Issuu on Google+

Fantasy Baseball 2009 - Baltimore Orioles

The Baltimore Orioles are a member of Major League Baseball’s American League East Division. They play their home games at Camden Yards in Baltimore, Maryland. The team was founded in 1894 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, as the Milwaukee Brewers. In 1902, they moved to St. Louis and changed their name to the St. Louis Browns. In 1954, the team moved to their current location Baltimore, Maryland and adopted the Baltimore Orioles name.

From 1968 to 1985, the Orioles posted eighteen consecutive winning seasons. Two years prior to the winning streak, in 1966, the Orioles traded for Frank Robinson. In his first year with the Orioles, Robinson won the Triple Crown and the MVP award, and led the Orioles to their first ALCS win and World Series win.

In 2009, the Orioles set a record for the largest comeback in franchise history with an 11–10 win over the Boston Red Sox, setting a Major League Baseball record for the largest comeback by a last place team over a first place team.

Owners Chris Van Der Ehe 1894-1902 Robert Lee Hedges 1902-1916 Philip DeCatesby Ball 1916-1953 Jerold Hoffberger 1953-79 Edward Bennett Williams 1979-89 Eli Jacobs 1989-93 Peter Angelos 1993-Present

Claims to Fame – Most Memorable Babe Ruth pitched for the Orioles until 1914 Pete Gray in 1945 (the only one-armed major league position player in history) Paige Satchel (Former Negro League great 1951) Eddie Gaedel (a 3-foot 7-inch, 65-pound midget, went to bat as a pinch hitter 1952) Ned Garver (highest paid player became the last pitcher to win 20 games for a team that lost 100 games in a season)

Pennant Wins

1944, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1983, 1996, 1997

World Series Wins 1966 Los Angeles Dodgers 1969 New York Mets 1970 Cincinnati Reds 1983 Philadelphia Phillies W

Hall of Famers Milwaukee Brewers Hugh Duffy

St. Louis Browns

Jim Bottomley, Willard Brown, Jesse Burkett, Dizzy Dean, Rick Ferrell, Goose Goslin, Rogers Hornsby, Tommy Lasorda, Heinie Manush, Christy Mathewson, Joe Medwick, Satchel Paige, Eddie Plank, Branch Rickey, George Sisler, Bill Veeck, Rube Waddell,Bobby Wallace

Baltimore Orioles

Luis Aparicio, Whitey Herzog, Reggie Jackson, George Kell, Eddie Murray, Jim Palmer, Cal Ripken, Jr., Robin Roberts, Brooks Robinson ,Frank Robinson, Earl Weaver, Hoyt Wilhelm, Dick Williams

Oriole Most Valuable Players Frank Robinson (1966) Boog Powell (1970) Cal Ripken, Jr. (1983)

Minor League 5- Rule Drafts: Paul Blair (from the Mets 1962) Moe Drabowsky (from the Cardinals 1965) Curt Blefary (AL Rookie of the Year /claims off waivers 1965)

Cy Young Award Winners Mike Cuellar (1969) Jim Palmer (1973, 1975 & 1976) Mike Flanagan (1979) Steve Stone (1980)

Rookies of the Year Cal Ripken Jr. Al Bumbry (1973) Eddie Murray (1977) Cal Ripken Jr. (1982)

1971 Record Setters (won 20 games) Dave McNally MikeCuellar Jim Palmer Pat Dobson

2006 World Baseball Classic Oriole Team Players: Erik Bedard and Adam Loewen (Canada) Rodrigo L贸pez and Geronimo Gil (Mexico) Daniel Cabrera and Miguel Tejada (Dominican Republic) Javy L贸pez and Luis Matos (Puerto Rico) Bruce Chen (Panama) Ramon Hernandez (Venezuela) John Stephens (Australia)

All Star team and Gold Glove award Adam Jones (2009)

Fantasy Baseball 2009 - Baltimore Orioles