Page 1

GRADUATION

CLASS OF

2016

Fox Lane’s Rachael Corsi celebrating before the ceremony. SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

A Special Section of THE RECORD-REVIEW July 1, 2016


PAGE 2A — JULY 1, 2016

GRADUATION

THE RECORD-REVIEW

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE CLASS OF 2016! Schools where students will be attending: Canterbury School (2) Choate Rosemary Hall Convent of the Sacred Heart Greens Farms Academy

Hotchkiss School Kent School King School (3) Lawrenceville School

Millbrook School Northfield Mt. Hermon Ridgefield High School (4) Staples High School (2)

Wellesley HS Weston High School Wooster School (2)

Students were also accepted to these schools: Berkshire School Brooks School Fairfield Preparatory School Governor’s Academy The Gunnery Hackley School Harvey School

Hopkins School Immaculate High School Lauralton Hall Loomis Chaffee School Masters School Pomfret School Portsmouth Abbey

St. Luke’s School St. Mark’s School Suffield Academy Tabor Academy Taft School Westminster Academy Westover School

RIDGEFIELD ACADEMY Empowering Every Student

223 West Mountain Rd., Ridgefield CT 06877 www.ridgefieldacademy.org | www.landmarkpreschool.org

RIDGEFIELD ACADEMY 9.833 x 13.5 .indd 1

6/20/16 2:58 PM


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 3A

Fox Lane High School

CLASS OF 2016 Nearly 400 seniors look ahead to bright future

T

By DON HEPPNER

he late day sun shined down on the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts on June 21 as the Class of 2016 graduated among cheering parents and family. Nearly 400 seniors filed into the Venetian Theater’s white tent and up to the stage area, accompanied by “Pomp and Circumstance” as parents, siblings and others cheered the procession. Commencement speakers included administrators, teachers, and, of course, students. Class member Jesse Hoogland, the salutatorian, said that while he was appreciative of all the individuals who helped him during his school years, he did not intend to thank them during the ceremony “because I decided to give my thanks in person,” he said. “I invite you to do the same because it will mean more to the people we thank.” He said that society wrongly focuses on small details. “Worrying about small offenses distracts from the true problems,” he told his senior classmates, “racism, sexual assault, income inequality, the list goes on.” He also questioned policies aimed to make schools safer. “Will trigger warnings before risky material prevent sexual assault? Will expelling someone for putting up a couple of satirical posters make the school any safer? “When we silence someone, we stop the dialogue and our mentalities won’t change,” he said. “We cover up the problems and avoid confrontation.” He said that people fear what they don’t understand and people are often offended when they fear. “The solution to both is to empathize; to justify each other’s actions before we assume their motives are cruel,” he said. “It’s much easier to be sure of our own opinions than to try to understand the opposite side. “ Acknowledging his own privileged position, he continued, “I don’t have the solutions to all these problems,” he said. “I need your help. A solution to any major problem requires the cooperation of all; that includes the privileged.” Valedictorian Anna-Sophia Boguraev provided a “general thank you” to teachers, administration members, friends and parents “for talking us off cliffs (or maybe pushing us off them; I’m not quite sure which).” She agreed with her classmate’s view that “it’s really up to all of you to tell the important people who they were.” She observed that she and her classmates are about to enter a world where it is difficult to prepare for how they will be measured. “Because of this, there is little that scares us, me very much included, more than being wrong, and this fear is quite limiting,” she said. “As just one example, I suck at learning languages, because I refuse to actually speak the language for fear of being caught in a mistake.” She relayed the myth about Icarus, re-

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Brittany Dassa, co-emcee, addressing classmates

‘This is my final graduation speech as a high school principal, so I’m actually graduating this evening with you.’ – Dr. Joel Adelberg

counting how Icarus’s father made him wings of wax and told him not to fly too high or they would melt. “But he ignored the warnings and paid for his faith in himself by drowning after he flew too close to the sun. “ She said the myth accurately captured her own philosophy of not being too ambitious to avoid risking failure. But, she said

that she recently discovered that Icarus’s father said more than just “don’t fly too high.” He also told Icarus “not to fly too low lest the sea spray dampen the wings and cause him to fall.” “We all only remember Icarus for falling,” she said. “We’ve been not quite trying, flying low as instructed, but we’re just as close to drowning as the wax-winged

man. We are terrorized by the specter of our limitations, but we have to remember that we don’t live in a world of myths; no, we live in one of spaceships and supercomputers, where the sky is literally no longer the limit.” Invoking a series of numbers that carried some significant meaning, social studies teacher, William Broggy, told a humorous story about asking each of his two AP Euro classes to dial a number published by the Swedish government “to have people from around the world call Sweden to talk to a random Swede.” He recounted connecting his phone to the classroom speakers and his students dialing Sweden “to talk to a random Swede.” Conversations took place with Sven from Stockholm and Markus from Malco, on topics ranging from the U.S. presidential elections to European soccer. “So on a random day, at a random hour, random students talked to random Swedes, and during those brief 15 minute conversations, we learned that we had a lot in common with people 4,000 miles away,” he said. “Your generation will be leaders of a new world,” the teacher continued. “The world is getting smaller and human interaction, both physically and virtually, are increasing at a crazy pace. Technology is changing the human condition like no other time in man’s history. How are we to interact in this new world? The world needs a paradigm shift, Atlas needs to shrug. “Many people along the way and, as you do, approach that initial encounter with the understanding that you have much in common with that person, that is, you both exist at this time and place! Let this be the foundation for building relationships with people you encounter in the future.” Fox Lane Principal Dr. Joel Adelberg, offered this message to the graduates: “Write your own stories and even dare to rewrite the rules. If we only do what we think we already know we do well, we risk never knowing who we might have become.” Dr. Adelberg, who is leaving his position, described attending “his last senior prom.” He said, “I know you were waiting to see if I’d join you on the dance floor for a final dance. I know I disappointed some of you when I never made it to the dance floor.” “This is my final graduation speech as a high school principal, so I’m actually graduating this evening with you,” he continued. “Invite me to your reunion whenever that is and we’ll have that dance together then, as you reintroduce yourselves to me by the many facets of your lives that I know you will have discovered about yourselves and the roles you’ll have assumed, and you’ll share what I fully expect will be unbelievable success.”


PAGE 4A — JULY 1, 2016

GRADUATION

THE RECORD-REVIEW

FOX LANE VALEDICTORIAN ADDRESS

‘It’s time for us to outdo Icarus’ By Anna-Sophia Boguraev

H

ey, Fox Lane. I probably know more of you than I had time for, which is still less of you than I should. For that reason, I don’t feel very comfortable doing thank yous for all of us. I’ll provide a general one: to the teachers, administration, friends and parents for talking us off of cliffs (or maybe pushing us off them; I’m not quite sure which ...). As Jesse said, it’s really up to all of you to tell the important people who they were. But anyway, hi guys. I’m here, and I must warn you — I don’t know much about the world besides the obvious: don’t take life advice from a teenager. Sure, I’ve spent a lot of time studying, but we’re about to enter a world where we can’t pay to be prepped for the ways we’re going to be tested. And yet, for now, all we know is that we’re measured by the percent of questions we get right. Because of this, there is little that scares us, me very much included, more than being wrong, and this fear is quite limiting. As just one example, I suck at learning languages because I refuse to actually speak the language for fear of being caught in a mistake. Yet despite how my fear has hindered me, I insisted on living in this way — in the shadow of Icarus — for most of high school. Who remembers that myth? Icarus’s father made him wings of wax and told him not to fly too high or they would melt, but he ignored the warnings and paid for his faith in himself by drowning after he flew too close to the sun. It really fits with my whole philosophy of not being ambitious so as to avoid risking failure — or so I thought. I

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Valedictorian Anna-Sophia Boguraev throws roses to her classmates during her remarks.

just recently discovered, though, that his father said more than, “don’t fly too high.” He also told Icarus not to fly too low, lest the sea spray dampen the wings and cause him to fall. What? We all only remember Icarus for falling. We’ve been not quite trying, flying low as instructed, but we’re just as close to drowning as the waxwinged man. We are terrorized by the specter of our limitations, but we have to remember that we don’t live in a world of myths; no, we live in one of spaceships and supercomputers, where the sky is literally no longer the limit. Listen, I’m going to tell you a secret: while the ocean has never returned my shoes, seashells, or sandcastles, I’ve only ever had things come back from space in one piece. This seems to be a trend.

About 10 people drown each day, but the men on the moon didn’t melt, and when we make it to Mars, you can bet no one’s going to be worrying about wax. There is so much in the world that should scare us. People are killing people in the name of love, god and money. The vast majority of the world is oppressed, ill or dying, and we’re doing our best to destroy the only planet, at least for now, that can sustain life. That’s scary. Recently, 50 people were shot to death for loving, the senate still rejected four more gun control proposals, and this country is predicting the largest election turnout ever because people want to vote against candidates. That’s terrifying. But what scares me the most is the idea that

our fear of failing might prevent us from doing anything about any of this. Now, I’m not here to tell you you’re guaranteed to incite change or attain greatness — we got enough participation medals in elementary school soccer. I am here, though, to call attention to a fundamental law of chemistry: Matter is neither created nor destroyed, it is only transformed. Or, in more cliché terms, we are made of matter that once made up stars. Knowing this, we could grow up to a nine-to-five job with 1.9 kids and a white picket fence. We could pick up the newspaper sometimes and flinch, while generally not worrying about things that don’t directly affect us, and, in this way, we could live a life worthy of its commemoration: a line between two numbers on a tombstone. Or we could live a life worthy of its origins. The molecules that we are have been stars. They have been dirt. They have been space dust and dust bunnies and everything in between, and we, with all this potential in us, are also at a perfect time to act. We have youthful energy; fewer people depending on us for support and we’re not yet paying off debt. What could we do before clocking into the rat race for the rest of our lives if we just stopped being so afraid of failing? It’s time for us to outdo Icarus. Forget being forced to fly — we need to go seek out cliffs and jump with everything we have. Trust me — I lived for too long by NASA’s “failure is not an option” quote. I just, you know, failed to recognize that while it may be true when you’re in the middle of trying to land on the moon and the only other option is dying, it’s not a very useful piece of advice for us. Failure totally is an option.

Congratulates the Class of 2016

260 Jay Street • Katonah, NY 10536 • 914.232.3161 • admissions@harveyschool.org • www.harveyschool.org A coeducational college preparatory school enrolling students in grades 6–12 for day and in grades 9–12 for five-day boarding.

Continued on page 8A


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 5A

FOX LANE PRINICPAL’S ADDRESS

‘I feel so privileged to graduate with you this evening’ Dr. Joel A delberg

C

ongratulations, Class of 2016. As your principal, I want you know how very proud I am of each and every one of you. A number of years ago, I started my own new tradition of beginning my remarks by taking the opportunity to brag a little about the accomplishments and successes represented by the graduating class. I thank you, the Class of 2016, for the honor of having been able to get to know you and watch your growth and development over these last four years, and for the pride I feel today in sharing your accomplishments with all of those in attendance. We’ve had so many opportunities in the last few weeks to celebrate some of your many successes. If any of you are wondering if you’ve left a mark on our school and our community, rest assured that you have. For those who don’t know you as I do, allow me to share some stats. Earlier this week, 128 of you shared your experiences over the last few weeks in some really worthwhile and exciting internships through our ASPIRE program;134 members of this class are members of the National Honor Society; 34 members of your class also hold membership in our National Art Honor Society; 11 of you had your art work chosen to be exhibited at the Young Artist’s Exhibit at the Katonah Museum. Two members of your class had works of art chosen for the highly selective iCreate Exhibit, among the 34 exhibited out of more

than 500 submissions. Among you are 15 students who have received National Merit Commendations, and five among you were recognized as National Merit Semi-Finalists; four of you were recognized as National Merit Finalists; and one of you was a National Merit Scholarship Winner. Two-thirds of the students of the Class of 2016 have participated in our Advanced Placement program, taking college level courses while attending high school;152 members of this class is graduating this afternoon with honors; 161 of you were celebrated last week as senior athletes, making us proud of your athletic skill, your commitment to the team, and the sportsmanship and goodwill for which Fox Lane is known throughout the county, the league and across the state. Two of our teams were named All League Championship Teams, four of you were “All State Athletes,” three of you attended state competitions and one member of your class was named the Journal News “Player of the Year.” And, I was proud to be among the hundreds of us who traveled all over the state and we will never forget the demonstration of Fox Lane pride as we cheered on our unbelievable boys varsity basketball team. In music, some of you earned All-State Honors, Area All-State Honors and AllCounty Honors. Seven members of this class performed in All-State ensembles at the annual NYSSMA conference in Rochester, our best showing of seniors ever. And, our rock ensemble performed on the main stage at BB

Kings in NYC. Among you are students who won recognition in regional and state science research competitions; 13 of you completed our Science Research program, together winning over 20 awards over the last three years. A member of this class was an Intel semifinalist, another member of this class placed fourth in math and computer science at the Westchester-Rockland Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, and five of you won awards at the Westchester Science and Engineering Fair. One member of your class was selected to present at the International Sustainable World Engineering, Energy and Environment Project Olympiad in Houston, Texas, and there won a first place gold medal in engineering, the first time ever for a Fox Lane student. Fourteen among you graduating today earned medals at the Lower Hudson Valley Regional Tournament, and six of you earned metals at the New York State Tournament as members of our school’s Science Olympiad Team. Our engineering students made us very proud, as 12 seniors in the program made a Rube Goldberg machine capable of opening an umbrella in as many steps as possible, which was pretty cool. We won regional’s at the Engineering Expo and seven of you competed at the Rube Goldberg National Competition in Wisconsin. Our Model Congress team brought home the gold, winning four awards at the Yale Model Congress. And, among you graduating today are

16 students who came to our country not speaking English as their first language. We have three students from our OPT program walking across the stage this evening; 11 students graduating today are from our Hillside Alternative School. And, so many of you have taken on leadership roles in our more than 80 school clubs and organizations, some responsible for building homes in Nicaragua, raising awareness and funds for numerous worthwhile charitable organizations, and enlightening and educating our entire school community on issues of relevance in the world of politics and social justice. Now, you can see why I stand here with such pride in the Class of 2016. Before I officially confer you graduates of the Fox Lane High School Class of 2016, I offer a few final thoughts that I hope you’ll take with you, whether the next step on your journey is college, the world of work, serving our nation in the military or wherever life takes you. Like all of us, I was struck by two events that commanded the attention of our nation in recent weeks. The first is the horrible mass shooting that took place at a gay nightclub a little over a week ago in Orlando. I am not going to use my presence at this podium to suggest what we should think or how we should respond politically to what we now know is the largest mass shooting in American history. What I do want to impart to you, our graduates, is the hope that you’ll use Continued on page 8A

WARMEST CONGRATULATIONS TO THE CLASS OF 2016

BEDFORD/POUND RIDGE BROKERAGE 914.234.9099 | KATONAH BROKERAGE 914.232.5007 | HOULIHANLAWRENCE.COM


PAGE 6A — JULY 1, 2016

Fox Lane High School

CLASS OF 2016 Adrian G. Abril Torres Victoria C. Abt Nipson Y. Abzun Cruz Zachary B. Adler Frank R. Albanese Katherine D. Alexander Steven J. Alperin Kevin Alexander Alvarez Rodriguez Enazim J. Amuzu Kaare Andersen Christopher Anton Osman Aplicano Hernandez Emily Appedu Samuel W. Arkin Jessica L. Avellino William S. Y. Bae Martin J. Bailey III Megan A. Bartley Daniyal Basheer Arpit Battu Alexis J. Bazos Ryder Elliott Beitzel Henry J. Bell Jonathan E. Bell Louis Maxwell Benney Julia Tess Berliner Dominick L. Bernstein Michael J. Biskup Erin E. Boddie Veronica A. Boeck Anna-Sophia C. Boguraev Michelle Boo Dara Morgan Boucher Alicia Bracco Austin B. Brand Jaclyn Bravo Daniel R. Bronico Stephanie Lynn Browne Joey Bueti

Rachel Sara Burg Matthew S. Calascione Yumiko C. Calderon Jara Sydney A. Caracciolo Patrick Barry Carmody Sorvina E. Carr Gonzalo Castillo Quintana Dustin Catignani Karl D. Catone Nicholas A. Cerutti Lilian Chang Samuel Jack Chason Ryan Chernus Eunice Chong Jonathan Aidan Clune Luis F. Cobarrubia Recinos Dylan R. Cohen Reese Halle Cohen William D. Cohen Rachel Marie Colao Benjamin J. Coleman Samantha Grace Collins Andrew M. Conner Julia M. Conte Martina L. Cooney Michael J. Copulos Antonio J. Correa Marisol Santia Correa Rachael A. Corsi Hailey Victoria Cowell Christina L. Crowell Alexander Curro Alyssa D’Agostino Brittany G. Dassa Brianna Alexis Dawson Madeline L. De La Cancela Béatrice L. de Vaulx Ryan Deane Samuel M. DeBono John L. DeCola

Maria R. Deiser Daniel B. Delannes-Molka Yisel DeLeon Sara Delgado James E. Dezell Jr. Luca Manuel Di Capua Michael J. Diaz Daniel T. DiBiase Michael George DiBiase Elena M. DiChiara Camryn E. DiFiore Alacia A. Dunn Noah Durica Zoe Taylor Dweck Joshua Andrew Eimer Dominique R. Ellis Matthew R. Erickson Jorge G. Espana Yanny E. Eusebio Ravelo Renee C. Fancher Henry P. Farrell Jack E. Farrell Susannah Rose Feldman Zeke H. Feldman Robbie Maxwell Ferman Odin Ferraro Joseph Fetter Aleah Figueroa Anisia Figueroa Dillon S. Firestein Lauren E. Fischer Shana Fitz Isaiah D. F. Fleischer Valentina Florez Siobhan McCarthy Flynn Bailey J. Foard Sean T. Fopeano Alan G. Ford Jr. Julian Adam Francisco Brandon H. Fuhr

GRADUATION

Nicolina V. Fusco Jacob B. Gabor Isaac Gayosso-Lucano Nicholas Michael Girardi Gabriela T. Gokey Elyse M. Goldblum Ari Matthew Goldstein Rosario Gramuglia Dayna Grave Jack L. Green Eric S. Greenstein Zoey F. Gringlas Maxwell Grozovsky Christopher R. Guiliano Kaila M. Haindl Alexia Alecia Hall Trevor M. Halpin Madeline E. Hardy Matthew B. Harrison Nickolas Anthony Hayden William Nicholas Heese Keith M. Heinz Alexandra C. Hewitt Hannah R. Hoffman Jesse Q. Hoogland Christiana Mackenzie Dorothy Hooker Thomas R. Howard Thomas M. Ingersoll Nicole M. Insolia Abigail A. Ives Jamal R. Jackson-Blake Jack L. Joseph Kellie T. Joseph Delfido E. Julian Ramirez Ashley M. Justiniano Jamie Grace Kaplan James A. Karpowich Maya Nicole Katritos Osamu R. Kawachi Megan A. Kenney Christian Nury Kim Jae Kyung Kim Seonah Kim Brittany Lynn Kladis Maya A. Koneval Ryan A. Kozersky

Cameron Vincent Lada Nicholas S. Lancia Tia Francis Lanza Jordan N. LaRaus James Patrick Hoong Larkin Andrew M. Latchmansingh Amanda Asaro Lawrence Sabrina N. LeDone David D. Lee Edward J. Lee Natasha W. Lehner John J. Leone Jean L. Leong Bryant K. Lewis Jr. Charles Lian Robert E. Lichtenberger Alejandro S. Lopez Vega James Vincent Luciano Kayla A. Luparello Emily Malinari Ingrid Y.C. Mansilla Guerra Abigail Robin Markhoff Vicky Martinez William F. Martinez Arana Demi Massari Kelly V. Mateo Palma Tyjon J. Mathis Katherine Matute Umaña Hailey Frances McCormack Liam James McDonough Julia R. McEleney Ethan R. McKenna Dillon K. Medd Steven O. Medina Reyes Hannah Mae Mele Marco Mendez Sabrina Mendez Jehan R. Miah Henry Bingham Michaelis Lauren Julia Miele Caitlin Marie Miles Godsway Millett-Barrett Jerry A. Mirra Rebecca L. Moccia Alison L. Moky Hudson J. Molinari Kayla Sophie Moore

THE RECORD-REVIEW Molly Marguerite Moore Belsy C. Morales David A. Morales Perla Odeth Morales Meghan M. Moran Cullen R. Morgan Austin Dean Morretta Michael Dean Morretta Joao A D R Mota Brian E. Mullen John R. Mullen Katherine Muller Fanny Jaqueline Munoz Bryan Alexander Naranjo Jason Naranjo Brendan A. Neary Sean P. New Kole Nikprelaj Anthony M. Notaro Brianna L. Okola Alexander James Olsen Emily Lauren O’Mahoney Maureen Ann O’Sullivan Nicole L. Panetta Daniel Rocco Papalia Nicole Pappalardo Joseph Passarelli Kelly Peláez Torres Jose E. Pena Sanchez Salvador E. Perez Perez Guadalupe Perez Torres Sara E. Perl Noah Wren Peterman Kristofer Petreski Antonella Petriello Isabelle Emily Petts Isabel J. Pierangelo Sarah Pietrobono Jose F. Pimentel Giron Brian Lin Poor Ivan B. Popovych Giovanna A. Potenza William E. Purcell Evangjelia Qirko Heidy L. Quincin Marroquin Mark A. Quinn Emmy M. Quinonez Giron

Hannah Pearl Radom Gabriel Hoffman Rainey Selwyn Raman Enoc David Ramirez Portillo Brooke E. Ramlakhan Jonathan Ramos Jose Armando Recinos Matthew N. Redhead Shane S. Reichert Brian W. Reilly Cathryn G. Reilly Andrea Reino Claudia Reino Juana I. Reyes-Hernandez Danae-Ann Richards Kasey L. Riordan Nikolai D. Robbins Emmett Nash Robin Ronaldo M. Robinson Scott Rodrigues Amely K. Rodriguez Maxwell Root Harrison K. Rose Caroline T. Rossi Taylor N. Rudolph Michael C. Ruzza Sean Nichols Sacks Elizabeth L. Sadrakula Maria C. Salazar Castano Joelle A. Sandak Benjamin N. Sandler Nicholas M. Santora Sofia Santos Olivia Santulli Jacob N. Saravay Andres S. Sarmiento Melinda M. Sattler Jack H. Schacht Jake Walter Schaevitz Theresa Rose Schemmel Alexa J. Schilero Kaylie Schiltz Tyler B. Schwartz Nicholas Anthony Sclafani Carmelo A. Serratore Austin J. Hajdok Sessa Continued on next page

CLASSES START August 1 & September 6

It Is An Honor To Study AT WESTCHESTER COMMUNITY COLLEGE You may know that we are the largest and most affordable college in the county. You may also know our award-winning professors teach classes in more than 60 different academic programs. But did you know that more than ninety percent of our Honors Program students go on to their first choice for a four-year college or university?

914-606-6735 ▪ sunywcc.edu


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 7A

FOX LANE DEPARTMENT AWARDS ENGLISH Terry Shanley Avid Reader Prize: Maxwell Root Charles Freeman Award for Writing: Julia Tilley AAUW Award for Excellence in Writing: Zoey Gringlas ESOL ESOL Award: Ingrid Mansilla Guerra, Delfido Julian Ramirez, Nipson Abzun Cruz

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

The Class of ’16 procession continued from previous page

Jessica Shah Matti H. Shaw-Patino Michelle H. Shaw-Patino Isabel Panno Shepard Haley L. Siconolfi Blake A. Siegel Elizavieta Nicole Siegel Colin K. Smith Jessica N. Smith Tiffany R. Snadowsky Karen D. Soliz Criollo Jocelyn A. Soto Garza Lachlan T. Spence Leah G. Sperber Sajay Srivastava Christopher Tanner Stern Brett M. Stroud Clement Nye Swift Dylan Z. Tai

Katelyn A. Tai Jonnathan I. Tapia Pacheco Steven John Tarnok Charles Thomas Tenney III Julia Nicole Tilley Emily B. Tomlinson Matthew S. Tortorella Samuel Robert Townsend Trevor J. Trail Luisa Maria Trigueros Joseph Romeo U. Tuaño Mia N. Tucker Lauren Gabriella Vallejo Kyle Anthony Van Cleave Luke B. Vancraeynest Hellen B. Vega Samantha Velez Pellegrino A. Vingo Olivia N. Vining Domenic Michael Vita

Harrison T. Voss Andrew O. Wallace Shawn Alexander Walsh Seneca Bea Warren Christina A. Washington Lidia Weinstein Nicholas J. Weisman Lindsay Stuart West Stella Wetchler Hunter W. White Sophia L. Whitehead Aaron Morse Winkler Matthew T. Witz Rachel S. Wollman Robert Ian Hugh Workman Naomi Zamora Alessandro D. Zanghi Sophia A. Zaykowski

MATH Mathematics Association of America AMC 12 Award: Samuel Townsend, Emma Vallon, Cooper Siegel Mathletes Senior Award: Brian Poor, Samuel Townsend College Algebra Award: Austin Sessa Senior Mathematics Award: Julia McEleney, Sajay Srivastava, Computer Science Senior Award: Keith Heinz SCIENCE Science Scholar Award: Anna-Sophia Boguraev Outstanding Senior Science Student: Brian Poor Science Award in Physics: Maya Koneval Science Award in Geosciences: Hannah Mele Science Award in Research: Anna-Sophia Boguraev

Soundview

Engineering Scholar Award: Luke Vancraeynest Engineering Scholar Award: Brooke Ramlakhan Robotics Club Award: Eric Greenstein SOCIAL STUDIES/ BUSINESS Award for Social Science: Isabel Pierangelo Economics Award: Sajay Srivastava Political Science Award: Madeline De La Cancela History Award: Caroline Rossi Psychology Award: Michael Copulos, Megan Kenney, Isabelle Petts Outstanding Senior Business Student: Nicholas Sclafani Outstanding Determination in Business Award: Elizabeth Sadrakula Outstanding Achievement in Business Award: Emily O’Mahoney VISUAL & PERFORMING ARTS: ART Sculpture Award: Sabrina LeDone Ceramics Award: Sarah Pietrobono Excellence in Art Award: Joseph Tuano Photography Award: Ashley Justiniano Rhode Island School of

Design Book Award: Hannah Radom Art Service Award: Tiffany Snadowsky Drawing Award: Olivia Vining The Art Department Award: Natasha Lehner, Alexa Schilero Cutting Edge Award: Martina Cooney, Sabrina LeDone Fox Lane High School Art Honor Society Award: Kayla Moore MUSIC/DRAMA Musically Yours AwardInstrumental Orchestra: Anna-Sophia Boguraev Musically Yours AwardVocal: Dylan Tai Musically Yours AwardInstrumental Band: Joshua Eimer U.S. Marines Semper Fidelis Award: Christina Crowell Concert Band Award: Jamal Jackson Blake Symphonic Band Award: Elena DiChiara Chamber Orchestra Award: Gabriel Rainey, Michelle Shaw-Patino Concert Orchestra Award: Vicky Martinez, Matti Shaw-Patino Chamber Choir Award: Sorvina Carr, Megan Kenney, Andrea Reino, Claudia Reino, Haley Siconolfi

Mixed Chorus Award: Madeline Hardy Music Technology Award: Tyler Schwartz Performance Technology Award: Joelle Sandak Players Officer Award: Julia Tilley, Julia Berliner Players Technical Director Award: Sarah Pietrobono Players Improv Award: Luke Vancraeynest WORLD LANGUAGE World Language Award in Spanish: Alyssa D’Agostino World Language Award in French: Alison Moky World Language Award in Italian: Giovanna Potenza World Language Award in Latin: Jesse Hoogland Native Language Arts Award in Spanish: Andrea Reino National Latin Exam Gold Medalist: Jesse Hoogland 2016 ATHLETICS AWARDS John McLaughlin Jr. (Coach ‘Mac’) Memorial: Abigail Ives Scholar Athlete-Male: Sajay Srivastava Scholar Athlete-Female: Anna-Sophia Boguraev Athlete of the Year-Male: Sean New, Aaron Winkler Athlete of the Year-Female: Vicky Martinez

The Long Ridge School Congratulates the Graduating Class of 2016

Preparatory School

Congratulates its Class of 2016!

Front Row: Sebastian Akinla, Fiona Burton, Haley Bembridge, Rachel Akinla, Bradford Cooper Back Row: Evan O’Connell, Jacob Silver, Christopher Gatty

The LRS Grade 5 students will proudly attend the following schools: Fox Lane Middle School, The Masters School, New Canaan Country School, St. Luke’s School, Whitby School

Soundview Prep, an independent day school for grades 6 -12, offers a rigorous college preparatory program in a non-competitive, supportive environment that promotes respect for others, ethical values and a strong sense of community.

370 Underhill Avenue, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598 914-962-2780 Visit our website at www.soundviewprep.org

Two-Year-Olds through Grade 5 478 Erskine Road, Stamford, CT longridgeschool.org 203.322.7693


PAGE 8A — JULY 1, 2016

PRINCIPAL CONTINUED FROM PAGE 5A

and further develop the most important skill set anyone can ever give you — the ability to think for yourselves, to think critically, and to never stop searching for solutions to the challenges that continue to plague our communities, our nation and our world. Whether what happened in Orlando is a question of how our nation responds to the threat of terrorism at home or abroad, whether it is a question of guns in our culture, or whether it is how we address hate, these are questions each of us will have to resolve for ourselves as educated, informed and empowered members of society. I am confident that as graduates of Fox Lane we’ve given you the tools to at least ask the essential questions and challenge convention to find the answers we’re all searching for in the aftermath of this awful event. I am also confident in knowing that we’ve instilled in you the sensitivity and compassion to recognize that whatever the root cause, the targeting of the LGBTQ community as it occurred in Orlando is one that touches and moves all of us, and that we stand in solidarity as we recommit to making our world a more accepting, safer and peaceful place for all. The next item that moved me in recent weeks might surprise you. That’s the death of Muhammad Ali. I’ll bet that you never had me pegged as a fan of boxing. Actually, I’m old enough to remember Ali as Cassius Clay and early on thought, as many did, that as amazing as he was in beating the odds in some pretty spectacular boxing matches, here was one pretty arrogant guy. When I, like so many of us, started looking back at Ali’s life in recent weeks, and as I started reading all of the commentary on his life and death, I realized an important message and gift that his life

GRADUATION

represents for all of us and I hope for each of you as you embark on whatever comes next in your life journey. Ali was an amazing example of an individual who defied classification, who would not allow anyone to assign him a role in life. As I read so many pieces on his life, he was remembered as a heavyweight champ, as a lovable clown, as a sociopolitical spokesman, as a thinker, as the comeback kid, as a poet, as a recording artist, as a draft dodger, as an anti-war activist, as a civil rights leader, and, of course, as he identified himself so often, as “the greatest.” With all the bravado and showmanship, what Ali also became was an internationally recognized humanitarian and promoter of positive social change. In recent weeks stories were shared about how he talked a suicidal man off a ledge in Los Angeles, how he traveled to Iraq to secure the freedom of 15 Americans held hostage, how he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Bush, how he was awarded the Messenger of Peace honor by the United Nations, and how he brought the entire world to tears, as, with his arm shaking from the effects of Parkinson’s disease, he lit the caldron at the Atlanta Olympics. Ali defied easy classification. He could have relied on any one of these singular titles and would still have commanded our attention in recognizing both his life and his death. However, he did not allow one title, one role, to define who he would become as a citizen of the world. When I think about what his life might offer all of us, it is the courage to think of ourselves as others might not see us, to even think of ourselves as we might not see ourselves, but to take risks, to speak up, to do what we and others might never expect of us, and take ourselves out of our comfort zones and just see what follows. No one thought the boxer from Louisville, Kentucky, would be remembered

for all of the amazing things he did that went so far beyond boxing. Don’t limit yourselves by how you think you need to be or what you already know you’re good at. President Clinton said of Ali, “I think he decided very young to write his own life story. I think he decided that he would not ever be disempowered.” His wife, Lonnie, said, “If Muhammad didn’t like the rules, he rewrote them.” My message to you, our graduates, is to write your own stories and even dare to rewrite the rules. If we only do what we think we already know we do well, we risk never knowing who we might have become. As your principal, I could not be prouder of each of you and I have so much hope and confidence in the good you’ll produce with the tools you have to meet success. I attended my last senior prom this weekend and I know you were waiting to see if I’d join you on the dance floor for a final dance. I know I disappointed some of you when I never made it to the dance floor. This is my final graduation speech as a high school principal, so I’m actually graduating this evening with you. Invite me to your reunion whenever that is and we’ll have that dance together then, as you reintroduce yourselves to me by the many facets of your lives that I know you will have discovered about yourselves and the roles you’ll have assumed, and you’ll share what I fully expect will be unbelievable success. As this is my final graduation speech as a high school principal, I cannot think of a class that fills me with more pride, and I feel so privileged to graduate with you this evening, you the Fox Lane High School Class of 2016. Congratulations!

THE RECORD-REVIEW

VALEDICTORIAN CONTINUED FROM PAGE 4A

Honestly, it’s a great one. For crying out loud, fail more often people! Or maybe this is more advice to myself. I can’t even tell at this point. After all, I’m still very scared of what you think, and really not ready to give you advice. But I figured I owed you something, and that the people who lived a little more than me might have something to say, so I asked around, and here, graduates, is your advice to yourself: Take the scenic route. Sleep when you’re tired. Look both ways before crossing the street. Instruction manuals do exist for a reason. Eat bananas before interviews — potassium’s good for confidence. Sleep on the cool side of the pillow. Always tip. Remember friends’ birthdays. It’s the third lap that counts. Drink more coffee. Drink less coffee. Agree to disagree. Take more selfies, count less likes. Listen to songs that make you dance and watch movies that make you cry. Go for a walk. If you love someone, tell them. I love you, family, and I love you, and I love you cross-country girls, and I love you, and you all the way back there, and you, you, you, all of you (point out for each) aaaand you (point to self). Love yourself, not in spite of what you have or haven’t done, but because of what you have the potential to do. And that’s all, Fox Lane. I’m done; you made it. Just remember — I may, in this moment, be congratulating you on success, but I hope your life is filled with failure. I hope it’s filled with giving it everything despite paralyzing fear, and then coming back to fall again. I hope you seek out and make good use of plenty of cliffs. After all, each of us is a moment of unrealized potential in a time of quantum computing and rocket ships. Wax should be the least of our worries.

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE MASTERS SCHOOL CLASS OF 2016

BEST WISHES TO OUR GRADUATES— A STELLAR CLASS THAT COMES FROM WESTCHESTER COUNTY, 10 STATES AND 13 COUNTRIES! 49 Clinton Ave | Dobbs Ferry, NY | mastersny.org | 914-479-6420


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 9A

John Jay High School

CLASS OF 2016 Graduating class urged to ‘Live, love and learn’ By CHELSEA FINGER

T

he John Jay High School 2016 graduating class joined together for the last time on June 21. The students passed family and friends under the grand white tents at Caramoor to take their place onstage and say good-bye. The program was filled with speeches offering quirky reflections on high school trivialities and clichés, and heartfelt calls for compassion as the seniors step out into the world. Superintendent Andrew Selesnick opened the ceremony in his first official graduation address as superintendent of the KatonahLewisboro School District. “As you, our students, come to the end of your last year in our schools, I come to the end of my first year. Among many others, you have helped to make this a wonderful first year,” Mr. Selesnick said. While preparing his speech, Mr. Selesnick ruminated on the one thing that makes John Jay students unique. He thought back over the student conversations, presentations and sporting events he attended. “It didn’t take me long to decide that it is your voice that stands out,” he said. “The John Jay voice is distinct. You should know that, be proud of it, rely on it, and continue to make it even stronger in the years ahead. The John Jay voice is clear, confident, welcoming, warm, funny, compassionate and passionate, insightful, individual, friendly and purposeful. Again and again I have been impressed by the strength of your voices. It’s a strength that you should not take for granted, and one that you must take advantage of.” John Jay’s salutatorian Ryan Kramer discussed today’s social-media saturated world, and how human connection has fundamentally changed in the era of Twitter, Instagram and his particular favorite, Snapchat. “Human connection is a natural part of life, and, like all other parts of life, it evolves. It was born of the need to share our mutual experiences in life, and will continue to transform and manifest itself to fulfill that goal. This change isn’t bad. Think of all the beauty that’s arisen from increased human connection. We’ve progressed from face-to-face geographical limitations, to the telephone, to the internet. We live in a world where individuals can connect across the globe instantaneously.” Ryan said that he has grown to appreciate the value of human connection, no matter what form it takes. “Over time, as I’ve developed, my social appetite has as well. As my social presence increased, as my human connections multiplied, I found myself more involved, more engaged. In turn, I found myself succeeding in other aspects of my life. I enjoyed these successes more and coped with the failures better.” He ended by reassuring his classmates that no matter how far away the next years of their lives take them, they can find solace in the fact that so many avenues for connections will be available to them. Valedictorian Georgia Grzywacz took a somewhat unconventional approach to the graduation speech: an exploration of her pet peeves. The list began as a class project to ex-

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

The Class of ‘16 procession

plore something personal, and she decided to “indulge the pessimistic side” of herself. This list included “putting on a wet bathing suit, birds, honey on my hands, and crumpled, soft, sometimes moist dollar bills with a brown tint,” and a fifth item which garnered approving cheers from the audience, “the United States’ refusal to use the metric system.” While the project began as an almost celebratory cataloguing of negativity, it turned into a springboard for realizations about balancing the negative and the positive in our outlook on life. As she shared the list with her classmates, the irritations lost their power. “In the end, and much to my chagrin, my project based solely in pessimism resulted in unintentional optimism,” she said. “Voicing these communal irritations allowed me to diffuse my hostility and move on from the trivial issues. Pessimism is easy

and sometimes even fun, but it must be offset with positive experiences to arrive at an equilibrium. Ultimately we realize that life cannot be polarized, and so, my wish for the Class of 2016 is to discover the gift of that balance.” The Rolling Tones, John Jay’s all-male a cappella group, followed with an impressive rendition of Billy Joel’s “For the Longest Time.” They were one of three a cappella groups to perform throughout the afternoon. The final student speaker was Eleanor Fritsch, who was chosen to give the senior class address. Her speech was a witty and touching call for breaking out of the traditional jock vs. arts dichotomy, which could have come straight out of a John Hughes movie. “I’m the least qualified person to give this speech,” Eleanor began. “I don’t do sports. I don’t have a lot of JJHS spirit. The only parties I go to are to celebrate the Tony Awards

once a year, and we dress up as our favorite character in a play, as dorky as that sounds. I keep to myself more or less. And for that reason, I think it’s important that I give this speech, maybe show a little diversity.” She described her persona in high school as the “loud-laughed theatre dork,” and confessed she is also a closeted booklover who “writes poetry that gets her sent to guidance.” For the most part, she just tried to survive high school. Although ostensibly the age-old divide of athletics and arts does exist at John Jay, Eleanor said she realized that this view is limiting. “In every high school, there are kids who are independents; they don’t participate in either, or they do both. In my own collective circle, there are kids who star in musicals and also run track. There are the video gamers, the patient gods and goddesses who babysit. We have the couch gurus, the anime experts. It’s naive to think there are only two groups. The minute we try to separate into two groups is the minute we sacrifice what it means to be an inclusive species, a diverse species. Isn’t this true for politics in this day and age, sexual orientation, gender identity?” She encouraged her classmates to move out of whatever categorizing box they might find themselves in now and keep experimenting. “Identities are ever-changing and organic,” she said. “We can’t peg ourselves into one hole and assume that because we are theatre kids now, we will be theatre kids at our kids’ graduation. We, as a community, have to be open to whatever our hearts choose to do.” She said she envisions her classmates doing wonderful things as they pursue different sides of themselves in college. “I fully suspect that some of our science research students are headed for the tap-dancing stage, and some of our athletes will try their hands at ceramics. I mean, my college has a Quidditch team. I might just go into sports,” she joked. Interim co-principals, Gil Cass and Kim Piccolino closed out the official speeches with a comedy routine. Mr. Cass joked with Ms. Piccolino that he wasn’t ready to let the students go. “You think I’m crazy to think they should stay on? Do you have any understanding what is going on out there in this world? If they stay here, they’ll be safe.” Ms. Piccolino played her part, explaining to him that now the world needs the class of 2016 more than they do. “They are ready to work on the world,” she said. Before calling up Board of Education President Marjorie Schiff to give out the diplomas, Ms. Piccolino and Mr. Cass gave their final advice to the class of 2016. Both used simple three-letter acronyms. Ms. Piccolino offered “the three L’s: Live, Love and Learn.” Mr. Cass said his motto is simply “E-L-E: Everybody Love Everybody.” As the 279 John Jay seniors received their diplomas, friends and family took pictures and cheered. Once the last name was called, the seniors shifted their tassels to officially mark the rite of passage.


PAGE 10A — JULY 1, 2016

GRADUATION

Above &

Beyond

The Class of 2016

Katherine Elizabeth Adams • Adriel Carlo Alvarado • Schuyler Wade Andersen • Ian Leahy Anderson • Joshua André Auguste • Paige Elizabeth Ballard • Brian Christopher Beaumonte • Evan Renee Bergeron • Christopher James Bloomer • William L. Bralower • Harold W. Buckle, Jr. • Sarah Catherine Clayton • Sara Elisabeth Evans Davis • Erik Nils Eveland • Henry B. Ferris, Jr. • Andrew William Frattaroli • Caleb Douglas Fuller • Brandon M. Gordon • Dolan Michael Gregorich • John Eric Hage • Katharine Potter Hamill • Austin James Howe • Laura Hazel Christina Howells • Thomas Jan Andrew Howells • Nicholas Jodka • Jennifer S. Kochanski • Jared Paul Kuehner • Jeffrey Robert Lane • Jalen Aaron Latta • Hugh James Lavelle • Sophia Lynn Lemmer • Rebecca Ann Leonard • Alexander Owen Levy • Addison Skye MacKenzie • Virginia Lockwood Mahoney • Olivia Elizabeth Huan Mao • Elizabeth Anne McKay • Christina Enrique McLaughlin • Marguerite Bedell Meyers • Justin Donald Miller • Joshua Alexander Mitchell • Jacob Biagio Morgenstern • Kathleen Kress Neustaetter • Grace Aislinn O’Halloran • Elizabeth Thornton Pellegrino • Laura Marie Pizzani • Alexander Popelyukhin • Eliza Posner • Emma Jack Powless • Jamison Rich • Samantha W. Ryan • Noah Grant Schott • Henry Fitzgerald Seth • Charles Anderson Simmonds • Shannon Robert Smith • Catherine Callahan Steele • Brian Jeffrey Stute • Madeline Nicole Tillemans • Alexandra Sara Trager • Bailey Starr Vehslage • Henry Starr Vehslage • Alexander Richard Wagle • Andrew Joseph Washer • Sarah Marie Wilson • Allison Noble Works • Michael Quincy YoungHyuk Yim

Congratulations

Class of 2016 Representing...

Bedford • Cos Cob • Darien • Fairfield • Greenwich • New Canaan • Norwalk • Poughkeepsie • Pound Ridge • Ridgefield • Rowayton • Stamford • Stratford • Weston • Westport • Wilton

Attending...

American University • Boston College (2) • Boston University • Bowdoin College (2) • Brown University • Case Western Reserve University • Catholic University of America • Clark Atlanta University • Colgate University • Colorado College • University of Connecticut • Cornell University • Dickinson College • Drexel University • Duke University • University of Edinburgh • Elon University (4) • Fairfield University • Lafayette College (2) • Lehigh University (2) • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2) • University of Miami • Miami University Ohio (2) • Middlebury College • New York University • University of Pennsylvania (2) • Quinnipiac University • University of Richmond (2) • Rochester Institute of Technology • Scripps College • Southern Methodist University • Syracuse University • Trinity College • Tufts University (2) • Tulane University (2) • United States Military Academy (Army) • University of Oxford (UK) • Vanderbilt University • University of Vermont • Wagner College • Wake Forest University (2) • Washington and Lee University • Washington University in St. Louis (4) • Wesleyan University (2) • Western New England University • College of William and Mary (2) • Wofford College

Open House – October 16, 2016 (203) 801- 4833 | info@stlukesct.org | www.stlukesct.org/learn 377 North Wilton Road, New Canaan, CT 06840 St. Luke’s is a secular, college-preparatory day school for grades 5-12.

THE RECORD-REVIEW


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 11A

JOHN JAY VALEDICTORIAN ADDRESS

‘My wish for you is to discover the gift of balance’ By Georgia Grzywacz

H

ey guys! As many of you know, I’m super positive, social, outgoing, and cheery by nature. Therefore, it may shock you to know that I actually hate a lot of things. If you think I’m pessimistic for saying that, you’re honestly not wrong. I have a weird reputation for going to teachers that don’t hate me that much and complaining until they LITERALLY force me out of their classroom. Get to know me a little better, and I will be over your shoulder at the end of every day stealing a significant part of your lunch and ranting about trivial annoyances. It doesn’t take much to set me off, and if you’re in the crossfire of rampant monologue, you’re bound to fake sympathy and understanding. So, when opportunity struck in the form of a class project intended on capturing something personal, I decided to treat myself and indulge this pessimistic side of me, and so my list began. The idea was to create a series of 100 pet peeves and have my classmates read them out loud as my presentation. I hit the 100 mark in a matter of days and, by the night before the project was due, I was well over 250 pet peeves. The challenge wasn’t even creating this amount of negativity, it was cutting it down. My list of stuff I hate began as follows: 1. Putting on a wet bathing suit. 2. Birds. 3. Honey on my hands. 4. Crumpled, soft, sometimes moist dollar bills with a brown tint.

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Valedictorian Georgia Grzywacz

5. The United States’s refusal to use the metric system. 6. When mannequins have hair. 7. The fact I don’t know my house’s smell. 8. Sweatshirts that are tight in the arms. 9. People telling me to calm down. 10. Cliché graduation speeches. And the list goes on. Upon presenting, I passed around my jar of pet peeves, each classmate pulling out one little strip of paper to read. I sat there cringing, experiencing every pet peeve while my classmates laughed at each annoyance. Weirdly enough, the end result was ultimately positive. By sharing each negative aloud and laughing at their ubiquity, we were able to turn each issue into something meaningless. The exercise actually helped me realize the necessity of balance. I’m not one to enforce the idea that you need to balance your academic and social lives, especially since I’d probably be seen doing homework

Seeing and Hearing Never Congratulations to Like the class of Before 2016 Visit Our Showroom to Experience andNew our very own graduate. you much 4K Wishing Ultra HDTV and success Hi-Resand Audio happiness in your future endeavors!

Value Electronics 35 Popham Rd Scarsdale 914-723-3344

instead of going to a hockey game. I’m referring to more of a mental balance between the positive and the negative. I’ll be the first to say that it’s easy to be negative. I once considered making my mantra a quote by Phil Dunphy from Modern Family, “The most amazing things that can happen to a human being will happen to you if you just lower your expectations.” However, it’s clear that that mindset is not rewarding in the long run. In fact, author and psychologist Martin Seligman explained just this mindset by coining the term “Positive Psychology.” His belief is based in the idea that one must accept the negativity that exists in his or her life, but work hard to expand individual happiness and discover life’s purpose. He claims that, once an individual is educated in circumventing the learned helplessness that often accompanies negativity, the resulting optimism can lead to increased physical and mental performance, as well as lasting health benefits. It’s clear that, despite being more difficult, maintaining a sense of optimism will ultimately be more beneficial. Ironically enough, during my month of cultivating my impressive list of pet peeves, I found myself writing down stupid little positive things that would stick out in my mind. For instance, after jotting down that I hate when people check my blind spot for me, I realized I love driving alone. I also love the way British people say the word “little.” How underratedly good the movie Shrek is. The word “knick­ knack.” When you open a seltzer bottle without it exploding. When a hotel leaves you chocolate on your pillow. Pretentious cafés in the city. Old Kanye West albums. Downloading pictures from a disposable camera.

In the end, and much to my chagrin, my project based solely in pessimism resulted in unintentional optimism. Voicing these communal irritations allowed me to diffuse my hostility and move on from the trivial issues. Don’t get me wrong, I still firmly believe that negativity is essential to life, especially in high school, to help dissolve unfavorable experiences and accept the intricacy of life’s emotions, and it turns out we’re not all that unique in our complaints. Everyone can agree that we hate that time of confusion as to whether or not we hold the door for someone. The insufferable traffic on the staircase leading down to the math wing. The unbearable heat in upper Q during chem class. When you are walking down a hallway and someone is walking towards you and you avoid eye contact until you’re close enough. But, with practice, it becomes easy and important to remember the positives. Having your name called down to the office in the middle of class. Having the lunch ladies know your sandwich order. That rush you feel when you see the teacher whose class you just cut (shout-out to Panzer, Rosenzweig and Rizz). Talking to Margaret. Those days where the cookies in the cafeteria are particularly warm and gooey. Whatever it may be, those pleasures serve to balance out the obvious and stereotypically negative “high school” complaints. I will be the first to say that pessimism is easy and sometimes even fun, but it must be offset with positive experiences to arrive at an equilibrium. Ultimately we realize that life cannot be polarized, and so, my wish for the Class of 2016 is to discover the gift of that balance.


PAGE 12A — JULY 1, 2016

John Jay High School

Caroline Heneghan Samantha Maresca Megan Herdrich Stefan Marinkovic Jonathan Spencer Hill Jack Alan Marschke Christopher Harrison Holze Kayla Marschke Callie O’Callaghan Horan Nicholas Martin Henry Adams Housman Spencer Martin Christopher M. Iorio Christina Martino Anna Ivenitsky Pilar F. Matthews William Dwight Amelia Jadow Joseph McCarthy Ryan Michael Dwyer Samuel Curtis Johnston Sean Patrick McCarthy Lauren Eaker Matthew Alexander Jones Taylor Nicole McCarthy Kyle Edelman Marisa Joseph Susan McCauley Peter J. Ehnes Sarah Mee Rae McCormick Madelyn Kantor George JT Ennis Justin McGowen Ethan Kaplan Hana Frieda Epstein Kelly McKeon Hunter Morgan Keech Jill Erlanger Kayla Arianna Medile Christopher Kelly Vanessa Fabbri Zachary Mendes Kerry A. Kelly Patrick Farella Matthew Miller Liam Michael Kelly Hason Myles Ferrebee Peter Miller Visar Kelmendi Nicholas Filannino Morgan Leigh Milone Isabel Kenney Jeremiah FinkelmanTravis John Milone Jared Kersh Mahoney Laura Judith Minard Cooper Elizabeth Klares Kayla Jill Fisher Julia Mines Andrew Kohler Gwen Sorokin Freudenheim Thomas Matthew Francheska Kola Eleanor Fritsch Dominic Miritello Ryan Joseph Kramer Sophia Tho Quang Gaine Donald Moore Jaclyn Rose Kulacz Danielle Galea Dylan Muniz Danielle Kimberly Kulick Georgia Eve Galligan Clifford Munz Nathaniel Labarca Sophia Giardina Jake O’Neill Murphy Mya S. Labbay Olivia Giordano Jana Nadien Gabriella Mary Lear Rogelio Giraldo Maggie Suzanne Naso Jessica Jana Leibman Emanuel Frank Giumarra Anthony Nino Nastasi Terrence J. Levens Claudia Casey Gorman Daniel Rushton Neuburger Madelyn Claire Levine Jeanette Marie Groccia Eion Nohilly Leland Lewis Georgia Grzywacz Gemma Nuttall Miranda Dorothy Lipton Julia Patricia Hagen Dylan Oates Jakob Leonard Loeb Alexandra Collins Hall Callista Ohnemus Rachel Lubbe Kenneth Charles Hall Douglas Orlovitz Matthew Lawrence Nikki Johnston Hammond Shannon O’Rourke Lupinacci Kevin Matthew Hanley Justin Ortiz John Matthew Lynch Katherine Chambers Graduation Ad:Graduation Ad 5/31/16 2:42 PM Page 1 Andrew Gettys Panno Harckham Julia Marisa Lynch Jacob M. Harkins Aidan Russell Parker Kayla K. Lynch Briana Elisabeth Helmes Isabella Jordan Pectol Kelly Mac Donald Charles Steven Helmes Natalie Perkowski Steven Mangione

CLASS OF 2016 Charles Acevedo Carl Albert Thomas Alfredo Dakota Austin Alvernia Zachary Andrews Caroline Therese Assumma Brandon Barcena Jennifer Michael Barry Peter Robert Barry Jessica Baryluk Olivia Baryluk Danielle Johanna Beaver Daniel Joseph Benventano Daniel Berger Ashley Berton Isabelle Bienen Tatiana Garcia Blechman Josephine Belessakos Jessica Blumberg Emma Boden Sean Alexandra Boland Chase Borowitz Lila Bostwick Adam Brandwein Jack Brotmann Jake Richard Brown Emily Alexandra Brozski Bailey Alexandra Burke Raymond Burke Thomas Joseph Butcher Sean Butler Owen Cahan Nicholas Cardi Nathaniel Carlotto August Carlson Samuel Cascioli

Cameron Casey Maggie Ceisler Miranda Celaj Colleen Chambers Aubrey Chang Michelle Choi Saumya Chungh Benjamin Ciubotaru Aaron Cohen John Cohen Leah Francine Cohen William James Cooper Caleb Cowher Joh Craig Olivia Cree Adare Elisabeth Cronin Matthew Curran Zury Cutler Raymond Michael D’Urso John Alexander Daley III Evan Jacob Dash Peyton David Sofia David Mary Debany Christopher De Bease Carlie Alexa Deitchman Olivia Joy Del Savio Jillian Ann Delin Alexandra Marie Deverdzic Jennifer Dewhurst Eliana Sophia Diamond Nicole Ann Dickan Evan Dodes Scott Mitchell Dorf Gabriele Elizabeth Dowd Emily Downs Justin Drpich

GRADUATION

Fall in Love with Music

It’s never to early to register for Fall!

216 Central Ave White Plains, NY 10606

Congratulations Graduates!

Wishing the very best to the Class of 2016

THE RECORD-REVIEW

Michael Lee Portnoy Claudia Pou Tamar Rackear-Sturm Sarah Taylor Raimondi Alexander Rajovic Catherine Randles Gianna Rappa Sara Reino Julia Faye Rietsch Justin Rifkin Kassandra Crystal Robertson-Belloni Michaela Robinson Zeke Samuel Mack Rogen Jessica Rooney Julia Elizabeth Rozsa Sarah Ann Rozsa Elijah S. Rust Haven Rutter-Shelden Michael Sabath Jennifer Rose Cassidy Sacco Lillian Sackman Lauren Saldutti Matthew Bryan Salton Kazuyoshi Sampson Charles A. Samuelsohn Lindsay Alexa Sandler Juliana Rose Schechter Olivia Lauren Schechtman Nikki Kathleen Schoen Kimberly Anne Schultz Nicole Cari Seraita Samantha Peri Shapiro Chelsea Shaw Willa Grace Shiel Samantha Hope Shulman Eilon Silver Frankel Julia Elizabeth Simon Kaitlin Simonides Philip Simonides Gerardo Sinapi Christine Bonnie Singh Julia Nicole Sklarin William Harrison Slater

(NAPS)—Since 2004, the Dell Scholars Program has awarded over $60 million in college scholarships and services to students who have demonstrated the drive to succeed despite personal obstacles. More than half of those students were selected from the Advancement Via Individual Determination program. Learn more at www.avid.org/scholars.ashx. Penske Truck Rental offers AAA members a discount. That can be handy to new graduates. For further moving tips, go to www.PenskeTruckRental.com or call (800) GO-PENSKE. A 2015 Private College 529 Plan survey found that about three-quarters of parents of teens 13 to 17 knew what a 529 plan is; however, only about one-third are using one. Colorado Technical University awards 50 Wounded Warrior Scholarships a year to veterans, their spouses and caregivers to help them rebuild their lives. Students at CTU can study online, on campus or both to suit their lifestyle. Learn more at www.coloradotech.edu/military. Starting a business in the franchise industry is possible for new graduates. For information about starting a Coverall franchised business, visit www.coverall.com/franchise-opportunities. Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) is a college readiness program that provides teachers with specific academic strategies and tools for students who are often underrepresented in college. Learn more at www.avid.org. Streaming entertainment can be viewed using a wide variety of streaming players and smart TVs from companies such as Roku, Inc., so college stu-

Lucas Smallidge Lauren Anne Spaziante Hailey Elizabeth Spencer Tierney Grace Spencer Andrew Stagnari Michael Brandon Stark Dunlin Stathis Brody Staub Lily Solange Steinman Tibbon Abraham Steinman Alice Kate Stewart Benjamin Stoddard Rachel Stuttman Alexandra Suser Molly Sweeney Marisa Tagliaferro Christina Ann Talia Harrison Tanico Oriana Geller Tannenbaum Caroline Susan Hayman Taylor Thomas James Tegtmeier Simone Raye Teich Phillip Toon Joseph Vales Nicholas Van Slyck Lea Josephine Walsh Madison Kearns Walsh Ryan Wanek Jason Ray Weinhaus Brianna Fawn Wekerle Elizabeth Wellington Abigail Weston Amanda Nicole Wien Isaac Windfield Fiona Wisehart Alexa Noelle Yablon Gabrielle Yablonski Sara Yeshoua Matthew Zeitler Dylan Zeller Zachary Zipper Gabriel Aaron Zuckerberg

dents can reward themselves with a TV break whatever time they finish studying, day or night. Learn more at www.roku.com. A feature called Full-speed Forward Collision Warning-Plus is available on the Chrysler 200. A Chrysler Group first, this provides autonomous braking that can slow the vehicle or, at low speeds, bring it to a stop when a frontal collision appears imminent. To learn more, visit www.chrysler.com. Whatever career you’re in, taking your expertise and experience into the classroom can make a difference in the lives of the students—and your own. For information about teacher preparation, continuing teacher education and professional development opportunities at University of Phoenix, visit www.phoenix.edu/education. Team America Rocketry Challenge, the world’s largest student rocket contest, is sponsored by the Aerospace Industries Association and the National Association of Rocketry. To learn more, go to www.rocketcontest.org and www.aiaaerospace.org or call (703) 358-1000.


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 13A


PAGE 14A — JULY 1, 2016

GRADUATION

THE RECORD-REVIEW

COLLEGES & UNIVERSITIES McGarrah graduates from Susquehanna University

Crasto of Bedford graduates from Washington and Lee

Erin McGarrah of Mount Kisco graduated from Susquehanna University in May with a Bachelor of Arts degree in graphic design. She is an alumnus of Fox Lane High School and the daughter of Bob and Stephanie McGarrah.

Adrian Christian Crasto of Bedford received a B.S.C. degree in Business Administration from Washington and Lee University in May.

Colgate University graduates two local students Victoria Gullen of Katonah and John McCown of Pound Ridge graduated from Colgate University as part of the graduating class of 2016 in May. Ms. Gullen majored in English and graduated magna cum laude. Mr. McCown of Pound Ridge majored in psychology.

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Hailey Spencer receiving her diploma

JOHN JAY DEPARTMENT AWARDS Excellence in English: Willa Shiel Excellence in Mathematics: Leah Cohen Outstanding Performance in the American Mathematics Competition — 12: Justin McGowen Excellence in Science: Zury Cutler Excellence in Science: Justin McGowen Weinstein’s Science Award: Danielle Kulick Future Scientist Award: Emma Boden Excellence in Social Studies: Isabel Kenney Excellence in Spanish: Georgia Grzywacz, Gabriel Zuckerberg Excellence in French: Ryan Kramer Excellence in Latin: Liam Kelly Outstanding Achievement in Architecture: Travis Milone Director’s Award for Instrumental Music: Michael Sabath Director’s Award for Orchestral Studies: Danielle Galea Director’s Award for Technical Theater: Jack Lynch Arturo Toscanini Orchestral Studies Award: Gabriel Zuckerberg Sanford Meisner Drama Award: Morgan Milone, Sean McCarthy National School Choral Award: Samuel Johnston, Isabella Pectol John Philip Sousa Band Award: Cooper Klares Ella Fitzgerald Vocal Jazz Award: Christina Martino Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Peter Miller

Assistant Principals Award: Georgia Galligan, Matt Jones Outstanding Leadership to Campus Congress: Daniel Neuberger Outstanding Service to the Class of 2016: Gabriel Dowd Outstanding Service to the Class of 2016: Kelly MacDonald Appointment to the United States Military Academy – West Point: Daniel Neuburger The State Education Department 2016 Scholarship for Academic Excellence Award: Bailey Burke, Danielle Galea, Georgia Grzywacz, Caroline Henaghan, Ryan Kramer, Christina Martino, Justin McGowen, Michael Sabath, Willa Shiel, Gabriel Zuckerberg National Merit Scholarship Finalists: Isabel Kenney, Justin McGowen The Principals Award: Caleb Cowher, Mary Debany, Taylor McCarthy ATHELETIC AWARDS Excellence in Physical Education: Callista Ohnemus, Justin Ortiz Jay Awards (6+ seasons of a varsity sport): Nicholas Cardi, August Carlson, Cameron Casey, Peyton David, Emily Downs, Alexandra Hall, Caroline Heneghan, Megan Herdrich, Hunter Keech, Jakob Loeb, Kelly McKeon, Laura Minard, Jake Murphy, Daniel Neuberger, Eion Nohilly, Gemma Nuttall, Sarah Raimondi, Matthew Salton, Eilon Silver Frankel, Bonnie Singh, Hailey Spencer, Tierney Spencer, Fiona Wisehart, Gabrielle Yablonski

Congratulations to all the Graduates of 2016, from Kindergarten to University! From

Scarsdale Family Doctors Marilyn Sutton MD Ira Sutton MD

John Jay alumni Epstein graduates from Dickinson Danielle Sarah Epstein, daughter of Mark and Mara Epstein of Katonah, graduated summa cum laude from Dickinson College in May with a B.A. degree in psychology. Ms. Epstein also received dean’s list and Phi Beta Kappa honors. She is a graduate of John Jay High School.

Sara Snadowsky graduates Muhlenberg College Sara Snadowsky of Pound Ridge graduated with a B.A. degree in theatre from Muhlenberg College in May. She is the child of Darlene Snadowsky and Robert Snadowsky and is a graduate of Fox Lane High School.

Union College graduates five Union College awarded diplomas to five area students in May: Daniel Caiola of Katonah received a B.A. degree, majoring in economics; Janey Fine of Pound Ridge received a B.A. degree, majoring in American studies; Nicholas Hall-Risko of Bedford received a B.A. degree, majoring in economics; Thaddeus McKoan of Katonah received a B.A. degree, majoring in economics; and Andrea van Ryzin of Mount Kisco received a B.S. degree, majoring in mathematics and psychology.

Three local students graduate from Keene State Keene State College honored three local students at its 2016 commencement: Abigail Laitman of Bedford graduated with a B.A. in sociology; John Petrillo of Katonah graduated with a B.S. in physical education with an exercise science/ health specialization; and Julian Haddad of Mount Kisco graduated with a B.S. in architecture.

Four students graduate from Marist Local students received degrees from Marist College in May 2016. Jack Cummings of Bedford graduated with a B.S in business administration; Jessica Fanelli of Katonah graduated with a B.A. in communication; Sara Silverstein of Katonah graduated with a B.A. in psychology; and Kaitlin Weinstein of Katonah graduated with a B.A. in psychologyspecial education.

Butcher graduates from JMU Abigail Rose Butcher of Pound Ridge graduated with a degree in social work from James Madison University during the May commencement exercises.

Cathleen Ryan graduates from Lasell College Cathleen Ryan of Katonah received her Bachelor of Science degree from Lasell College. Ms. Ryan majored in management.

Johnston graduates from Salve Regina University Michael Johnston of Bedford achieved a Bachelor of Science in business administration during Salve Regina University’s 66th Commencement.

Tulane University local class of 2016 Tulane University conferred degrees on many area residents in May. From Katonah: Hunter Camps graduated from the Freeman School of Business with a Bachelor Science Management degree; Daniel Newman graduated from the Law School with a Juris Doctor degree; Keeley Peckham graduated from the School of Liberal Arts with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree; Madeline Morris graduated from the School of Science and Engineering with a Bachelor of Science degree; and Cliona Roberts graduated from the School of Science and Engineering with a Bachelor of Science degree. From Bedford, Jacob Dunnigan graduated from the Freeman School of Business with a Bachelor of Science Management degree; and from Pound Ridge, Alexandra Oricchio graduated from the School of Science and Engineering with a Bachelor of Science degree.

A special section of

The Record-Review P.O. Box 455, Bedford Hills, NY 10507 914-244-0533 www.record-review.com

PUBLISHER SECTION EDITOR ART DIRECTOR AD DESIGN AD SALES

Deborah G. White Ed Baum Ann Marie Rezen Katherine Potter Francesca Lynch, Thomas O’Halloran, Barbara Yeaker, and Marilyn Petrosa

©2016 THE RECORD, LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. REPRODUCTION IN WHOLE OR IN PART IS FORBIDDEN WITHOUT PUBLISHER’S WRITTEN PERMISSION.


THE RECORD-REVIEW

GRADUATION

JULY 1, 2016 — PAGE 15A

Congratulations to our Class of 2016! French-American School of New York

This is just the beginning . We wish you all the best!

Here is where they are headed: UNITED STATES Berklee College of Music Brown University Clark Univesity Cornell University Georgia Institute of Technology New York University Purdue University The New School Tufts University University of California, Berkeley University of California, Davis

University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Santa Barbara University of Chicago University of Southern California CANADA Concordia University McGill University

EUROPE Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne - Switzerland Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Paris-Val de Seine, France ESCP Europe, Germany LaSalle Beauvais Institut Polytechnique, France Lycée Hoche—Classes Préparatoires, France Sciences Po - Columbia University Dual BA Program, France University of Kent, England University of Oxford, England


PAGE 16A — JULY 1, 2016

GRADUATION

THE RECORD-REVIEW

Be ready Rippowam Cisqua School graduates poised to take on the world! The following is a list of the schools that our graduates will be attending in the fall: Andover (Phillips Academy Andover) Berkshire School (2) Blair Academy (2) Choate Rosemary Hall (2) Deerfield Academy Exeter (Phillips Exeter Academy) (2) Fox Lane High School (2) Greenwich Academy (2) Greenwich High School

Hackley School (2) Harrison High School (2) Horace Mann School John Jay High School (5) Kennedy Catholic Loomis Chaffee School Masters School (2) Millbrook School Miss Porter’s School

North Salem High School Northfield Mount Hermon St. George’s School (2) St. Paul’s School Suffield Academy Taft School (2) Thacher School (CA) Walnut Hill School Westminster School

Be known Be challenged Be you

Rippowam Cisqua School Rippowam Cisqua School is a coeducational, independent country day school for students in PreKindergarten through Grade Nine.

www.rcsny.org

Record-Review Graduation 2016  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you