Issuu on Google+

PROFILES1

Serving Otsego County Business ProďŹ les May 25, 2011


PROFILES2

Serving Otsego County

Muffler Man Hours: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Business Profiles May 25, 2011

Owners/Managers: Vance Morehouse Founded: October 1990 Principal Activity: Vehicle Repair Classification: Front End - Brakes ASE - Exhaust Jason Zack, Andy Lamb and Vance Morehouse

Brands of Products: Flo Pro, Bendix, Goerlich Exhaust, Flow Master Moog, Monroe, Hunter Alignment, Citgo Oil

Publisher ................ Doug Caldwell General Manager ..Paul Gunderson EDITORIAL Editor ........................ Jeremy Speer Copy Editor .............. Cathy Landry Design Editor ........... Frank Michels Writers .................... Michael Jones, ....................................... Chris Engle ..................................Lorene Parshal ......................................Matt Wenzel Editorial Assistant ........Kurt Kolka

ADVERTISING Advertising Sales Manager ....................................... Kim Ballard Assistant Sales Manager ............................... Kathleen Murray Sales Staff ................Karen Gregor BUSINESS Office staff .............. Gina DeForge ..................................Vicky Plummer Otsego County Business Profiles is published by

2058 S. Otsego Ave., Gaylord, MI (989) 732-1111 • FAX: (989) 732-3490 www.gaylordheraldtimes.com

Specialties/Services: Brakes, exhaust and custom bending, No appointment necessary, oil, lube & filter - $18.87. New Hunter Alignment Rack. Motto/Slogan/Quote: “Fine quality products at extra low prices keep our customers coming back!” About Us: We try to do as much for people as we can at a good price. We do oil changes for $18.87 just to make friends. • For Fast Friendly Service Stop In & See Us Today • We Beat All Estimates • Same Day Service We honor all muffler warranties • “Cheap is good, but Quality is better!”

Muffler Man Car Care Service Specialists 101 E. Main St. • Gaylord 732-6239 or 732-8733 Open Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.; Sat. 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Otsego County Business Profiles • Index of Advertisers Alpine Tavern and Eatery .................................................. 8 Binsons Hearing Aid Services .......................................... 4 Chuck’s Electric of Gaylord .............................................. 6 Cousineau Chiropractic .................................................. 19 Dings Excavating ............................................................ 13 Earthworks Enterprises, Inc. .......................................... 16 Encore Financial ............................................................... 9 First Federal of Northern Michigan ................................. 14 Fitness System ............................................................... 15 Gaylord Eye Care Center ................................................ 16 Gaylord Foot Clinic ........................................................... 5 Gaylord Herald Times ..................................................... 18 Gerta’s Draperies, Inc. .................................................... 13 GNC .................................................................................. 7 Grayling Nursing & Rehabilitation ..................................... 3 H&R Block SPAP Inc. ....................................................... 5 Hickerson Floor and Tile Haus ......................................... 8 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

22011 Profiles

Holton’s LP Gas ................................................................ 7 Image North .................................................................... 11 International RV World .................................................... 20 Johnson Oil .................................................................... 10 Kirtland Community College ............................................ 6 Little Caesars .................................................................. 12 Marsh Ridge ..................................................................... 8 Maxx Garage .................................................................. 17 Mercy Home Care and Hospice ..................................... 14 Miller & Cook LLP ............................................................. 7 Muffler Man ...................................................................... 2 Pine Cone Accommodations ............................................ 6 ProBuild .......................................................................... 13 Rieth-Riley Construction .................................................. 5 Spartan Sewer & Septic Tank Services .......................... 14 Sunglo ............................................................................ 19 Tools to Teach ................................................................ 17 A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES3

Grayling Nursing and Rehabilitation Community

Hours: 24 hours a day Owners/Manager: Atrium Living Centers Founded: 1986 Principal Activity: Skilled Nursing Services, Rehabilitation Services - Physical, Occupational & Speech Therapy Classification: Health Care Brands of Products: Excellent Health Care Specialties/Service: Recipient of 2010 American Health Care - National Quality Award - Bronze Community Activities: Annual Block Party, Participation Motto/Slogan/Quote: We are ladies and gentlemen caring for ladies and gentlemen. About Us: We offer a homelike environment to help you recuperate and return back home. We have 56 private rooms that include satellite TV and WI-Fi. Therapy services in our traditional therapy lounge as well as a therapy condo which is set up for training to return to home. We have an actual putting green on our patio for fun or therapy. Planned activities, buffet style dining along with snacks. Caring, skilled staff.

331 Meadows Drive, Grayling, MI 49738 989-348-2801 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 3


PROFILES4

Open Your EARS to the many possibilities of With a vari of uniq ety ue (and aw ard-win nin designs and col g) or to choo se from s !

BETTER HEARING! • FREE Hearing Screenings! • TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!

• Technology for EVERY Hearing Loss and Budget! ncing 0% Fina with le... Availab s low as ts a Paymen onth! $25/m

WE WILL BEAT ANY COMPETITOR’S PRICE AT THE TIME OF TESTING BY $100 OR MORE OR YOUR HEARING AIDS ARE FREE!

2147 Professional Drive, Suite C, Gaylord 49735 HOURS: M-F 9am-5pm

CALL TODAY! 888-432-7036 www.HearingSolutionsOfAmerica.com

Earl Kik, Hearing Instrument Specialist Emily Krogel, Technical Support

Most Insurances Accepted! - 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed - NO Doctor of Audiology Fees! 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

42011 Profiles

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES5

Residential & Commercial Asphalt Paving

H&R BLOCK Tax Preparation

Serving Northern Michigan FREE ESTIMATES

Hours: 10-4 M-F Owners: Steve Papineau, Owner er Mary Mason, Office Manager Principal Activity: Tax preparation and bookkeeping services Specialties/Services: Tax planning and tax preparation About Us: Year round service from simple to complex tax preparation.

H&R BLOCK

604 W. Main Bldg. D • Gaylord, MI

Tax Preparation

989-732-8181 mamason@hrblock.com www.hrblock.com

Asphalt · Concrete · Sand/Gravel · Site Development 989-732-5757

Toll Free

1-888-666-5757

Gaylord Foot Clinic Hours: Wednesdays 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Fridays 9:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. Owner: Dr. Thomas B. DeKorte DPM Founded: 1984 Principal Activity: Podiatric Physician and Surgeon Brands of Products: Dr. Comfort brand diabetic shoes Biofreeze products, Sole Supports Orthotics Specialties/services: Diabetic foot care; sports injuries; custom orthotics; treatment of plantar warts; corns and calluses; routine foot care; surgeries; nail infections; ingrown toenails. Community activities: Free diabetic foot screenings once a year. Motto/slogan: When your feet hurt, you hurt all over. About us: Dr. Thomas B. DeKorte DPM has been in practice in northern Michigan for almost 30 years. He is adjunct staff at Otsego Memorial Hospital caring for patients at McReynolds Hall ECF. He is in the Gaylord office on Wednesdays and Fridays, and in his Charlevoix office on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Website: www.drthomasdekorte.com 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

Dr. Thomas B. DeKorte DPM

Gaylord Foot Clinic

1662 S. Old 27 Hwy. Gaylord, MI 49735 (989) 732-6565 A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 5


PROFILES6

Check out the opportunities at the

M-TEC @ Kirtland-Gaylord when planning your future!

PINE-CONE ACCOMMODATIONS Hours: Monday - Friday 9-5 Saturday & Sunday 9 - 12 noon Owners/Manager: Sandra Mattingly

K

irtland Community College and the MTEC @ Kirtland-Gaylord offer students a wide variety of programs, including many online courses, at some of the most affordable prices in higher education. Just compare the difference to the price tag of many larger colleges or universities. Your first two years at KCC will be as good or better than many fouryear institutions - and at about a third the cost! Plus, high school students can get a jump on college through

our DUAL ENROLLMENT and ARTICULATION programs. So when planning your future, see how Kirtland can help you take that next step to a brighter future.

Founded: July 2001 Principal Activity: Vacation Rentals

Brands of Products: Vacation Rentals: Golf chalets, lake front properties and luxury homes, located on the course, the lake or in the woods. Specialties/Services: Packages: Golf, fly-fishing, snowmobiling, cross-country and downhill skiing. Special outings including dinner. Community Activities: Chamber of Commerce & other events throughout the year. Slogan: “We start your vacation before you do!” About Us: Pine-cone Accommodations is celebrating our 10th Anniversary of providing vacation packages in the Gaylord area. Our staff works together with the guest to make sure all groups and families enjoy their stay while visiting Northern Michigan. We offer year round vacation packages, whether it be snowmobiling in the winter or golfing the “Mecca” in the summer.

M-TEC @ Kirtland-Gaylord

Pine-cone Accommodations

60 Livingston Blvd., Gaylord, MI 49735 • 989-732-6300 For a course or a career, visit online at mtec.kirtland.edu!

693 Charles Brink Rd, Gaylord, Michigan

989-731-1887 • TOLL FREE (866) 731-1887 rentals@pineconevacations.com www.pineconevacations.com

Chuck’s Electric of Gaylord, Inc. Owners: Chuck Klee and Dawn Klee Founded: 1974 Principal Activity: Install wiring for residential, commercial and industrial. Classification: Electrical Contractor Community Activities: Support Otsego County Hockey and Swim; wiring for Alpenfest, Relay for LIfe, Ostego County Fair and Little League Baseball. Motto: Our customers are our best asset. About Us: We opened for business 37 years ago. We provide quality workmanship by licensed electricians. We stand behind all of our work.

Fax: 989-731-4415 224 Marquardt Road, Gaylord • Serving Otsego County Since 1974 Chuck Klee 989-732-3396 • Bob Klee 989-732-6933 • Hours: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. or Emergency 24/7 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009 62011 Profiles

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES7

Gaylord GNC

HOLTON’S LP GAS Hours: 8:00am to 4:30pm

Hours: Mon.–Fri. 10-7, Sat. 10-5, Sun. 12-5

Manager: Lee Prince, Jr.

Owners/Manager: Gene & Mary Niedzwiecki

Founded: 1948

Founded: July 1997

Principal Activity: residential, commercial and agricultural propane service.

Principal activity: Health & wellness through nutritional supplements Classification: Vitamins, Nutritional Supplements & Sports Nutrition Brands of products: GNC, BSH, VPX, USP Labs, Cellucor, Gaspari, MRI Muscle Meds, Muscletech, Pro-Performance, Pro-Performance AMP, Optimum

Left to right, Jim Nowak, Lee Prince Jr., Linda Meyer, John Detkowski and Pat Nowak.

Classification: LP Gas

Nutrition, Cytio Sports, Spiru-tein, Revolution, Atkins Bars, Now Foods, Designer Protein Specialties/service: We know our products and are proud of what we sell. Because of this we are better able to help our customers to make good choices.

Brands of Products: Empire, LB White, Manchester, Mr. Heater, Paulin (gas lights) Specialties/Services: Home delivery, RV/cylinder fill

Community activities: St. Mary’s Cathedral Church - The Knights of

Community/Activities: Alpenfest, Otsego County Fair

Columbus, Daughters of Isabella, Otsego County Chamber of Commerce.

About Us: Local employees ready to give you small town local service.

Motto/slogan/quote: LIVE WELL About Us: We have lived & worked in Gaylord since 1968. We raised 3 children in this community. Gene has & still does work as a pharmacist & Mary has worked as a nurse but now runs the GNC store. Pine Ridge Square, 1417 West Main • Gaylord • (989)731-6363

HOLTON’S LP GAS 1396 Milbocker Rd., Gaylord 989-732-3297

Miller & Cook, LLP

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS Hours: 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday Owners:

Ric Miller and Jeff Cook

Founded: 1960s Principal Activity: Accounting, Tax and Auditing Classification: Certified Public Accountant Brands of Products: 1040 Express Specialties/Service: Tax return preparation, governmental audits, payroll preparation About us: Founded in the late 1960s by Terry Distel and the late Joe Okrei with Jeff Cook joining in 1979 and Ric Miller joining in 1988. Miller & Cook CPA provide quality professional services. Our goal is to make your life easier. 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

Since 1968... Experience Matters 100 W. First Street • Gaylord, Michigan phone (989)732-7515 • fax (989)732-7790 A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 7


PROFILES8

Hickerson Floor & Tile Haus

Alpine Tavern

Hours: Monday - Friday 9 am - 5:30 Saturday 9 am - 3 pm Sunday-Closed Evening Hours By Appointment

Hours: Mon. - Thur. 8-9, Fri. & Sat. 8-11, Sun. 8-8 Owners/Manager: Colleen & James Hickey

Manager: Joe & Micki Hickerson

Principal activity: To serve food, beverages & fun Founded: In May 2004

Classification: Restaurant

Principal Activity: Floor Covering

Brands of products: Chicken, Pizza, Steak, Fish, Sandwiches, Soups,

Classification: Floor Covering

Breakfast, Brisket, Salads

Classification: Retail Floor Covering

Specialties/service: Brisket, Pizza

Brand of Products: Mohawk, Shaw, Stanton, Armstrong, Congoleum, Mannington, HomerWood, American Olean and Area Rugs.

Community activities: Donations to community

Specialties/Services: Professional design, custom area rugs, and installation of all products. Community Activites: Otsego County Fair, Gaylord Chamber of Commerce, Music Boosters, Knights of Columbus and a member of St. Mary’s and an organist at St. Thomas in Elmira.

Motto/slogan/quote: Best Food Friends Times This Side of the 45th parallel We’ll see you here! About Us: Colleen and James have been a part of Alpine Oven Tavern since

Slogan: For Quality Experience & Excellence, Come To Our Haus, Hickerson Floor & Tile Haus. About Us: Hickerson Floor & Tile Haus is more than just a flooring store. We offer a large selection of residential & commercial carpet, vinyl, hardwood, laminate, ceramic tile, area rugs & cleaning supplies. We also have a window treatment department. Liz Harding and John Clark, our sales staff take the extra step with each customer to create a warm & inviting atmosphere when shopping our exclusive showroom. Adam Woosley, our warehouse manager, keeps the store running smoothly.

2009. In 2010 The Alpine Oven switched to the Alpine Tavern to offer our guests just a little more with our liquor license. Now with a full bar and a great menu summer should be great. We have entertainment on our patio all summer long. Check us out on the web @ AlpineTavern.com or Facebook. Downtown Gaylord 1 Block South of Main Street on Otsego Ave.

2234 M-32 West, Gaylord • 989-731-2003 www.hickersonfloor.com

989-732-5444

I-75 to exit 282, then 2 miles west

Welcome to Jac’s Place at Marsh Ridge Great Dining in a Relaxed Atmosphere…A place to gather with friends, family, co-workers…. Serving everything from Burgers, grinders, salads and pizzas to Filet, Mignon, Shrimp, Salmon and our most asked for entrée Pecan Encrusted Walleye. Happy Hour Every Day 4-7 p.m.

1992-2011 Celebrating 19 years of Excellence as “Gaylord’s Best Golfing Value”…. $25 Otsego County Rate 18 holes of golf Monday-Thursday

Gaylord’s Best Stay & Play Value 4815 South Old 27 Gaylord, MI • 989-732-5552 or 989-732-1785 • www.marshridge.com 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

82011 Profiles

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES9

Your Local Agent: John Westenbarger

Offering solutions that help our clients accumulate, protect and pass along their wealth.

*Life insurance, disability income insurance and annuities are issued by T he Ohio N ational Life Insurance C ompany and Ohio N ational Life A ssurance C orporation; the remaining insurance products are issued by other insurers. Estate planning services provided in conjunction with our client’s qualified legal advisors.

7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 9


PROFILES10

Now Open For Summer!!

Banana Splits • Sundaes • Arctic Clippers • Cones

Cool Off with a

next to the State Police Post behind the Gaylord BP Station

Mon–Thurs 12:30–10pm • Fri, Sat, Sun 12:30–11pm Also 605 S. Otsgeo Ave • Gaylord, MI • 732-7484 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

102011 Profiles

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES11

www.imagenorth.org

7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 11


PROFILES12

Petoskey Gaylord 1327 Spring St. 1390 Main St W 231-348-9600 989-732-8200 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

122011 Profiles

*Based on baking pan surface area of our two pizzas. Available at participating locations for a limited time. Prices may vary. ©2011 LCE, Inc. 31085

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES13

Dings Excavating, Inc.

GERTA’S DRAPERIES Owner: Christa Bono

Owners: Jasynn & Jenny Dings

Founded: 1958

Founded: 1996

Principal Activity: Draperies and Custom Window Treatments

Principal Activity: Excavating & Trucking Services; Firewood Sales & Portable Firewood Processing; HEATMOR Outdoor Furnace Sales & Services. Brands of Products: HEATMOR Outdoor Furnaces and MICROFLEX Insulated Flexible Underground Pipe. Specialties/Services: Providing friendly experience and reliable service.

Brands of Products: Fabrics from five national suppliers with thousands of choices! Blinds, shades, verticals, woven woods, with lifetime warranties. From major manufacturers like Hunter/Douglas, Kirsch and Levolor. Specialties/Services: Professional Installation by the owner and excellent customer service since 1958. We specialize in service after the sale. Mon.-Fri. 9:00 am - 5:00 p.m. Weekends by Appointment Free In-Home Estimates Slogan: Everything In Window Treatments!

About us: We are a family owned & operated business. You will find Jasynn on every job and Jenny in the office everyday. We take great pride in the business that we have built and the services that we provide. In these trying economic times, we are happy to be able to diversify and offer much needed products & services such as firewood & firewood processing and HEATMOR Outdoor Furnaces & Parts, in addition to our dedicated excavating & trucking services. We welcome your inquiries and questions; and we look forward to speaking with you.

5458 M-30, West Branch, MI

989-345-9660

EXCAVATING

Email: dings@voyager.net

“Everything in Window Treatments” 989-732-3340 2281 SOUTH OTSEGO, GAYLORD

DEXPERTS We know our Trex... And we know decks. Talk to the Deck Experts at ProBuild. From design to delivery of our professional-grade materials, the Pros at ProBuild can help from start to finish. PROBUILD GAYLORD OLD U.S. 27 NORTH 989.732.5136

WWW.PROBUILD.COM 1054 OLD 27 NORTH • 989.732.5136 7:30-5:30 WEEKDAYS • 7:30-2:00 SATURDAYS CLOSED SUNDAY 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 13


PROFILES14

SPARTAN SEWER & Septic Tank Service, LLC Owner: Joe Burgdorf

Brands of products: Gould Pumps

Manager: Bob Burgdorf

About us: We are family owned and operated for three generations. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service.

Founded: 1962 by Joe’s father, Andy Principal Activity: Pump septic tanks, auger sewer lines, thaw sewer lines, install new and replacement drain fields and rent portable potties.

Slogan: Home of the “Purple Poop Pumpers.”

Mercy Home Care & Mercy Hospice Name of Business: Mercy Home Care and Mercy Hospice Hours: 24/7/365 Owners/Manager: Trinity Home Health Founded: 1985 Principal Activity: Home Health and Hospice Care in patient’s homes or facilities. Classification: Home Health and Hospice serving 9 counties Specialties/service: Nursing; Therapy Services; Hospice Care including Respite Care; Bereavement and Spiritual Care; Medical Social Workers; IV; Diabetic; CHF; Wound Care; Palliative Care; Telemonitoring; Community Benefit Focus Community Activities: Promoting wellness throughout the community by providing blood pressure clinics and diabetic screenings. Motto: “Inspiring Care in our Community”

SPARTAN SEWER & SEPTIC TANK SERVICE LLC 5574 E. McCoy Rd. - Gaylord

732-3288

About us: We provide our community the highest quality services available. Our linkage to Trinity Health, the 4th largest Catholic healthcare system, allows us to care for all, including the poor and disadvantaged. We are also a premier employer hiring dedicated, compassionate and quality-focused professionals providing excellence in clinical care.

First Federal of Northern Michigan Name of Business: First Federal of Northern Michigan Hours: Lobby M-TH 9-4:30 F 9-5 Drive Thru M-TH 8:30-5 F 8:30-5:30 Sat. 9-12 Owners/Manager: Elaine Bunker Founded: 1947 Principal Activity: Financial Institution Classification: Banking Brands of products: Checking, Savings, CD’s, IRA, Mortgage Loan Products, Commercial Loan & deposit products. Consumer loan products.

1000 Wisconsin Ave, Gaylord MI 49735

989.705.1582 www.first-federal.com

Specialties/service: Eight full service branches located throughout Northeastern Michigan. We continue to offer products and services while remaining true to our roots as your community bank. Motto: “Community Banking. It’s all about you”

7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

142011 Profiles

LENDER A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES15

TRY THE NEW AUTOMATED Workout Systems • Tracks Your Progress • Makes Workouts More Meaningful & Motivating

• Personal Interaction That Equals Fast Results and Gets The Best Results in the Least Amount Of Time Safely

Gary & MaryAnn Stempien G

A designer program customized for everyone from beginners to world class athletes. There are “108 different workouts!” “We have GS 20 Express Workout outlets in Grand Rapids, Michigan and North Carolina. Many to follow nationwide!”

Try our ®

18

$

00 Per Month Dues*

JOIN NOW! *Advertised dues applicable for first three months on Lifestyle I Program at which time regular dues apply. Other membership plans available.

Now Available!

Hello, I am JoAnn Vandenberg. I was inspired to try the GS 20 Express Workout by my friend Carol. I was impressed with my first workout! I have been doing the GS 20 Express Workout for 6 weeks now, and I have lost 14 ½ inches. I would recommend this workout for anyone, regardless of age or size. Thank you Mary Ann and Gary for all your help and encouragement. JoAnn Vandenberg Over the last two years I have fallen a couple times which had caused me severe pain in my back and hip area. I discussed my problem with Gary at the Fitness Center and he worked out a program that would target the problem areas. In just two months I have seen and felt a remarkable change and I feel much-much better. As a bonus, my friends are also with me and we get to discuss our progress together. Jane Mead

“To assist members of the GS20 Express Workout® in achieving the best possible results in the minimum amount of time, safely.”

I started at Nautilus Fitness and the GS 20 Express Workout program 2 months ago to help me firm up after losing weight. I didn’t think I would be able to do the machines at my age and out of shape condition. Mary Ann and Gary showed me otherwise and I signed on for the program. Gary told me I would be much stronger in 6 months and its improved in 2 months. I have a lot more stamina for walking the dogs, gardening, climbing stairs, and even just standing. Maybe even snowblowing this winter. I am firming up and losing inches and just have more energy for doing anything. I love going to the gym and look forward to what I might do that day. Two of my friends have joined me and we keep reminding each other how strong we will be for our gardening chores next summer. I am amazed at my results after just 2 months and will keep on bettering my numbers. Carol Brown

1140 Gornick Ave., near the Sportsplex

989-732-5820 www.gs20expressworkout.com

7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 15


PROFILES16

Earthworks Enterprises, Inc. When Quality and Service are Important. Owners: Mike & Jackie Mason Founded: 1997 Principal Activity: Commercial Snow plowing/ residential and Commercial Site work/ Aggregate supplier Brands of Products: Screened top soil, Drainstone, crushed limestone, road gravel, landscape rocks. Specialties/services: Driveway grading, septic installation, supplying sand and stone products, commercial snow plowing, construction site work. Community Activities: Chamber of Commerce, ABC, Support 4-H. About Us: We are a small family operated business, that began operating in 1992 and incorporated in 1997. Our beginnings were with Mason Excavating, so we have been a part of the local community for several decades. We handle small commercial construction projects, industrial and association road maintenance, many residential excavating needs, and commercial snow plowing. We are fully insured.

Hours: Monday-Friday 8-5, Saturday by chance, Sundays-Closed

Gaylord Eye Care Center Your Vision Source Provider • Serving your eye care needs since 1991 SERVICES AVAILABLE • Complete Family Eye Center • Contact Lenses • Lab on Site • Large Frame Selection • Ophthalmological Services Doctors of Optometry Board Certified to diagnose and treat injuries and diseases of the eye

RONALD L. MEAD, O.D. PETER J. OPPERMANN, O.D.

ROBERT J. SLEZAK, O.D. NATHAN R. SLEZAK, O.D.

829 W. Main • Gaylord • (989) 732-6261 • www.visionsource-gaylordeyecarecenter.com 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

162011 Profiles

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES17

Tools to Teach Hours: Summer Hours: Mon-Thurs & Sat 10am - 7pm / Fri 10am – 8pm / Sun 12pm – 4pm Owner: Sandy Rabidue Founded: 2002 Principal activity: Retail Sales of Educational Merchandise, Games and Toys. Classification: Retail - Educational Brands of products: Tools to Teach represents over 50 vendors including Carson Dellosa, Trend, Think Fun, Learning Resources, Teacher Created Materials, Mailbox, Scholastic, Jax, North Star, Folkmanis, Blue Orange, Educational Insights, Eureka and Mindware. Specialties/Services: Free demonstrations, knowledgeable friendly staff with teaching experience, great customer service. Community activities: School game nights, provide games and activities for family fun fair, library events, etc. Motto/slogan: A teachers’ store and so much more! About Us: Tools to Teach offers a large selection of educational games and toys as well as many other resources for parents and teachers alike. In addition to our large educational inventory, we also offer a variety of arts and craft activities, unique gift ideas and religious materials. Our many resources are a great asset for schools, daycares, churches, homeschoolers and businesses. Tools to Teach strives to offer a hands on approach to make learning fun and exciting. 144 West Main Street, Gaylord, MI

989-731-5503

MAXX GARAGE NORTH Hours: Mon.-Fri. 10am-6pm

Slogan: We do it right the first time!

Manager: Bill MacDonald

About Us: Integrity you can bank on! We are honest, dependable and the best shop around. We do nationwide parts & labor warranty. We have the latest, up-to-date diagnostic equipment and we won’t sell you a part you don’t need! We want to help you make the right decision on what to do for you and your vehicle, because we care! (Visa, Mastercard and Discover gladly accepted.)

Founded: December 1999 Principal Activity: Complete auto repair Classification: Master auto mechanics Brands of Products: NAPA Premium Parts or Economy Parts, original equipment parts from G.M., Ford, Chrysler & imports. We also have access to used parts.

10% OFF

on parts and labor Specialties/Services: Wheel bearings “Best-Price Anywhere,” steering column repair, diagnostics, electrical problems, engine repair & replacement, transmission exchange, front end repair, brakes, tune-ups, struts & shocks, heating & air conditioning, tires (new and used), and 1 year - nationwide parts and labor.

118 1/2 N Ohio Ave. Gaylord, MI 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

Broke down and out of town

SAVE 20 % Offer expires May 31, 2012

(989) 732-4789

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 17


PROFILES18

Name: Gaylord Herald Times Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Publisher: Doug Caldwell Founded: 1875 Specialties/Services: Twice weekly newspaper as well as other feature publications. About Us: Founded in 1875, the Gaylord Herald Times is the oldest continuing business in Otsego County, founded, in fact, the same year as the county. Doug Caldwell of Petoskey is the current publisher of the Gaylord Herald Times, owned by Schurz Communications, Inc., which purchased the newspaper in 2006. In May of 1999, the Gaylord Herald Times advanced from a weekly publication to twice weekly, establishing Wednesday and Saturday as publication dates. In addition, the newspaper also publishes a companion shopping guide, The MarketPlace, on Saturdays. The Gaylord Herald Times serves all of Otsego County, as well as parts of Antrim, Crawford and Montmorency counties. Throughout the year, the business produces or contributes to a number of other publications, including The Gaylord Area Guide; PrimeTimes, a publication for readers aged 55 and better; and AlpenTimes, a companion guide to Gaylord’s annual Alpenfest. It is also co-publisher of the PhoneGuide, a regional telephone directory serving several counties in northern Michigan. On the Gaylord Herald Times website, gaylordheraldtimes.com, audiences find breaking local news and sports, along with exciting interactive features including video, blogs, forums and more reaching 33,462 unique visitors online. Since 1968, the Gaylord newspaper has won more than 440 national and state awards for journalistic and advertising excellence. It has been selected the best newspaper in Michigan in its circulation class in 17 of the last 19 years in competition sponsored by the Michigan Press Association. It has won 18 national press awards in the past 3 years including Best Weekly Newspaper in 2007 in its circulation class in national competition sponsored by the National Newspaper Association.

2058 South Otsego Avenue • Gaylord, MI 49735 (989)732-1111 • 800-968-2544 www.gaylordheraldtimes.com 7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

182011 Profiles

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


PROFILES19

2 GREAT DOCTORS, 100% DEDICATED TO YOUR NEEDS! NO APPOINTMENT NEEDED Mon. - Thurs. 8:00 - 5:30 Fri. 10 - 1, Sat. 10 - Noon

OPEN 6 DAYS A WEEK! Are you experiencing... ~ muscle spasms/tension ~ headaches ~ poor posture ~ scoliosis ~ back pain ~ sciatica

In Network Provider for BC/BS PPO, Cigna, United Healthcare, Priority Health and Cofinity Available...

ns Walko-im e! Welc

~ Cervical & Lumbar Disc Traction Therapy

Cousineau Chiropractic Center, P.L.L.C. 997 N. Center, Gaylord Accepted

Dr. Shane M. Cousineau Your HOMETOWN Chiropractor Four Part Board Certified

7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

A Gaylord Herald Times publication

“The NATURAL Choice”

989-732-BACK www.cousineauchiropractic-gaylord.com

Dr. Brandon Suchey Four Part Board Certified

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

Profiles 2011 19


PROFILES20

MEMORIAL

Day Specials at International RV World Have your RV ready to go camping with these timely service specials... #

#

• Flush the Water System • Check your Water System for Leaks • Sanitize the Water Lines • Inspect Your Roof

• Check your Charging System • Check Battery Cables & Terminals • Check Water Levels in Battery • Test Charging System • On 1-2 Battery Systems

1 De-Winterize Your RV: ALL FOR JUST

$

49

95

2 Charge System Check:

79

1998 Cardinal 28RK

11 foot, with generator, awning, slide-out, fits 8 foot box.

Stk# 1051A

SPECIAL

SALE $

95

SAVE OVER $2,000

7,995

15,995

2011 Big Horn 3670

Sale on Camping Chairs

Stk# 11123

SAVE UP TO $9.26

$62,400 MSRP

$

42-$75

SAVE $20,100 MEMORIAL DAY ONLY! No trades

$

42,300 International RV World Below Invoice

Just West of I-75, Exit 282 277 Expressway Court • Gaylord, Michigan

989-448-8700 Turn north at Meecher Road (traffic signal by Walgreens on M-32 West) North 2 blocks to Expressway Court

7 REASONS TO BUY A HOME NOW

202011 Profiles

$

2004 Lance Truck Camper

$

Summer Hours: Mon-Fri 8-5 Sat 9-5 Sun Noon-4

ALL FOR JUST

Palomino Pop-up Camper Stk# 1072

SAVE $787.15

$

5,41595

A special publication of the Petoskey News-Review, Thursday, October 8, 2009

A Gaylord Herald Times publication


Otsego County Business Profiles