Page 1

Koori Mail


To subscribe to the Koori Mail call (02) 66 222 666 The Voice of Indigenous Australia

Jubilant NSW players after retaining the Imparja Cup in Alice Springs on Saturday 12 February. Picture: Graham Hunt

Blues crush Qld By GRAHAM HUNT

Imparja Cup final hero Pat Rosser.

NEW South Wales saved its best until last when it crushed Queensland in the final of the 2012 Imparja Cup cricket competition in Alice Springs on Saturday 11 February. Veteran Pat Rosser played an explosive innings, steering NSW to victory in just 11.1 overs in the T20 final at Traeger Park. Responding to Queensland’s 9-114, NSW was well in control when Rosser decided to take matters into his own hands, blasting an Imparja Cup record 30 runs off just one over from the unfortunate Queensland leg-spinner Adam McDermott. Rosser’s innings included eight fours and six sixes. The four sixes Rosser helped himself to in McDermott’s solitary over were over mid-wicket. Earlier, Rosser had played his part in restricting Queensland to 9-114. He and fellow off-spinner and NSW

captain Jeff Cook each took two wickets as the Blues bowled with discipline. Queensland captain Worrin Williams played a lone hand in resisting the NSW attack. Williams stayed until the end of the Queensland innings, scoring 60 from 41 balls. The final was something of an anti-climax after a thrilling clash between NSW and Queensland earlier in the tournament.

Sneaked home The two teams came together on day three of the competition and NSW sneaked home with a last-ball win at Albrecht Oval. Scores: Queensland 6-165, NSW 6-171. That win assured NSW a place in the final. Nathan Price produced the highest individual score of the series with 97 not out for NSW, ending the match with a six. Queensland clinched its finals berth the next day when it beat Victoria at Larapinta Oval. Victoria were the big improvers of the carnival, finishing the qualifying matches in

third place with 20 points from five wins and two losses (to NSW and Qld). Then came Western Australia (12 points – three wins and four losses), South Australia (12 – three wins and four losses), ACT (8 – two wins and five losses), Northern Territory (4 – one win and six losses) and Tasmania (4 – one win and six losses). Nathan Price (NSW) produced the highest individual score of the series with his 97 not out against Queensland. Others with big innings were Queenslander Bradley Stout (91), Jesse Hampton (ACT) with 87, Pat Rosser with 87 and 85, Michael Bailey (WA) 85 and young Victorian captain Ben Abbatangelo with 81. Tyrone Thomas (NSW) produced the only five-wicket haul of the tournament, finishing with 5-7 against Western Australia on the opening day. Other top efforts came from Bhodi Johnson (Tasmania – 4-14), Michael Bailey (WA – 4-14), Dane Ugle (WA – 4-18), Adrian McAdam (NT – 4-21), Bohdi Walker (Vic – 4-23), Fletcher Stewart (Vic – 4-24) and Michael Dunn (ACT – 4-32).

l Inside: Our big four-page coverage of the Imparja Cup 92 THE KOORI MAIL, WEDNESDAY, 22 FEBRUARY, 2012.

The Voice of Indigenous Australia

Koori Mail Editorial 1  

Page 1 of the Impara Cup Editorial post Imparja Cup 2012