DOORS OPEN WATERLOO REGION 2013 Event Map & Guide Waterloo Region Modern Saturday, Sept. 21, 2013 • 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Free Admission to All Sites
Waterloo Region Modern is the Doors Open Waterloo Region 2013 theme, but as always the full line-up is a mix of heritage and new buildings. This is one of the 11 theme sites: The Mike & Ophelia Lazaridis Quantum-Nano Centre at the University of Waterloo. In this guide find maps and a detailed listing for each participating site. Most sites will open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., but several will have shorter hours; please read the individual listings carefully.
Waterloo Region Modern Doors Open Waterloo Region (DOWR) always includes interesting modern architecture. This year we’re making a theme of it – Waterloo Region Modern. Eleven of the 42 DOWR 2013 sites, spanning the last 55 years, fit into this theme. And the theme sites are not just interesting on the outside; all are worth exploring inside. That’s what Doors Open is all about. The 31 other sites include many first-time
Map & Guide Saturday, Sept. 21, 2013
participants and some popular sites from past events. Whether you favour buildings from the 19th, 20th or 21st century, you’ll discover great places to go behind-the-scenes during
The 11th annual Doors Open Waterloo Region (DOWR) will open doors at 42 participating sites. Admission is free.
Use this guide to plan your visits.
Some sites will offer talks, walks, guided tours
On the third Saturday every September, thousands of visitors tour noteworthy buildings, interesting places and heritage sites in Waterloo Region, many of which are not regularly open to the public.
listings carefully, and take parking availability
Since the first DOWR in 2003, well over 200 sites have opened their doors for nearly 100,000 visits. Last year, the 37 participating sites saw 13,845 visits.
Talks, Walks and More or performances at specific times. Read the site and special site instructions into account when scheduling your day. Also, look for the “Modern Architecture”, “Talk” and “Walk” symbols on the site listings inside.
Guided tours will be offered at The Centre In The Square, Galt Arena Gardens and Laepple Organic Farm at specific times indicated in the site listings. Other sites are providing guided
call 519-747-5139 firstname.lastname@example.org www.regionofwaterloo.ca/doorsopen
tours throughout the day.
Live performances, workshops, etc. are listed for these sites: The Button Factory / Waterloo Community Arts Centre (Waterloo), St. Mark’s Lutheran Church (Kitchener), Former Berlin Fire Station No. 2 / Station 2 Studios (Kitchener),
@DoorsOpenWR Doors Open Waterloo Region website
First Mennonite Church / Primera Iglesia Doors Open Waterloo Region Facebook page
Menonita (Kitchener), St. James Wilmot Church and Cemetery (Wilmot Township) and St. George’s Anglican Church (Wilmot Township).
In the weeks leading up to Sept. 21, visit our website and Facebook page for additional event listings.
1820 Log Schoolhouse (Site 7) 11 a.m. TALK A Biography of the 1820 Log Schoolhouse Seating available for 40. More than just a school, discover how the story of this little log building connects to the Mennonites, the Underground Railroad and two local cities. Followed by a Q&A session. St. Mark’s Lutheran Church (Site 11) 1 p.m. TALK/DEMONSTRATION How a Pipe Organ Works – Hear and see a demonstration on the Casavant pipe organ, explaining the mechanics and pneumatics behind the music. Presented by a member of the Royal Canadian College of Organists. The Centre In The Square (Site 16) 1 p.m. TALK Join architect David Thompson for a talk about this remarkable building’s design, construction and renovation. The Walper Hotel (Site 19) 1 p.m. TALK A Corner of Time* – Seating available for 60. Gather in the Queen Elizabeth Suite to hear historian rych mills give a new variation of his popular illustrated talk, A Corner of Time, bringing to life two centuries of this corner of King and Queen Streets. * With rych’s apologies to Phil Jenkins, and in recognition of Phil’s 1996 book, An Acre of Time. Greenfield Village (Site 40) 10 a.m. / 2 p.m. / 4 p.m. WALK Greenfield Village Heritage Walking Tour Limited to the first 25 arrivals. Sturdy footwear recommended. Greenfield, soon to be considered for a Heritage Conservation District designation, is a relatively intact 19th century mill village in a historic, park-like setting. On this guided walk see many buildings associated with the Goldie Milling Company, including the six-storey, historic Goldie Mill near the Nith River. rare ECO Centre (Site 36) 2 p.m. HIKE Grand River Hike – Limited to the first 20 arrivals. Sturdy footwear recommended. Enjoy a guided hike along rare’s trail on the Grand River; see an osprey nesting area, an archaeological site and more.
Taking Pictures? Will you be taking your camera along? Join the Doors Open Waterloo Region Flickr group and share your favourite Doors Open photos: www.flickr.com/groups/dowr/ Through Flickr you can also enter your best shots in the Doors Open Ontario 2013 Digital Photo Contest. Visit www.doorsopenontario.on.ca for details.
Planning Your Visits There are Doors Open sites in Waterloo, Kitchener and Cambridge, and in Wilmot and North Dumfries Townships (DOWR 2014 will feature Woolwich and Wellesley Townships). Some sites will require more travel than others, but you’ll find all of them well worth a visit. Consult a detailed map, as not all roads are shown in our guide. Consider travel times, tour times and talk times in your planning. Visit www.regionofwaterloo.ca/doorsopen for downloadable DOWR maps, listings of child-friendly DOWR sites, feedback forms, touring tips, tourism links, special events and more.
Travelling by Bus Grand River Transit (GRT) is a great way to get to many of the sites, and we’ve included bus routes on our maps. GRT is also offering a special Family Day Pass for Doors Open travel on all regular routes! For more detailed bus route, schedule and day pass information and maps, please call 519-585-7555 or visit www.grt.ca.
Thank You Since its debut, Doors Open Waterloo Region has owed its success to well over 200 participating sites, many hundreds of volunteers, and tens of thousands of visitors. The event is funded by the Region of Waterloo and supported by several other generous event sponsors. Doors Open Waterloo Region especially thanks The Waterloo Region Record for 11 years of partnership and support.
T h a n k Yo u To O u r G e n e r o u s S p o n s o r s A n d P a r t n e r s Presenting Sponsor:
Waterloo Region Museum Explore 12,000 years of Waterloo Region’s past and present
Stories that connect us...
Doon Heritage Village Stroll our picturesque 60-acre living history village that interprets life in Waterloo Region in the year 1914 Admission includes museum & village. For information regarding hours and special events visit our website or call 519-748-1914.
10 Huron Rd., Kitchener ON N2P 2R7 | Tel: 519-748-1914 | www.waterlooregionmuseum.com
Site Listings Legend The site has its own adjacent parking. Sites without this symbol have on-street parking or a public parking lot nearby
Partially Accessible Washrooms
Guided Tours Self Guided Tours
Talk Walk Green Building Modern Architecture Theme Site
Key routes as marked; 519-585-7555 or www.grt.ca for information
FIRST MENNONITE CHURCH Primera Iglesia Menonita
Join us for Doors Open 2013 at 252 Dundas St. N. Cambridge
200th Anniversary and Homecoming Weekend – Sept 27 to 29, 2013
Check our website for further details: www.firstmennonitekitchener.ca 800 King Street East, Kitchener, Ontario 519.744.6574 email@example.com
Special Anniversary Service – Sept 29 Guest Speaker – Janet Plenert
1. The Mike & Ophelia Lazaridis Quantum-Nano Centre 200 University Ave. W., Waterloo – UW Ring Road (west drive) Free Doors Open Parking: UW Lot M, enter from Columbia St. W. https://uwaterloo.ca/mike-ophelia-lazaridis-quantum-nano-centre/ Architect: KPMB Architects. Year Built: 2012 Explore this remarkable building at the University of Waterloo; a state-of-the-art research centre and an architectural marvel. Shared by the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) and the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN), it is the ideal environment for researchers to unlock the amazing power of quantum information science and the boundless potential of nanotechnology. The groundbreaking discoveries that happen here will continue the University of Waterloo’s long tradition of research excellence and drive innovation into the 21st century. 2. University of Waterloo Student Design Centre 200 University Ave. W., Waterloo – UW Ring Road (east drive) Free Doors Open Parking: UW Lot B, enter from Phillip St. https://uwaterloo.ca/student-design-centre/ Architect: Perkins + Will. Year Built: 2010 Tour the Student Design Centre (SDC), where over twenty engineering student teams design and build projects ranging from alternative-fuels vehicles to aquaponic farming technologies. With ten work bays, a machine shop, test labs, meeting rooms and a 3D-printing facility, the SDC encourages collaboration and shared expertise. The SDC occupies two floors of the striking Engineering 5 building, with its prismatic exterior and six-storey atrium. In addition to the SDC, the building also houses research, teaching, and administrative space for Waterloo’s computer, electrical, mechanical, mechatronics and systems design engineering programs. 3. OpenText 275 Frank Tompa Dr., David Johnston Research + Technology Park, Waterloo www.opentext.com Architect: Robertson Simmons Architects (Tower 1); SRM Architects (Tower 2). Year Built: 2005; 2011 OpenText, Canada largest software company and a global leader in Enterprise Information Management, has its headquarters within the David Johnston Research + Technology Park. Tower 1 provides a striking skyline silhouette with reflective curtain wall glazing and metal panel construction. Tower 2 connects with Tower 1 via a sky bridge and features R&D collaboration spaces. The 4th floor of Tower 2 is compelling, incorporating smart technology with colorful design. Guided tours will enable visitors to appreciate the look and feel of modern architecture and design. 4. Brubacher House Museum Frank Tompa Dr., west end, David Johnston Research + Technology Park, Waterloo Year Built: 1850; 1970s renovation This Mennonite fieldstone farmhouse is a historic gem couched within the modern Research + Technology Park at the University of Waterloo. Enjoy guided tours of the Brubacher family’s multi-level home and furnishings, led by knowledgeable interpreters. A thirteen-minute DVD presentation will conclude the tour. Come experience what life was like when this area of Waterloo was farmland! 5. Waterloo Regional Police Service, North Division 45 Columbia St. E., Waterloo www.wrps.on.ca Architect: Rebanks Pepper Littlewood Architects. Year Built: 2013 The division is responsible for policing services in Waterloo and a large section of Kitchener. The Region of Waterloo purchased the property in 2009, and construction began in 2011. The building is modelled after police facilities recently built elsewhere in Ontario, but is customized for the needs of the Waterloo Regional Police Service and the public. It contains a large, state-of-the-art community room for use by local groups, and was designed to meet LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) environmental sustainability standards. Note: parking available, but somewhat limited. 6. Waterloo Masjid 213 Erb St. W., Waterloo www.waterloomasjid.com Year Built: 1984 Everyone is welcome! Waterloo Masjid features a prominent minaret and a bright, beautiful prayer hall under a domed skylight. Interactive guided tours, an Islamic poster exhibition and Islamic documentary screenings throughout the day, along with free tasty snacks and gifts. A great site to visit for the whole family. 7. 1820 Log Schoolhouse in Waterloo Park, enter from Young St. entrance, first parking lot www.logschoolhouse.blogspot.ca Year Built: 1820 The log schoolhouse, recently heritage designated, has only been in Waterloo Park since 1894. Where did it come from, and why did it come to the park? More than just a school, discover how the story of this little log building connects to the Mennonites, the Underground Railroad and two local cities. At 11 a.m. come for a 30-minute illustrated talk, A Biography of the 1820 Log Schoolhouse, followed by a Q&A (seating for 40). 8. The Clay and Glass 25 Caroline St. N., Waterloo www.theclayandglass.ca Architect: Patkau Architects, Vancouver. Year Built: 1992-1993 A premier exhibition space dedicated to exhibiting, interpreting and collecting contemporary clay, glass and enamel artwork. Education programs offer art classes for children and youth, workshops, tours and lectures, making The Clay and Glass a dynamic place for learning and exploring. The Gallery Shop showcases artists’ work from across Canada. Awarded a Governor General’s Medal in Architecture in 1997, it is one of six Waterloo Region buildings that have earned this highest of Canadian architecture honours. 9. The Button Factory / Waterloo Community Arts Centre 25 Regina St. S., Waterloo www.buttonfactoryarts.ca Year Built: 1886 This former factory, a very successful adaptive reuse, retains many original architectural features including its numerous windows, which create a beautifully bright interior. Richard Roschman’s button manufacturing company was in operation here until 1944. The building has been home to the Waterloo Community Arts Centre since 1993. A free Family Mapping Workshop will take place 11 a.m.-4 p.m. during Doors Open. 10. CEI Studio 42 Erb St. E., Waterloo www.CreativeEnterprise.ca A “win-win” collaboration between Creative Enterprise Initiative (CEI) and land developers, the Studio is a former LCBO store slated for future redevelopment that boasts 5,000 sq. ft. of prime downtown real estate re-purposed into 12 studios, event spaces, a community art gallery, and a workshop space. Doors Open visitors will enjoy tenants’ work and work-inprogress in the galleries, and the studios will be open to meet the painters, photographers, performers, pottery teachers and arts website developers. Support your local artists: original art is available for purchase. 11. St. Mark’s Lutheran Church 825 King St. W., Kitchener www.stmarkskw.org Architect: B.A. Jones. Year Built: 1938 With its handsome hammer-beam wood panelled ceiling, this English gothic style church is a showplace of local craftsmanship: construction by Ball Brothers, design by Bernal Jones, woodwork by the Interior Hardwood Co., and windows by Bullas Glass (among others). See original architectural drawings, historic photos, quilted banners, and artifacts (some from the 1938 cornerstone). 10 a.m.-3 p.m., on-the-hour recitals on the Casavant organ by Royal Canadian College of Organists members. 1 p.m. talk and demonstration: How a Pipe Organ Works. For a description of the talk, see the front of this guide. Refreshments all day. Celebrating 100 years as a congregation. 12. Former Berlin Fire Station No. 2 / Station 2 Studios 318 Duke St. W., Kitchener www.station2studios.ca Year Built: 1913-1914 Enjoy views of the city from atop the 75-foot hose-drying tower of this 100-year-old former fire station, now a live/work building. Horses stabled here until the 1920s pulled firefighting equipment that served Kitchener’s factory district (some of the factories are participating 2013 Doors Open sites). Along with the tower, the third-floor loft and groundfloor dance studio, art studio, and workshop will be open. Dance demonstrations in the studio at 11 a.m., 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. 13. The Breithaupt Block 51 Breithaupt St., Kitchener www.perimeterdevelopment.com Architect: Robertson Simmons Architects (renovation) Year Built: 1903; 1908-1955 additions; 2011-2013 renovation An adaptive re-use of several downtown industrial buildings into brick-and-beam office space, The Breithaupt Block’s oldest buildings were built as rubber footwear factories. Auto parts were produced here from the 1950s to 2008. Over 1200 tonnes of machinery have been removed and 130,000 sq. ft. has been renovated, including new windows, electrical and mechanical systems, washrooms, elevators and courtyards. The project, now in the leasing stage, is attracting significant tenant interest. 14. Former Rumpel Felt Factory 60 Victoria St. N., Kitchener Year Built: 1913; 1942; 1962; 1968 Take a rare opportunity to walk the 100-year-old factory floors and see the second-floor office; visit with David Rumpel who will describe the factory in its heyday; see a vintage video of the Rumpel plant at work; study industrial details of a bygone era such as the original boilers and riveted shear-plate column construction. From 1875 to 2008 – spanning most of Kitchener’s downtown industrial history – four generations of the Rumpel family operated felt manufacturing plants on this block. One of two participating sites representing Kitchener’s manufacturing history, this unique place awaits its transformation. Park behind the factory. 15. Green Gables Guest House 189 Queen St. N., Kitchener www.greengablesguesthouse.ca Year Built: c.1910 Marble fireplaces, 10-foot-high beamed ceilings, cherry panelling, a beautiful broad staircase, inlaid hardwood floors, original silk damask wall panels and rich woodwork are a sampling of what awaits visitors to this Tudor revival house. Distinctive for its prominent stone chimneys and steep gabled roof, it is a recipient of the Mike Wagner Heritage Award for the preservation of heritage in Kitchener.
16. The Centre In The Square 101 Queen St. N. Kitchener www.centre-square.com Architect: Rieder Hymmen and Lobban. Year built: 1980 OPEN 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. One of Canada’s largest performing arts venues, The Centre has exemplary acoustics thanks to the pioneering work of celebrated acoustical engineer Russell Johnson. Kitchener’s prominent modernist architect Carl Rieder provided the bold building design. Backstage tours, every 30 minutes from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., will explain acoustics and stage operations, and allow visitors to experience one of North America’s largest stages from a performer’s perspective. Lobby and auditorium tours continue until 3 p.m.; at 1 p.m. join architect David Thompson for a talk about the Centre’s design, construction and recent lobby renovation. 17. Waterloo County Gaol and Governor’s House 77 Queen St. N., Kitchener Architect: Mellish and Russell, Brantford (Gaol); D.W. Gingerich, Waterloo (GH). Year Built: 1852-1853 (Gaol); 1878 (GH) These are Doors Open Waterloo Region favourites; in fact, the oldest Waterloo County buildings in existence have participated in Doors Open every year since the first event in 2003. Both were saved from an uncertain fate by community action. The heritage exteriors are now designated and the interiors are excellent examples of adaptive re-use. The massive, granite Gaol houses Provincial Offences courtrooms. The stately Victorian Governor’s House is used for court offices and public meetings. The vibrant Waterloo County Gaol Garden is worth a look. Access is by guided tour only, approximately one hour. 18. Waterloo Region Courthouse 85 Frederick St., Kitchener Architect: NORR Architects. Year Built: 2013 See inside the new courthouse that brings together the Ontario and Superior Courts of Justice under one roof, and learn about its function, technology, architecture and custom-built spaces. The building occupies 3.3 acres and contains thirty courtrooms. Building materials, and the many curvilinear interior design elements, take the Grand River as inspiration. The courthouse achieved a LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Silver rating for environmental sustainability. Note: visitors are required to pass through an airport-type security checkpoint to see this building; please allow time for this when planning your visit.
19. The Walper Hotel 20 Queen St. S. Kitchener www.walper.com Architect: Jonas Knechtel Year Built: 1893; 1925 (5th floor/Crystal Ballroom) OPEN 10 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. It’s the 120th anniversary of this landmark hotel where Eleanor Roosevelt enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard, and Louis Armstrong played his trumpet on the King Street balcony. Doors Open visitors and hotel guests alike will be treated to a mixture of history and modern comfort as they tour the Crystal Ballroom (where Lennox Lewis once fought), suites enjoyed by royalty and by leaders in culture and the arts, the Barrister’s Lounge and Oak Room, and courtyards. At 1 p.m. in the Queen Elizabeth Suite hear historian rych mills give a new variation of his popular illustrated talk, A Corner of Time, bringing two centuries of this corner of King and Queen Streets to life (seating for 60). 20. Highland Baptist Church 135 Highland Rd. W., Kitchener www.highlandbaptist.ca
Architect: Carl Rieder (Barnett and Rieder Architects). Year Built: 1958
Built by the King Street Baptist Church congregation, Highland Baptist was designed by Kitchener’s prominent modernist architect Carl Rieder, also a church member. The north facade of this exemplary mid-century building has strong vertical elements set against its overall horizontal massing and entry walkway canopy. The sanctuary is the focus of the building, and is virtually unchanged from its original design. Its north “wall” is floor-to-ceiling glass and stained glass, providing a very open-feeling interior. In the south wall, a beautiful, irregular arrangement of small “punched” stained glass windows dapple the space with coloured light.
21. First Mennonite Church / Primera Iglesia Menonita 800 King St. E., Kitchener www.FirstMennoniteKitchener.ca Year Built: 1902; 1927; 1950; 1985 Participate in the 200th anniversary celebrations of Waterloo County’s first church building. Learn about its evolution from the 1813 log meetinghouse that stood on this site to the current simple sanctuary typical of early-1900s Mennonite churches. Take a guided tour of the area’s oldest cemetery, which includes the grave markers of Kitchener’s earliest non-native settlers (the site was part of the Benjamin Eby farmstead). Light refreshments served all day. Join congregants for a traditional hymn sing, 2-3 p.m. 22. Conestoga Engineering and Information Technology Campus 850 Fountain St. S., Cambridge www.conestogac.on.ca Architect: WalterFedy / du Toit Allsopp Hillier Architects Year Built: 2011 Conestoga’s new Engineering and Information Technology Campus is a certified LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) building that houses innovative technology labs, the Craig Richardson Institute of Food Processing pilot plant, and a large welding shop. Designed to minimize its environmental impact, the campus features open public spaces and large windows that allow plenty of natural light into hallways, classrooms and labs. Natural materials such as wood, stone and glass are given a clean, modern treatment. Guided tours will include the food processing plant, the architecture and interior design labs, and more. 23. Islamic Centre of Cambridge 1550 Dunbar Rd., Cambridge www.iccambridge.com Architect: Guido E. Laikve. Year Built: 1992; 2004 OPEN 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Everyone is welcome to the Centre, a good example of Islamic architecture in a modern style. The building, with its majestic dome and minaret, houses both a mosque and a school. Visit the beautiful, spacious and bright multi-level prayer hall. Interactive guided tours will be offered throughout the day, along with family activities, gifts, tasty snacks and Islamic movies. 24. Gore Mutual Insurance Company 252 Dundas St. N., Cambridge www.goremutual.ca Architect: Marani Lawson and Morris; Marani and Morris; Mark Musselman McIntyre and Combe. Year Built: 1935; 1955; 1974 Back by popular demand for a second consecutive year, the historic Gore Mutual Insurance Company’s Neoclassical Revival style landmark head office features an impressive exterior of locally-supplied granite fieldstone and a beautiful interior where floors, walls, doorways and trim are finished in at least four types of marble. Other original details include wood trim, decorative plaster ceilings and mouldings, and artwork pertaining to the history of the firm. The 1955 addition also features fieldstone and marble. 25. Galt Arena Gardens 98 Shade St., Cambridge Architect: F.C. Bodley. Year Built: 1922 Said to be the oldest continually operating indoor hockey arena in existence, it was described in 1922 in the Galt Reporter as “one of the finest skating and hockey palaces to be found in the fair Dominion.” The Edwardian style, Art Deco influenced exterior is limestone and brick. Inside, the gorgeous original BC red fir ceiling with clerestory windows that spans the ice is a must-see. Large-scale painted murals and many artifacts from the arena’s past are on display, including vintage seating, signage, ice flooding equipment, and more. Drop in, or take a guided tour at 11 a.m., 1:30 p.m. or 3:30 p.m. to learn about the historical “anatomy” of this celebrated arena! 26. Col. J.A. McIntosh, DSO, ED Armoury 1 Valour Pl., Cambridge Architect: David Ewart, Chief Architect’s Branch, Department of Public Works. Year Built: 1914 Home of the Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada, this remarkable Recognized Federal Heritage Building contains one of the best-preserved heritage interiors in Waterloo Region, including original ceiling beams, panelling, mouldings, baseboards, picture rails, doors, wood staircases, leaded-glass transoms, built in cabinetry, flooring, and a large drill hall flooded with natural light. The Regimental history displays in its museum preserve Waterloo Region’s military heritage. 27. Dickson Public School 65 St. Andrews St., Cambridge http://dks.wrdsb.on.ca OPEN 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Architect: William Scott. Year Built: 1876 One of the oldest schools in Waterloo Region, Dickson will be closing in 2014, and this will be one of the last chances to see inside the school. The heritage landmark contains eight classrooms and a full basement. Six large and beautiful windows in each classroom provide lots of natural light. The symmetrical façade of neatlycoursed cut limestone is topped by a detailed wood cornice. The distinctive bell tower was added in 1887. 28. McDougall Cottage 89 Grand Ave. S., Cambridge www.regionofwaterloo.ca/mcd Year built: c.1858 A one-of-a-kind heritage gem, inside and out, McDougall Cottage is a vernacular matched grey granite and local limestone cottage with spectacular hand-painted friezes, trompe l’oeil ceilings and a charming wee garden. An interpretive centre for the Scottish culture, it presents regular lectures and workshops, a very popular musician-in-residence program, kitchen ceilidhs, Tartan Teas, Scotch tastings, and more. During Doors Open enjoy the in-house exhibition “Paint the Grand”, showcasing Grand River views recently painted en plein air. 29. Middleton Water Pumping Station 50 Middleton St., Cambridge Year Built: 1890-1891 Take a rare opportunity to see inside this brick-and-limestone pumping station, built when Galt became the first local community to have a publicly owned waterworks. The pump room and pump house office have changed little in a hundred years, with original ceilings, trim, walls, and other fixtures and artifacts. One pump draws water; decommissioned pumps and motors are still in place and carefully preserved. In 1996 a new facility was built on the same five-acre site, which now handles an average of 21.6 million litres daily – six times the capacity of the original works.
TOWNSHIPS 30. Waterloo Region Emergency Services Training and Research Complex & University of Waterloo Fire Research Lab Gate 3, adjacent to Waterloo Region Waste Management Facility, 1001 Erb’s Rd., Wilmot Township Year Built: 2003 Go behind the scenes at this unusual 40-acre site, where fire, police, and EMS services train, and groundbreaking fire research is conducted. Knowledgeable Conestoga College students will host at the Region’s training grounds where specialized structures and simulations, including a multi-storey burn building and vehicle driver-training track, replicate first-response scenarios. See inside UW’s amazing fire research facility, one of only several like it in the world, where students and faculty study the science of fire – how it starts, behaves, and can be controlled – using everything from full-scale live fire tests to computer simulations. 31. Brookside Equestrian Centre 493 Trussler Rd., Wilmot Township www.brooksideequestriancentre.com Year Built: 1995 Brookside welcomes you to tour our farm. The barn and arena complex houses 32 horses, an indoor arena, wash stalls, tackroom, lounge and office. Enjoy views of our large outdoor riding rings and beautiful, rolling farmland. Offering riding lessons, day camps, boarding and show services to the community for 18 years, come meet our horses and enjoy a visit to the country! 32. Kitchener-Waterloo Gurdwara (Golden Triangle Sikh Association) 2070 Snyder’s Rd. E., Wilmot Township Architect: R. Ritz, Stratford. Year Built: 1983; 2005, 2011 additions
The land for the Gurdwara (Sikh temple) was purchased in 1978, making it a first for a Sikh temple in Ontario. The original temple opened in 1983, with a major addition and renovation in 2005. Another addition is in progress. For Doors Open there will be guided tours through the facility, and snacks will be provided. Places of worship are popular with Doors Open Waterloo Region visitors, and the Gurdwara is a rare and interesting addition to this building category.
33. Laepple Organic Farm 2298 Bleams Rd., Wilmot Township www.laeppleorganic.ca Year Built: 1848, and later The farm, established by the Jutzi family in 1848, is still a traditional family farm producing natural, wholesome foods: grass-fed beef, grain, potatoes, eggs and vegetables. The original bank barn and farmhouse are still in use. Doors Open visitors can tour the farm, and can take a hay wagon ride through the fields at 11 a.m., 1 p.m. or 3 p.m. to learn about how food has been grown here for generations, using different technologies.
34. St. James Wilmot Church and Cemetery 4339 Huron Rd., Wilmot Township Year built: 1854; 1880; 1896 Together with St. George’s (New Hamburg), St. James is celebrating 175 years of Anglican worship in Wilmot Township. The nave, chancel and porch, and bell tower were completed in three stages. St. James features beautiful original stained glass windows, a simple interior, and a working pump organ, all in a quiet, peaceful countryside setting. The 1897 bell has a lovely ring, and Doors Open visitors can take the opportunity to ring it. Come at 3 p.m. to enjoy a recital on the newly restored 1880s pump organ. 35. St. George’s Anglican Church 3 Byron St. (at Waterloo St.), New Hamburg www.stgeorgesnewhamburg.com/ OPEN Noon – 5 p.m. Architect: Frank Darling, Toronto. Year built: 1888 Together with St. James Wilmot, St. George’s is celebrating 175 years of Anglican worship in Wilmot Township. One of many Anglican churches designed by Frank Darling, St. George’s features beautiful Victorian architecture, and is home to a thriving church community. The interior includes traditional church furnishings and historical plaques. The stained glass windows include a roundel, memorials, and an 1894 five-light rainbow window designed by the prominent Robert McCausland studio of Toronto. Come for a live music recital, 1:30-2:30 p.m. 36. rare ECO Centre 768 Blair Rd., North Dumfries Township www.raresites.org Year Built: c.1840s The rare ECO Centre’s newly renovated heritage buildings include the unusual, historic limestone Slit Barn and its companion farmhouse, the Resource House. They are the hub of rare Charitable Research Reserve’s Every Child Outdoors environmental education programs, a community events venue, and one of rare’s trailheads. Along with the nearby North House, these buildings serve rare’s goal of preserving the 900+ acre reserve for future generations through conservation, research and education. Take a guided hike at 2 p.m. sharp, rare ECO Centre trailhead, limited to the first 20 arrivals. 37. North House 681 Blair Rd., North Dumfries Township www.raresites.org Architect: Team North (University of Waterloo; Ryerson and Simon Fraser Universities). Year Built: 2009 Tour the ultra modern North House, a solar powered, fully furnished 800 sq. ft. green housing prototype. Designed by students and faculty from three Canadian universities, it placed fourth out of twenty international entries in the 2009 Solar Decathlon in Washington, D.C. In its new permanent relocation at rare Charitable Research Reserve, it serves as a living laboratory. Along with the nearby rare ECO Centre, this building serves rare’s goal of preserving the 900+ acre reserve for future generations through conservation, research and education.
38. Detweiler Meetinghouse 3445 Roseville Rd., Roseville www.detweilermeetinghouse.ca Year Built: 1855 Careful restorations have returned Detweiler Meetinghouse, Ontario’s only surviving stone Mennonite meetinghouse, to its 1855 appearance, from its Georgian hand-blown glass windows to its original pine floors. Lively acoustics make it attractive as a live performance venue, and it is available for milestone occasions, weddings and reunions. The adjacent historic cemetery is still in use. Stroll the grounds and enjoy this rare and beautiful piece of built heritage in a serene rural setting. 39. Black Horse Corners Heritage Outbuildings 1784 Northumberland St., North Dumfries Township www.home.golden.net/~shadynook/blackhorsecorner.html Architect: Chris Borgal, John Clinckett (renovation) Year Built: 1835-1894 The long-vanished hamlet of Black Horse Corners revolved around the Black Horse Inn (1853-1875). Three heritage outbuildings from that era still exist here at Shadynook Farms, adjacent to the former site of the crossroads village. These include a barn, a smokehouse, and a stone-built former cheese factory of 1835 (designated 1991; renovated 1994). Just a stone’s throw from Detweiler Meetinghouse (site #38)! 40. Greenfield Village Heritage Walking Tour 3185 Greenfield Rd., near Ayr, North Dumfries Township Year Built: 1831-1890 Three guided tours: 10 a.m., 2 p.m., 4 p.m., limited to the first 25 arrivals, meet at 3185 Greenfield Rd. (white house). Sturdy footwear recommended. Greenfield, soon to be considered for the first Heritage Conservation District designation in North Dumfries, is a rarity in Ontario: a relatively intact 19th-century mill village in a historic, park-like setting. Founded by the Goldie family, original Goldie Milling Company buildings still exist along Greenfield’s streetscape. See the six-storey Goldie Mill, the Goldie manor house, workers’ row cottages, and the miller’s house. Behind the main street, hike to the Nith River to see original sluice gates, millpond, earthworks, dam, and lovely river views. 41. Former Canadian Bank of Commerce / Robson Carpenter LLP 10 Northumberland St., Ayr www.rcllp.ca OPEN 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Architect: Darling and Pearson. Year Built: c.1904 The William Rankin Woolen Mill stood here before this Edwardian Classical style bank building, one of many banks across Canada designed by the prolific Darling and Pearson. A Canadian Bank of Commerce branch until 1963, the property was home to the Municipality of Ayr until 1972. Many original interior features have been preserved, and the third floor is a bright and beautiful adaptive renovation. The building is an anchor for the other historic buildings on Northumberland St. in Ayr’s downtown. 42. Former Ayr Carnegie Library / Ayr Financial Services 92 Stanley St., Ayr Architect: W.E. Binning, Listowel. Year Built: 1911 Ayr was the smallest Ontario town awarded a Carnegie grant to build a public library. The Ayr Public Library moved in 2004, but in 2012 Ayr Financial Services completed a creative interior renovation, preserving many heritage features including the facade, interior classical archways, pressed-tin ceilings and stained glass. Come to Ayr and see this excellent adaptive re-use, and its neighbour at 10 Northumberland St.
mcdougall cottage Saturday, September 21
DOors Open 10 am - 5 pm We’re throwing our “Doors Open” for tours of the Cottage, an architectural gem in Cambridge with wonderful decorative friezes and trompe l’òeil ceilings. Sample Scottish oatcakes and bannocks and learn about girdle pans and bannock spades. Take a recipe home with you!
Tis Free and ’tis fun! Visit our purrfect wee garden and view the landscape art of our Paint the Grand participants. Place a bid in our auction. 519-624-8250 89 Grand Ave. S., Cambridge, ON N1S 2L7 www.regionofwaterloo.ca/mcd
HELPING CONESTOGA COLLEGE CONNECT LIFE AND LEARNING FOR OVER 20 YEARS.
ARCHITECTURE ENGINEERING CONSTRUCTION