Page 1

A RT S U N I V E R S IT Y CO L L EG E B O U R N E M O U TH I L LU S TR ATI O N 2 011


Published by AUCB Illiustration 2011

© AU C B I llustration 2 011 Creative Director – Olivia Brotheridge Editors – Annette Johns, Lauren Crow Layout – Stephanie Drömer Printed by Octavo Direct Image with help from James Loveday


p 5 Forward ... by Holly Mills p 6 Jessica Holt: ... a Dark Scary Forest. drawmeafteryou.blogspot.com p 7 Emily Bartlett: ... a Perfect Dog Walk. agreetingthorburn.blogspot.com p 8 Olivia Brotheridge: ... Sophistication. obrotheridge.blogspot.com p 9 Helen Hiett: ... a Monster Mash. magicjazz@hotmail.co.uk p 10 Rob Procter: ... Neurosis. mumblefingers.livejournal.com p 11 Holly Mills: ... Duck a l’Orange. projectgander.blogspot.com p 12 Jodie Gamblen: ... a Glowing Face Mask. jodie-clare-gamblen.blogspot.com p 13 Jenni Gutmanis: ... Jeremy Kyle. jensjrawings.blogspot.com p 14 Tanya Verey: ... a Philosopher’s Stone. tbverey.btinternet.com p 15 Navamon Udyanin: ... Sweet Buns. zero045891191@aol.com p 16 Sophie Harding: ... Wrinkles. sophie-rae.blogspot.com p 17 Holly Risbey: ... Mending a Broken Heart. hollyrisbey.blogspot.com p 18 Becky Hatwell: ... a Centipede’s Supper. beckyhatwellillustration.blogspot.com p 19 Darren Cranmer: ... a Rumour. darrencranmer.com p 20 Annette Johns: ... Building a Human. annettejohns.blogspot.com p 21 James Loveday: ... Gnocchi. upinarms.wordpress.com p 22 Martin Wheeler: ... an Alabama Slammer. mwillustration@live.co.uk p 23 Fletch: ... Revolution. blueeyedgoodbye.blogspot.com p 24 Ben Brooks: ... Surviving a Bear Attack. benbrookesillustration.blogspot.com p 25 Krister Selin: ... Sin. kristerselin.com p 26 Cassie Butler & Mike Foster: ... Collaboration. cassiebutler.blogspot.com   d1ttod1tto.weebly.com


contents p 28 Finn O‘Brien: ... Being Bruce Willis. dprodesign.blogspot.com p 29 Jimmy Herrtage: ... Getting Tropical. youhurtwarrior.com p 30 Natasha Harding: ... Crispy Bacon. natashaharding.co.uk p 31 Robyn Elderfield: ... Wisdom. robynelderfield.blogspot.com p 32 Felicity French: ... Playdoh. felicityfrench.co.uk p 33 Francesca Harris: ... Keeping your Keys. francescaillustrates.co.uk p 34 Katherine Tromans: ... Knitting a Penguin Jumper. www.katherinetromans.com p 35 Becky Tunnicliffe: ... Sleep. becksertun@live.com p 36 Scott Waldron: ... Clutter. scottwaldron.co.uk p 37 Jon Saltmarsh: ... Spoilt Broth. saltyjon.blogspot.com p 38 Jess Harris: ... an Egg. strawberrybnotginger@hotmail.com p 39 Lucy Evans: ... the Best Pancake. lucy-e.blogspot.com p 40 Arthur Owen-Smith: ... Gold. arthurowensmith.blogspot.com p 41 Lauren Crow: ... Jarabe TapatĂ­o (A Mexican Hat Dance). laurencrow.blogspot.com p 42 James Elliott: ... a Peanut Butter Sandwich. jameselliottillustration.com p 43 Clare Twomey: ... Ready Meals. claretwomy.tumblr.com p 4 4 Sponsorship


a recipe for What ?

This is a recipe book unlike any other. It is not your traditional well-thumbed, stickypaged culinary volume with the solution to the perfect Yorkshire pud. Brought to you by the fresh inky blood of AUCB Illustration 2011, A Recipe For… acts as a dynamic show-case of the cohort, whilst aiming to provide the reader with constructive, comic and often curious guidance for life.

All contributors were given a simple brief: provide a recipe. This could be a concoction for anything, and as a result, the subject matter is often as diverse as the images themselves. In what other handy tome would you be informed of how to forage for a centipede’s supper (p.18) in a dark scary forest (p.6), safe in the knowledge that, should you need to, you are well equipped to survive a bear attack (p.24) whilst sipping an Alabama Slammer (p.22)? In supplying the reader with a recipe book completely unlike your Grandma’s, we hope to promote the ever-evolving parameters of conventional illustration. The boundaries between disciplines are blurring, and as a year group we hope to champion a new breed of image making… there is no set ‘style’ in this manual, and you will find that the range of artwork is as diversified as the subject area itself. More delightful than Deliah, more naughty than Nigella, more jolly than Jamie, we are sure that you will enjoy the recipes that follow. I never liked cooking much anyway.

5


6


7


8


9


10


11


12


13


14


15


16


17


18


20


21


22


23


24


25


26


27


28


29


30


31


32


33


34


35


36


37


38


39


40


41


42


43


44


Delivering Print Since 1990 Full Colour Litho Printing Finishing & Binding Telephone: 01935 473 349

|

Facsimile: 01935 477 772

|

info@octavo-direct.com


A R EC I P E F O R ...

Trouble deciding what to have for dinner? Why not feast your eyes on A Recipe For‌ , the alternative cookbook which promises creativity, not croutons. With illustrated ideas for anything from pancakes to penguin jumpers, even the hungriest of visual appetites are sure to be satisfied. Bon appetite!

A RT S U N I V E R S IT Y CO L L EG E B O U R N E M O U TH I L LU S TR ATI O N 2 011

A Recipe For...  

Trouble deciding what to have for dinner?Why not feast your eyes on A Recipe For… , the alternative cookbook which promises creativity, not...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you