Issuu on Google+

a sneak preview

issue #6

Do you get jealous/envious when you view other people’s work? Does it make you a better artist? How do you get over it?


sneak preview only


issue #6 advice + inspiration from artists/illustrators/ designers on creativity, business and life. www.pikaland.com/goodtoknow pikaland.etsy.com

get your copy at www.pikaland.com/goodtoknow


Do you get jealous/envious when you view other people’s work? Does it make you a better artist? How do you get over it?

Join us for next issue’s topic:

What are your thoughts on plagiarism? Have you ever been a victim? What did you do when someone copied your work? email me at amy@pikaland.com to participate!


When a large chunk of your work is made up of looking at the tremendous amount of wonderful work out there (like I do), it’s only natural to be envious at times. In the year and a half that I have been blogging, I’ve discovered so many artists and illustrators, and there’s still many, many more that I have yet to come across! The never-ending eye candy can sometimes be paralyzing, and I can definitely attest to that fact. I realize that with envy or jealousy, it’s not about the artist, or even the work that they have produced. It’s about myself. By admitting that I am envious, or even jealous, I have come to realize that it is merely a manifestation of my desire to be as good as them. It would take a lot of hard work for me to be as illustrous as any of the artists whom I have come to place on a high pedestal. I’ve come to accept that unless I began demanding of myself the same way that these hardworking people did, my envy would just be that: envy. Nothing less, and worse, nothing more. Here is an ironic thought: people may envy at an artist’s achievements, but most would never be envious of the hard and long journey that took them there. This reminds me of the saying: Everyone wants to go to heaven, but no one wants to die to get there. Enjoy the issue! Amy www.pikaland.com

Topic submitted by Aijung Kim: http://sprouthead.etsy.com


The times that I get envious when seeing another artist’s work is when it’s blatantly obvious to they are very adept at using color. Color is that artist’s love and the work shows that the hues and tones flow through them effortlessly. When I come up with an idea for an illustration, 90% of the time the image that comes into my mind is black and white, and made up of gestures and curves. Whenever I’m drawing I have a blast! However, when I go to scan my sketch into the computerI find myself staring at lonely black lines on top of a blank white canvas that seems to go on forever. I don’t know if I’ll ever get over my color insecurity because I know it’s an aspect of my work I’ll always strive to improve. The way I come to terms with my envy is to recognize that every artist has their strengths and weaknesses. That doesn’t mean I can’t have a greater appreciation of those who have mastered the palette, as well as take pride in my own definite concepts, style and voice. 2ndComing www.2ndcoming.etsy.com www.acoghlan.net

Heck yeah, I’ve been envious! I wonder, “How did they do that?” or “why didn’t I think of that?” or “why do they have so many more sales?” and “how can they afford to only charge that?”. I could go on. But I think it makes me work harder, work smarter, try to be more creative, sell myself more and better... I could go on and on! Alex Keller alexkeller.etsy.com alexkellerblog.blogspot.com


2ndComing


* Do you get jealous/envious when you view other people’s work? Maybe not necessarily jealous/envious... but I definitely want to learn how they manage to come up with something that! * Does it make you a better artist? How do you get over it? I think it does! When I see something I really love or want to do... I give it a shot to see if I can recreate that particular style. Even if I can’t figure out just how they did that, I certainly learn different techniques and styles that I can use in my own art along the way! I’d also say that would be the best way to get over that envy as well. Go out and give that new style a try! :) Ashley Watts ashleywatts.blogspot.com

* Do you get jealous/envious when you view other people’s work? Does it make you a better artist? How do you get over it? Normally my first reaction to great art work is “wow”, then I tend to stare at it and admire their technique. An artist that captures my imagination intrigues me and I immediately want to investigate and research more about them. I want to know where they are from, how they started as an artist and what inspires them. If they have a similar background to me or if their work is of the same genre it gives me confidence to pursue a successful artistic career. I don’t tend to be envious of their work but maybe I do feel a twinge of envy of the clients they have illustrated for, or the galleries they have exhibited in. Envy isn’t a bad thing, it is part of human nature and it is only a quick flash of it for me. Seeing a successful artist with magnificent drawings triggers a challenge in me to create a drawing that is quirky and intriguing. I want to invoke the same inspirational emotions in artists. Chrissy deciphertheday.carbonmade.com deciphertheday.co.uk


Yes, envy makes you a better artist. There is no point thinking you are the best, because you always need to feel you can do better. Envy has driven me further in my career, though as I get older I do feel less envious and more enjoyment at the achievements of other illustrators. There will always be a element of “I wish I could illustrate as good as him/her� but that does keep the edge on things. How I get over envy? I try to create a new illustration that some other illustrator will envy! Carla Daly www.carladaly.com


issue #6 PARTICIPANTS 2ndComing www.2ndcoming.etsy.com

Suzanne Alders Suzanne.Alders@alphawest.com.au

Alex Keller alexkeller.etsy.com

Kira Swales www.kiraswales.co.uk

Aaron Winters www.abidevisuals.com

Lindy Gruger Hanson www.lgruger.com

Anke Weckmann www.linotte.com

Kerry Lemon www.kerrylemon.co.uk

Ashley Watts ashleywatts.blogspot.com

Martina Ercolini www.theissue.com

Chrissy deciphertheday.carbonmade.com

Sole Cespedes soledadcespedesm@gmail.com

Carla Daly www.carladaly.com

Myrte de Zeeuw mirthquake.etsy.com

Cathy Nichols www.cathynichols.etsy.com

Pamela Carrington www.flickr.com/photos/85675763@N00/

Aijung Kim www.aijungkim.com

Brigitte Coovert http://pbrigitte.wordpress.com/

Gaia Cornwall http://GaiaCornwall.com

Andrea D. Cruz aphazia.livejournal.com

Justin Longoz justinlongoz.blogspot.com

Rawini Sulaiman bubbly-pu.com

Gemma Correll www.gemmacorrell.com

S. Tudyk www.tudyk.com

Hanna Whiteman hannawhiteman.blogspot.com

Sarah Palisi http://sarahpalisi.de


issue #6 PARTICIPANTS Brent Wilson / Sooks Design. Publishing www.sooks.net.au Tigz Rice / Design & Illustration www.tigzrice.com Suzanne L. Vinson www.silvertreeart.net Linda Tieu tortagialla.com Kathy W. thegreenzebra.etsy.com Patricia van Essche pvedesign.com

Yee Ting Kuit yeellustration.blogspot.com Xin www.flickr.com/doinkydoodles Crystal Korzep Singlemothers.blog.com Jade Nellans www.jadefrolics.com Katie Green www.katiegreen.co.uk Kirsteene phelan www.scrumptiousporductions.com.au

Valerie Hebert www.ValsArtStudio.com

Join us for next issue’s topic:

What are your thoughts on plagiarism? Have you ever been a victim? What did you do when someone copied your work? email me at amy@pikaland.com to participate!


48 pages A5 size staple bound 39 participants black & white text + illustrations


sneak preview only

To download a PDF copy of the zine or have an issue delivered to your door, head over to: http://pikaland.com/goodtoknow


Good to Know #6