Page 1

Progress And Partnerships 2015 Year in Review


Governor’s Welcome For many years, the Pennsylvania Convention Center has proudly served the Commonwealth with its promotion of tourism, culture, and economic development. The Convention Center embodies the culmination of outstanding efforts by the City of Philadelphia and its partners, demonstrating a powerful sense of community engagement and regional identity. I applaud this organization for its unwavering dedication to promote the City on a global scale as a premiere destination. I am certain that the Convention Center will continue to attract travelers to the region, create opportunities for citizens, and strengthen our economy. As Governor, and on behalf of all the citizens of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, I extend my gratitude to the Pennsylvania Convention Center for representing the Commonwealth with distinction. Please accept my best wishes for continued success.

Tom Wolf, Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Mayor’s Welcome

As we begin this new and exciting time in our administration, I look forward to strengthening the City’s strategic partnership with the Pennsylvania Convention Center and our hospitality industry.

Our synergy builds a bedrock of job creation and economic vitality in Philadelphia. Events at the Convention Center helped support 67,000 hospitality jobs in Philadelphia in 2015. These results happen because of effective partnerships in attracting international, national, and regional shows to our great City. The Convention Center is a major economic driver in Philadelphia, bringing tangible effects. The events hosted at the Center have contributed more than $586 million in total economic impact over the last year, with more than 1 million visitors. One doesn’t have to look far to see what growth looks like: construction of new hotels, office towers, and restaurants throughout the City and revitalization in corridors like North Broad Street. As a life-long Philadelphian, this renaissance is no surprise to me because it is a reflection of the innovativeness of our City, citizens, and business community. Philadelphia has proven to the world that we are a world-class meeting location, from hosting the most widely attended World Meeting of Families in history to becoming the first World Heritage City in the United States. Philadelphia is a “city of firsts” and growing our City’s jobs, economic vitality, and quality of living is a partnership we all should be committed to achieving.

Jim Kenney, Mayor, City of Philadelphia

In this edition 2 3 4 5 6 8 12 13 14 16 17 18 19

Welcome Leadership Message About the Center Board of Directors Legacy Matters Partners in Progress A Commitment to Excellence Delivering Economic Impact Progress on the Show Floor Capital Investments Environmental Stewardship Civic Engagement Global Impact


Leadership Message The year 2015 brought significant and continued progress for the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority and our partners in the hospitality industry. Among the highlights of the year was the Center’s successful hosting of the World Meeting of Families in September. The World Meeting of Families brought 21,444 attendees from around the world to the Center and culminated with a visit by Pope Francis. In 2015 the Center, Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau (PHLCVB), Visit Philadelphia, the Philadelphia 2016 Host Committee for the Democratic National Convention, the City of Philadelphia, and other Philadelphia stakeholders achieved a significant victory when the city was selected to host the 2016 Democratic National Convention. Our selection solidified Philadelphia’s position as one of the nation’s premier destinations.

Gregory J. Fox

Sustaining and creating jobs is the true driving factor for the Pennsylvania Convention Center. The conventions we host in our building brings an economic impact that supports more than 67,000 jobs in the region’s hospitality industry. Convention attendees are guests in our region's hotels, which employ housekeeping attendants, clerks, hotel managers, and other hospitality staff. These attendees fly into Philadelphia International Airport, shop at local retailers, enjoy the city nightlife, eat in restaurants, ride in taxis, and visit cultural attractions. Each event also supports our regional union workforce that sets up and prepares our building’s show floor.

Joshua D. Shapiro

The successes of the past year are the result of the Center and our partners working to actively market the City as a destination; prioritizing diversity and inclusion; putting in place policies that make us a desirable facility; and ensuring our labor and hotel rates are competitive with other cities. It is a team effort among many partners. As you will see in the coming pages, the progress we have collectively made is impressive. More importantly, we have set the stage for an even brighter, more successful 2016.

Gregory J. Fox Chairman Pennsylvania Convention Center

John J. McNichol

Joshua D. Shapiro Vice Chairman Pennsylvania Convention Center

John J. McNichol President & CEO Pennsylvania Convention Center 3


ABOUT THE CENTER Our Mission The Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority is charged by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to serve as the steward of the public good, assure the successful operation of the world-class Pennsylvania Convention Center, and to drive economic prosperity for the Greater Philadelphia region.

World-Class Facility The Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) hosts hundreds of events per year, ranging from internationally attended conventions to regional company retreats. We are committed to providing the best experience possible for everyone who walks through our doors. Our dynamic and versatile two million square-foot facility has the ability to simultaneously host multiple large-scale trade shows and conventions. No matter how small or large your event, we will ensure it is a complete success with our hotel-like amenities and award-winning services.

World-Class Amenities Our Center offers plenty of relaxing lounges, picturesque balconies, and leisure terraces with unmatched views of City Hall and the Museum Mile along the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Attendees can rely on cutting-edge technical support, Wi-Fi connectivity, digital signage, and smart rooms to make any event interactive and user-friendly.

World-Class Location Philadelphia is the first and only World Heritage City in the United States, an amazing distinction. Our Center is strategically located in the heart of downtown Philadelphia and is one of the only convention centers in the world designed to be uniquely woven into the city’s landscape. The Center is close to everything that attendees need for a productive, exciting, and memorable experience. In addition, more than 10,000 hotel rooms are within walking distance of the Center, as are hundreds of restaurants, shops, clubs, and cultural institutions.

World-Class Customers Great leaders choose great places. Customers who select the PCC as their venue know they will receive a memorable experience for their exhibitors and attendees. In 2015, the Center hosted many world-class events including the World Meeting of Families, BIO International Convention, American Association for Cancer Research, International Society for Technology in Education, and the NAACP; plus regional favorites such as the Philadelphia Auto Show, the Philadelphia Flower Show, and Wizard World Comic Con events.

4

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


GREGORY J. FOX, ESQ. Chairman

JOSHUA D. SHAPIRO, ESQ.

PCCA Board of Directors JOHN J. KROLL

Vice Chairman

 215-418-4700

RYAN N. BOYER

MARTIN J. SOBOL, ESQ.

FRANK P. BUZYDLOWSKI, ESQ.

HONORABLE MARK F. SQUILLA

J. ANDREW CROMPTON, ESQ.

HEATHER A. STEINMILLER, ESQ.

JOSEPH A. CULLEN, JR., ESQ.

HONORABLE MARIAN B. TASCO

JONATHAN IRELAND

ROBERT J. WILLERT

GEORGE T. KENNEY, JR.

ROBERT C. WONDERLING

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

5


LEGACY MATTERS Farewell Mayor Michael A. Nutter In January 2016, the Honorable Mayor Michael A. Nutter completed his second term as Mayor of the City of Philadelphia. As both Mayor and a member of City Council, Nutter was a strong advocate for the hospitality industry and the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Thanks to his strong dedication and support, the Philadelphia region saw the successful expansion of the Convention Center; the development of new hotels and world-class museums; and the revitalization of public spaces. These accomplishments have helped fuel the growth of Philadelphia as a premier destination for visitors from around the world. Mayor Nutter served as Chairman of the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority (PCCA) from 2003 to 2007, helping expand the Center City facility to two million square feet. His major accomplishments on behalf of the convention and tourism industry include his advocacy role in bringing the 2015 World Meeting of Families to the Center and a visit by Pope Francis to Philadelphia. His contributions to the hospitality community have been immeasurable; we gratefully thank him for his service.

Tribute to Jack Ferguson When Jack Ferguson retired as President & CEO of the PHLCVB at the end of 2015, the Philadelphia region lost a major champion. During his tenure, his enthusiasm translated into accomplishments and results for his hometown. Ferguson is a beloved leader and adept consensus builder – with staff, customers, trade union partners, and with the business community. Ferguson worked hand-in-hand with the PCCA and its trade union partners to make the Center a preferred destination for customers. Today, we continue to enjoy the fruits of his labor with more than 30 citywide groups booked since the approval of enhanced work rules and expanded exhibitor rights in May 2014. It is with much gratitude that we say “farewell and good luck” to Jack Ferguson, a leader in the nation’s hospitality industry for more than four decades. We thank him for leaving us in the very capable hands of Julie Coker Graham. 6

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


Introducing Julie Coker Graham, the new President & CEO of the PHLCVB Julie Coker Graham was named President & CEO of the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau (PHLCVB) in January 2016, becoming the only African-American woman to lead a major convention and visitors bureau within the top 50 U.S. markets. Coker Graham previously served as the Senior Vice President of Convention Sales for the PHLCVB, where she led a team that was responsible for selling the Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) and Philadelphia’s hotel packages. Prior to joining the PHLCVB, she spent 21 years with the Hyatt Corporation, rising to General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn’s Landing. Coker Graham was asked by Mayor Jim Kenney to serve as chair of his transition team for the Democratic National Convention preparation. In addition, she serves on numerous regional boards, including the Center City District, the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, Visit Philadelphia, Independence Visitor Center Corporation, and U.S. Travel Association. She is also a member of the Philadelphia chapter of The Links, Incorporated and serves as first Vice Chair for the Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association (GPHA). We look forward to partnering with Coker Graham in her new leadership position to achieve progress for the hospitality industry in 2016 and beyond.

“There are many cities that can manage the logistics of major conventions like ours, but we found very few who have the attitude, who have the can-do spirit that we found here in Philadelphia. Folks are willing to go the extra mile and are willing to work 24-7 to give us what we need and make this Convention successful. This is the place to be, everybody stands ready to make sure that your event and your convention is the best it can be. Come to Philadelphia and let’s make History again.” - Rev. Leah Daughtry CEO, Democratic National Convention Committee

Town Hall Webinar highlighting “Progress & Partnerships in Philadelphia” The PCC, SMG, and PHLCVB hosted a live town hall webinar that was viewed by more than 250 convention, trade show, and meeting industry professionals on September 17. The webinar highlighted the significant progress at the Center under the professional management of SMG and the 2014 Customer Satisfaction Agreement which includes expanded exhibitor rights and enhanced work rules. Moderated by Julie Coker Graham of PHLCVB, the town hall webinar, “Progress & Partnerships in Philadelphia,” offered live discussions and short video messages from regional partners invested in the success of convention customers and the hospitality community. PCC President & CEO John J. McNichol and General Manager Lorenz Hassenstein of SMG, kicked off the event with updates on show floor enhancements and their commitment to continued improvements. “The webinar provided an opportunity to build on our continued momentum in providing the level of service our customers deserve from a first-class convention facility,” said McNichol. “We emphasized to our customers that we are still listening and continuing the innovations necessary to make the Pennsylvania Convention Center a great place to do business.” Webinar videos and speakers included customers, representatives of the region's hospitality industry, the Center's trade labor partners, and other stakeholders. A video of the town hall is available online at: www.discoverphl.com/townhall.  215-418-4700

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

7


PARTNERS IN PROGRESS With the support of our partners, the Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) has built on our successes and progress in providing excellent customer service and growth as a world-class convention destination. Many organizations have contributed to the achievements accomplished here at the PCC. Please meet some of the organizational leaders who deliver top-notch hospitality to create a robust Greater Philadelphia economy.

SMG SMG, the nation’s leading public facilities management firm, is proud to manage and oversee the day-to-day operations of the PCC. Since its selection as the Center’s primary partner in the Fall of 2013, SMG has worked to bring the gold standard and best industry practices to the facility. The SMG team manages short-term sales, wireless technology, electrical and utility services, housekeeping, security, rigging, contractor services, and room set-ups while instilling a hospitality culture at the Center. SMG’s industry veterans are ready to assist customers with streamlined planning, budgeting, and construction of exhibits to offer the most business-friendly experience of any facility in the country. SMG offers a proactive partnership to meeting planners and exhibitors, visible on-the-floor teams to manage labor, competitive pricing, and great value for customers. SMG is committed to serious progress and strong public/private partnerships that make Philadelphia an ideal location for great conventions and meetings. SMG’s goal is to make the Convention Center even more inviting and exciting for planners, exhibitors and attendees. - Lorenz Hassenstein, General Manager for SMG at PCC

8

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


PHILADELPHIA CONVENTION & VISITORS BUREAU Philadelphia remains a sought after destination for meeting planners and the performance at the Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) shows why. Stellar feedback shared by groups who met in the building and record-breaking attendance for the American Association of Cancer Research and the American Epilepsy Society, among others, highlights the great progress that has been made in Philadelphia. What’s more, the partnership between the PHLCVB, the PCC, SMG, the four signatory trades, the City of Philadelphia, and the hotel community continues to prove fruitful. In 2015, the PHLCVB booked 856,663 room nights with 70 percent of them related to meetings and conventions at the PCC. Our 2015 PCC related bookings will generate more than $848 million in economic impact for the region. Looking ahead, 2016 promises to be rewarding as we prepare to welcome the Democratic National Convention, the African Methodist Episcopal Bicentennial, the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, and a host of other events, solidifying our reputation as one of our nation’s great convention cities. - Julie Coker Graham, President & CEO, Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau

VISIT PHILADELPHIA® Philadelphia’s tourism business is reciprocal in nature - commercial and group hospitality business benefits the leisure sector while leisure tourism benefits commercial and group business. This winning combination resulted in a record 39.7 million visitors to Philadelphia in 2014 and a 77 percent occupancy rate at Center City hotels in 2015. For 20 years now, VISIT PHILADELPHIA® has helped to build the city’s image by marketing all of the wonderful attributes that make our region a great place to live, work, and visit. Leisure and business travelers see our various promotional efforts. We promote the region through advertising, our websites, visitphilly.com, uwishunu.com, social media channels, and Philadelphia-centric editorial stories. Promoting a positive image of Philadelphia entices business travelers to come early, stay longer, bring their family, and return for future visits. A positive experience at the Pennsylvania Convention Center and in the region inspires visitors to spread the good word about Philadelphia. In 2014, hospitality and tourism business generated $10.4 billion in economic impact, supported 92,000 regional jobs, and generated $655 million in tax revenue. - Meryl Levitz, President & CEO, VISIT PHILADELPHIA®

 215-418-4700

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

9


PARTNERS IN PROGRESS GREATER PHILADELPHIA HOTEL ASSOCIATION The Philadelphia hotel industry continues to benefit from the changes at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. The hiring of SMG and the approval of expanded exhibitor rights and enhanced work rules are positively shared across the country and convention planners continue to return to Philadelphia. In 2015, propelled by major groups like the American Association for Cancer Research, the International Society for Technology in Education, Biotechnology Innovation Organization, and the World Meeting of Families, Philadelphia boasted its highest hotel occupancy in history. This year has been a great year for the members of the Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association and much of it is because of the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Highlights include: • • • •

Record breaking June occupancy, Revenue Per Available Room (RevPAR), and Revenue. More conventions are returning to Philadelphia, including BIO 2019 because of the improved performance at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. By 2017, we will see an increase of 1,102 hotel rooms, driven by a projected increase in demand, due in large part to the conventions and shows the Center brings to the city. Hotel developers are showing more interest in Philadelphia since the changes at the Center.

It continues to be a “New Day” at the Pennsylvania Convention Center and it is a great day for hotels not only in Philadelphia, but throughout the entire region. - Greg Stafford, President, Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association

DRIVING NEW CONSTRUCTION New Hotel Construction

Number of Rooms

Proposed Opening

AKA University City Study at University City Fairfield Inn & Suites Aloft/Liberty Title Building SLS Hotel W + element Hotels Four Seasons Proposed Hotel Construction Cambria Suites AC Hotel Hyatt Centric Kimpton Hotel Philadelphia Hyde Hotel

103 212 121 178 150 755 220

July 2016 July 2016 October 2016 July 2017 July 2017 April 2018 January 2018

209 140 310 199 76

January 2017 April 2017 July 2017 July 2017 TBD

Source: PKF Consulting

10

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


INDEPENDENCE VISITOR CENTER CORPORATION The Independence Visitor Center Corporation (IVCC) had a great year supporting the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Known for our firstclass service, IVCC’s Visitor Services representatives acted as enthusiastic ambassadors for Philadelphia, and offered a wide range of hospitality services to thousands of conventioneers in 2015. Whether it be a warm greeting, welcoming smile, offering directions, helping meet the needs of convention-goers, making dinner reservations, or scheduling tours of the city, our concierge staff handled each attendee request with courtesy and professionalism. Fluent in nine languages, our multi-lingual staff provided a level of comfort and familiarity to many international conventioneers who were trying to navigate their way around Philadelphia. Though conventions change from month-to-month, the top-notch service from the IVCC team remains constant. We are eagerly looking forward to more opportunities at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in 2016 to do what we do best. - James Cuorato, President & CEO, Independence Visitor Center Corporation

READING TERMINAL MARKET As a tenant of the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority for a quarter century, Reading Terminal Market serves as a public trust providing a venue for independent local businesses to showcase the Philadelphia region’s culinary bounty and cultural diversity. Through its numerous high-profile events, corporate meetings, and trade shows, the Center draws thousands of visitors from across the country and around the world. Many attendees experience their first taste of Philadelphia at Reading Terminal Market. We are proud of the longstanding partnership we have with the Center which has helped support the Market’s stellar reputation among local visitors and tourists. The Center continues to be a leading economic driver for the city and has given us the opportunity to hold events of national and international stature that benefit the entire Philadelphia region. The next three years look to be very promising for the Center and consequently for the City. - Anuj Gupta, General Manager, Reading Terminal Market

 215-418-4700

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

11


A COMMITMENT TO EXCELLENCE The Power of Partnerships

Our customers know we will go above and beyond their expectations to offer the most comprehensive support. We have strengthened our business model and delivered the return of major shows such as BIO International and LIGHTFAIR International, as well as regional shows such as the Philadelphia Flower Show, the Philadelphia Auto Show, and others. Partnerships and connections are a key to our progress. We would love the chance to collaborate with you and to deliver a memorable show for your attendees. For event bookings, please call Stephanie Mays Boyd, Director of Sales and Marketing, at 215-418-4750 or email sales@paconvention.com.

Definite Citywides Pre May 2014

Definite Citywides Post May 2014

Honors and Recognition The Center and SMG received many accolades for our 2015 successes. The Philadelphia Business Journal named the Center’s President & CEO John J. McNichol to its Power 76 List for his contributions to the hospitality industry.

Tentative*

The PCC received the “Venue of the Year” Award from the Philadelphia Area Meeting Professionals International (PAMPI).

Stephanie Mays Boyd, our Director of Sales & Marketing, received the Apex Award from Black Meetings & Tourism magazine for her distinguished contributions to the hospitality industry. The Business Journal also named the PCC to its list of biggest winners of the year for its remarkable turnaround, expanded exhibitor rights, and enhanced work rules. 12

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


DELIVERING ECONOMIC IMPACT Top 15 Conventions Booked by PHLCVB Estimated Regional Economic Impacts for 2016 Democratic National Convention

$250 - $300 million

American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Inc.

$40.8 million

American Chemical Society

$32.4 million

Drug Information Association

$29.3 million

American Institute of Architects

$27.6 million

ACN Inc.

$22.6 million

EM2 Sports | Austin Sports Center

$21.7 million

Philadelphia Marathon

$21.7 million

Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers, Inc.

$21.2 million

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

$20.9 million

African Methodist Episcopal Church

$20.3 million

American Political Science Association

$20.3 million

Brewers Association

$19.7 million

Rock 'n' Roll Half Marathon

$17.7 million

Urban Land Institute

$11.4 million

“Thanks to the courage of the Convention Center board, things have changed. New work rules, a whole new attitude, and now we are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. This Convention Center now will create in a big way economic activity in Philadelphia. Already, you see hotels under construction. The City is coming alive and when you walk the streets of Philadelphia you sense that vitality - new restaurants, new shopping, new stores - Philadelphia is one of the best kept secrets of the world!” - David Lipson President, Philadelphia Magazine  215-418-4700

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

13


PROGRESS & PARTNERSHIPS ON THE SHOW FLOOR In May 2014, the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority approved a new Customer Satisfaction Agreement that provided our exhibitors with added flexibility and expanded rights, as well as improved work rules related to show floor labor. Under that agreement, the Center’s exhibitors now have the freedom to set up and tear down their own booths up to 600-square feet in size, unload their personal vehicles using their own equipment, climb small step ladders, use certain batterypowered tools, hang signage, lay floor coverings, and install and remove non-rented A/V equipment. Equally important, the agreement marked a new partnership with labor trades that meet the needs of our customers on the show floor. Our labor partners - electricians, laborers, riggers, and stagehands - are invested in the building’s success. They recognize delivering excellent customer service results in future bookings and more opportunities for their members. Each of our labor partners offers a core workforce of skilled professionals who understand the unique needs of the various types of events we host. This strong partnership has led to new innovations that our labor partners have implemented on their own to create improved efficiencies. The Electricians at IBEW 98, for example, have wired electricity to various parts of the building where it was previously unavailable, reducing the hours required to set up for various shows. Although this reduced their

14

hours in the short term for individual shows, the changes make the Center more efficient. Similarly, members of the Stagehands on their own time developed a new grid mapping system for the show floor that has drastically reduced the time required to unload and set up events. They also put in place a new web and app-based work call and assignment program that has streamlined the process of work assignments. Our skilled labor partners have invested in increased member training to ensure the newest technologies and innovations in the meeting industry are used at the Center. All of the teams have really worked to educate their members about the hospitality and customer services aspects of the job. Customers are clearly taking notice. One exhibitor at the 2015 Philadelphia Flower Show told the Philadelphia Inquirer how a worker made a barely noticeable mistake when hanging some wood pieces that were going to be covered. The worker returned and made sure the customer was satisfied. "I told him it wasn't a problem - it was a section I was covering with fabric. He brought all of us coffee and donuts anyway," said the exhibitor. "He didn't have to do that; he doesn't even know me." It is stories like this that make the hospitality industry take notice of the tremendous progress made at the Center in two short years. It also underscores the importance of the partnerships we have developed with the goal of exceeding the expectations of our customers.

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


THE NUMBERS TELL THE STORY The nature of the meetings and conventions industry means that nearly every show and event is different in terms of the type of setup required, the kind and number of exhibits being installed, and the amount of space being used. This makes developing apples-to-apples comparisons about improvements in overall labor efficiency and lower costs a challenge. One annual show, however, does provide that opportunity at the PCC: the Philadelphia Auto Show. The Center and Philadelphia Auto Show organizers worked together to evaluate the efficiencies following the 2015 event for a comparison of the show’s 2014 results. The numbers show a remarkable, quantifiable improvement following a new labor agreement and with the facility while under the management of SMG. Simply put, streamlined work jurisdictions, expanded exhibitor rights, the establishment of a core labor workforce, and the innovations put in place by our labor partners are making the Center more efficient and a better place to do business. Comparisons between data from the 2014 and 2015 Philadelphia Auto Show illustrated:

 5,390  20 % Decrease in labor manhours for setup for the event on the show floor.

 215-418-4700

Reduction in overall labor costs for the Philadelphia Auto Show.

 25 % Decrease in costs to companies that setup and dismantle show floor display booths.

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

 28 % Reduction in costs of carpet installation.

15


CAPITAL INVESTMENTS In a highly-competitive convention marketplace, the Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) invests in annual capital improvement projects to stay on the cutting edge of technology, enhance energy efficiency, and improve environmental sustainability. “The Pennsylvania Convention Center is proactive in identifying capital improvement projects and equipment purchases to keep the facility in worldclass condition. We also identify opportunities to reduce costs and increase our return on investment,” said Stephen Shepper, Director of Engineering & Capital Projects.

Investing in customer-focused amenities: • MobileQube Station - PCC is providing the firstever network of self-service stations that provide portable battery rentals for mobile devices. Tom Hutchinson, SMG Director of Production Services, developed the initiative in partnership with MobileQube.

2015 capital investments include: • Replacement of roofing over the Convention Center’s five contiguous exhibit halls. • Completion of building automation system upgrades within the exhibit hall building and the historic Train Shed/Grand Hall building. • Replacement of lighting control systems in meeting rooms, exhibit halls, concourse areas, the Grand Hall and Grand Ballroom. • Launch of electrical power upgrades in Exhibit Halls A, B, C, D, & E. • Development of design concepts for Grand Hall lighting improvements with work expected to conclude in 2016.

• Xirrus and Comcast Wi-Fi - Customers and guests will benefit from significant upgrades to our wireless capabilities through a new initiative with Xirrus Wi-Fi to improve the customer experience. • Mamava Nursing Station - The PCC became the nation’s first convention center to offer a portable Mamava lactation suite for nursing mothers.

Expansion Art Project The Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority received more than 1,550 fine art submissions as part of an “Open Call” competition to acquire more than $1.5 million in original works by Pennsylvania artists to adorn the Center’s expansion area. An all-volunteer Expansion Art Committee comprised of prominent members of the Pennsylvania arts community, including the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, and the City of Philadelphia Office of Arts, Culture & the Creative Economy, oversaw the effort to collect paintings, photographs, sculptures, and other fine art. These artworks will become permanent installations, enhancing the visitor experience.

16

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


The energy-efficient philosophy of the PCC allowed the facility to save more than 607,000 kilowatt hours of energy annually and earn a $60,000 PECO rebate.

ENVIRONMENTAL STEWARDSHIP The Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) is committed to an environmentally conscious business model focusing on reducing our environmental impact. The Center utilizes a multi-pronged approach in achieving our goal of environmental sustainability. The PCC values our environment and is using a healthy, high performance cleaning operation within our facility that complies with GS-42, a green seal environmental standard, for cleaning services. In addition, more than 25 percent of the Center’s energy portfolio comes from various renewable energy resources, including wind and solar. The PCC hosted the 2013 Greenbuild International Conference and Expo, which furthered its long-term green goals. Since that time, the Center has targeted four priorities: reducing overall materials used; increasing the materials reused; minimizing waste; and educating customers and stakeholders about opportunities to divert landfill waste, such as recycling.  215-418-4700

Many of the capital improvements made at the Center in recent years have also focused on reducing electrical consumption through the installation of energy efficiency lighting such as LEDs and automated HVAC controls. The Convention Center Expansion, which was completed in March 2011, received LEED-Gold certification. Currently, upgrades to the facility's systems are made with the goal of meeting or exceeding these standards on building upgrades. The Center has adopted the Accepted Practices Exchange, an initiative of the Convention Industry Council that is uniting the meeting, convention, and exhibition industry in the development and implementation of voluntary accepted practices. These industry-wide voluntary accepted practices are creating and enhancing efficiencies throughout the meetings, conventions and exhibitions industry.

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

17


CIVIC ENGAGEMENT Hospitality Education and Training Fund The Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority (PCCA) invests in the growth of the hospitality industry by contributing more than $1.3 million each year for the Hotel, Restaurant, Travel & Tourism Program offered at five high schools in the Philadelphia School District through Philadelphia Academies, Inc.; a parochial campus, Mercy Vocational High School; and adult training at the Philadelphia Opportunities Industrialization Center (OIC) in North Central Philadelphia. Established in 1989 by Philadelphia City Council and the PCCA, the PCCA Education & Training Fund seeks to address the future demand for a welltrained hospitality workforce, helping formerly unemployed and economically disadvantaged youths and adults. “We are the only Convention Center in the country that is making this kind of long-term commitment to job training for local and regional residents to involve them in the hospitality industry,” said John J. McNichol, President & CEO of the PCCA. The OIC’s Opportunities Inn provides a range of hospitality training technical courses, including guest services, culinary arts, food service, room attending, retail travel, and tourism/tour guide training. Through employment, these individuals become taxpayers, renters, homeowners, and consumers, delivering a significant return on the PCCA's investment.

Internships at the Center The Pennsylvania Convention Center responded to the call from Mayor Michael Nutter and the Philadelphia Youth Network for local employers to participate in the “10,000 Summer Jobs Challenge”

18

to provide summer employment for young people. Young women and men from local Philadelphia high schools joined the Convention Center’s team in various departments and made worthwhile impacts. Imani Walker, a WorkReady intern and student from the Philadelphia School District, said she had a better understanding of technology after her experience at the Center. “I am so grateful for the opportunity to have worked with the Pennsylvania Convention Center,” Walker said. “I worked in the technology department and learned about computer and telecommunication systems. My team treated me like family and I had amazing mentors. I will always cherish this experience.”

Mayoral Candidates' Forum with Our Hospitality Partners The major stakeholders in the region’s hospitality community united to hold the City’s inaugural Mayoral Candidates' Forum focusing on hospitality and tourism policy issues. The high-spirited event, held at the Independence Visitor Center in April 2015, was organized by the Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority, the Greater Philadelphia Hotel Association, the Independence Visitor Center Corporation, the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau, and VISIT PHILADELPHIA®. The Philadelphia mayoral candidates participated in a well-attended, 90-minute discussion moderated by Matt O’Donnell of 6ABC. During the course of the forum, candidates weighed in on the hospitality industry’s achievements, potential for growth, and their visions for its future.

Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority


A GLOBAL IMPACT The Pennsylvania Convention Center (PCC) was on the worldwide stage in 2015 with the World Meeting of Families (WMOF) and visit by Pope Francis to Philadelphia. The WMOF attracted more than 21,000 convention attendees from around the world. More impressively, the papal visit brought hundreds of thousands of people to the City of Brotherly Love and Sisterly Affection. This was the first WMOF held in the United States, which tripled its attendance levels compared to its last meeting. History was made here in Philadelphia.

More than

2,700

People participated in creating a mural of the Pope, including some paint brush strokes by Pope Francis himself, that was installed on the walls of the future St. Malachy School in North Philadelphia.

1,800

Children from around the world celebrated faith and family as part of the WMOF Youth Congress, an amazing opportunity for children from around the world to embrace their faith.

250,000

Total number of meals with high nutrient foods that were packed by volunteers and Catholic Relief Services to be sent to social service organizations in West Africa to feed the hungry.

More than 3,500 international and domestic media outlets attended the WMOF, utilizing the Center’s 24hour international Media Center and providing global visibility to the City of Philadelphia and our region.

The Center’s Social Media Impact

 40%  63%

 215-418-4700

Increase in number of people who liked the PCC Facebook page in 2015

Increase in number of followers for the PCC Twitter account in 2015

"Verbum Domini II: God’s Word Goes Out to the Nations” was a special historical exhibit hosted at the Center. It showcased more than 80 artifacts from the Museum of the Bible’s Green Collection including fragments from the Dead Sea Scrolls.

A Top Post From 2015

 

 info@paconvention.com  paconvention  paconvention  pa_convention

19


1101 Arch Street Philadelphia, PA 19107 (215) 418-4700 www.paconvention.com #Progress&Partnerships @paconvention facebook.com/paconvention pa_convention © Copyright Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority 2016 Photo Credits: We wish to thank JPG Photography, R. Kennedy for VISIT PHILADELPHIA®, Paul Loftland Photography, Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau, C. Smyth, Michael Perez Photo, and Philadelphia Area Meeting Professionals International for images in this report.

PCCA Year in Review 2015  

The annual Year in Review for the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

PCCA Year in Review 2015  

The annual Year in Review for the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

Advertisement