Page 1


richmond illustrators club

4th Juried Show richmondillustrators.tumblr.com Show Committee Holly Camp Katie McBride

Richmond Illustrators Club thanks: Mark Summers, Phyllis Saroff, Bill Koeb, Amy Crehore, Geraldine Duskin, Thea Duskin, Sterling Hundley, Robert Meganck, Josh George (and everyone at TAD), Anita Kunz, Andrea Wicklund, Kadir Nelson, Tyler Darden, Steve Hedberg, Greg Swearingen, Marshall Arisman, Ken Rayher, Kevin Gallagher, and everyone who has entered or promoted our shows and helped make them a success.

Jurors Mark Summers is an awardwinning illustrator who has been honored by the Society of Illustrators with the Hamilton King Award for Best Illustration of the Year (2000), and the Greenwich Workshop’s David Usher Award (2002) as well as three silver and three gold medals. His work regularly appears at the Society’s Annual Juried Shows and Illustration Books, and he has also been featured in publications such as Step-By-Step, Graphics, Print, Communication Arts Annual, and Applied Arts. Summers was profiled in Walt Reed’s “The Illustrator in America, 1860-2000,” a comprehensive guide to prominent individuals in the history of American illustration. His client list includes Time, The Atlantic Monthly, Rolling Stone, Sports Illustrated, Barnes & Noble’s “Library of Literary Classics,” and St. Martin’s Press, among many others. His corporate clients include Eddie Bauer, AT&T, Dupont, Major League Baseball, and Parker Brothers. In 2001 he completed several illustrations for a permanent, interactive exhibit in the US Government’s Federal Reserve Bank. Phyllis Saroff specializes in natural science and children’s illustrations. Her work has appeared in books and magazines and her paintings of wildlife are used in outdoor displays in wildlife management areas across the country. Some of her clients include Carus Publishing, Charlesbridge Publishing, Lerner Publishing, Kirchoff/Wohlberg, Lockheed Martin, Long and Foster, National Cherry Blossom Festival, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. She received her BFA from Virginia Commonwealth University in 1983.

2

Amy Crehore is an alumna of Virginia Commonwealth University who has won competitive awards from WESTAF, the Portland Art Museum, the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Communication Arts, American Illustration, and the Society of Illustrators. Her client list includes the Atlantic Monthly, Business Week, ESPN Magazine, Esquire, Forbes, GQ, The Los Angeles Times, MS., The New York Times, Outside, Playboy, Prevention, Redbook, and Rolling Stone. Crehore’s image of Jewel and Alanis Morissette is included in the anthology book “Rolling Stone: The Illustrated Portraits” (Chronicle Books, 2000). The original painting is part of the Jann Wenner collection in NYC. Bill Koeb is an American illustrator, painter, and comic-book artist whose work includes the Marvel Comics’ series Clive Barker’s Hellraiser and the Vertigo miniseries Faultlines. He created the artwork for the character Sarah in the film The Crow: City of Angels (1996). His work has also been shown in Print, Society of Illustrators Los Angeles, and the New York Society of Illustrators. He has taught illustration and painting at California College of Art, the Academy of Art University, Miami Ad School, and Carrboro Arts Center.

Mark Summers headshot by Greg Manchess


Gold

Jeffrey Alan Love Nick Cave and Warren Ellis Monotype with digital color

Stanley Rayfield Black Jesus Oil on panel

3


Silver

Mike Wimmer George Washington Carver Praying Oil on board AD: Terren Baker, Whirlwind Creative Client: National Parks Department, George Washington Carver National Monument

4

Bronze

Vivian Song Half Light Graphite


Phillip B. Meggs Award

for design excellence Sungkyung Bible Park Silence Digital

The Phillip B. Meggs Award is presented in honor of the late Phillip Meggs: graphic designer, professor, historian and author. Mr. Meggs authored "A History of Graphic Design," often referred to as the most important book on the subject. He chaired the department of Communication Arts and Design at VCU from 1974 to 1987 and it was under his tenure that illustration was added to the department as a major. Many club members were fortunate enough to learn from or work with Mr. Meggs during his time at VCU. We are honored to have Libby and Elizabeth Meggs, his wife and daughter, select the recipient of this award.

5


1. Josh George A Clinical use of the Michelson Formula Mixed media on wood panel 2. Bizhan Khodabandeh Sea Lion Pen and ink with digital color Client: Listening Room 3. Natalie Andrewson White Oleander Digital AD: Brooke Olivares 4. Jared Boggess When this shall fall into your hands, I shall have disappeared Ink

1.

2.

6


3.

4.

7


1. Jared Boggess Water for Elephants Gouache, ink 2. Nancy Smith Patrick Collage, digital 3. Kurt Miller Lotus Eaters Digital mix Client: Baen Books 4. Kurt Miller Hammer’s Slammers Digital mix with 3D Client: Baen Books

1.

2.

8


3.

4.

9


1. Steven Hughes Mr. Sabathia Goes to New York Acrylic and collage 2. Steven Hughes Angel Rising Acrylic and collage 3. Matteo Caloiaro The Subway Oil on panel 4. Matteo Caloiaro Jake Snyder Oil on cardboard

1.

2.

10


3.

4.

11


1. Jeffrey Alan Love Mortal Engines Acrylic, oil, printing ink 2. Shawn Yu Narcissus Oil on canvas 3. Jenna Chew Washington, elusive Graphite, gouache, digital 4. Duncan Robertson Dear John Colored Pencil, Acrylic, oil

1.

2.

12


3.

4.

13


1. Barry Bruner Moving the Bull Digital AD: Christine Morrison Client: Stocks and Commodities Magazine 2. Kristy Heilenday Tastings in Poor Man’s City Acrylic 3. Edward Kinsella III Winter 1 Ink, gouache Client: Gallery Nucleus 4. Edward Kinsella III Beck Ink, watercolor AD: Alice Cho Client: Wired Magazine

1.

2.

14


3.

4.

15


1. Alison Abitbol The Box Oil 2. Katie McBride The Fawn Skull Ink, gouache 3. Ashley Lewis Fear Graphite, pen, and thread on fabric 4. Erika Steiskal Oprah in Saudi Arabia Mixed media

1.

2.

16


3.

4.

17


1. Eric Pfeiffer Pantanal in the Arb Poster Ink, digital Client:The Pantanal Partnership 2. Mike Wimmer Prince Street Oil on board 3. Nicole Gomez Gifted Watercolor, pen and acrylic on board AD: Tom Allen Client: The Virginia Journal of Education 4. Nicole Gomez Rooster 2011 Watercolor, pen and acrylic on board Client: Sapori Ristorante Italiano

1.

2.

18


3.

4.

19


1. Hala Wittwer Swearingen Watch Frog Oil and acrylic 2. Vivian Song The Poet Huang Xiang Aluminum etching 3. Meena Khalili Capitol Coffee and Desserts Oil ink, letterpressed photopolymer 4. Doug Thompson Heart and Mind Watercolor

1.

2.

20


3.

4.

21


1. Holly Camp Things Fall Apart Acrylic and ink AD: Rachel Beanland Client: University of Richmond 2. Eric Collins Life of Pi Ink, digital 3. Neal Iwan Borderline Oil, digital

1.

2.

22


3.

23


Illustrators Alison Abitbol abitbol.alison@gmail.com alisonabitbol.blogspot.com

Eric Collins ec@oobust.com www.oobust.com

Ashley Lewis aml@ashleylewisillustration.com www.ashleylewisillustration.com

Nancy Smith nancyrsmith@verizon.net www.nancysmithart.net

Natalie Andrewson natalieandrewson@gmail.com natalieandrewson.com

Josh George josh@joshgeorge.com www.joshgeorge.com

Jeffrey Alan Love jeff@jeffreyalanlove.com www.jeffreyalanlove.com

Vivian Song vivianzsong@gmail.com www.vivianzsong.com

Jared Boggess mail@jaredboggess.com www.jaredboggess.com

Nicole Gomez art@nicolegomez.net www.nicolegomez.net

Katie McBride mcbrideka@gmail.com www.katiemcbride.com

Erika Steiskal erikasteiskal@yahoo.com www.erikasteiskal.com

Barry Bruner barrybrunerillustration@gmail.com www.barrybruner.com

Kristy Heilenday kristy@kristyheilenday.com www.kristyheilenday.com

Kurt Miller kurtmiller@kmistudio.com www.kmistudio.com

Hala Wittwer Swearingen hala@artbyhala.com www.artbyhala.com

Matteo Caloiaro teo@caloiaro.com www.caloiaro.com

Steven Hughes steve@primaryhughes.com www.primaryhughes.com

Sungkyung Bible Park parkillustration@gmail.com www.parkbenchart.net

Doug Thompson doug@thompsonimagery.com www.thompsonimagery.com

Holly Camp create@hollycamp.com www.hollycamp.com

Neal Iwan neal@nealiwan.com www.nealiwan.com

Eric Pfeiffer ericspfeiffer@verizon.net epfeiart.blogspot.com

Mike Wimmer wimmerart@gmail.com www.mikewimmer.com

Jenna Chew jenna@jennachew.com www.jennachew.com

Bizhan Khodabandeh bizhan@mendedarrow.com www.mendedarrow.com

Stanley Rayfield srayfield@comcast.net www.stanleyrayfield.com

Shawn Yu whaleboystudio@hotmail.com www.whaleboyart.com

Meena Khalili Clifford meena.khalili@gmail.com www.lot15studio.com

Edward Kinsella III info@edwardkinsellaillustration.com www.edwardkinsellaillustration.com

Duncan Robertson duncanrobe@gmail.com www.duncanillustration.com

R.I.C. 4th Juried Show Catalog  

PDF of the catalog from the Richmond Illustrators Club 4th Juried Show, held at Ghostprint Gallery in Richmond, VA, June 3rd 2011

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you