Page 14

FROM THE EDITOR

Winner of 5 ASBPE Awards Winner of 4 GAMMA Awards ISSN 1937-5263

A PUBLICATION OF PMQ, INC. | 662-234-5481 VOLUME 20, ISSUE 2 MARCH 2016

How to Make Friends With Millennials

PUBLISHER

Steve Green, sg@pmq.com ext. 123

G

eorge Orwell once wrote, “Every generation imagines itself to be more intelligent than the one that went before it and wiser than the one that comes after it.” In the 1960s, they called it “the generation gap.” It was believed that hippies would turn the world into either a blissful Aquarian utopia or a cesspool of decadence and perversion. In fact, many of the kids who floated on clouds of marijuana smoke through anti-Vietnam protests in 1968 went on to vote for the decidedly “square” Ronald Reagan in 1980. Turns out the hippies weren’t all that different from Mom and Dad, except they preferred weed to Harvey Wallbangers. Today’s millennial generation—the largest and possibly the most overanalyzed demographic in history—are just regular folks, too. True, they love their smartphones, but older Americans have grown dependent on such devices as well. They care about social causes, but so do their parents and grandparents. They prize authenticity and frown on phonies, but anyone who’s ever read Catcher in the Rye (published in 1951) knows that’s nothing new. The difference is, millennials grew up in a culture that stresses individualism and personal choice: niche cable networks, social media, customized news feeds and Xbox. As media consumers, they’ve been bombarded by traditional advertising all their lives. They’re jaded and skeptical of “sell messages” aimed at the masses. They think for themselves and have to be convinced. In this month’s cover story, “Inside the Millennial Mind” (page 36), Tracy Morin explains how independent pizzerias have a major advantage in appealing to millennials. Who’s more authentic than that guy rolling out dough balls in a flour-streaked T-shirt? Who cares about the community more than the local pizzeria that sponsors Little League teams and opens its kitchen to the homeless on Thanksgiving Day? Don’t think of millennials as just another target demographic. Think of them as individuals who will respect your individuality, as listeners who like a good story—your story (doesn’t every pizzeria have one?). Don’t tell them what you think they want to hear. Tell them who you really are, and show them what you really care about. The megachains can never compete with that.

CO-PUBLISHER

Linda Green, linda.pmq@gmail com ext. 121 EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

Rick Hynum, rick@pmq.com ext. 130 ASSOCIATE EDITOR

Andy Knef, andy@pmq.com ext. 136

EDITOR AT LARGE

Liz Barrett, liz@pmq.com SENIOR COPY EDITOR

Tracy Morin, tracy@pmq.com

INTERNATIONAL CORRESPONDENT

Missy Green, missy@pmq.com

ART DIRECTOR

Eric Summers, eric@pmq.com ext. 134

CREATIVE DIRECTOR

Sarah Beth Wiley, sarahbeth@pmq.com ext. 135 SENIOR MEDIA PRODUCER

Daniel Lee Perea, dperea@pmq.com ext. 139 MEDIA PRODUCER

Chris Green, chris@pmq.com ext. 133 MEDIA PRODUCER

Erin Toffler, erin@pmq.com ext. 124

IT SPECIALIST

Aaron Harris, aaron@pmq.com ext. 137 CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

Shawn Brown, shawn@pmq.com CIRCULATION MANAGER

Sherlyn Clark, sherlyn@pmq.com ext. 120 TEST CHEF/EVENT COORDINATOR

Brian Hernandez, brian@pmq.com ext. 129

DESIGN INTERN

Danny Bates

ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTOR

Linda Green, linda@pmq.com ext. 121 SENIOR ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE

Clifton Moody, clifton@pmq.com ext. 138 ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE

Tom Boyles, tom@pmq.com ext. 122

MARKETING DIRECTOR

Anna Zemek, anna@pmq.com ext. 140

SALES ASSISTANT

Brandy Pinion, brandy@pmq.com ext. 127

PMQ INTERNATIONAL PMQ CHINA

Yvonne Liu, yvonne@pmq.com PMQ AUSTRALIA-NZ

Tom Boyles, tom@pmqaustralia.com

PMQ RUSSIA

Vladimir Davydov, vladimir@pmq.com CONTRIBUTORS

PMQ PIZZA MAGAZINE | March 2016 | Volume 20, Issue 2

ON THE COVER:

MARCH 2016 | WWW.PMQ.COM

Millennials MEET THE

The Pizza Industry’s Business Monthly | PMQ.com

:

How to reach the largest and most diverse generation in history PAGE 36

PLUS:

12

The Beginner’s Guide to Online Ordering PAGE 46

The Keys to Social Media Success PAGE 76

Pizza loving millennials Alison Green and Eric Summers shoot a selfie during lunch at the Blind Pig in Oxford, Mississippi. Photo by Danny Klimetz

PMQ Pizza Magazine The Pizza Industry’s Business Monthly

Rick Hynum Editor-in-chief PMQ Pizza Magazine

Michelle Bizon, Chef Santo Bruno, Tom Lehmann, Michael Rassmussen, Jim Wahl

PMQ PIZZA MAGAZINE

605 Edison St. • Oxford, MS 38655 662.234.5481 • 662.234.0665 Fax PMQ Pizza Magazine (ISSN #1937-5263) is published 10 times per year. Cost of U.S. subscription is $25 per year. International $35. Periodical postage pricing paid at Oxford, MS. Additional mailing offices at Bolingbrook, IL. Postmaster: Send address changes to: PMQ Pizza Magazine, PO Box 2015, Langhorne, PA 19047. Opinions expressed by the editors and contributing writers are strictly their own, and are not necessarily those of the advertisers. All rights reserved. No portion of PMQ may be reproduced in whole or part without written consent.

Profile for PMQ Pizza Magazine

PMQ Pizza Magazine March 2016  

PMQ Pizza Magazine March 2016