Issuu on Google+

Child Care Programs

Your Pathway to Success


Child Care Programs 40-Hour Introductory Child Care Training (Birth – 5 years) + (School age 5 years and up)

30-Hour Family Child Care Certification Caring for Children Birth to 3 years Early Childhood Professional Certificate School Age Professional Certificate Continuing Education Institute of Excellence in Early Care and Education College Credit Certificates in Early Childhood Education Early Childhood Education A.S. degree Bachelor of Applied Science in Supervision and Management

1


P

Palm Beach State College supports the efforts of child care professionals in Palm Beach County to provide quality care for young children.

At Palm Beach State College, you can choose from many options in child care training. From entry-level coursework to an associate degree in Early Childhood Education or a B.A.S. in Supervision and Management, count on Palm Beach State College for the training you need to comply with the latest laws, enhance your professional development and meet the needs of the community. As the state’s designated Training Coordinating Agency (TCA) for Palm Beach County, Palm Beach State College offers all of the statemandated training for child care workers. Take a look at the many doors that are open to you at Palm Beach State College.

Financial Assistance Financial aid is available for many of the child care courses offered at Palm Beach State College. Florida Children’s Forum (T.E.A.C.H.) provides scholarships for eligible students. For more information and an application, call 1-877-FL-TEACH, or visit the organization’s website at www.fcforum.org. Palm Beach State College also has scholarship money available through the SEEK program for students who are eligible. Contact the Institute of Excellence in Early Care and Education at 561-868-3660 for an application or more information.

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

2


40-Hour Introductory Child Care Training Center Based (birth to 5 years) Postsecondary Adult Vocational Certificate 561-862-4704

This course fulfills the Florida requirements for child care worker certification necessary for employment in a licensed child care facility. The training consists of three parts:

Part 1 Rules and Regulations-Center Based gives child care providers an overview of state and local rules and regulations that govern the child care industry.

Part 2 Introduction to Child Care Worker Certification provides training on identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect; health, safety, and nutrition; child growth and development as well as behavioral observation and screening techniques.

Part 3 10-Hour Developmentally Appropriate Practices teaches students about preschool, school-age children, infants and toddlers and children with special needs practices.

• Preschool for children ages 3 to 5. It is required for students interested in participating in the Early Childhood Professional Certificate (ECPC). • School-Age for children ages 5 to 12 • Infant/Toddler covers development of newborns to toddlers (36 months). • Special Needs covers ways to successfully include children with special needs into the preschool setting.

3


40-Hour Introductory Child Care Training School age children (5 years and up - through grade 5) Postsecondary Adult Vocational Certificate 561-862-4704

This training is required by the Florida Department of Children and Families for afterschool providers working with children 5 years and older in a licensed child care facility. There are two parts to this program:

Part 1 School Age Child Care Certification covers topics such as local rules and regulations; identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect; health, safety and nutrition; and school age appropriate practices. This certification is state mandated for afterschool providers.

Part 2 Foundations of Advancing Youth Development Principles teaches afterschool providers the stages of development for children ages 5 and up. This certification fulfills the remaining 12 hours of training required by the state for afterschool providers. Students must successfully pass competency exams. Visit www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml or call 561-862-4704 for more information.

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

4


5


30-Hour Family Child Care Certification Postsecondary Adult Vocational Certificate 561-862-4704

This program is required if you plan to operate a licensed family child care home for children birth to 5 years. The 30-Hour program has two courses, Rules and Regulations-Family and Introductory Child Care Worker. The first course gives you an overview of the state rules and regulations for the child care industry. The second course covers training on identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect as well as health, safety and nutrition; child growth and development; and behavioral observation and screening. Upon completion of the certificate program you will be eligible to apply for your license to operate a family child care home. Substitutes in family child care homes must complete the Part I-Rules & Regulations Family Child Care.

Part 1 Rules and Regulations-Family gives family child care home providers, substitutes and informal providers an overview of the state and local rules and regulations that govern the child care industry.

Part 2 Introduction to Child Care Worker Certification provides training on identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect; health, safety, and nutrition; child growth and development as well as behavioral observation and screening techniques.

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

6


Caring for Children Birth to 3 years Postsecondary Adult Vocational Certificate 561-862-4719

The Florida Child Care Professional Certificate (FCCPC) program prepares students who work with children, infants to three years old, in a licensed child care facility or family child care home, for the National CDA. This program includes 120 hours of infant/toddler specialized coursework taught throughout three modules, completion of a professional portfolio/resource file and a 2-Hour on-site observation. Practical experience will be required working with children birth-3 during the training period. Upon successful completion of all course requirements, students are awarded the Florida Child Care Professional Certificate from the Department of Children and Families. To enroll in either the FCCPC or ECPC program, students must be employed in a licensed child care facility or family child care home as you will be observed in the workplace. Additionally, the 40-Hour introductory Child Care Training program and 5-Hour emergent literacy course are prerequisites. After successfully completing the ECPC or FCCPC program, you may be eligible to receive 9 college credits towards an Associate in Science degree in Early Childhood Education.

7


Early Childhood Professional Certificate Postsecondary Adult Vocational Certificate 561-862-4719

The Early Childhood Professional Certificate (ECPC) program prepares students who work with children three years – five years old in a licensed child care facility or family child care home, for the National CDA. This program includes 120 hours of preschool specialized coursework taught throughout three modules, completion of a professional portfolio/resource file and a 2-Hour on-site observation. Practical experience will be required working with children 3-5 during the training period. Upon successful completion of all course requirements, students are awarded the Early Childhood Professional Certificate from the Department of Education. To enroll in either the FCCPC or ECPC program, students must be employed in a licensed child care facility or family child care home as you will be observed in the workplace. Additionally, the 40-Hour introductory Child Care Training program and 5-Hour emergent literacy course are prerequisites. The 10-Hour Preschool Appropriate Practices is also required for students registering in the ECPC program if not taken in the 40-Hour course. After successfully completing the ECPC or FCCPC program, you may be eligible to receive 9 college credits towards an Associate in Science degree in Early Childhood Education.

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

8


School Age Professional Certificate 561-862-4704

The School Age Professional Certificate (SAPC) program prepares students who work with children 5 years and up (through grade 12) in a licensed afterschool program to earn a Department of Education (DOE) School Age Professional Certificate. The program includes 80 hours of formal classroom instruction taught throughout two modules, completion of a professional portfolio/resource file, formal interview and a 2-Hour on-site observation. Practical experience will be required working with children 5 years and up during the training period. Upon successful completion of all course requirements, students are awarded the School Age Professional Certificate from the Department of Education. To enroll in the SAPC program, students must be employed in a licensed child care facility or afterschool program working with school-age children as you will be observed in the workplace. Additionally, the 40-Hour School Age Certification Part I & Part II - Foundations of Advancing Youth Development Principles Training Program or 40-Hour Introductory Child Care Training Program are prerequisites. The 10-Hour School-Age Appropriate Practices is also required for students registering in the SAPC program if not taken in the 40-Hour course. Check the website www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml for additional information on prerequisites.

9


Continuing Education 561-862-4716

Learn new professional development skills at Palm Beach State and earn CEUs! Courses are offered for practitioners working with children ages birth-15 years. We offer a variety of early care and education courses in continuing education designed to enhance the knowledge, skills and professional development of those working in the child care and afterschool field. Some of the areas of focus for the continuing education courses are VPK performance standards, early literacy, first aide CPR, youth development and courses designed to support the Florida Core Competencies.

The Institute of Excellence in Early Care and Education 561-868-3669 or 561-868-3663 We offer courses and trainings through Corporate and Continuing Education that support the Florida Core Competencies for Early Care and Education Practitioners. Core competencies are the knowledge and skills needed by the workforce to provide high quality programs and services to children and their families. The competencies include the following knowledge or subject based areas: • Health, Safety, and Nutrition • Child Development and Learning • Building Family and Community Relationships • Teaching and Learning Environments and Interactions • Curriculum • Observing, Documenting, Screening, and Assessing to Support Young Children and their Families • Professionalism The Core Competencies provide the outcomes for the non-credit and the college credit coursework, thus providing a link between the two pathways creating a coordinated and cohesive professional development system. Practitioners who enroll in the Corporate and Continuing Education courses can enhance their knowledge and skills in early childhood education as well as transition to college credit coursework. For more information, go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/ieece.xml

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

10


Palm Beach State College’s Partnership with Department of Children and Families (DCF) Palm Beach State College has been the Training Coordinating Agency (TCA) for the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) since 2000. As the TCA, we oversee all DCF state-mandated child care instruction and training, as well as, administer the state competency exams in the county. The DCF Child Care Training Database System records and maintains information on all classes, students and certificates. DCF offers online childcare training courses. For more information, visit their website at www.myflorida.com/childcare; select “Child Care Main Page” then “Course Registration.” Now, select the “Online Courses” blue button. Competency exams can also be scheduled at this website. All exams are given at Palm Beach State College’s four campuses. Other information that may be found on the DCF website includes: • Training and credentialing information • Training information, training exemptions and in-service requirements • Training schedule by county • Course registration • Exam registration • Payment information (online courses and exams) • Your DCF training transcript

11


Grow and mature your career! College Credit Certificates 561-868-3349 Continue to develop your child care career with a college credit certificate (CCC). The College offers CCCs in Child Care Center Management, Infant/Toddler, Pre-School and High Scope areas for providers who want to work primarily with children birth through age 5. Let the credits you earn in a CCC program get you started on your Associate in Science degree in Early Childhood Education. Visit the website for specific certificate offerings. www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

120


Fill another piece of the puzzle and earn an associate degree Early Childhood Education Associate in Science 561-868-3349 You can gain knowledge of all aspects of child development when earning an associate degree in early childhood education.

13


Gain practical hands-on teaching experience, while preparing for a career working in the field of early childhood education. After completing the Associate in Science, students may be eligible to transfer into the Bachelor in Early Care and Education degree in Florida Atlantic University’s College of Education or into Lynn University’s Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education Grades K-6 plus Pre-K/Primary (Age 3 to Grade 3) or Palm Beach State’s Bachelor in Applied Science Supervision and Management. Students who have earned their Early Childhood Professional Certificate (ECPC), Caring for Children Birth – 3 Years (FCCPC) at the college or earned their National CDA are eligible to receive nine credits that can be applied toward an associate degree in Early Childhood Education. For more information, visit www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml or see an academic advisor at one of our four campuses.

Bachelor of Applied Science in Supervision and Management 561-868-4105 Courses from the A.S. degree may transfer into Palm Beach State’s Bachelor of Applied Science program in Supervision and Management. A B.A.S. degree prepares you with workforce knowledge skills in leadership, human resources, organizational decision making and more. It is primarily designed for students with associate degrees looking to earn a bachelor’s degree to advance in their professional education. For more information, see the website at www.palmbeachstate.edu/bachelor.xml.

For complete information go to www.palmbeachstate.edu/childcare.xml

14


Palm Beach State College

Child Care Programs 40-Hour Introductory Child Care Training (Birth – 5 years) + (School age 5 years and up)

30-Hour Family Child Care Certification Caring for Children Birth to 3 years Early Childhood Professional Certificate (ECPC) School Age Professional Certificate Continuing Education Institute of Excellence in Early Care and Education College Credit Certificates in Early Childhood Education Early Childhood Education A.S. degree Bachelor of Applied Science in Supervision and Management

For updated information, call (561) 862-4700

www.PalmBeachState.edu

Child Care

Palm Beach State College is committed to the policy that all persons shall have equal access to its facilities, educational programs, employment or activities without regard to race, color, creed, ethnicity, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, marital status, veteran status, or disability. Palm Beach State College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award the associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call (404) 679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Palm Beach State College. The Commission should be contacted only if there is evidence that appears to support an institution's non-compliance with an accreditation requirement or standard. Printing was supported through the Carl D. Perkins Vocational & Technical Postsecondary Education Section 132 grant.


Childcare Programs