Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 106 | Nov-Dec 2021

Page 1

C e l e b r a t i n g 9 Ye a r s in O l d Tow n e !

General & Cosmetic Dentistry

Enjoy a made-to-order Husband & Wife:

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen C o m p r e h e n s i ve E ye C a r e

meal featuring fresh produce, USDA premium Ranchero meats &

Quality Dentistry in a Caring Environment

the season’s

freshest shrimp & fish. Dr. Maryam Jackson, DDS

714.628.0633

743 East Chapman Ave. Orange, CA 92866 714- 997-5495

Old Towne Orange / 11 am - 9 pm 227 East Chapman Ave #C

www.smilesoforange .com

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

121 North Lemon St.

Available for Private Events

Classes make Great Gifts & Holiday Memories dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

ENJOY YUMMY TOWN THE FINEST SOUTHERN SCRATCH-MADE CHIX

149 North Glassell St Old Towne Orange

(714)

602-8220

JAXONSCHIXTENDERS.COM

OrangeReview.com

Resident Old Towne Specialist

Since 1949

Orange’s #1 Home Seller O ra n g e R e a lty .com Old To w n e O r an ge .com

714- 997-0050 x 101

News for the Neighborhood

November / December 2021


“ T h e L a s t O r c h a r d ” b y M a r i n u s We l m a n / O i l o n c a n v a s / 4 8 ” x 6 0 "

I N S I D E A RT : S t o r y o n p a g e 2 6

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2021

3


# 1 BROKERAGE IN ORANGE*

Your Neighborhood Realtors BEN WILLITS / CALBRE #0185881

SUSIE WILLITS / CALBRE #01852527

DOUG WILLITS / CALBRE #01787611

Visit us at our Old Towne Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St. for Professional Representation. Call us today: 714-315-8120

Buy / Sell / Lease Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities * Results based on production from office located in zip code displayed. Data provided by California Regional Multiple Listing Service and its member Associations of REALTORS, who are not responsible for its accuracy. Analysis dates are 12/01/19 though 11/30/2020. Does not reflect all activity in the Marketplace. Analysis results © 2020 Real Data Strategies, Inc., under license to Lalapoint, LLC and named MLS member firms. All rights reserved. License #00745605

dougw@sevengables.com • susiew @ gmail.com • benw @ sevengables.com 4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2021

5


6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2021

7


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher As we enter the final months of 2021, here at the Plaza Review, we express our sincere appreciation to everyone who continues to make this publication a reality. This includes our readers, advertisers and those who open the doors of their businesses and even homes to share their uplifting stories. With each issue of the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review, we are invited into the homes of residents who are caretaking for a wide variety of historic homes within Old Towne and Orange. These gracious homeowners allow us to peek into their houses and lives. Readers tell us that they enjoy the home tours, finding them informational and inspirational. See the Old Towne home of Christy Mecxin and her fiancé, Austin Muckenthaler, on pgs. 18-21 and on the front cover. In each issue, we also take a close look at businesses and organizations that have become woven into the fabric of the Orange community. On page 16, we check in with Adel and Zalfa Mahshi, owners of Byblos Cafe, serving Old Towne for 32 years. Then on page 17, the folks at Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market, a part of the community since 2009, inform us of upcoming holiday events and offerings. You can also read about the illustrious past of the Orange Rotary, currently celebrating its 100th year in Orange (pgs. 24-25). With each issue of the Plaza Review, I’m always pleased to see so many photos of smiling faces. The joy reflected in those pictures represents the pleasure I feel in being blessed to share all these wonderful stories about a community so close to my heart. I wish you a wonderful holiday season filled with memorable times with family and friends.

What’s Happening NOVEMBER 2021 Sat / Nov 6 / 10 am - 5 pm Country Roads Holiday Open House Holiday décor, refreshments, inspiration & holiday vibes galore! 204 W Chapman Ave / 714-532-3041 Facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques Sat - Sat / Nov 6 - 13 / 10 am - 8 pm Community Foundation of Orange Orange Field of Valor A patriotic tribute honoring all Veterans & Active Duty Military. Handy Park: 2143 East Oakmont Ave communityfoundationoforange.org

. . .

Sat / Nov 13 / Noon - 7 pm OHS Pub Crawl Going Back in Time Enjoy fine brew, music by DJ Richard Blade & a live performance by Idol X. 1886 Brewing 114 North Glassell www.facebook.com/ohspubcrawl Wed / Nov 17 / 5 - 7 pm Chapman University Winterfest & Doy's Tree-Lighting Live performances of holiday music, storytelling, tree lighting, Santa & snow. Attallah Piazza / 714-628-2750 events.chapman.edu/82606 DECEMBER 2021

Tue / Nov 9 / 7 pm Chapman Holocaust Lecture Series An Interfaith Service of Remembrance for Kristallnacht 1938-2021 Beckman Hall: One University Dr Chapman.edu/holocausteducation

Sat / Dec 4 / 1 - 4 pm City of Orange Heritage Days Celebrate the early history of Orange from a dusty pioneer settlement to the bustling town that grew from the Plaza. Orange Main Library 407 E Chapman Ave

Thu / Nov 11 / 2 pm City of Orange Veterans Day Tribute Honoring all who served with patriotic music & inspirational speeches. Depot Park: 100 North Atchison St 714-744-7278 / cityoforange.org

Sat / Dec 4 / 4:30 pm Rotary Club of Orange Centennial Gala A Roaring 20’s Theme with Libations, Entertainment & Dinner. 1886 Brewing 114 North Glassell St KristineReynolds.rotary@gmail.com

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2021 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com

8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

Around the Plaza Sun / Dec 5 / 3:30 - 7 pm City of Orange Tree Lighting Ceremony Evening of holiday cheer & family fun. Plaza Square / 714-744-5599 cityoforange.org/2183/special-events Fri / Dec 10 / Noon - 4 pm Friends of the Orange Public Library Annual Holiday Used Book Sale A wide range of topics, in nearly new condition, suitable fo gift giving. Orange Main Library 407 East Chapman Ave Fri / Dec 10 / 7:30 pm Sat / Dec 11 / 2 & 5 pm St. John’s Lutheran Church The Sounds of Christmas Free community Christmas concerts with the Jubilate Choir, adult choir, festival orchestra & handbell choir. 185 S Center St / stjohnsorange.org Tue / Dec 14 / 3 pm Chapman University Economic Forecast Compelling information on consumer spending, interest rates, employment, housing, GDP & trends for 2021. Virtual Presentation economicforecast.Chapman.edu

Sat / Dec 18 / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown Farmers Market Gingerbread Decorating Decorate your choice of a gingerbread house or a gingerbread man, in collaboration with Crema Artisan Bakers. Reservations required. Free kid’s holiday craft. 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org Fri / Dec 24 / 6 pm Sovereign Grace Church Christmas Candlelight Service Join us for a traditional, outdoor candlelight service in the historic Woman’s Club garden. Sing well-known carols and enjoy hot drinks & treats 121 South Center St / 949-436-5915 www.sovgraceoc.org/christmas ONGOING

Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Volunteer Farm Friday Plant, harvest, compost, mend soil & more. All ages invited, as new volunteers are paired with seasoned volunteers to work on farm projects together. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org

Every Sat / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown Farmers Market A great way to begin your day, with quality produce & fresh healthy foods. 2nd Sat Free Cooking Demo 3rd Sat Kids Club / Seed Lending 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org Every Sat / 10:30 - 11:30am Naranjita Flamenco Adult Beginner Classes Easy-to-follow instruction. naranjitaflamenco.com / 714-400-2939

134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

Nov/Dec 2021

Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson 123karen@earthlink.net Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell

Dragonfly Shops & Gardens Monthly Workshops Including Mosaic Tiling, Kokedamas, Fairy Gardens, Baubles & more. 260 North Glassell St / 714-289-4689 www.dragonflyshopsandgardens.com Dec 3 - 27 Summerhill Ltd. Crown Jewels Trunk Show Top line vintage jewelry. 110 South Glassell / 714-771-7782 www.SummerhillAntiques.com Through Jan 15 Hilbert Museum of California Art Art Exhibitions Our Golden State: California Landscapes & Henrietta Berk: 1In Living Color 167 North Atchison St 714-516-5880 / hilbertmuseum.org

klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu Photographer Kristin Smetona info@smetonaphoto.com Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com Printed by Freedom Printing estella@freedomprinting.net Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2021

9


10

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD

by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

For Life’s Big &

As 2021 comes to a close and the final months of the year begin, this fall is the perfect time to take advantage of Old Towne’s latest offerings and check out the new storefronts around town. The three businesses highlighted this month, Grand Gimeno, Megan Robertson’s Designs and Super Antojitos, are ready to help Orange neighbors with life’s big and small moments.

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

Grand Gimeno With restrictions lifting and people coming together to celebrate life events they missed out on, the Grand Gimeno is opening just in time to offer a beautiful and historic space for weddings and events. The venue combines indoor and outdoor areas for guests to enjoy the historic building, which sits near the Orange Public Library on North Grand Street. Guests will be able to book events for dates starting in November, and the Grand Gimeno team is delighted to share the renovated area with the community. “We’re looking forward to people enjoying the entire space and bringing life back to this building,” says Armand Barragan, Chief Operating Officer of Jay’s Catering, the business that created the Grand Gimeno venue. This is the fifth event space operated by Jay’s Catering, but the first in Orange. Like so many other buildings across Old Towne, the Grand Gimeno is hosted in a historic site. To redesign the space, the developers stuck to the building’s roots while adding a touch of modernity. “We’re so excited to repurpose this existing building that has been a fabric of the community for so many years,” says Todd Cottle, of C&C Development, which managed the conversion of the existing building in partnership with Adam Chez of Charis Capital. “It feels great to be able to increase the longevity of the space, both physically and economically.” The property’s history was the main reason Barragan and the Jay’s Catering crew chose Old Towne as their next business venture. “This

Grand Gimeno creator Armand “A.J.” Barragan (center left) and building owners Adam Chez (center right), Barry Cottle (left) and Todd Cottle (right) stand in front of the Grand Gimeno’s front entrance. Named after the original architect Harold Gimeno, the event space can host up to 300 guests.

space has good bones, and wedding venues do so well in historic downtown areas,” says Barragan. “My grandfather started this company 50 years ago. Since then we’ve had several venues, but I think this is our best so far.” At the Grand Gimeno, wedding goers have access to spacious amenities like bridal suites, a preevent room and al fresco eating areas. The dining space was constructed with the idea of creating a full culinary experience, as Barragan says the wedding’s cuisine

Wishing You

Peace & Prosperity

this HolidaySeason !

www. B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

129 West Chapman Ave. / 714.538.7180 Open Wed - Sat: 8 am - 9 pm

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Small Moments

usually stands out to guests. The Jay’s Catering team took their time crafting memorable and delicious menu options, and the Grand Gimeno itself hosts a 70-inch wood-fired pizza oven and a live fire cooking station. One of the available menus is the Asado Menu, an Argentinian BBQ-inspired course complete with different meats, salads and sandwiches. “It’s going to seem like Chef’s Table at this venue,” says

Barragan. “We want it to feel really special, as opposed to your basic wedding food.” The team has already had more than 50 events booked in the upcoming year, and they’re excited to continue providing the venue to the Orange community. “It’s been so rewarding to see the process all come together,” says Barragan. “We’re so excited that now people can see the vision of this high-end wedding venue.”

Grand Gimeno 146 North Grand St. / 714-636-6045 / GrandGimeno.com

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980 226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537 November / December

2021

11


/ PHOTO BY DANIELLE NICOLE

Whether you’re looking to renovate your living room or deck out your office space, the team at Megan Robertson’s Design is ready to take on the challenge. Located above Cafe Zocalo in Old Towne, Megan Robertson’s Design is a fullservice interior design firm started by Megan Unger. Unger, who established the business in 2001 when she still went by her maiden name Robertson, originally got her creative start at The Enchanted Florist, an Old Towne flower shop. After constructing creative flower arrangements as a high school student, something clicked. “I realized I liked playing around with colors and combinations, and that’s what intrigued me,” she says. “Then a trade school talked to my high school about different types of design, and I completed my AA in design school.” While working at The Enchanted Florist, Unger also realized something else—she loved the atmosphere in the Plaza, and eventually wanted to return to working there. After living in Orange her whole life and running a studio out of her home, she says she’s eager to be back in Old Towne and connect with the community. “My dream was to work in the Plaza again,” says Unger. “I love having my office here because it’s so beautiful and inspirational.”

DanielleNicole.Photography

Megan Robertson’s Designs

Interior designer Megan Unger shows off her new studio in Old Towne Orange. After living in Orange her whole life, Unger knew working in Orange also felt like the right fit. She worked out of a home studio for years, but is now open for business in an Old Towne office.

Now, Unger is putting her talent for colorful combinations to use by offering interior design services to residential and commercial clients. Her business model lets customers decide exactly how far they’d like to take the redesigning process, from a one-hour consulting

conversation to a complete house makeover. After decades of designing, Unger still finds joy in helping clients craft their dream space. “I want clients to know that this is suppose to be fun for them,

and I want to take the pressure of designing off of them,” she says. “Some people might be intimidated by interior designers, but I focus on you, your feelings and your design.” Unger’s client-forward approach helps her dive into the work and get into her customers’ mindsets. By getting to know them, she says she’s able to visualize their individual styles and construct the setup that accurately fits their needs. “Megan is so talented at finding the possibilities in a design and hearing what the client needs and wants,” says Design Assistant Sarah Pearce. “She consistently produces beautiful products, big or small.” If you’re looking for a general contractor, Unger’s husband owns Infinity Builder, a contracting company. Together, the duo have built a network of painters, electricians and other home professionals to provide clients everything they need to renovate their dream location. As she heads into her first year in the Plaza, Unger looks forward to changing customer lives through design. “If you’re happy, then I walk away happy,” she says. “I’m a people pleaser, so I love watching a room come to life and making my clients satisfied.”

Megan Robertson’s Design 134 South Glassell St. / instagram.com/MeganRobertsonDesigns

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

Featuring • V INTAGE • C OLLECTABLE • • F URNITURE • R ECORDS • • J EWELRY • A RT G LASS • • R OCK & R OLL T - S HIRTS • & MORE ! “Located in Old Towne Orange.”

208 East Chapman Ave Old Towne Orange , CA 92866 OPEN WED-SUN: 11 AM - 5 PM

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques 12

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

(714)

363-3996

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Since 1985, Super Antojitos has introduced cities across Orange County to authentic Mexican food. After opening more than 14 locations, most recently in Santa Ana, the team is ready to settle down their family-owned business in Old Towne Orange, consolidating to one location. The new Orange location, which sits in the building that previously hosted Mead’s Green Door Cafe, has been Owner Laura Rodriguez’s dream for a while. “I absolutely just fell in love with the city of Orange,” she says. “We love the diversity here.” Laura’s parents, Guillermina and Jose Luis Rodriguez, opened Super Antojitos more than 30 years ago after emigrating from Mexico. After 10 years in the Santa Ana location, they were ready to pass over the reins. Laura’s younger brother, Jose Luis Rodriguez, Jr., dreamed of magnifying the family legacy by taking Super Antojitos to a city like Orange, but passed away in 2019. After his death, Laura stepped up even more to continue operating the family business. “My little brother contributed so much to Super Antojitos and improved our recipes and customer relationships,” she says. “I loved his passion and vision for our business. He’s my inspiration to move to the beautiful city of Orange and continue to evolve the concept of what we are all about.”

SmetonaPhoto.com

Super Antojitos

Now, Laura is starting her own tradition with new menu items, events and drinks. She’s putting Super Antojitos on the map with a housemade mole, a Mexican curry that she’s adapted to feature both sweet and spicy flavors. “I take a lot of pride in our mole because it’s 100 percent made from scratch and brings the best of both worlds to your palate,” she says. “We’re keeping the roots of our original recipe the same, but we’re improving and catering to this new generation.” Super Antojitos serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and has an extensive menu. The eatery offers a blend of traditional and modern Mexican cuisine, with dishes like

Super Antojitos Owner Laura Rodriguez holds up menu items with her older brother, Jesse, and poses with a photo of her younger brother, Jose Luis, who passed away in 2019. The restaurant has remained family-owned since its opening in 1985, and Laura is excited to continue her family’s legacy.

wet burritos, enchiladas and fajitas, as well as menudo, a traditional soup that takes hours to cook, and pozole, a brothy, meat-filled stew. “We serve breakfast all day, every day, or you can get a slower pace dinner while catching a game,” says Jesse Rodriguez, Laura’s older brother and a Super Antojitos employee since 1985. “We’re looking forward to seeing old customers and meeting new ones so we can serve our authentic Mexican food every day. It’s not just a job when you love what you do.”

Laura also plans to host wine sampler nights and introduce customers to Mexican wine. The wine nights will include professional tastings with their sommelier, paired with five small dishes to bring out the flavors. “I love the culture and history behind wine, and I keep finding great wines that Mexico has to offer,” says Laura. “I want Orange to experience how wine pairings bring our authentic dishes to life even more.”

Super Antojitos 644 West Chapman Ave. / 714-905-5300 / instagram.com/SuperAntojitos_Orange

24 Santa Discount Days before Christmas in Celebration of our 42nd Christmas

30% OFF ALL OUR FINE JEWELRY Dec. 1 thru 24, 2021

Purchase any item valued $10+ in Oct, Nov or Dec 2021 Receive a Coupon for

25% OFF

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems “Our Integrity is Our Promise”

A “N AME” YOU CAN TRUST

Renée Jewelers

• Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

Serving the Community since 1980

Call today for a Free Estimate:

138 North Glassell • Orange, CA

714-538-1956 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

www.GuardianRoofs .com

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619

*

any item In-Store Only redeemable 1/1 - 2/28/2022

* only regular priced merchandise applies * one coupon per customer * can not be combined with other offers

129 North Glassell St Old Towne Orange 714.997.8697

TiddlywinksOC.com

November / December

2021

13


14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

Join the Festivities

While the weather around Orange slowly turns toward cooler temperatures, the businesses in Old Towne are heating up for the upcoming holiday season. Holiday cheer takes many forms, and this year the owners at Byblos Cafe, Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market and 1886 Brewing Company & Smoqued BBQ & hope to turn the neighborhood into a festive environment with their menu items and events.

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

This winter, Owners Mike Hernandez and Drew Ciora of Smoqued BBQ and 1886 Brewing Company hope to lift holiday spirits in Orange through both of their businesses. At Smoqued BBQ, Hernandez plans to bring back his annual toy drive benefiting the Ronald McDonald House. “We usually throw a party and invite our restaurant VIPs to come and celebrate,” says Mike. “In turn, they bring gifts and we end up with several trucks full of toys. We’re excited to do that this year.” This year marks the seventh anniversary of the toy drive, and Mike envisions the event as a way for the restaurants and community members to give back. “The toy drive is one of my favorite events of the year. The community gathers, and it’s a season of joyful giving,” says Lauren Hernandez, Mike’s wife and owner of Laurenly Boutique in Old Towne. Hernandez will host his toy drive event on the patio of 1886 Brewing Co., now open to the public as an event venue. He’s had several companies book holiday office parties in the space and has availability for other events. “The back patio is like its own little unique venue within our restaurant,” he says. “It’s an inti-

SmetonaPhoto.com

1886 Brewing Company & Smoqued BBQ

mate setting for events with a customized menu and its own satellite bar for guests.” The patio is decked out with ample seating, heat lamps, lights and weather covering. Although 1886 Brewing Co. officially opened last November, the pandemic made it difficult to fully enjoy the brewpub and its offerings. This is the first year that customers will be able to dine indoors during the winter, and the staff hope to create a welcoming atmosphere filled with festive spirits. “I think of the brewery as a hub for the city, and we love having everyone get together to eat and drink,” says Lauren. “When we

Business partners Drew Ciora (left) and Mike Hernandez sip on craft beers in the yard area of 1886 Brewing Company. The duo opened Smoqued BBQ, their first joint venture together, in 2012, but are excited to celebrate their first holiday season in their newest brewery.

have it decorated, it will feel warm and cozy, making it the perfect gathering spot for everyone to enjoy throughout the season.” Over at Smoqued BBQ, the chefs will host multiple turkey smoking classes for customers. As Thanksgiving approaches, Mike hopes that the Smoqued turkey courses will give people an opportunity to try a new cooking concept for their meat.

After opening a new business during the pandemic, Mike and Lauren are grateful for the community’s support over the past year. “Last year was such a gray time for people, and we missed that holiday cheer,” says Lauren. “We’re thankful for the people in Orange, and we want to give them a space to forget about the stress in their worlds.”

1886 Brewing Company 114 North Glassell St. / 714-922-8130 / 1886BrewingCo.com

Smoqued California BBQ 128 North Glassell St. / 714-633-7427 / SmoquedCaliforniaBBQ.com

118 South Glassell St. O l d To w n e O r a n g e

714- 538-8160

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2021

15


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

Join the

Festivities CONT. FROM PAGE 15

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

After 32 years serving Old Towne Orange homemade Mediterranean cuisine, Adel and Zalfa Mahshi of Byblos Cafe know how to celebrate the holidays. Together, the husband-and-wife business team have perfected the art of satisfying their customers’ seasonal cravings. For decades, Adel and Zalfa have used the restaurant’s back patio as a venue, especially for office holiday parties. Though the pandemic has slowed down corporate parties somewhat, they still host events and catering yearround. This year, if you’re looking to host a smaller, at-home gathering, Byblos Cafe offers an extended version of their mezza sampler plate. The dish comes with sides and dips like hummus, baba ghanoush, falafel balls and feta cheese, which Zalfa explains is perfect for hosting holiday appetizer celebrations. “We’ve got a good variety of holiday options for customers,” she says. “On our menu, we’re also planning Lebanese specials like a pork tenderloin fillet and cast iron chicken.” But the most popular holiday dish by far is the lamb shank, a limited option the Byblos staff makes only on occasion. The

SmetonaPhoto.com

Byblos Cafe

Byblos Cafe owners Adel and Zalfa Mahshi present their traditional Mediterranean food on the restaurant’s back patio. After almost two years of pandemic uncertainty, the pair are grateful to make connections with their diners. “I have customers who called to check on us during lockdown just to see if we were doing okay,” shares Zalfa.

seasonal item is in so much demand that there’s a waiting list for the dish, and it keeps growing. “I have a list of people I email whenever we’re doing the lamb shank special,” says Zalfa. Another popular entree is the kebab plates, complete with sides and protein options, including beef, shrimp, kafta, vegetables, fish and more. And if there’s

As 2021 comes to a close, Adel and Zalfa are heading into the holidays full of gratitude. “Because of our loyal customers, we’re still in business,” says Adel. Zalfa agrees. “Our customers backed us up over the past two years, and it’s so important. We wish everyone a very happy holiday season.” Byblos Cafe 129 West Chapman Ave. / 714-538-7180 / byblosorange.com

something you’re missing from the Byblos menu, Adel encourages guests to reach out with requests, especially for holiday meals. After more than 30 years in business, Adel and Zalfa are taking time off for themselves. They’ve scaled their hours back and are now open from Wednesday through Saturday.

Over 40 Years of Experience! • • • • • • • • •

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

T I TA N

AUTOMOTIVE (EST. 1976)

Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

939 W. Chapman Ave.

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com

(at Batavia St.)

Orange, CA 92868 O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help! 16

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

714- 997-2311

1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

With warm Southern California weather to keep the market open all year long, Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market plans to make use of outdoor opportunities to celebrate the holidays. This winter, the market will have vendors set up with seasonal crafts, treats and events. Orange Home Grown’s biggest holiday event takes place on December 18th, when guests of all ages participate in an outdoor gingerbread decorating event with Crema Artisan Bakers, an Irvine-based bakery that will provide fresh gingerbread houses and gingerbread men, along with a special decorating kit. “We want to give people a safe opportunity to have fun,” says Orange Home Grown Executive Director Megan Penn. “People are looking for outdoor activities, and this is a great feel-good event.” Market Manager Devyn Montanez is thrilled to feature new merchants that add their own unique charm to the market. She’s particularly excited about All Green Farms, a vendor selling ready-tomake jujube tea kits with dried jujubes (a type of red date), ginger, Asian pear and cinnamon sticks. “These farmers can only sell items that they’re growing themselves, which is pretty cool,” says Montanez. “The jujube tea kit smells like Christmas.”

SmetonaPhoto.com

Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market

Assistant Market Manager Noah Echegaray (left), Education Farm Volunteer Coordinator Christine Clarke and Creative Manager Paul Sergeant pose at the weekly Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market. This holiday season, the market will be filled with local handmade products, festive foods and live cooking demonstrations.

Montanez also recommends checking out Buy Ranch Direct, a sustainable meat vendor with a family-owned ranch. This year, customers can pre-order a whole pasture-raised turkey for Thanksgiving, as well as pre-packaged grassfed chili, roasts and bone broth kits. And if you’re headed to the market with gift-buying in mind, Montanez suggests shopping from the small craft businesses. The handmade marketplace is filled with holiday gift ideas, and the vendors rotate each week. You’ll find items such as holiday-scented candles made locally in Orange and

handcrafted wooden cutting boards. Back at the Orange Home Grown Education Farm, the gardeners are preparing to grow winter plants that will thrive during the colder months. A popular crop among the Education Farm team is cauliflower, planted in white, purple and cheddar yellow, as they love planting fruits and vegetables that spark inspiration in growing and eating. “This month we planted the winter crop cabbage in alternating colors of emerald-green and red,”

says Education Farm Volunteer Coordinator Christine Clarke. “Our goal is to cultivate community and encourage creativity and education. With our Youth Food Literacy Program, students will be planting garlic as a learning experience. Then we can all see how easy it is to grow garlic here, even in winter.” To learn more about Orange Home Grown’s upcoming festivities and RSVP for the gingerbread event, visit OrangeHomeGrown.org.

Farmers & Artisans Market: 303 West Palm Ave. Education Farm: 356 North Lemon St.

Relax in Your Own Personal Skin Care Spa Let’s face it, the past year and a half has been challenging. So, now’s the time to treat yourself to one of our relaxing custom facials in Old Towne’s only private spa setting. New clients who book online receive $20 off any Signature Facial. • • • • • •

Holistic Skin Care Anti-aging Facials Acne Treatments Microcurrent Toning Treatments Wellness & CBD Products Gift Cer tificates for the Holidays

Online booking available: www. SkinCarebyChristina .net 5-Star rated on YELP!

Visit our ETSY store at “summerhillantiques ”

Vintage Chandeliers • Furniture • Mirrors • Lamps Custom Lampshades & Upholstery Services • Sconces Interior Design Services Available • www.Summerhill.com 110 South Glassell St / Old Towne Orange / 714-771-7782 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

369 South Glassell St, Orange, CA 92866

( 714 ) 450-2878

November / December

2021

17


Built in 1920, the Craftsman bungalow on Shaffer Street presents a cozy front porch perfect for holiday decorating and enjoying the view. “The first time we saw this house from the curb, we knew it would be the home for us,” says Austin Muckenthaler, homeowner.

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989 COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

serves as the Muckenthaler Cultural Center. In the 1960s, Walter’s son Harold donated the property to the city to be a cultural center and museum. Austin sits on the board of directors. Austin, who works for the Orange County Community Foundation, attributes his lifelong love of old homes to the countless hours he’s spent at the cultural center during his life. “It was a very elegant ranch house surrounded by orange, citrus and avocado trees and still very much looks like a family home,” he says. “I’ve always been interested in history and majored in history at California State

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Old Towne for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card.

Family Owned & Operated

Call for Free Estimate

The most comprehensive policy for Historic homes.

714­974­9448 www.ShaferPlumbing.com S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

University, Long Beach. I love the fact that we are now living in a historic home in the historic district of Old Towne Orange. There is so much heritage everywhere you look. This house is the perfect fit for us.” Despite being a rental for decades, the two-bedroom, onebath home built in 1920 was in decent shape when the couple acquired it. Although there was a hodge-podge of things that had been added through the years, the home did not require extensive renovation. They got to work replacing the old knob-and-tube electricity, installing new light fixtures and outlets and shoring

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867

60 Plaza Square #200 Orange, CA 92866 (714) 978-4200 www. AdamGuss .com In the Heart of the Historic Orange Plaza.

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

to Chapman U

were so excited for the possibility of owning a home here. I used to rent an apartment on Almond and always knew I wanted to come back to Old Towne to live. When our offer was accepted, we were elated. We closed escrow in April 2021.” Having previously resided in Tustin near Irvine, the couple has deep ties in Orange County that inspire their love of old homes. Originally from Los Alamitos, Austin is a member of the pioneering Muckenthaler family of Orange County. In 1925, his granduncle Walter Muckenthaler built the landmark 18-room mansion in Fullerton that now

East Chapman to 55 Fwy

to 57 Fwy

to 22 Fwy

Less than a year ago, Christy Mecxin and her fiancé, Austin Muckenthaler, began searching for a single-family home in Orange County that would embody the “authentic American experience” of living within walking distance of a historic downtown. They set their sights on Old Towne Orange, and when a Craftsman bungalow on Shaffer Street came on the market in their price range, they wasted no time checking it out. One look at the exterior of the historic home, and they knew they wanted to make an offer before they even set foot inside. “This house had been a rental since the1970s,” says Christy. “We

South Glassell

L

A Nice Part of the Community

License #0G50204

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

Christy and Austin met on a blind date six years ago and have been together ever since. They are engaged to be married and plan to raise a family in their newly acquired home in Old Towne.

Original Chicago-style windows bring abundant natural light into the living room where the home’s original push-button light switches are still intact. The antique tables came from the home of Austin’s grandfather, Larry.

Written by Karen Anderson Photos by Kristin Smetona: www.smetonaphoto.com

up the sagging roof on the original carriage house in the back. At some point in the home’s history, a previous owner had added popcorn ceilings. “The first thing we did was hire a professional to remove those popcorn ceilings and expose the original plaster,” says Austin. “I figured out a way to

smooth out the flaws, cracks and discoloration on the ceiling.” Many of the home’s original architectural elements are still intact, including the cabinets in the kitchen and the gorgeous built-in hutch that takes center stage in the living room. There’s also an original medicine cabinet in the bathroom, plus original

push-button light switches. The couple recently refinished the original hardwood flooring in the living room to match the new flooring they installed in the hallway. All of the doors in the home are original, including the front door and the doorbell, which rings loudly in the kitchen like

the bell of an old schoolhouse. “Visitors are blown away by the fact that it’s an actual bell,” says Christy. “We love it!” Also original to the home are 21 total double-hung windows. Abundant natural light flows throughout the home, especially in the front room where three CONTINUED ON PAGE 20

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening license #580269

• On-line Payments & Disbursements

Historic Restorations

• Improve Property Value

Remodels

• 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Kitchen and Bath

Real Estate Sales & Investments

Exterior Makeovers Siding

• Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business

Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs

Find us on:

714- 744-5711

Painting

www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

Termite and Dry Rot

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

General Contractor - Keith Misumi

(949) 795-6812

www.BearFlagOC.com

November / December

2021

19


The centerpiece of the dining room, the original built-in hutch was one of the biggest attractions that inspired the couple to purchase the home.

O LD

T OWNE

Christy loves to bake during the holidays. As with many items in their home, the Old Towne Orange towels on the oven were acquired locally and were designed by local artist Sage and Rue. The cabinets are all original from the 1920s. Austin recently replaced the kitchen floor.

A Nice Part of the Community sets of “Chicago-style” windows are defined by fixed panes of glass flanked by vertical windows. “All of the door frames and window frames were previously painted white,” Austin says. “Our next project is to expose the natural wood of the frames and

5

Additional toppings extra. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 12/31/21

20

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

CONT. FROM PAGE 19

paint the walls white. In the kitchen, we plan to convert the old ironing board closet into a spice cabinet. We’re still settling in and there’s more to do.” Christy and Austin met on a blind date six years ago through Austin’s cousin, an acquaintance

of Christy’s. Instead of going bowling on a group date, Austin ended up taking Christy to dinner at Habana restaurant in Costa Mesa. They’ve been together ever since and are engaged to be married next year. With a master’s degree in

education from UC Irvine, Christy earned her teaching credentials in 2020. She currently teaches English at Costa Mesa High School, and also coaches cheerleading and dance at Corona Del Mar High School. A cheerleader in college at UCI, Christy has enjoyed an

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 12/31/21

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


P ROPERTY

Often working from home, the couple appreciates their home office space featuring an antique sewing table repurposed into a desk. Photos of their travels hang from original picture rails on the plaster walls.

Seated in their backyard, Christy and Austin savor fresh-squeezed orange juice from their own tree. They also enjoy entertaining friends and family in this outdoor garden area.

Thanks to the plethora of windows, both bedrooms receive plenty of natural light. The previous carpet in the bedrooms and halls have been replaced with luxury, vinyl-plank flooring. The home is rewired, and new fixtures and fans are installed throughout.

illustrious cheering career as an internationally renowned judge and coach. It’s very rewarding being a mentor to young women,” she says. “Like dance, cheerleading is very much an athletic endeavor.” Christy and Austin never miss

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

attending the weekly farmers market in Old Towne on Saturdays and frequent the antique shops and restaurants in the Plaza. They enjoy getting to know the neighbors on their street, several of whom are also in the teaching profession. As

members of the Old Towne Preservation Association, they want to continue to get involved with Old Towne history and explore as much as they can. “We are starting to feel like we are part of the community and our neighborhood,” says Christy.

“We are proud to be the first owner/family to buy this house in 50 years and want to become good stewards of this special property. We like the notion that we are making this a permanent spot for our future family.”

November / December

2021

21


TALK OF THE

Lighting Up the Plaza ! J OHNNYE

M ERLE’S

G ARDENS by Brande Jackson

Gardens and the Holiday Season As we move into the season of all things merry and bright, us gardeners want to remind you that plants can play a pivotal role in your holiday season. Below are just a few ideas. Plants Make Great Gifts Granted, being gardeners, we might be a little biased here, but really, plants DO make great gifts! Everyone can use an extra houseplant or two to brighten up a dull spot in their home or workspace. Plus, plant gifts seem to say, “I have faith in you. You can keep this living thing alive!” We all need that kind of encouragement in our lives right now, don’t we? If you aren’t sure what type of plant to give someone, go for easy to grow houseplants like Sansevieria (snake plant), aloes, jade plants or Peace Lily. This time of year, we also start to see some seasonal favorites pop up. This is when the classic poinsettia makes an appearance, of course. This year, don’t throw them all out when the season passes. They can make a really cool little shrub/tree when planted outside—or be a year-round houseplant! We also start to see one of our favorites, the “Christmas cactus.” These are really a type of cacti native to Brazil, the common name for them stemming from when they tend to bloom. Super easy to grow, we think these are a really underrated plant! Don’t forget about living Christmas tree options, too—a cool way to bring nature inside, and to grow something outside once the season is over. Pumpkin Succulents and Other Garden Themed Centerpieces Bring the outside in with some unique table décor this holiday season! “Pumpkin succulents” are pretty easy to make. I am a fan of NOT carving out the pumpkin. Instead, just glue moss to the top of the intact pumpkin and then attaching succulent cuttings. I find they last much longer this way. In fact, it’s quite surprising how long these last! When the pumpkin starts to look a little mushy, you can either peel the moss off and plant it with the succents intact, or cut off the top of the pumpkin and plant it with the succulents growing on top, or just plant the whole pumpkin up to the top. With that last option, you’ll get a succulent garden, some compost, and likely some pumpkins growing from the seeds the following year! If succulents aren’t your thing, don’t negate how simple and easy it can be to pot up some plants and use them as table centerpieces, or even as “place cards” for your holiday guests. They make great little gifts, too. Living Wreaths The trend of “living wreaths” has been gaining traction for years now. In a nutshell, it’s about taking branches and shaping them into a circle (you can buy premade ones at most craft stores), and in a similar way as you would with succulent pumpkins, adding moss, and then attaching a variety of succulent cuttings to it. You can find lots and lots of how-to videos of the process online. You can easily give such wreaths some holiday flair by including pinecones, faux or real (dried) red berries, ribbon and other seasonal bling to your creation. Making the wreaths is also a great group activity for holiday parties and gatherings. Rather than watch TV together on Thanksgiving, enjoy the California sunshine and go outside and make some living wreaths and bring a bit of nature into your holiday celebrations! We hope this holiday season finds you and yours enjoying nature and getting lots of time to play outside. Bring some plants into your holiday celebrations this year, and get your nature fix!

During the Christmas holiday season, the Plaza shines like few other O.C. destinations, thanks to David Oldfield. He has overseen tree decorations for the annual Tree Lighting Ceremony and holiday light displays on Old Towne businesses for more than 20 years. Oldfield launched a custom decorative lighting business in Huntington Harbor in 1987 and later transitioned to decorating Orange and Villa Park. When he moved to Orange in 1995, Tom Hanks happened to be shooting scenes throughout the city (including the Plaza) for the comedy/drama “That Thing You Do!” At the time, a local store owner with the Old Towne merchants association contacted Oldfield about lighting the “tops of the buildings around the perimeter of the Plaza,” he says. “They were able to get 20th Century Fox to pay for all the work.” A few years later, the city sought Oldfield to revamp the Tree of Lights for its ceremony. “They asked me to dress it up and make it look more like a tree because the way the lights were done (before) looked kind of awkward,” he recalls. “The first time, we took what was already there, cleaned it up, straightened it out and made it look really nice and neat. In subsequent years, we

did the whole job from start to finish and changed some of the colors. The color of the tree used to be all clear lights. The city requested that we do a combination of yellow, amber and clear. We’ve stayed with that color scheme ever since.” Besides the Tree of Lights, Oldfield and his crew decorate the trunks of pine trees around the perimeter of the Plaza and nearly 20 stores and restaurants with lighted garland. Cheryl Turner has had Oldfield light her buildings for more than two decades—first with Someplace in Time and now as owner of Paris in a Cup Café & Tea Salon. “Once that tree goes

Brande Jackson is the proprietor of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads Antiques in Old Towne Orange at 216 West Chapman Ave. purtyplants.com. She is a gardener, designer, teacher, writer and photographer, who can be reached at brande@johnnyemerles.com. 22

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


All the decorating work for the City is typically done by Oldfield and his workers over a 12-hour period. “He comes in with his crew, like elves, and puts up the decorations and lights— usually when I’m not even there,” notes Turner. “Sometimes, we come into work and voila!, the lights are there. They supply the timers and everything.” Denise Jochec, owner of Summerhill Antiques, is equally pleased by Oldfield’s work and

At press time, the City of Orange had not confirmed details about whether an in-person tree lighting ceremony would take place due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Previous events have included a candlelight choir procession with the Orange Community Master Chorale and more. Check www.cityoforange.org and social media channels for updates. Contact: davidoldfieldproductions@yahoo.com for more information on his services.

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry BUY / SELL / TRADE

118 South Glassell St

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714-538-6305

w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

Home of the 18 Month Layaway w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

SmetonaPhoto.com

Cheryl Turner

Building Character a t

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY

/

“He comes in with his crew, like elves, and puts up the decorations and lights...”

ability to construct what she calls, “the most wonderful experience. Not everyone can create the kind of lighting ambiance for which he is rightly famous in our community,” she says. “He has decorated my home during the holidays as well as (for) many of my customers. He’s courteous, prompt and a joy to work with during a stressful time.” In 2020, the City of Orange requested a Tree of Lights upgrade. Oldfield says he “thought that was awesome. I’ve wanted to do more with that tree for a long time.” He says there is “now more of a three-dimensional shape and 30 commercial sculptures in the two-dimensional shape of large Christmas ornaments.” Having LED lighting makes the displays as green and energy efficient as possible and cuts usage about 80 percent. Turner says her customers often marvel about the holiday splendor. “Visitors tell me they make it a family tradition to come to Old Towne once the lights and decorations are up. My guests love that our building is all lit up. The street looks like an old-fashioned postcard. A visitor from Alabama took a photo one year of our building and sent it to me when she got home. It’s one of my favorite photos.”

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

up and the lights and garland are hung, I feel like a kid at Christmas. It’s just charming,” she enthuses. “The lighting arrangements are so quaint. Disney has their main street, but we have the original. It’s a special place, especially during the holidays.” Oldfield—who also works as a sound technician at Disneyland, among other duties—starts Old Towne lighting prep in October. “We take everything out of storage, inspect and make any repairs required to be ready for installation,” he says.

Reg Chhen Stewart, PhD by Julie Bawden-Davis

When Reg Stewart was in college, he had a seemingly random experience that wasn’t so random after all. In fact, the experience led him to an on-campus job that helped shape his world view and paved the way for his career in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI). For Chapman’s University’s new Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, it all began during his freshman year at San Francisco State. “I was living in the resident hall, and every morning at 7:40 I’d be woken up by a gut-wrenching noise that sounded like a cross between a clutch grinding and a lawnmower on its last leg,” says Stewart. “One morning, I looked out to see a golf cart. There was a 4-digit university extension on the side of the vehicle, so I called and discovered the cart was used by the Disability Resource Center to shuttle students with mobility issues to class. The following semester, I started working there.” Stewart’s experience at the center altered his perception of the world around him. “The job made me grow up a lot faster than many of my peers,” he says. “Every day, I saw people working to better themselves through education despite some very real challenges. Seeing their determination made me appreciate what I had and kept me humble. I came to feel that I have a personal responsibility to help uplift and move forward people society sometimes forgets.” Dedicated to Helping People Years later, a friend gave Stewart a piece of advice that harkened back to those college epiphanies. “He said that you can either make big money or good money. The latter means you get paid to help people achieve their goals. To me, that’s the type of career where when you go to bed each night, no matter how hard the day was, you’ve helped people.” CONTINUED ON PAGE 24

November / December

2021

23


TALK OF THE TOWNE

Reg Chhen Stewart, PhD

CONT. FROM PAGE 23

Over the past three decades with his work leading diversity and inclusion efforts in public and private learning institutions, Stewart has strived to help people. A key piece of that assistance involves sharing the importance of diversity, equity and inclusion. “Often, when the subject of DEI is brought up, people will say that they don’t like all of the ‘PC stuff,’” says Stewart. “While many think of this acronym as standing for politically correct, I feel it stands for polite company. People are taught that certain subjects require tact when mentioning, such as race, religion and income. My intent is to remain a steady voice leading the effort to help people feel comfortable navigating spaces and topics that aren’t always comfortable.” Northern California Beginnings Stewart was born in San Francisco and raised in Oakland. “My father’s family is from New Orleans, so that was like a second home when I was growing up,” he says. “Both areas have a community first orientation that led me to an affinity for that mindset.” He went to school in the Bay Area, including attending Bishop O‘Dowd High School, a Catholic, college preparatory school in Oakland where he says he learned accountability for his schoolwork and the teachers had high expectations of the students. “I was taught how to be a dedicated student there,” he says. His favorite subject was music. He played saxophone in the school’s jazz band and chamber orchestra ensemble and still enjoys playing the instrument. In college as a first-generation student in the late 1980s, Stewart originally studied music with the intention of becoming a music critic. But when he learned during a chance encounter with a critic that they generally don’t study music, he decided to move in another direction and major in sociology. “I studied subjects such as inequity in society and ethnic studies, which sparked an intellectual curiosity about social inequality,” says Stewart. “I also became a member of Alpha Phi Alpha, the first historically black college fraternity, which was founded in 1906. These experiences paved the road to my eventual career in DEI.” After graduating from San Francisco State University with a Bachelor’s in Sociology, Stewart applied at Huston-Tillotson College (now university) in Austin, Texas, a HBCU (Historically Black College University). He was hired for a position as Upward Bound coordinator in the federally funded TRIO Program where he helped first-generation, low-income students prepare for college. “I loved that position,” he says. “It was a small university and very student-centered.” Following Texas, he worked at the University of Nevada, Reno for 19 years, including serving the last four years at the senior level as Chief Diversity Officer. He was also involved in a wide variety of equity, inclusion and diversity initiatives. While at the university, he earned his Doctor of Philosophy degree with a major in Educational Leadership. Inaugural Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion In 2015, Stewart decided to join Iowa State University as the inaugural Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion (VPDI). That job and his current position at Chapman involves two roles: Chief Diversity Officer, which entails work related to compliance and reporting possible equal opportunity issues and Vice President of Diversity, which requires advocating diversity and inclusion amongst the public and throughout the school. In Iowa, Stewart worked on outreach initiatives with John A. Haila, Mayor of the City of Ames, Iowa. Haila comments on Stewart’s contributions to the city. “Reg is an innovative, creative thinker attuned to various ways to make students and residents feel included, welcomed and valued as individuals. While Reg works hard to move the work forward, it is not from an ‘activist’ initiative. Rather, he knows how to move the work ahead in quiet,

by Julie Bawden-Davis

Orange Rotary

Inaugural 1910 Orange Street Fair Committee featuring publisher and 4th Rotary President William O. Hart (circled)

Look to the roots of Orange, and you’re likely to find something in common amongst the city’s founding fathers. Many were members of the Orange Rotary. Chartered in 1921, the Orange Rotary is currently celebrating its 100th year in the city. Continuing the tradition today, many community leaders, business owners and professionals are members of the longstanding service organization focused on serving and bettering the community.

“Looking back on the last 100 years of our club’s history is like looking through a history book of Orange,” says Orange’s former mayor Carolyn Cavecche. She joined Orange Rotary in 2008 and was the Club’s 97th president in 2017-18. To celebrate and honor the club’s 100th anniversary, Orange Rotarian Ted Albert wrote the 576-page Our First Hundred Years: A Centennial History of the Rotary Club of Orange. “Early

CONTINUED ON PAGE 25

24

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Yesterday & Today! Rotarians were pillars of the community,” says Albert. “They included businessmen, citrus ranchers, lawyers and newspaper men, all of whom were pivotal to the formation of Orange.” The long line of Orange Rotarians includes Orange High School principal Frank Arthur Henderson, the club’s second president from 1923-24. William (Bill) Ord Hart, the fourth president of the Orange Rotary from 1925-26, owned the Orange Daily News, and Hart Park is named after him. Keller E. Watson, Sr., the seventh president from 1927-28, was a druggist and

founder of what is now known as Watson’s Soda Fountain & Café in Old Towne. An international organization founded in 1905 to tackle the world’s most urgent humanitarian challenges, Rotary currently has 1.2 million members in more than 200 countries and geographical areas. The Orange Rotary is the oldest club in Orange, and like all clubs in the organization, focuses on the Rotary motto: “Service Above Self.” Orange Rotary projects include building a local senior housing complex, updating and beautifying local school campuses and collecting food and clothing for those in need.

Most of the club attended the November 7, 2017 luncheon meeting at the inaugural Orange Field of Valor .

Build Self-Confidence T h ro u g h E d u c a t i o n i n P i a n o , Vo i c e , G u i t a r, U k u l e l e , C e l l o D r u m s , F o re i g n L a n g u a g e & D i g i t a l R e c o rd i n g

Group & Individual lessons for all ages! • • • • •

Audition & Performance Preparation Theory, Sight Reading & Ear Training Certificate of Merit & National Guild Testing College Preparation Language Classes (French, Spanish, Italian & Farsi)

~ Online, Outdoor, Hybrid & Traditional Classes Available ~

1311 East Katella Avenue, Orange, CA 92867 (Tuskatella Shopping Center)

714-545-1217 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

PacificConservatoryOC .com

To become a member of the Rotary, you need a member to sponsor you. You must also go through an interview process. “Applicants for membership are interviewed by three members to ensure that they understand what they’re committing to, which is being of service to the community,” says Lambing. There are Rotary clubs for young people, as well. These include Rotaract for college students and Interact for high schoolers. While service is the goal, members also greatly enjoy themselves. They have a weekly luncheon at Colleary’s Bistro in Orange. And to celebrate the club’s Centennial, they’re holding a gala featuring a Roaring 20s theme on December 4 at the 1886 Brewery in Old Towne. “I am so proud to be a member of the Orange Rotary, and I enjoy the fellowship with other club members,” says Cavecche. “We’re from different vocational fields, walks of life and generations, but the focus is the same—giving back to the City of Orange.” For information about Orange Rotary, including membership, visit orange-rotary.org.

The organization also honors veterans the week of November 11 at the Orange Field of Valor. This yearly, week-long event held at Handy Park was spearheaded by Orange Rotary member Gary Remland. “Being a Rotarian offers you the opportunity to meet the needs of your community while spending time with likeminded individuals,” says Spud Lambing, past president (2020-21) of the Orange Rotary. “The club is comprised of businessmen and businesswomen dedicated to giving back to the community that helped make them successful. It’s a win-win all around. There are also opportunities to participate on an international level.” One such opportunity is Rotary International’s End Polio Now campaign. As a founding partner of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative, the organization has managed to reduce polio cases by 99.9 percent since their first project in 1979 vaccinating children in the Philippines.

OrangeReview.com

Reg Chhen Stewart, PhD

CONT. FROM PAGE 24

progressive ways while working within appropriate ‘structures.’” When an executive national search firm reached out to Stewart in 2020 about the position at Chapman University, Stewart and his wife, Lee Chhen Stewart, an educator, decided it was time to move their family back to California. “We wanted to come closer to home so that our son and daughter could be nearer to their grandparents,” he says. “When I interviewed for the position at Chapman, I could tell immediately that it would be a good fit for me.” As he did in Iowa, Stewart is serving as the first Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for Chapman. “They’ve had amazing people working on DEI on a volunteer basis at the university,” he says. “The emergence of this office shows a real maturation and growth of the university. Now Chapman is running operations the way top-notch schools around the country do.” Chapman University President Daniele Struppa agrees. “Chapman has made great progress in becoming an institution welcoming to students from different backgrounds. Reg has great experience as a leader in this area with a reputation for being a sober analyst of situations and a strategic thinker. I have already seen Reg interact in some delicate situations. He is at the same time strong and respectful and direct but tactful. He means what he says while being attentive to the needs of the people with whom he is interacting. I know he will work to help Chapman become an institution that will be looked at as a model for other universities.”

November / December

2021

25


COUNTRY ROADS ANTIQUES & GARDENS

I NSIDE A RT

Landscape Paintings A Few of Our

Favorite Looks! by Brande Jackson

We pride ourselves here at Country Roads on being a shop that has a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. Having been in operation for nearly 30 years now (January of 2022 will mark 29 years since we opened our doors!), we have found that styles and trends change, but there are certain looks that stand the test of time. With that in mind, here are a few current favorite looks that are inspiring us right now! #Cabinvibes Instagram and Pinterest have ushered in a new era of appreciation for this aesthetic, but we’ve been rocking it since way back in the 1990s! That said, it is really fun to see a renewed interest in old camping and fishing gear, lanterns and even flannel shirts (we weren’t joking about the 1990s being back!) Old gear is also cool because oftentimes it is also adorned with old logos and labels. We have been seeing more and more old advertising for this type of equipment make it into the shop, too. You don’t need an actual cabin to make this look work. We find this look also goes well with midcentury modern (often the pieces are from the same era), with styles that use a lot of primitive antiques, and it blends well for those who aren’t 100 percent vintage but want some accent pieces that are. Plus, it just looks so cool! Rustic and Simple We are loving the trend of wooden bowls, stools and simple but stunning pottery that we have been seeing gain traction lately. This is a way to decorate that isn’t crazy expensive and is also really durable. If your household is a little rough on your stuff, these pieces can take it, and kinda look better from it! A rustic wooden table is going to look fine with a few extra dings—it doesn’t need the care and protection of a more polished piece. These are also lifetime treasures made to stand the test of time and are a solid investment. Plus, they often do double duty of providing great storage. Boho Chic Coachella has ushered in a new era of all things flowy and colorful (or, if done in a more “shabby style,” stark white, too!) and loose and breezy, and we love it! This is a mix and match aesthetic, so it might be a rustic table mixed with a more formal set of chairs, topped with a vintage table runner that adds some color. Or a patterned rug sitting below a simple vintage wood chair that is adorned with a colorful accent pillow. There is also a strong natural element to this style, so we see a lot of plants and pottery incorporated into it as well. Plus, we love that it can be a liberating excuse to just decorate with whatever makes you happy! As we round out what has been a very long and exhausting year for us (a big thanks to Mike and the team at the Plaza Review for being so supportive!) we want to again thank the Old Towne Orange community for all the love and kindness. Though we miss our Sue very, very much, we know her spirit is with us in wishing you and yours a very happy and merry holiday season!

Charles Muench (b. 1966) “Trail’s Reward” oil on linen / 50” x 60”

Emil Kosa Jr. (1903-1968) “Sunday Morning” oil on canvas / 30” x 42”

In the United States, landscape painting is a time-honored tradition inseparable from the spirit of American art. In California during the 20th century and on into the 21st, landscape paintings often took on a unique form: including people and the works of people (buildings, roads, railroad tracks, farms, etc.) within the painting, thus making them part of the California Scene movement of paintings showing the everyday life of Californians and the growth and development of the state. The unique light of California, and the opportunity for painters to work outdoors at nearly any time of year, added to the varied ways in which the state was depicted by its artists. Now through January 15, 2022 at the Hilbert Museum of California Art, the exhibition “Our Golden State: Landscape Paintings from The Hilbert

Collection” showcases nearly 60 of these works, all selected from the museum’s own rich and deep collection. The exhibition was curated by Jean Stern, California art expert and author, and director emeritus of The Irvine Museum. “From Colonial times, American art was governed by special circumstances unique to this land. Unlike artworks created in Europe, American art was nurtured in the absence of empowered patronage—no kings, queens or popes were commissioning American artists,” explains Stern. “America’s democratic tendencies were forceful factors that led to the popularization of landscape painting as the ideal vehicle for expressing the American spirit.” Landscape painting in particular afforded an avenue to express the divine creator and nature as

www.CountryRoadsAntiques .com

714-532-3041 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm

2 1 6 W E S T C H A P M A N AV E . /

www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

26

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

View our archival A n c h o re d Pe r f o r m a n c e ar ticle at: O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m /ar ticle/239/anchored-performance F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Bring Out the Beauty

of California

by Mary Platt

The Hilbert Museum of California Art is part of Chapman University and is located at 167 North Atchison St. in Old Towne. It is open to the public Tuesday through Saturday, 11 am to 5 pm, and admission is free. Free parking is available in designated spaces in front of the museum and in the City of Orange/Metrolink structure at 130 North Lemon St. one block east of the museum. For more inform www.hilbertmuseum.org.

Deladier Almeida (b. 1961) “Desert Divertimento” oil / 24” x 36”

Orrin White (1883-1969) “The Mountain Ranch” oil on canvas / 38.25” x 42”

one, an understanding of spirituality that was unconstrained by any particular religious patronage, Stern says. “At the same time, it created a metaphor of the American landscape as the Godgiven fountainhead from which sprang the bounty and opportunity of rustic American life.” Land and light have continuously been an integral part of American art. The Hudson River School, a group of early 19thcentury artists led by Thomas Cole (1801-1848) and Asher B. Durand (1796-1886) ventured

into what at the time was the wilderness of upstate New York. They were in awe of the beauty and grandeur of nature and developed a popular and enduring style that centered on landscape as primary subject. Intent on recording the natural environment, in a very real sense, they were the environmental activists of their day. Today, landscape painters still express the beauty of the scenes around them—and many of them paint the landscape directly outdoors, or en plein-air. “Perhaps like no other artists, plein-air

painters are mesmerized by natural light, and that passion drives them to seek natural light and paint it, regardless of climate, weather and natural impediments. To paint the landscape, one has to be in the landscape,” Stern says. “It is this fervent passion for outdoor light in all its forms that drives landscape painters to leave the studio and paint outdoors,” continues Stern. “Outside, they face the constant struggle to hasten their technique—the better to catch those few elusive moments of specific natural light. For in just two or three hours, the light will be appreciably different.” Artist Marinus Welman, whose studio is in Orange, created the painting shown on the inside front cover of this issue. “The Last Orchard” (undated, oil on canvas,

The Hilbert Collection) depicts one of the last of the orange groves that once blanketed the area. “I completed this painting some years ago and went back to the location only a week or so later. This particular grove had already been bulldozed,” Welman recalls. His painting, done in thickly laidon oils that create a stunning texture, shows an Orange County that once was—with orange trees wafting the fragrance of their blossoms for miles. “We invite you to partake of the beauty and magic of these landscape paintings,” Stern says. “In their unique ways, each of these paintings reveal the beauty and expressive sensitivity of California’s landscape. Look profoundly and embrace the unique power of art to enrich each of our lives.”

OPEN STUDIO! Every Saturday from 2 to 5 pm or by appointment New Paintings by M. Welman inspired by powerful waves scattering brilliant sunlight, creating a fantastic light show... The magic and beauty of the Ocean in action! See it all at:

Welman Art Studio 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 MarinusWelman.com marinuswelman@gmail.com

714 998-8662 Ocean Magic #7 30” x 40” / Oil on canvas

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2021

27


28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


100th President (2020-21) Danny Spud Lambing, Industrial Engineer Notable: Pandemic forced Club to meet on ZOOM. Fundraisers cancelled. Did a combined 2020-21 Police/Fire Awards via YouTube & conducted joint 2020-21 Mini-Grant Awards. Provided PPE & bagged meals to first-line workers, schools & seniors.

90th President (2010-11) William G. Steiner, Government Relations Notable: Highly rated program speakers. Vocational Visits to members businesses. Regular Social events. Club received a Presidential Citation from Rotary International President.

101st President (2021-22) Mark S. Wallace, Judge Notable: Our Centennial Year President. Resumed in-person meetings after COVID Pandemic lockdown. Relocated Club to Colleary’s Bistro from J.T. Schmids. Served as Chair of our Centennial Year Committee & GALA.

1st President (1921-23) Frank Charles Drumm, Lawyer Notable: Rotary Club of Orange Established, 3rd Rotary Club in Orange County. Club provided funds for the 1922 Rotary Rose Parade Float and to the “Camp RoKiLi” (Rotary, Kiwanis, Lions) Boy Scout Camp.

10th President (1930-31) Dr. James C. Crawford, Physician Notable: Club continued support to youth, YMCA, Health Camp, Boy Scouts of America. Sponsored the Active 20 - 30 Club providing Leadership skills for your men.

Dec 1, 1921 - Dec 1, 2021 The Rotary Club of Orange Celebrates 100 Years of Community Service and is prepared for 100 More Years. Join the Rotary Club of Orange. For more information go to “About Us” at www.Orange-Rotary.org

80th President (2000-01) Julianne Holt, Hospital Philanthropy Notable: Our Club’s first woman president. Created the Past President’s Advisory Council & “Wives of Former Rotarians” to include the widows. Continued club programs such as Mini-Grants, Reading by Nine & Project Hope.

20th President (1940-41) Karl F. Glasbrenner, Insurance Notable: With WWII looming, the Club supported the Orange Chapter of the Girls Reserves under the YWCA for girls 12-18. Served as Club Secretary 1966-71 & 1975-76.

30th President (1950-51) John Cannon, Druggist Notable: Carried over efforts to provide radios & TVs to children in the County Hospital. Sponsored the Orange Lionettes softball team who won the 1950 Championship.

70th President (1990-91) David E. “Dave” Weilmeunster, Cleaning Services Notable: Instituted introduction to members businesses to start meetings. Invasion of Kuwait in 1990. Rancho Santiago Community College Scholarships. Club membership grew from 150 to 162.

40th President (1960-61) William S. “Bill” Frantz, Educator/Banker/Realtor Notable: Named Man of the Year by the Orange Chamber of Commerce. Established the Orange High School future coaches scholarship.

For a copy of “Our First Hundred Years” a centennial history of the Rotary Club of Orange, available for $70, please e-mail: DSL2002@SBCglobal.net 60th President (1980-81) Eugene “Gene” Beckerbauer, Funeral Director Notable: Relocated meeting place from the American Legion Hall to the Medical Association Conference Center (Turnip Rose). Provided smoke alarms and vials of life to homes of Seniors. Presented Achievement through courage Scholarships for High School Students.

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

50th President (1970-71) Paul G. Cannon, Pharmacist Notable: World maps provided to schools in Vietnam. Vietnam “Pentagon Papers” leaked. Established a Rotary Loan Fund for Chapman College students. Provided substantial funding to the YMCA building fund.

November / December

2021

29


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

COUPON WINNER

At Home with Smoqued

A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP

by Nathan Carter

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. NAME PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to:

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW.

Entries must be postmarked by December 15, 2021

30

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES: 12 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27 155 South Glassell St (714) 516-1731 12 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934 26 Country Roads Antiques . . . . . 36 204 W Chapman (714) 532-3041 12 Golden Bear Antiques . . . . . . . 22 208 East Chapman Ave (714) 363-3996 15 Orange Circle Antique Mall . . . 33 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160 17 Summerhill Ltd . . . . . . . . . . . . 34 110 South Glassell St (714) 771-7782 ARTS & CULTURE: 22 Clyde San Juan - Art Classes CityOfOrange.org/OrangeRec 21 Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . . . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880 27 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . . . . D 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 5 Musco Center for the Arts . . . . 14 415 North Glassell St (714) 626-8726

PG

“Striving to bring an exceptional experience to life . . .

MAP

ARTS & CULTURE: Naranjita Flamenco . . . . . . . . . . E 301 East Katella Ave (714) 400-2939 25 Pacific Conservatory . . . . . . . . . F 1311 East Katella Ave (714) 545-1217 AUTOMOTIVE: 16 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . . . . L 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . . . G 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090

9

3

11

1 15

9

1

30 20 in Old Towne Orange!”

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

8

24 ®

when Tina’s husband, Trevor Arthur, became the Vice President of Porsche for the West Coast in Carson. With a real estate agent’s help, the family looked around Orange and L.A. counties for a home and came across the City of Orange. “I loved the feel and vibe of Orange,” says Tina. “It’s a cute, charming town.” During house hunting, the Arthurs decided to eat at Smoqued California BBQ in the Plaza. “I’m a big meat lover, and I loved the brisket,” says Tina. “I also liked the atmosphere and great service. After eating at Smoqued, we decided to buy a house in Orange.” Their son, Reed, is an avid hockey player, which also factored into their home buying decision. “Reed is on the rink six nights a week, so we wanted to stay within an hour’s drive,” says Tina. The family’s love for Smoqued California BBQ hasn’t changed, which is why Tina chose to use her coupon at the restaurant.

STARBUCKS

When coupon winner Tina Arthur and her family moved from Toronto, Canada to Southern California in 2016, they didn’t know they would wind up in Orange. Then a chance meal in Old Towne changed their lives. The Arthurs came to California

DINING & PUBS: 1886 Brewing Company . . . . . . 7 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130 Blaze Pizza 101 South Glassell St . . . . . . . . 24 (714) 783-9845 2139 North Tustin St . . . . . . . . . . H (714) 408-7361 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180 Jaxon’s Chix Tenders . . . . . . . 17 149 N Glassell (714) 602-8220 O’Hara’s Pub . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 150 N Glassell (714) 532-9264 Paris in a Cup - Tea Salon . . . . 25 119 South Glassell St (714) 538-9413 Smoqued BBQ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427 Taco Adobe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 121 North Lemon St (714) 628-0633 Starbucks Coffee . . . . . . . . . . . 35 44 Plaza Square (714) 288-9754 Zito’s New York Style Pizza . . . 12 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


to 91 FREEWAY

DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP

O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP Orange Farmers Market

1

PALM

The Dragonfly Shops

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

Musco Center

14 for the Arts

15

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education

AVENUE

13 16 Willits Real Estate Group

EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS: Chapman University . . . . . . . . 15 One University Dr Events.Chapman.edu 14 Holocaust Education . . . . . . . . 15 One University Dr (714) 628-7377 Chapman.edu/holocausteducation 20 Orange Farmers Market . . . . . . 1 303 West Palm Ave www.OrangeHomegrown.org 29 Rotary Club of Orange . . . . . . . . I www.Orange-Rotary.org

MAPLE

6

31

27 Antique Depot LINCOLN

30 A

Y

OL

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

ALMOND

LA VETA AVENUE

MAP

28 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . . . . 23 (714) 213-5211 18 Shafer Plumbing Contractors . . B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448 16 Shannon Family Mortuary . . . . N 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 15 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com 18 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . . . 6 60 Plaza Square (714) 978-4200

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

ST

(5 )

MAP

SPECIALTY RETAIL: 12 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . . . . 26 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910 1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens . . 13 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689 22 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . . . 36 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 9 Laurenly Boutique . . . . . . . . . . 10 142 North Glassell St (714) 538-7567

E

F

KATELLA

AVE

WALNUT

AVE

Titan Automotive

(57) FWY

SA

G

Pacific Conservatory

I

Rotary Club of Orange

H Blaze Pizza

K

ORANGEWOOD

Skin Care

28 by Christina

Villa Ford of Orange

Naranjito Flamenco

Guardian Roofs

J Orangeland RV Park

Knox General Insurance

AVE

Welman Art Studio

Anchored Preformance

C

AVENUE

29

D

B

MAIN

FW

Shafer Plumbing

Jadtec Security

N E W P O RT B E AC H

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

CENTER STREET

PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT.

ORANGE

D

(55) FWY

STREET

A (5 )

T

oTo

AV E NU E

N O RT H

A N

CHAPMAN

GLASSELL

ORAN GE (57) FWY

b et N G E i s ce nt e re d

RA EO

N TA

Antique Station

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

26 Army-Navy Store

to 22 FREEWAY

th

en

we

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

N OW

SA

7 & 91 Fr e ew a y s , i nt 5, 5 he He ar

Paris

25 in a Cup

L CHAPMAN

M

N

O

AVE

GARDEN

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

Caliber Real Estate

Old Towne Plumbing

Orange Realty

32

21 Real Estate Establishment

Shannon Family Mortuary

OLIVE STREET

LEMON STREET

CYPRESS STREET

Rambling Rose Jewelry

ty

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

33

C ou n

11

Orange Circle Antique Mall

Blaze Pizza

to 55 FREEWAY

Orange City Hall

Golden Bear Antiques

23

24 34

ge

7

35

CHAPMAN

22

Bonham Construction

Summerhill Ltd.

ra n

13

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Starbucks Coffee

fO

19

5

,5

EAST

36

Orange Main Library & History Center

20

to

PG

28

e

2 ,2

Wells Fargo Bank

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

REAL ESTATE: 10 Caliber Real Estate Group . . . . 31 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339 1 Orange Realty . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050 19 Real Estate Establishment . . . 21 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711 4 Willits Real Estate Group . . . . 16 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120 SERVICES: Bonham Construction . . . . . . . 23 (949) 532-6274 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 BearFlagOC.com Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . . . . K 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619 Jadtec Security Services . . . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828 Knox General Insurance . . . . . 29 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537

Orange Circle Optometry

6

CHAPMAN

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

JEWELRY 23 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . . . 32 118 S Glassell (714) 538-6305 13 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 138 N Glassell (714) 538-1956

Citizens Business Bank

Smiles of Orange

Old Towne Post Office

19 Matoska Trading Company

5

4

WEST

to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

Byblos Cafe

Circle City Barbers

Taco Adobe

7

Adam Guss State Farm

18 Tiddlywinks Toys

ST

8

TUSTIN

Smoqued BBQ

GRAND STREET

9

GLASSELL

3

10

Reneé Jewelers

Jaxon’s Scratch-Made

17 Chix Tenders

ST

Laurenly

11

ORANGE STREET

O’Hara’s Pub

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

FREE ALL DAY PARKING

SOUTH GLASSELL

Hilbert Museum of California Art

NORTH GLASSELL

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

12 2

1886 Brewing Co

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: 26 Anchored Performance . . . . . . . C (714) 932-7066 AnchoredPerformance@gmail.com 16 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . . . . 4 133 W Chapman (714) 453-9765 1 Orange Circle Optometry . . . . . 20 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424 17 Skin Care by Christina . . . . . . 28 369 South Glassell St (174) 450-2878 1 Smiles of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . M 743 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-5495

AVENUE

Zito’s NY Pizza

GROVE (22) FWY

FW Y

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

SPECIALTY RETAIL: 23 Matoska Trading Company . . . 19 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 13 Tiddlywinks Toys . . . . . . . . . . . 18 129 North Glassell St (714) 997-8697 TOURISM: 22 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . . . . J 1600 West Struck Ave (714) 633-0414 November / December

2021

31


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

32

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W