Issuu on Google+

PHILADELPHIA MUSIC PROJECT new books lecture series

The Rest is Noise: Listening to the 20th Century  with Alex Ross Tuesday, December 18, 2007 Philadelphia Center for Arts & Heritage 1608 Walnut Street, 18th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19103

RSVP Deadline: Tuesday, December 11 To RSVP for this event, please complete the accompanying form and return it by fax to 267.350.4998. RSVP is required. Question? Call PMP at 267.350.4960. This event is by invitation only. However, if space is available, PMP will consider public attendance requests. Please contact PMP for more information.

11:15 to 11:30 am  Registration 11:30 am to 12:30 pm  Lecture 12:30 to 1:30 pm  Luncheon About Alex Ross: Alex Ross has been the music critic at The New Yorker since 1996. His work has also appeared in The New Republic, The London Review of Books, Lingua Franca, and The Guardian. From 1992 to 1996 he was a critic at The New York Times. He is the recipient of numerous awards for his work, including two ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards for music criticism, a Holtzbrinck Fellowship at the American Academy in Berlin, a Fleck Fellowship from the Banff Centre, and a Letter of Distinction from the American Music Center for significant contributions to the field of contemporary music. The Rest Is Noise is his first book. This event is produced by the Philadelphia Music Project, a program of the Philadelphia Center for Arts & Heritage, funded by The Pew Charitable Trusts and administered by The University of the Arts.

Join acclaimed New Yorker music critic Alex Ross as he discusses his first book, The Rest is Noise: Listening to the 20th Century, published in October 2007 by Farrar, Straus, and Giroux. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler’s Germany and Stalin’s Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama’s The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand’s The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music. “The Rest Is Noise reads like a sprawling, intense novel, one of utopian dreams, doom, and consolation, with the most extraordinary cast of characters from music and history alike. A great, inspiring ride.” —Osvaldo Golijov


The Rest is Noise