Page 1

UnionAID Fact Sheet 10 Workers in New Zealand helping workers overseas

ILO human rights standards All workers have the benefit of human rights guaranteed by international law. These may be  set out in United Nations instruments (such as the Universal Declaration of Human Rights ‐ ) or  as “labour standards” in Conventions of  the International Labour Organisation (ILO).  What are the ILO labour standards?  What is the ILO?

The so‐called core ILO labour standards consist of five  standards, laid out in eight conventions   •

• • •

Freedom of association and the effective  recognition of the right to collective bargaining  (Nos. 87 & No. 98),   The elimination of all forms of forced and  compulsory labour (Nos. 29 & No. 105),   The effective abolition of child labour (Nos. 138  & No. 182),   The elimination of discrimination in employment  and occupation ( Nos. 100 & No. 111) 

New Zealand has ratified all these conventions except  87 and 138. 

The International Labour Organisation is a United Nations agency which is unique in its tripartite (government, employer and union) governance structures. The ILO develops and enforces labour standards in the form of agreed conventions and recommendations. Conventions are international treaties which are binding on governments which ratify them. These governments are required to report regularly on compliance to the ILO.

In 1998, the ILO produced the Declaration on  Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work. In the declaration, ILO member states agreed  that they should all respect, promote, and realise these core labour standards (whether they  have been ratified or not). 

UnionAid Fact Sheet 10  

In 1998, the ILO produced the Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work. In the declaration, ILO member states agreed that th...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you