Page 13


The Second Decade 1966-1975 1966

Geoffrey W. Bartholomew takes over as Dean James Montrose completes his term as Dean and Ford Foundation Visiting Professor and is succeeded by Geoffrey W. Bartholomew. As Dean, Geoffrey Bartholomew champions the localisation of the Faculty by encouraging local graduates like Thio Su Mien and Tommy Koh to take up leadership positions in the Faculty.


Thio Su Mien ’61 becomes youngest Dean Thio Su Mien ‘61, the Faculty’s first alumnus to join its teaching staff in 1962, is appointed Vice Dean. At the close of Geoffrey Bartholomew’s term as Dean, Thio Su Mien is elected Dean, making her the first woman, the first local graduate, and the youngest person ever to be Dean of the Faculty.


Birth of Singapore Law Review The student journal, Me Judice, is transformed into the Singapore Law Review (SLR). The SLR continues to this day as a student-run publication.


Tommy Koh ’61 takes over as Dean Thio Su Mien leaves for private practice and is succeeded as Dean by her classmate, Tommy Koh ’61. He holds the distinction of being the first graduate to have attained First Class Honours from the Faculty. At the time of his appointment, Koh had just returned from his stint as Singapore’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

1973 Faculty participates in Jessup Moot The Faculty sends its first team to the Philip C Jessup International Law Moot Competition in the United States, which is held annually in Washington DC. The Jessup Moot is now regarded as the most prestigious international mooting competition in the world. To date, NUS Law holds the record as the law school with the most number of victories at the moot – four in total.


S. Jayakumar ’63 succeeds Tommy Koh as Dean S. Jayakumar who, joined the Law Faculty in 1964, takes over from Tommy Koh as Dean. He had just returned from a 3-year stint as Singapore’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

Student volunteers at Legal Aid Bureau, circa 1970.

S. Jayakumar, Dean of NUS Law, with his students, circa 1975.


LawLink 2016  

NUS Law Alumni Magazine 2016