Page 1

Rebel

I

Indianapolis, Indiana

Volume 8:7 »Visit us online @ www.roncalli.org/students

INTERNET

I

Roncalli High School

Rev ew April 24,2009

SUPERHEROES RISE IN HARD TIMES

“And be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you.” Ephesians 6:8

Classic superheroes go back decades, emerging from the effects of war and poverty

Extreme Makeover: Home Edition Comes to Indy A lucky Indianapolis family was given a new home for doing good deeds in their community

Photo’s by Michelle Johnson

by Hannah Cave Staff Writer

I

t’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s…Superman! Batman! Wonder Woman! Captain America! Recognize any of these names? Almost 80 years ago, the world’s very first superheroes were unveiled during the grim times of the Great Depression and the early years of WWII. Their names became legendary, and they’re still with us today. Why were superheroes created? Were the creators just doodling in their notebooks one gray day and decided to create super heroic figures? Although it would seem plausible, the answer is more psychological. In the 1930s, during the Great Depression, the American Dream had become somewhat of a nightmare. There were movies, magazines and toys, much like there are today, but no fantastic role model to look up or escape to during economic woes. In the year 1933, then 13-year-old American artists Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster conjured up the first manifestation of Superman, while artist Bob Kane invented Batman later in 1938. Both of these characters debuted in DC Comics in the late 1930s when America was just recovering from the Depression. See SUPERHEROES / PG. 2

MARCH MADNESS

RHS BRACKET WINNER

See BRACKET WINNER / PG. 7

PROM ‘09

A MIDNIGHT MASQUERADE

See MASQUERADE / PG. 4

WEEKEND WEATHER

ALMOST THERE: On Wednesday, the fourth day of work, skilled workers and volunteers added a porch to the frame of the house.

by Michelle Johnson

THE FINISHED PRODUCT: On Saturday, the new home and community center were completed with some last-minute touches. The interior of the home will be revealed on May 17 at 8:00 pm on ABC.

Staff Writer

A

t the kick-off of Spring Break 2009, most Rebels were anxious to pack their bags and hop on a plane to anywhere but Indiana. Surprisingly, thousands of people flocked to Indianapolis to take part in making a dream come true by renovating a local family’s run-down house on ABC’s Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. On the morning of Saturday, March 28th, Bernard McFarland and his three sons Courtney, Curtis and Dominique were awakened by a life-changing knock at the door. Greeted by host Ty Pennington’s famous “Good Morning McFarland family” wake-up call, the family was shocked to discover that the next seven days would change the way they live forever. Over the following week, the McFarland family took a complimentary vacation to Paris while the “Extreme Makeover” team in partnership with Indy-based Estridge Homes and over 5,000 Indianapolis volunteers demolished the 1,500 square foot home depreciated by holes in the ceiling, water damage in the floors, rusted pipes and crumbled drywall to reveal a beautiful new home and community center for the deserving family and neighborhood. As an Indianapolis native, Bernard McFarland grew up in an impoverished family, but overcame these obstacles with a drive to succeed that enabled him to graduate from college. After college, McFarland joined the military and then returned home to buy a Martindale-Brightwood area home for his family of four. Inspired to help his declining neighborhood tainted with violence and a growing drop-out rate, McFarland hoped to make his neighborhood a better place by personally encouraging kids to stay in school and away from violence and drugs. He designed a program called “Pack House 2000” which inspires kids with reading groups and

field trips to local museums and other cultural events around the city. The McFarlands’ new home and adjacent community center provides a place for “Pack House 2000” to continue and the neighborhood to come together. The finished product was a fully furnished 2,500 square foot home accompanied by a 900 square foot resource center and library open to the community. Gary McNutt, Executive Vice President of the Estridge companies, called the new home “a catalyst for this forgotten neighborhood to start anew.” Although the task of completing a four-month job in seven days barely seems possible, the thousands of volunteers did not stop at the completion of just one house. Several houses throughout the neighborhood received new paint jobs, roofing, and landscaping. On the fourth day of work, volunteers got the chance to work on the job site by planting trees around the neighborhood. Over 1,200 trees were planted alongside the Martindale-Brightwood streets, bringing the once dingy neighborhood to life. The project wrapped up on April 4th, where last minute furniture was moved in and the house was tidied up. A crowd of over 1,000 friends, family, neighbors and fans lined the streets in front of the house to join Ty Pennington in yelling “Move that bus!” to reveal the new home. McFarland was ecstatic to see the transformation done to his house and was even more thrilled about the community center. Be sure to tune in to ABC on Sunday, May 17 at 8:00 pm when the Indianapolis Extreme Makeover: Home Edition episode will air as the season finale.

The man behind the Rebelation sensation Roncalli art teacher prepares for 11th Rebelation this Saturday by Erin Gahimer Editor-in-Chief

R

ainforests. Renaissances. Round-ups. Red Carpet. What do all of these have in common? They are all themes from Roncalli’s Rebelations over the past decade. The mastermind behind all of these exciting themes and festive decorationsis none other than Roncalli’s own, Mr. Stratton. As the art teacher at Roncalli, Stratton is in charge of the theme, as well as the decorations for Roncalli’s annual Rebelation fundraiser. For the past 11 years, Stratton has been generating festive themes and then transforming the Rebel gym into an oasis of that year’s theme.

FRIDAY - - 4/24

HIGH

79°

LOW

PARTLY CLOUDY

60°

“It’s (Stratton’s work) absolutely amazing. He transforms the gym and you can’t even tell it’s a gym. It looks like you’re at a hotel in a formal banquet room. He does an amazing job with a very little budget,” said Mrs. Slimak, the Associate Director of Advancement. Although some may be fooled because of the always beautiful and sometimes utopic scenery of the event, this work does not come about easily. In fact, Stratton is in the planning stages for an entire year. The planning process begins, including the theme for the next year, only a week after the

SATURDAY - - 4/25

HIGH

81°

LOW

PARTLY CLOUDY

54°

Works of Art: Mr. Stratton next to his life-size replica of a chocolate sundae. See REBELATION / PG. 4

Check out pictures inside from previous Rebelations!

SUNDAY - - 4/26

HIGH

81°

LOW

PARTLY CLOUDY

57°


2

News

April 24, 2009

Middle Eastern skyscraper Downtown Cosmopolitan apartments catch fire breaks world records The Burj Dubai Skyscraper in The United Arab Emirates recently became the world’s tallest man-made structure

Heroic firefighters stopped a fire that spread through luxury apartments and prevented many injuries by McKenzie Nickell Staff Writer

O

n Thursday, March 12, a multiple-alarm fire broke out along Indy’s downtown canal. Firefighters were called in that morning at 3:30 a.m. and were there all day Thursday and into the following morning. After taking 100 firefighters to extinguish

MCT Campus

NOT EVEN FINISHED: Pictured above, it is apparent that the Burj Dubai towers over the city. Amazingly enough, it was only 75 percent completed when the photo was taken in October of 2008.

by Brad Bourne Staff Writer

P

icture your local shopping mall, six hotels, four restaurants, three office buildings and enough public housing for 30,000 people. That’s a small town. Now imagine all of that inside of one building. If you’re thinking to yourself, ‘That’s impossible,’ you haven’t heard about the Burj Dubai Skyscraper in Dubai. Standing at a MCT Campus staggering 2,684 ft., the Burj Dubai passed the KVLY-TV Mast in North Dakota as the world’s tallest structure. Before the announcement of the building even occurred, the city of Dubai was in troubled waters. Businesses were shutting down, public housing wasn’t satisfactory and tourism was nonexistent. As economists scrambled for a solution to the economic problems, architect Adrian Smith already had one: a building that provided luxury housing at an affordable price, contained several office buildings, and at over ½ mile high, would definitely attract tourists. It was deemed the Dubai Tower. On September 21, 2004, 10,000 workers started laying the foundation for what

would be the world’s tallest skyscraper. And, amazingly, the economy started showing signs of improvement. New businesses were attracted to the city and restaurants were already paying their leases to be a part of the Burj Dubai. The foundation of the Burj Dubai not only signaled the start of construction, but it also signified a new era for Dubai. It is now the fastest growing city on earth. Before the Burj Dubai, there were only eight buildings in the city that were over 35 stories tall. At 162 stories, the mammoth building now sits on the city’s throne. Not to mention, it will bring in 35 percent of the city’s total revenue, after builders pay off the $800,000,000 in construction costs. Contractors and architects alike say that the Burj Dubai is just the beginning for the city. Plans have already been made for Dubai to build a 1,300 ft. hotel (new world record), the world’s largest indoor ski resort and the world’s largest faction of man-made islands. The only place Dubai is looking to go is up. December 20 of this year marks the scheduled opening for the Burj Dubai. Dubai tourism executive Jacqui Josephson commented on the Burj Dubai saying that the people of the city wanted to put Dubai on the map with something sensational. With a building approximately twice the size of the Empire State Building, it’s hard to believe they will achieve anything less.

Photo Submitted

BRAVERY: Lieutenant Todd Courtney (left) displays his courage with fellow firefighters as he stands in a burning building.

the fire, all the firemen and apparatus were off the scene by 8:30 a.m. Friday morning. The roof of the nearby Historical Landmarks Foundation also caught fire and is now under construction from the smoke and water damage. The Cosmopolitan fire took more than 24 hours to put out, and the apartment complex is now under construction to be rebuilt within the time frame of six months to a year. On Monday, March 30, officials released the cause of the fire which was arson. Brandon Burns, a homeless 23-year-old man was charged with setting the fire. Investigators are still looking for Burns’ unknown accomplice, as well as investigating all of the events that happened between Burns and his apparent accomplice. Lieutenant Todd Courtney works at Station 19 in downtown Indy and has been a firefighter for more than 15 years. He was one of the men instructing where the rest of the firefighters should go and what equipment went where during the fire.

The Rebel Review recently interviewed Lieutenant Todd Courtney, a firefighter who helped tame the March 12 fire. Q: What time were you called into the fire and

how long were you there? A: 3:30 a.m. is when I got the first call to respond to the fire and was called in again the next morning to help finish the job. Q: What was the official time that it took to put out the fire? A: The first crew started at 3:30 a.m. Thursday and the last crew left at 8 a.m. Friday It was around a total of 28 and a half hours of solid work putting out the fire. Q: How many firefighters and equipment were on the scene? A: There were 125 firefighters, 16 engines and 10 ladders on scene. Q: What is a single-alarm fire? A: A single-alarm fire is one signal sending out 25 firefighters, 4 engines and 2 ladders. The canal

fire was a five-alarm fire, which is just five signals getting sent out instead of just one. Q: Have you ever dealt with a fire this large or was this small compared to what you have seen? A: It was a relatively large fire, bigger than most I’ve seen. It was the 2nd largest fire in Indianapolis and was the largest in 20 years. Q: Do you think that there was any way that the fire could have been stopped more quickly or did everyone do everything they could? A: No, I think everyone did what they could because this was a large fire. It was very difficult to work with because of the placing. The men only had 4 feet to work on the side of the canal and there were places we couldn’t fit engines. We saved more occupied apartments and the downtown historical building. All the men did everything they could with hard work and great determination.

» SUPERHEROES (cont. from pg. 1) This kind of entertainment allowed the American public to run off into a dream world where all the world’s evils were righted by these larger-than-life heroes. What’s a superhero without an ill-famed villain to bring to justice? Batman’s most famous arch enemy, The Joker, was created by illustrator Jerry Robinson. Superman is constantly at odds with Lex Luther. All of these villains were first portrayed as swindlers and robbers, but once WWII was imminent, there came a need for more patriotic heroes to fight real -world evils, such as Hitler. Believing they were Jewish, Hitler banned American comics in Germany, except for one, Mickey Mouse, which was ironically his favorite. Although we are not facing a world war at the present time, America is facing an

economic misfortune. Now, the public is turning to costumed heroes once again in numbers. For the past 10 plus years, superhero movies have been especially popular, including “Spiderman” (2002, 2004, 2007) and “Superman” (2006). Comicbased movies are making waves at box offices also, s “The Dark Knight,” which made an estimated

R Story

Have you ordered your yearbook?

See Mrs. Albertson in room 206

$159 million its opening weekend alone, while comic books themselves are a strong and growing industry, according to journalist Douglas Hyde of CNN. “I think the comic book superhero came out of a context in which political, social, and economic realities were a little tough, and we can certainly relate to those realities in our own day,” said Hyde. This is something to think about. Is the popular reappearance of superheroes attributed to the world’s current problems? The phrase history repeats itself must be

true. The times are not so good, and we are looking for heroes.

Driving Academy “The Adult Course for Teens” 2009 CLASS SCHEDULE MAY 11-MAY 28 CLASS TIMES: 5:30 – 8:00 PM

JUNE 1-JUNE 12 JUNE 15- JUNE 26 JUNE 29-JULY 10 JULY 13-JULY 24 JULY 27-AUGUST 10 CLASS TIMES : 9 AM or 5PM COST: $375

For more specific dates & information: Visit our website at: www.drivingacademy.com 3015 MERIDIAN MEADOWS ROAD Phone: (317) 534-0016


FEATURES

The Secret Life of a TRF DJ

A behind-the-scenes look at the hard work that goes into Total Request Fridays. by Michelle Johnson Staff Writer

I

t’s Friday. Rebels are on the edges of their seats, Rebels shout “Yes! I love this song!” eyes fixed on the clock ticking away the remaining The TRF committee may seem like musical gods, but seconds, legs twitching from excitement, awaiting the believe it or not, they are some of your fellow classmates one thing that gets them through the day: the passadvised by your ol’English teacher. After requests are ing period. The five-minute interval submitted by students, senior Claire Petry from class-to-class has never been works hard to shuffle through the hundreds more exciting than after the debut of of requests in order to select only 28 songs a Roncalli’s very own “Total Request month that cover a wide spectrum of genres. Friday” (TRF) in 2005, where Rebels’ After the song list is picked, Mr. Costello favorite jams are pumped through the shifts through the lyrical content of all the loudspeaker during Friday passing songs, making sure it is school appropriperiods. ate. And finally, those who have a class or In its fourth year of existence, TRF two with junior Madelyn Fry have probably fans have been itching to know all wondered why she leaves every class five minthe behind-the-scenes information. utes early and arrives to class after the bell; Just who thought of this genius idea? it’s because she too is a member of the TRF What kind of magical iPod knows team, possibly the most important member, exactly when our class periods end to whose task is to race to Ms. Simpkins’ office start playing all of our favorite songs? and press play on her iPod right at the ring of And above all, who is that girl running the bell. Photo by Michelle Johnson frantically down the hallways with “I’m not a big fan of leaving classes early THE MAD DASH: Junior Madelyn five minutes left of class? Sit back and Fry, a member of the TRF committee, and getting to them late. With all those eyes frantically runs to Ms. Simpkins’ of- staring at me, it makes it feel like the walk of relax, Rebels, all of your daunting questions are about to be answered. fice with iPod in hand to play some shame,” said Madelyn. TRF tunes. Originating with the RHS student Surprisingly, there is no magical iPod, but council of ‘05-’06, TRF was introduced to Roncalli as a is Madelyn’s iPod or Student Council Co-President Miguel way to enhance the energy and spirit in the building on De La Rosa’s “swanky iPhone,” as Madelyn calls it, that plays Fridays before a pep rally. Positive feedback from the the songs on Friday. students encouraged the student council to get permisAll of this hard work and dedication by the TRF commitsion to play music every Friday, not just pep rally days. tee may seem like a daunting task , but the TRF team agrees Four years later, it has been made a complete success by that just seeing one smile on a student’s face, or maybe one the TRF committee, whose main goal in life is to hear person singing along makes the job all worth it.

Random Rebel by Kelly Kern Staff Writer

J

unior Michael Neylon is this month’s Random Rebel. Michael is a threeyear member of the Roncalli football team, the Brain

Game team, and the Spanish club. He is a place kicker for the varsity football team. He has been a part of the RHS program since his freshman year. Additionally, he has been in Boy Scouts since kindergarten, following the footsteps of the people he cares most about. “My dad did it and my friends were still in it too. Staying in just seemed like the normal course for me to take,” said Neylon. The aspects of Boy Photo by Erin Gahimer Scouts that he enjoys the most are the high Michael adventure trips, back-

Junior Neylon

pack trips with his friends, and staying at Camp Ransburg in Brown County. While there, his favorite aspect is “Firecrafter”, which is when they make fire with just friction and wood. Michael is currently working towards becoming the highest rank in Scouts, an Eagle Scout. His current project to reach the rank is to build a butterfly garden for the memory wing at a local nursing home. When Michael is not participating in his many extracurricular activities, he is working as a valet at Valet Parking Inc. He valets with many other RHS students along with kids from Speed-

way High School, Marian College, and IUPUI. They valet at places like the IRT, Circle Center, and IMA. Michael has three siblings; Eric, who is a 2008 Roncalli graduate, Matthew, who is his younger twin, and Kelsey who will be a freshman next year. Michael’s favorite color is blue and his favorite class is science. He enjoys reading books by the authors Dan Brown and H. G. Wells. In the future, he plans on working in the medical field with the intention of becoming a physician. His favorite thing about Roncalli is “the atmosphere and spirit, especially at the pep rallies.”

Will Be Held on: May 16, 2009 Annual event every year that is hosted by CYO. It’s a fundraiser for Riley Children’s Hospital This is your invitation to the South Deanery Dance Marathon at Roncalli, the 3rd annual fundraiser for Riley Children’s Hospital in Indianapolis. A minimum of $60 donation is needed to participate in the Dance Marathon from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. All participants are encouraged to turn in their money and signed permission slip by May 10th to be guaranteed a t-shirt. Please see freshman Maryann Kirkhoff, sophomore Clarie Curtis, junior Lauren Ezell, or senior Katie Young for packets.

April 24, 2009

3

Teacher Feature by Kelly Kern Staff Writer

T

his month’s teacher feature is the newest member of the RHS math department, Ms. Alexandria Chincarini. She teaches both Algebra 1 and PreAlgebra for freshmen and a few sophomores. Ms. Chincarini found her love of teaching at a young age by helping other students in her school. “I used to tutor my peers in high school. Many of their grades improved as a result. I came to realize that I enjoyed tutoring and was very good at it!” Ms. Chincarini was born in San Antonio, Texas. When she and her sister were growing up, they moved to El Paso and then Beeville because their dad was in the Army. As a teen, she attended A. C. Jones High School where she played the clarinet in the band. Ms. Chincarini’s favorite thing about Texas was the people that surrounded her. “The culture! There is a huge mix of cultures: Mexican, Native American, Cowboy and many more. Everything is colorful, vibrant and festive. There is a very friendly and laid-back atmosphere.” In May of 2008, she graduated from St. Mary’s University in San Antonio where she majored in mathematics and minored in art. Ms. Chincarini came to Roncalli through a program called Lalanne, which she found through the University of Dayton. The program sends

Photo by Kelly Kern

Ms. Alexandra Chincarini first and second-year teachers to teach at Catholic schools in Dayton, Cleveland, Ohio, San Antonio, Texas, and Indianapolis. To be accepted into the program, applicants must first go through an interview and be committed to the two years and three summers program. Ms. Chincarini lives with six other teachers who are also involved with the program. The Lalanne teachers are from all over the U.S.: Ohio, Indiana and Massachusetts, to name a few. “In Indy, we have two religion teachers teaching at Ritter and Scecina; a kindergarten teacher at Central Catholic, and first and third grade teachers at St. Anthony’s.” In her spare time, Ms. Chincarini enjoys listening to soft rock, eating her favorite food, peanut butter, and watching or reading her favorite trilogy, “The Lord of the Rings.” She enjoys playing card games and reading fantasy books.


4

Features

April 24, 2009

9 0 0 2 Prom “A Midnight Masquerade” F

rom the decorated masks to the beautiful gowns, last weekend’s 2009 Prom, “A Midnight Masquerade,” was a festive celebration of fun, food and music. Junior and senior Rebels came dressed in their finest to witness the crowning of King Ned Halberstadt and Queen Lauren Ross. The festivities continued at the After Prom at Bluff Sports Park where the activities ranged from black jack to basketball. The Rebel Review would like to extend our thanks to the Junior Prom committee and all those who were a part of creating such a great and successful weekend.

Prom Court 2009 » REBELATION, continued from pg. 1 previous Rebelation. From there, Stratton, along with Mrs. Slimak, search the city for thematic decorations to buy and rent. After all the items are bought, Mr. Stratton and his team of art students are primed to take over the gym. This group has five days to make it over into a fanatical setting. They work during and after school to ensure that the job gets done. “The week before is pretty intense. Somebody will be in the gym for 12 hours each day,” said Stratton. Before he worked at RHS in 1998, Mr. Stratton was suggested as someone who could create such an elaborate event. He accepted the job and worked on the first Rebelation, “Rock n’ Roll Rebelation.” He later accepted the job as art teacher. This promises to be spectacular. Rebelation will be Saturday, April 25th with the theme: “Roller Coaster Rebelation- A Radical Rebel Ride.” Mr. Stratton revealed his plans for this gem of art. The centerpiece of the room will be a scaled-down ferris wheel. Additionally, a faux roller coaster will be the main accent on the middle table. Mr. Stratton said the event will have a “carnival/fair kind of atmosphere.” Carnival games, along with cotton candy are also expected at the event. This event is the largest annual Advancement Office fund raiser. The money raised goes towards needs-based tuition assistance.

Rebelation Rendezvous ‘04

Renaissance Rebelation ‘08

Roman Rebelation ‘07

Rebelation Round-Up ‘05

Rainforest Rebelation ‘06

Red Carpet Rebelation ‘03


4

Features

April 24, 2009

9 0 0 2 Prom “A Midnight Masquerade” F

rom the decorated masks to the beautiful gowns, last weekend’s 2009 Prom, “A Midnight Masquerade,” was a festive celebration of fun, food and music. Junior and senior Rebels came dressed in their finest to witness the crowning of King Ned Halberstadt and Queen Lauren Ross. The festivities continued at the After Prom at Bluff Sports Park where the activities ranged from black jack to basketball. The Rebel Review would like to extend our thanks to the Junior Prom committee and all those who were a part of creating such a great and successful weekend.

Prom Court 2009 » REBELATION, continued from pg. 1 previous Rebelation. From there, Stratton, along with Mrs. Slimak, search the city for thematic decorations to buy and rent. After all the items are bought, Mr. Stratton and his team of art students are primed to take over the gym. This group has five days to make it over into a fanatical setting. They work during and after school to ensure that the job gets done. “The week before is pretty intense. Somebody will be in the gym for 12 hours each day,” said Stratton. Before he worked at RHS in 1998, Mr. Stratton was suggested as someone who could create such an elaborate event. He accepted the job and worked on the first Rebelation, “Rock n’ Roll Rebelation.” He later accepted the job as art teacher. This promises to be spectacular. Rebelation will be Saturday, April 25th with the theme: “Roller Coaster Rebelation- A Radical Rebel Ride.” Mr. Stratton revealed his plans for this gem of art. The centerpiece of the room will be a scaled-down ferris wheel. Additionally, a faux roller coaster will be the main accent on the middle table. Mr. Stratton said the event will have a “carnival/fair kind of atmosphere.” Carnival games, along with cotton candy are also expected at the event. This event is the largest annual Advancement Office fund raiser. The money raised goes towards needs-based tuition assistance.

Rebelation Rendezvous ‘04

Renaissance Rebelation ‘08

Roman Rebelation ‘07

Rebelation Round-Up ‘05

Rainforest Rebelation ‘06

Red Carpet Rebelation ‘03


RevIew

i

Rebel

Features

April 24, 2009

5

Bunnies Don’t Have Eggs! Rebel Review writer questions today’s Easter traditions and finds the true significance behind the special holiday by Alex Stock Staff Writer

I

Illustration by Alex Stock

n early Christian history, Holy Week was known as a time for reflection, penance and fasting. Easter Sunday, the final day of Holy Week, was a day for thanksgiving, happiness and joy, to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Today we have come to know Easter as the celebration of the Easter Bunny and kids hunting for eggs filled with chocolate treats and goodies that ol’ Peter Cottontail left behind on his hop through town. How did we get from the death and resurrection Christ to chocolate and bunnies on Easter Sunday? The Easter bunny and Easter egg hunts are a common way many people traditionally celebrate Easter. RHS Catholic Worship teacher Sr. Cathy Anne Lepore said that the tradition of Easter eggs

started around the time of Jesus during Holy Week. She said that people fasted during the Triduum (Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday) and were not supposed to eat large amounts of food during the week. But how are you supposed to tell chickens to not lay their eggs? You can’t. So the early Christians would have an overabundance of eggs that they could not eat. Therefore, they would save the eggs for Easter Sunday when they no longer had to fast and could serve them. The abstinence was done out of reverence for the death Jesus. The origin of the Easter bunny also has roots that go back to preChristian history. The holiday was originally a pagan celebration that worshipped the goddess Eastre. She was the goddess of fertility and springtime and her earthly symbol was the rabbit. Thus, the pre-Christians, believing it to be the incarnation of the goddess Eastre, worshiped the rabbit.

So, what is Easter really about? Is it about prayer, reverence and even remembrance of Christ’s sacrifice? Or is it a holiday of joy and happiness because of the empty tomb? Believing it’s both, many enjoy the holiday with friends and family. Others just believe it’s another religious holiday not knowing all of its true meaning. I believe the holiday is a way to connect with God, but a fun day as well compared to what is expected on a religious holiday. Going out and hunting for eggs has its own new meaning when you know where it comes from. Remembering when as kids we used to go on the annual hunt and find painted eggs with sweet surprises inside, we never really asked questions. As kids, it just seemed fun to us. Now, I connect with God on the holiday, because of its glorious significance, but I still can’t get past the fact that Bunnies Don’t Have Eggs!

It’s Not Just a Sound by Kristen West Staff Writer

D

ownloading ringDefault: tones is just If your phone plays one way that people the sound of an old mechanical phone express themselves. bell, you’re not as Whether downloadfunny as you think. ing the latest top hits in hopes of trying to fit in or genuinely enjoying the music, people reveal a glimpse of who they really are with this simple Silent Mode: collection. You’re considerate According to and respectful, the kind of person we’d Forbes Magalike sitting behind zine, here’s us at a movie. what your ringtone says about you.

Classic Rock Tune:

What does your ringtone say about you?

You’re showing your age, but you get points for figuring out how to change the ringer, Gramps.

Out of Date:

Theme Song:

Hip Hop or R&B:

Let’s face it, you’re not going to impress anyone with your intellectual acumen.

You’re young at heart, but you’re not particularly original.

If your phone is still playing “Jingle Bell Rock” in July, productivity is not your strong suit. .


6 April 24, 2009

Opinion

April Showers Bring May Flowers

The old saying implies a deeper meaning than rain bringing flowers

by Rachael Squillace Staff Writer

A

pril. Spring is in the air. The birds are singing, the flowers are growing and the grass continues to green. But in order to create the lovely spring scenery, rain must fall, which often creates a gloomy, wet day. However, instead of focusing on the idea of gloom, focus on the fact that rain brings scenic beauty to the earth. Or, if you want to go even deeper, you can realize that unpleasant events can and are sometimes necessary to bring about the pleasant events in life. For example, if you fail miserably on a test, you either don’t care (especially if you’re a senior), or you realize that you need to study more. By studying more, you will hopefully earn a higher grade because of learning from the bad test

grade. In the musical, “Singing in the Rain,” Gene Kelly sings, “I’m singing in the rain. Just singing in the rain. What a glorious feelin’, I’m happy again. I’m laughing at clouds, so dark up above. The sun’s in my heart, and I’m ready for love.” Now, I am not necessarily telling you to run out and start singing, tap-dancing, or swinging around a lamp post in the rain (for the uninformed readers, Gene Kelly was a famous dancer and actor), but rather recommend that you think of rain in a light manner, rather than automatically assuming the day is going to be dark and horrible. If you haven’t noticed by now, I’m writing about optimism. Optimism is a characteristic where people focus on the bright side of life and believe that tomorrow will always be a better day. Several traits of optimism include: always having a smile on your face(which either brightens up someone’s day or really annoys them), pointing out that the glass is half full

when the other person believes it’s half empty and, overall, enjoying life to the fullest. If you’re like me and have a tendency to disregard optimistic thoughts, here are some reasons that may make you reconsider becoming an optimistic person. First, optimistic people tend to live a longer, healthier life than pessimistic people. Who doesn’t want to live a long and healthy life? If that’s not good enough for you, try thinking about how optimistic people achieve more and endure less stress than pessimistic people. Everyone hates stress, and a perfect remedy for stress is living an optimistic life. So, whenever you feel that nothing great can ever happen to you, just remember the old adage “April flowers bring May showers.” Good things will come, and continue to come, as long as you focus on that silver lining on the horizon. As Paul McCartney sings in the album Beatles for Sale, “But tomorrow may rain so , I’ll follow the sun.”

Survey or Scam? I

Is Data-Match really accurate?

f you’re a Rebel, then you know about DataMatch, the survey that matches you with whom you’re most compatible. For a whole decade, Roncalli students have purchased their Data-Match results, and the collected money has gone to the Lenten Service Project. Considered to be just for fun by most, these results are usually not taken seriously. My question is why. If this little survey is supposed to help find the love of your life, then why isn’t it a serious matter? Could it be that the results aren’t accurate? “They are as accurate as people fill them out,” said Mrs. Angie Toner, RHS Math teacher and organizer of the annual fundraiser, put on by the Math Department. Many students, myself included, said they felt

drawn to pick the “cool” questions. I don’t listen to answer rather than what rap, so how do I answer they really a multiple-choice believed. question asking who This my favorite rapper is? greatly I could either leave affects the it blank or choose accuracy of a random answer. the survey Those who chose to because pick a random answer those who also affected the answer by Alysse Miller results by lying, even differently Staff Writer if they didn’t mean from what to. In they really feel are being order to have a successful paired with people who relationship, you need to are not really compatible have similar values, beliefs, with them. Basically, their and interests. Opposites results are based on a lie, may attract, but if two and it’s that lie that causes people are completely other people to wonder different, especially in why so-and-so is on their beliefs, then problems could list when it’s obvious they arise. Data-match, focusing are nothing like. Of course, mainly on simple, lightthere are those people who hearted questions, does not do not intentionally lie. ask about a person’s values. Personally, I didn’t know “You can’t match how to answer some of the two people by what they

answer to, ‘What is your favorite Starbucks drink,’” said sophomore Noah Borer. Now don’t take the form off your fridge and start tearing it up. There have been some success stories. “In the early 90s, Mr. Doug Bauman, a former math teacher here, and his wife were number one on each others’ lists as seniors,” said Mrs. Toner. All in all, Data-Match is simply a fun little survey, and really, it shouldn’t be taken too seriously. It’s not designed to pair you with your knight in shining armor; let’s leave that up to providence. But for all those who still mumble and grumble about their results, remember what Mrs. Toner said: “Not everyone’s list can be as good as Kevin Banich’s or Erin Gahimer’s!

Spring Smiles Spring is here and summer is approaching, so what’s there to frown about? by Kristen West

A

Staff Writer

smile can say it all. The beaming smiles throughout the RHS hallways have the capability to brighten a student’s day. So when walking down the hall to yet another class, can one honestly say a familiar smile doesn’t help? In addition to helping others, smiling helps the individual himself. Dr. Mark Stibich, faculty member of the University of California School of Medicine came up with the top 10 reasons to smile.

1. Smiling makes us more attractive. 2. Smiling is contagious. 3. Smiling helps us stay upbeat. 4. Smiles makes us appear to be more successful. 5. Smiling helps prevent wrinkles. 6. Smiling is a natural pain reliever. 7. Even a forced smile can trick the body into changing moods. 8. Smiling reduces stress. 9. Smiling lowers your blood pressure. 10. Smiling improves the immune system.

Let it Out Rebels!

This is the newest feature of The Rebel Review. Send in your random comments to Room 206 or talk to a staff member. We want to hear from you!

Is anyone else weirded out by adults having Facebooks?

*

“Slumdog Millionaire” is the best movie ever!

* * Happy Earth week! Keep things green All I know is Cher is amazing.

and hug a tree.

*

“17 Again” was the best movie ever! Oh yeah, & Zac Efron was in it.

*

People, MOVE OUT OF THE HALLWAY!

* * Seniors! No more

I can’t wait for summer vacation! UNIFORMS!

*

I hate that all soda machines are diet. It’s worse for you than regular soda.

The Rebel Review Staff Editor-in-Chief: Erin Gahimer Design Editor: Blake Stegemiller Business Manager: Alex Stock Staff Writer: Hannah Cave Staff Writer: Joe Fanelli Staff Writer: Michelle Johnson Staff Writer: Rachael Squillace

Staff Writer: C.J. Allard Staff Writer: Brad Bourne Staff Writer: Andrea Silcox Staff Writer: Kelly Kern Staff Writer: Alysse Miller Staff Writer: McKenzie Nickell Staff Writer: Kristen West Adviser: Mrs. Albertson

Editorial Policy We accept letters to the editor from all faculty, staff, and students. They can be e-mailed to jalbertson@roncallihs.org or delivered to room 206. Please keep these letters short, roughly 200-300 words. They will be accepted under the circumstances that they are signed and noted to which article it is in response. Letters that contain misinformation or are meant to libel another will not be published. The decision to publish these will be decided by The Rebel Review adviser Mrs. Albertson. We also accept photographs and articles written by students, teachers, and staff members. Some material courtesy of American Society of Newspaper Editors/MCT Campus High School Newspaper Service.


Sports

Boys’ volleyball program coming to the forefront

As a club sport, the team doesn’t get quite the recognition as others but boasts great talent this year by Erin Gahimer Editor-in-Chief

T

he Roncalli boys’ volleyball program looks strong and primed for a successful season. In its eighth year of existence at RHS, the team began the season ranked ninth in the state and is currently seventh. What makes this team unique is that it is not one of the 20 IHSAA sports offered for boys and girls. Instead, it is a club sport that is sponsored by the Indiana Volleyball Coaches Association (IVCA). This organization sets the parameters and guidelines for the league and runs the state tournament. Because the team is not part of the state organization, there is often a mentality within Roncalli and many high school communities that boys’ volleyball, including the RHS team, is merely a recreational sport or as some like to say “a joke.” Many don’t associate the sport with boys.

Cut shot: Senior Joe Sizemore hits a cross-court spike in practice. Joe played two years at Cathedral before coming to Roncalli.

Photos by Mrs. Albertson

Good form: Senior Andrew Saling sets up to pass a serve in practice on April 17. Andrew is a defensive specialist on the team.

Because of the prominence and rich history of the Roncalli girls’ program, the boys can sometimes be regarded as simply a sideshow. But, as the boys’ team has evolved over the years, it has steadily broken away from this reputation. “There is the same competition in club volleyball as there is in IHSAA. We don’t get as much recognition by the school because it is club, but this makes us work harder to make ourselves be heard of,” said senior Sam Patterson, a three-year member of the team who is a defensive specialist and excited to be on RHS’s competitive and ranked team this year. How did this original thinking evolve? Roncalli athletic director Mr. Dave Toner believes that the relatively young nature of the team (eight years) has contributed to the inconsistencies and the overall less-developed character of the team. With more

serious athletes from other sports now joining the team as opposed to simply recreational players in years past, the team has experienced growth. Despite the slow evolution, Mr. Toner feels the team is still representative of Rebel pride. “From what I’ve seen, they’ve conducted themselves very well from a sportsmanship standpoint and they look to be very competitive,” said Toner. Patterson, along with the entire team, feels confident in the team’s season and the overall evolution of Roncalli’s program. “This year has a lot of experience and senior leaders. We have worked hard to build this team into a powerful volleyball machine. It took time, but men’s volleyball at Roncalli is finally on the map,” said Patterson.

Boys’ Volleyball Schedule Date Opponent Time Results Mar 17 Southport WIN Mar 19 Cathedral LOSS Mar 24 Scecina WIN Mar 25 Center Grove LOSS Apr 7 @Lawrence Central WIN Apr 8 @Columbus North WIN Apr 14 Metro Tourney@ Center Grove WIN/LOSS Apr 18 Southport Tourney WIN/WIN/WIN/WIN Apr 21 @ Chatard 6:00 PM Apr 23 @ Center Grove 5:30 PM Apr 30 @ Southport 5:30 PM May 2 Cathedral Tourney@ Cathedral May 5 Franklin Community 6:00 PM May 7 Scecina 6:00 PM May 9 Hamilton S. Tourney@ Hamilton S. May 14 Covenant Christian 6:00 PM May 16 Regionals May 18 State Week May 30 All-Star Game

April 24, 2009

7

Roncalli Bracket Winner Crowned

Shaun Heinzelman used research and upsets to become Roncalli’s first-ever bracket champion. by C.J. Allard Staff Writer

T

he participation of Roncalli’s first annual bracket challenge was outstanding. Over 200 students, substitutes and teachers submitted their bracket in hopes of becoming the first winner. After 61 games, a couple blowouts and even more close games, the Rebel Review’s first annul bracket challenge winner is junior Shaun Heinzelman. Shaun had a set method when he picked the games. “I picked the teams to win that I watched the most and the teams with the best players.” This proved to be the winning formula, as he tallied up 129 points to beat out the second place finisher, senior Jason Ruhana by six, and the third place participant, junior Michael Mislan, by seven. The national championship was ultimately the game that put Shaun over the top. “I thought N.C. (North Carolina) was going to win the championship because they returned every starter.” He was right. And although other participants picked the Tar Heels, Shaun got enough of the other games right to become Roncalli’s first-ever bracket challenge winner.

A salute to historic finish at State for gymnastics

Successful season full of records & championships ends on a high note at State 3rd Place Rebels!

by Andrea Silcox Staff Writer

Center salute: Alyssa Servie is excited after placing sixth in the allaround competition.

Rebel

Gymnasts 08-09

Rachel Fagan 11 Ellery Howard 11 Tori Becher 11 Taylor Gadaleta 11 Emily Gerth 11 Anna Mariutto 11 Alyssa Servie 11 Brynne Wilson 11 Haley Craig 9 Sofia Gillum 9 Cassie Schultheis 9 Kaitie Schultheis 9

The rest is history: The gymnastics team poses for a picture after competing at the State meet on Saturday March 21st. The girls finished 3rd, their highest finish ever.

Mgr. Andrea Hickle 9 Walk the line: Emily Gerth balances on the beam during the State meet at Perry.

Dancing the meet away: Katie Schultheis finishes her floor routine at Sectionals. The floor is one of Katie’s best events.

Championship Sprint: Anna Mariutto prepares to excite the crowd with her amazing skills on vault.

Round she goes: Taylor Gadaleta performs her uneven bar routine at the State meet.

That was easy: Tori Becher is full of joy after finishing 3rd on the beam. She also finished 2nd on her floor exercise.


Features

Spring Break Memoirs

April 24, 2009

Why I hate Alabama

8

One road trip reveals the evil side of the Crimson Tide

W

hen I first sought ought to write an article about road trips and all the good that encompasses that long journey across unfamiliar lands, I intended to write about the glory of the open road, the feeling of pure freedom that enables a road trip to be so pleasant. After reading the famous novel by Jack Kerouac On the Road, my presumption of the giant road trip was one of pleasure and relaxation. In the book, Sal Paradise, a beatnik

We began our trip with open hearts and minds, ready to enjoy the company of friends and the sweet sound of music as we drove the Black Mamba, my Ford Focus, across the southern United States. All was well until we reached the dreaded Alabama.

20-something-year-old from New York who lives with his aunt, hitchhikes across the country to sunny Denver, Colo., where he is greeted with hugs and kisses from his long-lost friends. Although this book is based on real events, the gleeful traveling across the country was very much fiction.

ends as Tommy whipped my car Yes, the 14-hour down country roads at seventy trek Matt Herbertz, miles per hour. I think it is quite Tommy Humes and I possible that I did not breathe underwent to reach our for two hours straight as Tommy Spring Break destination hydroplaned past semis through of Destin, Fla. was near zero percent visibility. anything but pleasant. Even when we did finally And in the midst of all escape Alabama, the cursed the turmoil and mayhem state followed us. Stopped that was the trip, was by Joe Fanelli at a rest station just the lengthy, sleeping Staff Writer minutes across giant Alabama. Alabama, the border of the state that I have Florida, we were decided is the longest collected mass in faced with the universe, was the downfall of our a decision. joyful excursion and now the target of Thanks to my utmost hatred. Matt’s iPhone, We began our trip with open hearts we had an up and minds, ready to enjoy the company of friends and the sweet sounds of music to the minute weather as we drove the Black Mamba, my Ford tracking across Focus, across the southern United America. Now, States. All was well, until we reached the dreaded Alabama. After a quick stop my weather at a Wal-Mart in Birmingham, which are reading skills are limited, but as I stared into the deep quite common in Alabama, we ascended red sprawled across into what I can only call the monsoon the screen, I saw the from Hell. Eight hours into our trip, at looming beast that 3:30 in the morning, we entered a storm Mother Nature had that followed us all the way to Destin. placed in front of our destination. After Usually a small rain storm would a two to one vote (I was dumb enough not disturb me, but this storm, to vote to go on), we drove through the combined with the evil apparitions that nastiest storm I had ever seen. I think it accompany Alabama, brought me to wit

may have been the ten feet high raging waters that threatened to swallow us as we drove across the bridge that had me questioning every decision I had ever made. But as old adage goes, “the night is darkest just before the dawn.” We did finally reach our Spring Break haven of Destin, Florida where we enjoyed a much needed week of relaxation. In

Kerouac’s novel, as the protagonist Sal enjoys the sweet sounds of music and crisp air of America as he traverses the land, he tells us “the road is life.” Coincidentally, Sal never visits Alabama.

Illustration by Coltin Dickey

New Orleans-3.5 years later My account of New Orleans and its continued recovery

by Erin Gahimer

Editor-in-Chief ver Spring Break, I had the from them again. A very eerie opportunity to once again and disheartening thought, I visit the Big Easy, the Crescent think. City, or, as most call it New So, my point in telling Orleans, La. This was my this brief story, is that New second chance to travel to this Orleans is better. Far better. great city, as well as to witness Great strides have been made it post Hurricane Katrina. Like since August 29, 2005. But, the first time, the city amazed it’s by no means, finished me with its Southern touch and “normal.” I believe there and unique style. When I first is an impression among visited three years ago, the city Americans that N.O. is fine. was slightly disastrous to say ‘That everything’s fine because, the least. It was April of ‘06, hey, the storm happened three approximately six months after years ago.’ Well, hate to burst Hurricane Katrina ravaged your wishful-thinking bubble, the city, leaving the city in but it’s not. New Orleans utter disarray. During my visit, is a wonderful city full of Photo by Julie Gahimer beautifully old architecture, I witnessed just that. The devastation was indescribable. Experiencing the Kindergarten: A group of St. Anthony of Padua kindergartners and I posing at the end of the school day. Their history, Creole food, spiritclassroom was restored by several cohorts of OLG parishioners through hurricane relief efforts three years ago. The school is now If I tried to explain it here on filled people, and culture. This fully functional. paper, it would simply be a great city can’t be ignored. It disgrace to the reality it was. must be rebuilt. As every cheap friends at St. Anthony’s over the I will also tell you though: it’s not all I was there on a service trip. Our souvenir shop I visited in the French Spring Break 2009. We offered our better. These areas, especially the areas Lady of Greenwood had partnered, Quarter echoed: Rebuild. services to Sr. Ruth Angelette, the surrounding downtown New Orleans through the Archdiocese of New principal of the school. We ended are not near “normal.” Driving around Orleans, with another Catholic church up seeing all the progress the school these same neighborhoods I saw three called St. Anthony of Padua. This While recovery efforts continue, there are still had made and acted as teachers’ aides years ago, I witnessed progress and life, bitter attitudes after the storm and how it was parish, located off Canal Street, the for the day. On a side note, being an but I also observed abandonment and handled. Most of these opinions are manifested artery of downtown New Orleans, aid in the kindergarten was quite an death. Some homes have been rebuilt, on the front of comedic souvenir t-shirts in the was under four feet of water after the overwhelmingly fun experience. better than ever in fact, while others French Quarter. Here’s a sampling: storm. While we were there, our group It was quite interesting to me to are abandoned It’s interesting though worked to restore the convent/pre*Make Levees not war observe New Orleans, as well as the because there are rows and rows of school building of the campus. It was entire Gulf Coast (as I witnessed on my houses that were fully restored sitting *I drove my chevy to the levee, a rewarding experience to know that way over I-10 from Florida) while on next to houses that look as if they’ve but the levee was gone. I helped in a small, yet significant way my trip. I will tell you, much progress never even been touched. After talking to combat the devastation left by the has been made. These areas don’t with Sr. Ruth and other people at the *F.E.M.A.= Failure to Effecstorm. look like war zones anymore. Life has school, I learned that there are people Three years later, this year, my tively Manage Anything gone on. People go to work, kids go to who have never come back to New family and I decided to revisit our school and life continues to function. Orleans. People have just never heard

O

Catchphrases of “NOLA”


Rebel Review - April 2009  

April 2009 issue of the Rebel Review

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you