Page 53

his litigation successes that changed the law in cases he argued in the U.S. Supreme Court, the 3rd Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals and the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, involving First Amendment, defamation law, ERISA , pension and retirement law and summary judgement/civil procedure, respectively. Gilbert Harrison W’62, L’65 was

appointed to the board of directors for Inter Parfums, Inc. Harrison, the founder and chairman emeritus of the investment banking firm, Financo LLC, retired as chairman of the company in December 2017, after which he formed the Harrison Group, a firm that provides consulting and financial advisory services to merchandising and products companies. William Mogel L’66 gave a series

of four lectures on a wide range of energy, regulatory, and legal issues at the Osher Learning Institute of Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton. He is the founder of the Energy Law Journal and editor of two LexisNexis publications: Energy Law & Transactions (seven volumes), and Regulation of the Gas Industry (five volumes). Two of his writings on energy were cited by the U.S. Supreme Court. Norman Pearlstine L’67 was named the executive editor of the Los Angeles Times. He retired from his position as Time’s chief content officer last year. He previously held prominent positions at The Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg and Forbes magazine. Michael Sklaroff L’67 won The Legal Intelligencer’s 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. He is a partner in Ballard Spahr’s real estate department, which he founded more than 25 years ago and built into what Chambers USA has called “a national powerhouse.” He served as department chair until 2013.


Jane Leslie Dalton L’71 was recog-

nized by Continental Who’s Who for her high standards of ethics in the field of law in recognition of her role as of counsel at Duane Morris LLP. Dalton, who has been practicing more than 40 years, has extensive experience in the areas of ethics and public speaking and in mounting a defense in controversial and publicized legal battles. She was previously chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association. Joel Jacobson C’68, L’71 was a panel-

ist for the Meritas session, “Calling All Member Contacts! Learn How to Capitalize on Your Meritas Membership” at the 2018 Meritas Annual Meeting in Miami Beach. He is a member of the law firm Norris McLaughlin & Marcus, PA , where he is chair of its Real Estate & Land Use practice group. Bella (Billie) Schnall CW’73, L’76 was presented with the “MVP of VIP” award by Philadelphia VIP, a legal pro bono organization. She was recognized for her volunteer work in family law. She is a partner at Greenblatt, Pierce, Funt and Flores, where she is director of the firm’s family law division. Alberto Ibarguen L’74 is president

of the Knight Foundation, which in September jointly established a $20 million fund with the Lenfest Institute for Journalism for the advancement of local and national journalism. H. Ronald Klasko L’74, a founding partner of Klasko Immigration Law Partners, was ranked a Band 1 leader in immigration law by the 2018 edition of Chambers USA. He was also named to the 2018 Who’s Who Legal Corporate Immigration Attorneys list,

where, because he received the highest number of nominations from peers, corporate counsel and other market sources, was also recognized as a Thought Leader. Klasko was also named to The Best Lawyers in America 2019 list for immigration law. Andrew Smulian L’74 concluded

his decade-long tenure as chairman and CEO of Akerman LLP and is now chairman emeritus. Under his leadership, Smulian oversaw the expansion of the firm to more than 700 lawyers and business professionals across 24 offices nationwide. He launched the industry’s first research and development co-venture with clients, and he also started a partnership with the National Court Appointed Special Advocates Association to provide foster children with a voice. Because of his initiatives, the Financial Times recently honored Smulian as one of the top 10 legal innovators in North America, and it ranked Akerman as one of North America’s most forward-thinking and socially responsible law firms. John Rother L’75 was presented

the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award by Marquis Who’s Who, a publisher of biographical profiles. He has been president and chief executive officer for the National Coalition on Health Care in Washington, D.C., since 2011. From 1984 to 2011, he served as executive vice president for policy, strategy and international affairs for the American Association of Retired Persons, and in his career, was involved with the passage of the 1983 Social Security amendments, the Affordable Care Act and the enactment of the Medicare prescription drug benefit program. Wendy White L’75 was elected a

director to the boards of the U.S. exchanges operated by Nasdaq, Inc. 53

Profile for Penn Law

Penn Law Journal Winter 2018  

Penn Law Journal Winter 2018