Page 5

Contents 52 · The delicate balance: part time/ flexible work ▹ BY TRACEY CORMACK 58 · Enticing young talent to the provinces ▹ BY CRAIG STEPHEN 61 · NZ lawyers in the UK ▹ BY NICK BUTCHER 63 · The New Zealand legal employment map ▹ BY GEOFF ADLAM

Access to Justice

66 · Litigation funding and class actions ▹ BY NICK BUTCHER 74 · Legal information for the people ▹ BY DAVID TURNER 77 · Fishy business with civil legal aid ▹ BY STEVEN ZINDEL 80 · Contemplating Loss ▹ BY DAVID ALLAN

Practising Well

Legal Information

80 · How does that make you feel? ▹ BY SARAH LAING

96 · Two recent legal books ▹ BY GEOFF ADLAM

83 · Lawyers

Classifieds

Service

Complaints

97 · Will notices 98 · Legal Jobs 100 · CPD Calendar

Practice 86 · Effectively managing New Zealand’s increasing discovery volumes ▹ BY ANDREW KING 87 · Te Tiro Iho a te manu – taking a Bird’s Eye View ▹ BY GABRIELLE O'BRIEN 89 · Focus On Thames-Coromandel ▹ BY CRAIG STEPHEN

Lifestyle 103 · A New Zealand Legal Crossword ▹ SET BY MĀYĀ 104 · Law on the Telly ▹ BY CRAIG STEPHEN 105 · Tail

end

Legal Technology

93 · OneLaw gaining in practice management market ▹ BY GEOFF ADLAM 94 · The Revolution Will Not Be Televised ▹ BY DAMIAN FUNNELL

forests. FSC certification is internationally recognised as the most rigorous environmental and social standard for responsible forest management. The paper used to produce LawTalk meets FSC requirements at all stages along the production cycle. The shrink wrap used for delivery of LawTalk is 27 micron biodegradable film manufactured in New Zealand. This degrades naturally. If you wish to discard LawTalk, please recycle it. The wrapping may be composted.

C O N TA C T D E TA I L S  26 Waring Taylor Street, Wellington   04 472 7837  PO Box 5041, Wellington 6140, New Zealand DX SP 20202

PEOPLE P R E S I D E N T Tiana Epati VICE PRESIDENTS Nerissa Barber (Wellington)

craig.stephen@lawsociety.org.nz

andrew.jacombs@lawsociety.org.nz Sophie Melligan

Andrew Logan (South Island)

sophie.melligan@lawsociety.org.nz

tracey.cormack@lawsociety.org.nz

DESIGNER

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

C O M M U N I C AT I O N S A D V I S O R

JUNIOR DESIGNER

Helen Morgan-Banda

(SOCIAL MEDIA)

Nina Gillanders

Jamie Dobson

nina.gillanders@lawsociety.org.nz

MANAGING EDITOR AND Geoff Adlam · 04 463 2980

PLEASE RECYCLE

SENIOR DESIGNER Andrew Jacombs · 04 463 2981

Herman Visagie (Central North Island) L E G A L W R I T E R Tracey Cormack · 04 463 2936 Tim Jones (Auckland)

C O M M U N I C AT I O N S M A N A G E R

***** FPO ***** Placeholder for FSC Certificate ***** FPO *****

D I G I TA L C O N T E N T E D I T O R Craig Stephen · 04 463 2982

editor@lawsociety.org.nz SENIOR

jamie.dobson@lawsociety.org.nz

A D V E RT I S I N G

WEBMASTER

04 463 2905

Miranda Kaye · 04 463 2990

advertising@lawsociety.org.nz

miranda.kaye@lawsociety.org.nz

PRINTING AND DISTRIBUTION

C O M M U N I C AT I O N S A D V I S O R

D I G I TA L C O N T E N T S P EC I A L I S T Format Print, Petone, Wellington

Nick Butcher · 04 463 2910

Angela Ludlow

ISSN 0114-989X (Print)

nick.butcher@lawsociety.org.nz

angela.ludlow@lawsociety.org.nz

ISSN 2382-0330 (Digital)

5

Profile for NZ Law Society

LawTalk 929