Page 1

Cyan Magenta Yellow Black

TUESDAY A4

A4 ­—­Camas-Washougal, WA Post-Record

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Opinion Support the U.S. Guard and Reserve Each day, thousands of men and women of the U.S. Military’s Guard and Reserve units are serving their country through active deployment. They have left behind their families, their homes and their civilian jobs to fulfill this commitment. According to the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, a Department of Defense organization, Reserve forces spend time away from the workplace defending the nation, supporting a demanding operations tempo and training to maintain their mission readiness. The nation’s Reserve components comprise approximately 48 percent of its total available military manpower. In return for this commitment, these soldiers have rights when they return home that are specifically related to their job status. Unfortunately, many times, employers simply don’t know about or understand the laws that protect members of the Guard and Reserve. This is where the ESGR comes in. With the help of many dedicated volunteers, including several local Camas-Washougal residents, this organization looks out for the legal rights of the members of the Guard and Reserve as they re-enter civilian life. The work of this organization is invaluable. Volunteers can rattle off story after story about how they have been able to educate employers about the law and provide information that has ultimately allowed Guard and Reserve members to maintain their predeployment employment. A right they are without-adoubt entitled to after making so many sacrifices for their country. — Heather Acheson

Letters to the Editor The Camas-Washougal Post-Record encourages letters-to-the-editor on issues related to the local area. Letters should be submitted by 5p.m. Friday, prior to Tuesday publication. Letters require the full first and last names, address and telephone number of the author. Letters signed using initials and/ or nicknames will not be accepted. Shorter letters, of no more than 200 words in length, that address an issue quickly and clearly are recommended. The Post-Record reserves the right to edit all letters for length and content. Thank you letters are not accepted. Letters are published according to space availability and can be submitted by:

E-mail: heather.acheson@camaspostrecord. com Fax: (360) 834-3423 U.S. Mail: Heather Acheson-editor, P.O. Box 1013, Camas, WA 98607 Website: www.camaspostrecord.com

Guest columns encouraged The Post-Record encourages guest columns on issues related to the local area. Guest columns should be submitted by noon Friday to provide sufficient time for contacts with the writer, if needed, prior to publication. While letters to the editor are typically limited to 200 words in length, guest columns can go into greater detail as is sometimes needed on certain issues. A word count range between 700 and 1,000 words is recommended. When possible, a photo

of the writer will be run with the guest column. The photo can be submitted with the article or one can be taken at the Post-Record office, if needed. Guest columns can be mailed to the Post-Record at P.O. Box 1013, Camas, WA 98607, e-mailed to heather. acheson@ camaspostrecord.com, delivered to the office at 425 N.E. Fourth Ave., Camas, or submitted via the Post’s Web site at www.camaspostrecord. com. Questions can be directed to the editor, Heather Acheson, at 834-2141 or 892-2000.

425 N.E. 4th Avenue, Camas, Washington • (360)834-2141 Official newspaper for the cities of Camas and Washougal, WA.

www.camaspostrecord.com Mike Gallagher

Publisher and Advertising Director mike.gallagher@camaspostrecord.com

A dvertising

Newsroom

Florence Hutson

Heather Acheson

florence.hutson@camaspostrecord.com

Managing editor heather.acheson@camaspostrecord.com

Circulation and Classified A dvertising Shelly Atwell

shelly.atwell@camaspostrecord.com

Production Bobbi Foster bobbi.foster@camaspostrecord.com

Dawn Feldhaus General dawn.feldhaus@camaspostrecord.com

Danielle Frost Education and Features danielle.frost@camaspostrecord.com

Dan Trujillo Sports dan.trujillo@camaspostrecord.com

Post-Record USPS NR. 086400. Suggested subscription rates — BY CARRIER: $28 yearly. BY MAIL in Clark and southwest Skamania counties: $46 yearly paid in advance (if you leave for the winter please call for price); $60 a year elsewhere in the U.S. PERIODICALS postage paid at Camas, WA 98607. POSTMASTER: Please send address changes to POST-RECORD, P.O. Box 1013, 425 N.E. 4th Ave., Camas, WA 98607. The Post-Record, published weekly on Tuesday afternoons, strives for accuracy in its news reporting. If a factual error is made, we welcome readers to let us know. Please call the news department at 834-2141.

Cyan Magenta Yellow Black

Weekday 1A4 TUESDAY

L etters

to the

Vandalism outrages Dorothy Fox community

er. If you see someone suspicious or doing something they’re not supposed to, like climbing on a building, then tell someone that can help. These are our schools Recently, Dorothy Fox and we want to keep them Elementary School was in the best shape we can. vandalized. Someone spray painted random graffiti on Andrew Okerlund most of the playground Third grader at walls. Dorothy Fox Elementary This is so frustrating to in Camas everyone at the school. My reaction was “why did they have to do that? I want them to be caught.” Now, it’s not as nice of an environment to play sports during recess or hang out with friends. We’re hard workers, we enjoy the things we accomplish and In October I found out the playground is the only my mother, who is 71, was place we get to relax be- diagnosed with early-stagsides lunch. es of Alzheimer’s disease, Whoever did it should and my 76-year-old father, be punished. They should for now, is her sole carepay for the damage, clean giver. the walls and apologize to Alzheimer’s is a rapidly the school at an assembly. growing concern to our Also, they should see what country, state, the families its like to get arrested. If who are on the front-lines it’s a student, then their of care giving, and those parents need to take a spe- who are suffering from cial parenting class. this incurable disease. AlWhen people vandalize though the passage of the schools, the community National Alzheimer’s Projpays. That’s not fair. We ect Act is a huge step in the pay for something that we right direction, much more is needed to meaningfully didn’t do. We all need to do our help these families. According to 2010 Washpart. Be a friendly report-

Help support families dealing with Alzheimer’s disease

Editor

ington State statistics, there are 110,000 Washingtonians with Alzheimer’s, many of whom are cared for by approximately 310,000 unpaid caregivers who provide about 350 million hours of unpaid care worth about $4.2 million a year. It’s estimated that Alzheimer’s is going to cost the US $200 billion this year in health care and will increase to over $1 trillion by 2050 if we don’t do something now. More needs to be done in our community to support these families medically and moreover financially because too many families are losing everything they worked so hard attain in order to provide proper health care for their loved ones.

trains and the associated environmental concerns such as dust and noise. However, nothing is mentioned about the much more important and pressing issue about the conservation of our own domestic energy supply. Is anyone else concerned that we (the USA) are exporting our ( domestic) natural resources to eastern markets such as China? Why are we doing this at a time when energy costs are at all time high and climbing and people are constantly told how our resources are limited and we should all ride bikes and drive Volts? Coal has been deemed an evil resource by the environmentalists and the media but there is technology to minimize the sulfur Jorge Martinez in the coal and produce Camas clean energy. With unstable middle east and rising energy prices we should utilize and guard our own natural resources, including coal, and not send our energy down the tracks to derail our economy and our fuThere has been great ture. publicity concerning the Elena Kokta probability of increased traffic of coal carrying Washougal

Keep natural resources, including coal, in the U.S.

Elected Officials City of Camas www.ci.camas.wa.us Scott Higgins, mayor 2726 N.W. 34th Circle, Camas; 834-0848; shiggins@ci.camas. wa.us Council members: Melissa Smith 1235 N.W. Seventh Ave., Camas; 624-3199; msmith@ ci.camas.wa.us Linda Dietzman 207 N.E. 22nd Ave., Camas; 834-3987; ldietzman@ci.camas. wa.us Steve Hogan 2422 N.W. 47th Ave., Camas; 834-2046; shogan@ci.camas.wa.us Tim Hazen 1526 N.E. Sixth Ave., Camas; (503) 539-6988; thazen@ci.camas. wa.us Don Chaney 2535 N.W. Ivy St., Camas; 834-3242; dchaney@ci.camas. wa.us Greg Anderson 2309 N.W. 27th Circle, Camas; 834-3426; ganderson@ci.camas. wa.us Shannon Turk 3038 N.W. 30th Circle, Camas; 448-8692; sturk@ci.camas.wa.us Camas School Board www.camas.wednet.edu E-mail the board: schoolboard@camas.wednet. edu Connie Hennessey 4515 N.W. Center Court, Camas; 834-2938 Julie Rotz 620 S.W. Trout Court, Camas; 210-5513 Casey O’Dell 26700 S.E. Fifth Ave., Camas; 834-1671 Doug Quinn 1200 N.W. Klickitat Lane, Camas; 931-2376 Mary Tipton 3312 N.E. Country Drive, Camas; 834-4552

City of Washougal www.ci.washougal.wa.us Sean Guard, mayor 4813 “K” St., Washougal; 8342533; sguard@ci.washougal.wa.us Council members: Caryn Plinski 1928 N. 9th St., Washougal; 335-8000; cplinski@ci.washougal. wa.us. Paul Greenlee 2698 N. “L” St., Washougal; 210-5209; pgreenlee@ci.washougal. wa.us Jennifer McDaniel, 2430 “B” St., Washougal; 5134559; jmcdaniel@ci.washougal. wa.us Dave Shoemaker 4029 Forest View Dr., Washougal; 210-4654; dshoemaker@ ci.washougal.wa.us Connie Jo Freeman 1701 “C” St., Washougal; 835-8501, Ext. 114; cjfreeman@ ci.washougal.wa.us Jon Russell 1431 “D” St., Washougal; 6244934; jrussell@ci.washougal.wa.us Joyce Lindsay P.O. Box 920, Washougal; 3351972; jlindsay@ci.washougal.wa.us East County Fire and Rescue Commission Gary Larson, Chair 1121 N.E. Blair Road, |Washougal; 834-5275; glarson@eastcofire-rescue.org John Clancy 34904 S.E. Sixth St., Washougal; 835-8621; jclancy@eastcofire-rescue.org George F. “Jack” Hoober P.O. Box 286, Washougal; 835-7767; ghoober@eastcofire-rescue.org Mike Berg 3209 N.E. 357th Court, Washougal; 835-3720; mberg@eastcofire-rescue.org Victor Rasmussen 28709 N.E. Hancock Road, Camas; 834-3820; |vrasmussen@eastcofire-rescue. org

Port of C-W www.portcw.com Bill Ward 3709 N.W. 16th Ave., Camas; 834-3362; billw@portcw.com Bill Macrae-Smith P.O. Box 7, Washougal; 8355475; billms@portcw.com Mark Lampton 814 W. “Y” St., Washougal; 921-3869; markl@portcw.com Washougal School Board www.washougal.k.12.wa.us Karen Rubino 1805 54th St. ; 835-7815; karen. rubino@washougal.k12.wa.us Ron Dinius 814 S.E. 357th Ave., Washougal; 335-1132; rondinius@aol.com Elaine Pfeifer 101 Malfait Tracks Road, Washougal; 837-3981; epfeifer@ earthlink.net Terrie Hutchins 729 Washougal River Road, Washougal; 835-5287; terrie. hutchins@washougal.k12.wa.us Blaine Peterson P.O. Box 493, Washougal; 7985946; blaine.peterson@ashougal.k12. wa.us State Senate www.leg.wa.us 15th District Jim Honeyford, 2361 Scoon Road, Sunnyside, WA 98944; (509) 839-3527; honeyfor_ji@leg.wa.gov 18th District Joseph Zarelli, 205 Irv Newhouse Bldg., P.O. Box 40418, Olympia, WA 98504-0418; (360) 786-7634; e-mail, zarelli_jo@ leg.wa.gov Washington Governor Chris Gregoire, P.O. Box 40002, Olympia, WA 98504; (360) 902-4111; www.governor.wa.gov

County Commissioners Tom Mielke, District 1 Marc Boldt, District 2 Steve Stuart, District 3 1300 Franklin, Sixth Floor, Vancouver, WA 98666-5000; 3972232; boardcom@clark.wa.gov U.S. Representative Jaime Herrera Beutler, General O.O. Howard House, 750 Anderson St., Ste. B, Vancouver, WA 98661; (360) 695-6292; www. herrerabeutler.house.gov. U.S. Senate Maria Cantwell, (Vancouver office) 1313 Officer’s Row, Vancouver, WA 98661; (360) 696-7838; (Washington, D.C. office) 717 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C., 20510; (202) 224-3441; bob_dingethal@cantwell.senate .gov or go to cantwell.senate.gov Patty Murray, (Vancouver office), 1323 Officer’s Row, Vancouver, WA 98661; (360) 696-7797; (Washington, D.C. office) 173 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; (202) 224-2621; murray.senate.gov House of Representatives 15th District David Taylor, 438 John L. O’Brien Building; P.O. Box 40600, Olympia, WA 98504-0600; (360) 786-7874; taylor.david@leg. wa.gov. Bruce Chandler, P.O. Box 40600, Mod 2 Building, room 110-C, Olympia, WA 98504-0600; (360) 786-7960; chandler_br@leg. wa.gov 18th District Ed Orcutt, 415 John L. O’Brien Building; P.O. Box 40600, Olympia, WA 98504-0600; (360) 786-7812; orcutt_ed@leg.wa.gov Ann Rivers, P.O. Box 40600, Olympia, WA 98504; (360) 7867850;ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

A04 03-27-12  

Elena Kokta Washougal There has been great publicity concerning the probability of increased traffic of coal carrying C amas s Chool B oard...