Page 1

Pocket Pocket Money Money for for children children -

What You Should KnoW Pg 40

Festive home decoration with your child Pg 37


Cover Story

08

September - October 2019


Cover Story

Our traditional approach to gauging someone’s intelligence has been to evaluate memory, logical reasoning, and linguistic abilities. An idea gaining acceptance around the world is that intelligence is beyond Intelligence Quotient (IQ) and our Emotional Intelligence (EQ) is vital too. Parents are the primary source of emotional learning for children, and hence, it is their responsibility to develop EQ in themselves first, and then their children. Read on.

Jinobi Narayanan is an educator and entrepreneur who works with parents and children to develop their emotional literacy. He is passionate about emotional learning and its role in developing creativity, design thinking, problem solving, growth mindset, decision-making and safety awareness among children.

September - October 2019

09


Ask the Expert

HOW DO

make sure my child does his homework regularly?

My child doesn’t finish her lunch box.

WHAT DO I DO

My highschooler is not bothered about tests and exams. How can I make him

UNDERSTAND THE SERIOUSNESS?

Questions like these or questions that other readers have asked in this section - ask any question related to parenting - no question is silly or unimportant!

(Your name, city and other details will be kept confidential, so feel free to reach out)

Write in to us at editor@parentedge.in or Whatsapp us at 9743008833 20

September - October 2019


Pursuits and Passions

24

September - October 2019


Nutrition

32

September - October 2019


Festive Home Decoration with Your Child Kaveri Sachdev is the Co-founder & CEO of My Pooja Box, which aims to bridge the gap between devotees and devotion, by providing a wide assortment of pooja products online.

Benefits of children participating in festive rituals Celebrating festivals is a great way to teach your child about Indian culture. Knowing more about why a festival is celebrated, what its significance is, and why we started celebrating it in the first place, can help a child understand the importance and significance of each festival. This can be a great way to impart values to the child as well. Explaining the importance of each ritual and how it welcomes good fortune for the entire family, may not register with the child just yet, but over the long run, once the child becomes an adult, these are the very same rituals he/she will follow, thanks to you taking the time now to explain their significance. Involve your child in the home decoration process, right from the diya selection to decorating it with paint, from rangoli making to preparing festive food. Make this a project for your children. They will not only enjoy decorating the house, but will also proudly show it off to family and friends who visit; the idols and diyas that they painted on their own, and the pooja thali that they assembled. September - October 2019

37


Everyday Parenting

40

September - October 2019

Profile for ParentEdge Good to Great Parenting

Sept-Oct 2019  

Sept-Oct 2019

Sept-Oct 2019  

Sept-Oct 2019

Advertisement