__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

PURSUITS OF

LEISURE A TO Z GUIDE: CYCLING IN PARADISE BESPOKE AUTOS SATISFY EVERY WHIM

000_COVERNI_NOUPC_0317.indd 44

1/31/17 8:55 AM


SELL ,

TR A DE CONSIGN

or

Yo u r Je w e l r y, D ia m o n d s & Watc he s

SEL L for i m med iat e pay ment TR A DE what you don’t wea r for somet h i ng new, big ger or b et t er CONSIGN a nd get t he mo st for you r va lua ble s

w w w. Provid e nt J ewelr y.co m

Estate Jewelry and Fine Timepieces • Authorized Dealer of Luxury Brands • Custom Designs • Appraisals and Repairs NAPLES I 555 5 th Ave. S #101 239.649.7737

NAPLES II 766 5 th Ave. S 239.649.7200

FORT MYERS 15245 S Tamiami Trail 239.274.7777

*not an authorized dealer of Patek Philippe and Audemars Piguet

WEST PALM 331 Clematis Street 561.833.7755

JUPITER 828 W Indiantown Road 561.747.4449

PALM BEACH 125 Worth Ave. 561.232.3718


SELL ,

TR A DE CONSIGN

or

Yo u r Je w e l r y, D ia m o n d s & Watc he s

SEL L for i m med iat e pay ment TR A DE what you don’t wea r for somet h i ng new, big ger or b et t er CONSIGN a nd get t he most for you r va lua ble s

w w w. Provident J ewelr y.com

Estate Jewelry and Fine Timepieces • Authorized Dealer of Luxury Brands • Custom Designs • Appraisals and Repairs NA PLES I 555 5 th Avenue S #101 239.649.7737

NA PLES II 766 5 th Avenue S 239.649.7200

FORT MY ERS 15245 S Tamiami Trail 239.274.7777

W EST PA LM 331 Clematis Street 561.833.7755

JUPITER 828 W Indiantown Road 561.747.4449

PA LM BEACH 125 Worth Avenue 561.232.3718


HA P P Y S P O R T

766 5th A v enue S out h, N a ples ( 239) 649- 7200 • w w w. Pr ov ident J ew elr y. com

3319_Chopard-Provident_202VIC.indd 1

5/24/16 4:28 PM


NI-MAR-2017-CDH_Layout 1 1/24/17 4:31 PM Page 1

CD

CLIVE DANIEL HOME

inspiration star ts re he –

A e Tal

Named

BEST COMPANY IN THE USA by Furniture Today

Winner of over for design excellence!

NAPLES, FL 2777 Tamiami Trail N, Naples, Florida 34103 239.261.home (4663) BOCA RATON, FL 1351 NW Boca Raton Blvd. Boca Raton, Florida 33432 561.440.home (4663)

w it ha Tale of Two Designs...


WATERSIDESHOPS LOUIS VUITTON APPLE

VINEYARD VINES

SAKS FIFTH AVENUE

WATERSIDESHOPS.COM

WAT-7168-A01F AD1 Naples Ill Feb.indd 1

MAX MARA

NORDSTROM

LULULEMON ATHLETICA

ST. JOHN

LILLY PULITZER

GUCCI

TIFFANY & CO.

SALVATORE FERRAGAMO


L I V E BEAUTIFULLY

1/18/17 3:03 PM


Contact us today for a consultation on how your home can be marketed in Naples and around the world. PREMIERSOTHEBYSREALTY.COM

877.539.9865


TIME STOOD STILL

AT THIS MOMENT

N A P L E S , F LO RI DA 6:4 2 P. M .

PREMIERSIR.COM/ID/217003875 239.659.0099

Bonita Springs | 239.948.4000

Fifth Avenue | 239.434.8770

Sanibel | 239.472.2735

Broad Avenue | 239.434.2424

Marco Island | 239.642.2222

Central Naples | 239.659.0099

Captiva | 239.395.5847

Mercato Sales Center | 239.594.9400

The Village | 239.261.6161

Grey Oaks — Estuary | 239.262.5557

Rentals | 239.262.4242

Vanderbilt | 239.594.9494

Sotheby’s International Realty® and the Sotheby’s International Realty logo are registered service marks used with permission. Each office is independently owned and operated. Equal Housing Opportunity. Property information herein is derived from various sources including, but not limited to, county records and multiple listing services, and may include approximations. All information is deemed accurate.


M I C H A ELLAWLER .C OM

AQUALANE SHORES

PARK SHORE

MOORINGS

1826 7th Street South $6,750,000

403 Neapolitan Way $3,650,000

2341 Windward Way $5,995,000

Sotheby’s International Realty® and the Sotheby’s International Realty logo are registered service marks used with permission. Each office is independently owned and operated. Equal Housing Opportunity. Property information herein is derived from various sources including, but not limited to, county records and multiple listing services, and may include approximations. All information is deemed accurate.


300 MERMAIDS BIGHT | $6,750,000 PARK SHORE | OVERLOOKING VENETIAN BAY

MICHAEL G. LAWLER 239.261.3939 800 HARBOUR DRIVE, NAPLES, FL 34103


Ho me

TPHome_March17_2pgSpread.indd 1


Luxury Estate, Single-Family, Coach Home, Condominium, and Terrace Home Residences from the $600’s into the Millions See it... Touch it... Feel it, Make it your own

A new flavor of luxury 239.449.5900 TalisPark.com A KITSON & PARTNERS COMMUNITY

Broker participation welcomed. Prices, plans and specifications subject to change without notice. ORAL REPRESENTATION CANNOT BE RELIED UPON AS CORRECTLY STATING THE REPRESENTATIONS OF THE DEVELOPER. FOR CORRECT REPRESENTATIONS REFERENCE SHOULD BE MADE TO THE DOCUMENTS REQUIRED BY SECTION 718.503, FLORIDA STATUTES, TO BE FURNISHED BY A DEVELOPER TO A BUYER OR LESSEE. NOT AN OFFERING WHERE PROHIBITED BY STATE LAW. PHOTOGRAPHY IN THIS AD MAY BE STOCK PHOTOGRAPHY USED TO DEPICT THE LIFESTYLE TO BE ACHIEVED RATHER ANY THAT MAY EXIST.

1/27/17 1:17 PM


RESERVED OLDE NAPLES 133 8th Avenue South • $5,895,000

OLDE NAPLES 133 8th Avenue South • $5,895,000

RESERVED

OLDE NAPLES 150 Gulf Shore Blvd. S. • $4,995,000

ROYAL HARBOR 2390 Kingfish Road • $4,995,000

NAVIGATING YOUR REAL ESTATE TRANSACTION WITH EASE If you are searching for your dream home or thinking of selling your current residence, I can assist you in making your real estate goals a reality. Contact me today to schedule your complimentary consultation.

AQUALANE SHORES 1969 7th Steet South • $3,495,000

ROYAL HARBOR 1680 Dolphin Court • $3,395,000

ROYAL HARBOR 2035 Snook Drive • $2,295,000

ROYAL HARBOR 1503 Marlin Drive • $1,995,000

ROYAL HARBOR 1893 Snook Drive • $1,295,000

ROYAL HARBOR 1244 Cobia Court • $1,249,000

OYSTER BAY 1105 Sandpiper Street • $869,000

239.961.2166 naples34102.com


DON WINKLER

naples34102.com

dwinkler@johnr wood.com 239.961.2166

AQUALANE SHORES 754 16th Avenue South • $2,995,000

FEATURED LISTINGS

GOLDEN SHORES 1575 Osprey Avenue • $1,195,000


Contents

78

March 2017

features 78 / Living the Dream

Inspiration abounds in the design of a modern home for a Naples family BY LINDSAY DAY | PHOTOGRAPHY BY JESSICA KLEWICKI GLYNN

86 / Cycling in Paradise

The ultimate A-to-Z guide on where to ride and what to wear on the road BY CHELLE KOSTER WALTON

82 / I Want it All

Diamond-encrusted interiors? Anything is possible with bespoke autos BY HOWARD WALKER

94 / Time Capsule

&

N A P L E S I L L U S T R AT E D . c o m f o r t h e l at e s t i n a l l t h i n g s l u x u r y

14

JESSICA KLEWICKI GLYNN

Fashion looks inspired by a trip through decades of style PHOTOGRAPHY BY GABOR JURINA

110/ Natural Wonders

The beauty of the Everglades through an artist’s eye PHOTOGRAPHY BY MAC STONE

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

014-TOC-0317.indd 14

1/26/17 3:09 PM


imeless is class, style and what will never fall out of fashion yamron jewelers Yamron_FPAd.indd 7

|

waterside shops

|

239.592.7707 24/1/17 3:33 PM


Contents / March 2017

67

52

departments 24 / From the Editor 26 / NaplesIllustrated.com

Irish cocktails; quick and healthy recipes; sensory sleep gadgets; and more

30 / In Focus

The Friends of Artis–Naples’ Philharmonic Gala; Naples Historical Society Gala; Women’s Foundation of Collier County’s Power of the Purse event

61

41 / Insider

One on one with Pro Football Hall of Famer Andre Reed and Rock & Roll Hall of Famer John Sebastian, both coming to Naples; Celebrity Martini Glass Auction sneak peek

47 / Style

Step out in spring’s “it” color for evening looks

50 / Vanity

High-tech and innovative ingredients in the world of beauty

52 / Treasure

Revel in the magical hues of moonstone jewels

54 / The Goods

Adam Mahr of A Mano, Naples, on bringing new meaning to the luxurious gift

54

56 / Finds

All the essentials for the perfect modern picnic

61 / Abode

47 014-TOC-0317.indd 16

MICHAEL CARONCHI

A grand design gesture for the powder room; custom furniture with a twist; and tips and tricks for growing citrus

67 / Escape

Genteel outdoor pursuits and pristine nature await at Primland in the Blue Ridge Mountains BY DAPHNE NIKOLOPOULOS

1/26/17 3:09 PM


ONLY THOSE WHO DARE DRIVE THE WORLD FORWARD. Introducing the first-ever Cadillac CT6.

ACCOMMODATE NOTHING LESS THAN POSSIBILITY DESIGNED TO HELP YOU MASTER WHAT’S AHEAD. The XT5 is an entirely new kind of crossover.

CADILLAC

DeVoe Cadillac 4100 Tamiami Trail N. Naples, FL 34103 DevoeCadillac.com

Sales 239-261-1234 Mon-Fri 9am-6pm Sat 9am-4pm


Contents / March 2017

119

207 72 / Weekender

Bask in the romantic allure of Pelican Grand Beach Resort’s new penthouse suite BY ANNA BJORLIN

74 / High Road

Porsche updates its 911 with a turbocharged engine that adds power and sophistication

MICHAEL CARONCHI

BY HOWARD WALKER

ON THE COVER:

PHOTOGRAPHER: GABOR JURINA MODEL: AMANDA NIMMO, SPOT 6 MANAGEMENT, TORONTO CLOTHING: CAROLINA HERRERA SILK STRAPLESS GINGHAM GOWN JEWELRY: PROVIDENT JEWELRY RING, BRACELET HAIR & MAKEUP: HEATHER BLAINE FOR BUYING INFORMATION, TURN TO PAGE 216.

119 / Taste

Fresh twists on the Moscow Mule; new brunch spots and unique offerings; redefining ramen; and more dining delights

128 / Pour

The craft spirits market grows in Florida within boutique settings BY MARK SPIVAK

151 / Balance

Destress with flower power; kids’ camps for spring break; recreating a pampering spa experience at home; and more

158 / Wealth

What to consider when investing in wine BY JUDY MARTEL

207/ Agenda

Smash-hit Broadway musical Something Rotten! comes to Artis— Naples

218 / Seen

NAMI’s Hope Shines Luncheon; Make-A-Wish Southern Florida’s Annual Tea; NEC’s Bootstrap Boogie Barn Dance; NCH Hospital Ball; Friends of Foster Children’s Circle of Friends Luncheon, Sip & Sample

151 18

224 / Sense of Place

Ashley Gerry on all things fashionable, her sweet go-to hostess gift, and some of her favorite places around town

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

014-TOC-0317.indd 18

1/26/17 3:10 PM


Sa k S F i F t h av e n u e at t h e Wat e r S i d e S h o p S . CooMi.CoM ~ (866) 867-7272


Now, that’s

NOW BUILDING IN THESE DISTINCTIVE COMMUNITIES: BABCOCK RANCH | BONITA BAY® | THE CONCESSION | ESPLANADE GOLF & COUNTRY CLUB OF NAPLES ESTUARY AT GREY OAKS | FIDDLER’S CREEK | HIDDEN HARBOR | THE ISLES OF COLLIER PRESERVE LAKEWOOD RANCH | LELY RESORT | MARCO ISLAND | MOORINGS | NAPLES RESERVE | PARK SHORE PINE RIDGE | QUAIL WEST | RENAISSANCE | TWINEAGLES


Join us for the

CBIA Parade of Homes

TM

March 10th–12th and March 17th–19th

a

ONE LEADING BUILDER. CELEBRATING 15 YEARS OF DEDICATED EXPERIENCE. You can tell just by looking it’s a Stock Signature Home. We create exquisite homes that make masterful statements and are irresistibly inviting to live in. Now building in Southwest Florida’s most exceptional communities, with move-in-ready homes and fully furnished models to experience. All from the region’s leading luxury homebuilder, with more than 4,000 homes built along Florida’s Gulf Coast.

Residences from the $400s to over $7 million For directions and complete listings of all our models & communities please visit

StockDevelopment.com | 239.592.7344

BROKER PARTICIPATION WELCOMED. ORAL REPRESENTATIONS CANNOT BE RELIED UPON AS CORRECTLY STATING THE REPRESENTATIONS OF THE DEVELOPER. FOR CORRECT REPRESENTATIONS REFERENCE SHOULD BE MADE TO THE DOCUMENTS REQUIRED BY SECTION 718.503, FLORIDA STATUTES, TO BE FURNISHED BY A DEVELOPER TO A BUYER OR LESSEE. NOT AN OFFERING WHERE PROHIBITED BY STATE LAW. PRICES SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE. BONITA BAY® AND ITS ASSOCIATED LOGO ARE TRADEMARKS OF BONITA BAY PROPERTIES, INC., AND ARE USED UNDER LICENSE.

FLStockDevelopment


Publisher Kaleigh Grover Editor in Chief Teri Evans Creative Director Olga M. Gustine Online Editor Anna Bjorlin Fashion Editor Katherine Lande Food & Wine Editor Mark Spivak Automotive Editor Howard Walker Travel Editor Paul Rubio ART Art Directors Airielle Farley, Jenny Fernandez-Prieto, Ashley Meyer Digital Imaging Specialist Leonor Alvarez-Maza CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Lindsay Lambert Day, Kelley Marcellus, Judy Martel, Mary Murray, Liz Petoniak, Rebecca Rehm, Liza Grant Smith, Michele Sotallaro, Chelle Koster Walton, Anna Welch CONTRIBUTING PHOTOGRAPHERS Michael Caronchi, Gabor Jurina, Vanessa Rogers, Mac Stone SOCIAL PHOTOGRAPHERS Mila Bridger, John Buck, Tim Gibbons, Charlie McDonald, Red Door Photography, Nick Shirghio, Lane Wilkinson ADVERTISING National Account Manager Michelle Farina, 561-472-1906, mfarina@palmbeachmedia.com Account Managers Kathleen Beuttel, 239-298-7506, kbeuttel@naplesillustrated.com Linda Sciuto, 239-298-7511, lsciuto@naplesillustrated.com, Alison Whalen, 239-298-7510, awhalen@naplesillustrated.com Sales and Marketing Integration Manager Shalyn Ormsby, 239-298-7512, sormsby@naplesillustrated.com MARKETING Marketing Manager Kristin Ulin PRODUCTION Production Manager Selene M. Ceballo Advertising Design Coordinator Jeffrey Rey Digital Production Coordinator Nicole Ehrlich OPERATIONS Chief Operating Officer Todd Schmidt Process Integration Manager Sue Martel Circulation/Subscriptions Administrator Marjorie Leiva Distribution Manager Judy Heflin Office Manager M.B. Valdes IT Technician Josh Copcutt Accounts Receivable Specialist Lourdes Linares CUSTOM PUBLISHING Editor and Project Director, Custom Content Michelle Lee Ribeiro ILLUSTRATED EVENTS Managing Director Allison Wolfe Reckson Event Manager Mariana Lehkyi Group Publisher Terry Duffy Editorial Director Daphne Nikolopoulos

In Memoriam Ronald J. Woods (1935-2013) HOUR MEDIA, LLC CEO Stefan Wanczyk President John Balardo PUBLISHERS OF: Palm Beach Illustrated • Naples Illustrated • Palm Beach Charity Register • Naples Charity Register Dine239 • Coquina • Fifth Avenue South • The Jewel of Palm Beach: The Mar-a-Lago Club • Traditions: The Breakers Salut!: Naples Winter Wine Festival • Art & Culture: Cultural Council of Palm Beach County

Naples Illustrated 3066 Tamiami Trail N., Suite 102, Naples, FL 34103 • (239) 434-6966 • Fax (239) 435-0409 Naples Illustrated is a registered trademark of Palm Beach Media Group North, LLC • Corporate Headquarters: P.O. Box 3344, Palm Beach, FL 33480

naplesillustrated.com 22

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

022-MASTHEAD-0317.indd 22

1/30/17 9:56 AM


®ROBERTOCOIN

POIS MOI COLLECTION

766 5th Avenue South, Naples, FL | 239.649.7200 15245 South Tamiami Trail, Fort Myers, FL |239.274.7777


From the Editor

PLAYTIME

Teri Evans tevans@naplesillustrated.com

FOR THE OENOPHILE, THIS HANDBOUND WINE CELLAR BOOK IS A GIFT TO COVET. LEARN HOW TO MAKE EVERY GIFT A MEANINGFUL ONE IN THE GOODS ON PAGE 54. 24

MAC STONE

MICHAEL CARONCHI

VANESSA ROGERS / HAIR & MAKEUP: PHILIP DOUGLAS

Ralph Waldo Emerson famously said, “It is a happy talent to know how to play.” Indeed it is. And embracing that talent is good for the mind, soul, and body. There is no doubt, and many studies have shown, that making time for the things you enjoy can tamp down stress and make you more productive and happier, among other health benefits. In this issue, we focus on pursuits of leisure, which can be defined in a multitude of ways. We take you inside the Naples home of Irl and Sue Engelhardt, who designed their modern retreat to suit their active lifestyle without sacrificing serenity and warmth. See how they did it in “Living the Dream,” starting on page 78. Whether you are a first-time visitor or a longtime resident of Naples, chances are you either own a bike or you’ll soon be renting one in this bicycle-friendly town. Cycling is a perfect way to spend an afternoon of leisure, see the sights, or get a vigorous workout to improve endurance, and maybe even train for a race. If that’s your passion, turn to page 86 and allow us to take you “Cycling in Paradise,” our A-to-Z guide that covers everything from where to ride, what to wear (with an eye toward performance and fashion), the latest gadgets you didn’t know you needed but will soon not want to live without, and much more. If your idea of leisure leans more toward four wheels than two, buckle up for a journey through the world of bespoke automobiles, where customized offerings go far beyond checking boxes for extras or unique paint colors. Turn to page 104, and you are sure to say “I Want It All” after you see how automakers are turning buyers’ dreams into the most luxurious reality. Cheers to taking time out to catch our breath and always remembering playtime is not just for children.

TURN TO PAGE 110 TO REDISCOVER THE BEAUTY OF THE EVERGLADES THROUGH THE LENS OF ACCLAIMED PHOTOGRAPHER MAC STONE, WHO IS COMING TO NAPLES THIS MONTH.

Word Gems

I still get wildly enthusiastic about little things... I play with leaves. I skip down the street and run against the wind.” —Leo Buscaglia

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

024-ED LETTER-0317.indd 24

2/1/17 2:13 PM


DESIGN WEST

ELEVATE YOUR HOME LIFE

AWARD-WINNING INTERIOR DESIGN VIEW OUR PORTFOLIO AT DWEST.COM

9118 Strada Place, Mercato 8130 • Naples, FL • dwest.com • 239.514.1234 • MON – SAT 10A – 7P

IDW-28188 Naples IllustratedFullPgMar17.indd 1

1/19/17 8:56 AM


.COM

NAPLESILLUSTRATED YOUR CONSTANT COMPANION TO ALL THAT’S GOING ON AROUND TOWN

TASTY TUTORIAL

recipe

THE GREATER NAPLES YMCA’S BEYOND THE PLATE DINNER SERIES INCLUDES RECIPE TUTORIALS. FOR EXCLUSIVE VIDEOS OF SOME OF THE GOURMET RECIPES FROM THE THEMED DINNERS BY LOCAL CHEFS, GO TO NAPLESILLUSTRATED.COM/BEYONDTHEPLATE AND LEARN HOW TO MAKE THESE RECIPES AT HOME.

3

REASONS TO LOG ON NOW

1

Season is in high gear, and it’s easy to fall into a nutritional slump. If eating healthier is a personal goal, make sure to stop by naplesillus trated.com/chefs nutrition for a peek at some quick and healthy recipes, courtesy of Chef Jeff Mitchell of The Local.

2

The Lucky One

Everyone’s favorite Irish holiday lands this month, and if you’ve had your fill of green beer and Guinness, why not try something different? Celebrate Ireland’s patron saint by mixing up this delicious cocktail recipe, complete with a kick of Celtic inspiration. Ingredients (serves 1) 2 oz. Elit by Stolichnaya 1/2 oz. Green Chartreuse 1/2 oz. dry vermouth 2 dashes Regan’s Orange Bitters No. 6 Grapefruit twist

Pour all ingredients into a mixing glass with ice and stir until cold. Strain and serve up. Garnish with a grapefruit twist, expressed and discarded.

&

FOR MORE ST. PATRICK’S DAY TIPPLES, VISIT NAPLES ILLUSTRATED.COM/CELTIC COCKTAILS.

26

Need to catch up on your zzz’s? Head over to naples

illustrated.com/ sensorysleep for

three high-tech gadgets designed to promote a more restful night.

3

Fresh and flavorful seafood lovers won’t want to miss the annual Marco Island Seafood and Music Festival March 24-26. Visit naplesillustrated.com/marco

seafoodfest for a look at what to

expect at this year’s event, which will feature a new lineup of musicians as well as a microbrew taste contest.

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

026-WEBPAGE-0317-2.indd 26

1/25/17 2:34 PM


L U X U RY W I T H O U T L I M I TAT I O N S

TPC GOLF CLUB MEMBERSHIP included with purchase of every home!

INTRODUCING

EXCLUSIVELY BY SUNWEST CUSTOM HOMES

Endless luxury awaits residents at The Peninsula, a distinct enclave within the prestigious country club community of Treviso Bay. Exclusively by Sunwest Custom Homes, creators of the 2015 Golf Dream Home, this elite gated neighborhood offers just 55 home sites with spectacular views at every turn. Select from our Portfolio of custom designed single-family estate residences to find a home that uniquely fits your lifestyle. Residents will enjoy the outstanding amenities of Treviso Bay, including exquisite dining, fitness center, spa and championship golf course. REPRESENTED BY:

The Peninsula Sales Office | 9004 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, FL 34113 | 239.249.6830 | PeninsulaNaples.com

PEN-28669 Naples_mar17.indd 1

1/25/17 3:56 PM


item #101214

WILSONLIGHTING.COM

.COM

NAPLESILLUSTRATED

Your Palace. Our Lighting. A glamorous pendant shimmering with soft gold crystals is the right choice for your elegant space. See all the luxe designs at Wilson Lighting.

S I N C E 19 7 5

Picnic Perfect While picnics are designed for easy, breezy afternoons, putting together the ultimate

NAPLES • 2465 Trade Center Way • 239-592-6006 BONITA SPRINGS • 3333 Renaissance Blvd • 239-948-9000 Monday – Thursday 9 to 6 • Friday 9 to 5 • Saturday 10 to 5

alfresco meal is an art form. In this issue, we showcase a selection of picnic essentials, and

L I G H T I N G

our guide to outdoor eats continues online. Visit our “Naples Picnic Spots” album on Facebook for ideas on where to unload your basket, as well as our “Posh Picnic” board on Pinterest for food and decor inspiration.

GOING-OUT

GUIDE

To be in the know, sign up for On The Town. Every Wednesday, we list the top five events to put on your calendar for the week, along with the latest stories from around town, delivered straight to your inbox. NAPLESILLUSTRATED.COM/ENEWS

WAYS TO STAY CONNECTED Join us on Facebook facebook.com/naplesillustrated Follow us on Twitter twitter.com/naplesillus Pin us on Pinterest pinterest.com/naplesillus

28

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

026-WEBPAGE-0317-2.indd 28

2/2/17 9:57 AM


ENTERTAINMENT AT SEMINOLE CENTER MOREINPARADISE.COM

DON RICKLES & REGIS PHILBIN A RICKLES & PHILBIN LAUGHFEST

CLINT BLACK MARCH 11

MARCH 2

A BRONX TALE

WRITTEN & PERFORMED BY CHAZZ PALMINTERI

PAUL ANKA

NEIL SEDAKA APRIL 9

MARCH 23

MARCH 16

OLIVIA NEWTON-JOHN OUTDOOR SHOW

APRIL 22

PAUL SHAFFER & THE WORLD’S MOST DANGEROUS BAND GUEST VOCALIST VALERIE SIMPSON

FOR TICKET INFORMATION VISIT MOREINPARADISE.COM MUST BE 21 TO ATTEND INDOOR CONCERTS. MUST BE AT LEAST 21 YEARS OLD TO PLAY SLOTS AND TABLE GAMES OR TO RECEIVE SEMINOLE WILD CARD BENEFITS. MUST BE 18 OR OLDER TO PLAY LIVE POKER. IF YOU OR SOMEONE YOU KNOW HAS A GAMBLING PROBLEM, PLEASE CALL, 1-888-ADMIT-IT.

MINUTES AWAY FROM MORE

JUNE 10


In

Focus PATTY AND JAY BAKER JOE AND LESLIE FOGG, CINDY AND NED LAUTENBACH

ARTIS–NAPLES WHAT: THE FRIENDS OF ARTIS—NAPLES’ NAPLES PHILHARMONIC GALA WHO: MEMBERS OF THE FRIENDS OF ARTIS—NAPLES AND SUPPORTERS OF THE CULTURAL INSTITUTION WHERE: ARTIS—NAPLES RICK AND LINDA FLEWELLING

JIM AND MARTHA FLIGG

BOB AND TERRY EDWARDS

RACHEL AND FRANK VERPOORTEN LOUIS SIMPSON, KIMBERLY QUERREY

CHARLIE MCDONALD AND CHRISTINE ELZINGA

REBECCA LAMBERT AND JON SONNE

SHARON AND TIM UBBEN

ANDREY BOREYKO, KATHLEEN VAN BERGEN, VICKI COOPER, ALAN EINHORN

30 NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

030-FOB SOCIAL-0317.indd 30

1/25/17 12:26 PM


Men’s & Women’s Fall 2017 Trunkshow | Wednesday, March 15th - Saturday, March 18th 1167 Third Street South | 877.263.4333 | www.MarissaCollections.com |@MarissaNaples


in

Focus

ROBERT GOWLAND, CAROLINE STUART-JERVIS

SAM AND KAREN SMITH, CHRISTINE AND TERRY FLYNN STEPHANIE AND RICHARD PREBISH, CYNTHIA CARLSON, KALEIGH GROVER, BARBIE AND GORDON KELLAM, JONATHAN AND SHANNON DRACKETT

JINX LIGGETT, STEPHANIE GOFORTH

NAPLES HISTORICAL SOCIETY WHAT: ANNUAL CHRISTMAS GALA WHO: HONORARY CHAIRS DR. AND MRS. STEPHEN G. ANDERSON AND SUPPORTERS OF THE PRESERVATION OF NAPLES HISTORY WHERE: HISTORIC PALM COTTAGE AND NORRIS GARDENS. THE EVENT WAS SPONSORED BY NAPLES ILLUSTRATED.

HENRY AND CAROL DINARDO, LYNNE AND CHIP SHOTWELL

CHARLES MARSHALL, ALI AND MALLY KHORASANTCHI, RICHARD TOOKE

CHARLIE MCDONALD PHOTOGRAPHY

CHRISTIAN BUSK, LISA LOVETTO

MARYANN SCANDIFIO, RACHEL ROBB

MARY SMITH, JONATHAN HAMILL

NELLY AND HENLEY SHOTWELL

32

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

030-FOB SOCIAL-0317.indd 32

1/25/17 12:26 PM


THE BEST next thing

YOU’VE ALWAYS UNDERSTOOD THE VALUE OF HEALTHY LIVING. SO WHEN PLANNING YOUR NEXT MOVE, GO WITH A CHOICE THAT IS PREPARED TO PERFECTION. Our expansive, new resort retirement community offers luxurious independent living options, quality amenities and exceptional continuing care including assisted living, memory support, short-term rehabilitation and residential healthcare. Plus, with a 95% refundable entrance fee, it’s Naples’ most attractive resort retirement community!

SEE THE BEST NEXT THING TODAY. Call (239) 307-3050 for your personal tour. 7900 Arlington Circle | Naples, FL 34113 www.arlingtonnaples.org

The Arlington of Naples welcomes people of all faiths, beliefs and traditions. A Lutheran Life Community–serving seniors and their families for more than a century. Lutheran Life Communities: Empowering vibrant, grace-filled living across all generations.


in

Focus SUSAN REED BENSON, JEAN ANN LYNCH, JANE BERGER

ELIZABETH SMART

ANN WESTERFIELD, LYNNE SHOTWELL, CAROL DINARDO, MINDY KOZELUH

WOMEN’S FOUNDATION OF COLLIER COUNTY WHAT: ANNUAL POWER OF THE PURSE EVENT AND LUNCHEON WHO: KEYNOTE SPEAKER ELIZABETH SMART AND SUPPORTERS OF THE WOMEN’S FOUNDATION OF COLLIER COUNTY WHERE: THE RITZ-CARLTON, NAPLES BEACH RESORT KELLY CAPOLINO, KATHLEEN KAPNICK

MELISSA ANN HARDING , MELISSA PHILLIPS

LILI MONTES, BEV CHERRY, INGRID AIELLI

KAREN SCOTT, JACQUELINE BEARSE, VICKY SMITH

PAT AIKEN-O’NEILL, MINA MERKEL

34

BRENDA O’CONNOR, STACEY HERRING

REAGAN RULE PHOTOGRAPHY

MONICA BIONDO, CORTNEY BEEBE

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

030-FOB SOCIAL-0317.indd 34

1/25/17 12:26 PM


Artist's rendering

Change your point of view S k y H O M E S AvA I L A B L E I N S p R I N G 2 0 1 7 SM

Artist's rendering Images shown depict the interior of the unit only and do not depict or represent the view from the unit.

Altaira is WCI's first new luxury high-rise condo in Southwest Florida in almost a decade—and it was worth the wait. These new waterfront Sky Homes deliver innovative design in a stunning location, north of Naples. Residents enjoy an active, trendsetting lifestyle. Indulge in resort-style amenities at The Colony Golf & Bay Club. This is a rare opportunity to own a piece of the sky while living at Florida's most desirable coastal address. ®

SM

FROM THE $1 MILLIONS

4541 Coconut Road, Bonita Springs, FL 34134 | 239.495.1300 | www.AltairaFlorida.com ORAL REPRESENTATIONS CANNOT BE RELIED UPON AS CORRECTLY STATING REPRESENTATIONS OF THE DEVELOPER. FOR CORRECT REPRESENTATIONS, MAKE REFERENCE TO THIS AD AND TO THE DOCUMENTS REQUIRED BY SECTION 718.503,FLORIDA STATUTES, TO BE FURNISHED BY A DEVELOPER TO A BUYER OR LESSEE. Delivery date is estimated only and not guaranteed. Actual views may vary. Any view may in the future be limited or eliminated and Developer in no manner guarantees the continuing existence of any view from the Condominium property. All prices are subject to change without notice. All drawings are conceptual renderings and WCI expressly reserves the right to make modifications in its sole discretion. All references to clubs, golf clubs and membership opportunities and other amenities are subject to fees, dues and availability. This advertisement does not constitute an offer to sell real estate in any jurisdiction where prior registration or other qualification is required and further information cannot be provided (unless we have already complied with such requirements).Void where prohibited. ©2016 WCI Communities, Inc. All rights reserved.


SINGLE?

Meet Naples Top Matchmaker The Sizzle Factor

Mimi’s Magical intuition at work, her strength as a matchmaker, has always been to look for what will make that spark light up between two strangers. Mimi practices an opposites attract philosophy and shares with her clients “it’s friction that causes the flames to ignite; let me hear your story, your character, your passion, and ambitions, as for your hobbies....well hobbies are nice.... but I’m always on the hunt for the elixir of spice!” Mimi firmly believes unearthing a client’s history gives her the fuel to feed those potential sparks and why she has had such a long career as a matchmaker.

Mimi Lee, Matchmaker Age: 49 Experience: 18 years Born in SWFL

Mimi brings premium advice, a magical mystical intuitive quality to her matchmaking, and clients love her southern charm, hospitality and kindness. Her number one piece of advice for Naples singles..? “Call me”

Pre-Date Planning

• Dating etiquette education • Instantaneous talking points • Expert Analysis • Premiere Advice • Personal service

Concierge

10 10 10 10 10

• Dining recommendations for first date • Event recommendations for second date

Feedback

Share your feelings with us! Enjoy your open line of communication with your match maker

Local

Enjoy meeting quality singles in your community

Have Mimi Lee find your perfect match. BOOK YOUR FREE CONSULTATION NOW BY MENTIONING THIS ARTICLE.

MyTopMatchmaker.com • 877-46-MATCH • 239-280-1922 NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

See more of who's been out and about.

Handcrafted introductions without use of computer software. Accurate, verified profiles, screened and qualified by MyTopMatchmaker.

AMERICA’S TOP MATCHMAKERS

36

Focus

Guaranteed

Mimi began her career in matchmaking 18 years ago under Patti Stanger, Bravo TV’s Millionaire Matchmaker. After her brief stint Mimi decided to go out on her own on a personal crusade to bring harmony, passion, and true love to those who want to live in happiness. After her own TV appearances on morning shows and a trail blaze of success for her clients, Mimi has decided to settle down and return to her roots in Southwest FL, making Naples her home. As the founder of My Top Matchmaker, Naples clients experience the benefit of what the company slogan proudly bears “America’s Top Matchmaker.

In

Visit “PARTIES” at naplesillustrated.com


A

25YEAR

LEGACY OF QUALITY Built on Creating Luxury Residences That Serve as Sanctuaries Where Families Are Free to Live, Work and Dream

239-691-4455

NI_Jan17-McGarvey_FullPG.indd 1

McGarveyCustomHomes.com

11/29/16 4:07 PM


P U R A

V I D A

M E D I C A L

S PA

LUCKY YOU! YOU’VE GOT PURA VIDA MEDICAL SPA TO LOOK YOUR BEST.

Make this your lucky day with Pura Vida Medical Spa’s complete line of body contouring and beauty services to reduce unwanted body fat and improve the appearance of your body from head to toe. Call today for a complimentary consultation.

2016

VOTED BEST BODY SCULPTING

BEST MEDI SPA

BEST WEIGHT LOSS CENTER

BEST MED SPA

BEST PHYSICIAN

800 5th Ave., S., Suite 201 | 239-919-7872

BEST WEIGHT LOSS


P U R A

V I D A

M E D I C A L

S PA

CoolSculpting® is an FDA-cleared treatment that uses controlled cooling to eliminate fat without surgery or downtime. With 95% customer satisfaction, you’ll love the results every time you look in the mirror. Pura Vida Medical Spa is now able to offer 3 CoolSculpting treatments at once, using the most advanced CoolSculpting technology available.

SWFL’S #1 CERTIFIED PROVIDER

GIFT TES IFICA LE T R E C ILAB A V A

Puravidanaples.com Hablamos Español

Weekend and evening hours available by appointment.


SWEET SHELDON CONSTRUCTION BUILDING EXCELLENCE Remodeling of Fine Homes and Condos

Details count…

9 9 9 Va n d e r b i l t B e a c h Ro a d, S u i t e 2 0 0 • N a p l e s, F L 3 4 1 0 8 239.325.5150 w w w. S w e e t S h e l d o n . c o m

Residential Remodeling Award


Insider MAGIC MUSIC For Rock & Roll Hall of Famer John Sebastian, music has been part of his life since the Greenwich Village folk scene, where he recalls being “swept up in a musical river that would affect us all as a generation.” As founder and lead singer of the popular 1960s group The Lovin’ Spoonful, known for hit songs such as “Darling Be Home Soon” and “Do You Believe in Magic,” Sebastian made a name for himself with what he calls a “good-time” blend of blues, country, folk, and a bit of rock. He and The Lovin’ Spoonful gained acclaim for creating a musical counter-revolution at the height of Beatlemania that led to Sebastian’s induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2000 and the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2008. On March 14 and 15, Sebastian will be performing two shows at TheatreZone in Naples, where guests can expect a rollicking good time with the American Roots folk legend. –Anna Bjorlin

041-Insider Opener-0317.indd 41

Q&A

JOHN SEBASTIAN

NI: What was Lovin’ Spoonful’s secret sauce? Sebastian: The main thing Spoonful approached differently than most American groups was that we were interested in more than one type of music. Instead of saying a single has to sound the same as our other ones so people will know it’s us, we figured we could be a band that was unrecognizable from single to single so we’d sound different each time. Plus, our jug band music had some humor to it at a time when humor was beginning to go out of rock and roll music; it was becoming serious. What iconic songs can fans expect to hear during your performances in Naples? I love the freedom of playing as a single guy because I can play off the audience’s reactions. Rest assured, the audience will hear plenty of Spoonful hits like “Do You Believe in Magic.” How did the Beatles influence your music, if at all? We weren’t aiming to compete or even compare with them; we just wanted to hang as our own little neighbor-

hood band. When we put out a single, we thought it’d be great to be visible for a month or two, so the fact that we got six or seven singles on the charts during the Beatles’ most powerful period—as well as during the era of The Birds and The Beach Boys—was an unexpected success. Looking back on your career, what has been a memorable moment? There are different types of situations that are incredible, wonderful moments, and they’re not all what you’d expect. For example, I had a moment where I was playing with Johnny Johnson, the pianist who made 85 percent of Chuck Berry’s records and the subject of Johnny B. Goode. We were playing a Chuck Berry tune, which required me to play the “Mama’s Little Baby” guitar part, and Johnny went into this rolling boogie-woogie overlay that was on those original singles; it sent me into paroxysms.

&

For the extended interview with Sebastian, visit naplesillustrated.com/johnsebastian

NAPLESILLUSTRATED.COM | MARCH 2017

41

1/30/17 10:01 AM


Insider

A Glass of Art

Sneak peek: 2017 glasses feature sports legend Mike Ditka (designed by Marcus Zoster) and Misty Copeland (designed by Michele Kortbawi Wilk), the first African-American to be appointed principal dancer at American Ballet Theatre.

Tom and Betsy Matlock

Brenda and Phil Melton

Left: Lin-Manuel Miranda from the Broadway hit Hamilton (designed by Marjorie Pesek). Right: The President George H.W. Bush and Barbara Bush glass (designed by The Bead Boutique) honors the longest married couple in presidential history, who celebrated their 72nd anniversary this year.

42

Where is the best place for celebrity spotting in Naples? This winter, it was the waterfront Moorings home of Tom and Betsy Matlock for a Celebrity Martini Glass Auction patron party. Attendees were instructed, via hand-delivered invitation, to bring their favorite A-Lister, in the form of a beautifully designed martini glass. Guests received special boxes to pack their “celebrities” in, which were then transported to the party. All the glasses, which were bid on and won at previous Celebrity Martini Glass Auctions, were autographed by famous figures, including Ben Affleck, Kevin Spacey, and Sheryl Crow, and decorated by artists to reflect the signee. No one was more pleased to revisit some of the one-of-akind showpieces than Brenda Melton, CMGA’s founder. In 2010, when HBO’s popular comedy series Sex and the City made it to the big screen for round two of its movie franchise, Melton first launched her idea to auction celebrity-autographed martini glasses for charity. The inaugural event was held in the Saks Fifth Avenue shoe department in Naples and has since snowballed into a popular, exclusive affair that has raised more than $500,000 in each of the past two years. “It is mind blowing to me to think that it all started in that shoe department where we had 30 signed celebrity glasses going for approximately $200 each,” says Melton. “Fast forward seven years and, depending on the celebrity and designer, a glass can go anywhere from $3,000 to $70,000.” As for the allure of the glasses and the event, Melton credits star power. “Celebrities take you to a world of imagination,” she says. Since its inception, CMGA has benefited various charities. This year, the funds raised will go exclusively to PAWS Assistance Dogs (pawsassistancedogs.org), which provides wounded veterans and special-needs children with skilled assistance dogs. The two-year training process for each dog costs approximately $35,000 and there is an ever-growing wait list of hopeful recipients. Last fall, the first group of dogs, deemed “the lucky 7,” who came out of PAWS’ initial partnership with the CMGA, officially graduated and were placed with deserving individuals. This year’s Celebrity Martini Glass Auction will take place March 26 at Artis—Naples. (naplescmga.com) —Liza Grant Smith

NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

042_INSIDER_Martini_0317.indd 42

1/25/17 5:07 PM


DISTINCTIVE INTERIOR DESIGN. DISTINCTIVELY YOU.

|RENÉE

GADDIS INTERIORS|

9915 Tamiami Trail N., Suite 1 Naples, FL 34108

239.431.8352

www.reneegaddis.com KALEA BAY MODEL

FL LICENSE IB26001518


Insider

A Stitch in Time

When the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra performs at Artis— Naples as part of this year’s Visiting Orchestra Series, the musicians will have a new look. The March 1 concert marks the renowned orchestra’s first appearance in Naples since changing their uniform, one that had been in place for many decades. For the new concert attire, prominent designers Dame Vivienne Westwood and Andreas Kronthaler created the Philharmonic Suit, a functional and elegant take on traditional performance garments. The men’s suit consists of a black mohair and wool cutaway jacket in a modern interpretation of the traditional tailcoat, blackand-white striped fine wool trousers, and a double-breasted waistcoat. The women’s suit is a black wool coat adjusted to fit the female silhouette, slim-cut classic trousers, and a silk wrap top. Each tailor-made bespoke suit includes a hand-stitched label combining the Vivienne Westwood and Vienna Philharmonic signatures. —R.R.

INBOUND INSPIRATION

While holding several football records isn’t surprising for a NFL Hall of Famer, Andre Reed also holds recordlevel passion for the Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Having been involved with his hometown’s Club since he was seven years old, the former Buffalo Bills and Washington Redksins wide receiver is currently an ambassador for the national organization, and launched his own namesake foundation (andrereedfoundation.org) that also strives to help underprivileged children reach their full potential. “There are over 4,200 Boys and Girls Clubs in the country, and I’d love to visit them all,” says Reed. “Right now, I have a goal of visiting at least one in each state.” Reed grew up in a home with two full-time working parents, who were not always there when he and his siblings arrived home from school. His local Club filled the void, while also teaching him teamwork and respect. “We all look for a safe haven, a place in your life where there’s structure,” Reed says. “I was competitive by nature and pretty relentless when it came to getting something done, but I learned things there that I carry with me today, such as being a model citizen. A lot of kids tell me they want to be FOR THE FULL INTERVIEW like me, so there’s an obligation I have to set a good example for them WITH REED, INCLUDING HIS because someone set one for me. That’s my motto.” PERSONAL AND PROFESReed will be a special guest and speaker at the Boys & Girls Club of SIONAL INSPIRATIONS, GO TO NAPLESILLUSTRATED. Collier County’s 5th Annual Youth of the Year Celebration on March 7. COM/ANDREREED (bgccc.com) —Anna Bjorlin Andre Reed

&

A NAPLES CAPER In his latest Key West novel, best-selling author Laurence Shames (laurenceshames.com) brings his characters to Naples. One strange date (CreateSpace Independent Publishing, 2017), which Shames describes as a “genre-bending caper romance,” follows a wild first date between a seemingly innocent Key West college student and a con man. Shames sprinkles Naples landmarks throughout the novel, including the Naples Pier and Gordon Drive, where a car chase culminates in a stolen Bentley sinking in the Gulf. “I do think it adds a dimension when the settings are familiar to people,” Shames says, noting that he and his wife, Marilyn, split their time between Asheville, North Carolina, and Naples, where they spend winters. “Key West is very funky and Naples is quite elegant, so the contrast between the two was pretty appealing.” One Strange Date is Shames’ eleventh Key West novel. He is also the author or co-author of five best-selling non-fiction books. —Rebecca Rehm

44 NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

044_INSIDER_0317.indd 44

1/30/17 10:01 AM


IRENE NEUWIRTH FINE JEWELRY TRUNK SHOW & PERSONAL APPEARANCE THURSDAY, MARCH 23RD  SATURDAY, MARCH 25TH

@ M A R I S SA N A P L E S # N A P L E S F L # M A R I S SAST Y L E D


Creating Custom Designs for 30 Years

8911 Brighton Lane Bonita Springs, FL 34135 296 14th Ave S. Naples, FL 34102 239.948.2400 & 239.470.0245 www.collins-dupont.com


Style BY KATHERINE LANDE

Basket of Sweetness

Jane Birkin and her wicker basket were inseparable in the ’70s, and designers have reincarnated the accessory as springtime’s signature arm candy ever since. Presenting a lighthearted take on the staple, the Charlotte Olympia watermelon basket handbag ($2,245) embodies quintessential Florida chic. Turn the page for more playful pink picks.

000-STYLE_OPENER-0317.indd 47

NAPLESILLUSTRATED.COM | MARCH 2017

47

1/24/17 3:33 PM


Style PRETTY IN PINK

Plush shades of rose step out as spring’s “it” color for feminine evening looks SATIN FINISH Pilgrim Micro chain bag in salmon satin with strass buckle ($1,675), Roger Vivier, rogervivier.com

HOT HANDED Lambskin clutch ($1,275), Chanel, special order, Saks Fifth Avenue, Naples

FRUIT PUNCH Melon beaded laser-cut motif earrings ($390), Oscar de la Renta, Marissa Collections, Naples

GLITTERING INNOCENCE Bibibop platform peep-toe Mary Janes ($895), similar styles, Christian Louboutin, christian​ louboutin.com

Style Notes THINK P INK: Mix a

SUGAR HIGH Hangisimu pink satin mules ($895), Manolo Blahnik, Barney’s New York, barneys.com

nd match blush, bub sh MODER blegum, salmon, an ades of N TOUC d hot pink soft drapin H: Simple silhou LA VIE E g keep the look au ettes and N ROSE c : Go mon ourant ochromati sport the c and trend hea d-to-toe

BLUSHING BEAUTY Duchesse clutch in pink ($2,495), Judith Leiber, Saks Fifth Avenue, Naples

VALENTINO SPRING/ SUMMER 2017 A diaphanous dress draws inspiration from Hieronymus Bosch’s triptych, The Garden of Earthly Delights.

FLAMINGO FLAIR Lupita suede sandals in mango ($625), Alexandre Birman, Saks Fifth Avenue, Naples KISS THIS Valentino Garavani Spring/Summer 2017 minaudiere with lipstick ($895), Valentino, Marissa Collections, Naples

48 NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

048_STYLE-p2_0317.indd 48

1/24/17 3:35 PM


gr

aping are beautiful

.” —

Hom

e ow

“Ever y

thin g is

ne w. ..T

he

nd ou

sc land e h t nd sa

Around the Square

Masterfully built and designed, Naples Square offers the perfect combination of convenience and luxury. When you’re not enjoying the downtown restaurants, shops and beaches, you can kick back and relax in your spacious open floor plan or put to use the many amenities. All in the

VISIT OUR SALES GALLERY at 100 Goodlette-Frank Road South, Naples MODEL CENTER OPEN DAILY at 1030 3rd Avenue South #101, Naples Condominium Homes from the $600s to over $1m 9 Beautiful Floor Plans from 1,503–5,273 Total Sq. Ft. LuxuryNaplesSquare.com I 239.228.5800

of downtown Naples.

ORAL REPRESENTATIONS CANNOT BE RELIED UPON AS CORRECT STATING REPRESENTATIONS OF THE DEVELOPER. FOR CORRECT REPRESENTATIONS BY THE DEVELOPER, MAKE REFERENCE TO THE DOCUMENTS REQUIRED BY SECTION 718.503, FLORIDA STATUTE, TO BE FURNISHED BY A DEVELOPER TO A BUYER OR LESSEE. Equal Housing Opportunity.

ne

r


Vanity

Smooth, ageless skin may have a little to do with genetics, but science also has a hand in it. New technology and innovative ingredients make it easier than ever to look decades younger. Some of the newest stand-outs: La Prairie Line Interception Power Duo, which promises to reduce wrinkles in 14 days and nights ($350, Saks Fifth Avenue); Chantecaille Bio Lifting Cream Plus with five plant stem cells for improved volume and tone ($342, beautyhabit.com); AmorePacific Time Response Eye Renewal Creme with powerful botanicals and green tea ($260, us.amorepacific.com); Chanel Blue Serum with green coffee, olive, and lentisk ingredients from the world’s “blue zones,” where longevity is a phenomenon ($110, chanel.com); and Sapelo Spring Tide Serum with salmon roe extract from Norway, which in trials has increased collagen and elastin production ($195, sapeloskincare.com).

ASHLEY MEYER

THE SCIENCE OF BEAUTY

50 NAPLES ILLUSTRATED

050-VANITY-0317.indd 50

1/26/17 3:25 PM


Profile for Palm Beach Media Group

Naples Illustrated March 2017 | Preview  

Naples Illustrated March 2017 | Preview  

Profile for pbmg