Page 1

In searching the publicly accessible web, we found a webpage of interest and provide a snapshot of it below. Please be advised that this page, and any images or links in it, may have changed since we created this snapshot. For your convenience, we provide a hyperlink to the current webpage as part of our service.

Eye on Boise: Liquor profits flow to the state

Page 1 of 2

spokesmanreview.com » blogs

Eye on Boise « Back to Eye on Boise | Archives: February 2008

Liquor profits flow to the state About this blog This website is here to help you keep an eye on the happenings in your state capital - from government and politics to court cases and southern Idaho oddities. Our web log will bring you fresh tidbits, and links can take you to our latest coverage and to helpful web sites. Take a look, and check back often it's your state.

With sales continuing to boom at the Idaho state liquor dispensary, JFAC

Email us

business but raise taxes enough to maintain its revenues, prices would go

member Rep. Margaret Henbest, D-Boise, asked this morning, “If we weren’t in the business as a state, could we just tax liquor and not have the operational cost, and just have the income? Has anybody ever done the math?” Responded Liquor Dispensary Superintendent Dyke Nalley, “No state has ever given up the business, since 1933. … Our net margin is like 33 percent on business.” Idaho decided to become a control state after Prohibition, Nally said, along with 17 other states. The result is that the state reaps the profits from liquor sales, and controls distribution. If the state were to get out of the up for consumers, and private sector marketers would massively step up

ADVERTISEMENT

Energized party embraces Obama in Idaho Democratic caucuses Hawks navigate shrinking Prairie House committee rejects compromise on grocery tax Duncan evidence won't be suppressed Obama speech attracts an eager 14,000 in Boise Idaho Senate OKs dogfighting bill DEQ director calls lake plan 'difficult issue' More Idaho news

marketing efforts with more selling hours and advertising in order to make their profits. “What happens is more marketing by the private sector, later extended hours, and more social costs like you see in an open state like

Sponsored links

California,” Nally told the Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee. “The

• Shop for MP3 Players • Buy Apple Laptops

social costs definitely go up – there have been some models on that.”

Discuss Idaho news Join the conversation at Huckleberries Online » ! Ex-CDA Superintendent To

Idaho’s per-capita liquor consumption ranks 37th in the nation, and the XML RSS feed

Latest from the S-R

state is 17 percent below average consumption in non-control states. The

Challenge Phil Hart ! Rumorama: Rick And Tom

And ... Gookin?! Oh My

increasing sales in recent years, Nally said, were due to “very dramatic”

! Wild Card/Wednesday --

Archives

population increases, plus an increasing tendency of Idaho liquor buyers to

February 2008

! Autopsy: Accidental Overdose

choose more expensive products. That’s why dollar sales are up 65 percent

January 2008 December 2007 November 2007 October 2007

in the past five years, but bottle sales are up only 42 percent. “So we’re not really pushing a lot more liquor – we’re making a lot more money, though,” Nally said.

August 2007

The liquor dispensary is proposing to open two new stores in the coming

July 2007

year, in Kuna and Meridian. Gov. Butch Otter has blessed the request. The

June 2007

dispensary’s total proposed budget for next year is $19.2 million, but none

May 2007

of that comes from state general tax funds. It’s all from liquor sales. Last

April 2007

year, the dispensary handed over $39.2 million in profits to the state, cities

February 2007

and counties, courts, schools, and alcohol treatment programs. Posted by Betsy!!|!!5 Feb!9:59 AM

January 2007 December 2006 November 2006 October 2006

There are 2 comments on this post.

September 2006 August 2006 July 2006 June 2006

Killed Ledger ... ! Grand Dame Of Idaho D's

Addresses Caucus

About Betsy

September 2007

March 2007

2/6/08

I think I'll go pick up some Bulleit Bourbon right now. Posted by Dustin in Meridian!!|!!5 Feb!11:47 AM

May 2006

Betsy Z. Russell works as staff writer for The SpokesmanReview. In that position, Russell covers Idaho news from our bureau in Boise.

Property tax calculator How much will you save from the reduction in Idaho's property tax? How much more might you spend with the increase in sales tax? What's the bottom line? Check it out and see.

April 2006 March 2006

It's interesting to me that there generally seems to be a rationale for

February 2006

privatizing things rather than keeping them under government control.

January 2006 December 2005

So sometimes the government does do things more efficiently and cheaply

November 2005

(with a direct benefit to the consumers)? What a thought. I'll remember

October 2005

this example the next time there's a big push to make the government

September 2005 August 2005 July 2005 June 2005

'more like a business.' Posted by Zelkova!!|!!5 Feb!1:37 PM

May 2005 April 2005 March 2005 February 2005 January 2005 December 2004

« Back to Eye on Boise | Add your comment Comments from readers make this blog a dialogue. Please keep yours civil, clean and on-topic; spam of all kinds will be ruthlessly deleted.

September 2004 August 2004 July 2004 June 2004

Name: Email: published)

Huckleberries Online blog State of Idaho home page Idaho Legislature Legislative agendas Current bills Idaho Supreme Court Political parties Health & Welfare Department Search campaign contributions Registered lobbyists Voter registration Live audio from the Legislature Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee Idaho news media IPTV's "Idaho Reports" Spokane, Wash., Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, and the Inland Northwest ©Copyright 2008 The Spokesman-Review

November 2004 October 2004

Useful links

(required, but won't be

May 2004

http://www.spokesmanreview.com/blogs/boise/archive/?postID=7061

2/6/2008


Eye on Boise: Liquor profits flow to the state April 2004 March 2004 February 2004 January 2004

URL:

Page 2 of 2

(optional)

Comment:

December 2003

VNS Please enter the letters shown above (typing in lowercase is fine):

Remember me? ! % $ # "

Submit comment

http://www.spokesmanreview.com/blogs/boise/archive/?postID=7061

2/6/2008

Blog - Spokesman Review BB 2-5-08  

BB blog clip

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you