Page 3

W E L C O M E Oracle’s Plan for Africa’s Tech Transformation

WWW.AFRIC AOUTLOOKMAG.COM

EDITORIAL

For the second year in succession, one company dominates our issue this month, with Oracle once again taking centre stage to unveil its extensive plans for Africa in 2015. Africa Outlook’s longstanding relationship with the global IT specialist leads to an even more comprehensive overview this time around, as a range of directors from the Company’s international offices share their views on a host of sectors, trends, CSR initiatives and future forecasts. We delve into Oracle’s expertise across big data, mobile apps, SaaS, PaaS and smart cities and highlight a selection of customer spotlights which display the importance of close partnerships within the renowned Oracle business model. Continuing the theme of technological prominence, the rest of this month’s showcasing section also features Airtel’s growing influence in Malawi and the Seychelles, Computer Warehouse Group’s ongoing innovations in Nigeria and Sierratel’s strengthening of Sierra Leone’s fibre backbone. The tech sector’s supporting cast, as always, features the full selection of industry; comprising Vestas South Africa and Langer Heinrich Uranium in the energy and mining domains; food & drink catered for via Arenel, Liquor City and BrandActiv; manufacturing assembled by the likes of Davis & Shirtliff and Liebherr; and SAPETRO’s story of exploration success in the oil & gas arena. Knight Frank’s residential consultancy services in Kenya offer a slightly more international flavour to the issue, adding to a front-of-book section which addresses three, key, multinational issues. North Africa’s descent into continental obscurity is in the process of being resolved and we discuss how Egypt is leading the charge to restore the region to former glories. Elsewhere, Landon Romano and Innocent Chikunya outline their vision for third world development via wealth migration projects, and IGU’s Jérôme Ferrier discusses Africa’s energy-driven future through the Matthew Staff harnessing of LNG. Editorial Director, Outlook Publishing Enjoy the issue! OIL & GAS FOCUS 22 IGU President, Jérôme Ferrier discusses Africa’s energy-driven future

AIRTEL MALAWI 74 Driving economic growth with financial inclusion products

VESTAS SOUTHERN AFRICA 100

Positive round four results for world-leading wind energy providers

LANGER HEINRICH URANIUM 108

Increasing production in line with country forecasts

AFRICA OUTLOOK ISSUE 27 ALSO FEATURING: COMPUTER WAREHOUSE GROUP | DAVIS & SHIRTLIFF | LITHON PROJECT CONSULTANTS

Editorial Director: Matthew Staff matthew.staff@outlookpublishing.com Deputy Editor: Emily Jarvis emily.jarvis@outlookpublishing.com

PRODUCTION Production Manager: Daniel George daniel.george@outlookpublishing.com Art Director: Stephen Giles steve.giles@outlookpublishing.com Advert Designer: Mandy Farnell mandy.farnell@outlookpublishing.com Images: Thinkstock by Getty Images

BUSINESS Sales Director: Nick Norris nick.norris@outlookpublishing.com Operations Director: James Mitchell james.mitchell@outlookpublishing.com Sales Manager: Ben Wigger ben.wigger@outlookpublishing.com Senior Project Managers: Arron Rampling arron.rampling@outlookpublishing.com Donovan Smith donovan.smith@outlookpublishing.com Project Managers: Callum Philp callum.philp@outlookpublishing.com Eddie Clinton eddie.clinton@outlookpublishing.com Josh Hyland josh.hyland@outlookpublishing.com Stuart Parker stuart.parker@outlookpublishing.com Tom Cullum tom.cullum@outlookpublishing.com

ACCOUNTS Finance Director: Suzanne Welsh suzanne.welsh@outlookpublishing.com Office Manager: Jen Whitfield jen.whitfield@outlookpublishing.com WEB DESIGN: Hamit Saka IT: James LeMay

OUTLOOK PUBLISHING Managing Director: Ben Weaver ben.weaver@outlookpublishing.com Chairman: Mark Weaver CONTACT Outlook Publishing Ltd Woburn House, 84 St Benedicts Street, Norwich, Norfolk, NR2 4AB, United Kingdom Sales: +44 (0) 1603 959 652 Editorial: +44 (0) 1603 959 655 SUBSCRIPTIONS Tel: +44 (0)1603 959 655 Email: matthew.staff@outlookpublishing.com

www.africaoutlookmag.com Like us on Facebook - facebook.com/africaoutlook Follow us on Twitter - @Africa_Outlook

WWW.AFRICAOUTLOOKMAG.COM

3

Profile for Outlook Publishing

Africa Outlook - Issue 27  

Africa Outlook - Issue 27  

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded