Page 18

Magoo Laprida and Nico Pieres

goals, thus achieving a 7-5 partial score. Subsequently, and only a few seconds into the fifth period, Pelón Stirling scored an amazing goal enabling them to take an 8-5 lead. Bob and his boys acknowledged the situation. One whole chukka during which no goals were scored was more than enough. Therefore, Nacho and Miguel each converted a penalty shot, reducing the lead to just one goal (8-7 in favour of Valiente II). And in the 30 additional seconds, once again, Miguel sent the game into the sixth chukka having tied the match at 8-8.

Both teams struggled during the last chukka, doing their utmost to win the game, which became clearly manifested in the numerous opportunities that both sides had to polish off the match, ending up in some missed goals and several others saved by their respective defences. But Valiente I had luck on their side. First, it was Nacho Novillo Astrada who enabled his team to take a 9-8 lead, and finally, a 40-yard penalty converted by Miguel Novillo Astrada, allowed Valiente I to achieve a 10-8 victory and the first US Triple Crown title.

CV Whitney Cup // Teams Alegría Julian Mannix Fred Mannix Mariano Aguerre Tomás García del Rio

26 3 6 9 8

Audi Marc Ganzi Nicolás Pieres Jeff Hall Gonzalo Pieres Jr

26 1 8 7 10

Coca Cola Gillian Johnston Hilario Ulloa Julio Arellano Luis Escobar

26 1 9 9 7

ERG Scott Wood Sebastián Merlos Agustín Merlos Francisco de Narvaez Jr

26 0 9 9 8

La Ensenada Ernesto Gutierrez Lucas James Matías Magrini Juan Agustín García Grossi

25 0 8 9 8

Las Monjitas Camilo Bautista Eduardo Novillo Astrada Jr Javier Novillo Astrada Iñaki Laprida

26 0 10 9 7

Orchard Hill Steve Van Andel Lucas Criado Pablo Mac Donough Mariano González

26 0 9 10 7

Piaget Melissa Ganzi Alejandro Novillo Astrada Nic Roldan Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade

26 0 8 7 8

Lechuza Caracas Victor Vargas Guillermo Caset Jr Juan Martín Nero Facundo Obregon

26 1 10 10 5

Valiente Bob Jornayvaz Pablo Pieres Jr Miguel Novillo Astrada Ignacio Novillo Astrada

26 0 8 9 9

Valiente II Robert Jornayvaz David Stirling Jr Adolfo Cambiaso Alejo Taranco

26 0 10 10 6

Zacara Cristian Laprida Jr Lyndon Lea Facundo Pieres Joaquín Pittaluga

26 8 1 10 7

16 | PQ

PQ international | Spring Issue 2012 #79  

The English Polo Magazine

PQ international | Spring Issue 2012 #79  

The English Polo Magazine