HERITAGE OPEN DAYS Friday, 11th September - Sunday 20th September
HULL AND THE EAST RIDINGâ€™S HIDDEN HISTORIES
Take a unique look into Hull’s amazing heritage It’s time to celebrate our fantastic city, but this time we make our own piece of history by delivering our programme online
isitors from near and far are to get a fascinating new insight into Hull’s history. For the very first time, Heritage Open Days - England’s largest free annual festival of history and culture - is to make its own piece of Hull history by delivering its ever-popular programme online. In response to the current Covid-19 crisis, we were unable to print the awardwinning glossy brochure, which is delivered free across Hull, Beverley, and the East Riding. The brochure, which normally features details of more than 150 events, open buildings, talks and guided walks, will be given a virtual twist this year. From online tours of some of Hull and Beverley’s most historic homes and gardens, to talks from the experts, you can learn all about this year’s Heritage Open Days from the comfort of your own home by visiting www.hullandbeverley heritagecollection.co.uk Organised across England, by The National Trust, Heritage Open Days
John and Christine Netherwood Hull Civic Society (HODS) will run from Friday September 11 until Sunday September 20. And with around 40 buildings and gardens still able to open their doors to visitors, with safeguards in place, this year’s HODS is set to still be one of the biggest events in the region yet. Many of the guided walks will still be able to take place, with bookings being taken by the tour guides. “Christine and I have organised the Hull programme for the past decade”, said John Netherwood. “It is an enjoyable privilege each year to work with all the volunteers and companies, building managers, speakers and tour guides, who enable HODS to happen and to be able to showcase Hull’s amazing heritage. “Each year, HODS helps to promote the city of Hull and the ancient town of Beverley to local residents, but also to the whole nation.” This year’s theme, Hidden Nature, will see tours of the outstanding collection of hidden walled
Prof. Barbara English Beverley Civic Society
gardens in the lovely local town of Beverley. Three years ago the market town became involved in producing a joint programme for the area, led by Beverley Civic Society’s Professor Barbara English. She said: “This year’s contribution to the national theme of Hidden Nature is a beautiful selection of ancient walled gardens in Beverley. “In many cases these will be open for the first time to members of the public, together with churches, civic buildings and an ancient inn.” The new website will enable people to discover more about each of the featured heritage buildings and companies, by providing links to each property’s own website, the national HODS Directory and where available, video tours of the building. The local Heritage Open Days programme is funded through the generous support of Hull City Council, East Riding Council and more than 40 local companies and organisations. Programme manager, Sarah Holloway said: “We always look forward to Hull’s programme of HODS events, and their annual brochure is recognised as a leader nationally.” The award-winning HODS Brochure, as it would have appeared in printed form, will be accessible from this new website and on the HullLive website.
Visit www.hullandbeverley heritagecollection.co.uk
CONTENTS Features PAGES 4-7: Fron Hull to both ends of the Earth PAGES 8-9: Zachariah Charles Pearson PAGES 10-11: The Streetlife Museum PAGES 12-13: Roach Bros. (Curiers) Ltd PAGES 14-15: Lagoon Hull
PAGES 16-17: The Rix and Son’s Ltd
PAGES 32-35: Talk the talk Bringing Hull’s history to life
PAGES 18-21: HMS Pickle
PAGES 22-23: North Ferriby Football PAGES 24-25: Alan Wood and Partners PAGES 26-27: Hull Charterhouse PAGES 28-29: Sculcoates Parish
PAGES 36-41: Walk the walk Bringing Hull’s history to life
Hull buildings PAGES 46-70: Everything you need to enjoy Heritage Open Days
PAGES 30-31: Region’s Lost Villages
PAGES 78-82: Discover the rich history of fascinating town
PAGES 72-73: The legacy of Beverley’s Greyfriars and Blackfriars
PAGES 74-77: Discover the hidden gems in Beverley’s secret gardens
PAGE 70: Get a taste of Goole and its Salt and Pepper pots
PAGES 83-84: Charming village of Bishop Burton
SUPPORTING HULL’S HERITAGE
‘Please consult our Facebook account Hull Heritage Open Days 2020, and Twitter @ CivicHull , for latest news during the festival.’ Heritage opens days is organised and run by Hull Civic Society in conjunction with many volunteers, owners of properties and local companies. It is a non-commercial venture and relies very much on people voluntarily contributing their time and resources for its success. It is, therefore, not possible to guarantee that everything stated in the brochure with respect to facts, arrangements and times is completely accurate and these are subject to change without notice. Some of the buildings and venues may not be suitable for people with limited mobility and we have tried to highlight any accessibility considerations in the brochure.
SUPPORTING HULLâ€™S HERITAGE
If you would like to be a sponsor for the 2021 Heritage Open Days please email John Netherwood at email@example.com
WELCOME TO HULL
MUST SEE | MUST DO | ALL FREE
feature G O O L E
Get a taste of Goole and its unique Salt and Pepper pots The chance to take a tour of this charming town
he Dutch civil engineer Sir Cornelius Vermuyden (after whom schools, roads, businesses and inns are named locally) in the 1620s diverted the River Don north to the River Ouse to drain Hatfield Chase. The new lower Don - called the Dutch River – was navigable for barges, which brought South Yorkshire coal to the Humber estuary for transfer to seagoing vessels. To the east of Dutch River bridge a new settlement grew up, called Goole. In 1826 the settlement developed into a new town, a company town with regularly planned terrace housing, an eastern Yorkshire version of Saltaire. The first building was the Lowther Hotel, a remarkable building with interesting murals. Goole docks were originally designed for coal, and the decline of coal mining created economic problems, now remedied by a thriving cargo business and some land-based industries, including a Siemens factory to make London Underground trains.
The docks used a system known as Tom Pudding boats, that could be lifted by large Tom Pudding hoists to discharge their coal directly into sea-going ships. These massive hoists can still be seen at Goole; but Goole’s most famous landmarks are the water towers known as ‘the Salt and Pepper pots’.
Walks around Goole Goole Civic Society will lead walks around Goole Company town. Highlights will be when, why and where the Riot Act was read, and where the political headquarters were. Keir Hardie gave a public lecture at the Public Rooms. Subject to availability the Lowther Hotel will be open for tours at the end of the walking tour (an additional 30 minutes) and open for refreshments. Where and when: Saturday, September 12, 10.30am and 1.30pm, tours last 45 mins. . Meet outside the Lowther Hotel, Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW. No pre-booking required. Accessible to all with some uneven ground near Goole docks.
Goole’s water towers known as the Salt and Pepper pots
Goole at War walks (NEW) These walks are offered by Goole Civic Society and Goole First World War Research Group. During the First and Second World War thousands of Goole Men served and gave their lives. Many of these men are buried and commemorated in Goole Cemetery. During the First World War the town was also the victim of a Zeppelin Raid, which killed 19 civilians. Goole was also one of the secret locations for the construction of the Second World War Mulberry Harbours. As part of the #RememberedHere campaign the story of home burials is being explored in Goole. Join the Group for a tour of some of the town’s memorials and war sites. Where and when: Sunday 13, 10am and 1pm. For journey details please visit the Heritage Open Day website at www.heritageopendays.org.uk/ visiting
H E R I TA G E O P E N D AY S 2 0 2 0
LOCATIONS AT A GLANCE 1 Barges on Beverley Beck 2 Beverley Guildhall 3 Beverley Friary 4 Beverley Freemasons’ Hall 5 Beverley Minster 6 Butt Farm 7 St Mary’s Church 8 Monks’ Walk 9 Norwood House 10 Skidby Windmill and Museum of East Riding Rural Life 11 Treasure House and Beverley Art Gallery Picture: Chris Fenton of Octovision
Other places of interest
1 25 North Bar Within 2 39 North Bar Within 3 3 Langholme Close 4 53 North Bar Within 5 43 North Bar Within 6 44 North Bar Within 7 45 North Bar Within 8 21 New Walk 9 5 York Road 10 6 York Road 11 10 Newbegin Garden 12 131-133 Keldgate 13 Beverley Minster Quiet Garden and Secret Garden 14 1 Parkfield Cottages
9 9 10 11
7 1 2 5 7 6 4
< To Skidby Mill
Please note: this map is a rough guide and does not show exact locations
2 1 8
Come and explore the history of our great town
WELCOME TO BEVERLEY
MUST SEE | MUST DO | ALL FREE
Barges on Beverley Beck Cranehill Wharf, Scaife Mews, Beckside, Beverley, HU17 0GG Moored near the head of Beverley Beck are the three boats restored by the Beverley Barge Preservation Society. The largest is the ‘Sheffield’ size barge Syntan, built by the Hepworth shipyard at Paull in 1949 for Richard Hodgson’s Tannery and transported hides and tanning materials from Hull docks to the wharf on Beverley Beck. Sun is a former ‘mud-hopper’ maintenance vessel built in 1960 by Camplings of Goole celebrating its 60th Birthday in 2020 and is used for charters and public day trips. Mermaid is an ex-Trinity House tender, and was built in Korea in 1986. Beverley Beck became the town’s
Closed for 2020
Online Video available main river access to the River Hull by the end of the 13th century and there is still a Victorian wharf crane as a relic of Beverley’s rich Industrial Heritage and you can extend your visit with a walk alongside the Beck where you can cross over the lock gates and return on the other bank (1.5 miles approx). Here on this tranquil waterway you may catch a glimpse of a kingfisher and other wildlife. For 2020 we have a virtual tour on youtube with links to other interest areas.
Register Square, Beverley, HU17 9AR
Opening Times: Saturday, September 12, from 10am to 4pm
The Guildhall represents more than 500 years of Beverley’s civic pride. Based on a medieval great hall, the building itself was substantially . re-modelled in the 18th and 19th centuries. It features a stunning courtroom with ornate plaster ceiling by Giuseppe Cortese, a magistrates’ room with the original 17th-century furniture and an elegant parlour with a silver collection dating back more than several centuries.
Beverley Friary Friar’s Lane, Beverley, HU17 0DF Come and visit one of Beverley’s secret buildings. The Friary is within 150 metres of the Minster and yet relatively few people know that it exists. The building is all that remains above ground of the original Dominican Friary founded in 1233 (the Friary church and cloisters now lie below the railway line and Armstrong Way). The archbishop of York confirmed Stephen the Goldsmith’s gift of the site to the Dominicans (known as the Black Friars from their robes). The present buildings may have been the friars’ library and dormitory perhaps rebuilt after
Opening Times: Saturday 12, from 11am to 4pm
the Reformation using the original materials. The exterior is a fascinating mix of architectural styles and materials, set within the Friary’s land. Within there is a great hall with a hammer beam roof characteristic of the 15th century. There are striking 16th and 17th century features including a tiled floor, wall-paintings and a restored limestone fireplace. The Friary will also be open for the two walks Snapshots of Medieval Beverley (South) on Friday 11, 2pm to 5pm
Beverley Freemasons’ Hall
Trinity Lane, Beverley HU17 0DY Freemasonry is a mystery to many people, and its fascination remains. Its origins perhaps lie in the brotherhood of medieval masons, originally travelling craftsmen who lived in ‘lodges’: now, worldwide, there are some 6 million masons (including separate women’s Freemason lodges) with differing rituals and some secrets. The Hall in Beverley is the meeting place of four Masonic Lodges, three Chapters and a number of other Masonic Degrees. Masonic meetings started in Beverley pubs in the late 18th century, first at the Golden Ball,
then at the Tiger, and at a number of other places until 1928 when they moved to the present Freemasons’ Hall, a grade II listed building. It was built as a Wesleyan chapel in 1856, and has an unusual façade to Trinity Lane, with a painted frieze. Nearby the manor of Holy Trinity was the site (now under the railway station) where the Knights Hospitaller lived from c.1204 (conspiracy theorists might find that interesting). Come and see for yourselves: there will be Brethren to answer questions about Freemasonry and the building.
Opening Times: Please check Minster website for opening times and access arrangements.
Beverley Minster is open every day of the year for visitors, with special events for Heritage Open Days.
Victoria Road, Beverley, HU17 8PJ The Heavy Anti-Aircraft gun site or battery, known as H31, consists of four gun emplacements around the command post. Equipped with 3.7 inch guns, it became operational in 1941, forming one of about 50 permanent gun sites on both sides of the Humber to defend against aerial attacks. Hull was a target throughout the war, and suffered 82 rais with around 1,200 civilian fatalities and 87,00 houses damaged. The battery employed upto 300 personnel, men of
Opening Times: Friday, September 11, from 10am to 4pm
Beverley Minster Minster Yard, Beverley HU17 0DP The roots of Beverley Minster go back to the 8th century when John, Bishop of York, founded a monastery for monks and, in a later source, also nuns, under Abbess Polfrida. John had been educated at the double house of Whitby run by St Hilda, so that a double monastery would be familiar to him. John died in the year 721 and was buried in his church; he was canonised in 1037 because of the miracles that were attributed to him during and after his lifetime. St John of Beverley became the patron saint of the deaf and dumb because he cured a young man who could not hear or speak.
Monasteries were a place where the poor could go to be cared for during an illness or in their old age, boys were educated, and travellers could seek shelter and hospitality. Beverley was granted the rights of sanctuary, thus the Minster became, and continues to be, a place of worship, sanctuary, healing and pilgrimage. On this Heritage Open Day, come to the Minster and follow in the footsteps of the medieval pilgrims. See for yourself the magnificent carvings of foliage and green men (examples of ‘HiddenNature’) in this beautiful gothic building.
the 62 HAA Regiment and women of the ATS, housed in huts on site. At the end of the Second World War the site was retained until the mid 1950s when it was dismalntled. Come and see a remarkable survival, being restored by the present owners of the farm. The site is now protected by Historic England as a Scheduled Monument. For a very detailed description, visit www. historicengland.org.uk/listing/ the-list/list-entry/1019186
Closed for 2020
Beverley St Mary’s Church
North Bar Within, Beverley HU17 8DL St Mary’s Church, Beverley has a Opening Times: number of special events for this Saturdayrequired 12, 11am to 4pm. Talks at Pre-booking year’s Heritage Open Days. 11am, noon, 1pm, 2pm and 3pm call EYMS BUS LINE St Mary’s is one of the most on 01482 592936 beautiful parish churches in fascinating carvings around the England. Established in the 1120s, St Mary’s church. has always been the townspeople’s There will also be a chance to see HEDON church and was generously support the progress of work on the Narnia sculptures, from C.S.Lewis’s book by the merchants of Beverley. The Lion, the Witch and the The church is full of many NEW FOR Wardrobe, new carvings that are treasures, including the beautiful St 2019 replacements for weathered Michael’s chapel, the Ceiling of stonework on the north side of the Kings, and hundreds of brightly church nave. coloured Tudor roof bosses. Other very interesting material on On Heritage Open Day there will be “Curious Carvings” - ten minute the history of St Mary’s can be found on the web at www.stmarys talks every hour in the nave, that beverley.org/heritage/ will bring insights into the
No 19 Highgate, The Monks Walk
North Bar Within, Beverley HU17 8DL The Monks’ Walk (formerly the George and Dragon) is an ancient collection of Grade II* buildings refronted in the 18th century. Inside much exposed timber in the roofs and walls, some of which may date from the 14th century. Massive chimney breasts survive. The passage that runs through the buildings is dated 1671 on the north side and has medieval timber framed walls to the south. One of Beverley’s oldest secular buildings, with many legends attached to it. A large yard to the east, with an extensive
Opening Times: Sunday, September 13, 10am to 4pm
The Golf Club house is an ancient mill, with spectacular views of the surrounding Westwood pasture. A chance to see an unusual building, and also to find out more about the golf that has been played here for more than a century. A warm welcome awaits you. The Golf Club is said to be the
Norwood House Norwood, Beverley, HU17 9ET Norwood House is a Grade I listed building, defined by Historic England as of ‘exceptional interest’. Jonathan Midgley, a rich lawyer, built the house around 1760, the architect probably being Thomas Atkinson of York. Midgley’s daughter and heiress, Mary, ran off to Gretna Green with an American from Virginia, William Beverley: he extended the house, and was mayor of Beverley, but died in poverty. The house thereafter was owned by many different people (including a notorious countess, age 59, who married her groom, aged 27). Of course, it has a ghost, Alice. For some years it was part of the Beverley High
Opening Times: House and beer garden open Friday, Saturday and Sunday, September 11, 12 and 13 from noon to 4pm. Tours on the half hour (12.30pm, 1.30pm, 2.30pm and 3.30pm).
beer garden. In 1655, when it belonged to the Bethells of Rise, the inn was called the George ‘in the Londoner Street’, another name for Highgate, after the London merchants who attended the annual fair here.
Online Video available School. When the school moved out, the house became derelict, but fortunately was rescued firstly by the Brantingham Group, and then by Mr Mark Parkes, Group Managing Director of Bostonair Group Ltd, by whose kind permission the house is open on 13 September. The interior is amazing, five stars by any reckoning, with many superb original Georgian and Regency features. During the opening of Norwood House this year, a short video outlining Bostonair’s history and the services the Group provide will be shown.
Closed for 2020 83
Skidby Windmill & Museum of East Riding Rural Life
Cottingham, East Yorkshire, HU16 5TF Welcome to Skidby windmill, the East Riding Council’s Grad II listed, foursailed tower mill, dating from the 19th century. Set within an acre of land, with fine views towards the Humber Bridge. Outside there is plenty of space for families to relax, picnic or play games. Some of the mill’s original outbuilding noe form the Museum of East Riding Rural Life, which includes the Agriculture and Village Life Galleries, on the history of farming and the local communities of the East Riding. This year, because of the pandemic and also because the mill is being restored, the inside of the mill cannot be opened, but there is plenty
Closed for 2020
Opening Times: Saturday 12, from 11am to 4pm Café and picnic area outside only. Booking a table is strongly adviseable - 01482 847831
to see and enjoy outside. The mill’s a complicated engineering structure now more visible than when it is fully operational. In the meadow, land adjoining the mill you will find a new play area. The courtyard contains the Sails Café, which serves excellent homecooked and locally sourced food, including sandwiches, light meals and hot/cold drinks. There are lots of tables outside from which you can see the mill.
The entry covers the whole building including Treasure House Museum, Beverley Art Gallery and East Riding Archives
Treasure House and Beverley Art Gallery
Champney Road, Beverley, HU17 8HE
The Treasure House is the East Riding’s centre for culture and heritage, home to the Treasure House Museum, Beverley Art Gallery, East Riding Archives and Beverley Library, and keeps objects, documents and pictures relating to the heritage of the East Riding, as well as collections of artworks and library books. Tiny Takeover celebrates Heritage Open Days and offer young children an insight into what goes on at this cultural venue. Activities will include putting up an art exhibition, checking exhibits and tidying the gallery, sorting interesting objects,
Online Video available mending documents and more. Adult visitors can discover the hidden nature of the Treasure House, guided by members of the Museum and Archives teams around areas of the building not normally open to the public, including the Museum store, East Riding Archives repositories and the conservation workshop. The tours will give a fascinating insight into the work, and how it preserves the heritage of the East Riding.
Beverley Gardens: 1 Parkfield Cottages
Seven Corners Lane, Beverley, HU17 7AL The cottage with a hidden garden in a rural lane near Beverley town centre. The lane from North Bar Without was originally the rear service entrance to the land and buildings of the large red brick house now referred to as York Lodge, a house that has also been called Westwood and Little Tranby. The lane wasn’t called Seven Corners Lane in the 1890s, for there are only seven corners because of the footpath around the edge of the tennis courts (there by 1890). Parkfield Cottages were
three servants’ cottages built for the main house along with coach houses where the garage and gravel are now. This charming leafy corner of Seven Corners Lane forms the hidden garden of the corner cottage, and has remained happily green and gardened whilst parts of the lane have not survived so well. The essence of the lane is in this garden, there are mature trees, fruit trees, clipped hedges and climbers. The cottage also has a back garden (not open) with a lawn, a millstone water fountain
Opening Times: Saturday 12 September: 11am to 4pm Sunday 13 September: 11am to 4pm
and a venerable shed covered in honeysuckle. The land to the north of the garden is much lower, noticeable from no. 7 Seven Corners Lane. Here the northern
boundary wall is very thick, with a pantiled sloping top, presumably to retain heat from its southern aspect for fruit growing. Refreshments by the White Rabbit Chocolatier.
Take a unique look into Hull's amazing heritage. For the very first time, Heritage Open Days - England's largest free annual festival of his...
Published on Sep 11, 2020
Take a unique look into Hull's amazing heritage. For the very first time, Heritage Open Days - England's largest free annual festival of his...