__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

NORTHERN MI

Weddings

Fall/Winter 2018/2019

#Love

Personal Snapchat filters trending for social media sharing

Inside:

— Sonshine Barn shines —H  andmade and from the heart affair at Blisswood

▷ northernMIweddings.com Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 1

1

10/10/18 1:51 PM


2

Northern MI Weddings PN-548760-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 2

10/10/18 1:51 PM


0-1

Northern MI Weddings

3

PN-548737-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 3

10/10/18 1:51 PM


WATER

venue

LOVE

family LAUGHTER seasons

flowers friends guests music RENTALS jewelry

wine

food beverage Northern

kiss

MI hair sunsets Weddings dance church

TOAST

invitations

transportation PHOTOGRAPHY

dress

RECEPTION MAKE-UP

hotel

a look at the newof way of planning along with with ideas from our Pinterest Take a lookTake at the new way planning along ideas with our Pinterest page, page, Instagram feed and real weddings. Make sure to visit our Facebook Instagram feed, real weddings and make sure to visit our Facebook page for page for all the latest, to help you design your perfect wedding day. .com all the latest, to help you design your perfect wedding day.

PN-232868-1

4 24

WED-2018 1031.indd 4 WEDDING-2017 0430.indd 24

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:51 PM 4/13/17 10:56 AM


On the cover

Publisher Doug Caldwell Editor Molly Hauxwell Currier

Thanks to Stephanie N. Baker for contributing the beautiful cover shot of Melissa, who married Joe at Hotel Walloon August 22, 2015. See more details on page 7.

Writers/contributors Jennifer Murphy Ashley Schafer Anne Snabes Rebecca Young Carly Borst Katie Cannon-Friedenstab

Next issue Publishes April 2019 Contact Molly Hauxwell Currier, editor mcurrier@petoskeynews.com

NORTHERN MI

Weddings

Design & layout Wendy Wolfsen Renée Tanner Contributing photographers Chris Van Winkle Photography Jenna Borst Photography Paul Retherford Photography Stephanie N. Baker Photographer The Crooked Porch R. Babcok Photography + Design Mark & Cindi Loyd Advertising Christy Lyons, Advertising director clyons@petoskeynews.com Jennifer Foley, Advertising manager jrfoley@petoskeynews.com

Northern MI Weddings is published by Northern Michigan Review, Inc., 319 State Street, Petoskey, Michigan 49770

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY AREA PHOTOGRAPHERS:

Send us a CD or flash drive of your best wedding shots to use in the next issue of Northern MI Weddings

Sara Smith ssmith@petoskeynews.com

Send or drop off to: Northern MI Weddings, 319 State St., Petoskey, Michigan 49770

northernMIweddings.com

The Grand Unity Event Center & Sweetwater Catering Creating Exceptional and Memorable Events

PN-556662-1

GRAND UNITY EVENT CENTER www.knightsofcolumbusonthebay.com www.grandunityeventcenter.com • 231-347-4461

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 5

Established 1984 www.sweetwatercateringcompany.com • 231.347.5998

5

10/10/18 1:52 PM


(wineries, vintage/rustic, waterfront, golf/country clubs, outdoor , hotels/inns, resorts and reception hall)

• • •

• • • • • •

PN-232874-1

Northern MI Weddings 6

WEDDING-2017 0430.indd 6 25 WED-2018 1031.indd

25 Northern MI Weddings

4/13/17 10:561:52 AM PM 10/10/18


■ WEDDING SCRAPBOOK

BELOW: Ryan and Sarah Schumacher married Sept. 8, 2018 at Willowbrook Mill in Northport, MI with photos by E'Lisa Campbell.

ABOVE: Kathleen and Pat Markiewicz married Saturday, June 9, 2018 at Boyne Highlands. Their flowers were by Upsy-Daisy Floral in Boyne City with DJ and entertainment by A+ Event Entertainment and photography by Molly Hauwell Currier.

ABOVE: Carly (Thompson) and Nate Bortz married on Saturday, June 23, 2018 at Jordan Valley Events Barn and were photographed by A13 Studios photography, catering by Grey Gables Inn Restaurant and flowers by Bloom Floral Design.

ON THE COVER and LEFT: Melissa and Joe Berenholz were married outside Walloon Lake Inn on May 22, 2015. Stephanie N. Baker was the couple’s photograher.

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 7

7

10/10/18 1:52 PM


PN-545339-1

8

WED-2018 1031.indd 8

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:52 PM


FALL/WINTER 2018/2019

14

Handmade & from the heart Autumn

&

Caleb

26

Shining moments at Sonshine Barn Becky

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 9

&

Scott

9

10/10/18 1:52 PM


■ MUSIC

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Highland Bagpiper Serving Northern Michigan since 1965.

Choose from hundreds of traditional, religious or contemporary selections.

Gregor MacGregor

www.bagpipesnorth.com

(906) 458-0999 10 PN-548753-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 10

dgmacgregor@gmail.com

231 348 8185 • WWW.PLU-ENT.COM www.petoskeydj.com

PN-540131-1 Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:52 PM


33 Décore

Cake Toppers for the ages

CONTENTS

Prep Work Say 'yes' to the sleeveless dress

35

Inspiration Vendors share their inspiration

Menu Late Night snacks satisfy

37

44

Tips Etiquette rules and when to break them

45

Trends #find your hashtag and make a snapchat filter

47

COURTESY PHOTO

WEDDING SCRAPBOOK................................................................. 7

MUSIC.............................................................................................. 10

FROM THE EDITOR........................................................................13

FLOWERS........................................................................................36

FOOD AND DRINK.........................................................................48

DETAILS...........................................................................................40

SERVICES AND RENTALS.............................................................21

PHOTOGRAPHY.............................................................................42

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 11

11

10/10/18 1:52 PM


Johan’s Bakery 565 W Mitchell St. Petoskey 231.347.3815 Offering: Donuts, Bagels, Pastries & Cakes to Order Baked fresh daily!

Johan’s Harbor Springs 138 W 3rd St. Harbor Springs 231.526.0907 Offering: Bagels, Cakes, Donuts, Pastries to Order Espresso, Beer & Wine PN-554285-1

12

WED-2018 1031.indd 12

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:52 PM


FROM THE EDITOR

Bringing the big day into focus ’m photographing the wedding of two lovely people I had the pleasure of meeting last year while shooting their engagement photos. Afterward, I became Facebook friends with the bride Elizabeth. She recently wrote a post about the weeks leading up to the wedding and said in the midst of planning it’s easy to forget what the wedding is all about and said how stressed she has been about planning. She told her fiancé Brandon in a moment of frustration she was waiting for something with the planning to go right. His response was, “Well, I have the right wife.” She gained instant perspective and wrote she knew she had picked the perfect person and was looking forward to celebrating their marriage with their family and friends.

CAPTURED BY GRACE PHOTOGRAPHY

CONTRIBUTORS Rebecca Young

Rebecca Young went to Michigan State University and recently moved to Northern Michigan from Grand Rapids. She currently lives in Petoskey with her husband and two dogs, and works as a marketing manager and freelance writer.

Jennifer Murphy

What a lovely moment of clarity during a stressful time. It’s hard to avoid the stress completely but it’s always important to keep the end goal in mind. One thing that’s nice about planning a wedding in Northern Michigan is the natural setting and the slightly slower pace of life. When it’s time for the wedding weekend, it’s great to see couples who bring their families and friends here to be together in the serene surroundings and take it all in. The area seems to attract those who know what’s important about the day. After reading Elizabeth’s post, I saw a quote that reiterated the same idea, “A wedding is a party, not a performance. If at the end of the day you are married to the one you love, then everything went perfectly.” When it comes to the Northern Michigan weddings I’ve attended, what I like most is the lack of performance and feeling of “perfection.”

Molly Hauxwell Currier Molly Hauxwell Currier Northern MI Weddings editor mcurrier@petoskeynews.com

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 13

As a newer northern Michigander, Jennifer finds herself in constant awe of the landscape she calls home. She feels lucky to work, live and play in Petoskey and the surrounding areas.

Carly Bortz

Carly Bortz grew up in Charlevoix and fell in love with the beauty and simplicity of Northern Michigan. She tied the knot this summer, continues to make Charlevoix her home, and is using her love of writing in her communications role at Northern Lakes Economic Alliance. 13

10/10/18 1:52 PM


â– AUTUMN

&

14

WED-2018 1031.indd 14

CALEB

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:52 PM


Handmade and from the heart

Autumn

& Caleb

By Ashley Schafer Photos by The Crooked Porch

utumn and Caleb’s laid back personalities and love for the outdoors resonated throughout their relaxed and love-filled wedding day. Not to ever be re-created, this couple’s intimate, fall wedding came to life by utilizing family, friends and the natural ameniAutumn and ties of Northern Caleb Walker Michigan. Both from Good Hart, Harbor Springs, Michigan the couple decided to get married on Oct. 21, 2017, close to home in a location that was also close to heart, Autumn said. Blisswood Resort in Good Hart made the perfect venue, since it was family owned and managed and Autumn had spent countless hours on the property throughout her lifetime. Blisswood provided the perfect vibe and outdoor setting, but to tie everything together Autumn's father, along with Caleb, surprised her by building a wooden arbor together. “It meant so much to me that my dad found the time to construct such a grand surprise and that the two most important men in my life built it together,” Autumn said. The arbor wasn’t the only handmade touch incorporated into their wedding. From maple plank charcuterie boards that Autumn, her father and Caleb made to serve smoked whitefish and cheese spreads on, to using a music playlist Caleb’s brother had made CONTINUED ON PAGE 16

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 15

15

10/10/18 1:52 PM


■ AUTUMN

&

CALEB

Continued from page 15 for them, even the flower bouquets were handmade. White roses were ordered and the day before her wedding, Autumn and the women of her family — her mother, aunts and sisters — helped pull together rustic, cascading bouquets using forest greens from Blisswood’s property. During their ceremony, Caleb and Autumn planted a tree together, to symbolize their marriage — just like the tree, their relationship will grow bigger and stronger, withstanding the test of time. The guest list included just 60 people, but the friends and families played heavy roles in this homemade wedding. “It was so intimate and so much love was put into even the smallest details,” Autumn said. “Every single guest at our wedding was a part of making it what it was.” Hot, traditional soups and pies were made with love and provided by Caleb and Autumn’s loved ones, including a seafood chowder from The Fish in Harbor Springs and the zurek soup from Legs Inn, which were donated as a wedding gift by the owners. The food was just another personal touch that made their wedding one-of-a-kind. At the end of the relaxed day full of love, after a bonfire and dancing under the stars, the newlyweds laid a blanket down in the massive lawn at the resort and stared up into the cloudless sky. The fall night was warmer than expected, and the couple watched as a meteor shower — shooting star after shooting star — overtook the sky above them. Amidst the awe, they laughed and talked together, enjoying their “married bliss.” We probably said, “I can’t believe we’re married!” several times to each other, Autumn said. “I cannot think of any better way to wrap up your wedding day, than lying in your husband’s arms under a full sky of stars,” she said. Autumn and Caleb now live in Crested Butte, Colo.

16

WED-2018 1031.indd 16

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:52 PM


Resources from Autumn Venue

& Caleb's wedding

Blisswood Resort, Good Hart

Catering Loved ones pitched in to make a lot of the food. Smoked whitefish and salmon from Cross Fisheries, smoked chicken from Smoke on the Water, Crooked Tree Breadworks baguettes, and various meats, cheeses and spreads from Toski Sands. The two favorite local soups came from The Fish and Legs Inn.

Dress

Lulus.com

Hair Chelsea Olivarez, Bel Fiore Hair Studio, Petoskey

Nails Salon Vibrance, Petoskey Meijer

Music Craig Cottrell, Harbor Springs

Invitations/ Photographer/ stationery videographer Northerly Design and The Crooked Porch Photography, Harbor Springs

Printing, Traverse City

Cake

Gary Mindel, Harbor Light

Homemade pies made by family members and bride’s sister, Alyssa, made cupcakes and cake.

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 17

Pastor Rentals Rental Express, Indian River

17

10/10/18 1:53 PM


• Small & large events • Convention room that seats up to 500 in convention room • An arena that will seat over 2,000 • Kitchen Facilities • Room layout ideas • Linen rental available • Pipe & drape rentals to customize the arena

PN-549411-1

18

WED-2018 1031.indd 18

We have everything you need to make your dream celebration come true.

www.littlebeararena.com Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


VENUES ■

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

BIRCHWOOD FARMS GOLF & COUNTRY CLUB

HARBOR SPRINGS, MI

I

231.526.2166

I

WWW.BIRCHWOODCC.COM

A Time Like This… For The Time Of Your Life

Northern MI Weddings

PN-548757-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 19

CEREMONIES I RECEPTIONS I SPECIAL EVENTS

COURTESY OF TWO TWISTED TREES PHOTOGRAPHY 19

10/10/18 1:53 PM


■ SERVICE/RENTALS

The full-service rental company you can rely on.

TENTS, TABLES, CHAIRS & MORE

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY PN-553895-1

We enjoy helping you with the details of your wedding! From large to small … Taylor Rental has it all:

P a r t y & W e d d i n g T e n ts Te n t H e a t e r s Va r i e t y o f Ta b l e s & C h a i r s Fine Linens Lighting & Fixtures Barbecue Grills D.J. & Dance Floors Catering & More!

Call (2 31) 54 7-9733 Toda y ! char lev oix t ent .co m

No one helps you say

‘I do’ like we do

.

• Fine China - several patterns • Linen Tablecloths • Stemware & Flatware • Tents - Assorted colors & sizes • Lighting • Crystal & Glassware • Chafing Dishes • Banquet & Round Tables • Chairs - white wooden, chivari • Dance Floors

We’re more than just products at work.®

1888 E. Mitchell Street, Petoskey

(231) 347-1840

20

taylorrentalpetoskey.com

WED-2018 1031.indd 20

Northern MI Weddings PN-550612-1

10/10/18 1:53 PM


SERVICE/RENTALS ■

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

Teents,, Tables & Chaiirs Restroom trailers

Beautiful sailcloth tents now available.

Complete line of wedding rentals including upscale restroom trailers.

RENTALS • SALES SERVICE

Northern MI Weddings

PN-548739-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 21

1436 S. Straits Highway • Indian River • 231.238.9696

WWW.RENTALTIME.COM 21

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Your Best

Jordan Valley Barn East Jordan

PN-548754-1

231-714-4582 • Michiganweddingbarns.com

22

WED-2018 1031.indd 22

ON-SITE GUESTHOUSE

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Day Ever

Blue Sky Barn Elmira

231-714-4582 • Michiganweddingbarns.com

PN-548749-1

ON-SITE GUESTHOUSE

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 23

23

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Bride diaries Jennifer Carson Murphy

Colin and I’s first date at Mim’s Mediterranean Grill

May 26, 2018

Colin ran 26.2 miles from Charlevoix to Harbor Springs the day he proposed. He proposed to me about an hour after he finished his race at the waterfall in Petoskey’s Bayfront park. We had a small engagement party after.

May 29, 2018

Secured the Bay View Inn’s Howard Room for our venue and August 25, 2018 for our date.

May 30, 2018

Designed and ordered my invitations from VistaPrint.

May 31, 2018

Confirmed our catering contract; a light lunch of a sandwich buffet, potato salad, pickles and chips with hosted mimosas and an open bar for guests.

June 1, 2018

Tigerlillys Flowers and the Dutch Oven Bakery in Alanson will design my flowers and cake. It was important to me to support my “adopted hometown” businesses. I bought my dress online from David’s Bridal.

June 5, 2018

Judge Pavlich from Cheboygan agreed to be our officiant. He was Colin’s childhood soccer coach.

June 11, 2018

We order personalized M&Ms for the wedding favors.

Aug. 6, 2018

10 a.m. — Col picked up the license from the county building. It comes with two copies, one for us and one for the county. 11:30 a.m. — Prepaid Tigerlillys for the flowers. 5:30 p.m. — I have my final fitting for my wedding dress with seamstress Tracie Belleville in Mackinaw City. She had added some inserts, hooks, and brought up my hemline and shoulder straps.

Aug. 7, 2018

Hair appointment at Trillium Salon in Petoskey for highlights.

Aug. 14, 2018

Met with Dutch Oven Bakery for final cake design decisions and pay in advance.

Aug. 9, 2018

Judge Pavlich faxed me potential vows to review. We decided on our vows!!!!!

Aug. 15, 2018

Met with our photographer, Becky Babcock of R. Babcock designs to coordinate ideas and timelines. We decided it would be best to have a “dress reveal” photo session before the ceremony. Start making the wedding playlist.

Aug. 16, 2018

Met with Kat Markiewicz, personal trainer, for last minute tips on how to get wedding ready. I start prepping for the wedding with her workout routine.

Aug. 17, 2018

June 17, 2018

I ordered the cake topper, a Gina Freehill “Kiss the Bride” design.

June 23, 2018

We order Colin’s ring from Etsy and pick up mine from Gold and Jaye.

Aug. 1, 2018 — 25 days until the wedding!

Colin applied for the marriage license at the Emmet County clerk’s office. 24

WED-2018 1031.indd 24

Finished the playlist. Rehearsal dinner at the Petoskey State Park, catered by Mim’s Mediterranean Grill and decorated with flowers from Bill’s Farm Market.

Aug. 25, 2018 — WEDDING DAY 8 a.m. — My sister-in-law-to-be and I picked up the two tier, lemon cake, flowers and started decorating the venue with mom-in-law to be. 9:30 a.m. — We start to get ready for the ceremony. My mom put my hair into a french braid, I did my own makeup, my sister helped me into my dress and I was ready to see Colin. Noon — “First look” photos with R. Babcock Photography 1 p.m. — Ceremony at the Bay View Inn

Manicure at Trillium Salon.

June 16, 2018

We find Gold and Jaye Jewelry in Traverse City. The owner, Jennifer, agreed to hand carve my wedding band and add the stones we wanted.

R. BABCOCK PHOTOGRAPHY

Feb. 8, 2017

Wedding Week!!! Aug. 21, 2018

We bought a chalkboard for our seating chart, our friend Audrey printed up vinyl letters and put it all together.

Aug. 23, 2018

I took a peek at my wedding flowers and I arranged for the pickup on Saturday morning. I went to the salon for pedicures with my mother & sister -in-laws to be.

2 more days! Aug. 24, 2018

A lot of last minute to-dos. Colin and I met with the venue coordinators of the Bay View Inn. We confirmed the seating chart and placement of tables/chairs.

Vendors: Venue - The Bay View Inn Seamstress – Tracie Belleville- Mackinaw City Photographer – R. Babcock Photography, Petoskey Flowers – Tigerlillys Flower, Alanson Cake – Dutch Oven Shops Bakery, Cafe & Deli, Alanson Rehearsal Dinner – Mim’s Mediterranean Grill and flowers from Bill’s Farm Market Vistaprint- Invitations and thank yous Wedding band (hers)– Gold and Jaye Jewelry,Traverse City

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Jennifer Carson Murphy and Katie Cannon-Friedenstab share the moments leading up to their shared wedding day, August 25, 2018, to give an idea of what the time frame was for planning two different and beautiful weddings on the same day. Both women and their partners, Colin Murphy and Kenny Friedenstab, did a lot of the planning and executing themselves.

Katie Cannon-Friedenstab Aug. 21, 2017

Climbed Mount Borah in Idaho to view the two-minute total solar eclipse during which Kenny got down on one knee and proposed. An onlooker realized what was happening and got an amazing photo and shared it after chasing us down the mountain.

Oct. 28, 2017

Engagement party thrown by friends and family

Feb. 4, 2018

Location decided, a friend’s farm on Middle Village Road in Harbor Springs

June 27, 2018 Sent invitations

July 17, 2018

Chose groomsmen attire at Petoskey Bridal

Aug. 3, 2018

Kenny began building the altar for our ceremony, and the bar for our reception

Aug. 6, 2018

Friends and family began landscaping project, planting flowers and building the floor for the reception

Feb. 8. 2018

Aug. 8, 2018

March 9, 2018

Aug. 22, 2018

Purchased Kenny’s suit

Found and bought wedding dress, reserved tents, tables and chairs

April 16, 2018

Mailed save the dates, purchased our rings

May 22, 2018

Picked out the flower combinations at A.R. Pontius Flower Shop

May 30, 2018

Food tasting with our parents

June 15, 2018

Alcohol tasting at High Five Spirits

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 25

Placed the order for flowers

Picked up the groomsmen rentals

Aug. 23, 2018

Arranged bouquets, centerpieces and boutonnieres with help from friends and family. Picked up my dress from Grandma, who did the alterations and pressing.

Aug. 24, 2018

Nail appointment at Adore Salon with bridesmaids and mom, then off to property to decorate!

Aug. 25, 2018

Woke up early for last minute setup. Started getting ready at 1:30 p.m., ceremony at 6 p.m. with cocktail hour while we did photos, then dinner and dancing!

PHOTOS BY MARK AND CINDI LOYD

Vendors:

Tents, tables, chairs, linens - Taylor Rental, Petoskey Buffet dinner and bartending - Sweetwater Catering, Petoskey All flowers and greens - A.R. Pontius Flower Shop, Harbor Springs Beer, Wine, Liquor and trailer rental - Bill & Carol’s Party Store, Petoskey Groomsmen and father of the bride attire - Petoskey Bridal, Petoskey Wedding dress - Natalie’s Bridal and Tuxedo, Traverse City Manicures/Pedicures - Adore Salon, Petoskey Groom’s suit - Joseph A. Banks, Traverse City DJ Service for engagement party and wedding reception Franck Nowack, Northern Michigan Wedding cake and engagement party cupcakes - Colin’s Corner Cafe, Harbor Springs Engagement party dinner - Rodrigo’s Authentic Mexican Restaurant, Harbor Springs Petoskey Stone Gin and Gypsy Vodka for reception - Gypsy Vodka, Petoskey

*Special thanks to our parents, and also our friends Norman and Christine VanWormer for the champagne toast and the countless hours helping us make our wedding dream come true. 25

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Elizabeth Blair

FinePearls

Dressing bridal parties for ten years! 115 W. Main Street | Harbor Springs, MI | 231.526.7500 westmainpearls.com | ElizabethBlair.com Member Cultured Pearl Association of America american Gem Society 26

WED-2018 1031.indd 26

Northern MI Weddings PN-547570-1

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Blisswood

INTIMATE ~ REFINED ~ SERENE ~ BLISS

Come Experience Sheer Bliss.

PN-556065-1

Blisswood Lodge and Resort is quite possibly the perfect destination for an intimate wedding celebration, a family reunion, corporate retreat or sportsman’s holiday. Offering stunning surroundings, vintage luxury, and an incomparable ambiance, Blisswood epitomizes the beauty, grandeur and serenity of one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

2841 North Lake Shore Drive • Harbor Springs, MI 49740

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 27

www.blisswoodmichigan.com

27

10/10/18 1:53 PM


&

â– BECKY

28

WED-2018 1031.indd 28

SCOTT

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Meaningful moments shine at Sonshine Barn

Becky

& Scott

By Rebecca Young Photos by Jenna Borst

trong family ties resound throughout Scott and Becky Freeman’s love story, and on the day of their wedding in early August of 2017 at the idyllic venue of Sonshine Barn in Gaylord it was no different. But understanding Becky & Scott the love that got them to Freeman their special day takes us back to how they first Gaylord, met. Becky, of Kalkaska, Michigan and Scott, from Gaylord, were set up by knowing family members who had a hunch they would get along. “We were actually set up on a blind date by my sister and his cousin, they were neighbors ... and we pretty much hit it right off,” explained Becky. “They like to fight over who gets the credit.” The couple dated for a year before getting engaged at Scott’s sister’s wedding, where everyone but Becky was in on the surprise. The groom handed the garter to Scott, and the bride walked her bouquet to Becky instead of the traditional toss, then Scott came over to Becky. “I still didn’t get it, and then I heard his voice start cracking (as he was talking to me), then I figured out what was going on ... and as he got down on one knee, I thought, ‘Oh my gosh!’ It was such a cool surprise ... The last place I was expecting to get engaged was at someone else’s wedding.” Becky and Scott set the date for their wedding at Sonshine Barn almost exactly one year after their engagement. Both having grown up in Northern Michigan, they wanted to make sure their wedding was at a place that was close to their hearts. “Sonshine Barn is actually Scott’s grandparents’ old home CONTINUED ON PAGE 30

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 29

29

10/10/18 1:53 PM


■ BECKY

&

SCOTT

Continued from page 29 that they turned into a wedding venue, so (it) was very special and definitely had a lot of meaning.” With the red barn that was once a part of the Freeman homestead serving as the perfect backdrop for their ceremony, the bride and groom continued to involve family by having Scott’s grandfather officiate. But one of Becky’s most memorable moments came from her husband-to-be. “One of the biggest surprises of the day was when I saw Scott ... I’ve never seen him cry ... I thought I was going to be the one that was teary, but he was the one tearing up when I came down the aisle.” After an emotional ceremony, the reception commenced inside the barn under a canopy of greenery, flowers and string lights. Whimsical varying lanterns, floral centerpieces and dessert displays completed the rustic, ethereal atmosphere that Becky wanted. “(Scott’s mom) decorated the barn ... I walked in, I had to catch my breath, it was so beautiful.” Thinking back on their wedding just after their first anniversary, Becky said the day was everything they wanted. “We just didn’t want the day to end, we had so much fun,” she said. “When I think about it, it just makes me happy ... Everything about it was perfect.” Scott and Becky are currently living in Interlochen, and recently welcomed a baby girl named Lynleigh.

30

WED-2018 1031.indd 30

“When I think about it, it just makes me happy ... Everything about it was perfect.” — BECKY FREEMAN

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


Resources from

&

Becky Scott's wedding Photography Jenna Borst, Bellaire

Catering BJs Restaurant and Catering, Gaylord

Cake Patty Blanzy, Gaylord

Music Sound Productions, Clare

Dress Bridal Gallery, Grand Rapids

Hair Sommer Freeman, sister-of-the bride, Gaylord

Stationery, Invitations, Save the Dates, etc. Minted.com

Planner Sarah Freeman, mother-of-thebride, Gaylord

Flowers Audrey Sheffer, Kalkaska

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 31

31

10/10/18 1:53 PM


PN-555776-1

32

WED-2018 1031.indd 32

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


■ DÉCOR

Love on top

Cake topper trends By Rebecca Young

ake toppers have come a long way from a set of simple, standing figurines. Whether you’re looking for traditional, modern, rustic, or humorous, today’s cake topper options are all about capturing a couple’s personality. COURTESY PHOTOS

Floral One of the most popular trends in wedding décor is actually foregoing traditional toppers. “Couples I’ve worked with are gearing away from (actual) cake toppers, going for more organic florals or greenery,” said Sheila Dobson-Wright, owner of Tableau events. Mini wreaths or shapes created from greenery are an emerging trend in floral toppers as well.

Letters Letters or initials are a sweet and personalized way to top your wedding cake, and this type of topper is a trend that is still going strong. “Cake toppers my couples are doing are something personal like initials,” said Dobson-Wright. A myriad of styles of initials or phrases are available. Sweet paper flags are a modern take, choose from metal initial cutouts for shine, or have your initials burned into a wood cutout to go with rustic décor.

It’s all about making things unique.

Figurines Wedding cake topper figurines have come a long way in recent years. If you’re into the trend of customization, what better way to remember your special day than with wedding figurines modeled after your own faces? Some light-hearted, whimsical couples may also opt for toppers that show their sense of humor, like dressed-up animals, dinosaurs or even their favorite food — doughnuts.

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 33

33

10/10/18 1:53 PM


■ APPAREL

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

The Clothes Post A Menswear Store for Tuxedos & More Monday-Saturday 9:30 am - 5:30 pm Evenings by appointment

(231)347-4562

PN-551257-1

CAPTURED BY GRACE PHOTOGRAPHY

326 E. Mitchell Street Petoskey, Michigan theclothespost.com

F�ling On Top of �e W�ld

PN-552782-1

KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA BOGS • NAUTICA • TOMS • SPERRY • MINNETONKA • TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL LIVERPOOL • AVENTURA • TRIBAL SPORTSWEAR • NORTH RIVER • REEF • ROYAL ROBBINS • MINNETONKA • ENRO • VERA BRADLEY • SPERRY • KÜHL • NAUTICA • KÜHL • ROYAL ROBBINS KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • SOREL • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA • BOGS • NAUTICA • TOMS • SPERRY • MINNETONKA • TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL • LEVI • LIVERPOOL • NOMADIC TRADER • TRIBAL SPORTSWEAR • NORTH RIVER • KÜHL • ROYAL ROBBINS • HABITAT • ENRO • SOREL • VERA BRADLEY • PATAGONIA VERA BRADLEY • TOAD & CO • MINNETONKA • HABITAT KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA BOGS • NAUTICA • PATAGONIA • SPERRY • MINNETONKA TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL • LEVI • LIVERPOOL • NORTH RIVER • TRIBAL SPORTSWEAR • AVENTURA • KÜHL • ROYAL ROBB REEF • WOOLRICH • BOGS • MINNETONKA • REEF KÜHL • COLUMBIA SPORTSWEAR • WOOLRICH • PATAGONIA • BOGS • NAUTICA • TOMS • SPERRY • KÜHL MINNETONKA • TOAD & CO • PENDLETON • CHAPS • LEVI • SMARTWOOL • LEVI • LIVERPOOL • NOMADIC TRADER • ENRO

FORGET SOMETHING? OPEN 7 DAYS. Downtown Charlevoix • Open AllYear 231.547.6361 • www.myclothingco.com

34

WED-2018 1031.indd 34

EVENTSATHIGHPOINTE . COM PN-550610-1

KARIE ANNE PHOTOGRAPHY

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:53 PM


■ PREP WORK

Say 'yes' to the sleeveless dress with personal trainer Kat Markiewicz of Fit by Kat By Jennifer Murphy Photos by Molly Hauxwell Currier

hen it comes to prepping for your big day, a great way to find stress relief and accomplish the goal of feeling your best in your wedding dress, is to start an exercise routine. Meeting with personal trainer and fitness expert, Kat Markiewicz of Fit by Kat, she recommends to start a routine around five months out from your wedding date. A lot of brides choose dresses which highlight the shoulder, arm and visible, upper back muscles. For this reason, Kat has been so wonderful to share exercises which will define and tone those muscles for brides-to-be. What’s even better, is that you can accomplish your goals at a low cost. She recommends buying some 3- to 5-pound dumbbells from Walmart as they are quite affordable and make this an easy, athome routine. A low weight, high repetition (rep) workout routine can be done three times a week up until your wedding week. Kat explains, the week of your wedding, you can do the routine every day until two days before to get the muscle definition you are looking for in your wedding photos.

LIST OF EXERCISES: (For each exercise below, rest 30-50 seconds between “reps” and the next “set”. Be sure to breathe! ) Tricep Dips - 3 sets of 25 with just body weight

Plank - 3 30 second planks

Shoulder press - 3 sets of 15

Bicep Curls - 3 sets of 15, start with set of light weights

Lateral raises - 3 sets of 15

Chest press - 3 sets of 15

Push ups (knee or regular) - 3 sets of 12

Front raises - 3 sets of 15

Up/Downs - 3 sets of 10

Tricep kickbacks - 3 sets of 12

Rear Flys - 3 sets of 12

Hammer curl - 3 sets of 12

Bent over rows - 3 sets of 15

Overhead tricep extensions - 3 sets of 12 Laying bicep curl with resistance band - 3 sets of 12 Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 35

35

10/10/18 1:54 PM


■ FLOWERS

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

Downtown Petoskey 231-347-7770 Jackie Burrell AIFD, Michigan Certified Florist flowersfromskysthelimit.com

Flowers from STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

36

WED-2018 1031.indd 36

PN-549973-1

S

KY’S THE LIMIT Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:54 PM


■ INSPIRATION

Northern Michigan wedding vendors talk inspiration By Carly Bortz

bride’s look, floral garnishes, photographed moments and their soundtrack — just a few integral pieces that make up the wedding celebration. In the magic of wedding moments, tireless vendors are pouring over their own copies of The Knot, tuning in to makeup tutorials and attending trade shows to create the perfect day for the couple. Learn where these Northern Michigan creatives get their inspiration, and find out how they keep up on the latest trends. STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

What inspires you?

Jennifer Haf, owner, Bloom Floral Design: “We are often inspired by color selection and define a floral palette based on this. Palette inspiration is best considered in the context of the venue and season so as to not compete with what elements are already in place.”

COURTESY

Thomas Heath, DJ, A+ Entertainment: “I am truly inspired by love. I know it sounds cliché, but the only reason I get to do what I do for a living is because two people fell in love. I also have a pretty tight-knit mentoring group where we share ideas from our couples, and try to build off of them, or brainstorm how to make them come to fruition.”

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 37

Anora O’Connor, photographer, A13 Studios: “I do a lot of my work on location so I often find inspiration in Mother Nature. Aren’t we just blessed with amazing surroundings here in Northern Michigan!”

How do you keep up on trends?

Laura Fowler, stylist, Beckah Meyers, owner, Panache Hair Studio: “The ladies of Panache Hair Studio attend hair shows and classes throughout each year, which include makeup and up-do trends. We also watch YouTube videos and follow hair professionals on social media who showcase their work. They give tutorials and suggestions on how to execute specific looks with all hair types and skin types. Online forums and networking with local professionals to bounce ideas off are amazing tools!” Lori Cheadle, owner and stylist, En Vogue Salon: “We watch tutorials on the Aveda PurePro Educational site of popular looks guests are trying to achieve for their wedding day hair and makeup. Many times when a guest comes in with a picture of what they would like done with their hair, the photo is of a celebrity.” Vendors are a great source of inspiration for couples while planning and it’s good to know there are professionals to help and inspire for the big day.

COURTESY

37

10/10/18 1:54 PM


CHRIS VAN WINKLE PHOTOGRAPHY

Your Day. Your Vision.

Wedding and Event Planning, Coordination and Design

231.547.5061

38 PN-556664-1

info@merrymkr.com

WED-2018 1031.indd 38

|

www.merrymkr.com

PN-557409-1

mackinawtrailwinery.com 231-487-1910 Northern MI Weddings 10/10/18 1:54 PM


Northern MI Weddings

39 PN-547572-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 39

10/10/18 1:54 PM


â– DETAILS

CHARLEVOIX

BARBER SHOP

HAIRCUTS GROOM & GROOMSMEN GIFTS Call For An Appointment!

(231) 437-3607 PN-549969-1

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

OPEN ALL YEAR IN DOWNTOWN CHARLEVOIX 231-437-3425 403 Bridge Street thelakehousecharlevoix.com

PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

40

WED-2018 1031.indd 40

PN-555781-1

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:54 PM


â– TRANSPORTATION

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

NORTHERN MICHIGAN TROLLEY CALL US TODAY! 989-272-2588 www.northernmichigantrolley.com PAUL RETHERFORD PHOTOGRAPHY

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 41

PN-548735-1

41

10/10/18 1:54 PM


â– PHOTOGRAPHY

THE TERRACE INN N AND 1911 RESTAURANT

CHRIS VAN WINKLE PHOTOGRAPHY

Receptions up to 125 Rehearsal Dinners The Perfect Destination

PN-550602-1

chrisvw.com 917.826.6161

PN-546817-1

The Perfect Wedding

1549 Glendale Ave. | Petoskey, MI 800.530.9898 | Open Year Round 42

WED-2018 1031.indd 42

TheTerraceInn.com PN-554748-1

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:55 PM


Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 43

43

PN-545329-1

10/10/18 1:55 PM


■ MENU

satisfy

Late night snacks that By Anne Snabes and Molly Hauxwell Currier

hen planning a dinner menu for wedding guests, tradition still rules the roost. Couples find more culinary freedom by bringing favorite foods in as a late night snack. Autumn Tall, a venue coordinator at Castle Farms, said that lately, late night snacks are “becoming a bigger trend.” She said when wedding attendees drink from 4 p.m. to midnight, they require more carbohydrates late in the evening. They also become hungry late at night, even if they dined earlier. If you’re looking for a savory way to end your wedding reception, pizza has been a long time staple for end-of-the-evening snacking. B.C. Pizza is one of the restaurants Castle Farms has used for something less formal, according to Tall. “Everybody likes pizza,” says Pauly Howard, manager of B.C. Pizza in Charlevoix, who added it’s “easy finger food” and simple. Doughnuts have been trending as a simple-to-serve alternative to cake. The birth of the doughnut board has made the cake alternative a go-to in the past year for dessert and as a late night snack. Sometimes they’re paired with coffee and cutely displayed using doughnut holes skewered on a coffee stirrer, presented in a coffee cup for guests to take with them. Angie Foldenauer, cake decorator at Johan’s Bakery, said that in summer of 2018, Johan’s has received “a lot of doughnut orders for weddings.” She said she is not sure

44

WED-2018 1031.indd 44

whether couples use the doughnuts as the cake or as a snack. Foldenauer said couples order doughnuts such as buttermilk cake, cinnamon sugar, plain with chocolate icing and buttermilk blueberry. “I think it’s convenient,” she said. “It’s an easy grab-and-go eat. It’s not messy ... They don’t need to be sliced or cut or put on a plate even. Just a napkin will do.” Snacks can also be a regional favorite or add a personal touch to the night. “The majority of inspiration comes from our clients,” said Kelly Romano, owner of the Grey Gables Inn Restaurant. “Whether it’s grandma’s brownie recipe served with milk shots or a Detroit coney bar station as a late-night snack, putting the little touches on each event is what makes it special for the individual couple.”

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:55 PM


■ TIPS

A question of etiquette Local wedding planner and owner of Tableau events, Sheila Dobson-Wright, shares tips on common etiquette questions. Invite Timing “Invitations are definitely the thing I get asked about most,” she said. Two to three months ahead of the wedding date is standard, according to Dobson-Wright, but she prefers three to four months to allow guests to make travel plans.

Invite Addressing “I am a traditionalist, but I want clients to do what feels right for them ... but for formal addressing, there is a certain protocol,” says Dobson-Wright. On the envelope, salutations and full names are used, and the word “and” for couples is spelled out. If the couple is married, use the husband’s full name, i.e. Mr. and Mrs. John Black, and if the couple is unmarried, address it to both people with full names on one line.

Invite Content As far as the actual invitation goes, “The most important thing to me ... is wedding wording. I love recognizing traditional format and honoring those who are hosting on the invitation,” Dobson-Wright explains.

Payment Traditionally, the groom’s parents host the rehearsal dinner, and the bride’s family pays for the wedding and reception. But in modern weddings, this has evolved.

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 45

“I definitely think that payment tends to be more flexible these days, it depends on the couple, depends on the situation,” says Dobson-Wright. “We want our couples to do what feels best for them.”

Greeting At the wedding, it is important to take time to greet the guests — recognizing they took the time to come and any extra effort they made. “It’s important to give recognition, making thoughtful gestures that make a note they are someone that means something to you.”

Invitation don'ts • Do not include wedding registry information on invitations. Tell a few people or include it on your website if you have one, otherwise word of mouth should be sufficient. • Do not write “No children” or “Adult-only reception” on the invite. This should be made clear by the names the invite is addressed to. • If the person to whom you are sending an invitation is single, do not include (and Guest) on the invitation address. Instead, use the inner envelope or the RSVP card. • Don’t invite anyone to the engagement, bachelor/bachelorette parties, or showers who won’t be invited to the wedding.

45

10/10/18 1:55 PM


PN-559392-1

PN-559233-1

317 East Mitchell Street Downtown Petoskey 231-347-7449 monarchgfd.com

Molly Hauxwell Currier Photographs www.mollyhauxwellcurrier.com 46

WED-2018 1031.indd 46

719-271-2036 molly.hauxwell@gmail.com Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:55 PM


■ TRENDS

What’s

IN By Jennifer Murphy

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 47

#Love

etting married now includes the fun of branding your wedding with hashtags and snapchat filters. And, finding the perfect hashtag and filter are attainable. Create your own Snapchat filter easily at https://create.snapchat.com/. I did so in less than 5 minutes for $5.45 and PayPal. Narrow down your preferred geographic location and time frame to calculate your cost. Then, using your bitmoji, choose from the templates to make your filter. There is a short review and approval process from Snapchat. It was almost instantaneous from my purchase to approval. Hashtags help to organize your photos on social media so they can easily be found. When it comes to finding the perfect hashtag, search out a few key terms you might want to use and see what others have already done. For example, I searched the hashtag #NorthernMichiganWeddings. Keep in mind, hashtags should be clever, funny, sentimental and unique.

For those without much of an imagination, like myself, I used a wedding hashtag generator. Though I was able to come up with #MarryingMurph on my own, the generator came up with these options: #JenniferAndColinEST #AlwaysAnd4everMurphy #BecomingMurphy #AllYouNeedIsMurphys #JAndCTakeThePlunge #CarsonHeartsMurphy #JenniferAndColinSittingInaTree #TheMurphyWedding #MurphysInLove #TheCarMurphys #ItsMurphyTime #MurphyPartyof2 Let your guests know you are using hashtags and the Snapchat filter ahead of time through your social media accounts or by using signage or designating someone to spread the word the day of your wedding. Be sure to encourage guests to use both, but when appropriate. For example, if you don’t want your guests sharing photos of you until you’ve released them yourself, there is no shame in asking them to do so. Remember, #itsyourwedding #havefun! 47

10/10/18 1:55 PM


â– FOOD & DRINK

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

PN-548917-1 48

WED-2018 1031.indd 48

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:55 PM


■ FOOD & DRINK

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER

Nub’s award-winning lodge is... ...just right for your wedding, banquet or any “special” occasion.

• Able to accommodate any size event • Complete catering and kitchen facilities • Patio & bar • Lounge with fireplace • Fully carpeted & paved parking • Air Conditioned

500 Nubs Nob Road | Harbor Springs, MI 49740 Snowline: 800-SKI-NUBS | 231-526-2131

STEPHANIE N. BAKER PHOTOGRAPHER PN-548761-1

www.nubsnob.com

HospitalityA Family Tradition

5th Annual Mackinaw City Bridal Show February 17th, 2019

Tucked away from the world, down a small path bordered by nature, you will find a place for the most beautiful moments of your life. Happiness is nothing unless shared, so treat yourself to a magical day in the ultimate fairytale setting-Double K Estate.

Northern MI Weddings

WED-2018 1031.indd 49

doublekestate.net

PN-54873 PN N-5 548732-1 1

49

10/10/18 1:55 PM


3 WAYS TO GET YOUR ISSUE OF HOMELIFE 1

2 3

News-Review subscribers receive a complimentary subscription {Opt-in by calling (231) 347-2544.} Not only do you get 7 issues of HomeLife, you get the best local news delivered to your home. Subscribe to HomeLife for $18. Call (231) 347-2544 to order. It will be delivered in your mail every other month (plus a special summer issue). Visit northernmihomelife. com anytime.

Convenient. Reliable. Real.

50

WED-2018 1031.indd 50

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:55 PM

PN


Whether you are seeking the destination for your special day, for an unforgettable honeymoon, or for a setting to relax and have fun with friends, BOYNE’s resorts are the perfect choice. And with three spectacular spas, our experienced staff can delight you from head to toe...feeling refreshed and beautiful for your wedding day.

Northern MI Weddings

PN-548730-1

WED-2018 1031.indd 51

51

10/10/18 1:55 PM


52

WED-2018 1031.indd 52

PN-545338-1

Northern MI Weddings

10/10/18 1:55 PM

Profile for Northern Michigan Review Inc.

Northern Michigan Weddings  

Northern Michigan Weddings fall / winter edition. Visit www.northernmiweddings.com for more.

Northern Michigan Weddings  

Northern Michigan Weddings fall / winter edition. Visit www.northernmiweddings.com for more.