Page 1


GOVERNOR’S MESSAGE Since its establishment, the Pennsylvania Convention Center, located in the City of Brotherly Love, has been a driving force in the Commonwealth’s economic growth and prosperity. The Pennsylvania Convention Center has been instrumental in expanding our hospitality industry through its innovation, entrepreneurship and quality services. I am certain that the Convention Center will continue to attract tourists to the region, create a plethora of job opportunities for citizens and strengthen our economy for many years. As Governor, and on behalf of all the citizens of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, I extend my gratitude to the Pennsylvania Convention Center for its positive economic impact and I offer my best wishes for continued success.

Tom Wolf Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

MAYOR’S MESSAGE

The Pennsylvania Convention Center is a strong partner in strengthening the economic vitality of Philadelphia. The Convention Center brings jobs, stimulates economic growth and increases travel and tourism in our city.

As a former board member and chairman of the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority, I know firsthand how important a vibrant and healthy Convention Center is to Philadelphia. I wish the Center continued success and look forward to the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People coming here in July 2015; welcoming Pope Francis to Philadelphia for the World Meeting of Families in September 2015; and the numerous other conventions and groups who chose Philadelphia and the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Philadelphia is a world-class meeting place because our state-of-theart Convention Center has a tremendous team of customer-focused staff and labor who deliver a seamless, first-class meeting experience. Additionally, because of our incredible hospitality sector, convenient and accessible transportation to and around the city, terrific dining, shopping and entertainment options, and extensive historic and cultural attractions, Philadelphia has something for everyone.

Michael A. Nutter Mayor, City of Philadelphia 2


LEADERSHIP MESSAGE The mission of the Pennsylvania Convention Center is to serve as an economic engine for the Greater Philadelphia region’s hospitality industry by attracting and hosting major conventions, meetings, and events in our state-of-the-art convention facility. Through the strength and leadership of the Board of Directors and executive team, we enhanced the competitiveness of the Center in 2014 by implementing a new Customer Satisfaction Agreement (CSA) that modernized work rules and expanded rights for exhibitors at our facility. In addition, world-class facility operator SMG officially assumed responsibility for overseeing the management and operations of the facility in December 2013.

Gregory J. Fox

The four trade unions that meet the labor needs of our customers are embracing the new CSA work rules and increasing their focus on hospitality. This concerted effort to deliver a positive customer experience has sparked renewed interest among meeting and show planners to return to Philadelphia.

T

The positive changes have resulted in a dramatic increase in bookings. Between May 2014 and January 2015, the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau (PHLCVB) has booked 28 major events and meetings at the building for future years. These new bookings are projected to attract more than 580,000 attendees from around the world to Philadelphia, fill over 560,000 hotel room nights, and generate a regional economic impact of more than $872 million.

Joshua D. Shapiro

We expect more great news on event bookings in the coming year. PHLCVB has an additional 37 tentative major bookings in the works. In February 2015, we learned that Philadelphia successfully secured the 2016 Democratic National Convention. As you read this Year in Review, we hope you can John J. McNichol gain a greater understanding of the vital role the Center plays in attracting millions of visitors to the Greater Philadelphia region each year, driving the area’s economy and sustaining tens of thousands of hospitality jobs. Just as important, we encourage you to consider how you can support our efforts in bringing international, national, and state organizations with whom you are involved to the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

Gregory J. Fox Chairman Pennsylvania Convention Center

Joshua D. Shapiro Vice Chairman Pennsylvania Convention Center

John J. McNichol President and CEO Pennsylvania Convention Center 3


THE CENTER’S MISSION Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority is T hecharged by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

to serve as the steward of the public good, to assure the successful operation of the world-class Pennsylvania Convention Center, and to drive economic prosperity for the Greater Philadelphia region. The Authority seeks to fulfill its mission by:

• Fostering a service-oriented culture in which delivering a positive customer experience is at the forefront and focus of all decisions;

• Establishing best practices in the convention, event, and hospitality markets to expand business and enhance the customer experience; • Investing in state-of-the-art technological infrastructure to provide customers with access to the latest innovations and tools; and • Partnering with shareholders and strategic partners in the Commonwealth to maximize the business impact of the Pennsylvania Convention Center while maintaining a strong commitment to diversity and inclusion.

Pennsylvania Convention Center, Broad Street Entrance

BY THE NUMBERS • Over 2 million square feet of space, including 528,000 square feet of contiguous exhibit space. • Seven exhibit halls totaling 679,000 square feet of exhibit space. • 82 meeting rooms that can be set in banquet, classroom, or theater seating. • Largest ballroom in the Northeast, equivalent to the size of a football field. 4


Grand Ballroom

ABOUT THE PENNSYLVANIA CONVENTION CENTER Pennsylvania Convention Center’s T heexceptional staff manages nearly 250 events

per year, ranging from internationally attended conventions to regional company retreats. We offer decades of combined expertise and are committed to providing the best experience possible for everyone who walks through our doors. With the ability to host multiple large-scale trade shows and conventions simultaneously, the expanded building is now more dynamic and flexible than ever. No matter how small or large your event, we will ensure it is a complete success with our hotel-like amenities and award-winning services. There are plenty of comfortable lounges, sprawling balconies, and terraces with unmatched views of City Hall and the Museum Mile along the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Attendees can rely on technical support, WiFi connectivity, digital signage, and smart rooms inside the facility to make any event interactive and user-friendly.

Located in the heart of downtown Philadelphia, this is one of the few convention centers in the world designed to be uniquely woven into the city’s landscape. The Center is close to everything that attendees need for a completely comfortable and memorable experience. Plus, more than 10,000 hotel rooms are within walking distance, as are hundreds of restaurants, shops, and cultural institutions. From a local perspective, the Center is much more than a building and meeting space. The success of the region’s hospitality industry is driven by the international, national, and regional events hosted by the Center. These shows annually attract hundreds of thousands of attendees from around the world, driving business to the region’s hotels, restaurants, and cultural institutions. That is why the Center is widely viewed as the leading economic engine for the region’s hospitality industry. 5


PENNSYLVANIA CONVENTION CENTER PARTNERS

The Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority is a Commonwealth of Pennsylvania agency. Its 15-member Board of Directors and senior management personnel are charged with oversight and proper management of the facility. By attracting more than one million attendees each year, the Center serves as the economic engine of the region’s hospitality industry. The multi-use public facility opened in 1993 and received a $786 million expansion in 2011. It is designed to accommodate conventions, exhibitions, conferences, and other events.

The Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau (PHLCVB) is a private, non-profit membership corporation. It is the official Tourism Promotion Agency for the city of Philadelphia globally and the primary sales and marketing agency for the Center. PHLCVB fuels the Greater Philadelphia economy by bringing meetings, conventions, and travelers to the city.

6

SMG is a worldwide entertainment and convention venue management firm based in West Conshohocken, PA. The company brings its national and international best practices to Philadelphia, focusing on giving customers customized assistance from the conception to the conclusion of their meetings.

IBEW LOCAL 98 IRON WORKERS LOCAL 405 LABORERS LOCAL 332 STAGEHANDS LOCAL 8 ( IATSE ) Our show floor trade partners meet the labor needs of our customers and their exhibitors on the show floor. In 2014, the four unions demonstrated their commitment to improving the competitiveness of the building by agreeing to modernized work rules and expanded exhibitor rights in the new Customer Satisfaction Agreement.


2014 BOARD OF DIRECTORS Gregory J. Fox Chairman

Joshua D. Shapiro Vice Chairman

Ryan N. Boyer Frank P. Buzydlowski Edward Coryell, Sr. Joseph A. Cullen, Jr. Jonathan Ireland George Kenney John J. Kroll

Honorable Mark F. Squilla Heather A. Steinmiller Honorable Marian B. Tasco Robert J. Willert Robert C. Wonderling David Woods

The Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association represents more than 90 hotels throughout the Greater Philadelphia region. The hotels benefit from room bookings generated by conferences and events hosted at the facility. In 2014, event attendees filled more than 360,000 hotel room nights.

Reading Terminal Market is a public market affiliated with the Pennsylvania Convention Center. More than 100 merchants offer fresh food, produce, crafts, books, clothing, and specialty and ethnic foods. The market is open daily and has Pennsylvania Dutch merchants, local businesspeople, and the descendants of original market vendors.

Hospitality Industry The Center benefits the multi-tiered hospitality industry in the Greater Philadelphia region. The city itself has more than 4,000 restaurants, bars, night clubs, and other options where our visitors dine. Our visitors tour our arts and cultural attractions such as the Philadelphia Art Museum, the Barnes Foundation, Independence Hall, and the National Constitution Center. Our taxi and transportation industries and retail shopping outlets also benefit from event attendees.

Visit Philadelphia is a private, non-profit designated to serve as Philadelphia’s official marketing agency for regional attractions. Visit Philadelphia increases the number of visitors to our city and enhances the quality of life and sense of pride for our residents.

7


“I’m proud to be a part of the ‘New Day’ at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Under budget, ahead of schedule - that is the new motto. Thanks for choosing Philly.” John Dougherty, Business Manager International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 98

“A lot of hard work went into this deal from the public sector, private sector, and the unions to make this a ‘New Day.’ These changes will benefit over 170,000 hospitality workers and the exhibitors who come to the City of Philadelphia.” Michael J. Barnes President and Business Manager Stagehands Local 8 (IATSE)

A NEW PARTNERSHIP WITH SHOW LABOR A UNITED WORKFORCE TO DELIVER THE BEST CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE the four trade unions that perform work on the show floor agreed to new work rules and expanded When exhibitor rights, they took a tremendous leap of faith. By enabling exhibitors and customers to do more, these unions agreed to give up work that had traditionally been performed by labor.

However, they recognized that innovation was needed to make the facility more competitive and breathe new life into the city’s hospitality industry. The unions placed their trust in the Center’s leadership and the belief that new work rules and expanded exhibitor rights would be good for them as well. That leap of faith has paid off with new bookings and conventions that will generate new work opportunities for their own union members and the region’s entire hospitality industry.

“We just completed our December meeting and the four unions are a pleasure to work with. It really is a new day in Philadelphia and SMG was the right choice. Philadelphia is the complete package! The management team at the Center and staff should be proud of the accomplishments made in such a short period of time.” Trina Armstrong Director of Meetings The American Society for Cell Biology Booked for 2017, 2020, 2025 and 2027 8


“Our customers and members can look forward to 2015 shows in the Convention Center with a sense of comfort because of the changes we have made. My partners here and I spent many long nights to make sure we had a good agreement. We are looking forward to a long relationship and we are happy to be here.” Samuel Staten Jr., Business Manager, Laborers’ International Union of North America Local 332

“I am proud to join the other unions and I thank the Convention Center’s leadership for their efforts in developing this new agreement and making the building more competitive.” Sam J. Malone, Jr., Business Manager, International Association of Bridge, Structural and Ornamental Iron Workers Local 405

A TEAM EFFORT MAKES THE DIFFERENCE SMG’S LABOR SERVICES TEAM HELPS TRADE LABOR FULFILL NEEDS OF CUSTOMERS

Labor Services Team at the Pennsylvania Convention Center is comprised of industry veterans T hewithSMG expertise gained by their experiences throughout the Mid-Atlantic and Northeast regions. Through

streamlined work rules and hands-on labor management, the team partners with our customers for successful events. The team acts as a resource to ensure professionally managed events in all areas, including pre-event planning, on-site execution, and post-show billing reconciliation. SMG’s team conducts pre-convention and post-convention meetings with customers, works on their behalf with our labor force, and provides on-site support for customers and their exhibitors. In addition, SMG added an experienced production team that specializes in creating and coordinating complex events.

HONORS FROM HOTEL ASSOCIATION 2014 drew to a close, the Pennsylvania Convention Center A sAuthority and its four trade unions partners were honored by the Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association (GPHA).

The PCCA Board of Directors earned the Heart of Philadelphia Award for its dedication to improving the customer experience at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. The hotel association also bestowed Headliner Awards to IBEW Local 98, Iron Workers Local 405, Laborers Local 332, and Stagehands Local 8 for their leadership in agreeing to new work rules and focus on delivering the best possible experience to customers. 9


LEVERAGING INDUSTRY BEST PRACTICES the PCCA Board of Directors announced the selection of SMG, one of the world’s leading W hen convention center operators, it was driven by a desire to improve the overall customer experience

and make the facility more competitive on an international and national scale within the meetings industry.

SMG brought its expertise in managing facilities worldwide and implemented a wide range of industry best practices. These best practices include: • Hiring experienced staff members and providing in-depth additional training for the existing team. • Establishing a new Labor Services Team with a hands-on labor management approach to assist customers with post-show billing and reconciliation. • Additional pre-show planning meetings to work with customers to plan for their labor needs, control costs, and help estimate bills in advance of their events. • Initiating a Manager on Duty program for major events to further improve customer service levels and coordinate responses to events in real-time. • Placing floor managers within the Events Team to assist with customers’ event needs, including deliveries, floor-plan approval, food and beverage services, security, engineering, and labor calls. • Establishing a Production Services Department to work with customers in their early planning stages to provide a seamless and cost-effective experience in A/V and high-end production.

“In 2014, the first full year of SMG’s management of the Center, we brought the ‘gold standard’ of customer service. It became a shared vision with our partners. These changes are bringing future bookings to benefit the region’s hospitality industry for years to come.”

Lorenz Hassenstein General Manager, PCC

10


REAL CHANGE... Board of Directors listened to our customers’ needs T heandPCCA embarked on a comprehensive plan to improve the

Center’s performance.

We heard our customers when they said our floor should be easier for exhibitors to navigate. We heard our exhibitors when they said they wanted more freedom to set up their own booths. We restructured management to get more of our team in front of customers. As the year progressed and our customers experienced the “New Day,” many tentative bookings turned to definite bookings. Now, there is a groundswell of customers who are considering the Center for their next event. The Customer Satisfaction Agreement supported by our unions and the Center’s leadership is a commitment and promise to our customers that they and their business needs come first.

REAL RESULTS

Bookings before new Customer Satisfaction Agreement Bookings since new Customer Satisfaction Agreement Tentative bookings

DEFINITE & TENTATIVE BOOKINGS 2015 – 2021 2000+ Hotel Room Nights on Peak * Data provided by PHLCVB

11


A “NEW DAY” AT THE PENNSYLVANIA CONVENTION CENTER is to fulfill the promise of the Center O uras goal a regional economic driver for the countless

local businesses in our hospitality industry and the tens of thousands of individuals they employ.

Customer feedback and declining bookings led the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority’s (PCCA) Board of Directors to proactively establish a four-point plan of professionalizing management operations; improving the Center’s labor-supply model; modernizing work rules; and ensuring billing transparency for customers.

 28 The number of new shows and conventions booked at the Pennsylvania Convention Center since modernized work rules and expanded exhibitor rights went into effect in May 2014.

$

A major turning point for the Center occurred in December 2013 when the PCCA hired industryleader SMG as the facility’s manager. Then, in May 2014, new work rules and expanded exhibitor rights went into effect with the agreement of the facility’s four trade union partners. These improvements established a core labor workforce and provided customers with more independence and flexibility to set up their own booths, unload personal vehicles, use power tools, and install non-rented A/V equipment. SMG set out to complement the PCCA’s existing team of professionals by hiring several industry veterans and importing best practices from around the country. These actions were necessary to refocus the team’s efforts and win back customers. Furthermore, these advancements to the business model helped bring the Center back to the forefront of the meetings industry. They also made it easier for the SMG sales force, which handles short-term sales of less than 18 months, and the Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau (PHLCVB), which handles long-term sales, to have greater success. The turnaround at the Center and its future success can be attributed to key partnerships with the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, the hoteliers, SMG, PHLCVB, and the trade unions. All are working together toward the common goal of supporting the 170,000-member strong regional hospitality community. We look forward to having an even greater economic impact in the years to come. It’s a new day in Philadelphia. #NewDayPHL

12

562,228 The total number of hotel room nights that will be filled in Center City Philadelphia by these 28 new shows and conventions.


$872

8

million

The projected economic impact that will be generated by the 28 new shows and conventions that have been booked since May 2014.

ďƒŠ42% The percentage increase of show and convention bookings by PHLCVB at the Pennsylvania Convention Center since the adoption of new work rules and expanded exhibitor rights.

13


KEY FIGURES FOR FY 2013-2014*

$692 million total regional economic impact of events hosted by the Center

364,201

total hotel room nights consumed

1,015,998 total attendees

237

conventions and meetings held at the Center

14

* Estimates based on most recent statistics from PHLCVB and PCC/SMG short term sales.


TOP FIVE CONVENTIONS OF 2014* Convention

Attendance

Hotel Room Nights

Economic Impact

American Economic Association

12,000

26,331

$43 million

American Society of Nephrology

12,000

31,960

$41 million

American Academy of Neurology

12,500

37,970

$36 million

American Educational Research Association

13,000

30,011

$35 million

American Library Association

12,000

21,539

$28 million

* Data provided by PHLCVB

15


PROJECTIONS FOR FY 2014-15*

$667 million total regional economic impact of events hosted by the Center

382,292

total projected hotel room nights consumed by those meetings

1,200,000 total attendees

232

confirmed conventions and events at the Center

16

* Estimates based on most recent statistics from PHLCVB and PCC/SMG short term sales.


MAKING GREAT

MEETINGS

“In 2014, we posted our strongest convention booking year in more than a decade. These unprecedented numbers would not have been attainable without the transformation that has taken place at the Convention Center under SMG’s management, the leadership of Greg Fox and Josh Shapiro, as well as John McNichol, Lorenz Hassenstein, and the four signatory unions at the building. Meeting planners who had never considered Philadelphia are now coming to the table and taking us into serious consideration as a host city.”

Jack Ferguson PHLCVB President & CEO

17


AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION CHOOSES PHILADELPHIA In November, the American Heart Association (AHA) announced its selection of the Pennsylvania Convention Center for its 2019 Annual Meeting, which is projected to generate more than $68.3 million in regional economic impact and fill 51,000 hotel room nights. Due to its prestige, size, and economic impact, AHA’s annual meeting is one of the most highly sought after events in the meeting industry. “The city has always had the important pieces of the puzzle needed to be a world-class convention city, and with the changes at the Convention Center under SMG, our choice was easy,” said Jason Ware, AHA Director of Meetings, Office of Science Operations. “Great things are happening in Philadelphia and AHA is thrilled to be a part of this momentum.”

2014 PHLCVB ANNUAL LUNCHEON The PHLCVB Annual Luncheon, the region’s largest networking event for hospitality industry professionals, returned to the Pennsylvania Convention Center in November. More than 1,200 people gathered for the celebration of successful international marketing efforts and positive changes at the Center. Among the 2014 milestones were the American Heart Association’s booking announcement; the securing of $350 million in future convention business; a partnership with National Geographic to publish a Philadelphia guide in eight languages; and the launch of PHLCVB’s joint attraction campaign – “PHL: Here for the Making.”

CENTER HOSTS TOWNHALL WITH CUSTOMERS The Pennsylvania Convention Center, SMG, and PHLCVB hosted a live townhall meeting and webinar for customers, exhibitors, and show managers in September 2014. More than 300 customers and leaders in the meetings industry participated in the live event, which enabled the Center’s leadership to interact with customers and answer questions about improvements at the Center related to SMG, show labor, streamlined jurisdictions, work rules, and exhibitor rights. John McNichol, President and CEO of the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority, and Lorenz Hassenstein, General Manager of the Center for SMG, fielded live questions from customers at the townhall. The event was moderated by Julie Coker Graham, Executive Vice President of the PHLCVB, and Pam Ballinger, Senior Director of Meetings & Exhibits for the American Association for Cancer Research. 18

Pictured, left to right, are Julie Coker Graham of the PHLCVB, John McNichol of the Center, and Lorenz Hassenstein of SMG.


MAKING HEADLINES IN 2014 The Philadelphia Inquirer August 21, 2014

Changes at Convention Center luring groups back to Philadelphia The National Black MBA Association is one of a half-dozen shows that have agreed, either orally or by contract, to return to the Convention Center. These gatherings, some of which also had dropped Philadelphia from their roster of convention cities, will spend a combined total of 114,314 nights in local hotels and generate $147.6 million in economic impact, according to the Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau. Several key events occurred. The Convention Center Authority Board decided to hire SMG, a West Conshohocken company with national experience operating convention centers, to manage the site, starting in December. Then, in May, four of the six unions that had been working there signed a Customer Satisfaction Agreement that changed work rules. Two unions did not sign by the board-imposed deadline and lost jurisdiction in the building. Their work was divided among the other unions and management staff.

Greenbiz.com January 2, 2014

Top 10 U.S. cities for green meetings in 2014 Since earning LEED Gold certification for its 2011 expansion, the Pennsylvania Convention Center has made a name for itself as a leading green venue. Existing measures include energy-efficient lighting; F&B cutlery, plates, cups and napkins made from 100 percent decompostable and biodegradable products; and Green Seal-certified cleaning products.

Philadelphia Inquirer November 26, 2014

Bookings are up at the Convention Center There has been a 20 percent increase in conventionrelated hotel bookings over last year, according to Julie Coker Graham, executive vice president of the Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau (PHLCVB), the center’s marketing arm. The percentage of conventions returning to the city has increased from 17 percent in recent years to 38 percent. And by the end of the year, the PHLCVB expects to have booked 13 major new shows for coming years, with an estimated $535 million in economic impact. This comes after several years of declining interest in Philadelphia by convention planners.

Philadelphia Magazine May 16, 2014

Unions Offer to Hit the Road to Drum Up Convention Business The four unions still under contract at the Pennsylvania Convention Center have pledged not to file any labor grievances for six months — and to help lure business to the center by traveling to other cities and industry events to chat up potential clients. “If there is an opportunity for us to win new business, we want to be a part of that effort and win over potential customers with a renewed focus on hospitality and customer service,” the leaders of those unions — IBEW Local 98, Iron Workers Local 405, Laborers Local 332 and Stagehands Local 8 — wrote in a letter to the various state and local governing bodies that oversee the center.

Philadelphia Tribune December 1, 2014

Philadelphia’s convention business on the upswing “Out of all the market segments, meetings and conventions continue to be a number one driver for hotels, which is why this building must remain successful. The changes here at the center are real and customers and our competition know it,” said Mayor Michael Nutter. 19


"We are excited to host our 2017 conference in Philadelphia and are even more thrilled to work with the Pennsylvania Convention Center, an organization that continually meets our needs. We look forward to fostering a lasting and successful relationship." Jesse Tyson, President and CEO, National Black MBA Association, Inc.

“Philadelphia delivers a first-class, value-added meeting experience.� Tom Pellet Division Director, Meeting & Conventions American Academy of Family Physicians

Booked for September 2019 20


POPE FRANCIS AND THE WORLD MEETING OF FAMILIES In 2014, the Vatican officially announced that Pope Francis will travel to Philadelphia for the Festival of Families on September 26 and a Papal Mass on September 27. His visit coincides with the conclusion of the World Meeting of Families, which is being held at the Pennsylvania Convention Center from September 22-25. The Papal visit to Philadelphia is the Pontiff’s first trip to the United States. The theme of the World Meeting of Families is “Love is our mission: the family fully alive.” With more than 150 nations being represented, the World Meeting of Families 2015 will bring together individuals and families of many faiths.

QUICK FACTS

Did You Know?

• 10,000 to 15,000 attendees are expected to attend the World Meeting of Families at the Center. • Two million people are expected to attend the papal events. • The World Meeting of Families and Papal visit will generate a combined economic impact of $417.8 million for the Greater Philadelphia region. • There are 65,000 hotel rooms available within a 60-mile radius of Philadelphia.

Philadelphia and the Pennsylvania Convention Center are able to host the World Meeting of Families because of the successful 2011 expansion of the facility. The expansion brought the Center’s footprint to over 2 million square feet. The World Meeting will use the entire facility and without the expansion, Philadelphia would not have had the opportunity to host this event. The PCCA’s leadership decision to expand the Center has given Philadelphia and Pennsylvania the opportunity to welcome Pope Francis for his first visit to the United States. Pennsylvania will have the eyes of the world upon it.

DNC 2016 SELECTS PHILLY TO HOST NATIONAL CONVENTION In February 2015, the Greater Philadelphia region scored a major victory when the Democratic National Committee announced its selection of Philadelphia to host the 2016 Democratic National Convention. We are thrilled that both the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Wells Fargo Center will be featured venues for the 2016 convention, which will attract tens of thousands of visitors from around the country, generate hundreds of millions of dollars in regional economic impact, and place our city and region on a national stage. Hosting the DNC is a unique opportunity to showcase our region’s history, arts and culture, world-class hotels, restaurants, and citizens. Our success was the result of a well-organized city-wide effort from a range of stakeholders. Our team effort joined the Pennsylvania Convention Center, SMG, the PHLDNC team, the City of Philadelphia, the PHLCVB, Visit Philadelphia, the Independence Visitors Center, the Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association, and many others.

“In addition to their commitment to a seamless and safe convention, Philadelphia’s deep rooted place in American history provides a perfect setting for this special gathering.” - U.S. Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman-Schultz Chair, DNC 21


22


Meet in PHL The spectacular Pennsylvania Convention Center, with its LEEDGold certified expansion, offers customers the chance to make history by hosting a meeting, special event or convention in Philadelphia. Our friendly labor workforce and industry-trained staff are dedicated to exceeding your expectations. To experience the “New Day� in Philadelphia, give us a call.

Stephanie Mays Boyd Director of Sales and Marketing

Pennsylvania Convention Center Key Contacts Stephanie Mays Boyd Director of Sales and Marketing For sales and event bookings, call 215-418-4750 or email sales@paconvention.com. Scot Miller Director of Labor Services For labor services inquiries, call 215-418-2032 or email laborservices@paconvention.com. Thomas Hutchinson Director of Production Services For production, IT and audio/visual inquiries, call 215-418-4800 or email showservices@paconvention.com. Lorenz Hassenstein General Manager For general inquiries, call 215-418-4700 or email info@paconvention.com.

23


Address: 1101 Arch Street Philadelphia, PA 19107 Phone: (215) 418-4700 @paconvention www.facebook.com/paconvention #NewDayPHL

www.paconvention.com Š Copyright Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority 2015

PCCA Year in Review 2014  

The annual Year in Review for the Pennsylvania Convention Center located in the heart of Philadelphia.

PCCA Year in Review 2014  

The annual Year in Review for the Pennsylvania Convention Center located in the heart of Philadelphia.

Advertisement