Issuu on Google+

www.RealMagazineOnline.org True Stories, Amazing Facts, Faith-building Fun www.RealMagazineOnline.org

September/October 2010

The Rattle of Machine Guns p. 2

True Stories, Amazing Facts, Faith-building Fun

The Ghost of La Llorona El Fantasma de La Llorona, p. 22

September/October 2010

o ls : A ide s oIn : s l A ide s In

Dogs Rule! p. 18


C H A R A C T E R

U N D E R

2

C O N S T R U C T I O N

w w w.RealM agazin e On lin e .org


The Rattle of

Guns

Machine Machine

Disobedience put me and my friends in danger.

B Y

J I M

T

M C D E V I T T

Illustrated by Shane L. Johnson

he rat-tat-tat of machine gun fire erupted from the other side of the

thick woods. My buddies and I exchanged quick looks, trying to hide our fright. Sneaking into the Fort Dix Army base in New Jersey had been my idea. I’d thought it was safe when we planned our escapade. Now I wasn’t so sure. I was 12 years old and thinking of adventure when I convinced my two friends, Eddie and Sean, to join my mother and me on a week’s visit to my grandmother’s house. Grandma lived out in the country off a dirt road near the back entrance to Fort Dix.

September/October 2010

3


C H A R A C T E R

U N D E R

C O N S T R U C T I O N

We reached the sign marked “No Trespassing.”

brothers and I were playing ball in the large field next to Grandma’s house, we would hear loud explosions off in the distance that shook the ground where we stood. From dawn until dark six days a week the soldiers fired rifles, machine guns, and artillery. But by the end of a summer with Grandma, I would be used to it.

In previous summers when I had visited Grandma with my older brothers, we’d seen jeeps and truckloads of soldiers entering Fort Dix through this back entrance. They passed in front of Grandma’s house with dust flying from the wheels. Grandma often warned us not to go into Fort Dix. “The soldiers are always firing their weapons on the ranges near the back entrance to the fort,” she said. Sometimes while my

T

his time it was Sunday, and I had never before heard machine gun fire on

Scared of Getting Caught? When Eddie, Sean, and Jim trespassed on a military base in the story “The Rattle of Machine Guns,” they quickly experienced one of the consequences of breaking the law: fear. Something similar happened when the first humans, Adam and Eve, disobeyed God. God had given them one rule: don’t eat the fruit from a certain tree. But they ate it anyway, and not long afterward they were hiding in the bushes in terror when God came to visit. If you find yourself in an activity in which you’re always looking over your shoulder, hoping not to get caught, it’s a clue that you may not be on the right path. Fortunately, God is always ready to help us make good choices so we don’t have to live in fear.

4

w w w.RealM agazin e On lin e .org


Sundays. Eddie, Sean, and I decided this was our chance. After lying to my mother and telling her we were going fishing in the small creek near Grandma’s property, we walked along the stream until we found a narrow spot where we could jump to the other side. As we did this, two black snakes, each about a foot long, slithered out of the rocks along the bank and scared us half to death. We followed the stream to a place where it joined the dirt road leading into Fort Dix. When we reached the sign marked “No Trespassing,” we ignored it, stopping only long enough to read the warning underneath: “THIS IS A MILITARY INSTALLATION, AND ALL TRESPASSERS WILL BE PROSECUTED TO THE FULLEST EXTENT OF THE LAW.” Undaunted, we walked on, eager to explore the ranges where all the firing came from. The military isn’t going to prosecute 12-year-old boys, we told ourselves. We walked what must have been

To order

five miles, but it felt like 20, until we reached another sign marked “DANGER.” Underneath in smaller letters it said, “You are entering a firing range area. Stay on the paths. Do not enter the fields because of unexploded ordnance.” “Maybe we should go back,” someone said. I think all of us were scared, but none of us wanted to admit it. Foolishly we went forward, walking on the paths until we reached the actual firing range. For souvenir hunters, it was perfect. We were on a rifle range. Empty shells were scattered all along the firing line. We picked up fired cartridges and unfired blanks and began stuffing them into our backpacks. Then we heard machine gun fire in the distance. Soon rifle fire joined the machine gun fire, and the noise got louder. “We’d better get out of here. Someone might be coming,” I said to my friends. We hurried back along the paths to get out of the danger area.

, call 1.800.456.3991 • www.RealMagazineOnline.org

Real phone: 301.393.4037 • fax: 301.393.4055 • e-mail: real@rhpa.org • Unsolicited manuscripts welcome E D I TOR

D ES KTO P TECHNI CI A N

Randy Fishell

Tonya Ball

ASSOC I ATE ED I TO R

PROMOTION, WEBMASTER

Rachel Whitaker

Kim Peckham

D E SI G N E R

A D V ERTI S I NG

Brandon Reese

Genia Blumenberg

D E SI G N SU P P O RT

C U STO MER S ERV I CE

Mark O’Connor

SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER 2010 • VOLUME 1 • NUMBER 5 Real is a Christian story magazine for young people. It is published bimonthly by Review and Herald® Publishing Association, 55 West Oak Ridge Drive, Hagerstown, MD 21740. Copyright © 2010 by Review and Herald® Publishing Association. Printed in U.S.A. SUBSCRIPTIONS: Call toll-free 1.800.456.3991 or visit www.RealMagazineOnline.org. Yearly subscription: $9.95. Unless otherwise noted, Bible texts in this issue are from the Holy Bible, New International Version. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan Bible Publishers. Unless otherwise noted, photos © 2010 Thinkstock.com.

Lisa Sayler

September/October 2010

5


C H A R A C T E R

U N D E R

C O N S T R U C T I O N

Our hearts felt as if they were going to jump out of our chests. Finally we reached the road leading out of the fort. We were all sweating now. Bugs we hadn’t noticed before swarmed over us, and we swatted at them as we walked along the road. In the distance we heard the sound of a motor. “Somebody’s coming! Into the woods!” I yelled. We dashed into the woods and fell to the ground, hoping we were out of sight. There must have been a beehive nearby, because bees swarmed around Why It’s Important our heads. to Tell the Truth An army truck barreled along the road. Whoever was in it Picture this: Jesus just doesn’t feel like didn’t see us. We returned to going to church, so He makes up a story. the road, fortunate not to have “Mom, My stomach feels terrible. In fact, I been stung or discovered, and think I might throw up. You’d better go to continued our trek. It seemed to synagogue without Me.” be taking forever to reach the Hopefully that scenario is pretty hard to exit. Then in the distance we imagine. That’s because Jesus wanted nothing heard more motors. more than to reflect the character of His heavAs the vehicles approached, enly Father, and that didn’t include lying. we could see plumes of dust There are plenty of reasons to tell the truth: spiraling up into the sky. It was it can keep you out of trouble and help build a military convoy, and now we a good reputation, which leads others to would be caught. We were all trust you no matter what. But the most basic so exhausted from running, reason is because honesty is part of who God walking, and sweating that is. If you claim to be His child, you’ll want to none of us wanted to hide. reflect His character. The jeep leading the convoy quickly approached. The officer

6

w w w.RealM agazin e On lin e .org


M

in it said something to the driver, and the entire column slowed down. The officer half stood in his open jeep, holding onto the windshield, and yelled at us, “You’d better get out of here. The military police are behind us!” Then the officer spoke again to the driver, sat down, and the convoy accelerated in a cloud of dust, disappearing quickly into the distance. Never in my life had I been so scared. As we walked along the road, we all kept looking over our shoulders, expecting to see military police in a jeep bearing down on us. But for some reason, the military police never arrived to arrest us. We made it out of Fort Dix and down the dirt road to Grandma’s house just as it was getting dark.

om met us at the door, and I knew from the look on her face how upset she was. She knew I had lied to her about going fishing, and then when she checked our backpacks, she found blanks and empty shells from the firing range. I learned a lesson in obedience that day. The shame I felt for lying to my mother and the embarrassment I caused myself, my mother, and my grandmother were emotions I didn’t forget. Eddie, Sean, and I never spoke of our adventures again, because I think we all were embarrassed by our behavior. We were thankful we weren’t arrested or injured. And I’m pretty sure our guardian angels were relieved when that day was over, too! 

SMILE FILE

September/October 2010

BY BRUCE ROBINSON

7


God-centered advice for your F OR G I RL

BY CHARMAINE MATTHEWS

tough problems

S

give your heart and your muscles a workout. Water: Drink plenty of clean, clear water. Sunshine: 15 minutes in the sun one to two times per week without sunscreen seems to be a safe amount that allows your body to produce vitamin D, an important nutrient. Temperance: Be careful not to put harmful substances into your body. This includes tobacco, alcohol, and drugs. Things that are OK to eat should be used in moderation. Air: When you are outside walking in the sunshine, be sure to take deep breaths of fresh air. Rest: Don’t get too busy for sleep. Trust in God: Prayer and Bible study will keep you close to Him and far from worry. While following these guidelines won’t make acne go away now, it will probably help over time. If you try these healthy tips and still have acne problems, you may need to see a dermatologist.

Q: A:

I have an acne problem on my face, and I want it to clear up now! What can I do? Although I am not a dermatologist (skin doctor), I am happy to share what I’ve learned from years of dealing with acne. Here are four DON’Ts. 1. Don’t expect acne to go away now. There is no quick fix. 2. Don’t pick the pimples. This can lead to scars and infections. 3. Don’t overmedicate your skin. Whether you use over-the-counter products or prescription medications, follow the directions. 4. Don’t cover pimples with makeup. This may clog pores and worsen the problem. Now let’s look at the DOs. Following these guidelines for a healthy body will increase your chances for healthy skin. To remember the eight guidelines, use the phrase NEWSTART. Nutrition: Eat a balanced diet, including fruits, vegetables, grains, and other healthy foods. Exercise: Walking is a great way to

8

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


F OR G UY

S

BY JOSUÉ SÁNCHEZ

Q:

My friends say bad words, and I sometimes catch myself saying the same bad words. How can I stop?

anything—or destroy it! It only takes a spark, remember, to set off a forest fire. A careless or wrongly placed word out of your mouth can do that. By our speech we can ruin the world, turn harmony to chaos, throw mud on a reputation, send the whole world up in smoke and go up in smoke with it” (James 3:4-6, Message).* So the next time you feel tempted to say bad words, remember the duct tape and tell yourself: “There’s no way I’m going to let this little tongue of mine get me in trouble!” And then repeat with David: “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer” (Psalm 19:14).

A:

Think duct tape. I’m not kidding, man! Now, the duct tape I’m referring to is not the ordinary kind. It’s the “Do U C The Tiny Ant Pushing an Elephant” type. In other words, a little thing can sometimes cause big things to happen! That’s what can happen with your tongue. Yes, that little pink muscle behind your teeth. In Spanish we say “pequeña pero matona,” which means “small but lethal.” The Bible puts it this way: “A bit in the mouth of a horse controls the whole horse. A small rudder on a huge ship in the hands of a skilled captain sets a course in the face of the strongest winds. A word out of your mouth may seem of no account, but it can accomplish nearly

A word out of your mouth can accomplish nearly anything—or destroy it!

September/October 2010

*Texts credited to Message are from The Message. Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002. Used by permission of NavPress Publishing Group.

9


T O U G H

T I M E S

My Messed Drugs had wreaked havoc in the homes of Brianna and Cathy. A S B Y

T O L D T O V E R N A P O L L O C K C . M O R G A N A N D E R S O N

Digital photo illustration by Terrill Thomas

B

utterflies fluttered in my stomach as I looked at the huge building.

“Daddy, this school is monstrous!” We had just moved from California to Oregon, and this was my first day at the new school. It was a far cry from the small private school I had attended. “Yes, my little Cocoa Loco,” he replied, using the nickname I’d gotten from loving cocoa and

10

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


-up Mom

September/October 2010

11


T O U G H

T I M E S

I hesitated a moment, reluctant to reveal my secret.

return. It seemed I had one friend already. At lunchtime Brianna walked with me to the cafeteria. “Some of the kids go home for lunch,” she said. “I usually stay here. Will you be staying for lunch most of the time?” “I’m sure I will, “ I answered. “My dad works all day, and my little brother is in kindergarten and day care.” “Oh,” Brianna replied. “Does your mother work too?” I hesitated a moment, reluctant to reveal my sad secret. But Brianna had been so nice that I thought she might understand. “My mom and dad are divorced, so my little brother and I are living with our dad.” “I’m sorry,” Brianna said, and quickly changed the subject.

being silly. “It is big, about a thousand students, I’m told. However, you will make friends and know your way around in no time.” He walked me to my classroom, hugged me briefly, and whispered, “Bye. See you later.” Mrs. Brown smiled warmly as she introduced me to the class and assigned me a seat. I began to relax a little. As soon as I sat down, someone tapped me on the shoulder. “Hi, Cathy, I’m Brianna,” the girl behind me whispered. I smiled in

Random Fact File

Spartan life

In ancient Greece the city of Sparta was a tightly controlled military town. Spartan boys were taken from their homes at age 7 and raised in military barracks until age 30. During this time they were trained as warriors and ate mainly black broth and watereddown wine. After age 30, a man was allowed to find a wife and marry but could not leave the army or have a house of his own until age 60. Girls were treated similarly in all-female units. All of these soldier-citizens were supported by farmers called helots who lived in the neighboring countryside. The helots were essentially slaves and were under continual occupation by the Spartan army. They lived in fear of roving bands of teenage soldiers who destroyed property and terrorized the people.—Sailing the Wine-dark Sea

12

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


Dad was waiting for me after school, just as he had said he would be. Although I had enjoyed my first day, I was very happy to see his familiar face. I suddenly missed my old home, school, and friends very much. More than that, I missed my mom. I lay awake that night, as usual, thinking about her and crying. “Why did Mom and Dad have to get a divorce? Couldn’t they have worked it out somehow? Why did my mother get into drugs? And why did we have to move so far away?” I asked God angrily, over and over again.

and got permission to spend the afternoon with me the next day. When we got home from church, Brianna was waiting on the porch. We had a fun afternoon playing games and talking, and then we went to the evening meeting. “I hope you don’t mind sitting with my dad,” I told Brianna. “I have to sit in the front pew with my youth group.” Brianna was fine with that. But several times during the program I turned to see how she was doing. I wondered how she liked it. On the way home Brianna told me, “Your church is pretty cool. My parents never took me. In fact, my dad left us right after I was born. He just walked away, and I’ve seen him only one time since.” “I’m really sorry, Brianna. Unfortunately, I know how you feel.”

“Why did my mother get into drugs?” In time I made many friends, but Brianna was always my special friend. One day Brianna hung out at my house for a while. “Can I come back tomorrow?” she asked as she was leaving. “I’d like that,” I replied. “But I have church tomorrow morning. Maybe you could come in the afternoon and go to the evening meeting with me after supper. Our youth group is doing a special program. Why don’t you call your mom and see if it’s OK?” Brianna was excited about that. She had been to church only once in her life, when her grandmother had taken her. “Sounds fun,” she said. She called

September/October 2010

Have you asked Jesus to be part of your life?

It’s the best choice you could make! Find out how to start a friendship with Jesus at

www.RealMagazineOnline.org.

13


T O U G H

T I M E S

T

He hesitated and then said, “Sure. Just give me a call if you need anything.” Brianna and I sat on the swing awhile. Then we took a walk around the block before going inside. As I followed Brianna into the house, I was hit by a strong odor that I recognized instantly: cigarettes and marijuana. Weariness swept over me, and a massive headache began. I was in a drug addict’s house. Through the haze I saw them— Brianna’s mom and some of her friends, sitting around listlessly, smoking. Their eyes viewed our entrance, but no one acknowledged our presence. Memories of my mother overwhelmed me. Nauseated, I turned and pushed past Brianna. She followed. “I’m sorry! I never should have invited you here. But Mom said she wasn’t doing drugs anymore. She promised me she wouldn’t!” Brianna gasped between sobs. “Brianna, I know all about it. My mother is a drug addict too. She made so many promises to me and my dad but never kept them.” I decided to walk home. As I trudged along, I tearfully asked God once again, “Why? Why my mom? Why Brianna’s mom? Dad said we moved to begin a new life, but it’s the same here as it was in California. Please, God, help Brianna and me and both our moms!” At home I plunked down under the shade of a big tree, not wanting to talk to anyone. Gradually my heart

he next morning we talked and laughed as Dad’s beatup truck took us to Brianna’s house. She wanted me to stay at her house the next weekend, but Dad had a rule that I couldn’t stay at anyone’s house unless he’d met their parents first. Giving Brianna a ride home meant that he could meet her mom. The house was a small, run-down, faded blue structure on a littered street just a few blocks behind WalMart. As we pulled up to the house, Brianna said, “By the way, Mom and I are living with my aunt right now.” Just then her aunt came outside, and Brianna introduced her to Dad and me. Brianna’s aunt greeted us cautiously and said that Brianna’s mom had a bad headache and was resting. She then excused herself and disappeared inside. “So, is it OK if I stay?” I asked Dad.

14

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


steadied and a deep peace flowed over me. It was as if God was speaking, telling me that He loves me very much and that He loves my mom and Brianna’s mom as well. God’s unspoken answer came to my mind: “Love them, Cathy. Let My love shine through you, and someday they too will see the light. Keep on praying and trusting Me.” I believe God wants me to learn from my experiences how important it is to stay away from drugs. He also wants me to know that I’m no better than anyone else. We’re all sinners, yet Jesus died to save each one of us. Recently my mother has been making progress. I don’t see her very often, but when I do she hugs me

Find Real Hope Here If you’re living in a home where a parent has a substance abuse problem, here’s help. Alateen is an organization with local chapters where you can find support and ideas for helping your loved one get his or her life back on track. Go to www.al-anon.alateen.org/ alateen. Be sure to click on “Is Alateen for You?” The information here talks about alcohol, but it applies to other drugs as well.

and tells me that she loves me. God has given me patience and wisdom to stand by her, and perhaps one day soon we’ll be together again. 

Water-loving birds

Random Fact File

Birds called American dippers hunt for food by swimming to the bottom of a mountain stream, then running along the river bottom, poking under stones looking for insect larvae. Dippers eat mayfly, beetle, and mosquito larvae, as well as snails, worms, fish eggs, and small fish. Dippers can dive as deep as 20 feet below the surface of a stream. Black skimmers are another type of bird that hunts in the water. Skimmers fly just above the surface of the water. The long lower part of their bill slices through the water, snagging fish swimming just under the surface. The lower part of the black skimmer’s bill grows twice as fast as the upper part, since friction from the water wears it down.—Bizarre Birds

September/October 2010

15


G o d’s P rom is e for To u gh Tim e s BY VICTOR IA R ODER

When you go through a difficult experience, as Brianna and Cathy did in “My Messed-up Mom,” it helps to know that God is there with you. On the opposite page, start at GD and find your way through the letter maze by following the directions provided by the second letter of each pair: L for left, R for right, U for up, and D for down. Connect the pairs as you go. Stop when you reach a spot with no second letter. Then place the first letter of each connected pair in order on the lines to read a promise from God.

“G , ‘

;

’” (Hebrews 13:5).

16

w w w.RealM agazin e On lin e .org


Start

GD FR TU NL SD ER WL AD HU JD OR DD SL

FR VU XD KR GL ND AU

JU HR AD ML WR KU CD SL AD SL IR

SR TL

SL

QR KD JR EL RR MU BD

DD FL

SU YL KL AR VR ED NL

KD ND VR GL YR PD EU KR YR OD RU ER VD BR TD IR LU HL TU UD SR NU ER RD LR LU DD SL

ED NL

CL TR WL WR IU YR OU JR

VD EU

GU YL PD FL KR CU DR RD EL

JR

OR U

TR GU BD SL LR WD OU NL

YU IR

SD RL OL WR LD IL

EU KL AL BU FU IL

FD JD

LL HR KU DL

Replace girl with African

Answer on p. 30

September/October 2010

17


C R E A T O R ’ S

S I G N A T U R E

s g o D From herding sheep to detecting bombs, these animals do an amazing variety of jobs.

I

B Y

R O N

R E E S E

’m thinking of an animal that can weigh anywhere from two pounds to more than 200 pounds. Some

of these animals, fully grown, would fit in the palm of your hand. Others can look a kid in the eye when they’re standing on all fours. A DOG’S LIFE While the average dog lives to be about 15 years old, the oldest dog on record was a heeler from Queensland, Australia, named Bluey. He lived to be nearly 30 years old.

Labrador Retriever

Bloodhound

18

w w w.RealM agazin e On lin e .org


! e l u R seven feet tall! At 170 pounds Gibson is a pretty heavy dog. But there’s a shorter dog that outweighs him by more than 100 pounds! The heaviest dog in the world is a mastiff named Hercules that weighs 284 pounds. According to DNA testing, the dogs we enjoy today as house pets are distant descendants of the wolf. Thousands of years ago ancestors of our modern dogs ran wild in Europe and Asia. Oddly enough, Australian dingoes (wild dogs) can trace their roots back to a few domesticated dogs that were introduced to the contiChihuahua nent

One out of every three households in the U.S. owns one or more of these pets. Can you guess which animal I’m talking about? Wait a minute. Did the pictures give it away? OK, you’re right—I’m talking about dogs. Dogs can be as small as a Chihuahua, merely a few inches high. Or they can be as tall as a Great Dane or an Irish wolfhound, which are 2.5 to 3 feet high at the shoulders. The tallest dog in the world is a spotted Great Dane named Gibson. Gibson is 42.2 inches tall when standing on all fours. When he stands on his rear legs, he is

Great Dane

September/October 2010

19


C R E A T O R ’ S

S I G N A T U R E

Australian Dingoes

at least 3,500 years ago. And the dogs they originated from are descendants of wolves found in Asia. Down through time humans have selectively bred various dogs until today there are more

North American Wolf

such as diabetic emergencies. Labrador retrievers and German shepherds are two common assistance dogs. One assistance dog without a pedigree was a mother dog brought to an animal shelter along with six puppies from her litter of 14. Someone at the shelter named her Bridgette. Bridgette was given to a man who had seizures and had injured himself quite badly several Golden Retriever times. Bridgette would let the man know when he was about to have a seizure so he could lie down and not get hurt. Other dogs are called detection dogs. They use their sense of smell to help their owners. Some of these dogs have been trained to detect substances such as illegal drugs and explosive materials. Guard dogs protect people

than 400 different breeds, developed for various purposes. Dogs have been bred and trained to assist, to detect, to guard, to herd, to hunt, to provide therapy, and to rescue. Assistance dogs help the seeingand hearing-impaired, people who have seizures, and those with mental handicaps. These dogs can also help people detect when they are about to experience some health conditions,

Chihuahua

20

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


Pointer

and property. Dobermans, rottweilers, and German shepherds are often used for this purpose. The Great Pyrenees breed was bred to protect sheep. Herding dogs, such as border collies and Old English sheepdogs, were bred to herd sheep from one pasture to another. Hunting dogs, such as pointers and retrievers, were bred to help people hunt animals for food. Some dogs are good therapy dogs. These dogs are friendly and gentle. They can provide comfort to people in hospitals and nursing homes. Rescue dogs, such as Saint Bernards and bloodhounds, have a keen sense of smell that helps them search for missing persons. The large Newfoundland breed has saved people from the water. Many shipwrecked passengers and sailors have been saved off the coast of Newfoundland alone. In 1815 a Newfoundland rescued Napoleon Bonaparte as he escaped from the island of Elba. The general had been knocked overboard by rough seas, but the dog kept him

afloat until he could reach safety. How were these breeds developed to have such special skills? Over the years people have noticed various dogs that demonstrated certain physical or behavioral characteristics. They bred these dogs with other dogs that demonstrated the same traits. Generations of litters later, we have dogs with the desired look and behavior. But who was it that placed the genetic potential for such a wide range of physical characteristics in these animals in the first place? None other than the Creator Himself. Maybe God did it because He knew we humans would need a companion that could assist us in difficult situations, detect harmful substances, guard us, protect our animals, rescue us, and love us. What a great pet! What an awesome God! 

YOUR SENSITIVE PET Whereas humans have 5 million cells for the sense of smell, dogs have many more. A dachshund, for instance, has 125 million “sniffer” cells, and a fox terrier has 147 million. The German shepherd (known as the Alsatian in Britain) is referred to as the “sniffer dog.” It has 220 million of these odor-detecting cells in its nose. Dogs don’t see colors as well as humans. However, they see things better from side to side than people do. And unlike humans, they have excellent night vision. Dogs also have superb hearing. They can hear things 250 yards away that most people can’t hear from more than 25 yards away. English Sheepdog

September/October 2010

21


G L O B A L

T R E K

22

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


El Fantasma de La

Llorona

The attackers were about to see a most startling sight.

Los asaltantes estaban por ver una asombrosa aparición. B Y

J U L I A N A

C

M A R Í N

Illustrated by Jeremy Tinder

oncealed by the tall grass, the five boys crouched in the shadows. They were ready to spring on the

girl making her way up the steep, winding stone stairway. The full moon cast an eerie glow on her, but the boys couldn’t see her face.

O

cultados por la hierba alta, los cinco muchachos se escondían en las som-

bras. Estaban preparados para asaltar a la muchacha que venía subiendo las largas y empinadas escaleras de piedra. La luna llena la iluminaba de manera tenebrosa, pero los muchachos no lograban verle la cara. September/October 2010

23


G L O B A L

T R E K

Suddenly one of the boys gasped and crossed himself. The figure was veiled head to toe in long, dark robes that flowed behind her in the wind. Her face was hooded—or was it that she had no face? All five young men began to tremble. Just then the figure stopped, turning straight toward them. She opened her arms wide, and the boys, to their horror, heard the unmistakable sound of desperate weeping. “It’s La Llorona!” one boy screeched. With screams of terror they fled for their lives, calling on the virgin Mary and all the saints. La Llorona supposedly was the ghost of a woman who—as the legend went in Colombia, South America—would sometimes appear to wicked men, wailing for her murdered children. But now, on this night, La Llorona was left standing alone. A cloud hid the moon, and in the darkness she smiled.

De repente, uno de los jóvenes jadeó y se santiguó. La figura que subía estaba cubierta con un largo velo oscuro que oscilaba tras ella en el viento. Su rostro estaba encapuchado, o sería . . . ¿que no tenía rostro? Los cinco jóvenes comenzaron a temblar. Justo en ese momento la figura se detuvo, y se dio vuelta encarándolos. Abrió los brazos completamente, y los muchachos, horrorizados, oyeron el sonido inconfundible de un llanto desesperado. “¡Es La Llorona!”, chilló uno de los muchachos. Con gritos de pavor huyeron por sus vidas, mientras rezaban a la Virgen y a todos los santos. La Llorona era supuestamente el fantasma de una mujer quien, según la leyenda en Colombia, Sudamérica, se le aparecía llorando por el asesinato de sus hijos a los hombres malvados. Y ahora, en esa noche, La Llorona quedó sola. Una nube ocultó la luna, y ella sonrió en la oscuridad.

The boys fled for their lives.

E

T

l día siguiente en la tienda del barrio oí por casualidad a uno de los muchachos que contaba su historia. “Su rostro era una calavera ¡con ojos ardientes! Tenía grandes alas como las de un murciélago, ¡y sus manos eran sólo huesos ensangrentados!” Quienes lo rodeaban se santiguaron.

he next day at the neighborhood store I overheard one of the boys telling his story. “Her face was a skull, with burning eyes! She had great wings like a bat, and her hands were only bloody bones!”

24

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


Reí disimuladamente y miré debajo de mi brazo. No habían alas de murciélago. La piel de mi rostro y de mis manos también estaban bien. No dudé que ese muchacho había visto cosas raras. La luz de la luna, las drogas y el temor habían jugado una parte en esto. Sí, yo fui La Llorona esa noche. No fue mi intención serlo, pero cuando vi a los asaltantes que esperaban, hice lo primero que se me vino a la mente. Normalmente no caminaba sola por ese lugar a esas horas de la noche. Había salido de una reunión, se me había hecho tarde, y había perdido el último bus. La reunión se realizó en una sinagoga para los judíos que creen en Jesús: y por eso vestía un velo y vestido largo. Al ir a casa me había preocupado un poco por quién podría encontrar. Debo confesar, que la leyenda de La Llorona y otras apariciones me habían pasado por la mente también, aunque no creo en esas cosas. Ahora sé que se puede engañar fácilmente a las personas de mentes supersticiosas. También sé que el diablo y sus ángeles pueden simular “apariciones”. Pero me fortalezco al recordar este versículo de la Biblia: “El temor del hombre pondrá lazo; mas el que confía en Jehová será exaltado” (Proverbios 29:25, RVR1960).*

Los jóvenes huyeron por sus vidas.

September/October 2010

25

*Las porciones marcadas como “RVR1960” son tomadas de la versión Reina-Valera 1960 Copyright © 1960 Sociedades Bíblicas en América Latina; Copyright © renovado 1988 Sociedades Bíblicas Unidas. Usado con permiso.

Those crowded around crossed themselves. I smothered a snicker and peeked under my arm. No bat wings there. The skin on my face and hands was just fine, too. Still, I had no doubt that the boy had seen strange things. The moonlight, drugs, and fear had all played a part. Yes, I’d been La Llorona that night. I hadn’t intended to be, but when I’d seen the attackers lying in wait, I had done the first thing that came to mind. I normally wouldn’t walk around that area alone at that hour, but I’d been at a meeting. It had run so late that I’d missed the last bus. The meeting was at a synagogue for Jews who believe in Jesus; that’s why I’d worn a veil and long dress. Walking home, I’d worried a little about whom I might encounter. I must admit, the legend of La Llorona and other haunts had crossed my mind too, even though I don’t believe in that stuff. Now I know that superstitious minds are easy to play tricks on. I also realize that the devil and his evil angels can fake a ghostly “haunting.” But I grow in courage when I recall this Bible verse: “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe” (Proverbs 29:25).


BY MELANIE BOCKMANN

What’s Up With Ghosts? Some people believe that ghosts haunt houses and try to communicate with us from beyond the grave. You may have seen “ghosts” on TV or in movies. But are ghosts really . . . real? Did you know that Jesus’ followers (disciples) thought Jesus was a ghost—twice? (Check out Matthew 14 and Luke 24 for the stories.) Both times Jesus reassured His shaken followers that they didn’t need to be afraid. The following activities will help you learn the real deal about “ghosts.” 1. Put the words of Matthew 14:27 in order to find Jesus’ message to his disciples when they saw Him walking on water and thought He was a ghost: Word Bank: it don’t be courage is take I afraid Message: “_______ ___________! ____ ____ ____. _______ ____ _________.” 2. The Bible mentions two types of supernatural beings in Romans 8:38. What are they? Unscramble the letters below to find out: SLEGAN __ __ __ __ __ __ (beings of light who are God’s messengers) MEDSNO __ __ __ __ __ __ (evil angels who do the work of Satan) So where do ghosts fit in? Even though the Bible doesn’t say that ghosts are demons, it makes sense. Why? Because the Bible teaches that dead people sleep until Jesus wakes them up (1 Thessalonians 4:13-19) and they don’t come back from the grave to float around or haunt people (Job 7:9, 10). Second Corinthians 11:14 says that Satan sometimes pretends to be an angel of light. If he can do that, it would be easy for him to masquerade as a dead loved one, a scary creature, a ghost—well, you get the idea. Sure, there are some scary things in this world. But here’s the good news: God is bigger, stronger, and more powerful than anything else you’ll ever encounter. And He’s on your side!

26

w w w.RealM agazin e On lin e .org


Suppertime Sillies Have you ever been scared of something that turned out to be nothing? Have each person at the table share a funny story about his or her experience.

zle

6

When You Feel Afraid What to doeach if ofyou feel afraid... Unscramble the clue words from “What’s(James Up With Ghosts?” Place the numbered letters in the boxes at the bottom to learn what the Bible says to do 4:7) instead of fearing satanic powers. (Answers on p. 30)

UnscramblePuzzle eachcreated of thewith cluePuzzlemaker words. from Discovery Channel School (puzzlemaker.discoveryeducation.com). Copy the letters in the numbered cells to other cells with the same number. Created by Puzzlemaker at DiscoveryEducation.com

September/October 2010

27


G O D

G od’s

A T

W O R K

provisi

A

on m a t c h e d th e famil y’s

need .

Heaven l B Y

J U L I E

M C C L I N T O C K

28

W A L K E R

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


I

t was dark, and it was late—a pretty bad time to be sitting alongside the road with car trouble!

Mom looked at Dad and asked, “What do you think is wrong with the car, Frank?” Dad shrugged his shoulders and stared out into the dark night. “I don’t have a clue. It just quit running.” Worried thoughts raced through his mind. What shall we do? We’re many miles from home. It’s late. Who would have room for a family of six to ride with them? Should I try to get a ride to the nearest town? I don’t

want to leave Mom and the children here alone in the dark! “What are we going to do, Dad?” The children’s voices added to the concerns already expressed by Mom. “Well, kids, I don’t know exactly. But I do know that the first thing we should do is pray. It’s amazing how God has a way of working things out when we ask Him.” Everyone bowed their heads while Dad prayed earnestly that God would protect them and send someone to help them with this late-night dilemma. “And,

ly Ride September/October 2010

29


G O D

A T

W O R K

ling. “I’m driving a limousine!” What fun it was to climb into the luxurious car! The children were delighted. “Just wait till we get to school! I’ll bet we’ll be the only kids there who have ridden in a limbosene,” Andy whispered. “It’s not a limbosene, it’s a limousine,” big sister Carol giggled. Each of the children had a whole big seat to themselves. “This is really great!” Brian smiled as they rode along in the limousine. “Pretty amazing how God answered Dad’s prayer!” “And it’s pretty amazing that this man came to help us so fast,” Carol commented. “It was only a few minutes after we prayed.” “You’re right, Carol,” Brian agreed. “It reminds me of the Bible verse we learned last week: ‘Before they call, I will answer; and while they are yet speaking, I will hear’ (Isaiah 65:24, KJV).” Dad and the stranger, whose name was Fred, talked for a while. Then Dad announced to the family, “Fred is going to drive us to Hermiston. From there we can call someone to bring the church van and pick us up.” Everyone was so grateful to God that Fred and his limousine had arrived just when the family needed him. Who knows? Maybe you will be the answer to someone’s prayer today! 

“Having car problems?”

30

Answers: God’s Promise for Tough Times, p. 16: “God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’” When You Feel Afraid, p. 27: ghost, Jesus, scary, Bible, disciples, afraid, water, walk, courage, grave, angels, demons; “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you” (James 4:7).

please, dear Lord, send us someone with a car big enough so we can all fit in.” The children sat quietly after Dad closed his prayer. “Let’s sit here for a little bit and see what God might do to work this out,” Mom suggested. A few minutes passed as they sat in the quiet darkness. Everyone was startled to see headlights pull up behind them. “I hope it’s someone who can help us,” commented Mom prayerfully. Dad opened the car door and stepped out. The driver of the other vehicle walked toward him. “Having car problems?” the stranger questioned. “We sure are,” Dad replied. “The trouble is, I don’t have any idea what kind of problem we’re having. The car just quit on us.” “Well,” the stranger answered, “I doubt there is anything I can do for you out here in the dark. I could give you a ride into the next town, if that would help.” “Would you possibly have room for my family, too?” Dad hardly dared to ask. After all, how many people driving down the road have room to add six passengers? The stranger laughed. “Just so happens that I do! Get your family, and let’s be on our way.” Dad instructed the family to get out and come with him. “Yep, I have plenty of room,” the stranger said, chuck-

wwwww.g w.RealM u ide magazin agazin eeOn .org lin e .org


During the eighteenth century fingernails were called flesh-spades— digging tools built right into the fingers. —Abracadabra to Zombie

Plenty for everyon e There are about a million billion ants alive on Earth today—168,000 ants for every human.—Big

PAID

Hagerstown, MD Permit No. 261

Walk ab ove the m uck In ancient Roman cities the streets had crosswalks made of stepping stones so people crossing the street would not have to step in the filthy roadway. The bumps also slowed down carts.—Living History

All w rapp e d up The traditional Japanese kimono is so complex that it can take an hour or more to dress a child in one.—How People Live

Numbers

TV m un chie s Children who watch television during meals eat 6 percent more meat; 5 percent more pizza, salty snacks, and soft drinks; and 5 percent fewer vegetables and fruits. —Get a Healthy Weight for Your Child

REVIEW AND HERALD® PUBLISHING ASSOCIATION 55 WEST OAK RIDGE DRIVE HAGERSTOWN, MD 21740

D o yo u d i g th at?

Nonprofit Organization U.S. Postage

COMPILED BY JANE CHASE ILLUSTRATED BY DEAN MAC ADAM


Real