Texas Midwest 2022 Visitors Guide

Page 120


Population 2,058 (page 57) Perched on a wide prairie between two forks of the Brazos River, the town of Hamlin, incorporated in 1907, was born at the crossroads of three major and one short-gauge railway system. Col. Morgan Jones completed his 800-plus-mile railroad career with the arrival of the Abilene and Southern line to Hamlin in 1910. J.B.F. Wright composed the old hymn mainstay, “Precious Memories,” in October 1923 while living on the J.L. Keen farm just east of Hamlin’s city limits. In 1921 the school system adopted the mascot of the “Pied Piper” to give direction to the newly established football team; this unique mascot is the only one known of its kind in the U.S. for a public school’s identity. Just as Robert Browning’s Pied Piper enticed the children into the cave, many visitors find themselves unable to resist the lure and tranquility offered by this spirited city. Chamber of Commerce, 245 S. Central Avenue, 325-576-3501, www.hamlinchamber.com


Population 3,320 (page 58) Crossroads of the Texas Midwest on U.S. 277 & 380, this picturesque community is the hub of the Rolling Plains. Named for Charles Ready Haskell, a Revolutionary soldier who fell with Fannin at Goliad, the town was incorporated in 1858 and known as Willow Pond Springs and later as Rice Springs. Buffalo, Indians, and cowboys all used the springs as a watering hole. Wild mustangs roamed freely west of Haskell on the Wild Horse Knob prairie. As the county seat, Haskell dominated regional trade and culture. Barbeques and dances were annual events. In those early days a local saloon known as the Road to Ruin was also used for church services. Through the century, the town experienced both boom and bust cycles, but the indomitable spirit of the citizens always prevailed, and today Haskell is a thriving center of commerce and retail trade in the area. Haskell is a great place to live and raise a family. Nature tourism is also become a source of revenue for businesses and landowners. Chamber of Commerce, 112 N Ave E, 940-864-2477, chamber@haskelltexasusa.com


Population 4,500 (page 62) Settlers first arrived in the Jacksboro area in the mid-1850s, attracted by the offerings of the Texas Emigration and Land Office. Along the banks of Lost Creek, a small community of farmers took root and spread out over the pastureland between the river and the waters of the West Fork of Keechi Creek, south of the original settlement. As the distance from the original site increased and the number of buildings grew, the settlers began referring to the town taking shape as Mesquiteville. The town was chosen county seat in 1858 and renamed Jacksborough, or Jacksboro, in honor of William H. Jack and his brother Patrick, both veterans of the Texas Revolution. That year the first stagecoach arrived from the Butterfield Overland Mail; this service ran until early 1861. Today Jacksboro is a progressively growing community with native limestone downtown buildings built in the 1800s, eclectic shopping, great restaurants, beautiful scenery, a quiet lake, and nature trails. You’ll enjoy your time spent in this friendly town. Tourism Dept, 112 W. Belknap St, 940-567-6321; Chamber of Commerce, 302 S. Main St, 940-567-2602, office@jacksborochamber.com


Texas Midwest Community Network