Page 1

Regent’s Annual Review

2015-16


Confident cosmopolitan connected‌

An inspiring environment and an enterprising education that develops distinctive individuals – alumni who are independent thinkers, prepared to make their mark in the globalised world.


Contents Welcome ........................................................................... 2 Regent’s at a Glance..................................................... 4 Vice Chancellor’s Report............................................. 6 Our Students................................................................... 10 The Year’s Activities......................................................14 Research and Publications........................................ 16 Our Alumni....................................................................... 18 Regent’s on the International Scene.....................22 Financial Summary ......................................................26


2

Welcome Dr Diana Walford CBE, Chair of the Board of Trustees

I am delighted to welcome you to Regent’s University London’s first Annual Review, which presents the successes and challenges for the year 2015/16, and our plans for the future. This review covers the span of my first year as Chair of Regent’s Board of Trustees, which has meant more to me than I could imagine. There are certain things you do in life that lift the spirits; other things less so. You rarely get to choose which one gets the upper hand. I have been very lucky; lucky to have been appointed to chair Regent’s Board of Trustees last year and lucky to have found the experience so congenial. I thought that would be the case, from the description for the role of Chair, which spelled out a seductive vision of what Regent’s is all about – its unique features, its friendliness, cosmopolitan mix of students and staff, its internationalism, its entrepreneurialism, its language teaching and its partnerships and networking to ensure the employability of its graduates. It sounded almost too good to be true. But, as I have found, these characteristics are the ‘real deal’ and are brought to life in the way the University is a genuinely values-driven enterprise. From my first meeting with a delightful group of students, sent to ‘vet’ me as part of the appointment process, I knew that there must be a lot that was right about Regent’s – and so it has proved. There is an ethos about the University that chimes with its independent, charitable status – a status that we should cherish and guard jealously and one which commits us to delivering a public benefit which goes wider than simply providing a first-class education for our own students. This public benefit we already deliver, in a variety of ways, but our aim is to do much more in the coming year and in the years ahead.

What is the role of the Board of Trustees in all this? The trustees are guardians of governance in the University. The Board agrees the University’s strategy and oversees its implementation, and we are responsible overall for the financial well-being of the institution, but it is not our role to be involved in the day-to-day management of the University. This is for the Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer and his team of senior managers, the Directorate. The first question that I wanted an answer to when I took over as Chair was ‘quis custodiet ipsos custodes?’ Who watches the watchmen themselves? The Board agreed that we should subject ourselves to an independent external review of the effectiveness of our governance practices, to ensure that we were discharging our governance role in conformity with the Code of Practice of the Committee of University Chairs. We commissioned a review from the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education (LFHE) and I am delighted to say that the review found that our governance practices were generally sound, with various commendable features. There were some areas in which the LFHE made recommendations for improvement; all these areas are being followed up and the recommended changes are being made. During the course of the year, we were also fortunate to recruit some outstanding new independent trustees to the Board, to fill vacancies and to ensure the skill mix of the Board was matched to the needs of the University, as it forges its way into the future. There is no doubt that we live in challenging times for the future of higher education, which will call for the best possible governance to ensure the University can steer a good course through unchartered waters. As the American poet Ella Wheeler Wilcox wrote: ‘Tis the set of the sails/ And not the gales/ That tells the way we go.’ ■


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

‘There is an ethos about Regent’s that chimes with its independent, charitable status – a status that we should cherish and guard jealously and one which commits us to delivering a public benefit.’

3


4

Regent’s at a Glance Regent’s is London’s only independent, not-for-profit university, with a highly cosmopolitan community based in royal Regent’s Park and Marylebone.

Our mission: Developing tomorrow’s global leaders OUR CORE VALUES ARE PRESENT IN EVERYTHING WE DO. Independent by name, independent by nature

Cosmopolitan – our outlook is instinctively global

Our private status allows us the freedom to decide our own destiny. All students pay the same fees, regardless of nationality. This income is reinvested in the student experience, to maintain the highest level of service and education.

Few institutions have over 140 nationalities represented on campus. Around half our students come from the UK and Europe, while the other half are drawn from across the globe, making Regent’s a meeting place for people, cultures and points of view. Study abroad is a key feature of many programmes, along with language learning and inter-cultural intelligence.

Independent

Cosmopolitan

Enterprising

Personal

Enterprising – a hive for entrepreneurs We encourage creative thinking and entrepreneurialism. Our degrees are embedded in the real-world business and industries into which our graduates move. Professionalism and hands-on experience are the hallmarks of a Regent’s education. Many of our alumni go on to start their own businesses, and to be leaders and forgers of new ideas.

Personal – individual attention for exceptional individuals We are a university on a human scale. Our intention is to remain small and retain our collegiate feel. We believe in traditional education, based on face-to-face tuition, supported rather than led by technology. Regent’s is a place to build personal connections and a global network for life.


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Our subject areas

Business & Management

Fashion & Design

Liberal Arts & Humanities

182 780

Partner institutions in 33 countries across the globe

Staff

16,700 Alumni in 160 countries

Film, Media & Performance

Politics & International Relations

4,800 Students - 3,480 undergraduate and 1,320 postgraduate

Psychotherapy & Psychology

13

Students on average per class

141 Student nationalities

104 Study-abroad destinations worldwide

5


6

Professor Aldwyn Cooper, CEO and Vice Chancellor

A year of positive change for Regent’s 2015/16 has been an exciting and positive year for Regent’s University London, despite the turbulence in the UK and global higher education environment. In December 2015, after discussions with students, alumni and employers, the Board agreed some changes to Regent’s strategic objectives. We remain committed to our charitable status, the values at the core of the University and our internationalism.

student demographic enjoyed by Regent’s, the impact of these factors is likely to be less for us than for many universities. The team here is adopting new recruitment strategies, enhancing the brand awareness and forming new global partnerships.

Among the most important characteristics of Regent’s that people appreciate are the diversity of students and staff, the small classes and personal interaction, and the lifelong friends from all over the world that students make while they are with us. Regent’s has one of the most diverse student populations in breadth and depth of any university in the United Kingdom. We want to maintain the close family atmosphere of the University and therefore we have decided to limit the student population to 4,000 full-time-equivalent students and to slowly achieve this modest growth by 2020.

We are taking a cautious approach to the future that ensures the University’s longterm sustainability. At the same time we will continue to invest in our student resources to maintain the student experience. We have strengthened our personal tutorial support system further and launched the new ‘Student Hub’ to provide a single physical and online location for all aspects of student support. You will find more about this exciting new initiative on page 10 of this review.

Recruitment and retention will continue to be a central focus for the University. The greatest threats to UK universities stem from the uncertainties about visa regulations, the intention of the UK to leave the European Union and changes to international competition. However, because of the particular


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

‘Regent’s has one of the most diverse student populations in breadth and depth of any university in the United Kingdom. We want to maintain the close family atmosphere of the University and therefore we have decided to limit the student population to 4,000 full-time-equivalent students ’

7


8

■ A year of positive change for Regent’s

Development of the estate Student activities The core of the University is on the Inner Circle in Our students have continued to perform very successfully Regent’s Park, where the central team are based and in their fields. This year’s Model United Nations team once where most students will study for the majority of again delivered at the highest level in New York, winning their degrees. We also have a number of buildings a number of awards for best papers and presentations. housing specialist facilities in the Marylebone Village. The Student Union hosted its first annual business and The University will invest to entrepreneurs’ conferences. ensure the estate is of a high Our interior design students ‘Thanks to the hard work standard to provide a fivehave collaborated with the star environment to meet the Zoological Society of London of all staff, at the end of the brand image and deliver the on major projects. Others have year, Regent’s delivered a experience expected by our developed entrepreneurial students. We have successfully businesses of their own and acted surplus that was close to reduced our estates’ running as mentors for others. You can costs through the disposal of find out more about our alumni £2 million above budget ’ the lease on 110 Marylebone achievers on pages 18-21. High Street and by negotiating a revised lease of longer length for both the University’s External reviews and measures Regent’s Park campus and Marylebone properties. During the past year we have undergone three fundamental, externally conducted reviews: a Higher Brand development and marketing Education Assurance Team (HEAT) review, which Regent’s University London has developed a clear, monitors our processes in managing visa sponsorship respected brand, together with a strong central core for staff and students, a Higher Education Review (HER), of programmes that meet market demand. This brand which informs students and the wider public whether identity is expressed consistently through effective we meet the requirements to retain our university title, marketing materials across all channels and through and a Full Governance review to ensure that we comply targeted campaigns of public relations and advertising. with expectations about our overall management of the university and meet the key elements of the Outreach, widening participation and scholarships Council of University Chairs (CUC) code. I am delighted We are proud of our charitable status and will continue to say that we met and exceeded the standards for to develop our outreach and public benefit activity. all three reviews and received commendations. The University will continue to develop its already substantial programme of broad educational activities The real test for a university is the careers that graduates to support the community in London and more widely. develop once they have left the university. Regent’s Highlights in 2016 included public lectures, seminars and graduates are highly successful in being innovative and talks, including the Jean Monnet lecture series which starting new businesses. More than 93% of graduates are focuses on contemporary European issues (see page in employment or taking further study within six months 14). We will increase our support for local schools and of graduation. Of those alumni in work, more than 81% are community groups and the development of a further in graduate-level roles. Reflecting our internationalism, global citizenship programme. The University has an 40% of our alumni are working in a different country active scholarship programme, distributing £1,296,000 from their country of origin. Starting salaries for Regent’s in scholarships to 313 students in the year ending 31 graduates are as much as 50% above the sector mean. July 2016. We will continue to support academically able students from financially disadvantaged backgrounds. Our key performance indicators In December 2014 the Trustees agreed a suite of Alumni giving programme financial and non-financial Key Performance Indicators We launched our first annual alumni fundraising to enable us to track our performance against the campaign in conjunction with Rux Burton Associates University’s strategic priorities. We performed well in April 2016. To date the campaign has recorded against most of these in 2015/16. Notably, we have £54,000 in pledges, and by 31 July 2016 had received seen a significant increase in student satisfaction £6,000. A second campaign will run in 2017. (81% compared to 74% in 2014/15) and in our financial reserves (£17.7m compared to £15.8m in 2014/15).


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Our future The University is undergoing a full portfolio review and new programmes are being established. Among the most successful of these is Regent’s new four-year Liberal Studies programme, the first of its kind developed in the UK, which blends the American model of higher education with UK style. It was developed quickly and is growing rapidly. The study abroad options for international students are being re-designed and will allow international learners to draw on offerings from across the whole University. In particular, new modules are being written that will focus on London as a learning environment – Creative London, Arts London, Fashion London, Entrepreneurial London and Business London. There is great interest in these from many new and potential study abroad partners. Regent’s is seeking to expand its research activities. We have reached an agreement with the University of

Northampton that will allow Regent’s to offer research degrees in all subject areas from September 2017. New research centres are being established in both faculties. The feature on pages 16 and 17 gives a flavour of just some of the exciting research projects and publications involving Regent’s staff in the past year. 2015/16 has been a challenging time for most universities. Initially recruitment was lower than budget due to loss of students at the end of previous agreements in America. However, thanks to the hard work of all staff, at the end of the year, Regent’s delivered a surplus that was close to £2 million above budget and which represented around 4% of total revenue – an exceptional result. There are still many challenges to maintain growth in recruitment in this uncertain world but our strategic plan is clear and deliverable and Regent’s is in a strong position. ■

9


10

Our Students At the HUB of the student experience

The Student Hub brings together all types of student support, both academic and pastoral, in one place. It was initiated following a review of the student experience by Deputy Vice Chancellor, Simon Jarvis, which recommended setting up a ‘one-stop shop’ to address students’ frustrations in having to deal with disparate systems in getting the help they needed. Admissions manager Chris Sleeman was appointed on a six-month secondment to make the Student Hub a reality. He was tasked with scoping out and launching both a physical Student Hub and an online service which would draw together all the information and support that students need and aim to resolve any query as quickly as possible in one place.

When students need help on issues from timetabling queries to financial concerns, problems with accommodation, visa queries or personal problems, now they can turn to Regent’s innovative new Student Hub

A space was chosen on the ground floor of the Acland building, in a visible, easily accessible location, and was designed to incorporate a welcoming, bright open-plan area as well as private rooms for more sensitive appointments. The online Student Hub was built using a web platform which the University already owned. This was adapted and customised to suit the needs of the Student Hub. Chris recruited and trained three staff members, all of whom were seconded from other positions in Regent’s. In collaboration with the various departments, Chris and his team were able to identify many common student queries which Student Hub staff could resolve themselves, including resetting IT password and printing transcripts.


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

In using the expertise of existing Regent’s staff and repurposing existing systems, the implementation of the Student Hub’s operations aimed to be cost-neutral, and brings great benefits to students with minimal financial outlay. Following extensive input, feedback and testing from staff, the Student Union and student focus groups, the physical hub and the online service opened in the autumn term 2016, and immediately began improving the student experience, receiving over 500 visitors in its first week. As Chris says: ‘We came at this from a student’s point of view, aiming to offer a service that meets all their needs quickly and easily.’ ■

A welcoming and beautiful

space

We have reorganised some of the space at our Marylebone site, following a decision to vacate the building at 100 Marylebone High Street. The Estates & Facilities team have undertaken a project of refurbishment, making the most of the study and social space at Garbutt Place.

Over the summer Garbutt Place has undergone a transformation, which both improves the environmental profile of the buildings and makes more study and social spaces available for students. The ground floor of 7 Garbutt Place, previously the library, has been repurposed as a flexible Learning Resource space. It holds the fashion and design journal collection and a selection of fashion and design reference books. The space will also be used for one-to-one and small group sessions with the academic liaison librarian. It offers flexible areas for students to meet, study and socialise, and doubles as a ‘green room’ for the Marylebone Theatre next door. The refurbishments bring students closer together and offer more flexible, inviting spaces for studying and learning, to further improve the student experience. ■

11


12

■ Our Students

Students in action Entrepreneurs’ Conference More than 200 people attended the Student Union’s first Entrepreneurs, Conference on 10 March 2016, to hear how young entrepreneurs have succeeded with their businesses. Under the theme ‘Building Your Entrepreneurial Journey’, the audience gained insights from high-profile speakers across a range of industries including technology, nutrition, tourism and digital.

Business Conference The Student Union hosted Regent’s first-ever Business Conference in November 2015. CEOs from different sectors gave exclusive talks about modern-day recruitment, explained to students how to increase their unique selling points, and answered questions. Speakers included Michael Casey, MD of Goldman Sachs, Nick Bishop, MD of Morgan Stanley and Accenture’s MD, Fiona O’Hara.

Acting & World Theatre shows Final-year students from the BA (Hons) Acting & World Theatre performed in two productions, Love and Information and Red Demon, at the University’s Marylebone theatre in March 2016.


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Graduation Vice Chancellor, Professor Aldwyn Cooper, congratulated more than 1,000 new graduates at summer graduation ceremonies on 14, 15 and 16 July. The graduations, held at St Marylebone Church, were a great success and were attended by more than 3,000 people over the three days, as graduates and their families celebrated their achievements.

Graduation Ball Staff and students celebrated in Rio Carnival style at the 2016 Graduation Ball at The Brewery, a historic venue in the heart of the City, near the Barbican. Revellers took to the dance floor at the packed party, which included exotic entertainment from The Sway All Stars Orchestra as well as Brazilian dancers and capoeira performers and magicians.

Fashion & Design Degree Shows The annual degree shows in May 2016, held in Marylebone, showcased the best work of final-year students in fashion, fashion marketing and interior design.

13


14

The year’s

activities

As a university, we operate in a global context. Staff, students and alumni engage in debate on current affairs, world issues and cultural development, and Regent’s hosts many significant events through the year. The Regent’s Report

Regent’s University London

Europe’s Neighbours: From Morocco to Moscow Europe’s Neighbours: From Morocco to Moscow The Regent’s Report 2015

The annual Regent’s Report brings together the latest thought from leading experts and academics on a theme related to Europe’s position on the world stage. The third report, Europe’s Neighbours: from Morocco to Moscow, looked at relations between the European Union and its neighbouring countries to the south and east. A panel discussion, held in January 2016, brought together experts to debate the issues, and was chaired by Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

The Regent’s Report 2015

To order additional copies or download a digital version please visit www.regents.ac.uk/europereport Web www.regents.ac.uk/europereport Email research@regents.ac.uk Price £25

A fascinating debate about how Europe defines its digital future. Speakers included Martin Bailey, Head of Unit for the Digital Single Market in DG CONNECT, EU Commission.

The European Digital Single Market 8 October 2015 Anne Lambert Anthony Walker Eric Célérier Martin Bailey

Institute of Contemporary European Studies

00674BRO ICES The European Single Market-AW.indd 1

07/06/2016 11:09

Lieutenant-General Roméo Dallaire, former Force Commander of the United Nations Assistance Mission in Rwanda (UNAMIR) (1993-1994) and Founder of the Roméo Dallaire Child Soldiers Initiative spoke about his experiences.

This joint seminar with the Institute of Contemporary Studies and the Senior European Experts considered the topic of instability and insecurity and its implications for the EU.

This conference was hosted in partnership with the Tutu Foundation. Experts from around the world came together to engage in the key debates in the area of peace and conflict resolution. The keynote speaker was Nontombi Naomi Tutu, human rights activist and daughter of Archbishop Desmond Tutu. Universities for Europe 10 May 2016

iCES Occasional Paper XX

International Open Seminars 2015/16 24 January 2016

Ring of Fire: Instability and Insecurity in the EU’s Neighbourhood 18 February 2016

The keynote speaker for this year’s Jean Monnet Memorial Lecture was Herman Van Rompuy, President Emeritus of the European Council and former Prime Minister of Belgium. International Peace Summit: Resolving Conflicts Through Mediation 9 April 2016

Regent’s University London is one of the UK’s most respected independent universities and one of the most internationally diverse, with around 140 different student nationalities on campus.

iCES & Senior European Experts joint seminar: The European Digital Single Market 8 October 2015

Jean Monnet Memorial Lecture: Democratic Accountability in the EU 6 April 2016

Hosted by Universities for Europe, this event was part of a campaign to highlight the importance of participation in Europe for higher education. Speakers included Ken Clarke MP, Lord Patten, Chancellor of the University of Oxford, and Lord Robert Winston, Professor of Science and Society and Emeritus Professor of Fertility Studies at Imperial College London. They discussed the EU referendum, its implications for British universities and the future of the country. Joint European Philosophy Conference 25 Aug 2016 Regent’s hosted the Joint Annual Conference of the Society for European Philosophy (SEP) and the Forum for European Philosophy (FEP).

Ring of Fire: Instability and Insecurity in the EU’s Neighbourhood Sir Emyr Jones Parry Dr Kataryna Wolczuk Michael Lake

Seminar, 18 February 2016

iCES Occasional Paper XXIII Institute of Contemporary European Studies

Sexual oppression and its impact on mental health and wellbeing: implications for psychology and psychotherapy 29 Oct 2016 The Reflections Research Centre hosted their annual conference on the implications of sexual oppression.


Honorary Senior

Fellows

Regent’s was proud to appoint five highly regarded Honorary Senior Fellows in 2016.

Archbishop Desmond Tutu and the Reverend Canon Mpho Tutu-van Furth Professor Simon Jarvis, Deputy Vice Chancellor, visited Archbishop Desmond Tutu and his daughter, the Reverend Canon Mpho Tutu-van Furth, in Cape Town, South Africa to award them Honorary Senior Fellowships in recognition of their outstanding contributions to human rights. The Desmond and Leah Tutu Legacy Foundation contributes sustainably to the creation of a more compassionate

world. Its pillars are built on a foundation of spirituality, human dignity and conflict resolution. The Foundation’s activist role includes developing and managing partnerships and legacy-promoting programmes. At the same time, it contributes to the positioning of Cape Town as a world capital for the intellectual and practical pursuit of local and global peace, morality and human dignity.

Kathy Lette, Author and Autism Champion Kathy Lette is a celebrated and outspoken comic writer who has an inimitable take on serious current issues. After several years as a newspaper columnist and TV sitcom writer in America and Australia, she has written 12 international bestsellers, including Mad Cows, How to Kill Your Husband –

and Other Handy Household Hints and The Boy Who Fell to Earth. Kathy is known for her regular appearances on BBC and Sky news programmes. She is an ambassador for Women and Children First, Plan International, the White Ribbon Alliance and the National Autistic Society.

Geoffrey Robertson, Esq. QC Geoffrey Robertson, QC, has had a distinguished career as a trial counsel, human rights advocate and United Nations judge. He is founder and co-head of Doughty Street Chambers, Europe’s largest human rights practice. Geoffrey’s books

include Crimes Against Humanity: The Struggle for Global Justice, The Tyrannicide Brief, The Justice Game, Mullahs Without Mercy: Human Rights and Nuclear Weapons and An Inconvenient Genocide: Who Now Remembers The Armenians?

Ian Mehrtens BSc, MPhil, MBA, FRICS Ian Mehrtens is the Chief Operating Officer at London South Bank University (LSBU). He joined LSBU after a long career at a number of universities, both as a senior professorial academic and more latterly as a senior leader. Ian is the LSBU Executive Sponsor for Diversity and Inclusion and plays an

Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

active role in the promotion of LGBT rights within and outside the university. LSBU is an active participant in the Stonewall Champion programme and Ian is a member of the Stonewall Senior Executives’ group and of OUTstanding.

15


16

Research and The British Chinese role in the Armed Forces

Regent’s is involved in a fascinating project looking at the historical contribution made by British Chinese to the Armed Forces. Jonathan Liu, Professor of Global Business Management, has been awarded £86,100 by the Heritage Lottery Fund to lead a British Chinese Armed Forces Heritage Project, which aims to create a historical archive of the contribution made by British Chinese people to the Armed Forces. The archive will comprise personal reflections, family records and memorabilia of those who served in the British Chinese Armed Forces (BCAF) during the 19th and 20th centuries. In working with the National Army Museum, the researchers have discovered artefacts that were taken from different military campaigns and assisted in cataloguing the findings. Some of these artefacts are worth millions of pounds, but because the writing was in Chinese and not translated, their true value had not been understood before.

The project, which is a collaboration with Ming-Ai (Education) Institution, will involve training more than 200 volunteers, hosting 57 community workshops on family history and military history, a memorabilia roadshow and a wartime recipe cookery session. The project will also host two international conferences, one in London and the other in Hong Kong. The research focuses on Chinese culture and heritage, which sits well in the Regent’s Centre for Transnational Studies (RCTS). RCTS is focused on migration studies, among other areas, and this work further informs Regent’s business and management teaching and research. ■

Regent’s offers research degrees for the first time Regent’s has launched a new research degree programme covering a wide range of subject areas. The new MPhil and PhD degrees are validated by the University of Northampton. Research at Regent’s is organised around central themes that focus on the University’s core activities in business, humanities, social science and languages. We have particular

strength in specific areas of these disciplines, and have the staff with the expertise and experience to supervise research degrees. We also offer a wide range of learning support and research training for students. Regent’s maintains close links with professional

organisations, and we host a large number of seminars, colloquia and conferences with participants from academia, politics and business. The collegiate atmosphere of the University nurtures both interdisciplinary research and individual scholarship. ■


Publications

Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Many Regent’s staff members are actively involved in research and authorship. Here are some of the highlights from the past year.

Understanding Stepfamilies Dr Lisa Doodson

The Psychology of Conflict Paul Randolph

Lisa Doodson, who is Associate Dean in the Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences, launched her new book Understanding Stepfamilies - a practical guide for professionals working with blended families in 2016. This is a must-have resource for counsellors and therapists, social workers, local authorities, charities and teaching professionals working with stepfamilies.

Paul Randolph leads courses in Mediation and Alternative Dispute Resolution at Regent’s. Self-esteem and how we would like to be viewed by others in the world can be one of the strongest motivating factors in generating fear and conflict. This concept forms the basis of Paul Randolph’s practical guide, The Psychology of Conflict, which includes a foreword by Nobel Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu. The book has been designed to give a better understanding of the psychological processes involved in conflict resolution and mediation.

Politics and Law in Turkish Migration Family and Human Capital in Turkish Migration Both jointly edited by Ibrahim Sirkeci Ibrahim Sirkeci is Ria Professor of Transnational Studies and Marketing and the Director of the Regent’s Centre for Transnational Studies at Regent’s University London. He holds a PhD in geography from the University of Sheffield and a BA in Political Science and Public Administration from Bilkent University, Turkey. He has contributed to the editing of these two volumes which consider the crucial global issue of migration.

Enterprise education and employability Enterprise and employability issues continue to be of particular interest across the higher education sector and the research by principal lecturer Dr Simon O’Leary has attracted much attention in 2016. His work includes a portfolio of academic journal articles (Journals of Education and Work, The Marketing Review, New Directions in the Teaching of Physical Science), a book chapter on Team Projects, published research for the Higher Education Academy, and conference contributions (Academy of Marketing, Government Department for Business Innovation and Skills, the Universities of Chichester, Loughborough, Leicester and University College London) on a whole range of issues related to the enhancement of entrepreneurship education and employability.

A History of the Dissenting Academies in the British Isles, 1660-1860

Handbook of Counselling Psychology Elaine Kasket (editor/author)

Senior lecturer Christopher Daily, an expert in the early history of Protestant Christianity in China, is currently contributing to this large cross-institutional collaboration, which will soon be published as a four-volume set by Cambridge University Press. He is contributing to the second volume, The Academies and the Protestant World, which focuses on the engagement of the academies with Protestantism beyond the British Isles.

Counselling psychology head of programmes, Dr Elaine Kasket, is a contributor and one of the editors of the fourth edition of the Handbook of Counselling Psychology, published in March 2016. This edition also has a companion website offering hours of video and audio, including conversations with counselling psychology practitioners and trainees, and articles, exercises and case studies.

17


18

Alumni Giving back

to Regent’s

Over the past 30 years, the Regent’s experience has made a lasting impact on the careers and networks of 16,700 graduates in over 160 countries. As a notfor-profit, independent university located in one of the world’s most expensive cities, we face risks that impact on our ability to deliver our unique student experience. As a result, we have launched the Spirit of Regent’s, a campaign which offers our alumni the chance to invest in our vision of educating a new generation of global citizens. We launched the Spirit of Regent’s campaign in April 2016 with a month-long telephone fundraising campaign – the first of its kind at the University. A team of our brightest students were carefully selected to talk to

alumni about their experiences since graduation, update them on recent news and events, and seek support for the Spirit of Regent’s Fund. The resulting conversations were insightful and inspiring. A second telephone campaign began in November 2016.

‘For me, it was about supporting an institution that I still call home, a place where I made some great friends and created unforgettable memories. The values of Regent’s resonate with me to this day, and anything I can do to help those become part of that family, I will do with a big smile.’ Nirav Patel, 2009 EBS Management graduate and Alumni Donor

We are very grateful for the support the campaign has received so far. To date, alumni have pledged £54,355 towards the Fund and we are so appreciative of this kindness and generosity. Donations will go towards four areas: scholarships, extra-curricular learning opportunities, the creation of a Regent’s Entrepreneurs’ Hub on campus, and new learning resources. ■


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Regent’s

Mentors

Where are they now?

In 2010, we launched Regent’s Mentors as a way for current students to benefit from personal developmental relationships with alumni and friends of the University. Mentors are matched to students depending on their education, expertise and professional experience. Mentors generally hold meetings with their mentees once a month for a year, to provide guidance, advice and support. The programme has proved to be popular and we now have a pool of almost 100 mentors. The mentor programme runs twice a year, and the most recent cohort – which began in October 2016 – saw 25 students matched with mentors.

Sectors that employ our alumni: Business and finance   

Government/public sector Fashion and design

3% 3%

Energy

Regent’s Clubs – at home wherever you are Regent’s Clubs are a network of alumni groups all over the world, bringing the Regent’s University London Alumni Association to you. The clubs are based in more than 42 cities around the world and are run by local alumni, with support from the main alumni relations office.

81%

of alumni in employment are in graduate-level jobs

40%

19

3% 3%

22%

5%

Education Tourism and leisure

6%

Technology and services

6%

Professional services

16%

Retail management Health and social care

6% 10%

Manufacturing and industry

of our alumni are working in a different country from their country of origin

42

Regent’s Clubs across the globe

12% Creative and media

93% 55%

of Regent’s alumni in work or further study, six months after graduating

of students who go on to postgraduate study choose to stay at Regent’s


20

■ Alumni

Alumni

achievers

Charlotte Fox Weber

Advanced Diploma in Integrative Psychotherapy (2013) MA Psychotherapy & Counselling (2016) I started a private psychotherapy practice while I was still in training. It helped me feel confident and hopeful about earning a living from doing the work I love. When I graduated, I had already started seeing clients privately (being a member of BACP) and my UKCP accreditation helped me feel confident that I was now fully qualified and ready to be a psychotherapist. Regent’s has an incredibly warm and encouraging atmosphere. The best supervisors and lecturers were both nurturing and challenging. I felt like there was space to be curious and find what resonated with me personally. The open-minded philosophy has stayed with me. Education can take place in myriad ways. It’s sometimes the more informal moments I remember most vividly – a personal story a lecturer told, rather than pure theory. Professionally, I like saying I trained at Regent’s. It’s something to be proud of. It’s credible and distinguished.

Makhdoom Fakhar Zaman

BA (Hons) Global Management / Global Business Management (2014) Regent’s alumnus Makhdoom Fakhar Zaman has been elected as Chairman of Pakistan’s Matiari District, making him – at 25 – the youngest-ever district council chairman in the country’s history. I was always into politics; from the age of 16, I assisted my father in his political campaigns, so it wasn’t new to me. I was familiar with the political system. I knew that I wanted to help people – seeing people’s passion, their commitment to bettering the District, it really motivated me to help them further. I plan on focusing on healthcare and education, particularly education for women. I want the women in the District to receive a high level of education and to have completely equal rights and freedom. I would also like to introduce reverse osmosis plants to the District, to provide everyone with access to pure drinking water.

Regent’s graduates continue to excel in many different fields. Below we profile just a few of our alumni whose recent successes have made the headlines.

Regent’s is about learning and studying but it’s also about getting the most out of life. I was very fond of a few lecturers in particular – strong, empowering women – and they were full of joie de vivre. They modelled what it means to be serious but also playful – a vitally important combination.

Regent’s gave me so much; it was the place I called home for four years. The best part of it was that there is so much diversity here, which really helped me to understand people. I had the chance to interact with people from all over the world, from China, to America to Australia. The way people think can be completely different, and that helped me learn how to understand people – and politics is all about understanding people.


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Jake Kipping

BA (Hons) Screenwriting & Producing (2016) Jake Kipping’s short film, Will you be Mime?, has currently been accepted into 22 festivals and has won eight awards, and received a 4.5 star review from Indie Shorts Mag. My friends and I always talked about setting up a company that dives into all aspects of the arts, so anything ranging from film, TV, theatre and fine arts. When we were approaching our final year, we talked about the short films we were making, and how we could make them under a company name. This then became the start of a portfolio of work that could help us create connections and collaborate with many different people. So far, we’ve made four short films with the company, as well as a music video and a commercial. We’re currently planning our next short, which we’ve raised £1,000 for, and another one of our short films, ‘SALT’, has been accepted into the London Short Film Festival in January of next year.

Martin Andersen

BA (Hons) International Business/ International Business (German) with Finance (2010) International Business alumnus Martin Andersen decided to leave his job in real estate finance and founded his own company, Easyoffer. I decided to leave my job and start my own company. Easyoffer is an online market place for lawyers, accountants and clients. Clients who need a lawyer or an accountant come to us and we provide them with three free quotes. Within 24 hours of contacting us, clients receive these quotes and can choose which offer suits them best – free of charge. We opened in 2015 with just my brother and I; we now have 20 employees and the company is growing fast.

Going to Regent’s was something that I never thought would happen. When I got accepted, it improved my skills and taught me things I never even thought about before. The lecturers are fantastic; my hat goes off to all of them; one, for coping with me and my stupidity, and two, for being the most supportive and helpful people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.

To me, the Spirit of Regent’s means being international. No matter where you travel, as an alumnus, you always have someone on speed-dial or Facebook who you can visit or ask for advice. For me, the combination of business studies and languages was fantastic. Regent’s really helps students to move around and take on jobs all over the world. I wouldn’t change my time at Regent’s for anything.

Christine Smith Egeland

BA (Hons) Fashion Design (2016) The latest collection by Stina Smith – the label created by 2016 Fashion Design graduate Christine Egeland – was featured in the September 2016 London Fashion Week. Becoming a fashion designer involves much more than just designing garments, so in order to build my brand and get known, I spent a lot of time throughout this last year organising photoshoots of my designs, which helped me gain insight into the industry, and helped me network and build my portfolio. Regent’s is very design and technically driven, and I learnt the essential skills for fashion design: patternmaking, sewing, draping, designing and fashion illustration. However, what made me become an interesting and innovative designer was the focus on conceptual design, creating original and avant-garde fashion. Conceptual design requires a more complex level of research and reasoning, which taught me to approach fashion in a much more interesting way.

Throughout my degree, Regent’s motivated me to explore all aspects of designing, allowing me to basically do whatever I wanted to do without being overruled by my tutors, yet there was an emphasis on being able to explain the meaning behind your work.

21


22

Regent’s on the international scene

International Partners’ Conference 2016 Bridging the Gap: Creativity in Business, Sciences and the Arts The 2016 International Partners’ Conference was held on 6-8 January 2016. The event brought together key sector representatives and employers from many partner universities as well as alumni. Our delegates hailed from 23 different countries.

The conference: • Explored the importance of creativity across diverse academic disciplines and in the workplace

• Celebrated the success stories of our overseas partners, and provided a forum to establish links between them

• Provided a forum for Regent’s staff and colleagues from partner • Showcased Regent’s academic and universities to meet and discuss pastoral provision as well as London’s opportunities for further collaboration prominent cultural landmarks We were fortunate to have highly distinguished speakers at this year’s conference, in particular the opening keynote address by Sir Peter Bazalgette, Chair of the Arts Council England and the closing address from John Kampfner, Chief Executive, Creative Industries Federation.


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Regent’s Erasmus Staff Training Week Regent’s hosted the first Regent’s Erasmus Staff Training Week from 11-15 July 2016. Led by Regent’s Erasmus Co-coordination team, this intensive week of meetings and workshops was attended by 50 delegates from partner and non-partner institutions.

A profitable partnership Regent’s has an excellent partnership with Spanish university Colegio Universitario de Estudios Financieros (CUNEF). They send exchange students as well as fee-paying study abroad students to Regent’s for a variety of programmes. An annual cohort of 90+ postgraduate students also visit the University for a one-week short course in Finance. During this week, the group receives lectures on Finance from members of the Business & Management faculty. They also visit various financial companies such as Santander, Barclays and Bloomberg to learn about their career programmes.

2016 Summer Service and Learning Programme in rural China Every summer, Tsinghua University and Tseng Hin Pei Charity Fund recruits student volunteers from around the world to take part in their Summer Service and Learning Programme. The aim of the programme is to help provide high-quality educational and training resources to people in poverty-stricken areas of rural China. Volunteers work with rural communities in a number of ways, such as teaching English, conducting social surveys, lecturing and intercultural communication exercises. The programme ran from 7-26 July 2016 and in total 12 Regent’s students took part.

23


24

■ Regent’s on the international scene

Canada

Switzerland

3

257

6

France

38

USA

Students visited 84 universities across the world

34

Spain

56

Mexico

1

Brazil

2

Peru

1

Outbound students Chile

2

Uruguay

1

Argentina

16

‘I experienced a Study Abroad Period of one term at Monmouth University, New Jersey, USA. It was a truly eyeopening experience and it taught me a lot about the industry in the USA which will be very helpful if I work there in the future. I gained some good experience from being cast in two productions. But the most rewarding of the term abroad were the people I met in the USA who I will stay friends with for a very long time.’ Jia Steven He, China/ Ireland, BA (Hons) Acting & World Theatre

‘My study abroad term at Bond University on the Gold Coast of Australia was a life-changing experience. I not only gained academically, but also culturally. This is due to the diverse nationalities at the university and the multicultural events and groups you can join. The location is amazing, as it is only a 10-minute car ride to the beach. I made amazing friends during my time on the Gold Coast, and I’ve been counting the days to be able to go back.’ Medina Sabina Charpentier, South Africa/ Finland, BA (Hons) International Business


Denmark

4

Germany

14

Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Czech Republic

2

Austria

2

Russia

10

920

China

28

Italy

Korea

12

1

Japan

1

Lebanon

1

Students visited Regent’s for a period of study abroad

Morocco

2

UAE

4

Australia

13

Inbound students

‘Studying abroad at Regent’s was life-changing. It gave me the opportunity to immerse myself in a new culture, while expanding my education, not just in a classroom but throughout London as well. I would suggest this opportunity to anyone!’ Caitlin McMorrow, College of Saint Scholastica, USA

‘My study abroad semester at Regent’s was the best time of my life: I made friends for life, learned a lot during lectures, enjoyed London and was able to perfect my English skills. An unforgettable experience!’ Susanne Faerber, International School of Management, Germany

‘Studying at Regent’s University London is a very worthwhile opportunity because you are connected with people who are from all over the world and the experience is amazing.’ Jesús Franco Muñoz, Universidad San Pablo CEU, Spain

25


26

Financial summary Consolidated statement of comprehensive income and expenditure

For the year ended 31 July 2016 Year ended  Year ended  31 July 2016  31 July 2015 £000 £000   Income Tuition fee income

42,003

44,886

7,999

6,752

204

187

12

5

50,218

51,830

23,398

24,959

Other operating expenses

21,613

24,017

Depreciation

3,835

4,083

113

146

48,959

53,205

Other income Investment income Donations and endowments Total Income Expenditure Staff costs

Interest and other finance costs Total Expenditure Surplus/(deficit) before other gains/(losses)

1,259

(1,375)

638

(5)

48

162

1,945

(1,218)

-

-

1,945

(1,218)

Total comprehensive income/(expenditure) for the year

1,945

(1,218)

Represented by: Unrestricted comprehensive income/(expenditure) for the year

1,945

(1,218)

Gain/(loss) on disposal of fixed assets Gain on investments Surplus/(deficit) before tax Taxation Surplus/(deficit) for the year

All items of income and expenditure relate to continuing activities.


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

Consolidated and university balance sheet 31 July 2016 Notes

Group 31 July 2016  £000 

Group 31 July 2015  £000 

University 31 July 2016  £000 

University 31 July 2015  £000 

Fixed Assets Intangible assets – negative goodwill

10

(330)

(1,084)

-

-

Tangible assets

11

11,433

15,303

11,433

15,301

Investments

12

5,967

5,756

5,967

5,756

17,070

19,975

17,400

21,057

4,213

5,207

4,488

4,929

1

1

1

1

6,196

2,864

5,304

2,665

10,410

8,072

9,793

7,595

(9,349)

(9,813)

Current Assets Debtors

13

Short term deposits Cash at bank and in hand

Current Liabilities Creditors: amounts falling due within one year

15

(9,767)

(10,227)

693

(2,155)

444

14

400

-

400

16

(400)

(672)

(400)

(672)

18

-

(1,380)

-

(1,380)

Net Current Assets

(2,218)

Long Term Assets Debtors: amounts receivable after one year

-

Long Term Liabilities Creditors: amounts falling due after one year Provisions for liabilities Other provisions Total net assets

17,713

15,768

17,844

16,787

17,713

15,768

17,844

16,787

17,713

15,768

17,844

16,787

Unrestricted reserves Income and expenditure reserve Total reserves

27


28

■ Financial summary

Consolidated statement of cash flows 31 July 2016 Year ended  31 July 2016  £000 

Year ended  31 July 2015  £000 

Cash flow from operating activities Surplus/(deficit) for the year

1,945

(1,218)

3,835

4,083

Adjustment for non-cash items Depreciation Amortisation of intangibles

(141)

(141)

Gain/(loss) on investments

(48)

(162)

Decrease in debtors

594

677

Decrease in creditors

(492)

(1,601)

Decrease in repairs provision

(601)

-

(204)

(187)

113

146

6

5

(638)

5

4,369

1,607

1,607

1

Adjustment for investing or financing activities Investment income Interest charged on finance leases Investment fund management charges Gain/(loss) on disposal of fixed assets Net cash inflow/(outflow) from operating activities Cash flow from investing activities Proceeds from disposal of tangible fixed assets Proceeds from sales of investments Payments to acquire tangible fixed assets Payments to acquire investments Interest received

516

571

(2,326)

(5,762)

(685)

(747)

34

15

170

172

(684)

(5,750)

(113)

(146)

(240)

(224)

Net Cash Outflow from financing activities

(353)

(370)

Increase/(decrease) in cash and cash equivalents in the year

3,332

(4,513)

2,865

7.378

6,197

2.865

6,196

2,864

1

1

6,197

2.865

Dividends received Net Cash Outflow from investing activities Cash flow from financing activities Interest paid on finance leases Capital element of finance lease repayments

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of the year Cash and cash equivalents at end of the year Cash and cash equivalents comprise: Cash at bank and in hand Short term deposits

For the full Annual Report and Accounts 2015-16, visit regents.ac.uk/annualreport


Regent’s Annual Review 2015–16

£50.2 million

£48.9 million

INCOME

EXPENDITURE

£1.9 million SURPLUS

£1.3 million

Scholarships and bursaries to 313 students

£6.2 million CASH IN THE BANK

£17.7 million RESERVES

£5.9 million INVESTMENTS

03


For a copy of this publication in an alternative format, please call +44 (0)20 7487 7505 or email exrel@regents.ac.uk

Regent’s University London Inner Circle Regentʟs Park London NW1 4NS

United Kingdom +44 (0)20 7487 7505

exrel@regents.ac.uk regents.ac.uk Registered Charity 291583

Annual Review 2015-16  

Regent’s University Annual Review presents the successes and challenges for the year 2015/16, and our plans for the future.