Issuu on Google+

Senior Review November 27, 2013

• Activities • Education • Services • Health & Fitness • Dementia issues • Support Groups • Medicare

A

S p e c i a l

S u p p l e m e n t

t o

t h e

P a y s o n

R o u n d u p

2 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

Payson Senior Center is center for fun BY JOANNE CONLIN SPECIAL TO THE RIM REVIEW

Where can you get the smell of pumpkin bread and tamales in one place; seniors, kids and everyone in between coming and going; Santa and his elves dropping by gifts for kids big and small; toe-stomping music, waltzes, rock and roll, country western; wine-tasting and fashion shows? You can find it all at the Payson Senior Center — also known simply as The Center. The Center has been providing services to the Rim Country seniors and disabled since 1985. Its primary programs are Meals on Wheels, lunch at The Center and transportation for seniors. This past year, it served close to 50,000 meals and made about 9,000 bus trips around Payson and Star Valley. This year, The Center expanded its Meals on Wheels program to Oxbow Estates, Gisela, Round Valley and Mesa del Caballo. Its buses go to Mesa del, Oxbow and Round Valley on Tuesdays. That is just a little bit of what is provided. The Center is about people — staff and volunteers embrace, empower and enrich lives. Everyone is welcomed with a smile. Whatever the need, the staff and volunteers try to help or find the right resource.

File photo

Anne James & Friends bring music to the Payson Senior Center.

A wide variety of activities are provide to keep members and guests active and having fun. These include: exercise programs ZUMBA Gold, yoga and Sit & Fit; meditation; bridge, canasta, pinochle, bingo and Mexican Train games; wood carving; Bible study; and frequent speakers at the lunches, served Monday through

Thursday, except holidays. Music is also a big part of The Center’s programs, including its own Old Time Music Makers and Anne James & Friends. Additional services come from the Pinal Gila Area For Aging, which provides a benefit specialist for Medicare and Social Security issues and free legal service once a month.

FRIENDSHIP, FUN & FOOD! Cards-Crafts-Exercise-Movies & More!!! LUNCH SERVED DAILY AT NOON

REVIEW STAFF TERESA McQUERREY

FRANK LA SPISA AD SALES - 474-5251 EXT. 104

PIA WYER

ANA GUTOWSKI

DIGITAL MEDIA - 474-5251 EXT. 119

AD SALES - 474-5251 EXT. 105

The Rim Review is published each Wednesday by WorldWest Limited Liability Company. Copyright 2013

•See Remember, page 12

Join us Monday thru Friday for

Senior Review EDITOR - 474-5251 EXT. 113

“Life wouldn’t be the same without the Payson Senior Center and all of you who brighten people’s days,” one person recently said. The Center works in partnership with many other community nonprofits. The facility was recently used by Payson Community Kids to make the tamales for the Tamales for Toys event. It hosted the Arizona Gives Day, and The Fashioneesta event presented by the Rim Country Optimist Club. The two support groups for the caregivers of those with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementia issues, as well as its funding arm, the Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots, meet regularly at The Center. Our belief is the more we can work together, the stronger our nonprofits become and the services we provide for the community. The Center is available to rent for parties, weddings, meetings and workshops. Heart To Heart Catering, operated by The Center, is available to cater the events. Providing funds for The Center is its Senior Thrift Store, which offers great items at great prices. Conlin encourages residents to shop at the store; donate resalable items —

Reservations recommended

514 W. Main St. 928-474-4876

We are the MEALS ON WHEELS and DIAL-A-RIDE providers in this area. Please call us if you are in need of these services.

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 3

Healthy aging for the 21st century BY PEGGY MARTIN SPECIAL TO THE RIM REVIEW

America’s population, as a whole, has grown older over the past century. Life expectancy has increased, and the quality of life for America’s oldest citizens has grown as well. This is something to celebrate! Many of us are scratching our heads and wondering “where have the years gone,” and as we look back, it becomes clear that we’ve lived busy lives and continue to do so as we age. At this time of our lives, most of us have fulfilled dreams of career, marriage and families; we’ve accumulated material possessions that have provided comfort and pleasure, and we’ve no doubt done some interesting traveling. What now? It’s not that we aren’t busy — it’s about what is giving our lives meaning. No longer are we caught up in accumulating more possessions; many of us are downsizing into smaller homes and fewer things. Are we aging healthfully?

•See Little things, page 13

Now it’s easier than ever to buy a classified ad in the Payson Roundup. Purchase a classified ad online anytime: Metro Creative Services

Peggy Martin’s life was enriched by helping her 90-year-old mother begin writing her memoirs when she entered an assisted living facility.

PaysonClassifiedsNow.com

4 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

It’s true – everything old is new again at Circle BY TERESA MCQUERREY RIM REVIEW EDITOR

An old, old game, Mah Jongg — some say it was originated in about 500 BC by Confucius — swept into the U.S. with great popularity in the 1920s is going gangbusters at the Payson Senior Circle every Wednesday. Jan Parsons, advisor for the Senior Circle, said 64 people came to play in October; 41 in September; 50 in August; 55 in July; and 38 in June. So, everything old is new again in the case of this particular game. Mah Jongg was introduced at the Senior Circle this past January by Marie Graziano, who said many people today think of it as a “Jewish” game rather than Chinese or Asian, in spite of the symbols on the 152 tiles with which it is played. Because tiles are used, Mah Jongg is sometimes classified as a domino game, but it is played in a way similar to card games such as rummy. Regular fans of the game play at the Circle from 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. every Wednesday. But Graziano offers a beginning lesson the second Wednesday of the month and then encourages novices to come back to the Circle and play with the regulars. “Everyone is patient and there to have fun, so we’re willing to help (newbies gain

Jan Parsons photo

The ancient tile game of Mah Jongg is growing in popularity at the Senior Circle with weekly games and once-a-month lessons.

experience playing),” Graziano said. Besides 95 percent of the players participating at the Circle sessions are new at it themselves. She only started playing Mah Jongg herself in 2010 and started teaching it in 2011. “I lived in Sun Lakes and saw a lot of the people playing. They all looked so serious. Then I met someone who had been playing for more than 50 years and she offered to teach me. I was addicted — I even had to play the day I had a colonoscopy. I came

home after the procedure took a two-hour nap, then went to play.” She said the “seriousness” of the game comes from the fact that players must pay attention to what everyone else is doing. But when the tiles are being “shuffled” and dealt, people relax, chat and laugh. “I love it. And it’s fun to see the women I teach get into the same groove. “I teach the ‘right rules’ — so, anyone who has learned it from me can play in

•See Mah Jongg, page 16

Tai chi added to Senior Circle exercise offerings BY TERESA MCQUERREY RIM REVIEW EDITOR

A new exercise program is coming to the Payson Senior Circle next month. Tom Quirk will be teaching a tai chi class from 9 a.m. to 10 a.m., beginning the first Thursday in December. If there is enough interest, the class will also be offered Mondays. He teaches the class for Gila Community College, Club USA, at Rim Country Apartments and for anyone interested late Friday afternoons at Green Valley Park (by the bandstand) from April through October, weather permitting. Quirk has been teaching tai chi since 2009, and has been active in taekwondo for 16 years.

Originally, tai chi was a form of martial arts, but had evolved into a meditative movement exercise. Quirk said it helps with balance, muscle strength, range of motion in joints, flexibility to some extent and also has a social dynamic as it is generally practiced in groups. “It is designed to accommodate any physical limitation someone might have and can be done sitting,” Quirk said. He said he would be especially focused on joint issues his senior students may have. “There will be no long stances or any movement requiring they stand on one foot,” Quirk said. There will be a warm-up, repetition and time to cool down.

There will also be a couple of breaks during the class. He recommends students wear loose, comfortable clothes and, while not required, they should also wear shoes for stability. Students should also bring water. He said the movements generate a lot of internal energy — like taking deep breaths — and can increase metabolism. Printouts of the movements will be provided so they can be practiced at home if anyone is interested. Students will initially be introduced to basics and as the class continues learn more movements. “They will learn something new in each class,” Quirk said.

According to the Mayo Clinic Web site, tai chi is a gentle way to fight stress as well as helping with the physical issues Quirk described. It involves a series of movements performed in a slow, focused manner, accompanied by deep breathing. Other exercise programs provided by the Senior Circle, 215 N. Beeline Highway, Payson, are: qigong; ZUMBA Gold; and Feeling Fit. The line and ballroom dancing programs also provide exercise opportunities for members. To learn more about the upcoming tai chi class, visit www.rimcountrytaichi.com or stop by the Circle, (928) 4729290.

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 5

Medicare open enrollment closes December 7 BY DAVID SAYEN

need to worry about Marketplace plans. Medicare’s annual open My agency, the Centers for enrollment period has started, Medicare & Medicaid Services, and I want to encourage or CMS, announced everyone with Medicare recently that the average to review their current Medicare Advantage prehealth and prescription mium for 2014 is projectdrug coverage. ed to be $32.60. CMS estiOpen enrollment runs mated that the average through Dec. 7, 2013. If basic Part D drug premiyou want to change your um in 2014 would be $31 David Sayen Medicare Advantage or per month, holding Medicare Part D (prescription steady for four years in a row. drug) plan, this is the time of Since the Affordable Care Act year to do it. Any new coverage was passed, average Medicare you select will kick in on Jan. 1, Advantage premiums are down 2014. by 9.8 percent. The deductible If you have Original Medicare for standard Part D drug plans and you’re satisfied with it, you in 2014 will be $310, a $15 don’t need to do anything during decline. open enrollment. Medicare plans’ coverage Also, Medicare’s open enroll- options and costs can change ment has nothing to do with the each year, and Medicare benefiAffordable Care Act’s new ciaries should evaluate their Health Insurance Marketplace. current coverage and choices If you have Medicare, you don’t and select the plan that best MEDICARE ARIZONA REPRESENTATIVE

Need Help Selecting Your Next Medicare Plan?

meets their needs. If you think your current coverage will meet your needs for 2014, you don’t need to change anything. A variety of resources are available to help people with Medicare, their families, and caregivers compare current coverage with new plan offerings for 2014. You can: • Visit www.medicare.gov to see plan coverage and costs available in your area, and enroll in a new plan if you decide to make a change. Open enrollment information is available in Spanish. • Call 1-800-MEDICARE (1800-633-4227) for around-theclock assistance to find out more about your coverage options. TTY users should call 1-877-486-2048. Counseling is available in a wide variety of languages. • Review the 2014 Medicare & You handbook. This handbook

has been mailed to the homes of people with Medicare and it’s also online at: www.medicare .gov/pubs/pdf/10050.pdf. • Get one-on-one counseling assistance from your local State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP). Local SHIP contact information can be found: - At www.medicare.gov/contacts/organization-search-criteria.aspx or; - On the back of the 2014 Medicare & You handbook or; - By calling Medicare (contact information above). For more information on Medicare open enrollment and to compare benefits and prices of 2014 Medicare Advantage and Part D drug plans, please visit: www.cms.gov/Center/SpecialTo p i c / O p e n - E n r o l l m e n t Center.html. People with Medicare who

•See Some Medicare, page 15

Converts to cash in just minutes

Medicare Supplements • Medicare Advantage Part D Prescription Plans

Tom Russell Independent Health Insurance Broker

• Free Quotes - No obligation

If you need cash right now, bring it in. We’ll give you a free estimate, and cash in minutes.

• 30 Plus Companies • Unbiased Advice • 20 yrs of Service to the Rim Country

WE BUY GOLD, SILVER, OLD COINS & NATIVE AMERICAN JEWELRY “Celebrating 3029years RimCountry” Country” “Celebrating yearsin in the the Rim

A SECOND OPINION NEVER HURTS • FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE

BY APPOINTMENT

620 E. Hwy 260, Suite D-3 • Payson (Behind Fargo’s Steakhouse)

Payson Village Shopping Center • 474-9126 • www.paysonjewelers.com Open Monday-Friday 9:30-5:00, Saturday 9:30-2:00 ©2011

Call today 474-1233

6 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

Dementia – the long, terrifying loss of a loved one My name is Alice Fontinel, my husband for 62 years, Bobby Fontinel, had vascular dementia. I said, had, because he passed away Aug. 6, 2013, at home, at the age of 82. A few years ago, I began noticing changes in his personality. He had always been very outgoing, loved to help everyone, was gentle, kind and loving. People would tell me, “You are so lucky your husband always has a smile.” My “luck” changed as he began to change over the years — he became withdrawn, depressed, fearful, paranoid, frustrated, critical, angry and sometimes violent — not trusting anyone, especially me, whom he had known for more than 60 years. I struggled to care for him at home with some help from our grown sons and daughter. I had been a nurse with EMT training for 20 years, so I knew how to do patient care. My strength came from my strong faith in God — something that has been with me since I was four years old — so I thought I could handle Bobby’s dementia, but the one thing I didn’t consider was that I was getting older too. It became harder to not only care for him but to take over his chores of carrying in wood to keep the fire going, shovel snow, check the cars, pull weeds, raise a garden, try to fix whatever broke down or find someone else to do it. I couldn’t take a pain pill as it might make me sleepy and I needed to be alert day and night. In 2008, Bobby was diagnosed with diabetes, so he was sent to have his heart checked. Tests showed three major blockages over his heart, with evidence of some strokes and heart attacks, which he denied having. He seemed to recover from the heart surgery, but his personality and judgment continued to

Contributed photo

Bobby and Alice Fontinel in happier times, before vascular dementia destroyed Bobby’s mind.

deteriorate. I made excuses for his behavior and uninhibited language to friends and neighbors who gradually stopped coming by. I knew Bobby’s mood swings and temper tantrums had to be caused by more than a weak heart and old age, so I started going to meetings that talked about seniors’ health problems like Alzheimer’s and other dementias. Then I had Bobby see a doctor who said he had a lot of the symptoms of Parkinson’s disease and was sent to a neurologist in the Valley for cognitive tests, which he failed. He tried to cover up the truth by telling everyone that the night before the tests he had a large glass of wine and another one the morning of the tests. That was impossible because there had not been more than four ounces of wine in the house. Bobby didn’t drink or smoke.

This was just the beginning of the bizarre stories he would invent — and believed they really happened. Bobby was given a medication to help slow down the progression of dementia, but it had the reverse effect on him. He became so violent I spent as much time as I could outside during the day, peeking in the windows to check on him. At night, I locked myself in another room and even tied the door shut. After three weeks there was no improvement, so I discontinued the medication. He refused to see a doctor except for his back and leg pain and continued to drive his tractors and even bought a forklift and another tractor. Twice I caught him sawing wood with a big circular saw by moonlight and he could barely walk 10 feet. Many times he fell, and if I couldn’t lift his 190 pounds I

would have to call for help. I didn’t know how much longer I could go on that way. Doctors and friends advised me to have my husband put into a long-term care facility. I didn’t have the financial resources to do that because as the dementia progressed, his judgment worsened and he spent most of our income unwisely. Then in September 2012, I saw a notice in the Roundup about a caregivers group sponsored by the Alzheimer’s Association. I went to the meeting and they became a lifesaver for me and still are. I could feel the concern, understanding, and compassion of everyone there. I took up most of the meeting time, telling my story of how I had been living with a loved one that had become a totally different person. I shared how I could show no fear, even though I might be shaking inside, be-

•See Support, page 7

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 7

Support, understanding offered for caregivers From page 6

could see his symptoms matched those of vascular dementia. That was as close as we cause the person my husband had become, got to a diagnosis, as Bobby refused to see because of the dementia, could sense any our primary doctors anymore. fear I might have and could become even In April 2013, after what I thought was more overbearing. several mini-strokes, Bobby agreed to see a I looked forward to each caregivers meetcardiologist. Tests showed his ing because at last I had found heart was very weak, so his people who really understood brain did not have adequate my situation. There is no way “There is no way anyone oxygenated blood. His judganyone can understand what can understand what it is ment became even worse. He it is like to care for a loved one like to care for a loved one with dementia unless tried to fix a broken water pipe with dementia unless they they have ‘been there and by putting on a plastic lid from have “been there and done done that.’” an old motor oil bottle. When that.” Alice Fontinel the chicken house door sagged At one of our meetings I saw Caregiver for husband suffering from vascular dementia because he had dragged it a magazine that had an article from one end of our acre lot to describing vascular dementia. the other, he put the bars of the It differs from the dementia forklift on top of the roof and pounded it caused by Alzheimer’s disease. Vascular down to match the door. dementia affects the personality, judgment, Sound ridiculous? Yes, but it was heartand depth perception of the eyes before loss breaking to see because this was a man who of memory. I researched vascular dementia had built three houses, doing the cement further and the more I learned, the more I floors, block walls, framing, plumbing, elecwas sure that was Bobby’s problem. When I trical, cabinets, painting, everything. At age presented my findings to our doctors they 17 he taught other farmers how to weld. He

Did you know?

Through the Arizona Tax Credit Program to help the Working Poor, you can give up to $400 and receiv e a dollar-for-dollar tax credit on your st ate taxes. 514 W. Main St.

Your gift supports RIM COUNTRY SENIORS and DISABLED Payson Senior Center utilizes tax credit donations to support our food and transportation programs for our seniors & disabled. Also, you can claim the Working Poor Tax Credit in addition to tax credits to public school programs and private school tuition.

welded oxygen lines for a new hospital, where he later became the mechanical engineer. He was a master mechanic. He supervised the installing of natural gas lines across southern Iowa. He could “fix” anything until the dementia destroyed his mind. Hospice Compassus helped with his care his last few months, when he would let them, and I appreciated it very much, especially in July when I was injured in an auto accident. The Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots helped financially, making it possible for Bobby to stay in a care facility when I was unable to care for him because of the auto accident. They are like family — when one hurts we all hurt, when one shares a new way to cope or finds a new resource for help, we all benefit. Bobby died 25 days after my accident. It was just more trauma than his heart could stand. Even though I am not presently a caregiver, I still attend the meetings and hopefully my experiences will enable me to be of some help to some other caregiver.

Santa’s Workshop At SmartSystems, Inc.

For more information you can visit: State of Arizona Department of Revenue Charitable Tax Credit or contact the Payson Senior Center at 928-474-4876.

EVERY MONDAY IS

Senior Day AT

THE BOUTIQUE

Buy a computer KIT and build it with an expert. Our expert will build the pc with them and explain each component as we build it. An excellent gift for people of all ages that have a passion for computer technology. We have 3 different standardized kits or we can do a custom build kit and create the ultimate gaming machine. Call SmartSystems, Inc at 928.468.7400 for more information.

Hurry... technician slots and bench times are limited.

Unique and one-of-a-kind fashions and accessories for women

20% Off

any one regular priced item for customers 55 and over!

509 South Beeline Highway • Payson, AZ • 928-468-1181 Open: Monday thru Saturday

Layaway & Gift Certificates Available

405 S. Beeline Highway, Suite B • 928.468.7400

8 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

Alzheimer’s caregivers have growing support system BY TERESA MCQUERREY RIM REVIEW EDITOR

Next month, the Payson Alzheimer’s Association Support Group will celebrate its second anniversary. The support group grew out of programs presented by the Arizona Alzheimer’s Association earlier in 2011. The Payson group first met Dec. 7, 2011 at the Payson Senior Center, 514 W. Main St. There were 13 people at that first meeting. Since then, around 55 people have participated at one time or another. The initial group met at 1:30 p.m. the first and third Wednesday of the month. A core group of 20 to 30 pushed for an additional support group to meet evenings. “They said they needed to meet more than twice a month,” said Shirley Grady, facilitator

pants have for the group. learned over the A second suppast two years: port group, meet• The 10 signs ing from 6 p.m. to of Alzheimer’s to 7:30 p.m., the sechelp identify the ond and fourth difference Thursday of the between normal month, recently aging and the disorganized, faciliease including tated by Mary changes in mood Cailey. It also and personality. meets at the • Between 60 Senior Center. Shirley Grady is the facilitator of the and 80 percent of Participants in local Alzheimer’s Support Group that meets on Wednesdays. persons with both groups talk, Alzheimer’s have share problems and solutions and learn new some form of agitation and up skills to provide care for their to 50 percent exhibit physical aggression. Many times this is ailing loved ones. Family members and care- due to confusion regarding the givers of the victims of affected person’s physical disAlzheimer’s disease and other comfort. The solution is to help dementia issues are always identify the discomfort and try invited to attend any or all of to correct it. For example, a solution for confusion about the the support group meetings. Among the things partici- location of the bathroom in the

For over 20 years, Dr. Troy Ford, OD

home may be to place a portable latrine next to the bedside. Through the support groups, printed pamphlets and books about Alzheimer’s are recommended (and in some cases provided free of charge). One of the most effective books for caregivers and families dealing with this disease is “The 36-Hour Day” by Nancy Mace and Peter Rabins. This book identifies and offers solutions to problems that emerge in the course of this illness. For questions or more information about the Payson Alzheimer’s Support Groups, contact Grady at (602) 6974870, or Cailey at (928) 4743560. Additional assistance is available through the Alzheimer’s Association 24/7 helpline, 1-800-272-3900, or online at www.alz.org.

SENIORS, YOU’VE TRIED THE REST ... NOW TRY THE BEST!

Has Cleaning become OVERWHELMING?

and the staff at Payson Eye Care have provided residents of the Rim Country with the highest quality primary and medical eye care, plus ophthalmic goods and services unmatched anywhere.

From Windows to Walls, Ceiling Fans to Base Boards... WE DO IT ALL!

The Cheaper

Sweeper

Call BETH Today for your FREE ESTIMATE! SENIOR CLEANING SPECIAL

$

1000 OFF

GIFT CERTIFICATES AVAILABLE

FIRST TIME CLEANING

“Serving Arizona Since 1988”

472-9897

SENIOR CLEANING SPECIAL

5 OFF

$ 00

SECOND TIME CLEANING LICENSED, BONDED, INSURED, NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY W/COUPON. Expires Expires 12/31/13 7/31/12. NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY W/COUPON. Expires Expires 12/31/13 7/31/12. WORKMEN’S COMP.

Dr. Ford specializes in non-surgical medical eye care including exams for glaucoma, diabetes, cataracts, macular degeneration, eye trauma and infections. He also specializes in all types of lens fittings. Our optical features licensed, certified opticians with over 30 years of experience, featuring VisiOffice, the latest in digital measuring technology for eyeglasses.

SUBSCRIBE & SAVE!!! Call (928) 474-5251, ext. 108 to begin home delivery and

SAVE $33.42 per year off the newsstand price! Dr. Troy S. Ford, Optometrist 411 S. Beeline Highway, Suite A

928-474-3556

PAYSON ROUNDUP

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 9

Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots care for caregivers The Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots (RCFMN), a nonprofit program partnering with the Payson Senior Center, funds services to caregivers of individuals with dementia, such as Alzheimer’s and other brain diseases, in the Rim Country. The services provided were unveiled to the general public at the Community Health & Care Fair Nov. 2. The free services offered are: • Respite funds for short-term and timelimited breaks for caregivers; • MedicAlert + Safe Return bracelets for both caregiver and loved one with the disease; and • Educational tuition and materials supporting caregiving. The four volunteers of the RCFMN have been listening to caregivers in the weekly Alzheimer’s Caregiver Support Groups and have designed the services accordingly. Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots is all about helping the Rim Country’s growing aging population and caregivers of those with

dementia attain spiritual, physical, financial and intellectual support. The mission of the RCFMN is to establish and continuously enhance a mutually supportive resource system designed to serve Rim Country caregivers, relatives and friends of persons diagnosed with dementia. To be effective, the non-profit aligns with other community organizations that support caregivers of dementia, such as the Payson Senior Center. Joanne Conlin, executive director of the Payson Senior Center, has worked very closely with the RCFMN for the past year, providing 501(c ) (3) services, Web site availability, meeting facilities and financial support. One of the key initiatives the RCFMN is pursuing is an affordable adult day care center in the Rim Country for those diagnosed with dementia. Rim Country Health Administrator Harvey Pelovsky agreed to take on the initiative with the current plan to open the adult day care center in the first half of 2014. Funding for the services provided by the

RCFMN is provided by individual donations, fund-raising events and grants. Recently, the Payson Care Center, led by Christy VanderMolen, marketing director, held a silent art auction with all proceeds benefiting the Rim Country Forget-MeNots. The auction was a successful event, with artwork provided by 20 professional artists from the Rim Country, artwork donated by the Payson Care Center and donations from local residents. The RCFMN will have its annual fundraising event, Derby Days, in May 2014, which will be a fun, charitable event aligned with Kentucky Derby Days. The Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots opens up a lot of opportunities to the aging population in Arizona’s rural community. If you are interested in more information on receiving support, contact the Payson Senior Center at (928) 474-4876 for an application to receive funding for respite care, MedicAlert + Safe Return bracelets and caregiver education funding for materials and/or tuition.

Pine Senior Center — 20 years of helping neighbors BY TERESA MCQUERREY RIM REVIEW EDITOR

The Pine Senior Dining Room and Pine Thrift Store has been helping residents of the Pine and Strawberry area for 20 years. But they’re neighbors and that’s what neighbors do. Terry Burkhart manages the dining room and the thrift store is under the guidance of Rhonda Bossert. To eat at the dining hall, residents of the area, 50 and older, need to buy a $5 membership with the Senior Citizens Affairs Foundation and then they can enjoy a discounted price on a nice salad bar, starting at 11:30 a.m., Monday through Friday, or have a full lunch. The meals are both homemade and semihomemade. Burkhart is a former nurse, so is careful about the nutrition provided by the meals served to the P/S senior citizens. The Senior Dining Hall also provides the area’s Meals on Wheels to the elderly who are shut-in or temporarily unable to get to the hall due to health issues. The dining hall provides a space to enjoy a television show, visit or play card games such as bridge, canasta and poker.

Sometimes the members go to a Diamondbacks game together. SCAF membership also includes a 10 percent discount on purchases from the Pine Thrift Store the third Wednesday of every month. “That coincides with the monthly Fiddlers’ Jam Session,” Bossert said. The dining hall is open at 11:30 a.m. for the salad bar, but members can come in from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. for the different activities. The Pine Thrift Store is open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Wednesday through Saturday. “Our store is unlike any other. We have nice things at very reasonable prices,” Bossert said. She recently made a trip to Cottonwood and stopped at its Goodwill Store and found an item being sold for about $3 that would go for 25 cents at the Pine shop. She said the dining hall is available for rent for any kind of gathering for which the cultural hall is too large. To check out the dining hall’s menus, sales at the store, community events and activities, go online to www.pinestrawberryscaf.com.

File photo

Dave Earp tops off a Navajo taco at one of the regular fund-raisers for the Pine Senior Dining Hall. The Navajo taco lunches held at the holiday arts and crafts festivals are a primary source of funds for the senior program for Pine and Strawberry.

10 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

;)3**)67)2-367'%6) ;,)2;)¸6)8,)6) %2( 7%*)8=%6392(8,)'03'/ ,IPTMRKWIRMSVWQEMRXEMRMRHITIRHIRXPMZIWQIERW TVSZMHMRKXLIVIPMEFPIMRLSQIGEVIERHWEJIX] XLI]RIIHIZIV]HE] %X'SQJSVX/IITIVWŒ JSVSZIV EHIGEHI[I¸ZIFIIRFVMRKMRKXVYWXIHWIRMSVGEVI WIVZMGIWLSQI[LIXLIVGSQTERMSRGEVIWYGLEW GSSOMRKSVPMKLXLSYWIOIITMRKXSTIVWSREPGEVI PMOIFEXLMRKSVKVSSQMRK RK %RHJSV %RHJSV EVSYRHXLIGPSGOWEJIX]SYV X]SYV 7EJIX]'LSMGIŒ 4IVWSREP)QIVKIRG] H 6IWTSRWI7]WXIQWERH QIHMGMRIHMWTIRWIVW KMZIWIRMSVWERH JEQMPMIWTIEGISJQMRH H XLEXLIPTMWEP[E]W EZEMPEFPI0IEVRQSVI F]GEPPMRK  SVZMWMXMRKSYV[IFWMXIEX EEXX 'SQJSVX/IITIVWGSQ

;;;'31*368/))4)67'31

%ULQJLQJ&DUH+RPH 'EPPYWXSHE]XS WGLIHYPI]SYV*6)) MRLSQIEWWIWWQIRX ERHGSRWYPXEXMSR

ˆ'SQTERMSRWLMT ˆ1IEP4VITEVEXMSR ˆ0MKLX,SYWIOIITMRK ˆ-RGMHIRXEP 8VERWTSVXEXMSR ˆ0EYRHV] ˆ+VSSQMRK(VIWWMRK +YMHERGI ˆ1IHMGEXMSR6IQMRHIVW ˆ4IVWSREP'EVI7IVZMGIW Âł&EXLMRK,]KMIRI Âł-RGSRXMRIRGI'EVI Âł1ER]3XLIVW

928-474-0888 

200 W. Frontier Street, Unit K 27MXKVIEZIW7X Payson, AZ *PEKWXEJJ %>

R etirement living...

with an emphasis on living. Large one- and two-bedroom apartments Month-to-month rentals | Weekly housekeeping Chef-prepared meals | Utilities included Call (928) 474-3912 to ďŹ nd out how we’ll take care of the little things so you will have more time to live your retirement dreams.

%4YLER0ARKWAYs0AYSON !: All faiths or beliefs are welcome. 13-G1417

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 11

You’re not get get the the most most out out of it? For For only only $15 $15aayear, year,Senior SeniorCircle Circle You’reinin the the prime primeof ofyour your life, life, so so why why not of it? Members and national national discounts, discounts,health healtheducation educationand andaawide widevariety variety membersenjoy enjoytravel, travel, friendship, friendship, local local and ofof other you’re 50 50 or or better, better, call callus ustoday todayatat928-468-1012 928-472-9290 learn more and otherfun funactivities activitiesall all year year long. long. IfIf you’re totolearn more and become becomepart partofofthe theCircle. Circle.

PaysonHospital.com

LIFE IS AN

ADVENTURE. EXPLORE SENIOR CIRCLE NOW.

Member Discounts Member Discounts ••Prescription PrescriptionDrugs Drugs ••VSP VisionVision Care Plan EyeMed ••Beltone™ Hearing Beltone™ Hearing ••Complimentary ComplimentaryMeal Meal Coupons for Caregivers Coupons for Caregivers ••Complimentary ComplimentaryPrivate Private Room RoomUpgrade* Upgrade* *When staffing andand availability *When staffing availabilitypermit permit

Healthy HealthyPerks Perks ••Lunch Lunch and and Learn Learn Meet New Friends ••Meet ExercisePrograms Programs ••Exercise Group Activities ••Group Activities • Group Travel • Group Travel • Support Groups • Support Groups

12 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

Lunch & Learn offers chance to grow knowledge BY TERESA MCQUERREY RIM REVIEW EDITOR

Twice a month, seniors in the Rim Country have a chance to grow their knowledge of health and safer living. The Payson Regional Medical Center Senior Circle presents this opportunity at its bi-monthly Lunch & Learn programs. The most recent presentation was on Home Health by Tanya Schlegel-Ryder, interim director of the Payson Regional Home Health Agency. Other recent Lunch & Learn programs were on shingles and adult immunizations by Dr. Chris LeSueur; fall protection by Carl Valenti; and neurology, by Dr. Kristi Gill. The next program is at 11:30 a.m., Wednesday, Dec. 4 with Dr. Amalia Pineres, who will be discussing osteoporosis. Osteoporosis is a bone disease characterized by a decrease in bone mass and density leading to an increased risk of fracture. Pineres will discuss the causes, symptoms and prevention of osteoporosis. Jan Parsons, advisor for the PRMC Senior Circle, said LeSueur had one of the Circle’s biggest Lunch & Learn audiences at his September program, but Gill had at least 100 people at her program — almost more than the facility could handle. The information presented at the Lunch & Learn programs varies from the technical side of what bad cholesterol is and what it does (a program presented by Dr. Jennifer Dumbolton earlier this year) to taking common sense measures in our homes to prevent falls, which was Valenti’s topic in October. Valenti said falls in the home are the top cause of trauma injuries. As of his Oct. 23 program PRMC’s emergency room had dealt with 540 cases of trauma caused by

Teresa McQuerrey/Roundup

Carl Valenti discussed fall prevention at an October Lunch & Learn program presented by PRMC’s Senior Circle.

falls. “That’s huge. Medicare spends $30 billion on fall injuries,” he said. That cost is expected to go up to $54.9 billion by 2020. He said 60 percent of the fall injuries (primarily to seniors) are due to conditions in living spaces. Valenti suggested the following to minimize the risk of falls in the home: • Keep floor space open and clean. Get rid of rugs or make sure they have nonslip backing. Move cords out of the way. • Keep stairs clutter-free and make sure

support bars are secure and stairs are illuminated. • In the kitchen, keep things within reach if at all possible; if it is necessary to store small appliances and other kitchen goods in elevated spots, make sure you have a steady step stool or ladder and use it, not a chair. • In the bedroom, make sure there is a light by the bed that is easy to reach and keep the path from the bed to the bathroom well lit. Illuminated tubes (holiday lights now available) are good to secure along the baseboards or where the walls meet the floor, Valenti said. • In the bathroom, make sure the shower/tub floor is not slippery; install support rails both in the tub and by the toilet. • Other — exercise regularly to improve strength, balance and coordination; make sure medications are safe and be aware if they cause dizziness and/or sleepiness; have vision checked; getting to your feet from bed or a chair, rise slowly to minimize the chance of dizziness. Lunch & Learn topics tentatively planned for the new year are: Qigong with Tom Quirk, who will be teaching Tai Chi at the Senior Circle in the next few weeks; neuropathy and nerve pain by Dr. Kristi Gill; heart issues by Dr. Salvatore Gillette; joint replacement by Dr. Patrick Harrison; and PRMC’s new Senior-Friendly Emergency Room, probably with Carl Valenti, who is its director. The Senior Circle’s Lunch & Learn programs are at 11:30 a.m., the first and third Wednesday of the month (generally). Reservations must be made at least 48 hours in advance in order to have enough food. Call (928) 472-9290 to reserve a seat. The Circle is at 215 N. Beeline Highway.

Remember Payson Senior Center at tax time From page 2

furniture is especially needed — and volunteer time if possible. Currently, The Center is selling raffle tickets for a 1/2 carat diamond. Tickets are $25 each or three for $50, with only 200 to be sold. Proceeds will benefit the program that helps displaced students in the community and The Center. Payson Jewelers donated the diamond, which has a retail value of $3,600. The

drawing will take place at 2 p.m., Sunday, Dec. 22 at Dimi Espresso in the Swiss Village. In addition to the proceeds from the Thrift Store and assorted fund-raising efforts, The Center gets approximately 43 percent of its funding from Payson, Star Valley, Gila County federal and state contracts and grants. The remaining 57 percent comes from the Thrift Store and fundraising efforts, along with donations,

grants and legacy giving. The Center is a certified Working Poor Tax Credit charity. As residents make their year-end tax plans, we ask them to remember The Center and what it provides the community’s elderly and other non-profits. To learn more, please stop by for a visit. The Center is at 514 W. Main St., Payson. Call (928) 474-4876 or visit the Web site paysonseniorcenter.org for additional details.

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 13

Little things are a big part of healthful aging was my life-long inspiration, moved into an assisted living facility, she was almost 90. My idea of healthy aging is a lifestyle that In the first few years she lived there, I allows one to experience meaning in daily helped her write two books of her memoirs. living by paying attention to one’s own During that time, I experienced her in a health and balance of mind, body and spirit. fresh and exciting new light and our It’s taking time to listen to the relationship grew even richer. I then wisdom of one’s body, knowing that became very interested in learning the power is within each of us to more about memoir writing techmake more healthful choices as to niques and I attended writing workwhat we eat and how to take care of shops, read books about writing ourselves when it comes to getting memoirs. That resulted in my facilienough exercise and rest. Little things mean a lot when it Peggy Martin tating a memoir writing class there at the assisted living facility for my comes to healthful aging, such as shifting one’s thinking to “gratefulness for mother and other residents who wanted to what I have rather than remorsefulness for write their memoirs. That experience was the beginning of my fascinating interest in what I’ve lost.” Throughout our lives, we’ve acquired memoir writing and I’m presently writing skills, talents and interests that may be my own. I continue to facilitate workshops shared with others if we realize the value as well, and all of this has added rich of doing so — my experience has been meaning to my life and to the lives of othsuch that the more I give to others, the ers. more my own cup runs over. Paying attention to what adds meaning As an example — When my mother, who to our lives is healthy aging!

From page 3

SUBSCRIBE & SAVE!!! Call (928) 474-5251, ext. 108 to begin home delivery and

SAVE $33.42 per year off the newsstand price!

PAYSON ROUNDUP

Most of us now have more control of how we spend our time. We can schedule time for whatever it is that we know will provide more meaning to our lives. A good start is to pay attention to our physical wellness. Do something good for your body — little things: remember to drink six to eight glasses of water daily; decrease toxic sugars by limiting soft drinks; and eat lots of fresh vegetables and fruits. About the author

Peggy Martin is a clinical nutrition consultant and an experienced whole foods cooking facilitator. She offers the Cookin’ for Health programs at the Payson Public Library. The next one is planned for 1 p.m., Saturday, Dec. 14. Sign-up information is available at the library, 328 N. McLane Road. She will also present a program on Nutrition for Healthy Immune Systems at 4 p.m., Tuesday, Dec. 10 at the Payson Public Library. To contact Peggy, call (928) 978-5718 or send an e-mail message to peggymartin1@ icloud.com.

14 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

Payson Care Center reduces return hospital visits Payson Care Center is a 121-bed facility specializing in post acute care (short term rehabilitation) and is also home to 60 fulltime residents. The Memory Care Unit is the only secured Alzheimer’s unit offered in the Rim Country. This unit is specifically designed for patients suffering from memory loss and who tend to wander. Payson Care Center is a champion and educator of “INTERACT” — a key tool in the services it provides its patients. The program is designed to improve care using strategies and tools to help reduce the frequency of patient transfers back to the hospital. In fact, the “bounce back” rate of transfers back to the hospital for Payson Care Center is currently 5 percent, a big improvement over their 2012 rate of 22 percent. Under the leadership of Director of Nursing Jaden Rosser, Payson Care Center received a deficiency free state survey in 2013. It also received minimal tags under its federal survey, most of which were environmental issues that were corrected with its recent remodel. Payson Care Center recently received a huge facelift, which features new paint, artwork and furniture. The facility improvements continue after the first of the year with construction of a new rehabilitation gym. Dr. Alan Michels is medical director for Payson Care Center. Local physicians John Vandruff, Jaber Abawi, David Cluff, James Schouten, Christopher LeSeuer, Jeannie Evans, Kevin Raymer, Alfonso Munoz, Louis Coppelli, Sam Gillette, Michel Marmer, Patrick Harrison and David Darnell follow the attention given their patients at Payson Care. Each year, Payson Care Center participates in the Business Showcase as a member of the Rim Country Chamber of Commerce, the Women’s Wellness Forum and is a sponsor of the Payson Community Health Fair. This year, Payson Care Center performed 78 balance assessments at the Nov. 2 health fair. Each month, Payson Care Center provides items to the Senior Center Meals on Wheels recipients, including toothpaste, toothbrushes, lotions, shampoo and deodorant. The facility offers lectures and workshops on critical health topics for the senior community throughout the year. Among the topics covered: diabetes, infection control, bal-

Contributed photo

Christy, Mary and Kathy, of Payson Care Center, pictured at a silent art auction which raised $2,400 to benefit the Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots, a support group for caregivers of loved ones with Alzheimer’s and other dementia issues.

ance assessment, Alzheimer’s education and Parkinson’s disease. Payson Care Center is currently offering free balance assessments to reduce the risk of falling. Schedule a free test by calling (928) 4747960. Payson Care Center participates in national fund-raising events such as Relay for Life and the Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Last year, Payson Care Center raised more than $4,000 at the first Payson Walk to End Alzheimer’s. This year, the facility raised $2,400 at a silent art auction to benefit the local group Rim Country Forget-Me-Nots, which provides financial assistance to the area’s support groups for the caregivers of loved ones with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementia issues. Payson Care Center strives to provide a fun work environment for its staff. During Nursing Week, the staff participated in team building activities that included a tug of war, a wheelchair race and pie-throwing contest. Participating in the August Rodeo Parade is a tradition for Payson Care Center staff and its residents. In 2012, Payson Care Center won best motorized vehicle, and in 2013, it won best themed float. Led by Activities Assistant Laura Gabaldon, the residents at Payson Care Center are a big part of the development and creation of these floats. At Halloween 2013, the staff costumed as

characters from the popular children’s movie “Despicable Me.” This year, Maryann Miller, Jessica Stone and Alutha Skidmore were the 2013 Certified Nursing Assistants of the Year. Christy VanderMolen won the Spirit Award and also won the award at the regional level. This was the second year in a row that Payson Care Center won the regional Spirit Award. Last year’s recipient was staff member Ulus Jordon. Upcoming events at Payson Care include Adopt a Resident for Christmas, ongoing freeBalance testing, core strengthening classes and a Parkinson’s lecture in January 2014. Many of the center’s residents have no family nearby or no family at all, and live on very limited financial resources. This year, there are two Christmas trees in Payson Care’s lobby identifying the needs of these residents. Staff members and visitors can select a resident and bring some Christmas cheer to share with these residents. The staff is also working with Healthy Perspectives to identify the needs, educational or otherwise, of our community’s residents with Parkinson’s disease. An event is tentatively planned for January, but depends on the weather. New this spring, Payson Care will have free core strengthening classes offered by its physical therapy department.

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 15

The Powell House moves into outreach BY TERESA MCQUERREY RIM REVIEW EDITOR

The Powell House assisted living facility is making a move into community outreach services. It started in September with a program on veterans’ benefits; Alzheimer’s was the outreach topic in November; and a presentation about ObamaCare by Tom Russell is planned in December. “If we have the opportunity to use our experts in long term care and elderly services, we want to bring them in and share their knowledge and insights with the community,” said Russ Goddard, residence director. Programs tentatively planned in 2014 include estate planning, diabetes education, heart health education and a blood drive. As the Powell House administration and staff develop outreach programs, they are also expanding the activities — called meaningful pursuits — for residents. Often volunteers lead these, but the staff also participates. For instance: • If there are residents who are quilters, Traci Acres, the

Contributed photo

Tom Russell will give a presentation about ObamaCare in December as part of the Powell House community outreach.

coordinator for activities, would reach out to the area’s several quilting groups to see if any of their members would like to come in and quilt with these residents. • Several residents are veterans and they may be interested in visiting with other veterans with shared interests and experiences. • Some residents enjoy walking, so the staff would like someone from a hiking or walking group to come in and lead them on easy treks, getting them outside of the facility for a little bit.

• Residents regularly enjoy music programs, and some who play the piano even help with those. • There is a “Tea with Teresa” program on Sunday, just for a little socializing over refreshments. • Acres leads a cooking club for residents on Tuesdays. • Many of the residents enjoy taking part in the Wii Fit program offered three times a week. Volunteer readers would be welcome, as would anyone who would just like to take some time to visit with residents, Goddard said. They would have to go through a minimal background check and be fingerprinted, he said. One of the things that is especially popular with residents is the dining program, Goddard said. It is a restaurant-style experience, with linens and the rest. The Powell House’s owner corporation dietician prepares the menus, but the residents are allowed liberal dining options, getting to eat what they like more often than what health

care professionals say they should eat. Powell House can accommodate 39 residents in either onebedroom or studio apartments. It has personal service assistants available to residents onsite around the clock, a fulltime registered nurse, a nurse call system, housekeeping and laundry services and more. Residents are assisted with medication management and personalized care plans as well as transportation. There are lounges in which to relax and visit with other residents and guests; a computer area; an arts and crafts program; a beauty and barber salon. The facility even accepts pets, with certain restrictions, and can accommodate guests. It also offers respite and/or transitional care for those recovering from surgery, an illness or other health issue, or just to provide a primary caregiver a brief break. To learn more, go online to www.alcco.com or call (928) 4746249 to schedule a visit.

Some Medicare beneficiaries may qualify for Extra Help From page 5

have limited income and resources may qualify for Extra Help paying for their Part D drug plans. There’s no cost or obligation to apply for Extra Help, also called the low-

income subsidy. Medicare beneficiaries, family members, or caregivers can apply online at www.socialsecurity.gov/prescriptionhelp or call Social Security at 1-800-7721213 (TTY users should call 1-800-325-0778) to find out more.

Senior Center Thrift Shop 512 W. Main • 928-474-3205 • Open Mon-Fri 9-5, Sat 9-4

Great treasures at unbelievable prices. Daily specials.

SHOP-DONATE-VOLUNTEER and help our seniors thrive! Net proceeds go to support the Senior Center Meals On Wheels and Dial-A-Ride programs.

BRING

IN THIS AD FOR

10% OFF

ANY FULL PRICE ITEM

About the author

David Sayen is Medicare’s regional administrator for Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and the Pacific Territories. You can always get answers to your Medicare questions by calling 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227).

NEW PLUMBING COMPANY IN TOWN! Get Aquainted Special Service Rate Now thru 12/31/13

Emergency & Maintenance Repairs Same Rate for Saturdays All work guaranteed! Service with Aloha

Call today for all your plumbing needs: 928.978.6254 MIKE GIBERT PLUMBING ROC#287260

16 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

Dancer gets a ‘new knee on life’ BY CHRISTY VANDERMOLEN SPECIAL TO THE RIM REVIEW AND ROUNDUP

Local resident Arlene Keefer has been dancing since she was 17, so when orthopedic surgeon Patrick Harrison asked her if she wanted a “couch potato knee” or an “active knee” the 90year-old responded “why, active knee, of course.” The tiny woman snuck into dances in her Ohio hometown at the age of 17 and recalls dancing the nights away to the live tunes of Glenn Miller and Jimmy Dorsey. The dances’ restriction to those 18 and older did not keep Arlene from attending. With a little help from make-up and the appropriate dress, she never missed a dance. At the young age of 17, Arlene met her husband. She reports he

Contributed photo

Arlene Keefer had knee replacement surgery at age 90. She has always been active, and intends to stay that way.

was not a dancer, but determined to win her heart, he studied her moves and they soon became one. The Keefers made Payson

their home in 1981 and Arlene soon became an active member of the Payson community. She served as a Pink Lady (hospital volunteer) for the Mogollon Health Alliance for 17 years and ran the food bank for St. Vincent de Paul for many years. She has also been an active volunteer at her church. Religiously, Arlene can be found at Tiny’s Family Restaurant Friday nights dancing with her friends to Carl Anthony. She also attributes her active lifestyle to yoga, which she began doing 15 years ago (she started at 75, folks!). Arlene moved to the Majestic Rim Independent Living Apartments a few years ago when her home just became too much work for her. She knew knee surgery was

inevitable, and took the plunge before the ice and snow hit the streets of Payson. She chose Dr. Patrick Harrison for her surgery and is very pleased with the results. “Though the recovery is hard, especially at my age” Arlene said, she is confident that the success of the surgery will allow her to keep dancing. She thanks all the therapists at Payson Care Center who kept her moving and her spirits up. Just a few short weeks after surgery, her therapy allowed her the freedom to be up and about; attending church and visiting Walmart the day of discharge. So make room, Tiny’s, this dancer has a “new knee on life” and she’s ready to tear up the dance floor.

Mah Jongg is growing in popularity at Circle From page 4

tournaments,” she said. Mah Jongg is commonly played by four players (though it can be played with three). It is a game of skill, strategy and calculation and involves a certain degree of chance. It is played with a set of tiles based on Chinese characters and symbols and a card from the National Mah Jongg League, founded in 1937, (from which complete kits with tiles, etc. can be purchased). The card shows Standard Hands,

against which all games are played; these cards are changed annually. Each player begins by receiving 13 tiles. In turn, players draw and discard tiles until they complete a legal hand using a 14th drawn tile to form four groups (melds) and a pair (head). Mah Jongg is the latest in a variety of social activities the Senior Circle provides its members. It has a knitting group, computer classes, line and ballroom dancing, Bunco and Mexican Train games. It also

Jaber Abawi, M.D., M.R.C.P. Internal Medicine & Arthritis

Board Certified Internal Medicine

Accepting New Patients 1106 N. Beeline Highway Payson, AZ 85541

928.474.5286

offers travel opportunities and regular support groups for those who have lost loved ones. The next Travel with Senior Circle event is from Tuesday, Dec. 10 to Friday, Dec. 13, 2013. Those interested can participate in Laughlin’s Motorcoach Appreciation Week with three days of fun at Laughlin, Nev. The event includes transportation, three

BIG C Tire & Auto (928)) 468-2057 Located d nextt to o the e Mobill Gass Station n on n the e Tonto o Apache e Reservation 24 Hour Emergency Service TIRES: Cars, SUVs, Trucks, Industrial, ATVs Used Tires starting at $25.00 Oil Changes starting at $18.99* Brakes @ $99.00 *Call for details WE WILL MEET OR BEAT ANY COMPETITOR’S WRITTEN QUOTE

nights accommodations at the Edgewater and includes one buffet. For more details and price, contact Senior Circle at (928) 472-9290. The Senior Circle is a national, nonprofit organization committed to enriching the lives of adults age 50 and over. Membership is just $15 a year and offers a generous selection of valuable discounts, activities and

events, exercise and wellness classes, a chapter newsletter and national publication subscription, in-hospital privileges, reciprocal privileges and much more. To learn more, call the Circle at (928) 472-9290 or stop by 215 N. Beeline Highway, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Thursday, or 9 a.m. to noon, Friday (closed holidays).

We Buy Gold, Silver & Coins Top Prices Paid

Bring in your old or broken jewelry, coins, dental gold, or watches. We will buy, trade or sell them for you. WE BUY ESTATES. See Robert and talk to us first! 26 years in the Rim Country

Payson Village Shopping Center•474-9126 www.paysonjewelers.com Open Monday-Friday 9:30-5:00, Saturday 9:30-2:00

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 17

Local colleges produce a great leader Jaden Rosser moved his young family to Payson from Apache Junction eight years ago so he could pursue his nursing degree through Gila Community College and then Northern Arizona University. Supporting his family as a Certified Nursing Assistant, Licensed Practical Nurse and subsequently Registered Nurse, Rosser worked for Payson Regional Medical Center for about five years. Rosser soon moved up the management ladder, accepting a position Contributed photo at Payson Care Jaden Rosser, Payson Care Center’s director of nursing, led Center as its the facility to a deficiency free Assistant Director rating in a state survey. of Nursing. He was quickly promoted to the position of Director of Nursing, supervising a nursing staff of more than 100 and becoming a leader to more than 140 employees. Rosser has just achieved something few nursing directors will ever accomplish. He led his team and the entire staff at Payson Care Center to a deficiency free state survey by the Arizona Department of Health Services. Each year, the state conducts a survey of every licensed skilled nursing facility and typically finds multiple deficiencies. The facility is then allowed to correct those items and improve the facility’s rating. This year, Arizona’s survey reported Payson Care Center to be deficiency free, which is extremely rare. Payson Care Center’s federal survey was also outstanding, with only minimal “tags” that the facility was permitted to correct. Not only has Payson produced a great nurse and leader, Rosser will most likely be one of the most sought out directors of nursing in the skilled nursing industry. Payson Care Center is proud of Rosser, and Payson should be as well.

18 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

classified advertising MERCHANDISE ANIMALS Dog Nail Clipping in the comfort and convenience of your home by Tracy. Local professional groomer of 24 years. $12.00 928-978-4959 Dog sitter needed for small dog in Payson area home for occasional trips to the valley 1 or 2 days at a time 928-517-1136 Free Female Parakeet and 40 Gallon Aquarium w/Stand and Fish $100. 928-215-1047 Lhasa Apso: Adorable, AKC Pups,Potty/pad trained, Shots, $475. Call 928-243-2378

BUILDING MATERIALS Steel Building Bargains, Allocated Discounts, We do deals 30x40,50x60,100x100 and more Total Construction and Blueprints Available, www.gosteelbuildings.com Source #1UL, 928-257-4875

FIREWOOD FIREWOOD & YARD CLEANING SERVICE (COMPETING PRICES) Tree-Trimming, Brush Removal w/Hauling-Service. We also do Backhoe Work.

928-468-2213 or 928-951-6590 HOUSTON MESA FUELWOODS: Juniper, Oak, and Mixes, Call for Prices! Delivery Available, 928-474-9859

FURNITURE Full Size Mattress Hide-A-Bed, Golden Brown, $400. Recliner Chair, Medium Blue, $100. Floor Lamp, Gun Metal Finish, $30. All ItemsExcellent Condition Call 928-468-1125

GUNS/KNIVES CCW CLASS: $75.00 Firearms & Ammunition ,

Call Brian Havey CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR 928-970-0062

MISCELLANEOUS *CANCER CASES* www.cancerbenefits.com Call 800-414-4328.

20 ft. and 40 ft.: Shipping Containters, 928-537-3257 Moving? Retiring? Local Resident looking for established business in area, offering cash 928-978-5322

Need Cash? Want to Sell it?

Ron Brewer Auctions, Now Taking Items for November 16 Sale. Call 928-521-7517 ronbrewerauctions.com

WANTED VEHICLE With under 100k miles priced below $3000. Also want Pre-1980 MOTORCYCLE. Will do repairs to both. 928-468-7060.

CARS 1999 Jeep Wrangler, Soft Top, New Tires, New Top, 120K Miles, 5sp, 4cyl, 2-Deep 4WD, $6,000.Firm, Runs Great Call 928-478-6053

PARTS

QUILTING SISTERS Black Friday & Small Business Saturday Sale 40%, 50% & 75% OFF 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m THE BLIND DOCTOR Broken Blinds? Saggy Shades? Droopy Drapes? WE CAN FIX THAT! Dani 928-595-2968 BLINDS & DESIGNS Repairs, Sales, Blind-Cleaning & More! Two Cemetery Plots in Mountain Meadows Cemetery, (Round Valley), Both Together, $1400.ea OBO 928-970-0297

YARD SALES/ AUCTIONS

2013 Jeep Sahara Rims and Tires, 5 rims 5x5 bolt, with Bridgestone Dueler A/T p255 70 r18 tires. Tires only have 600 miles (0 on spare). Will fit Jeeps 07-14 $1250 928-978-0091

TRUCKS 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 Truck

6 cylinder, manual, stereo. $2800 OBO. A/C. 928-978-2999

MOVING SALES 4. 5054 Spruce Dr (in Pine of Pine Creek Canyon Rd). Fri. & Sat. Nov. 1 & 2 from 8am to 4pm; Antiques and Collectibles, Household Goods, Shop Tools, Furniture, Garden Tools. Everything Must GO!

YARD SALES 2604 W. Palmer Dr. Saturday Only, Nov. 30, from 8am to ? Tools, Kids clothes and toys, Furniture, Also Fry Bread, Burros, Tamales and More

AUTOS/VEHICLES ATVS 2008 Side-By-Side Polaris Ranger XP 4x4, Well Maintained, $7100. 928-468-0306

CAMPERS Leer Camper Shell, Red Fiberglass, 6ft. 8.5in. long, 5ft. 4in. wide, missing back window. $100. obo. 928-472-8502

CARS 1985 BMW Model 25-8 2-Door, Nice Wheels & Tires, Runs Good, Askint $1700.obo or trade, Inside needs some TLC, Body Good, 928-468-6362

2008 GMC Sierra 5.3 V-8, Automatic, 48,500 Miles, Non-Smoker, Bed Liner, $14,500. 928-978-6007 Call for more inforamtion

EMPLOYMENT ACCOUNTING Seeking a Licensed P & C Insurance Agent for Payson Location; Salary/Benefits. Contact Rich @ 480-607-7537, For more details.

ADMINISTRATIVE/ PROFESSIONAL Licensed Realtor

LICENSED REALTOR®?

WANT REGULAR HOURS? AND STEADY PAYCHECKS? WORK IN PROPERTY MANAGEMENT FULL-TIME, PAID VACATION. FAX RESUME TO

I am LOOKING for a

308 Rifle

928-474-3067

that was sold from 81 Quail Hollow, Star Valley sometime in May 2013. My mom sold the wrong gun accidently, and it was my Father’s gun passed down to me. I will buy it back from who ever has it PLEASE. You can reach me at 480-466-2789 or 480-322-1861 Thank You Very Much

CARS

COMPUTER

GENERAL

SmartSystems, Inc. Depot (In Store) Computer Technician We currently have an opening for a computer technician. Responsibilities include repairing computers on our busy in store service bench and customer service within our store to walk in clients. Ideal candidate will have A+, Network + and/or Microsoft OS certification plus 2yrs experience. Must pass drug test, background check, technical interview and have good people skills.

Please send resume to: resumes@ smartsystemsaz.com Onsite Computer Technician

SmartSystems, Inc.

Sales Position

Payson Pet Care Veterinary Clinic KENNEL ATTENDANT Part-time M-F days, some Sat. Must be hard-working and dependable. Will ensure cleanliness of entire clinic with additional duties as assigned. Apply in person: 1010 N. Beeline Hwy., email resume: cathi@paysonpetcare.com or fax: 928-472-9610

HEALTH CARE

Onsite Computer Residential Responsibilities include onsite computer service for our residential clients. Ideal candidate will have A+, Network + and/or Microsoft OS certification plus 2yrs experience. Must have reliable transportation; pass drug test, background check, technical interview and have good people skills.

Please send resume to: resumes@ smartsystemsaz.com

DRIVERS Route Driver

AUTOMOTIVE RECYCLING, LOCAL: Will Pick Up, Good Prices, DAVE’S AUTOMOTIVE RECYCLING, Parts for Sale, M-F, 9-5, Sat 9-1, 928-474-4440

ROUTE DRIVER Full-Time Position Available For Payson Area

Applicant must have Arizona Class B CDL with TankerAirbrakes-HAZMAT endorsement, and must be organized with good customer service skills, job includes local route deliveries and minimal service work. Company benefits include: Medical, 401K plan, paid holidays and vacations. Salary based on experience.

Send resume to: 4601 East Deuce of Clubs Show Low, AZ 85902 or email jbrotz@frontiernet.net

Comfort Keepers is seeking mature, caring, people for Part Time non-medical in-home care. Provide companionship, personal care, meal prep, shopping. Experience Preferred, 200 W. Frontier Rd. #K, 928-474-0888

MISCELLANEOUS Looking for busy people who could use some help!

MISCELLANEOUS Ruth Rand ad

Medicare Supplements Medicare Advantage Part D Rx Plans Under-65 Health Plans

Need: Back Office Medical Assistant, w/Experience in Blood Draws, EKG, Vital Signs, Injections, and Electronic Medical Records Fax 928-472-6176 or Email Resume in pdf format Only: easton708@gmail.com

Sales Professional

CHAPMAN AUTO CENTER CHAPMAN Join Payson’s #1 AUTO CENTER Volume Store Immediate openings for Sales Professional Immediate openings for

We offer: Sales Professional. Full-time employment in a professional We offer: environment Full-time employment in a professional Training with an experienced staff for environment. career growth Training with an experienced staff for A perfect location with great product career growth. plan, 401(k), paid vacation, AExcellent perfectpay location with great product. insurance, bonuses Excellent pay plan, 401k, paid vacation, insurance, bonuses. We require: Excellence in customer service We Require: Great communication skills service. Excellence in customer Professional appearance Professional appearance Computer literacy Computer literacy Internet socialmedia media exp. Internet &&social experience Passion forpeople people Passion for Must pass drug screening Must pass drug screening Must havevalid validAZAZ driver’s license Must have driver’s license

Apply in Person at Chapman AutoAuto in Payson Apply in Person at Chapman in Payson, ask askfor forTodd ToddororGlenn Bill or apply online at Chapmanpayson.com or apply online at Chapmanpayson.com

928-474-5261 100 N. Beeline Highway

with an ad in our

Classifieds! Call 474-5251.

Ruth Rand

Local Independent Broker

978-9108

Call for appointment Serving the Rim Country since 1997

CONSTRUCTION Debco Construction

New Homes, Remodels, Deck, Painting, Garages, Wood/Tile Floors, Affordable Prices, Don 928-978-1996, Lic. & Bonded, Res. Lic.#ROC185345 Commercial Lic.#ROC182282 In Payson Aera 30 years

HANDYMAN Affordable Retired Contractor does All Painting, All Repairs, Power Washing, Hauling, & Color Seals, Tom 928-970-2754 or 928-474-7022 tomkolleck@gmail.com

1-800-869-5119

GET RESULTS UNDER NEW MANAGMENT! Please come meet our new manager. Full time stylist needed. Call Britni 928-468-0010

SERVICES

SALES/MARKETING

CUSTOMER SERVICE SMART STYLES Family Hair Salon

Sexton Pest Control has a position available for outside sales! We are a family owned and operated company, looking for a dedicated person to add to our team. No prior industry experience needed but sales experience is a benefit. We will train! Call 928-474-1760 or email ksexton@sextonservices.net to set up an interview.

High-Quality Assistance for You. People, Pets, and Stuff too! BA degree, Dependable, Professional, with Reliable transportation. $15/hr with 3 hour minimum. Long/Short term. 951-743-5037 mbservices.aturservice@gmail

Services Technician -

Griffin’s is an equal opportunity employer

1991 Honda Accord EX, Auto, Runs Great. $1500.00 OBO 602-350-3260

SALES/MARKETING

Depot Computer Technician

Get local news delivered to your home twice a week. Subscribe to the Payson Roundup. Call 474-5251, ext. 108.

DHW Home Services Decks/Porches Sheds Drywall Texture Matching Paint Remodeling 928-595-1555 Credit Cards Accepted not a licensed contractor

NOVEMBER 27, 2013 • SENIOR REVIEW | 19

HOME SERVICES Delicate Rug Care DRC offers hand washing of fine area rugs, woven Oriental, Persian, hand tufted and many more. We are rug experts. Call today at 480 343 3837 or email us at drcrugs@gmail.com DRC is offering a Holliday special. get your rugs hand washed for only $1.79 square ft. And get free pick up and delivery. Payson’s Open Door Assissted Living Home. Now accepting ALTCS Residents. State licensed for 5 beds. $2500 per month covers everything but meds. Nominated Best of Rim Country for nursing care. Call Kim Miles, RN at 928-474-2096 paysonsopendoor.com

HOUSEKEEPING Deb’s Sparkling Clean Holiday Specials Move in/Move Out Weekly & Bi-Weekly, Monthly Construction, Windows to Base Boards, Fans 928-978-2132

LANDSCAPING

REAL ESTATE HOMES FOR SALE OPEN HOUSE Sat. Nov. 23 & Nov. 30 from 10am to 2pm, 3600sf Home w/Art Studio and RV Garage, 4Br/4Ba, Large Kitchen and Laundry Room, View of the Dells, $475,000. 813 S. Sutton Rd. Payson 602-989-0739

Sit on the front porch of this 2,000 square foot,3B/2B Home with a 600sf detached studio/officer on nearly 2 acres Overlooking the East Verde River. The river flows past the front porch and limestone formations tower out the back porch. Gigantic master bedroom suite with a fireplace and a walk-in closet. Pine paneling, giant living room, big picture windows, two fireplaces, 1.82 acres of boulders and oaks. Plenty of room for kids and visitors. Listed at $319,000 for one of the few riverfront properties in Arizona. 548 W. Eleanor Dr, East Verde Estates. Call: Realty One Group, Deborah Rose-Ellis (928) 978-0063 or Deborah@sellspayson.com

Foreclosures: 30 Homes, both New and PreOwned to Choose From, Free Delivery, Call Bronco Homes, 1-800-487-0712

Silver’s Landscaping & Concrete Concrete & Block, Fences, Paint, etc. Free Estimates, Cell 928-468-6764 Ask for Silverio

PAINTING

COMMERCIAL FOR RENT Office or Retail Space Lowest Rates In Payson Private Bath,500 sq.ft. On Upgraded Remodeled Units, 1 Month Rent Free 602-616-3558

Rim View OFFICE PARK, Executive Suites, Payson’s Premier Office Space, 708 E. Hwy 260, 928-472-7035.

MOBILES FOR SALE

Mario & Mario Landscaping and Masonry Complete Landscaping & Irrigation, Tree Service and Removal. Rock, Retaining Walls, Block Fencing Walls, Wrought Iron Fences. Flagstone & Concrete Driveways, Pavers and Sidewalks. Licensed, Bonded and Insured. Accepting all Major Credit Cards. 1-855-424-3118 or 928-282-3118

Large, Clean, Quiet: 2BD/1BA Apartment In Nice, North East Area, Back Patio, w/Fenced Back Yard,W/D Pets-No,$650.mo Call Dennis @ 928-978-1385

Riverfront Paradise

3Br/2Ba Living Room, Family Room, Eat-In Kitchen, Work Shop, Fenced Patio, Pines, AC/Swamp, Lots more, Only $17,000 602-367-1077.

IRIS GARDEN SERVICE: COMPLETE HOLIDAY CLEANUPS, DEBRIS REMOVED, REASONABLE; PAYSON LIC. 928-474-5932 Cell 928-951-3734 not.lic.contr.

APARTMENTS FOR RENT

REPOS: 2, 3, & 4 Bedrooms, Starting from $9,989. Call Bronco Homes: 1-800-487-0712

RENTALS APARTMENTS FOR RENT

HOMES FOR RENT 1Br/1Ba $550.pm,Fenced Yard, Includes Water/Trash/Sewer, 110 E. Aero,Totally Remodeled, All Electric. Please leave mesage we will return call:928-978-2435 or 928-970-0634

2 BR, 2 BA, House,Intown, Great 2 bedroom, 2 bath, wrap around porch, workshop, large lot, fenced, trees, remodeled, $ 900, 9283005451, bepowell@me.com. 2Br House, $650. 1Br $550. Studio $450. (All Utilities Paid on Above Properties) Call Don 928-978-3423

3+ BR, 2 BA, House, Payson, AZ, 12 months lease, unfurnished, 1500 sq. ft., Microwave, Dishwasher, Fireplace, Air Conditioning, Carpet, pets allowed. Spacious rental home in quiet and safe neighborhood, easy to maintain yards. Two car garage. Large kitchen, dinning room, and bedrooms. Walk-in closet. shower and full tub in master bath. Wood burning fireplace. Recently refinished patio deck. Plenty of storage. $1150/month, negotiable, Marc 602-399-0310.

2Bd/1Ba Very Nice & Clean, Good Location, $650. + Dep. $600. 928-951-5521

HOMES FOR RENT

3Br/1Ba, Star Valley, $900.month. Large Fenced Yard, 2-Sheds, W/D Hookups, FP, Brandy, 480-737-7851 James, 480-208-1562 Beautifully “FURNISHED” “EQUIPPED”, 2Br/2Ba 1800sf, MAIN HOUSE, 1.25 Acres. In Town, Quality Neighborhood, Fire Place/Great Room, TV’s, Pets-Neg. $1,350.mo 602-290-7282 River Community Home, Guest House, Studio, Barn w/Greenhouse, Small Horse barn for Rent. $1475.p/m. 2Bd/1ba Main House, 1Bd/1Ba w/kitchen guest house, 800sf studio w/deck. 500sf barn w/workshop. Horse/dogs-ok. Need first/last month rent plus $500.cleaning dep.and $500.pet dep. Will trade fix-up labor toward rent and deposits at $15.p/hour Need Renter today. Call Don 928-951-0910

In Payson, Nice, Clean 2Br/2Ba, All Appliances, 2 Car Carport, Covered Patio, Fenced Yard, $795.mo, 602-647-2014 or 928-468-1068

Secluded cozy cabin on 3/4 acre off Pine Creek Canyon. 2 B/R 1 Bath. 1 year lease. Fireplace, Small Dogs OK. Part.furnished.$650/mo.+ security. 480- 349- 3080

HOMES FOR RENT Super nice 3/2. Corner lot, fenced. Near hospital. $1200 + dep. Furnished or not. No smoking/pets. Call 928-310-3732 FOR SALE/RENT (ROUND VALLEY) 3100sf,4Br/3Ba Home on 1.65Acres,Huge Garage, Horse Property,Inside Pool, Garden,Berries/Fruit Trees, $269,900.or $1800.mo Rent. Possible Lease/Purchase, 928-978-4011

MOBILE/RV SPACES

CLASSIC ONE-OF-A-KIND 1-Bdrm Duplex,Close to Hospital. Rock Fireplace, Vaulted Ceilings, Fenced Yard. $575/mo. Credit Report & Deposit Req. Owner/Agent 480-649-0005

Mobile Home Sites Available, Owner Will Help w/Moving Costs. Also: Nice and clean travel trailers for rent at Mountain Shadows R.V. Park. Lot space, water, sewer and trash are included for only $380. a month. RV Spaces also available for $256.mo. Walking distance to downtown Payson with onsite manager, laundry facilities and wifi. Call Shawn at 928-474-2406

NOW there are more ways than ever to publish and pay for your classified ad!

ONLINE ANYTIME: PaysonClassifiedsNow.com

Move to Aspen Cove!

Apartments For Rent

CALL:

APARTMENTS FEATURING: • • • • •

HOMES FOR RENT 3Bd/2Ba, MFH 1700sf, Avail. Dec. 6, Pets-Welcomed, Great View; $800.mo 928-468-6629

2 Bedrooms/2 Baths 2 Bedrooms/ 1.5 Baths Washers & Dryers Covered Parking Pet Friendly

928-474-5251, ext. 102

ASPEN COVE

810 E. FRONTIER ST. #46, PAYSON, AZ 85541

(928) 474-8042

Cornerstone Property Services www.cornerstone-mgt.com Cute & Clean: 12x33 1 Bedroom Mobile w/Screened Porch by our residence in Oxbow Estates. Single Adult. $400.mo + Dep. Referrals, & Application Required Please Call 928-595-0435

3BR/2BA/1632sf, Alpine Village, clean/move-in ready, 2-car garage, fireplace, deck w/ views, RV pad, landscaping, shed. Electric Range/MW, Fridge, DW, Washer/Dryer/Water Heater. Vacant-avail Dec1. Non Smokers/small pets neg. $1225/mo@1-yr lease 928-478-2042

Order: 10067186 Cust: -Canal Senior Apts Keywords: 2x2 Apts Available art#: 20113649 Class: Apartments For Rent Size: 2.00 X 2.00

CANAL SENIOR APARTMENTS

1 & 2 Bedroom Units Available

EMAIL: ClassAds@payson.com

WALK-IN: 708 N. Beeline Highway

HANDICAP UNITS AVAILABLE INCOME RESTRICTIONS APPLY

807 S. Westerly Rd. (928) 468-5650 Hearing impaired TDD# (800-545-1833 x298)

PAYSON ROUNDUP

20 | SENIOR REVIEW • NOVEMBER 27, 2013

At Payson Care Center, we are grateful for the many people who make up our successful family of caring health care professionals. Medical Director:

Our awesome staff:

Dr. Alan Michels

Alutha Angie Anissa Anna Ariel Barbara Barbara E. Barry Bertha Bessie Beth Bonnie Brandi Bret Briana Brittney Carol Carol Caroline Cary Catherine Catherine Christina Christy Colton Courtney

Attending Physicans: Dr. Jaber Abawi Dr. John Vandruff Dr. Christopher LeSeuer Dr. Jeannie Evans Dr. James Schouten Dr. David Cluff Dr. Kevin Raymer Dr. Katherine Raymer

Dr. Alfonso Munoz Dr. Louis Copelli Dr. Michel Darnell Dr. Patrick Harrison Dr. Salvatore Gillette Yyvette Thorsen, PA Dr. Michel Marmer

Devotional pastors and church leaders: Deacon Tom Fox Pastor Kelly Woolridge Pastor Steve Desanto Pastor Jim Harper

Pastor Joe Hittle Bishop Jerod Tinney Audrey Moore Ponderosa Bible Church

And thank you to all the other physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners and support staff that assist and consult on their patients.

Cristiana Cynthia Cynthia David David Debora Deborah Debra Debra Denise Denise Destiny Diane Doris Elizabeth Erica Ernestine Geniece Hali Harlan Harold Heather Jacqueline Jaden James Jaqueline

Jasmina Jean Jeannie Jeffrey Jennifer Jessica Jo Joeann John Jordan Joyce Julie Kassidy Katherine Kathy Kevin Krystal Larry Laura Laurie Libbie Lidia Linda Lisa Loretta

Lorna Lynette Lynn Lynn Lynne Mandy Marcella Marilee Marilyn Maryann Melissa Michael Michelle Monica Nancy Nora Nova Pamela Patricia Paula Peggy Rachel Ranay Randi Raychel

Rebecca Renee Rex Richard Robin Rosa Rose Roselyn Rosemarie Sally Sarah Shannin Sharon Sheri T.C. Tamara Tawne Terri Tim Tommy Tracy Trinity Ulus Vicki Vivian

Congratulations Payson Care Center on your outstanding deficiency-free state survey. 928-474-6896 | LCCA.com | 107 E. Lone Pine Dr. | Payson, AZ 85541

Joint Commission accredited


Senior Review Nov. 27, 2013