__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

2018

ANNUAL REVIEW


THE TRUST PURPOSE & OBJECTIVES The New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust was formed in 1991 to bridge a perceived gap of understanding between Members of Parliament and the business community. The Trust is a non-partisan educational charity, it is not a lobbying organisation. The main objectives of the Trust are:

to enable Members of Parliament to widen their experience in and increase their knowledge of business; to improve the understanding of the Trust’s Corporate members of how government is exercised through Parliament.

These objectives are met through the provision of various means including, Parliamentary Study Programmes (for Corporate members) and Business Study Programme attachments (for Members of Parliament)

GOVERNANCE The Trustee Council comprises the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Opposition, and the leaders or representatives of the other Parliamentary parties. The 52nd Parliament has five parties represented with the Labour party (Government) and the National Party (Opposition) entitled to two representative each. There are six Corporate members elected by the Corporate membership. A Trust Board of four Corporate representatives (seconded from the Trustee Council) and three Parliamentary representatives, also drawn from the Trustee Council, exercises the legal functions and obligations of the Trust. The Speaker of the House of Representatives acts as President of the Trust. The Chairman is a Corporate representative.

MEMBERSHIP Corporate Membership of the Trust is open to companies and organisations that have the necessary structure to provide Members of Parliament with meaningful study programmes. Associate Membership is open to those Members of Parliament who have successfully completed a Business Study Programme attachment with one of the Trust’s Corporate members. The Trust is financed by subscriptions paid by its Corporate members.


CONTENTS

President’s Message

02

Chairman’s Message

03

Chief Executive’s Report

04

Appendix 1 : Programme of Events

12

Appendix 2 : President Dinners Attendees

12

Appendix 3 : Seminar Attendees

13

Appendix 4 : Travel Fund Assistance for Schools

15

Performance Report

17

Entity Information

18

Statement of Service Performance

20

Statement of Financial Performance

22

Statement of Financial Position

23

Statement of Cash Flows

24

Statement of Accounting Policies

25

Notes to the Performance Report

26

Independent Auditor’s Report

29

Directory and Trust Membership

33

1


PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE It is my pleasure to write this message for the 2018 Review and to congratulate the Trust on another full year of events. The Parliamentary Seminars are an opportunity to educate business people about Parliament, its foundations and history, how it is made up, how it works, who does what and how they undertake their various roles. Each seminar brings to Parliament a diverse group of attendees with a wide range of business experience and it is always interesting to hear their comments on how the day has gone and what the highlights were. The President’s dinners of which I hosted two this year, provide me with an opportunity to hear directly from our Corporate members and how they see the current and future business climate. They also provide an opportunity to acknowledge their membership and support of the Trust, building on the vision of those who founded the Trust twentyseven years ago. It is most pleasing to see the number of Members of Parliament taking the opportunity to undertake Business Study Programme attachments. As one who have previously undertaken attachments, I can attest to their importance and value. I am pleased to see the Trust providing increased funding to enable schools to undertake visits to Parliament. The Trust’s focus is on schools from rural and small centres and low decile. It is important that our students of all ages are given the opportunity to learn about their parliament and about parliamentary democracy. I would like to thank the Chairman, Peter Griffiths, members of the Trust Board and the Secretariat, for the work they undertake on behalf of our Corporate members and the Members of Parliament.

Rt Hon Trevor Mallard MP President of the Trust

2


CHAIRMAN’S MESSAGE 2018 has been another highly successful year for the Trust with many Members of Parliament engaging in Trust events, as well as a number of them undertaking Business Study Programme attachments with our Corporate members. It was pleasing to have many of the new Members of Parliament in the 52nd Parliament, attend the reception hosted in February. This event was an opportunity for us to tell new Members of Parliament about the work of the Trust and an opportunity for them to meet the Secretariat and interact with Associate Members. Mike Fokker MVO, the Trust’s Chief Executive, retired at the end of February after six years in the role. His service to the Trust was acknowledged at the Parliamentary seminar lunch in March. Mike has been succeeded in the role of Chief Executive by Darryl Stevens who brings extensive knowledge of and work experience within the parliamentary complex. We welcome Darryl to the Trust. Trustee Council & Board

There have been a number of people changes. The Hon Dr Megan Woods stood down in February following her appointment to the Cabinet the previous October. We have welcomed three new Members of Parliament to the Board, Dr Deborah Russell MP (Labour Party), Alastair Scott MP (National Party) and Clayton Mitchell MP (NZ First). Russell Stanners stood down from the Trustee Council at the AGM and was replaced by John Dakin, Chief Executive Officer at Goodman. Nancy McConnell, Board Deputy Chair was re-elected for a further term at the AGM. Dave Chambers resigned at the end of June. His vacancy has been filled by Chris Litchfield, Managing Director, Coca-Cola Amatil, as a co-opted member until the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Trust Operations

A number of changes and improvements to Trust operations are on the horizon and will be implemented throughout 2019. We have executed some subtle changes to our branding to create a more modern appearance, redesigning the webpage and introducing social media as part of our revised communications strategy. Changes are also planned to the content of our very successful parliamentary seminars to ensure they remain current and relevant to our corporate attendees. The Board has also agreed to changes in the way we fund our Schools Travel Assistance Programme and to take a more inclusive approach with our tertiary funding by engaging with a wider range of universities. I do wish to place on record the Board’s appreciation of those Ministers and parliamentarians who gave freely of their time to speak at one of our four seminars during the year. The contribution you make is highly valued by our corporate attendees. I also wish to acknowledge the support of our President, the Rt Hon Trevor Mallard in hosting our seminars and events and ensuring that we are able to have a very real presence in the Parliamentary complex. To our new Corporate members, welcome to the Trust. The Board sincerely hopes that you will find your membership valuable. The contribution our Corporate members make to the Trust and its activities is significant and we appreciate this continued support. To all who have engaged with the Trust and its activities this year – thank you. Your on-going support is essential for the continued operation of the Trust and is greatly appreciated. My thanks go to all my colleagues on the Trust Board for their valued input and support. To the Trust Secretariat, thank you all for your support.

Peter Griffiths Chairman 3


CHIEF EXECUTIVE’S REPORT This 27th review of the business and activities of the Trust to the year ending 31 December 2018, is my first since taking over as Chief Executive on 1 March.

Darryl Stevens MNZM

TRUST MEMBERSHIP Corporate Members The Trust’s Corporate membership as at 31 December 2018 stands at 73 members.

PRESIDENT’S DINNERS

This year we welcomed 2 new Corporate Members:

The President of the Trust hosted two dinners in the course of 2018. on 4 July and 12 September respectively.

Pāmu Farms of New Zealand Merk Serono Australia Pty Ltd

The special Parliamentary guests during the year were:

Shell New Zealand (2011) Ltd transferred their membership to OMV Limited. The resignation of Chorus took effect at 30 June 2018 and Microsoft New Zealand Ltd gave notice of their intention to resign with effect from 31 December 2018.

July Hon Amy Adams MP, National Party spokesperson on Finance and David Seymour MP, Leader of the ACT Party

Associate Members The 52nd Parliament commenced with 54 Associate Members. This has now increased to 57 Associate members following 3 new members of Parliament successfully completing business attachment programmes.

EVENTS Corporate members and Members of Parliament were invited to either attend or participate in 11 events during the calendar year.

September Hon Grant Robertson, Minister of Finance and the Hon Tracey Martin, Minister of Internal Affairs Invitations are extended to a small group of Chief Executives from our Corporate membership for each of the dinners. The dinners continue to provide valuable opportunities for maintaining contact between the Trust, the senior leadership team of our Corporate membership and Parliamentary leaders. Corporates attending this year’s President’s dinners are listed at Appendix 2.

Ross Milne, Chairman Deloitte Ltd with Peter Griffiths

4


FUNCTION FOR NEW MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT TO THE 52ND PARLIAMENT

L to R Harete Hipango, Erica Stanford, Denise Lee, Paul Eagle, Jo Luxton and Tim van de Molen

By tradition the first event following a General Election is a function for new Members of Parliament at which the Trust Secretariat and Associate Members (Members of Parliament who have successfully completed a business attachment programme) introduce the Trust to new MPs, in particular the benefits of undertaking a Business Attachment programme along with other opportunities to engage with the corporate world. The Trust Secretariat also took the opportunity to brief new Executive Assistants to MPs on the work of the Trust.

2018 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING The Trust’s 26th Annual General Meeting was held on Wednesday 4 April in the Grand Hall, Parliament House. The Rt Hon Trevor Mallard MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives, presided for the first time in his role as President of the Trust.

New corporate Steven Carden CE, Pāmu Farms with Hon Grant Robertson and Peter Griffiths

The meeting was chaired by Peter Griffiths. The meeting ratified a number of changes to the Trustee Council and Board as outlined in the Chairman’s message. Following the formal business, presentations were made to the Rt Hon David Carter MP, formerly President, Hon Dr Megan Wood, retiring Labour Party member from the Board and Trustee Council and the Hon Peter Dunne CNZM retiring Trustee after 26 years of service and commitment to the Trust.

5


SEMINARS PARLIAMENTARY STUDY PROGRAMMES - SEMINARS A total of 104 corporates attended three very successful Parliamentary Seminars during the year. These Seminars are a key attraction for our Corporate membership and this is evidenced by the demand for places at each of these unique events. The feed-back the Trust receives from Seminar attendees has many common themes - the opportunity to hear first-hand from the country’s leaders, the quality of the speakers, the information provided by them, the frankness and openness of the speakers and the appreciation of the fact that, what is a very busy and full day, keeps to time. This year’s seminars saw a number of first-time presenters. The Trust was honoured that the Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern, Prime Minister of New Zealand was able to address two seminars and the Rt Hon Winston Peters, Acting Prime Minister, the July seminar. We were equally pleased that the Hon Simon Bridges, Leader of the

Opposition was also able to address two of the seminars and his deputy the Hon Paula Bennett, a third seminar. The ‘new’ presenters were not confined to Party Leaders. Long term MP and former cabinet Minister Hon Ruth Dyson MP in her new role as Chief Government Whip together with Barbara Kuriger MP, Senior Opposition Whip spoke at all three seminars. We were also pleased to have the Hon Jacqui Dean present on select committees at all three seminars and Barry Soper representing the Parliamentary Press Gallery and the fourth estate. Hearing from the new members of parliament, both electorate and list, was interesting from the perspective of the transformation from private citizen to public figure. Seminar attendees were equally appreciative that so many of our Associate Members were able to attend the seminar lunch that precedes Question Time in the House, giving them the opportunity to speak informally with members. Some of the comments received from attendees at this year’s Seminars were:

“I don’t know where else I could quiz Jacinda Ardern, Simon Bridges, David Seymour and Trevor Mallard on important issues all in the same day” “Fantastic, insightful and educational”

Typical seminar lunch where attendees get the opportunity to meet MPs informally

“Incredibly interesting and beneficial. I have a whole lot more insight into government and parliamentary process, thank you!” “The major value of the seminar is the personal approach each speaker has taken in presenting their topics, congrats to all the speakers on showing so much of themselves today” “I was so impressed with how generous the speakers were with their time and how frank that were with their views and advice. It made for an excellent and worthwhile day. The organisation of the day was seamless too”

Seminar attendees

6


Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern, Prime Minister

Hon Simon Bridges MP, Leader of the Opposition

Hon Jacqui Dean speaking at the March seminar

Rt Hon Winston Peters, Acting Prime Minister leaving the July seminar following his address

Chloe Swarbrick, new MP

7


SELECT COMMITTEE SEMINAR 18 participants attended the Trust’s fifth “Select Committee Seminar” held in June. The programme provided seminar participants with a comprehensive overview of the select committee service and an opportunity to view the Social Services and Community Committee in session. A panel discussion involving 3 MPs provided an opportunity to learn more about the select committee process from the perspective of an MP, as did the case study presentation from the Manager House, Office of the Clerk on the petition signed by Hon Maryan Street and 8,974 others. In the words of one seminar participant …

“This really enhanced my awareness of the depth and breadth of SC activities, and also the demands on members”

The MPs panel – Hon Tim Macindoe, Poto Williams, Assistant Speaker and Sarah Dowie

2019 will see some changes and enhancements to the existing parliamentary seminar programme and the introduction of a new one -day programme on the Machinery of Government and Parliament reflecting feedback from seminar participants.

BUSINESS OVERVIEWS Two Business Overview events were held in 2018. Our Winter Business Overview in August featured Neal Barclay, Chief Executive of Meridian Energy who addressed members on the subject of Climate Action – Making it our Business highlighting the importance of organisations taking action and demonstrating the value they can grow by helping to combat climate change.

Lisa King of Eat My Lunch

Neal Barclay, Chief Executive of Meridian Energy

8

The Speaker for the Spring Business Overview was social entrepreneur Lisa King, founder of Eat My Lunch. Lisa gave a thought-provoking address and challenged our way of thinking about how individuals and businesses can have meaningful social impact.


ONE DAY BUSINESS SEMINAR FOR MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT TVNZ hosted a highly successful ‘Business Away Day’ seminar for ten Members of Parliament at their Head Office in Auckland on 30 May. Clayton Mitchell MP Board Member and Priyanca Radhakrishnan MP – new Breakfast show lineup

MPs were given a series of overviews on the role TVNZ plays in New Zealand life and the company’s future plans. Visiting the studio for some interactive content with the Breakfast Team enabled a number of MPs to put their presentation skills to the test in front of the camera. The Trust warmly acknowledges TVNZ’s management and staff for bringing together a really interesting and purposeful programme for the MPs.

Jack Tame detailing the finer points

BUSINESS STUDY PROGRAMMES 7 Business Study Programme attachments were successfully completed by the following Members of Parliament during the year.

Ginny Anderson

Progressive Enterprises Ltd

Chris Bishop

Air New Zealand Ltd

Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi

Lotto NZ

Brett Hudson

Lion - Beer, Spirits & Wine NZ Ltd

Dr Deborah Russell

Fonterra Co- operative Group

Louisa Wall

GlaxoSmithKline NZ Ltd

Angie Warren- Clark

Foodstuffs NZ Ltd

Dr Deborah Russell MP, Board Member on her attachment with Fonterra Co-operative Group

A further 3 Members of Parliament are in the process of undertaking attachments but will not complete these until 2019. Attachments involving three other corporate members, while confirmed are still under discussion. It is clear from the feedback received from Members of Parliament undertaking attachments, that the experience in doing so is very worthwhile and much valued. The challenge is to fit the required time commitment into already busy and ever- changing schedules. Our Corporate members continue to be very accommodating in this regard. The opportunities provided for members of Parliament to spend time with their businesses is not only greatly appreciated, it is a key pillar of the Trust’s purpose.

Brett Hudson MP with Technical and Regulatory Leader David Meads at the Pride Bewery - LION

9


TRAVEL FUND ASSISTANCE FOR SCHOOL VISITS TO PARLIAMENT

EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIPS & TRUST STUDY PRIZES The Trust has had a longstanding relationship with the Victoria University Wellington through the provision of both scholarships and prizes in politics and since 2014 with the University of Canterbury. The winners of the Victoria University Wellington Trust Study prizes, valued at $1,500 each, were Karishma Patel and Rebecca Evans. Both students had undertaken post graduate studies in international relationships in addition to internships with our Parliament and in the case of Karishma, at Congress in Washington DC. In April the Board requested the Chief Executive to undertake a comprehensive review of the Trust’s tertiary education programme with a view to developing a new more inclusive approach and involving a wider group of universities.

This scheme has been in effect since July 2015. In order to qualify for funding assistance, schools must undertake the 90- minute “How Parliament Works” educational tour organised by the Parliament Education Services. A little funding from the Trust can make all the difference and that students who would not normally be given the opportunity to visit their Parliament are able to do so. The Trust is also equally impressed with how many of the rural and small- town schools are supported by their communities through fundraising ventures. In 2018 the Trust provided grants totalling $78,120 to 46 schools enabling 1,035 students and 42 parents/ caregivers to visit Parliament. A full schedule of all schools receiving funding in 2018 is given at Appendix 4.

The outcome of the review has seen the Board discontinue its funding of existing scholarships and to give prizes only. The political departments of the Universities of Auckland, Canterbury and Otago and Waikato will now be the recipient of prizes in politics and/or public policy. We are also exploring new possibilities with Victoria University Wellington.

Karishma Patel flanked by Rt Hon David Carter MP and Rt Hon Trevor Mallard MP

Samples of feedback received:

YOUTH PARLIAMENT Preliminary planning is underway for the 2019 Youth Parliament to be held in July. The Trust will again be organising and supporting a prize competition open to all youth parliamentarians and youth press gallery members. 10

“ When camp planning is just starting to get me down…You’ve made my day! Thank you so much on behalf of our tamariki ” “ We are absolutely thrilled to hear that we have been successful in receiving a grant to visit Parliament in November. As a small rural school this means so much to us and we are hugely appreciative of your generosity ”


“ Your travel subsidy meant much more to us than just financial support – it was just the lift we need to believe that this trip might be possible ” “ Thanks heaps. We really appreciate it and loved our visit to Parliament ”. “ It was, without doubt the best email I have received for a long time. Thanks very much for considering us and for your kind offer to assist with the costs of our trip to Wellington ”. From 2019 schools will be encouraged to identify other Civics and Citizenship Education based activities on offer in Wellington that connect to and enhance the parliamentary programme.

REBRANDING AND REVIEW OF TRUST COMMUNICATIONS AND PUBLICATIONS At their final meeting of 2018, the Board approved a new logo embodying the spirit of engagement and learning featuring vibrant colours to give the Trust a more modern appearance while acknowledging the past.

THANK YOU I would like to record my thanks to the Speaker’s Office, the Clerk and staff of the Office of the Clerk and the Parliamentary Service (in particular Executive Assistants) for their assistance and support throughout the year. The Trust relies heavily on you to help us achieve our mission. Thank you too to our Corporate Liaison officers, without whose cooperation our programmes could not be implemented. I also acknowledge the excellent work of Kim Mantell of Mantell Brands, in relation to work around the new branding project in addition to maintaining our current portfolio of publications and the financial services provided by our accountant Brent Pearson of B J Pearson Ltd. Finally, my personal thanks to my colleagues Vasoula Kappatos and Tassie Wong for their contribution to the work of the Trust and who have been generous in coping with the demands of a new CE!

Darryl M Stevens MNZM Chief Executive

COMMUNICATIONS A new webpage is to be designed and to go live at the end of the first quarter of 2019. Once the new site is operational work will then commence on creating a social media presence for the Trust.

PUBLICATIONS All current publications are being reviewed and updated where required. A move to have all our publications on-line is a key driver of the review. Our corporate membership and funding application forms are also being re-assessed and strengthened to provide more robust information to aid the decision making processes. These will be rolled- out in the first half of 2019.

Secretariat with Board Member Gretta Stephens

11


APPENDIX 1 - 3 APPENDIX 1 2018 PROGRAMME OF EVENTS Function for new MPs

21 February

Parliamentary Seminar

28 March

Annual General Meeting

4 April

One-Day Business Seminar for MPs

30 May

Select Committee Seminar

13 June

President’s Dinner

4 July

Parliamentary Seminar

25 July

Winter Business Overview

15 August

President’s Dinner

12 September

Parliamentary Seminar

24 October

Spring Business Overview

7 November

APPENDIX 2 THE FOLLOWING CORPORATE CHIEF EXECUTIVES ATTENDED PRESIDENT’S DINNERS JULY Sam Abbott

General Manager

Imperial Tobacco NZ Ltd

Michael Bull

Country Manager

Fujitsu New Zealand Ltd

Alan Carter

Country Manager

Sanofi New Zealand Ltd

Michael Hales

Chief Executive

NZ Agriseeds

Ross Milne

Chairman

Deloitte Ltd

Peter Thompson

Managing Director

Barfoot & Thompson

Fraser Whineray

Chief Executive Officer

Mercury NZ Ltd

Michael Ahearne

Chief Operating Officer

SkyCity Entertainment Group

Alison Andrew

Chief Executive

Transpower NZ Ltd

Steven Carden

Chief Executive

Pāmu (Landcorp Farming Ltd)

Kevin Kenrick

Chief Executive

TVNZ

Chris Lyman

Chief Executive

Lotto NZ

Joanne Mahon

Chief Communications & Brand Officer

Southern Cross

Adele Rose

Chief Executive

3R Group Ltd

Paul Smith

Director NZ

Merck Sharp & Dohme (NZ) LTD

SEPTEMBER

12


APPENDIX 3 CORPORATE ATTENDEES PARLIAMENTARY SEMINAR - MARCH Dominic Salmon

3R Group Ltd

Sarah Neville

Qantas Airways Ltd

Suzanne O’Brien

ACG Tertiary & Careers Group Ltd

Geordie Johnson

Russell McVeagh

Fraser Chapman

BNZ

Penny George

Sanofi New Zealand

Gareth Williamson

Christchurch International Airport Ltd

Martine Milicich

SBS Bank

Kiely Evans

Genesis Energy Ltd

Courtney Simpson

SKYCITY Entertainment Group Limited

Sam Abbott

Imperial Tobacco Australia Limited

Anaru Tuhi

Spark NZ

Amber Clotworthy

Lion - Beer, Spirits & Wine NZ Ltd

Libby Middlebrook

Todd Property

Suzy Clarke

Lotto NZ

Laura Ackland

Transpower New Zealand Ltd

Alisha Lewis

McDonald’s Restaurants (NZ) Ltd

Rachel Howard

TVNZ

Francis Lawes

Merck Sharp & Dohme (New Zealand) Limited

Claire Addis

TVNZ

Sharron Came

Mercury NZ Ltd

Bridget McDonald

Vector

Sam Fleming

Meridian Energy

Elissa Downey

Vodafone

Michael Hales

New Zealand Agriseeds Ltd

Katrina Pullan

Westpac

Andrew Eagles

NZGBC

Bjorn Agnew

Westpac

Steve Moratti

Pacific Aluminium

Adrian Welch

Westpac

Craig Sain

Ports of Auckland

Megan Paine

Willis Bond & Co

Marcus Waters

PowerNet

Sheena Thomas

Z Energy

NZ Post

PARLIAMENTARY SEMINAR - JULY Sven Herselman

3R Group Ltd

Diana Wilson

David Poppelwell

Abbvie Ltd

Andreas Kasoulides NZMA

Gill Slaughter

Abbvie Ltd

Allan D’Souza

Ports of Auckland

Kim Nichols

Airways Corporation

Tim Brown

PowerNet

Penny Wells

Christchurch International Airport Ltd

Tiffany Heathfield

Qantas

Hyun Choi

Deloitte

Jessie Chiang

Radio NZ

David Hook

Fujitsu New Zealand Limited

Sophie Hayman

Russell McVeagh

Dr Jim Lello

GlaxoSmithKline NZ Limited

Julie North

Sealord

Tanya Currie

Goodman (NZ) Ltd

Jo Lawrence -King

Southern Cross Healthcare Group

Chris Whelan

Grant Thornton

Elisabeth McCardle

Spark NZ

Catherine Reiss

Hawkins/Downer Group NZ

Megan Wiltshire

Order of St John Head Office

Jess Etheridge

IAG

Michele Lee

TVNZ

Gary Dickson

Imperial Tobacco Australia Ltd

Sarah Szegota

Villa Maria

Kat McDonald

Lion-Beer, Spirits & Wine NZ Ltd

Elissa Downey

Vodafone

Marcus Playle

Lion-Beer, Spirits & Wine NZ Ltd

Gina Dellabarca

Westpac

Liz Nicholson

McDonald’s Restaurants

Nicola Law

Z Energy

Polly Atkins

Meridian Energy Ltd 13


APPENDIX 3 - 4 APPENDIX 3 CONTINUED PARLIAMENTARY SEMINAR - OCTOBER Toni Bye

3R Group Ltd

Alice Paine

NZ Post Group

Amy Moore

Abbvie

Vicki Woodley

NZ Steel

Nick Burrows

ACT Tertiary & Careers Group Ltd

Sharon Flynn

OceanaGold

Sharon Cooke

Airways Corporation of NZ Ltd

Danielle Crawford

OceanaGold

Micah Radford

Christchurch International Airport Ltd

Mitch Knight

Parliamentary Services

Guy Ryan

Deloitte

Reinhold Goeschl

Ports of Auckland

Brooke Dahlberg

Downer

Rachael Watt

PowerNet

Douglas Gray

Fonterra

Sheryn Fearon

Qantas Airways

Bridget Catchpole

Genesis Energy

Jacqui Cammell

Sanofi New Zealand

Erynne Goosen

GlaxoSmithKline NZ Ltd

Campbell Gibson

Southern Cross Healthcare Group

Sebastian Nakielski Goodman

Richard Adams

Spark NZ

Glyn Jones

IAG

Elisabeth McCardle

Spark NZ

Shannon Mackay

Imperial Tobacco Australia Ltd

Tenise Tuinukfafe

Tonga Parliament

Faith Thumath

KiwiRail NZ

Kerri Osborne

Transpower NZ

Kim Ellwood

Landcorp Farming Ltd

Luke Bodle

TVNZ

Sophie Kurta

LION

Alex Lagny

Veolia Ltd

Hayley Wolters

Loto NZ

Lise Mackie

Vodafone NZ

Lucy Fontinha

McDonalds Restaurants NZ Ltd

Jeremy Clarke

Z Energy

SELECT COMMITTEE SEMINAR - JUNE

14

Dominic Salmon

3R Group Ltd

Mark Weaver

NZ Steel

Andrew Tompkin

Abbvie Ltd

Jonathan Hulme

Ports of Auckland

Michaela Lion

Abbvie Ltd

Michelle Henderson PowerNet

Kathy Maclaren

ACG Tertiary & Careers Group Ltd

Alan Carter

Sanofi New Zealand

Emily Davies

Airways Corporation of NZ Ltd

Robyn MacDonald

Subaru of New Zealand

Trent Fulcher

Airways Corporation of NZ Ltd

Laura Auckland

Transpower New Zealand Ltd

Fiona Campbell

ANZ Bank

Vaughan Matthews Vodafone NZ Ltd

Rebekah McCrae

Mercury NZ Ltd

Rosalind Luxford

Willis Bond & Co

Dana Toeke

NZ Steel

Nick Webster

Yobbee School of Design


APPENDIX 4 TRAVEL FUND ASSISTANCE FOR SCHOOL VISITS TO PARLIAMENT 2018 SCHOOL

LOCATION

Q1 - 2

Russell School

Russell

3,120

St Joseph’s School

Queenstown

4,800

Q2 - 13

Fairfield Intermediate School

Hamilton

1,530

Frasertown School

Wairoa, Hawkes Bay

2,400

Hastings Boys High School

Hastings

780

Kuranui College

Greytown, Wairapapa

630

Manukura School

Palmerston North

Nelson Christian Academy

Nelson

Our Lady of Victories School

Sockburn, Christchurch

1,200

Paraparaumu College

Paraparaumu

1,200

Rutherford College

Auckland

St Patrick’s School

Greymouth

2,280

Te Mahia School

Mahia, East Coast

2,340

Timaru Boys High School

Timaru, South Canterbury

1,440

Timaru Girls High School

Timaru, South Canterbury

1,080

Greenmeadows Intermediate School

Manurewa, Auckland

Hanmer Springs Primary School

Hamner Springs

1,500

Lyttelton Primary School

Lyttelton, Christchurch

1,020

Maraekakaho School

Hastings

1,800

Oaklands School

Halswell, Christchurch

1,800

Pukehamoamoa School

Hastings

1,740

Redcliffs School

Sumner, Christchurch

2,280

Tahakopa School

Owaka

960

Taikura Rudolf Steiner School

Hastings

480

Waiharara School

Kaitaia

2,280

Waitakaruru School

Thames

1,800

Casebrook Intermediate

Christchurch

1,620

Flat Bush School

Otara

3,600

Hinds School

Ashburton

2,520

Karangahake School

Paeroa

1,710

Lawrence School

Otago

Maromaku School

Kawakawa, Northland

1,320

Marshland School

North Canterbury

1,140

Matauri Bay School

Kaeo

3,600

Mayfair Primary

Hastings

1,920

Miller Avenue School

Paeroa

2,970

Normanby School

South Taranaki

1,680

New Brighton Catholic School

Christchurch

1,560

Pukehou School

Otana

1,200

St Mary’s

Hastings

1,920

Sherenden & Districts School

Hastings

1,440

South Westland Area School

West Coast, South Island

1,140

Tangiteroria School

Northland

480

Te Kopuru School

Northland

2,280

Te Kua o Waikaremoana

Wairoa

1,920

Wairere School

Matamata-Piako

Q3 - 11

Q4 - 20

GRANT

1,140 660

990

990

960

900 15


16


PERFORMANCE REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018 17


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS AND PARLIAMENT TRUST ENTITY INFORMATION FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

LEGAL NAME OF ENTITY

New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust.

TYPE OF ENTITY AND LEGAL BASIS New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust is incorporated under the Charitable Trusts Act 1957 and is registered with the Charities Commission. The Registration Number is CC43956. AUDITOR

Grant Thornton New Zealand Audit Partnership.

SOLICITOR

Russell McVeagh.

BANKER

Westpac New Zealand Limited.

NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST’S PURPOSE / MISSION Mission Statement To advance and encourage understanding and goodwill between the business community of New Zealand and Parliamentarians.

ENTITY STRUCTURE The New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust (“the Trust”) is a Trust focused on supporting business and economic activities in New Zealand. It is also a registered charity. The Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees comprising four members of the Trustee Council who are subscribing Corporate members of the Trust, and three members of the Trustee Council who are Members of Parliament. The Trustee Council is composed of representatives from each of the political parties represented in the House of Representatives. The Board meets at least four times per year and must also convene an Annual General Meeting. The Trust’s operations are managed by a team of three part-time paid employees - the Chief Executive, an Executive Assistant, and an Administration Assistant.

18


MAIN SOURCES OF THE ENTITY’S CASH AND RESOURCES

The New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust’s primary source of funding is through receipt of membership income. The Trust also receives interest income on bank balances held by it.

19


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST STATEMENT OF SERVICE PERFORMANCE FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

DESCRIPTION OF THE ENTITY’S OUTCOMES

The strategic objectives and outcomes of the New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust include: advancing and encouraging understanding and goodwill between the business community of New Zealand and Parliamentarians; widening the experience of Parliamentarians in their knowledge of the business community and improving the understanding within the business community of the issues facing Parliament; advancing and encouraging public education or other charitable purposes beneficial to the community in connection with the work of Parliament.

OUTCOMES AND MEASURES OF QUALITY AND OBJECTIVES IN RESPECT TO DELIVERY

ACTUAL

BUDGET

ACTUAL

2018

2018

2017

Parliamentary Seminars (for Corporate members)

3

3

2

Select Committee Seminars (for Corporate members)

1

1

1

Business Study Programme attachments (for MPs)

7

*

11

One - day Business Seminars (for MPs)

1

1

0

“Business Overview” events for Corporate Members and MPs

2

2

1

“President’s Dinners” for CEOs of the Trust’s Corporate membership

2

3

3

New Members Function

1

1

0

Provision of Scholarships and Trust Study Prizes

2

@

2

Travel assistance for schools visiting Parliament

46

#

31

NOTES

(*) It is not possible to estimate how many Members of Parliament might undertake an attachment in any one year or how long it may take to complete an attachment. (@) Trust Study Prizes involving one university were agreed to and presented at the Annual Meeting. No Scholarships were awarded during 2018 following a decision by the Board to review the tertiary funding package that required the two participating Universities to suspend the scholarships. (#) It is not possible to estimate how many schools might apply for travel assistance funding.

20


ADDITIONAL OUTPUT MEASURES

For the Parliamentary Seminars and the Select Committee Seminar, participants are presented with a survey form seeking their comments on specific elements of the day’s programme. The survey results are presented to the Trust Board for their information.

21


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

NOTES

2018

2017

$

$

324,674

326,500

21,659

23,381

346,333

349,881

Provision of goods or services

253,489

210,454

Other expenses

120,761

146,873

374,250

357,327

(27,917)

(7,446)

0

0

(27,917)

(7,466)

Revenue Fees, subscriptions and other revenue from members Interest, dividends and other investment revenue Total Revenue Expenses

Total Expenses

1

Deficit for the period before tax Income Tax Deficit for the period after tax

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with the accompanying notes.

22


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL POSITION AS AT 31 DECEMBER 2018

ASSETS

NOTES

2018

2017

$

$

49,984

22,337

400,000

475,000

Accrued interest

7,829

4,246

GST receivable

5,109

4,325

462,922

505,908

5,233

5,787

Investments

50,000

50,000

Total Non - Current Assets

55,233

55,787

518,155

561,695

Creditors and accruals

12,521

26,485

Employee entitlements

8,103

10,134

Other current liabilities

371

0

Total Current Liabilities

20,995

36,619

Total Liabilities

20,995

36,619

497,160

525,076

497,160

525,076

497,160

525,076

Current Assets Bank and cash Deposits

Total Current Assets Non - Current Assets Property, Plant and Equipment

Total Assets Current Liabilities

Net Assets Accumulated Funds 2

Reserves Total Accumulated Funds

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with the accompanying notes.

7 March 2019 Signed

Peter Griffiths

Date

12 March 2019 Signed

Darryl Stevens MNZM

Date

23


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES

2018

2017

$

$

324,674

326,500

18,077

37,943

0

1,745

(308,481)

(293,533)

(78,360)

(48,240)

(2,177)

0

(46,267)

24,415

0

0

Acquisition of property, plant and equipment

(1,086)

(5,206)

Net movement of term deposits

75,000

(25,000)

Net Cash Flows from Investing and Financing Activities

73,914

(30,206)

Net Increase /(Decrease) in Cash

27,647

(5,791)

Opening Cash

22,337

28,128

Closing Cash

49,984

22,337

49,984

22,337

Cash was received from Fees, subscriptions and other receipts from members Interest, dividends and other investment receipts Net GST Cash was applied to: Payments to suppliers and employees Donations or grants paid Net GST Net Cash Flows from Operating Activities Cash Flows from Investing and Financing Activities Cash was received from: Net movement of investments

Cash was applied to:

This is represented by: Bank & Cash

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with the accompanying notes.

24


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTING POLICIES FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

BASIS OF PREPARATION

INVESTMENTS

The Trust has elected to apply PBE SFR - A (NFP) Public Benefit Entity Simple Format Reporting - Accrual (NotFor-Profit) on the basis that it does not have public accountability and has total annual expenses of equal to or less than $2,000,000 for the last two annual reporting periods.

Investments are recorded at cost.

All transactions in the Performance Report are reported using the accrual basis of accounting. The Performance Report is prepared under the assumption that the Trust will continue to operate as a going concern in the foreseeable future. The performance report is presented in New Zealand Dollars. All numbers presented have been rounded to the nearest dollar unless otherwise stated.

REVENUE Revenue is accounted for as follows: Membership income Fees and subscriptions received in exchange for monthly access to member’s facilities are initially recorded as income in advance and recognised in revenue evenly over the membership period. Interest and dividend income Interest income is recognised on an accruals basis.

INCOME TAX

GOODS AND SERVICES TAX (GST) The Trust is GST registered. All amounts are recorded exclusive of GST, except for Debtors and Creditors which are stated inclusive of GST.

PROPERTY, PLANT AND EQUIPMENT Property, plant and equipment are shown at cost or valuation less any accumulated depreciation and impairment losses. Depreciation Depreciation is provided on a straight-line basis on all property, plant and equipment, at rates that will write off the cost of the assets to their estimated residual values over their useful lives. The depreciation rates and useful lives associated with major classes of assets have been estimated as follows: Office equipment : 5 years

EMPLOYEE COSTS Employee entitlements are measured at undiscounted nominal values based on accrued entitlements at current rates of pay.

The Trust is a registered charity under the Charities Act 2005, and accordingly is not subject to income tax.

These include salaries and wages accrued up to balance date, and annual leave earned but not taken at balance date.

BANK ACCOUNTS AND CASH

The Trust recognises a liability and an expense for bonuses it is contractually obliged to pay, or where a past event has created a constructive obligation.

Bank and cash in the Statement of Cash Flows comprise cash balances and bank balances (including short term deposits) with original maturities of 90 days or less.

CHANGES IN ACCOUNTING POLICIES

DEPOSITS

There have been no changes in accounting policies during the annual reporting period (2017: None).

Deposits comprise term deposits which have a term of greater than three months and therefore do not fall into the category of cash and cash equivalents. 25


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST NOTES TO THE PERFORMANCE REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

NOTE 1 – ANALYSIS OF EXPENSES

2018

2017

$

$

Brochures, Annual Review, Information Bulletins

30,233

24,426

Business and Parliamentary Study Programmes

137,113

111,034

3,000

13,000

83,143

61,994

253,489

210,454

85,853

100,628

0

6,250

13,401

14,140

Rent

5,333

5,333

Stationery and postage

7,480

8,614

Telephone and communications

3,116

3,559

Travel and accommodation

5,578

8,349

120,761

146,873

GENERAL FUND $

STUDY FUND RESERVE $

TOTAL

Opening funds as at 1 January 2018

405,076

120,000

525,076

Operating Deficit for the year

(24,916)

(3,000)

(27,916)

(3,000)

3,000

0

377,160

120,000

497,160

Provision of goods or services

Study Fund expenditure Special events Total

Other Expenses Secretariat Honorarium Professional fees

Total

NOTE 2 - ACCUMULATED FUNDS 2018

Transfer to Study Fund Closing Funds at 31 December 2018

26

$


2017

GENERAL FUND $

STUDY FUND RESERVE $

TOTAL

412,522

120,000

532,522

5,554

(13,000)

(7,446)

Transfer to Study Fund

(13,000)

13,000

0

Closing Funds at 31 December 2017

405,076

120,000

525,076

2018

2017

$

$

Opening Funds as at 1 January 2017 Operating Deficit on activities for the year

BREAKDOWN OF RESERVES

$

Name

Nature and Purpose

General Fund

For operational expenses

377,160

405,076

Study Fund

For the provision of Scholarships and Trust Study Prizes

120,000

120,000

497,160

525,076

Total

SIGNIFICANT DONATED ASSETS - NOT RECORDED The Trust has not received any significant donated assets during the course of the year. (2017: None).

NOTE 3 - COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES There were no commitments or contingencies as at 31 December 2018 (2017: None)

27


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST NOTES TO THE PERFORMANCE REPORT FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2018

NOTE 4 - RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS

2018 $ VALUE OF

2017 $ VALUE OF

2018 $ AMOUNT

2017 $ AMOUNT

TRANSACTIONS

TRANSACTIONS

OUTSTANDING

OUTSTANDING

Description of Related Party Relationship

Description of the Transaction (whether in cash or amount in kind)

Amounts paid to the Chairman

The Trust Board agreed (and ratified at the AGM on 10 April 2013) that the Chairman would receive an honorarium of $15,000 per annum, if requested.

0

6,250

0

0

The Chairman also receives $1,200 per annum in Chairman’s disbursements.

0

500

0

0

0

0

0

0

The other Trustees do not receive any funds

The current Chair has indicated he does not wish to receive the Honorarium, nor funds for disbursements.

NOTE 5 - EVENTS AFTER THE REPORTING DATE There were no events that have occurred after the reporting date that would have a material impact on the Performance Report. (2017: None)

28


INDEPENDENT AUDITOR’S REPORT

Audit Grant Thornton New Zealand Audit Partnership L15 Grant Thornton House 215 Lambton Quay PO Box 10712 Wellington 6143 T +64 (0) 4 474 8500 F +64 (0) 4 474 8509 www.grantthornton.co.nz

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST : REPORT ON THE PERFORMANCE REPORT

OPINION We have audited the performance report of New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust (the “Trust”) on pages 18 to 28, which comprises the entity information, the statement of service performance, the statement of financial performance and statement of cash flows for the year ended 31 December 2018, the statement of financial position as at 31 December 2018, and notes to the financial statements, including summary of significant accounting policies and other explanatory information. In our opinion: a) the reported outcomes and outputs, and quantification of the outputs to the extent practicable, in the statement of service performance are suitable; b) the accompanying performance report presents fairly, in all material respects: the entity information for the year then ended; the service performance for the year then ended; and the financial position of the Trust as at 31 December 2018 and its financial performance, and cash flows for the year then ended in accordance with Public Benefit Entity Simple Format Reporting – Accrual (Not-ForProfit) issued in New Zealand by the New Zealand Accounting Standards Board.

BASIS FOR OPINION We conducted our audit of the statement of financial performance, statement of financial position, statement of cash flows, statement of accounting policies and notes to the performance report in accordance with International Standards on Auditing (New Zealand) (ISAs (NZ)), and the audit of the entity information and statement of service performance in accordance with the International Standard on Assurance Engagements (New Zealand) ISAE (NZ) 3000 (Revised). Our responsibilities under those standards are further described in the Auditor’s Responsibilities for the Audit of the Performance Report section of our report. We are independent of the Trust in accordance with Professional and Ethical Standard 1 (Revised) Code of Ethics for Assurance Practitioners issued by the New Zealand Auditing and Assurance Standards Board, and we have fulfilled our other ethical responsibilities in accordance with these requirements. We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion. Other than in our capacity as auditor we have no relationship with, or interests in, the Trust.

Chartered Accountants Member of Grant Thornton International Ltd

29


INDEPENDENT AUDITOR’S REPORT

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE TRUSTEES FOR THE PERFORMANCE REPORT The Trustees are responsible for: (a) Identifying outcomes and outputs, and quantifying the outputs to the extent practicable, that are relevant, reliable, comparable and understandable, to report in the statement of service performance; (b) the preparation and fair presentation of the performance report on behalf of the Trust which comprises: the entity information; the statement of service performance; and the statement of financial performance, statement of financial position, statement of cash flows, statement of accounting policies and notes to the performance report in accordance with Public Benefit Entity Simple Format Reporting – Accrual (Not - ForProfit) issued in New Zealand by the New Zealand Accounting Standards Board, and (c) for such internal control as the Trustees determine is necessary to enable the preparation of the performance report that is free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error. In preparing the performance report, the Trustees are responsible on behalf of Trust for assessing the Trust’s ability to continue as a going concern, disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern and using the going concern basis of accounting unless the Trustees either intend to liquidate Trust or to cease operations, or have no realistic alternative but to do so.

Chartered Accountants Member of Grant Thornton International Ltd

30


AUDITOR’S RESPONSIBILITIES FOR THE AUDIT OF THE PERFORMANCE REPORT Our objectives are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the performance report is free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and to issue an auditor’s report that includes our opinion. Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with ISAs (NZ) and ISAE (NZ) 3000 (Revised) will always detect a material misstatement when it exists. Misstatements can arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of this performance report. As part of an audit in accordance with ISAs (NZ) and ISAE (NZ) 3000 (Revised), we exercise professional judgement and maintain professional scepticism throughout the audit. We also: Identify and assess the risks of material misstatement of the performance report, whether due to fraud or error, design and perform audit procedures responsive to those risks, and obtain audit evidence that is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion. The risk of not detecting a material misstatement resulting from fraud is higher than for one resulting from error, as fraud may involve collusion, forgery, intentional omissions, misrepresentations, or the override of internal control. Obtain an understanding of internal control relevant to the audit in order to design audit procedures that are appropriate in the circumstances, but not for the purpose of expressing an opinion on the effectiveness of the entity’s internal control. Evaluate the appropriateness of accounting policies used and the reasonableness of accounting estimates and related disclosures made by management. Conclude on the appropriateness of the use of the going concern basis of accounting by the Trustees and, based on the audit evidence obtained, whether a material uncertainty exists related to events or conditions that may cast significant doubt on the entity’s ability to continue as a going concern. If we conclude that a material uncertainty exists, we are required to draw attention in our auditor’s report to the related disclosures in the performance report or, if such disclosures are inadequate, to modify our opinion. Our conclusions are based on the audit evidence obtained up to the date of our auditor’s report. However, future events or conditions may cause the entity to cease to continue as a going concern. Evaluate the overall presentation, structure and content of the performance report, including the disclosures, and whether the performance report represents the underlying transactions and events in a manner that achieves fair presentation. Perform procedures to obtain evidence about and evaluate whether the reported outcomes and outputs, and quantification of the outputs to the extent practicable, are relevant, reliable, comparable and understandable. We communicate with the Trustees regarding, among other matters, the planned scope and timing of the audit and significant audit findings, including any significant deficiencies in internal control that we identify during our audit.

Chartered Accountants Member of Grant Thornton International Ltd

31


INDEPENDENT AUDITOR’S REPORT

RESTRICTION ON USE OF OUR REPORT This report is made solely to the Trusts Members as a body. Our audit work has been undertaken so that we might state to the Trusts Members as a body, those matters which we are required to state to them in our audit report and for no other purpose. To the fullest extent permitted by law, we do not accept or assume responsibility to anyone other than the Trust and its Members, as a body, for our audit work, for this report or for the opinion we have formed. Grant Thornton New Zealand Audit Partnership

N Keddie Associate Director Wellington 12 March 2019

Chartered Accountants Member of Grant Thornton International Ltd

32


NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS & PARLIAMENT TRUST DIRECTORY AND MEMBERSHIP

PATRON

PRESIDENT

CHAIRMAN

Vacant

Rt Hon Trevor Mallard MP

Peter Griffiths

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TRUSTEE COUNCIL

BOARD MEMBERS

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern Dave Chambers (to 30 June 2018) Hon Simon Bridges MP John Dakin Peter Griffiths Gareth Hughes MP Simon Mackenzie Nancy McConnell Clayton Mitchell MP

Dr Deborah Russell MP Alastair Scott MP David Seymour MP Gretta Stephens

CHIEF EXECUTIVE

EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT

Darryl Stevens MNZM

Vasoula Kappatos

Tassie Wong

25. IAG New Zealand Ltd 26. IBM New Zealand Ltd 27. Imperial Tobacco NZ Ltd 28. Johnson & Johnson NZ Ltd 29. Kaipara Limited 30. Kensington Swan 31. KiwiRail 32. Lion - Beer, Spirits & Wine NZ Ltd 33. Lotto New Zealand 34. Marsden Maritime Holdings Ltd 35. McDonald’s Restaurants NZ Ltd 36. Merck Sharp & Dohme (NZ) Ltd 37. Mercury NZ Ltd 38. Meridian Energy 39. Metropolitan Glass & Glazing Ltd 40. Microsoft New Zealand Ltd 41. NZ Agriseeds Co Ltd 42. NZ Post Group 43. NZ Steel Ltd 44. OceanaGold Waihi 45. Pacific Aluminium 46. Pāmu Farms New Zealand 47. Ports of Auckland Ltd 48. PowerNet Limited 49. Progressive Enterprises Ltd

50. Qantas Group 51. Refining New Zealand 52. Russell McVeagh 53. Saatchi & Saatchi 54. Sanofi New Zealand Ltd 55. SBS Bank Group 56. Sealord Group Ltd 57. Shell New Zealand (2011) Ltd 58. SKYCITY Entertainment Group 59. Southern Cross Healthcare 60. Spark New Zealand 61. St John 62. Steel & Tube Holdings Ltd 63. Subaru of New Zealand 64. Talley’s Group Ltd 65. Television New Zealand Ltd 66. Todd Corporation Ltd 67. Transpower New Zealand Ltd 68. Vector Ltd 69. Veolia Ltd 70. Villa Maria Estate Ltd 71. Vodafone New Zealand Ltd 72. Westpac 73. Willis Bond & Co Ltd 74. Z Energy

Dave Chambers (to 30 June 2018) Peter Griffiths (Chair) Nancy McConnell (Deputy Chair) Clayton Mitchell MP Dr Deborah Russell MP Alastair Scott MP Gretta Stephens Chris Litchfield (from 27 Nov 2018)

CORPORATE MEMBERS 1. 3R Group Ltd 2. Abano Healthcare Group Ltd 3. AbbVie Ltd 4. ACG Tertiary & Careers Group Ltd 5. Air New Zealand Ltd 6. Airways Corporation of NZ Ltd 7. ANZ (New Zealand) Ltd 8. Bank of New Zealand Ltd 9. Barfoot & Thompson 10. Bauer Media Group (NZ) LP 11. Beef + Lamb New Zealand 12. Chorus (resigned 30 June) 13. Christchurch Int’l Airport Ltd 14. Coca-Cola Amatil (NZ) Ltd 15. Deloitte Ltd 16. Dell EMC NZ Corporation Ltd 17. Fonterra Co-operative Group 18. Foodstuffs NZ Ltd 19. Fujitsu New Zealand Ltd 20. Genesis Energy Ltd 21. GlaxoSmithKline NZ Ltd 22. Goodman New Zealand Ltd 23. Hawkins Group 24. Holcim (New Zealand) Ltd

ASSOCIATE MEMBERS (CURRENT MPS) 1. Ginny Andersen 2. Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern 3. Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi 4. Hon David Bennett 5. Chris Bishop 6. Hon Simon Bridges 7. Hon Gerry Brownlee 8. Rt Hon David Carter 9. Hon Dr David Clark 10. Hon Clare Curran 11. Hon Jacqui Dean 12. Matt Doocey 13. Hon Ruth Dyson 14. Hon Kris Faafoi 15. Hon Julie Anne Genter 16. Hon Paul Goldsmith 17. Hon Nathan Guy 18. Joanne Hayes 19. Hon Peeni Henare

20. Hon Chris Hipkins 21. Brett Hudson 22. Hon Shane Jones 23. Barbara Kuriger 24. Melissa Lee 25. Hon Andrew Little 26. Jan Logie 27. Hon Nanaia Mahuta 28. Rt Hon Trevor Mallard 29. Hon Ron Mark 30. Hon Tracey Martin 31. Hon Todd McClay 32. Ian McKelvie 33. Todd Muller 34. Hon Stuart Nash 35. Hon Alfred Ngaro 36. Hon Damien O’Connor 37. Simon O’Connor 38. Dr Parmjeet Parmar

39. Hon Grant Robertson 40. Jami-Lee Ross 41. Dr Deborah Russell 42. Hon Jenny Salesa 43. Alastair Scott 44. Hon Scott Simpson JP 45. Hon Aupito William Sio 46. Hon Dr Nick Smith 47. Fletcher Tabuteau 48. Hon Anne Tolley JP 49. Hon Louise Upston 50. Hon Nicky Wagner 51. Louisa Wall 52. Angie Warren-Clark 53. Hon Meka Whaitiri 54. Poto Williams 55. Hon Michael Woodhouse 56. Hon Dr Megan Woods 57. Jonathan Young

33


P F E W

04 472 5365 04 472 2016 office@nzbpt.nz www.nzbpt.nz

Parliamentary Library Building, Private Bag 18041, Parliament Buildings, Wellington 6160

Profile for nzbpt1

NZBPT_AnnualReview_2018_Web.pdf  

NZBPT_AnnualReview_2018_Web.pdf  

Profile for nzbpt1