Page 3

TABLE OF CONTENTS The President’s Message .............................................................................................................. 4 The E.D. Speaks ............................................................................................................................ 5 New Members ............................................................................................................................... 6 Winterfolk Festival 10th Edition Deemed Outstanding Success… ............................................ 7 OCFF Board Elections .................................................................................................................. 8 So You Got a Showcase?................................................................................................................ 9 Attending Music Conferences .................................................................................................... 11 The OCFF Turns 25! .................................................................................................................. 13 OCFF Memorabilia / Volunteers Wanted!.................................................................................. 14 Advertising in the Conference Program .................................................................................... 15 OCFF Member Festivals ............................................................................................................. 16 The OCFF Congratulates William Laskin ................................................................................. 18 Funders, Sponsors and Partners ................................................................................................ 30

ONTARIO COUNCIL OF FOLK FESTIVALS

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2011/12 Executive Committee President Scott Merrifield ..........................smerrifield@eastlink.ca Vice President Katharine Partridge ...katharine.partridge@sympatico.ca Treasurer Tamara Kater .........................................tkater@me.com Secretary Jerry Switzer....................jswitzer@feehelygastaldi.com Member-at-Large Dan Greenwood ....................... greenwoodd@socan.ca Directors Adam Brown ..................................abrown@uottawa.ca Richard Flohil ................................rflohil@sympatico.ca Jane Harbury .......................................jane@harbury.ca ShoShona Kish ....... shoshona@diggingrootsmusic.com Brad McEwen .............................mill_race@yahoo.com David Newland ..................... david.newland@gmail.com Alex Sinclair .................................pmsinc@interlog.com Kuljit Sodhi...................................... kuljit@galitcha.com

STAFF Executive Director Peter MacDonald ..... pmacdonald@ocff.ca Office Manager Jennifer Ellis ........................ jellis@ocff.ca Membership Services Manager Bob LeDrew .................... bledrew@ocff.ca Community Outreach Coordinator Jill Zmud .................... community@ocff.ca Office Administrator Linda Lowe ......................register@ocff.ca Membership Services Coordinator Janet Pokoj ........................admin@ocff.ca Phone: 1-866-292-6233 or 613-560-5997 Fax: 613-560-2001 www.ocff.ca Mailing address: 508-B Gladstone Avenue Ottawa, ON K1R 5P1

Printing and layout by Orion Printing Cover photo by Mike Bourgeault. Home County Folk Festival, July 2010 Please visit www.ocff.ca/advertising.html for rates, formats and sizes.

ad

Submissions (max. 500 words) and pictures welcome! We cannot guarantee inclusion of your submission in Folk Prints (but we’ll try!). Please send submissions in text format only. If you have pictures, call us before sending them. The views expressed in this magazine are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the OCFF. Questions or comments regarding Folk Prints should be brought to the attention of Peter MacDonald at pmacdonald@ocff.ca. Articles and photos may not be reprinted without the express written permission of the author and/or photographer.

3

Folk Prints Spring/Summer 2012  

Winterfolk X Review, How to Make the Most of the Annual Conference, Showcasing Tips

Folk Prints Spring/Summer 2012  

Winterfolk X Review, How to Make the Most of the Annual Conference, Showcasing Tips

Advertisement