Page 1

Fantasy Baseball 2009 ­ Atlanta Braves   The Atlanta Braves is a team that plays in Atlanta,  Georgia, as part of the Eastern Division of  the Major League Baseball’s National League. They currently play in Turner Field and have  been playing there since 1997. The team name came from a saying for Native American  warriors.


The Braves boast that they are the oldest running baseball team in Major League Baseball.  To  add to their longevity they are the only team who has played in every single season since the start  of Major League Baseball. The Atlanta Braves started their baseball team as the Boston Red  Stockings. To have been around for so many years the Atlanta Braves baseball team has seen it  all, from last place finishes to multiple world championships.

After thirteen seasons in Milwaukee, the Braves moved to Atlanta in 1966. In the club's  inaugural season in Atlanta, eight regulars’ tallied double­digit home run totals, led by Hank  Aaron's 44 round­trippers. But the pitching wasn't strong enough to push the Braves into the  upper echelons of the National League. Despite a great Major League Baseball record of 85­77  and a home attendance of around 2 million, the team finished fifth in the league. Former star 

third baseman Eddie Mathews was traded in December, but the deal didn't improve the team's  standing; in 1967, they fell to seventh place with their first losing record since 1952, their last  season in Boston.

In 1957, their fifth season in Milwaukee, the Braves won their first World Series in 43 years,  beating the New York Yankees in seven games. Young sluggers Aaron and Eddie Mathews  powered the offense, and Spahn earned the Cy Young Award. The three led the Braves to  another pennant in 1958, but the club lost to the Yankees in another seven­game World Series.

Businessman Ted Turner bought the franchise in 1975 and began rebuilding the team. He  acquired promising young players such as Dale Murphy and Bob Horner, but the Braves failed to  win a pennant during the 1980s. In the 1990s, however, the Braves won a string of division titles.  In 1991, led by Bobby Cox, Terry Pendleton, and Tom Glavine, the Braves won the NL pennant  but lost to the Minnesota Twins in the World Series. The Atlanta Braves won the National  League pennant again in 1992, this time losing the series to the Toronto Blue Jays.

In 1996 Atlanta made its fourth trip to the World Series in the decade after winning the NL  pennant behind pitcher John Smoltz. The team lost to the New York Yankees in the Series. At  the end of the 1996 season, the Braves left Atlanta­Fulton County Coliseum, the team’s home  since 1966, and moved to the track­and­field stadium built for the 1996 Olympic Games. The  new stadium was then named Turner Field. The Braves won division titles in 1997 and 1998 but  did not return to the World Series until 1999, when the team’s offense was powered by third  baseman Chipper Jones, who won the NL most valuable player (MVP) award. In 1999 Atlanta  again lost to the Yankees in the World Series.

Active Roster

Juan Abreu Manny Acosta Jesse Chavez Kyle Cofield

Micheal Dunn Tim Hudson Lee Hyde Jair Jurrjens Derek Lowe Stephen Marek Kris Medlen Peter Moylan Jose Ortegano James Parr Todd Redmond Takashi Saito Luis Valdez Brian McCann David Ross Clint Sammons Brooks Conrad Yunel Escobar Troy Glaus Diory Hernandez Omar Infante Chipper Jones Martin Prado

Gregor Blanco Melky Cabrera Matt Diaz Eric Hinske Nate McLouth Jordan Schafer

Fantasy Baseball 2009 - Atlanta Braves  
Fantasy Baseball 2009 - Atlanta Braves  

The Atlanta Braves is a team that plays in Atlanta, Georgia, as part of the Eastern Division of the Major League Baseball’s National League...