Page 8

EDITORIAL

OTTAWA THIS WEEK - EAST - May 5, 2011

8

Tories must allow for compromise

S

tephen Harper’s appeal to the voters to deliver him a majority government did not fall on deaf ears. The Conservatives picked up 167 seats, an increase of 24 seats. The Tory tide once again swept across Ottawa, with only David McGuinty and Mauril Belanger holding on to Liberal seats in Ottawa South and Ottawa-Vanier. In Ottawa Centre, Paul Dewar secured his seat for the NDP. The anticipated surge of NDP support did not hurt the Tories, except in a few ridings in Quebec, where most of the seats picked up by the party were taken from the Liberals. During the campaign, the prime minister warned Canadians that a minority Tory government couldn’t hold on to power and would fall prey to a coalition of the Liberals, NDP or potentially the Bloc Quebecois. Harper’s predictions were alarming with warnings of hits to the financial markets, deficit spending and possibly reopening the Constitution for another divisive debate that nobody wanted. Canadians obviously listened, and Harper no longer faces the spectre of having to compromise

or work to achieve consensus with the opposition. But is that necessarily a good thing? Yes, a majority government will give the Tories the tools to pass legislation that could have been delayed by a united opposition. And as Tory MP Gordon O’Connor pointed out, a majority win will allow the Conservatives to stand down from continuous preparation for yet another election, and focus on the task of governing. But when they were a minority government, the Tories were forced to listen to the ideas of other parties and to compromise. The politics of consensus forces a leader to sift through the ideas of competing parties and incorporate the best parts within his or her own policies. We hope winning a majority won’t go Harper’s head. The Tories often use the word “arrogance” to explain the federal Liberals fall in fortune, they might want to avoid a similar accusation over the next four years. Be a good prime minister, Harper. Listen to other ideas, use the best ones. Remember, in a democracy we elect a prime minister, we don’t anoint a king.

COLUMN

A winter game for all seasons

M

any factors go into making Canada the unique country it is, as recent political events have shown. On a non-political level, we have Tim Hortons and the Group of Seven and a large group of comedians located in the United States. We have football with three downs. We have three coasts and at least two seasons. We have many languages and very few species of deadly snakes. We have movie theatres that don’t show Canadian movies. Oh, wait, other countries have those too. One of the other non-political things that has been commented upon lately is the fact that our hockey season, the season for a winter game played on ice, now lasts into June. In fact, one estimate puts the last possible Stanley Cup final game as late as June 18. This has consequences that go far beyond sport. Coupled with daylight saving time, it means that many Canadians will be indoors in the air-conditioning watching television while the sun is still shining and they could be outside playing games and getting fit. It also means that a goodly percentage of Canadians, those who avidly follow

CHARLES GORDON Funny Town playoff games, show up for work tired and grouchy, or not show up at all. Productivity declines. Furthermore, children of permissive parents who avidly follow games played on the west coast will be difficult in class unless, mercifully, they fall asleep. This may explain why our children are constantly outperformed by children who come from countries where there is no hockey. These are some of the important social and economic consequences of our obsession with hockey and the hockey owners’ obsession with dragging out the season. As we see from the world news, in most other countries, spring is a time for getting the crops in, playing baseball and staging insurrections. Not here. Which

East

just goes to show that there is more to the Canadian identity than an unelected Senate and the notwithstanding clause. If the hockey nuttiness ended here, you could put it down to a mild case of national eccentricity – people staying up too late, watching TV when they could be strolling in the spring evening air when it’s not raining. But, unfortunately, there is more to it. For at the same time as the rest of the world is having revolutions, spring planting and baseball games, those Canadians who venture outdoors, are playing hockey. But they’re not playing hockey with ice and a puck. They’re playing hockey with pavement and a ball. Ball hockey interest peaks in the spring because all those boys and girls and their parents want to try out the moves they see on television, except for the hitting from behind and elbows to the head. So out they go onto the street, between televised games, just as the professional hockey season is winding down and many hockey players, in fact, are out on the golf course. This typically Canadian scene causes cars to be inconvenienced and the more fussy neighbours to be upset, leading in turn to another uniquely

80 Colonnade Rd. N., Ottawa, Unit #4, ON K2E 7L2 T: 613-224-3330 • F: 613-224-2265 • www.yourottawaregion.com

Vice President & Regional Publisher Chris McWebb chris.mcwebb@metroland.com • 613-221-6201 Regional General Manager John Willems john.willems@metroland.com • 613-221-6202 Advertising Manager Terry Tyo terry.tyo@metroland.com • 613-221-6208

Editor in Chief Deb Bodine deb.bodine@metroland.com • 613-221-6210

Digital & Classifieds Advertising Manager Josh Max josh.max@metroland.com • 613-221-6207

Reporter Michelle Nash michelle.nash@metroland.com • 613-221-6160

Director of Distribution Elliot Tremblay elliot.tremblay@metroland.com • 613-221-6204

Political Reporter Laura Mueller laura.mueller@metroland.com • 613-221-6162

Distribution Operations Manager Janet Lucas janet.lucas@metroland.com • 613-221-6249

Flyer Sales Bob Burgess bob.burgess@metroland.com • 613-221-6227

Managing Editor Patricia Lonergan patricia.lonergan@metroland.com • 613-221-6261 Associate Editor Matthew Jay matthew.jay@metroland.com • 613-221-6175

Canadian phenomenon – the complaint to city hall and the police raid on street hockey nets. If you lived in Lusaka, Jakarta or Paris, you would not be aware of any of this. The streets of those cities are notable for their absence of hockey nets. In Canada, the police raids on outdoor hockey nets lead to letters to the editor, phone calls to talk radio shows and a lot of public hand-wringing generally. The rights of kids (and their parents) to have fun are weighed against the right of private property and a uniquely Canadian philosophical battle ensues. This will last until the real hockey season begins again and everybody goes back inside.

Editorial Policy Ottawa This Week welcomes letters to the editor. Senders must include their full name, complete address and a contact phone number. Addresses and phone numbers will not be published. We reserve the right to edit letters for space and content, both in print and online at www.yourottawaregion.com. To submit a letter to the editor, please email to patricia.lonergan@metroland.com , fax to 613-2242265 or mail to Ottawa This Week, 80 Colonnade Rd. N., Unit 4, Ottawa, ON, K2E 7L2.

For distribution inquiries in your area or for the re-delivery of a missed paper or flyer, please call 1-877-298-8288

Automotive Representative Derek Boyd derek.boyd@metroland.com • 613-221-6152 Classified Advertising Danny Boisclair danny.boisclair@metroland.com • 613-221-6225 Classified Advertising Kevin Cameron kevin.cameron@metroland.com • 613-221-6224 Distribution District Service Rep. Steven Robinson steven.robinson@metroland.com • 613-221-6213 Regional Production & Projects Manager Mark Saunders mark.saunders@metroland.com • 613-221-6205

Distribution: 19,334 Homes Weekly Advertising Deadline Monday 10 am Classified Deadline Monday 10 am Editorial & Community Calendar Deadline Friday 5 pm

Publisher’s Liability: The advertiser agrees that the publisher shall not be liable for any damages whatsoever arising from errors in advertisements beyond actual amount paid for space used by the part of the advertisement containing the error. The publisher shall not be liable for non-insertion of any advertisement. the publisher will not knowingly publish any advertisement which is illegal, misleading or offensive. The contents of this newspaper are protected by copyright and may be used only for your personal non-commercial purposes. All other rights are reserved and commercial use is prohibited. Permission to republish any material must be sought from the relevant copyright owner.

Ottawa This Week - East  

May 5, 2011

Advertisement