Page 17

Climate & Seasons


Costa Rica is a tropical country located between two oceans--the Pacific and the Atlantic—with a complex geography which makes for varied climatic conditions and a variety of life zones ranging from tropical dry forest to high altitude moors. Generally the temperature varies between 14 and 32 degrees Centigrade (50 to 90 degrees Fahrenheit) depending on your altitude.

Costa Rica has a population of 4,016,000 inhabitants (according to the 2005), distributed in the seven provinces which make up the country: San Jose, Alajuela, Heredia, Cartago, Guanacaste, Puntarenas and Limon. The capital is located in the province of San Jose, which is the most populous of all. The population is largely of Spanish and mestizo descent.

Even though there are not definite seasons and the climate in each region is relatively stable during the year, there are slight climatic changes depending on if it is the “summer” (the dry season) or “winter” (the rainy or “green” season). The dry season is usually from December to April, and the green season is from May to November. The Atlantic coast is an exception, with the driest weather in March and April and again in September and October

Language Spanish is the official language, however some regions have their own languages—in Limon, a Creole English called Mekatelyu is spoken, along with other indigenous languages like Brbri and Cabecar. In other regions, indigenous groups like the Gnabe or Guaymi, as well as the Boruca, have also preserved their own languages.

Tarifario Vesatours  

Tarifario para agencia de viajes mayorista en Costa Rica Vesatours