez was another featured standard, FCCLA hosted a game towards the conclusion of speaker. Her personal migrant story was the meeting. The first activity involved a personality test. published in The Monitor. Both Liza Cantu and Students ate an Oreo and were then told the meaning Pattie Parker, English I teachers, paralleled of the way they ate it. In addition, a game that involved her story with the story from their literature communication and leadership was taught to students textbook entitled “The Necklace” with their as a preview of what working together really is like. All in classes. Mrs. Gonzalez is publishing her first all, FCCLA hosted an excellent first meeting to start of an impeccable life changing year! collection of vignettes soon.

First FCCLA Meeting of the School Year

Teen Read Week Speakers

Page 12

In Choi Jong Lee In Choi from, Sharyland High School competed at the SkillsUSA National Competition in Kansas City Missouri in Related Technical Math where she placed 11th in the nation. The competition took place at the H. Roe Bartle Hall, Convention Center on June 27th. She earned 2nd place at the Texas State Skills USA Championship this past spring. During her stay, she participated as competitor and as a delegate, where they elect their national officers for the year and conduct the business of their organization. Students also meet with business and industry representatives and hear from government officials. Jong Lee from Sharyland High School attended Kansas City, Missouri on June24-29th 2013 as head delegate for SkillsUSA Texas at the 49th National Leadership and Skills Conference sponsored by SkillsUSA. During the summer Jong Lee was elected state president for SkillsUSA, his job was to help elect their national candidates for the year, and conduct the business of their organization. Students also meet with business and industry representatives and hear from government officials. SkillsUSA helps students discover and grow their career passions. As a nationwide partnership of students, instructors and industry working together, SkillsUSA works to ensure America has a skilled workforce. It helps every student excel. SkillsUSA is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and is cited as a successful model of employer-driven youth development training program by the U.S. Department of Labor. For more information, go to www.skillsusa.org.

SHS Staff Wear Pink in Support of Breast Cancer Awareness Month


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT SHARYLAND HIGH SCHOOLnal

Rattler Football Undefeated

Vollyeball Wins District Title

The Rattler Varsity Football team is currently undefeated. Good luck on this Friday’s game.

Football Sweetheart Night Romeo Reyna & Kendal Heath, Football Beau & Cheerleading Belle and Exsar Arguello & Ria Clipson, Band Beau & Belle.

Band

The Lady Rattler Varsity Volleyball team has had an outstanding season, with only one loss against Edinburg North on Sept. 24. They went on to defeat them on October 26 and earned the district title. “Although we young this year, having many newcomers, I feel as though we are very versatile. That is our strength, that we have multiple players that are able to play multiple positions offensively and defensively. At the start of the season, I challenged the girls to get to know one another better and I think that over the course of our season it has been one of the leading reasons for our success on the courtour bond,” said Coach Laura Cavazos.

Team Tennis Wins Area Champions Title

Girls Golf Team

Sharyland Girls Golf Team coached by Susan Lopez had a 1st place finish at the Donna North Golf Invitational at Tierra Santa Golf Course in Weslaco. The girls have gotten off to a fabulous start this year and hope to continue all the way to Austin at the end of April. The team shot 298 - 299 to end the two day tournament with a total of 597. This was the 1st team’s final tournament of the fall season. They have won all three tournaments played so far this season.

Boys Golf Team

The Boys’ Varsity Boys “A” Team won the Donna North Varsity Boys Golf Invitational. They have won all three tournaments played so far this season.

Girls Cross Country

Congratulations to the Mighty Rattler Band on their outstanding results. They have been outstanding all season and were rewarded with the following results. La Joya Marching Festival 2nd in their class and 2nd overall. City of Palms Marching contest 1st in their class and Grand Champion of the contest Pigskin Jubilee lst division at UIL Marching Contest.

Swimming and Diving Huge congratulations to the girls’ varsity swimming and diving team for placing 1st out of 20 teams at the Brownsville Halloween hysteria meet! The boys’ varsity swimming and diving team placed 2nd out of 20 teams at the Brownsville Halloween hysteria meet . Way to go Rattlers!

The Varsity Tennis Team competed this weekend in the Area Team Tennis Tournament hosted by the Edinburg School District. They defeated Laredo Alexander in the Area finals, 10 matches to 4, to be become Area Champions. Seniors: Artemio Ramos, Jorge Garza and Marcelo Gonzalez. Juniors: Hector Ronquillo, Carlos Ramones, Fernanda Armendariz, Stephanie Falcon, Kaitlyn Hernandez and Gesler Madhere. Sophomores: Victor Arizola, Luis Garcia, Daniela Delgado, MariaJose Longoria, Diana Martinez, Clarissa Palacios and Jose Ronquillo. Freshmen: Leo Armendariz, Joaquin Delgado, Triana Cavazos, Fernanda Garcia, Anne Rara and Araceli Salinas.

Girls XC Varsity Team won the 30-5A District Championships! Varsity Team consisted of: Annie Hernandez who was runner up, Isabel Mendoza who placed 3rd, Lizette Chapa placed 6th, Kelsey Setien placed 11th, Ana Candiani placed 18th, Alexa Sanchez, and Megan Mills.

Boys Cross Country Congratulations to the Boys Varsity Cross Country Team who won at the RGVCCCA Meet Of Champions Invitational. Your Rattlers ran away with the team title with 59 points to the second place team with 108 points. Page 13


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT SHARYLAND NORTH JR. HIGH SCHOOL

Principal Leticia Leal

Favorite Teacher and School Education Foundation Grants Awarded Mr. Boyle was presented with almost $1,300.00 for his innovative grant entitled “Can You Hear Me Now?” He will be utilizing the Juno system which allows all students to enhance the learning process through the flipped classroom. The 7th grade ELA team received $1,100.00 for their grant, “Writing From the Heart”. This money will enable all students to publish their own hardbound book filled with student’s authentic writing.

Ms. Elida Salinas was voted Favorite Teacher and Sharyland North Junior High was voted Favorite Middle School in the Monitor newspaper’s annual Favorites Contest - The Monitor Readers’ Choice Awards.

Family Reading Night

Fall Choir Concert

The choir sounded wonderful in their first concert of the year on October 17th!

Career Day

Several local Professionals came to present to our students to help them learn more about careers that they may wish to pursue.

The theme for our first extended hours event was Fall In Love With Reading, and it was organized by our ELA department. There were over 100 students and parents in attendance who enjoyed good food and good books! We will be having Family Reading Night the last Tuesday of each grading period.

Diamondback News Team

The Diamondback News Team is Theatre Arts teacher Mr. Charles Brenner’s Film Production Class students. They put together a video each week to highlight different events happening on campus. You can view the current video on the home page of our Campus website.

Engineering Class In this lesson Ms. Bhatti’s students learned how to transfer a simple hand sketch to a three-dimensional (3D) model on a computer. In order to get maximum benefit from this powerful tool, students studied the basic geometric shapes such as cubes, triangles and spheres, and how they are combined to form complex geometry using the aid of the computer. The basic techniques that students learned were equally applied to making a model of a Pegboard with Mallet. Page 14


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT SHARYLAND NORTH JR. HIGH SCHOOL

7th Diamondbacks of the Month for September

8th Diamondbacks of the Month for September

Art Club The students pictured are Art Club members who recently entered an art project into a contest called Trash to Treasure. The project was transported over to Harlingen to compete against about 20 other projects from four other schools. The students had to use only recycled items to create an animal environment. Our kids did a great job and were very creative.

Pink for the Cure

Art Projects The students had to create a self-portrait rather than draw one.

Hats Off to Great Attendance!

We had our Pink Out Pep Rally to promote Breast Cancer Awareness on Tuesday October 22.

Mexican Independence Day Students and staff were allowed to wear Crazy Hats as a way to celebrate the excellent attendance for the first grading period: 7TH grade - 98.43% and 8th grade – 98.51%.

Morning Announcements

On September 16 we had the High School Mariachi Group on campus to help us celebrate. Mrs. Lizcano’s Spanish classes dressed up and also enjoyed authentic Mexican food.

Band Numbers There are 230 students playing in the band this year; that is the most ever! Here they are at the first Pep Rally.

The Live Morning Announcements are under the direction of our new Theatre Arts teacher Mr. Charles Brenner. He chooses students to be the news anchors and technicians who make the show happen every day. Page 15


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT ROMULO D. MARTINEZ ELEMENTARY Student Council Our student council officers volunteered their services assisting the Mission Chamber of Commerce during the Mission Pink 5k on October 5. They were used as a mascot and handed water to all runners. Our students had the opportunity to meet State Rep. Sergio Munoz during this event.

Principal Rosa O’Donnell

Little Edison Lab First Grade students explore, hypothesize, observe, record, and prove their predictions with the use of the “Little Edison” Lab coats and equipment. The Education Foundation Grant made this lab possible for our lower grade levels bringing in hands-on experience “first-hand”!

National School Bus Safety Week

Family Night

Love to Read!!! Students receive reading support through “Family Reading Night” as well as a visit by the “Killer Bees”. Promoting the “love” for reading and making it “fun” goes a long way to students at any age, for their future and ours.

Red Ribbon Kick Off

Oscar Munoz brought lots of laughs, but more importantly the message to students on being drug free. Having self-respect, value, and confidence goes a long way to be able to make good choices to make it a great day. After all, as Mr. Huerta, our counselor, says each morning, “Make it a great day or not, those choices, yep, yep, they’re always yours!” Page 16

National School Bus Safety Week brought several activities to Martinez Elementary. All students received a bus safety presentation by our very own SISD bus drivers on the importance of following all rules. A few of the rules included staying in your seat, no inappropriate language, eating food is not allowed, & keep aisles free from objects at all times. Mr. Frank Perez and staff were then treated to an appreciation breakfast. Thank you Transportation Department for keeping us safe all year long!


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT JOHN H. SHARY ELEMENTARY

Principal Nayeli Carriaga

Hooray Grant Recipients! Thanks to the vision of SISD Education Foundation, funds to enhance innovative teaching programs in physical education, recycling club, and learning games were awarded at our campus. Support for these programs and more are made possible from foundation donors.

BEE a Reader!

Red Ribbon Rally

Shary sixth graders came out to support the fight The Rio Grande Killer Bees invaded our Shary against drugs at the school district’s Red Ribbon hive of rigorous readers! Team players inspired Rally. Student council officers proudly hold up a students to succeed by reading. Readers receive banner to “Say NO to Drugs”! a bookmark, read at least six books, and then exchange it for a student home game hockey ticket.

No Clowning Around!

Family Reading Night

The family that reads together, stays together! Extended library hours and additional AR testing time brought so many family members to our school during Family Reading Night. Hope to see you soon!

There’s no clowning around with fire safety. The Mission Fire and Safety crew delighted our school with an informative presentation. Pre-K students don a fire hat to show their support!

Reading Buddies

Our school collected over 500 new and gently used books for the HEB Read 3 Book Drive. The principal, assistant principal, and librarian along with several children were there to present the books to our HEB partners on Family Reading Night.

Trick or Treat Lane

What a treat! The staff, students, and their families came out to for a thrill to trick-or-treat down the halls of our school. Everyone had a blast!

R.I.P.

Science Comes Alive! Kinder students buddy up with some helpful sixth graders to read and AR test. Older partners help give confidence and assistance to beginning readers.

Spreading the Joy of Books!

Third grade students listen carefully to Mrs. Mercado as she explains what materials are needed and what steps are to be followed during a science experiment.

With a flashlight and a pillow, students were treated to extra quiet time to “Read In Peace” at our Shary Library. Special thanks to Josie Granados for painting the marvelous mural and to Canny Millan for helping decorate the room that students entered if they dared to read! Page 17


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT HARRY SHIMOTSU ELEMENTARY Swearing In

Foundation Grants

Cafeteria Trophies

Principal Anthony Limon

Mr. Montalvo, Sharyland Board of Education Member, swore in Student Council Officers.

Orientation Meeting

Shimotsu Third Grade teachers pose with their check for the grant they received from the Sharyland Education Foundation. Shimotsu teachers were awarded over $7000 for a variety of projects! Way to go!

College and Careers Teachers proudly displayed the trophies awarded for outstanding behavior in the cafeteria.

Breast Cancer Awareness Orientation Meeting to Welcome Parents of Shimotsu’s Japanese Newcomer Population.

A Taste of Texas Students dressed up in their future career attire during our College Awareness week.

Fire Prevention Assembly

Second graders at Shimotsu Elementary marked the culmination of their Social Studies unit on Texas with a day of celebration.

Highest Attendance

Mission Firefighters presented to students in grades PreK – 2 on preventing fires. Students had Shimotsu supports breast cancer awareness! a lot of fun while learning as well!

Recognition Assembly

Congratulations to the classes with the highest attendance rate for the first recording period. Their teachers were awarded a lovely wreath to display on their door. Students were awarded a pizza party!

Library Monitors Shimotsu Student Council library monitors assist in the library before and after school. The library is a very busy place as Shimotsu students and teachers realize the value of reading. Reading takes you places! Page 18

Killer Bees Reading

Shimotsu students were proud of their accomplishments with AR! Mr. Limon shared the results from the first recording period and Shimotsu was on Several players and the top for the elementary mascot from the Killer schools! Way to go! Bees came out to support Shimotsu students’ efforts to be avid readers! Players shared their favorite books as children and promoted a program where students can earn free tickets to Killer Shimotsu welcomed both returning and new Bee hockey games based on students during the Meet the Teacher Night before the number of books they read! school began.

Meet the Teacher Night


THE RATTLER REVIEW AT DONNA WERNECKE ELEMENTARY

New to Wernecke Students & Staff

Principal Karen Meadors Wernecke is growing! We welcome our New to District students and we are glad that they have chosen Wernecke Elementary. We are so happy to have on board our new staff: Alicia Cuellar, Raul Vazquez, Oscar Zepeda, Otilla Rivas, Martin Rodriguez, Sara Montiel, Marina Salinas, Christine Roach, and Jessica Hoodenpyle. Welcome to our Wernecke Family!

Fall Decoration Donation

Wernecke Elementary is very fortunate to have many generous families who contribute to our school in so many ways. We want to thank the Acosta family for their donation of the fall decorations located at the front of our school. Pictured is Mrs. Acosta and her son Alejandro.

National Bus Safety Week

Family Reading Night

Tuesday, October 8th, Wernecke parents and students attended Family Reading Night at the library. Several teachers volunteered to make this night a fun and enjoyable time for our families. The students and parents had a great time reading books together and making reading literacy an important part of their day. Students in 1st-2nd grade were very excited to receive books for their AR reward for the 1st reporting period. They were greeted in their classroom with a cart full of books and bookmarks for their reading achievements.

National School Lunch Week

The Sharyland transportation department provided bus safety lessons and handouts for the Wernecke PK-3rd grade students during National School Bus Safety Week. Fourth-sixth graders received a Bus Safety booklet, pencil and bookmark. The Wernecke bus drivers were given a small token of our appreciation and a gift card for keeping our students safe each day!!!

The Wernecke Cafeteria staff provides a nutritious breakfast and lunch for our 760 students every day! We treated them to lunch in honor of National School Lunch Week, October 13-18. We appreciate their hard work and delicious meals each day…Thank you!

Chess

“Wernecke chess students did an amazing job at their first meet of the year. All 8 primary students received a medal and both the Primary Team and the Elementary Team placed 2nd overall. That’s a great way to start the year!!!”. - L. Rivera, Chess Sponsor.

AR Rewards

Students in 1st-2nd grade were very excited to receive books for their AR reward for the 1st reporting period. They were greeted in their classroom with a cart full of books and bookmarks for their reading achievements.

Student Council Officers

Driscoll Children’s Hospital 2nd grade student, Wendy Inocencio, was honored by Driscoll Children’s Hospital. Her drawing was selected to be published in their Christmas book! Congratulations! The book is available in the Wernecke library for purchase.

Custodial Worker Appreciation Day

Wernecke Elementary recognized and celebrated Custodial Worker Appreciation Day on October 2nd. We treated Elda Quintanilla, Ana Acosta, Derley Moreno, and Connie Morgan to lunch!! Our custodial and ground workers do an excellent job keeping Werncke Elementary looking good… Thank you!

Garden Club Congratulations to our Student Council Officers! The officers are as follows: Joseph Gaytan, President; Miranda Garza, Vice-President; Lauren Guerra, Treasurer; Andrea Ortiz, Historian; and Roberto Carpio, Secretary.

The Wernecke Garden Club has been preparing the soil in their garden for planting. Here they are planting vegetables such as radishes and tomatoes. Over 30 students meet each week to participate in the Garden Club! Page 19



Rattler Review volume 18 edition 2 november 2013