Page 71

only is the fish considered a delicacy and heavily fished in Asian waters, but it is also revered in culture with festivals and celebrations. Some calendar seasons even revolve around the migration of the flyingfish. Though overfishing has certainly occurred in some areas, the IUCN Red List lists them as “Least Concern.” Their conservation status is stable. When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return. ~ Leonardo Da Vinci

BBC Earth www.bbc.com/earth/story/20150218-flying-animals-you-never-heard-of Science Encyclopedia science.jrank.org/pages/2789/Flying-Fish.html Live Science www.livescience.com/24409-earliest-flying-fish-fossil.html www.livescience.com/49353-flying-fish-evolution.html Fish Laboratory fishlaboratory.com/fish/flying-fish

Where I learned about flyingfish, and you can too!

Encyclopedia of Life eol.org/pages/217606/details

Texas Marine Species txmarspecies.tamug.edu/fishdetails.cfm?scinameID=Cheilopogon%20melanurus

Soft Schools www.softschools.com/facts/animals/flying_fish_facts/318/

National Geographic animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/fish/flying-fish/

Flying Fish flyingfish.us/

National Wildlife Federation nwf.org/Wildlife/Wildlife-Library/Amphibians-Reptiles-and-Fish/Flying-Fish.aspx

SeaPics: Marine Wildlife Photography seapics.com/feature-subject/fish/flyingfish-pictures.html

Fish Base www.fishbase.org/summary/1030

eNature www.enature.com/fieldguides/detail.asp?recnum=FI0272

U.S. Geological Survey fl.biology.usgs.gov/posters/Coastal_Ecology/Cheilopogon_melanurus/cheilopogon_ melanurus.html

Bright Hub www.brighthub.com/environment/science-environmental/articles/99279.aspx

University of the West Indies, Barbados www.soest.hawaii.edu/PFRP/dec04mtg/oxenford_flying_fish.pdf Wiley Online Library: Journal of Zoology onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1469-7998.1990.tb04009.x/abstract

Buzzle www.buzzle.com/articles/flying-fish.html About.Education marinelife.about.com/od/fish/fl/Flyingfish.htm

TSFMAG.com | 69

July 2016  

The July 2016 issue of Texas Saltwater Fishing Magazine.

July 2016  

The July 2016 issue of Texas Saltwater Fishing Magazine.