Page 1

The Hon. John Hatzistergos (NSW Attorney-General, 2007-2011) A member of the New South Wales Legislative Council from 1999 until 2011. A senior Minister in the Carr, Iemma, Rees and Keneally Governments, notably serving as Minister for Health (2005-2007, 2009) Minister for Justice (2003-2005, 2007-2009) and Attorney General (2007-2011). Councillor (1997-1999) and Deputy Mayor (1998-1999) of the Canterbury City Council. A Senior Legal Officer with the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions (1987-1989) before being called to the Bar in 1989.

The Hon. Justice Terry Sheahan AO (Judge of the NSW Land and Environment Court 1997-present, NSW Attorney-General 1984-1987) A member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly from 1973 until 1988, serving as the Member for Burrinjuck. Educted at the University of Sydney (BA, LLB). President of the New South Wales Labor Party (1989-1997). President of the New South Wales Workers Compensation Commission (2001-2007) Son of The Hon. William Francis Sheahan who was also NSW Attorney General from 1953 until 1956.

Presently a member of 8 Wentworth Chambers.

The Hon. Paul Lynch (NSW Shadow Attorney-General) A member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly from 1995, serving as the Member for Liverpool. Currently the Shadow Minister for Justice and Shadow Attorney General since 2011. Former Ministries include Minister for Disability Services (2008-2010), Minister for Aboriginal Affairs (2007-2011) and Minister for Industrial Relations (2010-2011). Alderman (1987-1995) and Deputy Mayor (1993-1994) of Liverpool Council. A driving force behind the reinvigoration of the NSW Society of Labor Lawyers.

Labor Lawyers Heritage Walk A walking tour to highlight Labor’s proud history of progressive law reform in NSW

The Hon. Ron Mulock

(NSW Deputy Premier 1984-1988 and NSW Attorney-General 1987-1988) A member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly from 1971 until 1988, serving consecutively as the Member for Nepean, Penrith, and then St Marys.

Educated at the University of Sydney (LLB), admitted as a solicitor in 1955 and immediately commenced practice from own firm in Penrith. Alderman of Penrith City Council from 1965-1971 and Mayor from 1968-1971. A senior Minister in the frist Wran cabinet that came to Government from Opposition in 1976.

5:45pm, 10 October 2013

Law Courts Building Queens Square First opened in 1977, The Law Courts Building accommodates the High Court of Australia, Federal Court of Australia, Federal Circuit Court of Australia and the Supreme Court of New South Wales. Presently undergoing major refurbishments, the Law Courts building is located in Queens Square on the site of the Queen’s Club, a restaurant and a drycleaners.

NSW Parliament House Macquarie Street

Australia’s first and oldest Parliament continues to meet in part of what was known as Governor Macquarie’s “Rum Hospital” built in 1816. Extensive renovations in the 1980s uncovered many of the defects that prompted the famous convict architect, Francis Greenway, to say that the building “must soon fall into ruin”

Ben Chifley Sculpture


Towering some nine metres above passers-by, Simeon Nelson’s sculpture of Labor Prime Minister Ben Chifley (1945-1949) pays tribute in relaxed style. Chifley, an engine driver, taught himself industrial law to better represent his union before industrial tribunals.

Justice and Police Museum Historically a Water Police Office, Watch House, Police Court and Magistrate’s chambers, the Justice and Police Museum now houses over 9000 objects relating to the social history of law, policing and crime in New South Wales. The Museum has a vast negative archive documenting police investigation of some of the State’s most notorious crimes.

NSW Labor Lawyers - Heritage Walk Map  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you